View Full Version : 2023 membership

10-10-2022, 02:18 AM
Signed up and grabbed members hoodie, looks better than last years. Not happy about no choice of hat/scarf/beanie, much prefer cap over scarf.

10-10-2022, 07:45 AM
I'm with you we need sun protection more than warmth up north. Surely it wouldn't be that hard to work out on where your posting it.

10-10-2022, 08:36 AM
I received an email late September on the membership changes. I'm ok with them; below is a snapshot.

Fixed fixture until Round 15 should help you in planning to attend games in 2023,
Return to barcoded membership cards for members on general admission and reserved seat memberships.

Our membership packs have been revamped for 2023. The contents inside, and the date you receive it, will change going forward. Members will have become accustomed to selecting a preferred member item through the renewal process which has resulted in popular items such as the member scarf becoming exhausted quickly, and not being available to members who want one.

Moving into 2023, all adult members will now receive a red, white & blue membership scarf as a standard pack inclusion. In addition, members on our Committed Bulldog plan will also receive a $20 Bulldogs Shop voucher which can be redeemed for any shop item, including the exclusive member range such as a member beanie or cap.

New membership website

10-10-2022, 11:42 AM
I received an email late September on the membership changes. I'm ok with them; below is a snapshot.

Fixed fixture until Round 15 should help you in planning to attend games in 2023,
Return to barcoded membership cards for members on general admission and reserved seat memberships.

Our membership packs have been revamped for 2023. The contents inside, and the date you receive it, will change going forward. Members will have become accustomed to selecting a preferred member item through the renewal process which has resulted in popular items such as the member scarf becoming exhausted quickly, and not being available to members who want one.

Moving into 2023, all adult members will now receive a red, white & blue membership scarf as a standard pack inclusion. In addition, members on our Committed Bulldog plan will also receive a $20 Bulldogs Shop voucher which can be redeemed for any shop item, including the exclusive member range such as a member beanie or cap.

New membership website

Yeah - it 100% said that with my info pack as well...I called them about it as I really don't need any more scarves (5x roll up at my house every year!) and the answer was 'well, we had to simplify things because people were complaining that they missed out etc. I guess the challenge is when you have to order the quantity of product we are talking about you have to order early and...

10-10-2022, 11:50 AM
But I want a hat

10-10-2022, 12:03 PM
The hats are the whole reason I buy the membership. They’re the only hat I’ve ever found wide enough to stay on my head when I go running.

10-10-2022, 12:43 PM
Funnily enough the cost a members only hat is $20...guess how much the gift voucher for the bulldog shop is...

10-10-2022, 12:47 PM
Funnily enough the cost a members only hat is $20...guess how much the gift voucher for the bulldog shop is...

Do I have to go buy it? If I have to go buy it I don't want it. If it works online I can live with it

10-10-2022, 12:53 PM
Do I have to go buy it? If I have to go buy it I don't want it. If it works online I can live with it

Before I answer are you likely to complain about postage and handling?

10-10-2022, 01:06 PM
Before I answer are you likely to complain about postage and handling?

...depends what it costs?

10-10-2022, 01:16 PM
...depends what it costs?

Part of me wants to stop this as you are reeling me in... but part of me wants to keep working with you as a certain poster around here call jeemak thinks I lack conviction not to follow things through...

I'm really torn on this one...

10-10-2022, 01:23 PM
Postage is $12.50 for hat.

10-10-2022, 01:34 PM
Postage is $12.50 for hat.

Oof. I was thinking like $5. This is all Azabob's fault.

I probably won't get a hat this year in that case

10-10-2022, 01:37 PM

Can't post much for $5

10-10-2022, 01:40 PM

You eastside or interstate?

Maybe eastdog can swing by the club on one of his WestSidePub adventures?

10-10-2022, 01:44 PM

They can meet at the pub

10-10-2022, 01:44 PM
Can't post much for $5

Well if BAD of all people is defending the club they must be in the right.

Generally when I buy things online I don't expect that price for postage and just for my personal value proposition, I just don't want to pay it. I have hats.

This arrangement doesn't really add value to the membership package IMO. If you wanted a scarf because you're afraid of a cold neck or something then it's probably good but for those of us who are too tough for all that it's less great.

10-10-2022, 01:45 PM

Now THIS I like. I'm in Southbank but I'm sure Eastie would have no problem stopping by Crown Casino on the way back.

10-10-2022, 01:51 PM
I have just clocked that I am getting 3x scarves. Perfect for the tropics.... :rolleyes:

10-10-2022, 01:56 PM
Well if BAD of all people is defending the club they must be in the right.

Generally when I buy things online I don't expect that price for postage and just for my personal value proposition, I just don't want to pay it. I have hats.

This arrangement doesn't really add value to the membership package IMO. If you wanted a scarf because you're afraid of a cold neck or something then it's probably good but for those of us who are too tough for all that it's less great.

Not defending anything, just giving you facts. I work in Freight consultancy

10-10-2022, 01:58 PM

Always with the answers this one

10-10-2022, 01:59 PM

How much to ship Josh Dunkley to Brisbane?

10-10-2022, 02:26 PM
How much to ship Josh Dunkley to Brisbane?

2 first rounders

16-10-2022, 10:22 PM
Just renewed my Doggies membership for the 2023 season.

08-12-2022, 12:54 PM
Anyone get their packs yet? I got mine yesterday which hopefully means those of your that didn't get any last year or got them very late don't go through that again.

Opening it up and remembering that it was going to be a scarf with no other options gave me a second dose of disappointment.

This

08-12-2022, 02:54 PM
Is anyone an AFL Member with Western Bulldogs Club Support and also have reserved seats. It is such a painful process to renew each year. It changes year to year. The communication between the AFL and Bulldogs is horrendous. Basically if you didn't love the club you would just give up and walk away.

I shake my head every single year.

08-12-2022, 02:56 PM
Is anyone an AFL Western Bulldogs member with reserved seats. It is such a painful process to renew each year. It changes year to year. The communication between the AFL and Bulldogs is horrendous. Basically if you didn't love the club you would just give up and walk away.

I am and have had no issues at all. I am on the rolling membership which automatically rolls every year

08-12-2022, 03:14 PM
I am and have had no issues at all. I am on the rolling membership which automatically rolls every year

They charged me the full amount include the base Bulldog Membership rolling over! They didn't discount the AFL Membership component. I have been an AFL member since 1992.

08-12-2022, 03:20 PM
They charged me the full amount include the base Bulldog Membership rolling over! They didn't discount the AFL Membership component. I have been an AFL member since 1992.

Hope you can sort it out

08-12-2022, 03:24 PM
Hope you can sort it out

Absolutely all sorted. Just took a phone call and about 30 minutes of my time.

09-12-2022, 11:49 PM
Received my 2023 Doggies membership pack. As an EJ Whitten social club member I was wondering whether we get those guest passes once again?

14-12-2022, 04:34 PM
Really disappointed ... again. I have traditionally bought my son his members pack as a Christmas present, but with the recent move to more centralised packs/handling etc, it was never arriving before the end of Feb.

This year I was told to sign up early to ensure we get the packs before Christmas. This year I was told the club is handling it this year and it will ensure we get the membership packs a s soon as we sign up. Now, all Vic members have started receiving their packs (including those who signed up after me), I get a message that mine and my son's pack are due between 23rd and 30th December.

False promises yet again :mad:

14-12-2022, 04:38 PM
Really disappointed ... again. I have traditionally bought my son his members pack as a Christmas present, but with the recent move to more centralised packs/handling etc, it was never arriving before the end of Feb.

This year I was told to sign up early to ensure we get the packs before Christmas. This year I was told the club is handling it this year and it will ensure we get the membership packs a s soon as we sign up. Now, all Vic members have started receiving their packs (including those who signed up after me), I get a message that mine and my son's pack are due between 23rd and 30th December.

This is really not good enough. There is no reason they can't get it to you before 23rd

14-12-2022, 06:35 PM
I got my pack on Monday. Had an email with Aus post tracking.

14-12-2022, 06:47 PM

Not that this helps but guaranteed they all come into the central DC in Melbourne and then on forwarded from there. Fingers crossed Australia Post come up with a minor miracle for you.

14-12-2022, 07:00 PM
Have to be honest I couldn't care less when it comes as long as it's prior to round 1.
I'm a roll over member too so must be early.
My mum got hers last week.

14-12-2022, 07:26 PM
Really disappointed

Might be a Perth thing Scraggs as i got same email.

14-12-2022, 07:30 PM
Have to be honest I couldn't care less when it comes as long as it's prior to round 1.

Im a roll over member also, mine came yesterday.

dalek
14-12-2022, 08:16 PM
I'm a rollover member & my wife got hers the other day but I'm still waiting for mine.

14-12-2022, 09:03 PM

I am like you, in that I do not care when it arrives for me.

Having said that, I do purchase it for my Kid's, Nieces and Nephews as a Xmas present they look forward to. Thus the last few years I have had to resort to other Gifts, as it was not arriving on time.

I understand where Scragger is coming from.

14-12-2022, 09:20 PM
this is on the Aus post site:
https://auspost.com.au/service-updates/domestic-service-updates/nsw-to-wa-delivery-delays

14-12-2022, 09:22 PM
I am like you, in that I do not care when it arrives for me.

Having said that, I do purchase it for my Kid's, Nieces and Nephews as a Xmas present they look forward to. Thus the last few years I have had to resort to other Gifts, as it was not arriving on time.

I understand where Scragger is coming from.

If the club says it will be there for Xmas then it should be I agree with that.

15-12-2022, 12:11 AM
this is on the Aus post site:
https://auspost.com.au/service-updates/domestic-service-updates/nsw-to-wa-delivery-delays

Rail has been out for awhile.

15-12-2022, 02:36 AM
If the club says it will be there for Xmas then it should be I agree with that.

Out of the clubs control once its mailed.

15-12-2022, 10:20 AM
Our 3 all came in the one package this morning (auto renewals). My daughter received her 10 year member certificate too which was nice.

17-12-2022, 09:58 AM
My pack arrived yesterday. Like the scarf! Old school.

17-12-2022, 05:06 PM
Received my pack today

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FkJ6AzXaYAMR8Dc?format=jpg&name=medium

17-12-2022, 07:29 PM
Well done BAD. It was 10 consecutive years for me as a Doggies member last year. About another 40 years for me :D

Been a Dogs supporter since around the early 2000s.

17-12-2022, 07:30 PM
My pack arrived yesterday. Like the scarf! Old school.

Yep I got old school vibes with the scarf as well. I like it.

17-12-2022, 07:34 PM
Received my pack today

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FkJ6AzXaYAMR8Dc?format=jpg&name=medium

Congrats Bad! Not sure that pack is special enough to be honest. I think Chris Grant should be in there at least. Or maybe next years membership for free?

I'm at 43 ! My mum is 54....She's been to both flags has to be an omen.

17-12-2022, 07:38 PM
Congrats Bad! Not sure that pack is special enough to be honest. I think Chris Grant should be in there at least. Or maybe next years membership for free?

I'm at 43 ! My mum is 54....She's been to both flags has to be an omen.

Typo? It was 62 years between the flags.
By the way Mums can be 21 for a long time

17-12-2022, 07:41 PM
Typo? It was 62 years between the flags.
By the way Mums can be 21 for a long time

Ha - 54 years a consecutive member. I reckon it's more but that's what she put down when they asked. She said she did have a break when she had kids.
To my dismay she got a tattoo after the 2016 GF that says 54 - 16 Woof with the logo. She was in her 70s they are crazy times :)

17-12-2022, 08:10 PM
Ha - 54 years a consecutive member. I reckon it's more but that's what she put down when they asked. She said she did have a break when she had kids.
To my dismay she got a tattoo after the 2016 GF that says 54 - 16 Woof with the logo. She was in her 70s they are crazy times :)

I was being a tad cheeky :)

18-12-2022, 11:27 AM
How did you get a 50 year membership pin when you’re only 32 BAD?

Just got my pack, and a 20 year pin which has me feeling a certain way. Think it’s the nicest thing the club has ever done for me.

18-12-2022, 01:17 PM
How did you get a 50 year membership pin when you’re only 32 BAD?

Just got my pack, and a 20 year pin which has me feeling a certain way. Think it’s the nicest thing the club has ever done for me.

I wish :D

well done on 20 years.

20-12-2022, 06:53 PM
Really disappointed ... again. I get a message that mine and my son's pack are due between 23rd and 30th December.

Got mine today Scraggers which left melb same time as yours so you should get in time for Chrissy.

20-12-2022, 07:54 PM
I'm still upset that I've pretty much been a member since the day I was born but I missed a couple seasons when I was in my 20's (young family and work commitments, I know I know its a shit excuse :) ) Anyway when I received my pin a few years back it was a 15 year one. So I assume it must go by consecutive years but I still feel a little aggrieved for the other say 25 or so years of being a member that somehow didn't count.

Anyway I am hoping I at least get a cap, scarf, beanie or anything with my membership pack this year when it arrives as I haven't received anything except my barcode the last couple of seasons. Actually I will write an email to them after I finish this post to sort this out.

Another thing that irked me about our membership department is that somehow my son stopped receiving a membership a couple years ago and I had it on the bulldog for life monthly payment setup thingy. My son is 22 now and doesn't have much interest in going to games too much these days so I have never pursued why they cancelled the membership, but I was happy to pay it and have a spare ticket in case anyone else wanted to come to a game with me. I'm surprised niether me or my son has ever received a call or email regarding this, strange. Maybe this is the sort of reasons why we are on the lower end of the membership ladder.

Alright enough whinging, the new scarf looks pretty! (not that I'll get one....I couldn't help myself whinging again sorry)

20-12-2022, 08:25 PM
Ratsmac, I agree it shouldn't really matter if a 25 year membership milestone has been spread out over 28 years other than it's probably a bit harder for the club to administer in terms of recognition.
For example our supporters were remarkably generous during the 2 years impacted by Covid and the clock shouldn't reset for anyone who had to opt out for a year.
I'm not knocking anyone who's achieved milestones in consecutive years as they do deserve acknowledgment and the club is lucky to have them but we also have a lot of people who have financially supported this club for the same number of years in total but they're not being acknowledged in the same way.

20-12-2022, 08:31 PM
Ratsmac, I agree it shouldn't really matter if a 25 year membership milestone has been spread out over 28 years other than it's probably a bit harder for the club to administer in terms of recognition.
For example our supporters were remarkably generous during the 2 years impacted by Covid and the clock shouldn't reset for anyone who had to opt out for a year.
I'm not knocking anyone who's achieved milestones in consecutive years as they do deserve acknowledgment and the club is lucky to have them but we also have a lot of people who have financially supported this club for the same number of years in total but they're not being acknowledged in the same way.

It should be been a member for 20 years. Doesn't matter what years or if they're consecutive.

If it's 5 could be 1992,98,01,03,05 who cares it's five years.

20-12-2022, 10:43 PM
I
Another thing that irked me about our membership department is that somehow my son stopped receiving a membership a couple years ago and I had it on the bulldog for life monthly payment setup thingy.

This happened to me as well when my daughter turned 18 (well, the year after she turned 18).

I had a family with an additional kid - and they still kept that going (I have 3x kids) - and simply discontinued her membership...so it was a bit of stuffing around to move kid 3 onto the family membership and move her onto her own membership and boy oh boy it coulda/shoulda been so much easier...and it must happen ALL the time as kids grow up.

Anyway, in the end no harm, no foul and everyone has their membership but it was as if the club actively tried to stop her from remaining a member of the club.

20-12-2022, 10:45 PM
Yeah i got my 15 yr pin a few years ago but didn't renew with covid, now membership card says 2 yrs member. :mad:

20-12-2022, 10:45 PM
It should be been a member for 20 years. Doesn't matter what years or if they're consecutive.

If it's 5 could be 1992,98,01,03,05 who cares it's five years.

I agree but calculating that would be an enormous challenge...I guess once the db enquiry is written it's written and it's only something you have to pay to have done once, but it certainly would not be an out-of-the-box option on a client management system.

20-12-2022, 11:41 PM
I agree but calculating that would be an enormous challenge...I guess once the db enquiry is written it's written and it's only something you have to pay to have done once, but it certainly would not be an out-of-the-box option on a client management system.

Trouble how do you go back and work it out

21-12-2022, 09:04 AM

It should be a pretty simple query to get that, agree though no one has ever done it that I know of and it would depend on them actually having that data.

Not sure there's a massive incentive in being loyal really. Should be a discount matrix.
5 years 5 percent capped out at 10 maybe?

The certs and pins are nice but not sure it's enough of an incentive to keep rolling over.

21-12-2022, 10:18 AM
I'm pretty sure they asked people how long they had been members some years back because they didn't have complete records.

I answered with the year I first became a member, however I am not 100% sure if I may have missed 1 year when I was living overseas.

21-12-2022, 11:55 AM
I was in the same boat had to stop my membership back in the day because of a young family and a single wage back in the days when interest rates were up around the 18 to 19% range. Some things take a bigger priority.
I'm not worried about it that's just how life goes sometimes. :)

21-12-2022, 10:25 PM
Got mine today Scraggers which left melb same time as yours so you should get in time for Chrissy.

Mine arrived today … the membership department were true to their word :cool:

21-12-2022, 10:28 PM
I had 15 years of membership before I went to uni. 3 years break, and then signed up again. 27 years consecutive since finishing uni.

I’ve still got all my cardboard membership cards from years gone by (somewhere:p)

21-12-2022, 10:52 PM

Great News

22-12-2022, 12:31 AM

Good to hear Scraggers. Just in time for Christmas.

22-12-2022, 10:14 AM
On another thread I mentioned about the challenges of having the club training at Skinner reserve and doing the weights work over at the old Barkers cafe whilst we go about building a brighter and better club.
It all sounds terrific but the onus is on the footy department to work around the limitations as the slow build is in progress. Who knows if it compromises our season or not.

Just before the start of the 2022 season the club contacted the various coterie groups to advise that the AFL had commenced work on a reconstruction of a couple of rooms that are used to accommodate the members. Essentially those rooms wouldn't be available and that we all would be shuffled around into other rooms for the season. As a player sponsor we would have to give up our premium seating on the wing and our seating would be around the forward flank and also move into the room normally used by the Tops Dogs and I think the Top Dogs were relocated to the Past Players room in the forward pocket. I'm not sure where the past players moved to.
The Westerners would have moved as well. After 2 years of the footy experience being compromised by Covid we had to accept another year where we wouldn't be getting quite what we paid for. That might sound petty to some but we do have to cough up a fair bit to be a Player Sponsor, a Westerner or a Top Dog. On top of that the match day experience was very disorganised with a complicated seating process and a large membership base squeezed into a smaller room.
Still it was just for one year so not the end of the world.

My understanding is that there is a fair chance we won't be returning to our original rooms for the 2023 season either and that again we will have to accept a fair bit less than what we pay for. Apparently the rebuild is behind schedule so they need another season.

It's not our clubs fault in fact I can fault them but it highlights to me that they, much like our footy department, have to work around the limitations of a AFL/Marvel or stadium rebuild. The AFL and the clubs get seduced by rebuilding things and they love announcing the budgets for these redevelopment projects. The problem is that they also lose their focus on the members match day experience and the way that is impacted.

I've been a player sponsor for 17 years but I'm really thinking about cancelling that and just looking for the best premium seating arrangement I can find.

As I said, it's not the clubs fault because it's out of their hands and they have to look at the other options while we patiently wait for the rebuild to be completed. For what is a very much a membership based model the AFL and clubs need to make that a success and in the process they do lose focus on the members. It's far sexier for the AFL and club excec's to show powerpoint presentations on how things will look in the future rather than deal with the more mundane day to day focus of looking after the members experience each and every season.

22-12-2022, 12:03 PM
I know it's not this club but my Nan has been a Geelong member for something like 60 years and she's considering dropping the membership since the club is kicking out everyone from the area they sit in and making them sit somewhere else.

It's pretty shitty that for all the money they rake in they can't take care of their long time members

27-12-2022, 09:59 PM
2023 Doggies member sticker proudly displayed on the back of my car. Ready for 2023 season. Go Dogs!

https://i.postimg.cc/6yrZSSgP/523-F8687-E088-4878-8-CF3-E1-EC56354-C60.jpg (https://postimg.cc/6yrZSSgP)

28-12-2022, 12:43 PM
I’m surprised we’ve gone back to the “Through and Through” campaign (no offence TnT). I have enjoyed the media department’s work over the last couple of years. Surely we could have been a little more original.

28-12-2022, 09:26 PM
I've been a player sponsor for 17 years but I'm really thinking about cancelling that and just looking for the best premium seating arrangement I can find.

As I said, it's not the clubs fault because it's out of their hands and they have to look at the other options while we patiently wait for the rebuild to be completed.

Communication solves every problem mate.

1/. You say it isn't the clubs fault? THEY are selling the package.
2/. They KNOW the value of what they are offering is being degraded...do something about it.

I have 1000 members at work not 50000, but recently made a timetable change that impacted about 10 people...we had a 'unique' class offering that has been on the timetable for 10 years but really isn't being supported except by those 10x people... - after much hand wringing I decided to cancel it (it runs 3x per week - so 150x per year give or take).

Before I did that, I reached out to each of the impacted people - provided them with an extra (approx) $1000 worth of services for free in their annual membership (they were at a mid level membership of around $1800 and this pushed them up to the top level around $3K) and explained the reason for the cancel of the class etc...the extra stuff was added FIRST, not LATER as a reaction to complaints.

Is everyone happy? Umm. Probs not. But they were pretty happy to say we went out of our way to compensate them and many have been using the newly upgraded services...

I just think the club needs to be on the front foot with this stuff. Time heals all wounds obviously, but as a 'smaller' club, we need to be providing more intimate customer service...I'm frustrated reading your message because to me the premium packages should not be undercut in value in ANY WAY. Include EXTRA STUFF...an additional sponsors function per year would be CAKE as an inclusion...it wouldn't cost the club much at all and would really feel like 'something' and an acknowledgement that things haven't been as they should be...

28-12-2022, 09:32 PM
I just think the club needs to be on the front foot with this stuff. Time heals all wounds obviously, but as a 'smaller' club, we need to be providing more intimate customer service...I'm frustrated reading your message because to me the premium packages should not be undercut in value in ANY WAY. Include EXTRA STUFF...an additional sponsors function per year would be CAKE as an inclusion...it wouldn't cost the club much at all and would really feel like 'something' and an acknowledgement that things haven't been as they should be...

Yes I think that's a good point.

Some form of compensation would be nice.

I hate to think they're using terms like "natural attrition " or banking on x percentage drop off during the redevelopment as a unavoidable cost they can wear.

Those x's are very loyal people.

28-12-2022, 11:14 PM
Communication solves every problem mate.

1/. You say it isn't the clubs fault? THEY are selling the package.
2/. They KNOW the value of what they are offering is being degraded...do something about it.

I have 1000 members at work not 50000, but recently made a timetable change that impacted about 10 people...we had a 'unique' class offering that has been on the timetable for 10 years but really isn't being supported except by those 10x people... - after much hand wringing I decided to cancel it (it runs 3x per week - so 150x per year give or take).

Before I did that, I reached out to each of the impacted people - provided them with an extra (approx) $1000 worth of services for free in their annual membership (they were at a mid level membership of around $1800 and this pushed them up to the top level around $3K) and explained the reason for the cancel of the class etc...the extra stuff was added FIRST, not LATER as a reaction to complaints.

Is everyone happy? Umm. Probs not. But they were pretty happy to say we went out of our way to compensate them and many have been using the newly upgraded services...

For the 2022 season, the AFL advised the clubs late that the rooms wouldn't be available and they let the coterie members know as soon as they worked out how they would try and manage around it.
For the 2023 season, it's not 100% certain that the rooms won't be available again but it's looking likely. As soon as the club knows for sure they will let all the coterie members know. I know some of the player sponsors have assumed we will be returning to our normal digs but I suspect while they'll again be disappointed they will gut it out again. 95% of the members probably won't blink an eye.

I'm not sure how much flexibility the club has with this but I do think they've been dealt a shitty hand by the fact that whoever has project managed the upgrade of two already good rooms at Marvel can't manage the tradies to get it done on time and in particular as it seems they need another 6 months to get it completed but that is the nature of all the money being thrown at projects and infrastructure upgrades in Victoria.
The end product, however long that takes, is apparently vastly the more important than any inconvenience to the public or in this case the paying members.

After a couple of seasons compromised by the Pandemic and then again 2022 with the rooms being closed and where we had to accept the lesser facilities I guess I'm saying that for me enough is enough of paying a premium price for coterie memberships and receiving less in return.

I can't blame the club on the AFL botching the refurbishments of a couple of rooms at Marvel that probably didn't need such a time consuming upgrade anyway.
The newly appointed manager I was speaking to has just arrived here from the west and understood my concerns. She will let the coterie members know as soon as something is confirmed.

I'm not looking to score something extra to mix of events and facilities I get as part of the membership to compensate me and really it's just the potential seating relocation for another year that grates things for me.
If I do cancel the the players sponsors package I'll certainly miss the people that I've typically sat with before, during and after the games that I have for many years. I could easily spend 50% less than I am and get seats close to where I'd like to be sitting.

28-12-2022, 11:26 PM
Yes I think that's a good point.

Some form of compensation would be nice.

I hate to think they're using terms like "natural attrition " or banking on x percentage drop off during the redevelopment as a unavoidable cost they can wear.

Those x's are very loyal people.

If 15 players sponsors left because of it (and it wouldn't be that high) they would be quickly replaced with new arrivals so while the club will listen intently they'll still hit their membership numbers and financial budgets.
Where they might lose out is on the feedback they get from their surveys but once again the commentary will mainly focus on something clearly out of their control and something that was forced on them by shitty project management.
In other words it won't be a reflection of the staff and management, nor should it be, and it will be something they can push back on the AFL who will just shrug their shoulders. They'll be spending millions on the upgrade and a few inconvenienced people will mean little to them.

28-12-2022, 11:45 PM
If 15 players sponsors left because of it (and it wouldn't be that high) they would be quickly replaced with new arrivals so while the club will listen intently they'll still hit their membership numbers and financial budgets.
Where they might lose out is on the feedback they get from their surveys but once again the commentary will mainly focus on something clearly out of their control and something that was forced on them by shitty project management.
In other words it won't be a reflection of the staff and management, nor should it be, and it will be something they can push back on the AFL who will just shrug their shoulders. They'll be spending millions on the upgrade and a few inconvenienced people will mean little to them.

I guess it depends on why you think the joint exists. To hit KPIs, or because of the members?

It ultimately comes down to values and culture.

29-12-2022, 10:58 AM
I guess it depends on why you think the joint exists. To hit KPIs, or because of the members?

They can sort of do both. It comes down to the way they want to interpret the numbers.
If membership numbers increase, and it should, then the main part of the KPI's have been met so not much to look at there and if we have more members is there any real need to review what is being offered to the members?

29-12-2022, 11:12 AM
They can sort of do both. It comes down to the way they want to interpret the numbers.
If membership numbers increase, and it should, then the main part of the KPI's have been met so not much to look at there and if we have more members is there any real need to review what is being offered to the members?

Besides my Bulldogs memberships (Gold Member, plus, Social Club for wife, VFL, Sutton Club, Ballarat member, AFLW Foundation and backyard contribution) I have an AFL membership and VRC membership, plus RACV Club. Besides the Bulldogs memberships, the other clubs all offered reduced membership payments, plus credits on my accounts for hospitality. Example: $100 food vouchers here and there, free second meals when booking in restaurants etc. Sounds like small stuff but I accepted it and felt the clubs were trying to compensate me for the time we had lockdowns etc. RACV even dropped payment for one year.

I think the AFL membership was discounted, plus free food plus a second meal free when booking. They even allowed the carry over of the food benefits.

With my Bulldogs memberships, yes I was happy to just give the money, but it would have been good to get something. This year we didn't even have a social club Christmas party, like precovid. With AFLW previously we had a couple of nights get together with the players, but 2022 nothing. Sometimes the small things go along way and I am sure many members would not have been happy not getting anything.

29-12-2022, 03:24 PM
I made a few changes to my membership for the first time in years recently.

Have the 9 game bronze x 3 with social club attached, AFLW and Ballarat add ons.

Dropped the VFL memberships because the fixture has been awful, made enough donations for stuff I couldn’t attend. Switched my payment plan from one off to month to month as it kept coming in Nov/Dec when I can’t really just drop 2k or whatever my previous spend was.

All done over the phone, very quick service and good explanations of my options.

29-12-2022, 03:58 PM
Besides my Bulldogs memberships (Gold Member, plus, Social Club for wife, VFL, Sutton Club, Ballarat member, AFLW Foundation and backyard contribution) I have an AFL membership and VRC membership, plus RACV Club. Besides the Bulldogs memberships, the other clubs all offered reduced membership payments, plus credits on my accounts for hospitality. Example: $100 food vouchers here and there, free second meals when booking in restaurants etc. Sounds like small stuff but I accepted it and felt the clubs were trying to compensate me for the time we had lockdowns etc. RACV even dropped payment for one year.

I think the AFL membership was discounted, plus free food plus a second meal free when booking. They even allowed the carry over of the food benefits.

With my Bulldogs memberships, yes I was happy to just give the money, but it would have been good to get something. This year we didn't even have a social club Christmas party, like precovid. With AFLW previously we had a couple of nights get together with the players, but 2022 nothing. Sometimes the small things go along way and I am sure many members would not have been happy not getting anything.

I recall the club offered membership refunds during COVID when we couldn’t attend games. What else would have you preferred?

29-12-2022, 04:06 PM

Majority of members and supporters are pretty happy to see healthy profits and revenue year on year, so KPIs are important.

Below is from the club’s website on why we exist

Fiercely proud of our uniquely Western Suburbs heritage – the Bulldogs have represented Melbourne’s West, our geographic heartland, for over 100 years.

Our famous Bulldog fighting spirit mirrors that of the West – where hard work and standing up for what you believe in matters.

We are the team of the Mighty West, for the West, and that was reflected in the tale of our club for many years.

However, our story is no longer only defined by where we come from. Our horizons have lifted, unprecedented opportunities await, and with that there is a moment in time to evolve.

While some things change, some stay the same.

Our Club still exists to bring people together and create lasting memories, as much as it strives to win premierships. It’s still about our people, and their shared passion for the red, white and blue. It’s still about ambition, pride, determination, and having a place to call home. We’ll always be entrenched in our community, embracing the beauty and strength in its diversity.

With emerging AFL and AFLW playing lists laden with talent, our financial destiny in our own hands, and a redevelopment of our Whitten Oval home underway, we can now take this moment to change the perception of being a ‘battler’ Club forever.

To realise our untapped potential, to pay homage to our past but to not let it define us going forward. To build a sustainable, successful football club, both on and off the field.

And it all starts with a story. Our story.

A story for us to embrace, own, and share.

A story that encompasses our past, present and future.

It’s the story of what it means to be a Bulldog ‘Through & Through’.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/about-us/through-and-through

03-02-2023, 05:44 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FoAN5HAaMAEnvfD?format=jpg&name=900x900

03-02-2023, 06:13 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FoAN5HAaMAEnvfD?format=jpg&name=900x900

Awww, get ****ed

03-02-2023, 06:44 PM
Awww, get ****ed

The price of loyalty.

03-02-2023, 09:37 PM
So being a bulldog for life doesnt have the best perks

03-02-2023, 11:47 PM

Not a good marketing move

Seems gone early with a sale. Maybe membership figures are down.

03-02-2023, 11:54 PM

The fact that the club has not mentioned or published the figures does seem to suggest it. If they were up the club would be bragging about it.

04-02-2023, 07:32 AM

Any? Aside from spreading out payments that is.

04-02-2023, 10:18 AM
Any? Aside from spreading out payments that is.

It's like having your mortgage with a bank and them offering a super interest rate deal to new customers only. You: am I a joke to you?

Problem here is you can't switch clubs.

04-02-2023, 10:36 AM

Perhaps but it isn't a good message to send to the members who have already parted with their money without some context.

04-02-2023, 10:53 AM
The fact that the club has not mentioned or published the figures does seem to suggest it. If they were up the club would be bragging about it.

When a club starts to make the membership numbers less visible to their members I think it's hard for them to justify the reason why they would do that.

If the numbers are down they should say it and there will be some that chip in a bit extra to help.
If the numbers are up it's a good news story that should be acknowledged.

Hiding them in any way is not a good thing and could lead to other poor decisions.

Putting a 2 week special on the table without the context behind it being shared will alienate some members.

I don't think the club has been in tune with the grassroots members for a while and my recent dealings with them have been pleasant but less than satisfactory. This season is the first, and hopefully the last, time I'm actually not that proud of being a member of the club.

04-02-2023, 12:17 PM
This season is the first, and hopefully the last, time I'm actually not that proud of being a member of the club.

Very harsh

04-02-2023, 12:59 PM
Very harsh

In what sense is it harsh? Are you questioning or suggesting how I should feel?
I got the membership pack a couple of weeks ago and haven't opened it yet.

04-02-2023, 01:37 PM
It's like having your mortgage with a bank and them offering a super interest rate deal to new customers only. You: am I a joke to you?

Problem here is you can't switch clubs.

SO...what do you want them to do???

I guess I can sort of see the point everyone is making here but EVERYONE who offers a subscription based service will from time-to-time make offers that provide short-term benefits to new or returning members over and above 'existing' members.

I know that I do it at the gym from time to time and whilst on occasion I get a "Why can't I get that deal", ultimately subscription based businesses are a 'the more the merrier' (to an extent) and having some new people in who pay less for a SHORT TIME does generally benefit those who have been loyal throughout.

I guess my overall point would be: If you were happy with the deal you had yesterday (before you saw this new offer), then NOTHING has actually changed except a feeling of FOMO you are getting. The price you were happy to pay is still the price you are paying...it isn't like you have been double charged or anything like that.

Is there a benefit to the B4L program? I don't know - I do it for convenience but as I have explained here in the past it is problematic when the kids turn 18 and memberships get terminated seemingly at random and without notification...but outside of that it really is just about convenience.

To anyone who feels aggrieved, I get it - but remember, if you were happy with your deal yesterday, that deal is STILL THE SAME. And when you are sitting in your seat at Marvel watching Bont go crazy it is still gonna feel like great value.

04-02-2023, 01:38 PM
I don't think the club has been in tune with the grassroots members for a while and my recent dealings with them have been pleasant but less than satisfactory.

I totally agree with this statement.

04-02-2023, 02:20 PM

I guess I can sort of see the point everyone is making here but EVERYONE who offers a subscription based service will from time-to-time make offers that provide short-term benefits to new or returning members over and above 'existing' members.

I know that I do it at the gym from time to time and whilst on occasion I get a "Why can't I get that deal", ultimately subscription based businesses are a 'the more the merrier'

Early membership sign ups underpins our whole effort and late deals could erode that. I doubt it was a hasty decision but the lack of context behind us opening up a 2 weeks deal is something that the membership manager and whoever else agreed to this should consider. Share the reasons why we thought it was needed would help members understand. Communication is the key.

04-02-2023, 02:55 PM

I know that I do it at the gym from time to time and whilst on occasion I get a "Why can't I get that deal", ultimately subscription based businesses are a 'the more the merrier' (to an extent) and having some new people in who pay less for a SHORT TIME does generally benefit those who have been loyal throughout.

I guess my overall point would be: If you were happy with the deal you had yesterday (before you saw this new offer), then NOTHING has actually changed except a feeling of FOMO you are getting. The price you were happy to pay is still the price you are paying...it isn't like you have been double charged or anything like that.

Is there a benefit to the B4L program? I don't know - I do it for convenience but as I have explained here in the past it is problematic when the kids turn 18 and memberships get terminated seemingly at random and without notification...but outside of that it really is just about convenience.

To anyone who feels aggrieved, I get it - but remember, if you were happy with your deal yesterday, that deal is STILL THE SAME. And when you are sitting in your seat at Marvel watching Bont go crazy it is still gonna feel like great value.

Include current members in special offers? I'm sorry,I didn't realise my response was obtuse.

Edit: I should add that PERSONALLY I don't care, my membership is fine for my purposes and I regard it as a donation, but I understand why others feel aggrieved about it.

04-02-2023, 03:33 PM
Include current members in special offers? I'm sorry,I didn't realise my response was obtuse.

Edit: I should add that PERSONALLY I don't care, my membership is fine for my purposes and I regard it as a donation, but I understand why others feel aggrieved about it.

Yeah - I sort of get it but if you buy a car for $10K and are happy, then the fact it goes on sale for $9K two weeks later really SHOULDN'T impact your thinking. You were happy with the deal you got so you signed up - fair value. The price has dropped - OK - but happy is happy...move on.

This is the same thing. Like I said, there's a bit of "I missed out, it isn't fair" (as did I btw) but since I was happy before I knew about this new special I'm still happy now.

If you are asking the club to undo all of the memberships that people have signed up for - and last i checked there were no standover tactics being used in the sale of memberships and everyone signed up of their own free will - and give them extra stuff for no cost, well...I don't think that's reasonable.

Do I think they have been WAY out of touch with the members over the past 3+ seasons. YES - YES I do and I have posted to this point consistently. But if we are saying they can't offer a short term membership special without retrospectively changing every contract they have already sold/set up, I just think that's unfair.

04-02-2023, 03:37 PM
I am happy with the reoccurring membership payments, but what I don't understand is why have the club gone early with the promotion. Agree with MJP on offers and promotions, but seems a little early to do so. Smacks of a little desperation to get more members.

Traditionally, our members are slow off the mark to re-sign, so maybe they are trying to get those guys to sign up earlier?

04-02-2023, 04:34 PM
Do I think they have been WAY out of touch with the members over the past 3+ seasons. YES - YES I do and I have posted to this point consistently. But if we are saying they can't offer a short term membership special without retrospectively changing every contract they have already sold/set up, I just think that's unfair.

I agree and it's a shame they feel the need to go early with a special offer but there would be sound reasons why they feel it's the right thing to do and they would know it could upset a few members. That shouldn't stop them doing what they think is the right course of action.
I'd be asking them the question of what triggered this move and is it something that we can get in front of next time. We all get that memberships are important to the club and if there is a lesson to learn let's hope that we are quick learners.

04-02-2023, 05:18 PM
Yeah - I sort of get it but if you buy a car for $10K and are happy, then the fact it goes on sale for $9K two weeks later really SHOULDN'T impact your thinking. You were happy with the deal you got so you signed up - fair value. The price has dropped - OK - but happy is happy...move on.

This is the same thing. Like I said, there's a bit of "I missed out, it isn't fair" (as did I btw) but since I was happy before I knew about this new special I'm still happy now.

If you are asking the club to undo all of the memberships that people have signed up for - and last i checked there were no standover tactics being used in the sale of memberships and everyone signed up of their own free will - and give them extra stuff for no cost, well...I don't think that's reasonable.

Wait? Are you saying Stephen Kretiuk didn't come to your house and make you sign up? Did that only happen to me?

04-02-2023, 06:23 PM
I think the deal is too good is the issue.

All away games as well that's a huuuuuuuge difference.

Me personally don't care I get it anyway, others I get it. That's the deal you pull out at the end.

Fence sitters shouldn't be rewarded that much surely. (yes don't call me Shirley)

Stevo
04-02-2023, 07:10 PM
I think the deal is too good is the issue.

All away games as well that's a huuuuuuuge difference.

Me personally don't care I get it anyway, others I get it. That's the deal you pull out at the end.

Fence sitters shouldn't be rewarded that much surely. (yes don't call me Shirley)

It is a good deal and you have to wonder what other levers the club might to look at closer to the season or even 3 weeks in if memberships are still down. Clearly we dont have enough people reading the pre-season reports on here because this is the most I have been excited for a few years. 51K members in 2022 and you have to wonder if that can be achieved this year.

Stevo
04-02-2023, 07:11 PM
In what sense is it harsh? Are you questioning or suggesting how I should feel?
I got the membership pack a couple of weeks ago and haven't opened it yet.

Dont worry it wasnt harsh

04-02-2023, 07:15 PM

I do understand why they’re doing it as well as all of the points you’re making. It doesn’t mean that at the end of the year I won’t cancel my B4L and sign up whenever a decent deal comes in. I went to about 4 games last year and also consider my membership as somewhat of a donation. Maybe this needs to change though. The club is financially in as good as a
position as it ever has been. The threat of relocation, merger or extinction is largely done. Do they need my money that badly any longer? It’s a drop compared to the AFL and broadcast cash.
For background, I’ve been a member for 23 years, mostly H&A with a bunch of years as a Social Club member also. Post COVID I’ve moved to a home game only membership. I’ve signed up my kids early on and still currently pay for memberships for 2 of the 3 even though one doesn’t like football in the slightest and my youngest just wants to go hang out with dad and get some lollies or chips.
Maybe if the club is going to offer these deals, it wouldn’t hurt to look at people who have “stuck fat” (stupid ****ing phrase) as B4L’s but have clearly had to reduce membership levels for whatever circumstances and offer them this sort of deal to them for a year as well. And again given my attendance, maybe I don’t deserve the offer, but it’s certainly a level of goodwill to obviously committed supporters that could pay off with a sense of gratitude and a reengagement with the club.

04-02-2023, 09:37 PM

It's not easy for my brother and his family to afford their memberships each year and they love going to the footy so he was disappointed to miss out on this deal. They pack lunches and treats and take their own drinks to help keep the costs down but they see going to the footy as a family day and important to have that experience.
I agree with MJP that if you are happy enough to sign up for the agreed price at the time it shouldnt mean that much to you if the price drops and for most us thats the way it should be but for someone like my brother who struggles a bit he would have appreciated getting a deal. His birthday is coming up so I'll get him a Doggies cap.

04-02-2023, 11:07 PM
It's not easy for my brother and his family to afford their memberships each year and they love going to the footy so he was disappointed to miss out on this deal. They pack lunches and treats and take their own drinks to help keep the costs down but they see going to the footy as a family day and important to have that experience.
I agree with MJP that if you are happy enough to sign up for the agreed price at the time it shouldnt mean that much to you if the price drops and for most us thats the way it should be but for someone like my brother who struggles a bit he would have appreciated getting a deal. His birthday is coming up so I'll get him a Doggies cap.

Good post Jasper.

05-02-2023, 01:03 PM
Can we stop saying cancel B4L. He is one of my favourite posters here… woof wouldn’t be the same without him.

05-02-2023, 01:32 PM
Can we stop saying cancel B4L. He is one of my favourite posters here… woof wouldn’t be the same without him.

Am I the one you are talking about Bob?

05-02-2023, 05:52 PM
51K members in 2022 and you have to wonder if that can be achieved this year.

Pretty sure there's some mayo in that, just like our 50,000th member last year coincidently happened to be a new born.

05-02-2023, 06:04 PM

I've got some friends that we sit near in a similar scenario and with costs of so many products increasing they would have jumped at the chance to to get a reduction in their memberships but like 99% of us they wont whinge about it either. They are footy nuts and cant get enough of it.

05-02-2023, 09:34 PM

I got it, and I laughed.

06-02-2023, 11:04 AM

Haha this is the investors lot. Buy in the peaks and sell in the dips.

06-02-2023, 11:07 AM

I'm not so sure. Money in the door now re. the fence sitters is better than no money in the door after losing a few games early. I'd imagine the club is splashing cash and things may be getting bigger with the redevelopment as well.

Baz probably asked for a gilt-edged full ceiling mirror in the change rooms as well and what Baz wants we gotta provide.

Baz is sucking up so many resources we have to roll Cody out in old 90s gear.

Worth every cent too btw.

dalek
09-02-2023, 08:03 PM
These people whining about paying full price for member then finding a month or 2 later they could have got a discount annoy me.

It's like filling up your car at what you thought was the cheapest price only to find out 5k down the road it's cheaper/

The conundrum is do I buy now or wait in the hope to get for a discount later.

09-02-2023, 08:28 PM
These people whining about paying full price for member then finding a month or 2 later they could have got a discount annoy me.

It's like filling up your car at what you thought was the cheapest price only to find out 5k down the road it's cheaper/

I get the sentiment and there would be good reasons for the club to offer an added incentive for people to purchase their memberships.

I hope it doesn't result in people holding off until late in proceedings next year in the hope of getting another improved offer.

Regarding petrol prices I drove past 3 service stations today all next to each other with a huge fluctuation on their prices ranging from $1.68 to $2.09 so it pays to shop around. For a 40 litre fill up that's $16 saved.

10-02-2023, 05:31 AM
Am I the one you are talking about Bob?

Yes my friend, yes.

10-02-2023, 07:39 AM
Regarding petrol prices I drove past 3 service stations today all next to each other with a huge fluctuation on their prices ranging from $1.68 to $2.09 so it pays to shop around. For a 40 litre fill up that's $16 saved.

It gets worse when your tank is 140 lts luckily I live near a Costco it was worth the membership on the fuel saving alone.
Sorry I'm going off the thread.
As you were ;)

10-02-2023, 10:08 AM

Yeah nah, not really mate.

For me its about there should be at least a benefit for being a bulldog for life member. Flip floppers shouldnt get all the special rewards, us rusted on ones could get a little appreciation.

10-02-2023, 01:10 PM
Yes my friend, yes.

I was having a bit of a joke Bobby as now there is "two" Bulldog4lifes. ;)

dalek
10-02-2023, 08:13 PM
I get the sentiment and there would be good reasons for the club to offer an added incentive for people to purchase their memberships.

I hope it doesn't result in people holding off until late in proceedings next year in the hope of getting another improved offer.

What I was trying to get at was "How long do you hold off filling up before you actually fill up" Is it the 1st or last one in the hope of saving some dollars.

11-02-2023, 08:48 AM
What I was trying to get at was "How long do you hold off filling up before you actually fill up" Is it the 1st or last one in the hope of saving some dollars.

After I've driven around for a day or two with the fuel light on.

11-02-2023, 06:24 PM
After I've driven around for a day or two with the fuel light on.

My husband's uncle ran his car from the fuel light going on to empty not long after he got the car, just to see how far the fuel light really indicated. Whereas I'm a "don't let the light come on at all" kinda gal, I wouldn't have the bravery for that approach!

12-02-2023, 12:00 PM
It would be great if signing up to be a 'Bulldog for life' got you a 5 or 10% discount, or a handful of 'guest passes', or an extra voucher for the Bulldogs shop. I think that would take away a lot of the angst that loyal members are feeling about missing out. There would definitely be members who would reinvest their savings into the club as well, so I doubt it would significantly affect the bottom line (though I don't run a business).

The other thing to note with that deal is that it's not actually any cheaper than what people have already paid - it just grants access to away games, which a lot of members wouldn't go to anyway.

12-02-2023, 02:28 PM
The other thing to note with that deal is that it's not actually any cheaper than what people have already paid - it just grants access to away games, which a lot of members wouldn't go to anyway.

The ultimate freebie as a business. Give away something which has the perception of 'real value' BUT is unlikely to be utilised...this is why I think the suggestion above from jd of giving a voucher to the shop is a good one...half of the people who get them wont use them anyway...cost will be minimal and if it is an electronic voucher emailed out, well...costs drop further...

12-02-2023, 07:23 PM
Your membership used to get you a discount to away games - it was only $2 but it was an encouragement. Junior memberships admitted you to every game. Showing my age

12-02-2023, 11:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_BL46eDaFk

13-02-2023, 12:19 AM
The ultimate freebie as a business. Give away something which has the perception of 'real value' BUT is unlikely to be utilised...this is why I think the suggestion above from jd of giving a voucher to the shop is a good one...half of the people who get them wont use them anyway...cost will be minimal and if it is an electronic voucher emailed out, well...costs drop further...

What's the name of your gym again......? :)

derb
13-02-2023, 12:19 PM
I purchased a digital membership because it's a $140 a year saving on Kayo.

I wonder how much goes to the club?

13-02-2023, 12:31 PM

Does the digital give you access to games, or is it all digital

derb
13-02-2023, 12:33 PM
No, just all digital.

I have canned Foxtel for this season as it was getting too pricey.

We do get a stock standard lanyard and hat though haha

13-02-2023, 12:37 PM
No, just all digital.

I have canned Foxtel for this season as it was getting too pricey.

We do get a stock standard lanyard and hat though haha

It's a good deal if you can't make it to games.

derb
13-02-2023, 12:44 PM
Yeah, it is a 12 month pack for Kayo so would work well for the cricket and other sports.

I got it as an add on to my other membership. I've already signed up my Richmond supporting Dad too.

13-02-2023, 01:25 PM

Wait, really? My Kayo subs are about to go to $30 per month.

13-02-2023, 02:42 PM
That actually sounds good. If my Kayo money went more to the Dogs I'd be much happier about that

13-02-2023, 02:53 PM
That actually sounds good. If my Kayo money went more to the Dogs I'd be much happier about that

I just looked it up, $220 for the 12 month Kayo subscription and membership pack - it's a good deal. And presumably counts as an extra membership for our tally.

13-02-2023, 03:15 PM
I just looked it up, $220 for the 12 month Kayo subscription and membership pack - it's a good deal. And presumably counts as an extra membership for our tally.

Also gets you 2 streams so can share it with someone if need be. I'll have to call and find out if I can apply it to my existing Kayo so I don't have to update the accounts and share new details with Dad (I pay for Kayo, he pays for Netflix)

13-02-2023, 03:26 PM
Also gets you 2 streams so can share it with someone if need be. I'll have to call and find out if I can apply it to my existing Kayo so I don't have to update the accounts and share new details with Dad (I pay for Kayo, he pays for Netflix)

I’m not so sure you get two streams - it is only the basic package.

13-02-2023, 03:38 PM
I’m not so sure you get two streams - it is only the basic package.

The options are One (1) Basic (2) and Premium (3)

I'm guessing the middle option is called basic to trick people into picking Premium
https://help.kayosports.com.au/s/article/How-much-does-a-Kayo-subscription-cost

13-02-2023, 04:17 PM
I bought this as an existing member the other day to watch the test in India. Yes, really.

It's a good deal no doubt but I hope they don't send me another membership pack as it will cost the club money. There was no option to say you didn't want one.

13-02-2023, 05:06 PM
According to the Club, we are tracking about the same as last year for memberships.

13-02-2023, 05:42 PM
I bought this as an existing member the other day to watch the test in India. Yes, really.

It's a good deal no doubt but I hope they don't send me another membership pack as it will cost the club money. There was no option to say you didn't want one.

You should write to the ACB and demand a refund!

15-02-2023, 02:28 PM
BULLDOGS CEO SETS LOFTY MEMBERSHIP TARGET FOR 2023 (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2023/02/15/bulldogs-ceo-sets-lofty-membership-target-for-2023/)

https://images.ctfassets.net/u8w3l566ay8a/e50xhpu78zhijtziz5fUJ/8b20e7d6df92432ce03b874930faf258/22WBGWS22DP481853480.JPG?w=980&h=520&fit=fill&f=faces

Western Bulldogs CEO Ameet Bains is hoping his club eclipses 60,000 members in 2023.

The Dogs surpassed 50,000 members last year for the first time since entering the competition in 1925 and Baines is hoping his “passionate” and “loyal” supporters can get behind the club again this year.

Following a disappointing 2022 campaign that saw the Dogs knocked out of the finals in week 1, Luke Beveridge’s side had an active off-season that sees them primed for a deep assault this year.

Acquiring former Blue Liam Jones and Fremantle utility Rory Lobb, the Bulldogs look a far more balanced side that should have fans excited for the year ahead.

“We’re really fortunate to have such passionate and loyal members at the Bulldogs,” Bains told SEN Mornings.

“We broke our all-time record last season where we ticked over 50,000 for the first time, we believe there are positive times ahead and we hope our fans can come along on the journey.

“We look to pursue the 60,000 target as our next major target.”

derb
16-02-2023, 11:52 AM
A flag is going to be the best way to reach 60k.

Get it done Bevo.

16-02-2023, 01:41 PM
Seems very ambitious given some of the financial constraints on folks at present but hey, shoot for the stars.

16-02-2023, 02:42 PM
Just a small personal thing.

During membership renewal, I ended up with three AFLW memberships, when I thought I was paying for 1 last year, plus 1 extra this year for my daughter. The club had sent me three packs, ie three scarves and whatever else is in the box which altered me to the 3 memberships.
I rang membership and sorted it out and said, ok, I will take the 3rd membership for my wife. A few weeks later my wife receives another physical pack. I rang up and they said I can keep it or return it. Then yesterday, she received another pack. I explained everything again to membership and today I returned the two extra physical packs at the club. For my troubles, they gave me a $20 shop voucher and explained, their systems have been going haywire. A lot of extra courier expenses for nothing. Must be costing them a few dollars.

Anyone else receiving stuff from the club they didn't order?

16-02-2023, 04:30 PM

During membership renewal, I ended up with three AFLW memberships, when I thought I was paying for 1 last year, plus 1 extra this year for my daughter. The club had sent me three packs, ie three scarves and whatever else is in the box which altered me to the 3 memberships.
I rang membership and sorted it out and said, ok, I will take the 3rd membership for my wife. A few weeks later my wife receives another physical pack. I rang up and they said I can keep it or return it. Then yesterday, she received another pack. I explained everything again to membership and today I returned the two extra physical packs at the club. For my troubles, they gave me a $20 shop voucher and explained, their systems have been going haywire. A lot of extra courier expenses for nothing. Must be costing them a few dollars.

I've talked to people who have said similar things.

18-02-2023, 04:39 PM
https://scontent.fmel16-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/331080926_916141879567302_982643942606694103_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1 01&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=GJpel-oegwMAX-2dZ86&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel16-1.fna&oh=00_AfAlcwTJqNKYBPsIbvkBFEbiqjgCveg4IUGJ6y99VTrILw&oe=63F5FC51

18-02-2023, 07:06 PM
A flag is going to be the best way to reach 60k.

Last one didn't even get us 50k.

18-02-2023, 08:07 PM
Last one didn't even get us 50k.

No but continued top 4 or 5 type finishes will help us get the memberships up.
I can't believe we have stated such a lofty ambition but good on Bains for doing so. I'd love to know what gives him hope that we can get there? If the target is within 2 years then that's a double digit on double digit type increase that is required which history would say is challenging. Even spread out over 3 years it's a big ask but yes if we grab a flag it could do wonders.

19-02-2023, 11:41 AM
No but continued top 4 or 5 type finishes will help us get the memberships up.
I can't believe we have stated such a lofty ambition but good on Bains for doing so. I'd love to know what gives him hope that we can get there? If the target is within 2 years then that's a double digit on double digit type increase that is required which history would say is challenging. Even spread out over 3 years it's a big ask but yes if we grab a flag it could do wonders.

"Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll land among the stars". Love that saying.

19-02-2023, 11:45 AM
"Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll land among the stars". Love that saying.

I heard it something like "Shoot for the stars" "Settle for the moon" but yes a good saying.

20-02-2023, 03:41 AM

I heard it something like "Shoot for the stars" "Settle for the moon" but yes a good saying.

No one is shooting for Uranus ??

20-02-2023, 07:47 AM
I've had the digital add on for the last 3 years so I canned fox. :)

20-02-2023, 05:43 PM
A staff member from the membership department rang me today about a credit card matter and I took the liberty of enquiring about our current figure. She said it was 39k and just above the total for the same time last year.

Checking the 2022 thread, I see we were 38,824 on 17/2 and 39,169 on 21/2 so that seems correct.

20-02-2023, 05:50 PM
A staff member from the membership department rang me today about a credit card matter and I took the liberty of enquiring about our current figure. She said it was 39k and just above the total for the same time last year.

Checking the 2022 thread, I see we were 38,824 on 17/2 and 39,169 on 21/2 so that seems correct.

I had a long talk to someone at the ground today who said it was basically in line with the same time last year so it all matches up. Seemed to think they we were confident of a bit of a burst in the next 3 weeks.

20-02-2023, 07:08 PM
No one is shooting for Uranus ??

"Aliens from....."
"Don't say it Bradley"
"URANUS!"
"Real mature B-Man" <insert eyeroll>

Anyone else for the very niche mid 90s reference?

21-02-2023, 03:00 PM
Asked Membership today and you get a code to put into Kayo if you sign up that pays for a year. So works easy with existing accounts and there's no reason not to buy it if you have Kayo already.

22-02-2023, 01:44 AM
My mate cancelled his membership for financial reasons - the membership department called him up to get him back on board, offering the access to all away games as well - and it convinced him.

So I guess anyone who is unhappy with their lot...give them a call!

06-03-2023, 06:00 PM
Bulldogs turning SEN red, white and blue on Tuesday (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1279240/?fbclid=IwAR1JqD_6PljWQIdpzeiAKdfye9N1jaIxrdo-rKR41bHnI1snHBCxmpsinZw)

https://i.postimg.cc/1zmNSm23/membership.jpg (https://postimg.cc/yDGNXH7M)

The Western Bulldogs’ annual SEN membership day is back for 2023, with a host of football players and staff set to join the airwaves on Tuesday 7 March.

The day will kick off with senior coach Luke Beveridge joining Garry Lyon and Tim Watson at 7.40am, before skipper Marcus Bontempelli chats to Gerard Whateley on SEN Mornings at 11.05am.

Next up will be executive Director of Football and Club legend Chris Grant at 2.05pm with Dwayne Russell, and CEO Ameet Bains on the Run Home with Andy Maher and Andrew Gaze at 3.40pm.

Young gun Cody Weightman will round out the day with Gerard Healy and Kane Cornes on Sportsday at 6.10pm.

As part of the day, those who purchase a Bulldogs’ three-game general admission membership will get a FREE upgrade to a full-season home membership.

That’s access to nine games for the price of just three – with a saving of $110 – and includes a $20 Bulldogs Shop voucher to spend online or instore.

This offer starts on Tuesday, March 7 and ends at midnight on the same day.

Unleash more with a Bulldogs’ membership. For more details, visit https://membership.westernbulldogs.com.au/sen.

BULLDOGS’ SEN MEMBERSHIP DAY
SEN Breakfast: Luke Beveridge – 7.40am
SEN Mornings: Marcus Bontempelli – 11.05am
SEN Dwayne’s World: Chris Grant – 2.05pm
SEN Run Home: Ameet Bains – 3.40pm
SEN Sportsday: Cody Weightman – 6.10pm

*All times listed are AEDT.

06-03-2023, 07:56 PM
Bulldogs turning SEN red, white and blue on Tuesday (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1279240/?fbclid=IwAR1JqD_6PljWQIdpzeiAKdfye9N1jaIxrdo-rKR41bHnI1snHBCxmpsinZw)

https://i.postimg.cc/1zmNSm23/membership.jpg (https://postimg.cc/yDGNXH7M)

The Western Bulldogs’ annual SEN membership day is back for 2023, with a host of football players and staff set to join the airwaves on Tuesday 7 March.

The day will kick off with senior coach Luke Beveridge joining Garry Lyon and Tim Watson at 7.40am, before skipper Marcus Bontempelli chats to Gerard Whateley on SEN Mornings at 11.05am.

Next up will be executive Director of Football and Club legend Chris Grant at 2.05pm with Dwayne Russell, and CEO Ameet Bains on the Run Home with Andy Maher and Andrew Gaze at 3.40pm.

Young gun Cody Weightman will round out the day with Gerard Healy and Kane Cornes on Sportsday at 6.10pm.

As part of the day, those who purchase a Bulldogs’ three-game general admission membership will get a FREE upgrade to a full-season home membership.

That’s access to nine games for the price of just three – with a saving of $110 – and includes a $20 Bulldogs Shop voucher to spend online or instore.

This offer starts on Tuesday, March 7 and ends at midnight on the same day.

Unleash more with a Bulldogs’ membership. For more details, visit https://membership.westernbulldogs.com.au/sen.

BULLDOGS’ SEN MEMBERSHIP DAY
SEN Breakfast: Luke Beveridge – 7.40am
SEN Mornings: Marcus Bontempelli – 11.05am
SEN Dwayne’s World: Chris Grant – 2.05pm
SEN Run Home: Ameet Bains – 3.40pm
SEN Sportsday: Cody Weightman – 6.10pm

*All times listed are AEDT.

Great promotion day tomorrow on the radio.

07-03-2023, 09:44 AM
Great promotion day tomorrow on the radio.

I just tried signing up my husband just now with this, getting an error :/ "This event currently has no seats available"

Let me know if anyone else has any success.

Never mind, it was my browser!

07-03-2023, 10:01 PM

Like this more as my inner Brian Cox says this is factually correct, as Stars are further away from Earth than the Moon.

Back to footy. Go Dogs!

09-03-2023, 02:33 AM
I see the SEN offer also includes SC and GF guarantee. Good way to get GF but wouldn't be happy if im on SC waiting list.
https://membership.westernbulldogs.com.au/membership/sen-grand-final-guarantee

For one day only, those who purchase a Bulldogs 3-Game Bronze membership for $95, will get a free upgrade to a full season home membership. (9-Game Bronze General Admission) plus access to the Western Bulldogs Social Club! The EJ Whitten Social Club provides Western Bulldogs Members Priority Grand Final Access if Bulldogs Participate*

Package Inclusions
Access to the EJ Whitten Social Club Room at Marvel Stadium (located in the Level 1 Victory Room)

General Admission access on level 3 at Marvel Stadium home games with Bronze membership

2023 Membership Pack - barcoded membership card, scarf, lanyard and bumper sticker

Guaranteed access to the AFL Grand Final should the Bulldogs participate

Package Inclusions
Access to the EJ Whitten Social Club Room at Marvel Stadium (located in the Level 1 Victory Room)

General Admission access on level 3 at Marvel Stadium home games with Bronze membership

2023 Membership Pack - barcoded membership card, scarf, lanyard and bumper sticker

Guaranteed access to the AFL Grand Final should the Bulldogs participate

09-03-2023, 02:47 AM
Actually seems SC is no longer sold out so get in quick.

10-03-2023, 12:49 PM
Just sneaked over 44,000 in membership numbers. 5% more than they anticipated according to membership department.

10-03-2023, 05:15 PM
Has it gone back to the precovid days where you just go and scan in at the gates ? No need to book ?

CarnTheScray
10-03-2023, 08:51 PM
Has it gone back to the precovid days where you just go and scan in at the gates ? No need to book ?
If you have a reserved seat yes. I’m not sure how it works for general admission/flexi members.

13-03-2023, 08:08 PM
Just sneaked over 44,000 in membership numbers. 5% more than they anticipated according to membership department.

We were on 43,208 on 11/3/22 so that sounds pretty right.

15-03-2023, 11:12 AM
I was confused why I just got my second membership pack. Turns out you get one with your digital membership, including a member card thing just like the regular membership.

15-03-2023, 02:38 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FrNmebtaAAAQLfp?format=jpg&name=large

18-03-2023, 10:42 AM
https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/1636845865888366592

At round 1 last year we were on 43,708.

18-03-2023, 10:55 AM
https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/1636845865888366592

At round 1 last year we were on 43,708.

It's a great result and brings in a chance of getting to 55K members this year. I wonder if we have changed the way we calculate our membership numbers?

18-03-2023, 11:33 AM
It's a great result and brings in a chance of getting to 55K members this year. I wonder if we have changed the way we calculate our membership numbers?

Probably quite a few Kayo memberships. I got one myself.

18-03-2023, 02:37 PM

Was there 9 games memberships going for the price of 3 game memberships?

A bit different to the days when there was just 11 game tickets at a set price.

19-03-2023, 01:44 AM
Tonight was not a good night for the Membership department.

23-03-2023, 10:55 AM

Further to this, I received another AFLW pack (third extra) and yesterday another AFL pack complete with another 50 year membership and badge.

Some people get none, I have 4 extra packs :D

I rang the club yesterday and left a message for the membership manager to ring me. Still no call.

23-03-2023, 12:15 PM
Others on this forum mentioned Bevo's post-match Member's message this week. I received it every week last year but not this week. Anyone else not receive it?

23-03-2023, 12:21 PM
Others on this forum mentioned Bevo's post-match Member's message this week. I received it every week last year but not this week. Anyone else not receive it?

Here you go .

https://image.e.westernbulldogs.com.au/lib/fe3511727364047e771371/m/2/c8e679ac-8d78-4d8b-8fba-91c6f6e65c8b.png (https://click.e.westernbulldogs.com.au/?qs=a29e960efeb736d1f88fbe6bed9e98d62c16cc5e502e5a01db8fc6e9 be78ab4d8fe8fadc487fcad0bfee9e66c6cb748e844e7609d6d632f2)

23-03-2023, 12:37 PM
Jeez Beveridge doesn't skip any muscle day does he?

23-03-2023, 02:15 PM
Jeez Beveridge doesn't skip any muscle day does he?

He is ready for the next time he sees Barrett.

23-03-2023, 02:57 PM
He is ready for the next time he sees Barrett.

Heard Tom Morris was back in town.

24-03-2023, 02:06 PM
Anyone know if there is a cap on social club membership ? Used to be a cap around 15k and a wait list. Seems still open at the moment after being sold out earlier in the year . Hope they aren't selling too many and then we need to go into ballad to get tics if we make a GF. I wouldn't think that many with SC over the years have cancelled it.

24-03-2023, 02:26 PM
Anyone know if there is a cap on social club membership ? Used to be a cap around 15k and a wait list. Seems still open at the moment after being sold out earlier in the year . Hope they aren't selling too many and then we need to go into ballad to get tics if we make a GF. I wouldn't think that many with SC over the years have cancelled it.

Social club is still a guaranteed grand final ticket if we make it so therefore it must be capped. Obviously we haven't reached the cap yet for this season. The website says the capacity is approximately 12,000.

https://membership.westernbulldogs.com.au/member-info/ej-whitten-social-club

24-03-2023, 02:37 PM
That's what i thought but just seemed odd be sold out for years and so far this year can't get enough members.

24-03-2023, 02:51 PM
That's what i thought but just seemed odd be sold out for years and so far this year can't get enough members.

I'm not sure it has been sold out for years has it? Perhaps for a couple of years after the flag but more recently I thought it was generally available at least early in the season before selling out later. I think there are plenty who wait and see how we are travelling before they commit.

25-03-2023, 01:32 PM
Is their a digital version of the social club membership like last year.

I know this year you can just show your physical membership card that says social club membership, but I was looking to see if I could have an electronic version on my phone

I can see seat tickets on the app, but it doesn't mention social club

25-03-2023, 05:33 PM
There was a small and a larger social club badge that came with our membership package. My season ticket doesn’t say social club

25-03-2023, 08:24 PM
I hear it was very busy in the social club pre game

20-04-2023, 11:18 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FuHNj-RaUAIHI5N?format=jpg&name=medium

20-04-2023, 11:19 AM
The Western Bulldogs have exceeded 50,000 members for a second consecutive year.

It marks the second time in Club history that the Bulldogs? membership tally has reached the 50,000 milestone, and in record pace too.

The Bulldogs achieved 46,000 members before round one - surpassing the Club?s previous round one record - and have reached 50,000 members 12 weeks sooner than last year.

It is a strong show of commitment from the Bulldogs? faithful, with close to 40,000 members renewing for season 2023.

3200 people have added Ballarat access to their membership, highlighting the strong connection between the Club and regional town, while over 2500 AFLW memberships have already been purchased, with that number expected to rise further once the season commences later this year.

The Club?s next target will be 50,941 - the final 2022 membership tally and all-time Bulldogs? membership record.

20-04-2023, 11:19 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FuHPQUiacAE_eGt?format=jpg&name=medium

20-04-2023, 12:17 PM
Our total on the same date last year was 46,718.

20-04-2023, 12:39 PM
10k of those members were inspired to join up by G's tireless cold nights camping out in Braybrook.

20-04-2023, 03:24 PM
10k of those members were inspired to join up by G's tireless cold nights camping out in Braybrook.

It was all worth it G.

20-04-2023, 03:51 PM
Training at skinner did it. Bought the club back to its roots.
That’s my take anyway.

20-04-2023, 03:54 PM
Training at skinner did it. Bought the club back to its roots.
That’s my take anyway.

NEED To allow supporters to VU WO to watch training in future

20-04-2023, 04:17 PM
Great achievement by the club. I?m looking forward to the revamped upgraded Whitten Oval. It has been good that we have invested into the Braybrook community with the Skinner Reserve as well. Braybrook the old school western suburbs.

20-04-2023, 04:21 PM

I’m an old sunshine player . I love whitten oval but I’m biased to skinner , so many memories of playing there and watching Footscray practice matches.
All my youth was spent at Skinner, actually amazed how many felt the same when I went to training there a few weeks ago. All us oldies there for the memories .

20-04-2023, 04:49 PM
I’m an old sunshine player . I love whitten oval but I’m biased to skinner , so many memories of playing there and watching Footscray practice matches.
All my youth was spent at Skinner, actually amazed how many felt the same when I went to training there a few weeks ago. All us oldies there for the memories .

Skinner was I believe home to the Sunshine Footy club and Pennell Resteve home to the Braybrook footy club. Both located in Braybrook.

20-04-2023, 05:34 PM

I wouldn't hold my breath on that.

20-04-2023, 05:46 PM
Skinner was I believe home to the Sunshine Footy club and Pennell Resteve home to the Braybrook footy club. Both located in Braybrook.

I played at Sunshine but went to braybrook high, across the road from Pennell reserve. Nowadays I am in Melton and go to Melton bloods games when AFL or VFL isn’t on.
We have definitely grown in members around Melton and Ballarat as well.

20-04-2023, 08:59 PM
Do they ever differentiate the number of each type of membership? I think we would have sold quite a few digital memberships, as they were discussed on general footy/sport podcasts and twitter as a cheap way to get a Kayo subscription.

It's a great result for the club. However we get money into the club, it's a win...and everything will be on automatic rollover (including the digital membership) so will hopefully continue to a good result next year.

21-04-2023, 08:35 PM
I played at Sunshine but went to braybrook high, across the road from Pennell reserve. Nowadays I am in Melton and go to Melton bloods games when AFL or VFL isn’t on.
We have definitely grown in members around Melton and Ballarat as well.

That's what i love to hear.

25-04-2023, 04:18 PM
It was disappointing as a 25+ year member living in WA, that nothing was done for the WA based supporters before the Freo game. No announcement of an open training, nothing done for the junior members (particularly as it was school holidays) even though the Dogs were in WA for the full week. When i spoke to the club and asked why there was nothing for the supporters I was told it was a scheduling issue. THEY WERE HERE ALL WEEK !!!

25-04-2023, 04:26 PM
It was disappointing as a 25+ year member living in WA, that nothing was done for the WA based supporters before the Freo game. No announcement of an open training, nothing done for the junior members (particularly as it was school holidays) even though the Dogs were in WA for the full week. When i spoke to the club and asked why there was nothing for the supporters I was told it was a scheduling issue. THEY WERE HERE ALL WEEK !!!

Yes, it is frustrating. We're very hit and miss with this stuff. They are lucky that many of us just keep fronting up irrespective of how much love comes back our way. But its' not a great way to grow a fan base.

25-04-2023, 06:48 PM

I know some steadfastly refuse to accept it but the club is missing a number of opportunities to engage the fans correctly. Interstate fans don't get a lot of value for their memberships and are right up there in the loyalty stakes so when the club has a golden opportunity to give just a bit back they should be on the front foot about it.

Is there still a strong supporters group over there or did that fall away?

25-04-2023, 07:13 PM
I know some steadfastly refuse to accept it but the club is missing a number of opportunities to engage the fans correctly. Interstate fans don't get a lot of value for their memberships and are right up there in the loyalty stakes so when the club has a golden opportunity to give just a bit back they should be on the front foot about it.

Is there still a strong supporters group over there or did that fall away?

Last I heard there was was 2,500+ paid members, but there are plenty of supporters who are not members over here. The Dogs could increase the membership base by giving a bit back. My son was gutted that he didn't get a chance to get an autograph from the players after a training session. They would have easily got 100 kids at a clinic had they run one (although I understand why they don't run clinics interstate).

25-04-2023, 07:26 PM

I've found things during covid were pretty much "reset" and bare bones.
They've restored capability in areas deemed to be "business critical" from what I've seen, however maybe dropped the ball in other areas like this.

Hopefully with some targeted feedback they can reinvigorate these types of supporter groups as a small function for WA fans, if the demand is there, seems a no brainer.

25-04-2023, 08:02 PM
Last I heard there was was 2,500+ paid members, but there are plenty of supporters who are not members over here. The Dogs could increase the membership base by giving a bit back. My son was gutted that he didn't get a chance to get an autograph from the players after a training session. They would have easily got 100 kids at a clinic had they run one (although I understand why they don't run clinics interstate).

I'd love to see our membership department engage members more than just count the numbers. I would say organising and then advertising a training run so the fans could get along and see them would have been pretty easy to do. It doesn't need to be a lot more than that and how great would it be if Chris Grant talked to the group for 10 minutes or so.
Members are more critical to our club than some others and if they're serious about growing the base then things like that are quick wins and create great family moments.

25-04-2023, 10:48 PM
I've found things during covid were pretty much "reset" and bare bones.
They've restored capability in areas deemed to be "business critical" from what I've seen, however maybe dropped the ball in other areas like this.

Hopefully with some targeted feedback they can reinvigorate these types of supporter groups as a small function for WA fans, if the demand is there, seems a no brainer.

We have a great WA Western Bulldogs supporter group (we have a few members on here) who always organise events for us at a pub and we have members of the match committee or coaches come and chat with us. But this is because we organise it. This is not club driven and rarely involves current players.

It’s more something for the kids that I am passionate about. This is where the membership base will grow.

25-04-2023, 11:21 PM
We have a great WA Western Bulldogs supporter group (we have a few members on here) who always organise events for us at a pub and we have members of the match committee or coaches come and chat with us. But this is because we organise it. This is not club driven and rarely involves current players.

It’s more something for the kids that I am passionate about. This is where the membership base will grow.

Thats what its all about.

25-04-2023, 11:33 PM

Don't see why they wouldn't they ran a youth clinic in SA the day after the Port match.

26-04-2023, 08:19 AM
Don't see why they wouldn't they ran a youth clinic in SA the day after the Port match.

Im not sticking up for them but demands on the playing group need to be considered and there is a balancing level that needs to be achieved. I dont see why they couldnt do both but maybe there is a reason not to do one of them but to do neither strengthens the view that looking after fans particularly the younger ones are an afterthought. For long distance fans every opportunity to feel connected with the club is great opportunity.

05-05-2023, 10:13 AM
Official. We have just set a new all time record. So proud of this club and what it has become. This was unimaginable in 1989.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1322400/bulldogs-surpass-all-time-membership-record

05-05-2023, 10:36 AM
Official. We have just set a new all time record. So proud of this club and what it has become. This was unimaginable in 1989.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1322400/bulldogs-surpass-all-time-membership-record

Insane - be nice to look at the revenue numbers at the end of the year.

05-05-2023, 10:39 AM
Message from Bevo:

https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/1654263384915816556?s=20

05-05-2023, 11:37 AM
40,000 renewals is excellent!

Although I'm not sure how well they communicated that the renewal was coming - my wife signed up for one of the sales last year ($90 for the remaining home games or something) and then in December we had the 2023 membership fees debited from our account. Sneaky sneaky.

05-05-2023, 12:16 PM
40,000 renewals is excellent!

Although I'm not sure how well they communicated that the renewal was coming - my wife signed up for one of the sales last year ($90 for the remaining home games or something) and then in December we had the 2023 membership fees debited from our account. Sneaky sneaky.

Yes. I'm not sure exactly how they get there. But most membership/subscription models have gone to automatic renewal. You need to opt out to cancel. AFL, Bulldogs, Victory, Netflix, Amazon Prime etc.

05-05-2023, 12:25 PM
It's positive but we are still the lowest of the Victorian teams. Maybe Norf but they're crap atm. St.Kilda and Melbourne now well over 60k and we were thereabouts a few years ago so we're not really keeping up. Even Sydney has 56k.

05-05-2023, 01:07 PM
It's positive but we are still the lowest of the Victorian teams. Maybe Norf but they're crap atm. St.Kilda and Melbourne now well over 60k and we were thereabouts a few years ago so we're not really keeping up. Even Sydney has 56k.

Total numbers mean little with all the various specials, kids, pets, etc. At the end of the day all that matters is membership $$$.

05-05-2023, 01:09 PM
Total numbers mean little with all the various specials, kids, pets, etc. At the end of the day all that matters is membership $$$.

Agree 100%. Is this number every made public?

05-05-2023, 01:26 PM
Would we also have the worst combo of small base/lower average income as a supporter group? Given real wages have dropped to something like 2009 levels it's not a huge surprise that we might fall behind a hoity toity club like Melbourne a bit (especially while they're very successful and easy to watch on field).

05-05-2023, 01:39 PM

Every club offers this including us. It would be good to see actual $ return on all membership sales across all clubs.

05-05-2023, 02:12 PM
Agree 100%. Is this number every made public?

In the Annual Report - $9.1 million in 2022, up from $7.6 in 2021.

As a comparison:

North $5.9 in 2022, $5.5 in 2021.

St Kilda $8.7 in 2022, $8.1 in 2021.

05-05-2023, 02:31 PM

As a comparison:

Interesting. Thanks. Shows there's more in it than pure "numbers".

05-05-2023, 02:41 PM

As a comparison:

Wow. That is compelling.

Our membership $ are 54% higher than NMFC.

05-05-2023, 02:56 PM

As a comparison:

That's much more relevant. Thank you.

Total membership numbers are mostly a marketing tactic these days.

05-05-2023, 06:15 PM
@sedat

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/1322834/thanks-for-your-amazing-support

05-05-2023, 06:30 PM
We were on 47,962 on the same date last year so it's up 6.5%

With the AFLW season not starting this year until early September, I would think the cut off date for the official total will be put right back from the end of July.

My guess is we will reach the magical 54k.

16-05-2023, 07:48 PM

18-05-2023, 07:17 PM

Nice jump.

18-05-2023, 09:08 PM
Would we also have the worst combo of small base/lower average income as a supporter group? Given real wages have dropped to something like 2009 levels it's not a huge surprise that we might fall behind a hoity toity club like Melbourne a bit (especially while they're very successful and easy to watch on field).

Thank you hujsh. Have pondered at my writing desk the correct spelling.

18-05-2023, 09:10 PM

Nice jump.

I'll say, its a great number all things considered.

18-05-2023, 09:47 PM
Thank you hujsh. Have pondered at my writing desk the correct spelling.

If I got it right I'm surprised

23-05-2023, 12:17 PM

25-05-2023, 03:12 PM

25-05-2023, 03:35 PM

Decent little jump.

26-05-2023, 04:20 PM

Those Kayo memberships must be doing pretty well.

D Mitchell
26-05-2023, 08:37 PM

Those Kayo memberships must be doing pretty well.

Not necessarily, scores are what matters to absentors

29-05-2023, 05:51 PM

31-05-2023, 10:59 AM

31-05-2023, 12:47 PM

You have to wonder what incentivses people to take memberships so late in the season? 53K is a great number for us.

31-05-2023, 12:51 PM
You have to wonder what incentivses people to take memberships so late in the season? 53K is a great number for us.

4 of our next 5 games are home at Marvel so that might help. There haven't been many occasions to actually use our memberships so far this season.

31-05-2023, 01:32 PM

Kayo memberships are good for 12 months so are pretty much evergreen if you learn about them late

31-05-2023, 01:52 PM
Better form too.

People wait and see.

31-05-2023, 05:05 PM

Along with what others are saying, there's probably a steady stream of kids signing up with Auskick and nominating us to get a complimentary membership and the club distributing some as part of its community programs.