View Full Version : WB Game Day 1st Elimination Final 2022 vs Fremantle

Pages : 1 [2] 3

03-09-2022, 10:12 PM
Weightman is absolute garbage too. He annoys me watching him.

03-09-2022, 10:13 PM
Why didn’t VDM go for goal

I don't think we can do it. Struggling to score, they have all the run and momentum, I don't think we can hold the wall for that long.

Dig deep boys. Naughton needs to step up. And Treloar.

Classic example of how stupid and lazy our forwards are.

Someone just needed to run at Treloar then but instead they all ran back to the same place. Dumb as shit.

We need a forward who's willing to lead from 30-70 and sacrifice their chance at kicking goals. We are absolutely desperate for that link up forward.

Hoping we can hang on but Freo with the momentum

They have totally shut out richards and Dale.

We’re going to need to win ugly.

03-09-2022, 10:14 PM
Weightman flying against our big men and making it harder for them to mark it is doing my head in. Then when the ball comes to ground we have no one. Our forward line has been dysfunctional after quarter time.

Vanda. Why is he playing? Surely West is giving more in those situations? He is just a dumb footballer.

I sadi my piece. Take the footballer over the athlete every time. Questions need to be asked of the match committee why West was left out. I get pressure acts, but in a final you need skill to make a difference and sadly VDM is down this year.....

Surely our fitness is questioned after this season. We're not fit enough.

Delivery into F50 has been awful since 1/4 time. Playing into Freo defender's hands

Some composure to spot up the short targets would be nice.

And B.Smith.

Weightman flying against our big men and making it harder for them to mark it is doing my head in. Then when the ball comes to ground we have no one. Our forward line has been dysfunctional after quarter time.

Agree - forward set up is a shambles......has been all year

Vanders having an absolute mare.

Time to fake an injury.

What the hell is he thinking handballing when running towards the goals.

03-09-2022, 10:15 PM
Surely our fitness is questioned after this season. We're not fit enough.

Well said. It’s patently obvious.

03-09-2022, 10:16 PM

He has no forward instincts it’s pretty simple really. Need a massive one from the Bont again.

03-09-2022, 10:17 PM

He's got no confidence at all.

10 goals wins it.

03-09-2022, 10:17 PM
We got back on top of clearances that quarter but there some players that turned the ball over like Keath, VDM, B Smith

Got to use the ball better

03-09-2022, 10:19 PM
Oh god Vanders. Please get injured.

03-09-2022, 10:20 PM
Pressure was under 180 that quarter..will need it over 200 like first half, to win this.

03-09-2022, 10:21 PM
Carrying on with a fight you *!*!*!*!ing wankers.

Seriously.

03-09-2022, 10:21 PM
Carrying on with a fight you *!*!*!*!ing wankers.

Seriously.

Embarrassing.

03-09-2022, 10:22 PM
Delist VDM. Like, literally get the runner to run out with his bags and a taxi voucher.

We didn’t capitalise enough to half time. Should’ve been 10 goals up with the play we had.

Oh god Vanders. Please get injured.

That one was on JJ.

Needed to hold and go wide. JJ opened up the channel for him and he shouldn't have given it.

VDM fumble - turnover - goal........

I can sense an avalanche coming

Five of us in that fight versus two of them. They run it out without opposition. What an embarrassment.

03-09-2022, 10:23 PM
Embarrassing.

See Bevo doing his nut?

This team is a *!*!*!*!ing bunch of head cases. Idiots.

03-09-2022, 10:23 PM
We need a forward who's willing to lead from 30-70 and sacrifice their chance at kicking goals. We are absolutely desperate for that link up forward.

We need Bob Murphy back in the day.

03-09-2022, 10:24 PM
Even when VDM does something good it still goes wrong.....

03-09-2022, 10:25 PM
We've scored 10 points in over a half of football

See Bevo doing his nut?

But it’s Bevo fault.

Vanda

See Bevo doing his nut?

5 against 2 in the fight.. wonder why they had so many free players free?

Treloar last one over to check on his mate? Idiotic

03-09-2022, 10:26 PM
*!*!*!*! you VDM

See Bevo doing his nut?

He was screaming footy footy.

Fmd Vanders. I've never seen a guy play as badly.

Get vdm off..........fffs he is a liability

Thanks Vanders...

Vanda. Never seen a worse game from a Bulldog.

Well I guess this is a fitting end to our pretty dodgy season.

See how Logue led up to the kicker then? Could learn something from that.

Of course it's VDM to give away the fifty. He has history.

50 against VDM?

Man. Vandermeer would have been a battler during the Rhodes years, I don't know what Bevo sees in him.

Richards and VDM are *!*!*!*!ing embarrassing.

VDM has to be delisted after this. He is abominably bad.

Was that VDM?

5 against 2 in the fight.. wonder why they had so many free players free?

Treloar last one over to check in his mate? Idiotic

Treloar does my head in.

Dials it in.

03-09-2022, 10:27 PM
I can sense an avalanche coming

YEP here it comes

03-09-2022, 10:27 PM
Is this Naughton's worst game ever?

03-09-2022, 10:28 PM
Vanda. Never seen a worse game from a Bulldog.

He's given away a number of 50's since he started playing in the seniors. Hasn't learned much

03-09-2022, 10:29 PM
We are such a frustrating team to watch.

Fight out these last 10 minutes boys

03-09-2022, 10:29 PM
VDM proving he is not a forward. Again….

yeah, what was he doing in the freo fwd line ?

03-09-2022, 10:30 PM
Get in the bin Ed!

52 point turnaround this ground is a Dogs graveyard.

Trade Richards. You *!*!*!*!ing idiot

Ed *!*!*!*!ing Richards. What a *!*!*!*!ing joke.

Richards you idiot

We have just shit the bed.

03-09-2022, 10:31 PM
Richards........what are you doing?

You bag of Richards Ed!

*!*!*!*! me that is foul watching.

And there it is.. the moment that best encapsulates our season via interpretive dance, thank you Ed Richards.

We have just shit the bed.

It certainly seems that way, we need a quick goal now.

I'm glad this is over. Never deserved to be in there in the first place and we've absolutely embarrassed ourselves tonight. We're a laughing stock

03-09-2022, 10:32 PM
I don't blame Richards, who was running in the backland to offer him a marking option ? we look like we have run out of legs

WE have coughed up a 6 goal lead. this is so embarrassing

I almost never want to see Richards play for this club again.

Jeeze my dog is super rattled by what is coming out of my mouth.

How's the grab from Roarke Smith. Still has his leap.

03-09-2022, 10:33 PM
Roarke. Wow. Just wow.

Definitely lucky to have Bevo.

Ripper mark

Go Roarke get him on Treloar's cash.

I almost never want to see Richards play for this club again.

He's a *!*!*!*!ing head case. Just can't think things through properly half the time.

03-09-2022, 10:35 PM
Jeeze my dog is super rattled by what is coming out of my mouth.

How's the grab from Roarke Smith. Still has his leap.

He's earned his spot despite some limitations.

03-09-2022, 10:37 PM
We really do lack a ground ball expert in the forward line.

It's all talls really. Or players that play tall.

Maybe JJ.

03-09-2022, 10:38 PM
Can someone check in on Happy Days.

What a a bloody disgraceful holding the ball decision!

Another bullshit free

03-09-2022, 10:39 PM
What a a bloody disgraceful holding the ball decision!

Nah, it wad there

So when's prior a thing and when is it not?

Way too many movie stars in this team.

Feel for Richards, hes had a mare

03-09-2022, 10:40 PM
Game over......need to score 3 times

Didn’t you said it’s Bevo fault?

We have some players who simply can't handle the heat.

Richards, Williams, Weightman, Vandermeer are as bad as it gets

Yep… they all want to be the super hero.

03-09-2022, 10:41 PM
11.5 to 3.7 since qtr time.

It's a final with a 12 point gap and over 5 minutes left but I feel no investment anymore.

I can't care.

I'm really struggling to understand how its okay that that is was holding the ball against Dunkley? Sometimes our game's adjudication more closely resembles American wrestling, a theatre sport.

Robbie is on.

We are still a chance, we just lost the only forward who can get a ground ball.

I'm glad this is over. Never deserved to be in there in the first place and we've absolutely embarrassed ourselves tonight. We're a laughing stock

This game has perfectly summed up our season

03-09-2022, 10:42 PM
Weightman, fmd.

03-09-2022, 10:42 PM
That's a *!*!*!*!ed free kick against Weightman, tackle knocked it out and it just followed on. Crap.

03-09-2022, 10:43 PM
Stand down Bevo, that enough finals collapses on your watch.

2 goals seems like 10.

3 goals since quarter time.......says it all really

This game has perfectly summed up our season

Yep.. have we put together a 4 qtr effort against a credible team all year? Even 3 qtrs?

Just so inconsistent in effort and performance.

03-09-2022, 10:44 PM
McComb's first act....concede a free

03-09-2022, 10:44 PM
11.5 to 3.7 since qtr time.

Almost seems like the grand final.
Or like both Geelong games.
Or the 1st Melbourne game this year.
Or the Sydney game.

One might even say it's not a coincidence that it keeps happening

03-09-2022, 10:45 PM
Break this team up. Coaches, players, everything. It's toxic.

03-09-2022, 10:46 PM
No players up the middle because they're a bunch of *!*!*!*!ing wankers.

Stand down Bevo, that enough finals collapses on your watch.

I don't know what to think, it's been an awful season.

I don't think we can blame Bevo. Fitness staff maybe we look stuffed.

Naughton bombs it to a 1 on 3.

The players are just dumb.

03-09-2022, 10:47 PM
I don't know what to think, it's been an awful season.

I don't think we can blame Bevo. Fitness staff maybe we look stuffed.

But we have these fade outs in the 1st qtr sometimes

03-09-2022, 10:47 PM
This *!*!*!*!ing handball bullshit worked once, for 4 weeks.

Piss it off.

It doesn't work under pressure any more.

Treloar can jog on.

03-09-2022, 10:48 PM
Naughton bombs it to a 1 on 3.

The players are just dumb.

that was so predictable. why did he not just run it into the 50 m line and wait for someone to come forward. We don't have any forward line patterns here.

03-09-2022, 10:49 PM
The difference is the goals conceded by Ed and Vandermeer, but our completely inept group of forwards own this one.

They were as shit as a group of forwards have ever been on a footy field. Absolutely shit.

I'm sorry, but *!*!*!*! off Bevo. I've had enough of this club.

I've seen some shit from this team in my time, that's top 5.

dukedog
Break this team up. Coaches, players, everything. It's toxic.

How many no look kivks has this team done. Absolute pathetic 3 quarters. How does west not get a gog in this rabble. He should move on. He would play firsts in any other team in the league

03-09-2022, 10:50 PM
The difference is the goals conceded by Ed and Vandermeer, but our completely inept group of forwards own this one.

They were as shit as a group of forwards have ever been on a footy field. Absolutely shit.

It was a smashing after the first qtr.

Rory Lobb definitely makes us better.

Oh well. A game we should of won but in the end couldn’t convert our chances. Still plenty to look forward to. Look at the upside we have some sensational young players. Definitely need a shake up but not a lot needs to change for us to come back better next year.

03-09-2022, 10:51 PM
Dysfunctional forward line. Should have piled more on early and then when it tight we could convert any chances. We went in too tall for the weather. Vanda should not have played. We lack creative forward craft players.

I'm relieved this season finally over. What a turd it was.

Rory Lobb definitely makes us better.

If we get him it will definitely assist our ruck and forward line

At least we made the record books - 4th biggest comeback in Finals history by Freo

03-09-2022, 10:52 PM
I'm sorry, but *!*!*!*! off Bevo. I've had enough of this club.

I'm standing by Bevo, he got us off to a fast start but too many of our boys lacked composure when it counted.
If we use this and last years GF as a template to shape this list going forward I think we can still be a decent team.
If we don't learn a lot from it we will drop back.

54 point turn around. You just wouldn't believe it if you didn't watch it. This club needs a severe clean out.

If this isn’t the catalyst for a clean out and a review of fitness team I don’t know what is. B. Smith and English below par, Dunkley was good and tough all night-who did we re-sign again?

Mentally fragile.

We lack leg speed so much. Freo torched us with leg speed in the last 3 quarters

03-09-2022, 10:53 PM

Josh Schache says hello........I mean we know that 3 talls works as a structure and the week of the finals after persisting with Bruce for week's we drop him. Instrad of bringing in a guy who is ON FIRE in the 2's we bring in a defender......

We choose McComb and VDM over West when what we need is forward pressure and class.....

This game was AGAIN lost at the selection table

that was so predictable. why did he not just run it into the 50 m line and wait for someone to come forward. We don't have any forward line patterns here.

No fwd line patterns coz we lack genuine fwds.

Our key forwards are 22, 20 and 19. Did we expect anything different in greasy conditions? They just got manhandled.

We lack leg speed so much. Freo torched us with leg speed in the last 3 quarters

That was hard to watch wasn't it?

Our key forwards are 22, 20 and 19. Did we expect anything different in greasy conditions? They just got manhandled.

Against 3 genuine key defenders no less.

03-09-2022, 10:54 PM
We need a change at the top. I have said so for awhile but tonight confirmed it.

We also need to change up some players who have value.

Macrae concerns me with his long contract.

Interestingly everyone talks up our ability to have a finals run but in reality we have lost 4 elimination finals under Bevos watch and won only 2.

I'm standing by Bevo, he got us off to a fast start but too many of our boys lacked composure when it counted.
If we use this and last years GF as a template to shape this list going forward I think we can still be a decent team.

But haven’t we already dropped back?

03-09-2022, 10:55 PM

I agree its not solely laid on BEvo, but he needs a torch put to him and answer questions. You don't lead by 42 points in an Elimnation Final and lose. You don't kick 5 goals in the first quart and 3 for more for the game....

Titus O'Reilly was right - 7 quality teams and us made the finals.

Finally LOBB is NOT the answer.

Dysfunctional forward line. Should have piled more on early and then when it tight we could convert any chances. We went in too tall for the weather. Vanda should not have played. We lack creative forward craft players.

Agree. Our fwd entries are bombing into pack marks, which all our talls spoil each other. there are no smalls crumbing the ball at the base of the pack when the ball comes down. Seriously... we need a forward line coach.

I really hope I don't see quite a few of these players with us next season.

03-09-2022, 10:56 PM
So many ifs and buts. But in that third quarter we kicked 1.5 versus their 3.2

After quarter time they took their chances and we did not.

In the last quarter Vanda and Richards gift them goals. The Dunks ball decisions is rarely played in a big final. Very rare.

Interestingly everyone talks up our ability to have a finals run but in reality we have lost 4 elimination finals under Bevos watch and won only 2.

But we've also won a flag and made a grand final.

Bevo has his faults but thank Jesus we actually have him. Imagine trying to put together the wins he does with a junk defencive structure and a bunch of dumb idiots supplemented by a midfield that shows up for half a game.

Cox, Ryan got almost 60 possessions combined .

03-09-2022, 10:57 PM
Josh Schache says hello........I mean we know that 3 talls works as a structure and the week of the finals after persisting with Bruce for week's we drop him. Instrad of bringing in a guy who is ON FIRE in the 2's we bring in a defender......

We choose McComb and VDM over West when what we need is forward pressure and class.....

I wasn't going to mentioned Schache but I think he could have helped us a bit tonight and we haven't rewarded form.
But it's all too late, I suspect Schache will be off to North

I'm relieved this season finally over. What a turd it was.

I agree, Spurs v Fulham starts in an hour so hopefully some smiles come back

Agree. Our fwd entries are bombing into pack marks, which all our talls spoil each other. there are no smalls crumbing the ball at the base of the pack when the ball comes down. Seriously... we need a forward line coach.

It's because all of our forwards converge on the same part of the forward line, nobody presents forward at the carrier. It's why we get killed on the intercept.

So obvious, but our forwards are idiots.

03-09-2022, 10:58 PM
What has happened to Macrae? Seems a shadow of what he is capable of. To say we missed Libba is an understatement.

03-09-2022, 10:58 PM
I really hope I don't see quite a few of these players with us next season.

I think some players will leave for more consistent opportunities: Schache and West are 2 come to mind immediately. Both footballers who need to play a specific role.

VDM I questioned his selection... now I question why his on the list.

03-09-2022, 10:59 PM
I agree, Spurs v Fulham starts in an hour so hopefully some smiles come back

Beware Mitro!

VDM cant get the ball so why not use him to tag. Brayshaw destroyed and was always going to. i knew it, everyone knew it except Bevo.

Good night Irene. Why could we not play a shutdown game when 41 p'ts up? Geelong would not lose it from there!

What has happened to Macrae? Seems a shadow of what he is capable of. To say we missed Libba is an understatement. To think we have him signed on a long term contract.

03-09-2022, 11:00 PM
What has happened to Macrae? Seems a shadow of what he is capable of. To say we missed Libba is an understatement.

Jacko was really good tonight.

03-09-2022, 11:00 PM
I wasn't going to mentioned Schache but I think he could have helped us a bit tonight and we haven't rewarded form.
But it's all too late, I suspect Schache will be off to North

And we stuck with an out of form Bruce for what was it, 4 weeks in a row? Selecting VDM instead of West or Garcia and having McComb as sub, Bevo’s selections are unfathomable.

03-09-2022, 11:01 PM
Of course we need to persist with Bevo. Clubs rise and fall in fortunes but if you have a good coach then the rides are pretty quick. Longmire has been at the Swans 10 years and has only won one GF but the club knows he is a good coach. They don’t get rid of him. There is no one even half decent to take over as a head coach. Bevo is building a strong list and we will rise over the next year or two with the addition of some good players (and hopefully some good assistants). All this talk of removing Bevo is nonsense and heat of the moment stuff.

03-09-2022, 11:01 PM
Hated our delivery into F50 in the last 3 quarters. Long bombs to Snake every single time when we should have spotted up the short targets. We have kids up forward and we played right into the hands of Ryan, Pearce and Cox.

03-09-2022, 11:02 PM

Thought so as well

03-09-2022, 11:02 PM

Maybe he was, just seems to be not as impactful as he was earlier in season. No way am I going to watch replay though!

03-09-2022, 11:03 PM
They didn’t even score that many goals after quarter time. It wasn’t our defence. In the end it’s our inability to score goals and convert chances when the game is played with lots of pressure on the ball and it doesn’t come in easy.

How many half marks did our forwards nearly take? How many times did our forwards spoil each other? How many times did we miss shots and snaps that were gettable? Too many. There were many things we could have done better. Many. But some simple conversion when it mattered and we win the game.

We didn’t completely capitulate. They inched away at us and they gave us plenty of looks. It’s been our biggest issue all year and it cost us a final. It’s not really a surprise is it?

03-09-2022, 11:03 PM
But we've also won a flag and made a grand final.

Bevo has his faults but thank Jesus we actually have him. Imagine trying to put together the wins he does with a junk defencive structure and a bunch of dumb idiots supplemented by a midfield that shows up for half a game.

Totally agree - just pointing out a fact. Wasn’t a slight against Bevo (though reading it back it looks that way)

03-09-2022, 11:04 PM
Of course we need to persist with Bevo. Clubs rise and fall in fortunes but if you have a good coach then the rides are pretty quick. Longmire has been at the Swans 10 years and has only won one GF but the club knows he is a good coach. They don’t get rid of him. There is no one even half decent to take over as a head coach. Bevo is building a strong list and we will rise over the next year or two with the addition of some good players (and hopefully some good assistants). All this talk of removing Bevo is nonsense and heat of the moment stuff.

Yep. The only concession I'll give is it's the game day thread after a disappointing capitulation after a disappointing year.

We have had massive issues with our list every year he has coached and there's not many coaches in the history of the game who could get us to where we have gotten with it over the years.

But haven’t we already dropped back?

I mean we will drop back further. It's been a significant slide from 2021 and we need to now make the right decisions on the list and what is needed to boost the coaching.
We can fall back to the trusted outs like blaming injuries, umpires, the draw and bad luck but we really need to have a good look at why we couldn't maintain a consistent performance throughout the year and see what we can do to address it.

I just don't think it falls onto Bevo.
We should only top up (Lobb and Jones etc) if we think that will get us back into the mix.
We should only rebuild if we think we are a fair way off the mark.

I do question who should be in charge of the end of year review.

Thought McLean was really good early and overall satisfied with his total game. I hope to see more of him next year, just a natural player.

Totally agree - just pointing out a fact. Wasn’t a slight against Bevo (though reading it back it looks that way)

You're all good mate, I guess I read it that way but it takes two to tango!

03-09-2022, 11:07 PM
Compare McLeans effort to the likes of Smith, Treloar, Williams, Richards etc.

It's embarrassing. Absolutely embarrassing that McLean was head and shoulders above about 18 others out there considering his lack of AFL exposure in literally years.

03-09-2022, 11:08 PM
Dunkey had 14 tackles. 14. He did everything he could.

He's our best player. Has been for a while.

And we stuck with an out of form Bruce for what was it, 4 weeks in a row? Selecting VDM instead of West or Garcia and having McComb as sub, Bevo’s selections are unfathomable.

It's my biggest question mark on Bevo. Having said that he and the MC got Roarke Smith 100% right.

I know this will get shouted down but the coach should have very little say on who we draft and I'd go as far as to say he should only have minimal say on who gets picked for each game.

03-09-2022, 11:09 PM

He was sensational. Hope he signs on the dotted line quick smart.

03-09-2022, 11:09 PM
I mean we will drop back further. It's been a significant slide from 2021 and we need to now make the right decisions on the list and what is needed to boost the coaching.
We can fall back to the trusted outs like blaming injuries, umpires, the draw and bad luck but we really need to have a good look at why we couldn't maintain a consistent performance throughout the year and see what we can do to address it.

I just don't think it falls onto Bevo.
We should only top up (Lobb and Jones etc) if we think that will get us back into the mix.
We should only rebuild if we think we are a fair way off the mark.

I do question who should be in charge of the end of year review.

I'm not saying we need to ruin the players heads with an Adelaide style camp, but something needs to be done to ensure our players actually show up each week and stick to the fundamentals, whilst also taking the lead to adjust mid game.

It was clear today that we showed up, but once the game opened up a little we didn't adjust and we never seem to be able to in the heat of battle. We actually do the opposite most of the time and double down on the silliness. It's actually amazing how often this happens.

03-09-2022, 11:10 PM
I want Bevo to stay on too. I do think we need an in depth review though. I know Bains said we will have a review so the good outcome from a woeful night is it should be an in-depth one.

03-09-2022, 11:10 PM

I agree. If there are positives out of tonight, Marra, Darcy played finals and will be better for it. Still disappointing though.....when nyou are up like we were you DONT lose.

03-09-2022, 11:11 PM
I'm not saying we need to ruin the players heads with an Adelaide style camp, but something needs to be done to ensure our players actually show up each week and stick to the fundamentals, whilst also taking the lead to adjust mid game.

It was clear today that we showed up, but once the game opened up a little we didn't adjust and we never seem to be able to in the heat of battle. We actually do the opposite most of the time and double down on the silliness. It's actually amazing how often this happens.

Drop a brick on their heads like Melbourne did to Salem.

This is exactly why even with a big lead, Bulldogs supporters always have that little knot in the stomach.

Weightman Naughton Marra and Darcy contributed 2 goals between them, on the forward line.Compared to the other Finalists we have witnessed this year we sadly are below par. One sole ruck man in English and one key forward in Naughton doesn’t stack up. Only Gardner stood up as a key defender with both Keath and Cordy struggling during the year. Apart from Treloar Richards and Dale our smaller players lack leg speed which was very obvious against Fremantle today.

03-09-2022, 11:12 PM
It's my biggest question mark on Bevo. Having said that he and the MC got Roarke Smith 100% right.

I know this will get shouted down but the coach should have very little say on who we draft and I'd go as far as to say he should only have minimal say on who gets picked for each game.

With you 100%.

03-09-2022, 11:12 PM
Dunkey had 14 tackles. Next was McLean with 9. Then Bont with 7.

We had a red hot go all night. I don’t think it’s effort or mindset. To my eyes it’s our inability take our opportunity to score and then our inability to intercept mark in our D59m. We defended their talls OK, but the ball comes to ground. They got repeated stoppages which they scored a few goals from or kick crumbing goals.

03-09-2022, 11:13 PM
Weightman Naughton Marra and Darcy contributed 2 goals between them, on the forward line.Compared to the other Finalists we have witnessed this year we sadly are below par. One sole ruck man in English and one key forward in Naughton doesn’t stack up. Only Gardner stood up as a key defender with both Keath and Cordy struggling during the year. Apart from Treloar Richards and Dale our smaller players lack leg speed which was very obvious against Fremantle today.

Good call, Gardner was good tonight

03-09-2022, 11:13 PM

Yep, it's not a Crows style mind game with players that is required but we have seen enough to know where we are in terms of players that have it in them to perform in pressure or bigger games.

03-09-2022, 11:16 PM

We had a red hot go all night. I don’t think it’s effort or mindset. To my eyes it’s our inability take our opportunity to score and then our inability to intercept mark in our D59m. We defended their talls OK, but the ball comes to ground. They got repeated stoppages which they scored a few goals from or kick crumbing goals.

Good assessment.

03-09-2022, 11:17 PM
Thought McLean was really good early and overall satisfied with his total game. I hope to see more of him next year, just a natural player.

Agree, he got to the right spots tonight ,but he just could not get enough clean possessions. His very lite frame player and gets pushed off the ball abit. Cannot question his footy smarts though

Boots
03-09-2022, 11:19 PM
Our last forward entry the only three players I could see were Dunkley, roarke and mccomb.

it’s diabolical how bad our forward line is, given how good it was last year, and given the quality of the cattle.

hopefully we come back next year with a completely new game plan because this one has sucked all year.

Side note - how great to be the team that blew a 6 goal lead in an elim final the year after we went from being 18 points up to losing a grand final by 74 points.

03-09-2022, 11:21 PM

Completely agree with the point about drafting. We have a whole team of people who's sole job is identifying and assessing players. The drafting guys don't get to be involved in coaching so the coach shouldn't be involved in drafting.

However I think that he should have some input into selection. We have a match committee, Bevo should be one voice/vote on it.

It warns my cockles that ch 7 chose Serrong as MVP but the people voted Bontempelli!

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuck

Gonna watch the Foo Fighters docco and footy can piss right off. Such bullshit.

03-09-2022, 11:22 PM
We can look quick at times but most of our players are one pace. B.Smith could be carrying something hence the light training load.
I agree with what's been said about our forwards apart from Marra the rest aren't natural forwards and the way they play should fall on the coaching they are getting.
We did look like we spent all out petrol tickets in the first half and ran out of steam and we seem to have trouble halting momentum when a team get a roll on.
I'm ok if we get Lobb but I think Darcy will be the future and apart from Naughton Marra and Darcy are still very light on.
We also need to get the long bomb out of our game unless there is no other option. Tonight we didn't look to switch and kept on going down the line and this comes down to no one making the spread.
Any who bring on next year.

03-09-2022, 11:24 PM
Is McComb the first player to have a negative fantasy score twice in the one year? How appropriate.

03-09-2022, 11:26 PM
They didn’t even score that many goals after quarter time. It wasn’t our defence. In the end it’s our inability to score goals and convert chances when the game is played with lots of pressure on the ball and it doesn’t come in easy.

How many half marks did our forwards nearly take? How many times did our forwards spoil each other? How many times did we miss shots and snaps that were gettable? Too many. There were many things we could have done better. Many. But some simple conversion when it mattered and we win the game.

We didn’t completely capitulate. They inched away at us and they gave us plenty of looks. It’s been our biggest issue all year and it cost us a final. It’s not really a surprise is it?

Agree 200%.

03-09-2022, 11:27 PM
Is McComb the first player to have a negative fantasy score twice in the one year? How appropriate.

Should not have been there at all or considered for that matter but the guy played like 5 minutes of footy, give him a break.

03-09-2022, 11:32 PM
I rarely rag on players, save that for coaches and administrators, but I am sorry to say, one of my former favourite prospects is about to get a rocket.

VDM should never pull on a jumper for this club again. An absolutely disgraceful performance from him. Barely deserved to be in the team, gave us nothing and is showing none of his early promise. It's like he had the reverse Midas touch, instead of everything turning to gold, everything he went near went to shit.

Seen enough. Kid's not up to it.

03-09-2022, 11:37 PM
Fuuuuuuuuuuuuck

Gonna watch the Foo Fighters docco and footy can piss right off. Such bullshit.

I have a lot of work to do around the house, gardening, cleaning up, spring coming, beer and wine to drink and books to read...oh and WOOF as always.

03-09-2022, 11:37 PM
It’s easy to pick on many players. And agree VDM was deplorable, but Naughton didn’t kick a goal. He also had a poor game and only 11 touches. In his 100th game and in a big final I expected more. He had a lot of almost moments. If he has a good night we probably win.

03-09-2022, 11:42 PM
I rarely rag on players, save that for coaches and administrators, but I am sorry to say, one of my former favourite prospects is about to get a rocket.

VDM should never pull on a jumper for this club again. An absolutely disgraceful performance from him. Barely deserved to be in the team, gave us nothing and is showing none of his early promise. It's like he had the reverse Midas touch, instead of everything turning to gold, everything he went near went to shit.

Seen enough. Kid's not up to it.

He had a mare tonight. Not alone .

03-09-2022, 11:44 PM
He had a mare tonight. Not alone .

Has he ever played a decent game?

Unlike others his errors cost us goals and momentum… he is clearly one of Bevo’s favourites, but his lack of football nous and skill makes him a liability.

03-09-2022, 11:46 PM

Urgency turned to panic in the fwd line. No poise.

03-09-2022, 11:48 PM

That's all on Bevo

03-09-2022, 11:49 PM
This game really highlighted the issues that the Club has to face and solve.
1. Fitness. They ran all over us from the mid way point of the 2nd quarter.
2. Our forward line is shambolic. Our forwards don't lead. Our smalls fly for marks
3. Our delivery into the forward 50 is awful.
4. Our team selection is wrong. West and Schache should have played
5. Some players are totally inconsistent and some are not up to it
6 We are leaving too much to too few.
7. We rarely take half chances and butcher too many set shots.

Another season wasted.

03-09-2022, 11:51 PM
It’s easy to pick on many players. And agree VDM was deplorable, but Naughton didn’t kick a goal. He also had a poor game and only 11 touches. In his 100th game and in a big final I expected more. He had a lot of almost moments. If he has a good night we probably win.

Agree if we're talking about individual efforts we had plenty of our prime movers with poor games. Naughton no impact, Richards lost his composure, English let marking opportunities go to grass, Dale couldn't break into the game. We depend on these guys, they're key cogs, we can't have too many down on output. Vandermeer was frustrating, but he's not why we made finals.

03-09-2022, 11:54 PM
Agree if we're talking about individual efforts we had plenty of our prime movers with poor games. Naughton no impact, Richards lost his composure, English let marking opportunities go to grass, Dale couldn't break into the game. We depend on these guys, they're key cogs, we can't have too many down on output. Vandermeer was frustrating, but he's not why we made finals.

I thought Bailey Williams was a non factor again.

He was terrible against the Hawks surprised he kept his spot.

This is exactly why even with a big lead, Bulldogs supporters always have that little knot in the stomach.

It's the manic wind up without wind down that I don't get.

Perfect example was JJ not keeping a cool head like a veteran should have and giving to VDM running right past him, and actually clearing space for him to put it wide and use the space of the ground. He literally took three Fremantle players out of the equation by running straight through and what did JJ do? *!*!*!*!ing gave it to him!!!!

Imagine coaching these *!*!*!*!ing guys.

Disappointed we could not maintain that outstanding 1st quarter pressure that got us a significant lead.

As soon as they started scoring more into the 2nd quarter is when we started to look shaky. Freo increased the pressure in the 2nd half and that was the ball game and the end of our season 2022.

I think it sums up the season very inconsistent with a lot of work to do going forward if we really and truly want to compete for a flag.

Now onto list management and trade period which I will certainly be keen to read on woof via the threads about improving this team.

03-09-2022, 11:57 PM
With everything we are doing wrong. With the issues we have had all season. With the injuries and banged up players we have. With some of the selection mistakes we made. We still led by 41 points in an Elimination Final on foreign soil after Freo really embarrassed us a few weeks ago. We lose by a couple of goals in game where we have more opportunities. Freo have been better than us all year. It was always a big ask to beat them on their home deck.

There is a lot of low hanging fruit where we can improve. We have made the finals four years in an row and there is no reason we can’t fix a few things and improve again next year.

The biggest issue to resolve for me is finding a defender who can take a mark (Jones would help) and most importantly is that Bevo needs some senior assistant coaches to help him out.

04-09-2022, 12:04 AM
I just want to cry, to fight, to scream, to run… to eat a kilo of ice cream… to drink a bottle of red. I need to talk to someone who gets it. I want to put on punk music and wake up the neighbourhood. I want to sneak some KFC in… maybe a meat pie.

Freo are average. How we lost that game is a crime. It shits me no end.

I’m watching the Foo Fighters doco and gonna try that red.

That was all time shit house and another year wasted. *!*!*!*!en disgraceful

04-09-2022, 12:09 AM
I just want to cry, to fight, to scream, to run… to eat a kilo of ice cream… to drink a bottle of red. I need to talk to someone who gets it. I want to put on punk music and wake up the neighbourhood. I want to sneak some KFC in… maybe a meat pie.

Ketamine. Get on it.

Only side effect is you'll see how average the Foo Fighters are.

04-09-2022, 12:12 AM
Ketamine. Get on it.

I left the last FF concert at Docklands.

Went to see Weezer. Watched two songs went, Nah.

04-09-2022, 12:14 AM
I left the last FF concert at Docklands.

Went to see Weezer. Watched two songs went, Nah.

How very dare you, you son of a bitch! :D

04-09-2022, 12:16 AM

I just ate a whole bag of Burger Rings, and didn't give any to my Labrador.

That's how bad it is!

04-09-2022, 12:19 AM
I just ate a whole bag of Burger Rings, and didn't give any to my Labrador.

That's how bad it is!

Only a psycho would eat Burger Rings at this point of the night without expecting some heart burn related penalties. The only good thing about this is you saved your poor dog from your crapulence through being selfish.

04-09-2022, 12:22 AM
Ketamine. Get on it.

Make no mistake, I think FF suck. That’s almost the point…

I had people over to watch the final. The people left. They were sad. It’s just bullshit

04-09-2022, 12:27 AM
Make no mistake, I think FF suck. That’s almost the point…

I had people over to watch the final. The people left. They were sad. It’s just bullshit

It's dire if you know the FF suck but because of the sadness of those left you kept watching. I didn't realise you were so sensitive MrM.

04-09-2022, 01:01 AM
It's dire if you know the FF suck but because of the sadness of those left you kept watching. I didn't realise you were so sensitive MrM.

I’m not. Just like our good players are not good players.

Imma sleep now. Go the Lions….

04-09-2022, 02:14 AM
Just a few thoughts...

The rot started with English giving up front position in the ruck which directly resulted in goals late in the second.

Naughty was poor again in a big game, did we do anything to try and get him involved in the second half?

Fingers crossed Dunkley stays, bloody excellent mate. While we are on Dunks what has happened to Treloar? Was rushed all night and lacked the quality we saw last year. That was his worst season of AFL for a long time.

Gardner while I'd love for him to mark it more, has made significant improvement this year and now our best defender.

I really feel for Richards, has taken a big step this year but that one awful finals performance. Let's hope he doesn't take a step back next year like Williams has.

I still think a win in this final would have papered over the cracks, I just hope the club reviews it hard, unlike the GF last year. I'm keen for Bevo to stay he has been the sole face of the club for too long now, its time we bring in quality people in to support him whether he likes it or not. Yep Bevo we love you but our gameplan needs a tweak how about we start defensively and lets go from there.

Are we fit enough?

I wasn't going to mention VDM again because I've been banging on about him for most of the year but anyone who saw is two VFL performances post hamstring would not be surprised by his performance tonight.He will never be a forward, he may never be an AFL standard player.

Oh and for the umpires, tonights game was the worst umpired game I have ever seen at AFL level. Its amazing that they continue to struggle with the holding the ball rule.

I'm grateful that we have made finals the last 4 years but with this group we should expect more than that.

04-09-2022, 02:20 AM
I've been ignoring it because he's been massive but to me it's why he'll never be the superstar he's made out to be. Just doesn't kick the ones he needs to.

Could finish his career tomorrow and will still be regarded as one of our best ever, such a ridiculous comment.

04-09-2022, 04:13 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwP3vPQi0nI

04-09-2022, 07:46 AM
A disappointing end to the season, but reflects where we are and have been in 2022 fairly.

Our best is good enough - we have good players across all areas of the field and still have plenty of upside.

Our inability to slow sides who get a run on is hopeless. This was an issue in 2021 and we didn’t address it adequately throughout the year. It was highlighted again last night.

We have some players who have either fallen off a cliff, aren’t as effective in the modern game or whose heads / hearts just aren’t in it to the extent they need to be. Keath and Hunter (sorry gents) I’m looking at you.

It seems likely Dunks leaves - huge loss if he does. He’s fast become the player who doesn’t give up and can put the side on his back. While I think we get better years out of Bont and others who didn’t have the consistent influence we expected, but huge loss.

If Garcia and West aren’t in our best 26 now we need to move on. I think they are, and showed a lot of promise, but we need these players in the fringe to become consistent AFL footballers and fast.

Anyway, last night sucked because we had them on the ropes, but we weren’t going to win a flag and shouldn’t have even been there. A finals game for a few kids - great. Let’s get to work and be a top 4 side in 23.

04-09-2022, 08:59 AM
Our fwd line is a joke. We have 1-2 natural forwards and it shows. Throw a 2 year deal at Gunston. He couldn’t be any worse, and give him the fwd coaching job after that. His leadership would also be beneficial, and he may be able to teach these other fwds some fwd craft.

04-09-2022, 08:59 AM
Many astute comments ma⁸de after the game on here. It's hard to put disappointment aside when you are on track to keep a side to the lowest half time score in Elimination Finals history, with 10 minutes to go in the first half and then they kick four in a row to be back in the game. Then we score the first goal of the 2nd half in the blink of an eye but thereafter manage just five points for the quarter.

The reality is that we have a very good list and have made finals four years on the trot. Smashed away by GWS, lost narrowly to StKilda in a game where we only played one quarter, led by 19 pts in the 3rd quarter of a GF after a Herculean effort to get there but eventually got crushed by a very, very good side.

However, let's not forget we coughed up a top four finish in 2021 with two shocking performances against Essendon and Hawthorn. This failure to perform consistently is a big concern to me. The double chance was in our hands - we let it slip.

Similarly, in this game we had them on the ropes but could not get the job done. Too much left to too few. Too many players failed to produce their best when it counted. We could not take a contested mark at either end of the ground! In the forward half our smalls could not lock it in. Our defenders spoiled ok but Freo either did lock it in, or applied so much pressure that we were reduced to just hacking it out of defence.

Furthermore, I lost count of how many times our tall fowards failed to hold marks and around the ground English also failed to make them stick. We also could not take our half chances in the third.

We missed Libba and Duryea so badly and did not help the cause with poor team selection. Rhylee West should have played and so should Schache.

It would have been good to win another final but I doubt we would have gone any further this year. And that's largely down to the players NOT the coach although Bevo and the MC must take some responsibility for the failures and take steps to rectify our problems in 2023.

04-09-2022, 09:06 AM
What did posters think of Darcy?

04-09-2022, 09:06 AM
I made a big post earlier this year about how our gamestyle is just too much hard work, and last night only reinforced my view on that.

Nothing in our "system" is easy, it all relies on maximum effort all the time.

Our forward entries particularly are a shit show, completely reliant on either contested marks or chaos footy. Super apparent last night when we were completely unable to generate anything that seemed methodical.

We need to either find a way to take advantage of two quick good marking key forwards (plus Weightman and Darcy and Bruce) that doesn't just involve bombs to the top of the goalsquare, or if we are to continue to be reliant on chaos ball we need to recruit players suited to that.

How have we for years generated infinite ground ball in congestion up forward and never even really tried to put a natural goalkicking crumbed on our list?

04-09-2022, 09:11 AM
Other than our shaky defence at times, I blame the fwd line structure as a concern. I’ve said before, we have 1-2 genuine fwds, and then others we are forcing to play fwd. we have no structure, no fwd nous. It’s all fly in an effort to stop the interceptor mark, but then when ball comes to ground we have no small fwds to crumb or hold the ball in. It’s diabolical.

For mine, the fwd 6 needs a MASSIVE overhaul. It also doesn’t help that the players up the field trying to deliver the ball are fairly poor kicks in general.

Some big decisions need to be made. And the fwd line is a good starting point.

04-09-2022, 09:16 AM

Offered more than Bruce and with another preseason he's going to be a hard player to match up on.

Happy he got a taste of finals.

04-09-2022, 09:16 AM

Delivered what was expected. Just a baby, good experience for him.

Pretty ropeable with Naughton who seemed more concerned about the headband than winning or halving a contest.

04-09-2022, 09:18 AM

After his goal unsighted all night but at least he hit the scoreboard. Glad he got a look at finals intensity.

04-09-2022, 09:21 AM
Delivered what was expected. Just a baby, good experience for him.

Pretty ropeable with Naughton who seemed more concerned about the headband than winning or halving a contest.

If we get Lobb i hope we play Naughton back.

04-09-2022, 09:30 AM

I agree.

04-09-2022, 09:44 AM
We desperately need a Walters type small forward - someone who is consistently dangerous in the forward 50 when the ball hits the ground or at stoppages.

04-09-2022, 09:56 AM
We desperately need a Walters type small forward - someone who is consistently dangerous in the forward 50 when the ball hits the ground or at stoppages.

Could Daniel be this guy?

04-09-2022, 09:58 AM
We desperately need a Walters type small forward - someone who is consistently dangerous in the forward 50 when the ball hots the ground or at stoppages.

I'm thinking some leadership as well.

Watching my football team Newcastle over night and we have a guy called Kieren Trippier.

He's an older guy we brought in with huge experience (English international, played for Athletico Madrid) and he just controls the team. The tempo, the arguing with the refs, set pieces etc.
A real level head, a steadying influence and an agent for the manager on the pitch.
Duryea out hurt in this regard (seriously he better gave had a baby by now) so I'd love to bring in an older head, who will play regularly that can be that voice on the field.

I love Marcus and Jacko but they just aren't that.

The entire team lose their heads far too often for it not to be a problem. It's not a coaching thing, Bevo doesn't go hey guys just keep running like headless chooks when we've lost momentum.
Its footy iq and leadership and we have a serious dearth of both.
Cotchin, Selwood you can hate them but they bring what we need.

Have to say I'm feeling the loss this morning.

Totally agree re crumbing forward.

04-09-2022, 09:59 AM

I'm starting to think this is the only way to balance the talls we have.
I don't care how many goals he scores individually, I think on balance we will still score as many as a team with him back and concede less.

04-09-2022, 10:05 AM
I made a big post earlier this year about how our gamestyle is just too much hard work, and last night only reinforced my view on that.

Our forward entries particularly are a shit show, completely reliant on either contested marks or chaos footy. Super apparent last night when we were completely unable to generate anything that seemed methodical.

We need to either find a way to take advantage of two quick good marking key forwards (plus Weightman and Darcy and Bruce) that doesn't just involve bombs to the top of the goalsquare, or if we are to continue to be reliant on chaos ball we need to recruit players suited to that.

How have we for years generated infinite ground ball in congestion up forward and never even really tried to put a natural goalkicking crumbed on our list?

The quality of forward entries seems to me to be a secondary concern for Bevo.
I've heard him refer to the inside 50 count multiple times when lamenting a loss; granted he sometimes mentions the quality however I think get it in lock it in is the mantra.

Fine tuning this part of our system is imperative. Balance the quality : quantity ratio.

How is Spangher a forward coach anyway? Just the only spot left?

04-09-2022, 10:08 AM
I'm starting to think this is the only way to balance the talls we have.
I don't care how many goals he scores individually, I think on balance we will still score as many as a team with him back and concede less.

Hes good enough to be our May/Stewart/Moore. We'd be a much better side with him down back IMO.

04-09-2022, 10:15 AM
Some good comments in regards to our list and needs.

Naughton back is interesting. We have some defensive issues that need addressing and sending Naughton back as well as bringing in Jones would certainly shore up our defence. It all depends whom we bring in as well. If we do get Lobb maybe Naughton goes back, but this could also apply to Darcy. Where does Bruce fit in? Not a bad problem to have.

A Walters type player is critical for our structure. Can this be developed within or do we need a ready made player? Someone with footy smarts that can lead the forward line would be great.

The leadership debate is interesting- know doubt at stages Bont leads from the front but it may also be a heavy burden, particularly when the team needs a lift and doesn’t. I feel we really don’t have many others to call upon in this area. There is no simple fix to this one. But definitely need assistance in this area and an experienced player could be handy but not sure who or where we get someone from.

04-09-2022, 10:17 AM
Could finish his career tomorrow and will still be regarded as one of our best ever, such a ridiculous comment.

I think Jee makes a decent point. I don't agree, however it's certainly thought provoking and generates discussion (which is what a forum is for).

He doesn't say anywhere he's not one of the all time great dogs, in fact he's said quite the opposite many times.

However he needs to kick those. He's done it multiple times in big moments it's not a one off.

Personally I thought it was his best game for the season but he's not beyond criticism surely.

04-09-2022, 10:31 AM
Player ratings

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/afl-finals-2022-western-bulldogs-player-ratings-vs-fremantle-dockers-first-elimination-final-highlights-stats-best-and-worst-players/news-story/544a61861fbeed3579280aa98fe0b1dd

04-09-2022, 10:38 AM

Shouldn't have played but given he has it hopefully is a good stepping stone for him.
A 2nd summer pre-season and this time without injury concerns will get him a lot closer to what we need.

04-09-2022, 10:43 AM
Shouldn't have played but given he has it hopefully is a good stepping stone for him.
A 2nd summer pre-season and this time without injury concerns will get him a lot closer to what we need.
I thought he had an almost game, as did JUH. I was very disappointed with Naughton - he couldn't get involved when we were white hot and he was a complete non-factor when we were challenged. Perhaps we missed a trick not giving him a run in the ruck in the 3rd and swapping roles with English, who was a liability in the middle most of the night, and who did not give us enough around the ground where he should have torched Sean Darcy/Lobb.

The delivery into F50 the last 3 quarters did none of our forwards a favour. It was horrible, predictable and completely played into the hands of Ryan, Pearce and Cox.

04-09-2022, 10:51 AM
I thought he had an almost game, as did JUH. I was very disappointed with Naughton - he couldn't get involved when we were white hot and he was a complete non-factor when we were challenged. Perhaps we missed a trick not giving him a run in the ruck in the 3rd and swapping roles with English, who was a liability in the middle most of the night, and who did not give us enough around the ground where he should have torched Sean Darcy/Lobb.

The delivery into F50 the last 3 quarters did none of our forwards a favour. It was horrible, predictable and completely played into the hands of Ryan, Pearce and Cox.

Another thing that gave me the absolute gripes was our forwards playing behind when we were trying to clear defence.

Naughton takes the back position these guys need to push up when we are in front on the score board.

No footy iq.

04-09-2022, 11:00 AM
Player ratings

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/afl-finals-2022-western-bulldogs-player-ratings-vs-fremantle-dockers-first-elimination-final-highlights-stats-best-and-worst-players/news-story/544a61861fbeed3579280aa98fe0b1dd

Hard to take them serious when they rate Dunkley a 7 and Hunter a 6.

04-09-2022, 11:12 AM

It was the same in 2016, the men of mayhem was very taxing on the players and they just couldn't sustain it in the following years.

We have tried to bring in small forwards but none have really worked.

04-09-2022, 12:24 PM
Player ratings

They should just make the ratings out of 5 if they're not willing to give any player less than 3 or more than 8.

Bontempelli's game was a 10, he was outstanding.

Vandermeer was a 0 or even -1. Richards the same.

04-09-2022, 12:37 PM

Yep agree.

04-09-2022, 12:51 PM

Dunkley an 8 or 9… Hunter lucky to be a 4.

Hunter can’t kick over a jam tin and his greatest weapon (his running power) isn’t the same as it once was…. Our lack of strength on the wings is a real concern, but time to move on from Lachie.

04-09-2022, 12:54 PM
Dunkley an 8 or 9… Hunter lucky to be a 4.

Hunter can’t kick over a jam tin and his greatest weapon (his running power) isn’t the same as it once was…. Our lack of strength on the wings is a real concern, but time to move on from Lachie.

Exactly.

04-09-2022, 01:07 PM
We have tried to bring in small forwards but none have really worked.

Have we though? Aside from Cavarra (who was pretty workmanlike as far as crumbing forwards go) I can't think of us trying a genuine crumbing natural goalkicker type in at least a decade. Weightman I guess is ballpark but it seems he is more medium forward.

It isn't as if this type is expensive to acquire like key forwards either, virtually all the natural small forwards in the league were late picks or rookies.

04-09-2022, 01:13 PM
Watching Naughton's 100 games highlight clips we actually forget how good back he actually was. Like crazy good.

04-09-2022, 01:30 PM
Have we though? Aside from Cavarra (who was pretty workmanlike as far as crumbing forwards go) I can't think of us trying a genuine crumbing natural goalkicker type in at least a decade. Weightman I guess is ballpark but it seems he is more medium forward.

It isn't as if this type is expensive to acquire like key forwards either, virtually all the natural small forwards in the league were late picks or rookies.

I tend to agree, we missed Pickett, brought in Cavarra and have seemed happy enough to try and reshape the likes of McNeil, VDM and maybe Scott. We've done a bit but not really gone hard at it. Have we been distracted by obtaining points and picks for JUH, Treloar and Darcy?

04-09-2022, 01:31 PM
Watching Naughton's 100 games highlight clips we actually forget how good back he actually was. Like crazy good.

I've been against moving him back but if we're playing Darcy forward then he's gotta go back.

04-09-2022, 01:31 PM

Lone of the more disappointing milestone games last night. Was hoping for so much more.

04-09-2022, 01:32 PM
I've been against moving him back but if we're playing Darcy forward then he's gotta go back.

I think its one of Darcy / Naughton forward or back.

04-09-2022, 01:37 PM
I think its one of Darcy / Naughton forward or back.

Yeah but it seems were going to blood Darcy in the forward line so it has to be Naughton.

04-09-2022, 01:44 PM
Are we serious in here? Naughton kicked 51 goals this season, is like 22, and is only gonna improve. Firstly if we choosing one of he and Darcy to play back it isn't Naughton, and secondly there is no way anyone at the club is even considering sending our only actually great forward (and only really weightman is proven good atm) down back.

04-09-2022, 01:49 PM
Yeah but it seems were going to blood Darcy in the forward line so it has to be Naughton.

Darcy isn't a defender ever. Naughton back balances things especially with Keath probably done.

04-09-2022, 01:52 PM
Are we serious in here? Naughton kicked 51 goals this season, is like 22, and is only gonna improve. Firstly if we choosing one of he and Darcy to play back it isn't Naughton, and secondly there is no way anyone at the club is even considering sending our only actually great forward (and only really weightman is proven good atm) down back.

Chris Grant kicked 50 in his first year and was one of the all time greats and went back for the sake of the team.

It's a compliment to Naughton really that he's a swingman.

Id move him dependant on match ups.

04-09-2022, 01:58 PM

It is the game day thread. So the baby goes out with the bath water.

04-09-2022, 02:42 PM

I've agreed with this entirely during the whole "Naughton back" conversation for the reason you've said, but if we're determined to blood Darcy in the forward line there's just no room for three talls (4 if you throw in Lobb and 5 with Bruce and ok yeah we're not gonna play all 5 at once yada yada) something's got to give.

04-09-2022, 03:08 PM
Chris Grant kicked 50 in his first year and was one of the all time greats and went back for the sake of the team.

It's a compliment to Naughton really that he's a swingman.

Id move him dependant on match ups.

Chris didn't go back till late in his career

04-09-2022, 03:24 PM

I need to go back and check, but there were a few starting with Honeychurch

04-09-2022, 04:04 PM
Chris didn't go back till late in his career

I didn't say when ;)