View Full Version : Injury List 2023

Pages : 1 [2]

20-06-2023, 07:24 PM
We have had the same medical team for a long time now, is it just the hard ground in preseason that has caused the groin/hammy issues at the club?

20-06-2023, 07:36 PM
We have had the same medical team for a long time now, is it just the hard ground in preseason that has caused the groin/hammy issues at the club?

Heard Ed Richards talk last week about the hard surface at Skinner made players pull up sore. Also that Marvel is in very ordinary condition and that the surface is quite unpredictable.

20-06-2023, 09:43 PM
Can Jones play with a cast/brace on his arm WWE style?

Yes if Cowboy Bob Orton could do it why can't Crazy Liam Jones?.....just a lovable nickname.

20-06-2023, 11:08 PM
Surely Bevo's in the midst of a heart-to-heart with Naughton about where he's needed most in the current predicament.

Doesn?t someone need to have that heart to heart with Bevo first?

21-06-2023, 08:41 AM

Last person to do that was Monty… Still haven’t seen proof of life yet.

21-06-2023, 09:29 AM
Last person to do that was Monty… Still haven’t seen proof of life yet.

Apparently King was pretty good at challenging Bevo, although no one on this board gave him any credit when he was an assistant with us.

21-06-2023, 01:35 PM

Imagining Turtle and the assistants quietly huddled in a room taking turns whispering 'you do it' ... 'nah, YOU go do it' ...

Reckon he'd really need an explainer on the gravity of trying to defend a finals spot with a backline sans-Jones?

Fancy staring down a starting spine of Keath & Gardner, who've both struggled to retain their spots this season, with the rusting hulk of Josh Bruce, a six-gamer in Darcy and a five-gamer in O'Donnell as your backups, and not being mortified.

But we know if anyone's gonna roll those dice Bevo's that guy.

Anything but re-deploying Naughton I suppose.

21-06-2023, 02:29 PM
Yes if Cowboy Bob Orton could do it why can't Crazy Liam Jones?.....just a lovable nickname.

S.D. Special Delivery Jones

21-06-2023, 06:53 PM
Imagining Turtle and the assistants quietly huddled in a room taking turns whispering 'you do it' ... 'nah, YOU go do it' ...

Reckon he'd really need an explainer on the gravity of trying to defend a finals spot with a backline sans-Jones?

Fancy staring down a starting spine of Keath & Gardner, who've both struggled to retain their spots this season, with the rusting hulk of Josh Bruce, a six-gamer in Darcy and a five-gamer in O'Donnell as your backups, and not being mortified.

But we know if anyone's gonna roll those dice Bevo's that guy.

Anything but re-deploying Naughton I suppose.

Doesn't strike the same fear into the heart as Roberts, Hamling, Roughead, Toyd and Cordy.

Bevo is a peacock, you've gotta let him fly!

22-06-2023, 02:43 PM
Heard Ed Richards talk last week about the hard surface at Skinner made players pull up sore. Also that Marvel is in very ordinary condition and that the surface is quite unpredictable. No coincidence that all the Premiers from Victoria from 2000 onwards are sides who played on the G as a home ground (except 2016). Geelong play a number of home games at the G but have one of the best surfaces at home.

22-06-2023, 04:39 PM
No coincidence that all the Premiers from Victoria from 2000 onwards are sides who played on the G as a home ground (except 2016). Geelong play a number of home games at the G but have one of the best surfaces at home.

Dons in 2000 were half and half too.

We are the only real tenant to do it.

23-06-2023, 12:45 PM
No coincidence that all the Premiers from Victoria from 2000 onwards are sides who played on the G as a home ground (except 2016). Geelong play a number of home games at the G but have one of the best surfaces at home.

I'm not sure Essendon, Carlton and North can blame not winning a premiership in the last 20 odd years on Marvel. Maybe you could make a case for St Kilda as the only other team that have actually contended during that period.

So I would say it largely is coincidence.

27-06-2023, 09:57 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fzn3V-VWcAEE39r?format=jpg&name=large

27-06-2023, 10:00 PM
Early prognosis

The Dogs have returned from the bye and will focus on how to replace Liam Jones and Tim O’Brien this weekend. Sam Darcy could be right to resume his season after fracturing his jaw in the VFL.

Ed Richards has returned from the week away in great condition and is pushing to return next Friday night against Collingwood, although he might need another week. Jason Johannisen is still at least a few weeks away. – Josh Gabelich

28-06-2023, 11:41 AM
Early prognosis

The Dogs have returned from the bye and will focus on how to replace Liam Jones and Tim O’Brien this weekend. Sam Darcy could be right to resume his season after fracturing his jaw in the VFL.

Ed Richards has returned from the week away in great condition and is pushing to return next Friday night against Collingwood, although he might need another week. Jason Johannisen is still at least a few weeks away. – Josh Gabelich

That'd be huge if Ed got back. We need the cavalry to return ASAP. The key posts are going to be a challenge (at best) for the balance of the home & away, but if we can at least get our back half speed back sooner than later, we've got one weapon. Ed's intercepts are gold also.

02-07-2023, 07:27 PM
Is it only me but Richards and JJ seem to be out longer than others with those injuries at other clubs

02-07-2023, 08:57 PM
Is it only me but Richards and JJ seem to be out longer than others with those injuries at other clubs

I’ve got no issues with this. Typically our players come back match ready and straight into the seniors and look like they haven’t missed a beat.

03-07-2023, 09:32 AM
PIVOTAL DOG ?A BIG WATCH? TO RETURN IN TIME FOR MAGPIES BLOCKBUSTER (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2023/07/02/pivotal-dog-a-big-watch-to-return-in-time-for-magpies-blockbuster/)

AFL.com.au?s Josh Gabelich believes Bulldogs defender Ed Richards could return ahead of schedule for Friday night?s blockbuster against Collingwood.

Richards was playing career-best football through the first three months of the season, averaging 20 disposals per game and consistently being one of the Dogs? best each week.

However, a hamstring strain during the Dogs? Round 12 clash against Geelong put the brakes on his momentum, having been stuck on the sidelines ever since.

The Bulldogs originally gave a timeline of six weeks for the defender?s return, yet Gabelich sees him as a real chance to return this week.

?A big watch on Ed Richards, he has missed the past four games with a hamstring, they thought he?d miss six,? he told SEN Breakfast.

?There?s a sneaky suspicion he?ll get up for Friday night ahead of schedule, which would be huge given he was in the All-Australian conversation when he went down in Round 12.

?We know Jordan De Goey is coming back for the Pies, and if they get Ed Richards back it would be a big in for the Dogs.?

Friday night?s clash is set to be a massive affair, with Gabelich anticipating record crowd numbers at Marvel Stadium.

?(The Bulldogs) do have big plans, it feels like they might get close to 50,000, it?s a sellout at this point, only standing room tickets available,? he said.

?They haven?t had 50,000 at Marvel since 2012, it doesn?t happen often.

?Given how well Collingwood are going at the moment, the fact the Bulldogs are just outside the top four on percentage, it feels like a game that we might get close to 50 which would be enormous under the roof there.?

The Bulldogs are coming off a strong performance against Fremantle, taking down the Dockers by 29 points.

03-07-2023, 04:05 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 17 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1371732/?fbclid=IwAR2Irf2j8keUHr2DMLMsAfYACAC-AZA5TW5bl4OPUgJKAjD7HvGXjBhMRUE)

Western Bulldogs defender Ed Richards will be put to the test this week ahead of a blockbuster clash against Collingwood.

The 24-year-old has been sidelined for the past month with a hamstring injury, but could return to the action as early as this Friday night if he gets through training unscathed.

?Ed has continued to aggressively attack his rehabilitation following his hamstring injury,? Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell, said.

?On the weekend, he completed a match-type rehab session and pulled up really well.

?We will look to tick some final boxes with Ed this week before confirming if he returns to availability this weekend against the Pies or next Thursday against Sydney.?

Fellow defender Jason Johannisen is also making progress with his own hamstring complaint, as the 30-year-old eyes a return at the end of this month.

?JJ has been incredibly professional and diligent during the recovery following his hamstring injury,? Bell said.

?He is starting to integrate into some football drills, and we are starting to progress him back towards running at his top end speed.

?We won?t be taking any risks with JJ, but if he continues to progress as we have planned, he will be a chance to return in the next 2-3 weeks.?

The Bulldogs emerged from both their AFL and VFL games this past weekend without any serious injury concerns.

Injury List
Riley Garcia (groin) - test
Ed Richards (hamstring) - test
Harvey Gallagher (finger) - test
Jason Johannisen (hamstring) - 2-3 weeks
Toby McLean (lower back) - 2-4 weeks
Hayden Crozier (hamstring) - 6-8 weeks
Liam Jones (forearm) - 6-8 weeks
Tim O?Brien (hamstring) - 6-8 weeks
Roarke Smith (foot) - indefinite

04-07-2023, 11:20 AM
The last 4 are pretty much see you next year if your still on our list . The only one I think who would be sure to be on our list would be Jones .
Such a shame as I think Rourke without all the injuries over the years would have been an extremely good player but one long injury too many is going to finish him.

04-07-2023, 01:18 PM
The last 4 are pretty much see you next year if your still on our list . The only one I think who would be sure to be on our list would be Jones .
Such a shame as I think Rourke without all the injuries over the years would have been an extremely good player but one long injury too many is going to finish him.

If we make finals, Jones will play. O'Brien might. A lot depends on form of Keath & Gardner. But one of those will be replaced by Jones if we get to September.

05-07-2023, 07:08 AM
If we make finals, Jones will play. O'Brien might. A lot depends on form of Keath & Gardner. But one of those will be replaced by Jones if we get to September.

Surely you mean when we make finals

05-07-2023, 08:47 AM
Surely you mean when we make finals

I’d have written that if that’s what I meant.

06-07-2023, 01:17 PM
According to Mark Stevens, JJ may play next week

09-07-2023, 04:20 PM
Great news

09-07-2023, 11:02 PM

I think i've seen this before. Happy times!

11-07-2023, 04:35 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 18 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1378382/victoria-university-medical-room-round-18)

Ryan Gardner is still a chance to face the Sydney Swans on Thursday night at the SCG after completing main training today.

The defender copped a number of knocks across the fixture against Collingwood and will be given every chance ahead of the vital clash.

?We have been working overtime to accelerate Ryan's recovery,? Bulldogs Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell, said.

?He ticked some good boxes during main training today, and we will monitor him over the next 24 hours before we confirm his availability for this Thursday night against the Swans.?

Dom Bedendo will again miss a chunk of football after injuring his groin in Footscray?s victory last weekend.

?In the last quarter of the VFL game, Dom Bedendo went to jump up into a marking contest and had some acute pain at the attachment site of his groin muscle,? Bell said.

?This is a high-grade injury and will need a considerable period of time to scar and heal.

?We will confirm his rehab timeframe in due course.?

In positive news, Toby McLean looks set to return to selection after recovering from a lower back issue.

?During the VFL game against the Gold Coast in Darwin, Toby Mclean had some sharp pain in his lower back,? Bell said.

?This has taken some time to settle.

?He is now pain free and completed a good block of full training without ongoing concerns.

?If Toby pulls up well from training today, he will return to availability for this weekend.?

Injury List

Ryan Gardner (general soreness): test

Toby McLean (lower back): test

Jason Johannisen (hamstring): 2-3 weeks

Hayden Crozier (hamstring): 4-6 weeks

Liam Jones (forearm): 3-5 weeks

Tim O?Brien (hamstring): 4-6 weeks

Roarke Smith (foot): indefinite

Dom Bedendo (groin): indefinite

11-07-2023, 05:00 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 18 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1378382/victoria-university-medical-room-round-18)

Not again????

11-07-2023, 05:41 PM
Bedendo is done in my view. Not sure he showed enough talent to allocate time, money and a list spot to while he tries to overcome a groin injury that 10 years ago would have been labelled 'osteitis pubis'. All the best to him but... He can't be given another contract.

11-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Bedendo is done in my view. Not sure he showed enough talent to allocate time, money and a list spot to while he tries to overcome a groin injury that 10 years ago would have been labelled 'osteitis pubis'. All the best to him but... He can't be given another contract.

You don’t think he’s better than the 70th kid pick in this year’s draft? I’d keep him on.

11-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Looks like JJ is no chance this week

11-07-2023, 06:16 PM
Bulldogs Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell, said.

'He ticked some good boxes during main training today, and we will monitor him over the next 24 hours before we confirm his availability for this Thursday night against the Swans.'

This a slight change from the usual but Chris Bell has certainly used a lot of boxes over the years

11-07-2023, 06:25 PM
You don’t think he’s better than the 70th kid pick in this year’s draft? I’d keep him on.

He’s played 2 games in 3 years. Maybe pick 70 could very well do better. To get Croft cheap we need to delist 7-8 players. This is an easy one I’d think. If you want him on the list, the question is whether he’s worth the last spot in the rookie list or worth delisting McComb and trying to draft him in McCombs vacancy.

11-07-2023, 06:49 PM

Ryan Gardner is still a chance to face the Sydney Swans on Thursday night at the SCG after completing main training today.

The defender copped a number of knocks across the fixture against Collingwood and will be given every chance ahead of the vital clash.

?We have been working overtime to accelerate Ryan's recovery,? Bulldogs Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell, said.

?He ticked some good boxes during main training today, and we will monitor him over the next 24 hours before we confirm his availability for this Thursday night against the Swans.?

Dom Bedendo will again miss a chunk of football after injuring his groin in Footscray?s victory last weekend.

?In the last quarter of the VFL game, Dom Bedendo went to jump up into a marking contest and had some acute pain at the attachment site of his groin muscle,? Bell said.

?This is a high-grade injury and will need a considerable period of time to scar and heal.

?We will confirm his rehab timeframe in due course.?

In positive news, Toby McLean looks set to return to selection after recovering from a lower back issue.

?During the VFL game against the Gold Coast in Darwin, Toby Mclean had some sharp pain in his lower back,? Bell said.

?This has taken some time to settle.

?He is now pain free and completed a good block of full training without ongoing concerns.

?If Toby pulls up well from training today, he will return to availability for this weekend.?

Injury List

Toby McLean (lower back): test

Jason Johannisen (hamstring): 2-3 weeks

Hayden Crozier (hamstring): 4-6 weeks

Liam Jones (forearm): 3-5 weeks

Tim O?Brien (hamstring): 4-6 weeks

Roarke Smith (foot): indefinite

Liam Jones moved from 6-8 weeks to 3-5 weeks ... big jump considering the injury

11-07-2023, 07:06 PM
Liam Jones moved from 6-8 weeks to 3-5 weeks ... big jump considering the injury

Sometimes i wonder if they have a kid on work experience typing these up. They can jump around a bit.

11-07-2023, 07:14 PM
He’s played 2 games in 3 years. Maybe pick 70 could very well do better. To get Croft cheap we need to delist 7-8 players. This is an easy one I’d think. If you want him on the list, the question is whether he’s worth the last spot in the rookie list or worth delisting McComb and trying to draft him in McCombs vacancy.

Not the point but I reckon he’s been on the list two years?

11-07-2023, 07:19 PM
You don?t think he?s better than the 70th kid pick in this year?s draft? I?d keep him on.

Bedendo must have some really bad luck with injury. I don't see him being retained now given its a long term injury. Only chance as a rookie. We can't keep holding a list spot for someone who potentially won't get injured.

11-07-2023, 07:37 PM
Not Bedendo again? What horrible luck fir the kid.

11-07-2023, 08:30 PM
He?s played 2 games in 3 years. Maybe pick 70 could very well do better. To get Croft cheap we need to delist 7-8 players. This is an easy one I?d think. If you want him on the list, the question is whether he?s worth the last spot in the rookie list or worth delisting McComb and trying to draft him in McCombs vacancy.
I would rookie him. He has shown some ability in the past and still only 21 years old.

Bigdog
11-07-2023, 09:20 PM
I?d be filthy if they got rid of him. So much more deadwood to go first.

Bendendo is a modern footy player and was always a project player. He has also showed plenty at vfl level last year.

11-07-2023, 09:23 PM
I wood rookie him. He has shown some ability in the past and still only 21 years old.

I think that's the kind of conservative mindset that's held us back to be honest. These are the exact type of speculative fringe selections we need to be a bit more ruthless with so we can turn the list over and find some gems. If he can't put together a run of VFL games it's probably time to admit his body isn't up to it and roll the dice again, maybe find a JJ or Morris if we get a bit of luck

11-07-2023, 09:41 PM
I think that's the kind of conservative mindset that's held us back to be honest. These are the exact type of speculative fringe selections we need to be a bit more ruthless with so we can turn the list over and find some gems. If he can't put together a run of VFL games it's probably time to admit his body isn't up to it and roll the dice again, maybe find a JJ or Morris if we get a bit of luck

Our most recent delist, to rookie list moves:

Hahn (fail)
Goodes (fail)
Hayes (fail)
Cavarra (fail)
Pearce (fail)
Prudden (fail)
Roarke (a pass but not brilliant)

We don’t tend to successfully transition players from the main list to the rookie list. We delist them for a reason, but think we can change them…

Just the facts, just our recent history.

11-07-2023, 09:57 PM
Our most recent delist, to rookie list moves:

Hahn (fail)
Goodes (fail)
Hayes (fail)
Cavarra (fail)
Pearce (fail)
Prudden (fail)
Roarke (a pass but not brilliant)

We don’t tend to successfully transition players from the main list to the rookie list. We delist them for a reason, but think we can change them…

Just the facts, just our recent history.

Add the Footscray Strategy:

Hayes (fail)
Gowers (fail)
McComb (fail)
Scott (solid depth)
Gardner (solid depth when in form)
Poulter (too early to call)

Then other clubs:

Charlie Cameron, Frost, Sinclair, Naismith, Zac Williams, Jack
Short, Saad
AMT, Chol
Draper, Ladhams, Rohan Marshall, Zuhaar, McInerney
Butts

And so on.

Panning for gold you say?

It’s nice we give extra years to guys like VDM. It’s nice we delist players and recruit them back as rookies. It’s nice we take Footscray players. These things are all nice. Laud the loyalty and belief in our players. But don’t complain we don’t find the gold in the rookie list that we used to find (Boyd, JJ, Morris, Dahlhaus etc) and that other clubs find. Everything has a cost.

12-07-2023, 09:04 AM
Injury Update: Bailey Smith (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1378481/injury-update-bailey-smith)

Bailey Smith has been ruled out of this Thursday night's clash with Sydney due to illness.

The 22-year-old presented to the Club yesterday for a main session but wasn’t well enough to participate, and subsequently won’t make the trip to Sydney today.

The Club anticipates that Bailey will return to training in the coming days.

The team to take on the Swans will be announced tonight at 6.20pm.

12-07-2023, 11:12 AM
I really hope that the recent media coverage hasn't gotten to Baz and that he is in a good space, and that this is a gastric/respiratory illness. We need a fit and energetic Baz to be our best side.

15-07-2023, 09:29 PM
So when do we have updates on Darcy and JOD?

15-07-2023, 09:46 PM
Normally Monday afternoon

15-07-2023, 11:06 PM

Darcy is a few weeks out and I imagine JOD and McNeil will both miss one week, possibly two.

16-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Darcy is a few weeks out and I imagine JOD and McNeil will both miss one week, possibly two.

"He stayed later than the rest of the team, he had a signifcant bleed in his quad. No timeline on his return, he will miss some football."

- Josh Gabelich on Sam Darcy

Also from Mark Stevens

Hearing significant progress with Liam Jones’ arm injury.
May only be 2 weeks away, even an outside chance for GWS in Ballarat.
Had been reported as 8-10 week injury, but believe he is well ahead of schedule.
Has only missed 4 weeks so far.

16-07-2023, 06:02 PM
Stevo. His mail normally good at Dogs.

"Hearing significant progress with Liam Jones? arm injury.
Had been reported as 8-10 week injury, but believe he is well ahead of schedule.
He?s been missed @westernbulldogs"

16-07-2023, 06:09 PM
Stevo. His mail normally good at Dogs.

"Hearing significant progress with Liam Jones? arm injury.
He?s been missed @westernbulldogs"

Didn't like my post AP :)

16-07-2023, 06:41 PM
Didn't like my post AP :)

I scanned the page, but missed it. Apologies.

16-07-2023, 07:12 PM
I scanned the page, but missed it. Apologies.

mate, no probs just stirring you.

Good news if we get him back in 2 weeks.

16-07-2023, 08:03 PM
Darcy has had a few injuries this year , i hope just get his body right and add strength and conditioning to his frame , no need to rush him vack, its all better for the long term.

16-07-2023, 09:32 PM
Darcy has had a few injuries this year , i hope just get his body right and add strength and conditioning to his frame , no need to rush him vack, its all better for the long term.

It was always going to be the way with his body, great thing is he got some AFL experience and we all know he is going to be something special.

17-07-2023, 08:16 AM

This one is just unlucky, it's a corky. Anyone can get one and they can hurt like hell. I don't think there is need for concern.

17-07-2023, 09:58 AM
This one is just unlucky, it's a corky. Anyone can get one and they can hurt like hell. I don't think there is need for concern.

The broken jaw also unlucky and the lung issue was a bit of a freak occurrence. Looks like this season is a bit of a write-off for Darcy at AFL level but at least he has shown some development in the VFL. We will just have to be patient.

17-07-2023, 04:05 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 19 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1383509)

Bailey Smith looks set to return to the line-up ahead of a crunch clash with Essendon, recovering from the flu over the past week.

The 22-year-old will need to be monitored at training before being declared a certain starter for Friday night.

“Bailey Smith started to come down with some flu symptoms immediately following our round 17 game against the Pies,” Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell said.

“He had a really quiet week last week whilst he recovered, but in some good news he has improved and is re-energised.

“He will be monitored though main training this week, but I am expecting him to return to availability.”

Sam Darcy suffered a nasty cork to his quad during the two-point loss to Sydney and will miss multiple games due to a bleed in his thigh.

“Sam Darcy has unfortunately continued to suffer some bad luck,” Bell said.

“In a marking contest at the end of the first quarter, he suffered a big blow to the outside part of his quad thigh muscle.

“As part of this injury you not only damage the muscle tissue but also break the blood vessels that carry blood around your thigh.

“From this significant corkie, Sam has suffered extensive bleeding and swelling into his thigh and lower leg.

“We will manage Sam conservatively but do expect him to miss the next few games of footy.”

James O’Donnell and Lachie McNeil both suffered concussion in the Thursday night defeat and will miss the upcoming fixture against the Bombers.

“Lachie McNeil received some heavy contact off the ball in the first quarter,” Bell said.

“When he was assessed at the time, he was winded from the heavy hit.

“He completed the game without any obvious concerns, but then post-game reported that he started to suffer from some subtle signs that can be related to concussion.”

“After clinical assessment, the doctors confirmed that McNeil had suffered some delayed signs of concussion.”

Mitch Hannan also looks set to return from a calf complaint, providing he completes main training on Wednesday.

Injury List
Bailey Smith (illness) – test

Mitch Hannan (calf) – test

Lachie McNeil (concussion) – 1-2 weeks

James O’Donnell (concussion) – 1-2 weeks

Jason Johannisen (hamstring) – 1-2 weeks

Liam Jones (forearm) – 3-5 weeks

Sam Darcy (quad) – 3-5 weeks

Tim O’Brien (hamstring) – 4-6 weeks

Hayden Crozier (hamstring) – 4-6 weeks

Dom Bedendo (groin) – indefinite

Roarke Smith (foot) - indefinite

17-07-2023, 04:07 PM
Encouraging that JJ is now only 1-2 weeks away. He will be a hand addition for the run home.

17-07-2023, 07:06 PM
Encouraging that JJ is now only 1-2 weeks away. He will be a hand addition for the run home.

I hope the club considers not playing anyone with dicey hamstrings eg JJ or Treloar in Ballarat and Tassie, depending upon weather forecast.

24-07-2023, 04:03 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 20 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1386394/victoria-university-medical-room-round-20)

Jason Johannisen is a chance to return for the trip up to Ballarat against the Giants, listed as a test ahead of the Saturday clash.

The defender suffered a high-grade hamstring injury in the last Ballarat outing during Round 10 and will be given every chance to prove his fitness on Wednesday.

?Being a high-speed athlete, we have taken our time with him to make sure that the damage in his hamstring has fully recovered,? Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell said.

?Jason has progressed well over the last month and has built some great continuity in his training.

?If he ticks his final boxes this week - and pulls up well from our main training ? JJ will return to availability.?

Harvey Gallagher?s run of bad luck has continued having been struck down by glandular fever over the past week.

?After returning to play two games following his fractured hand, Harvey Gallagher is unfortunately again on the sidelines,? Bell said.

?Last week, Harvey developed a sore throat with tests confirming that he is suffering from some glandular fever.

?We will de-load Harvey for the next few weeks to allow him to rest and recover.

?We are hopeful that it won?t be too long before Harvey is fully fit and firing.?

Injury List:

Jason Johannisen (hamstring): Test

James O?Donnell (concussion): Test

Lachie McNeil (concussion): 1 week

Liam Jones (arm): 1-3 weeks

Harvey Gallagher (illness): 3-4 weeks

Hayden Crozier (hamstring): 4-5 weeks

Tim O?Brien (hamstring): 4-5 weeks

Sam Darcy (quad): 4-6 weeks

Roarke Smith (foot): Indefinite

Dom Bedendo (groin): Indefinite

24-07-2023, 04:05 PM
Not good news about Gallagher.

24-07-2023, 08:20 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 20 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1386394/victoria-university-medical-room-round-20)

Jason Johannisen is a chance to return for the trip up to Ballarat against the Giants, listed as a test ahead of the Saturday clash.

The defender suffered a high-grade hamstring injury in the last Ballarat outing during Round 10 and will be given every chance to prove his fitness on Wednesday.

?Being a high-speed athlete, we have taken our time with him to make sure that the damage in his hamstring has fully recovered,? Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell said.

?Jason has progressed well over the last month and has built some great continuity in his training.

?If he ticks his final boxes this week - and pulls up well from our main training ? JJ will return to availability.?

Harvey Gallagher?s run of bad luck has continued having been struck down by glandular fever over the past week.

?After returning to play two games following his fractured hand, Harvey Gallagher is unfortunately again on the sidelines,? Bell said.

?Last week, Harvey developed a sore throat with tests confirming that he is suffering from some glandular fever.

?We will de-load Harvey for the next few weeks to allow him to rest and recover.

?We are hopeful that it won?t be too long before Harvey is fully fit and firing.?

Injury List:

Jason Johannisen (hamstring): Test

James O?Donnell (concussion): Test

Lachie McNeil (concussion): 1 week

Liam Jones (arm): 1-3 weeks

Harvey Gallagher (illness): 3-4 weeks

Hayden Crozier (hamstring): 4-5 weeks

Tim O?Brien (hamstring): 4-5 weeks

Sam Darcy (quad): 4-6 weeks

Does this mean jones could come back this week ?

24-07-2023, 08:36 PM
Does this mean jones could come back this week ?

No, it means he could be next week… or 2 more after that.

30-07-2023, 01:52 PM
Looking like an ACL for poor Bruce. Just turned 31 and will be out for a year if that is the case? Will he go on?

30-07-2023, 01:55 PM
Looking like an ACL for poor Bruce. Just turned 31 and will be out for a year if that is the case? Will he go on?

I wouldn't think so BAD. Be interesting to see if he continues on his development coaching with our ladies team.

30-07-2023, 02:01 PM
I wouldn't think so BAD. Be interesting to see if he continues on his development coaching with our ladies team.

I think he is heading into coaching, so yes

30-07-2023, 03:04 PM

With Keath signing a contract during the week I think he was less than 50/50 to get offered a new deal. It will be really interesting what we do.

30-07-2023, 03:50 PM

I can't see how he could get through this and return to football. Look at his struggles to return in 2022 so he would be up against it.

30-07-2023, 09:03 PM
Really how unlucky are we. Our back line must have collectively ran over a chinamen. Jones out, JOD out, Darcy out, Richards a late withdraw then we lose Bruce and Keith. Krozier out all year.

You wonder why we can’t win a game. Yes Naughton down back must be a live realistic option now if Jon s don’t get up.

31-07-2023, 02:11 PM
Scans today have confirmed a ruptured ACL for Josh Bruce

31-07-2023, 04:53 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 21 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1392497/victoria-university-medical-room-round-21)

Josh Bruce will undergo a conventional ACL reconstruction after scans today confirmed a ruptured ACL.

The defender suffered the leg injury in the third term and will have surgery later this week.

?Josh Bruce was involved in a contest in the third term, where he was flung and forced to plant his right leg wide to try and keep his feet,? Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell said.

?Devastatingly, this mechanism has loaded his right knee and caused his anterior cruciate ligament to rupture.?

?Scans today have confirmed the damage to the ACL as well as the meniscus inside the knee.?

?This is the opposite knee that he suffered an ACL injury on in round 21 2021.?

?Josh will meet with the surgeon to confirm the best way to manage his injury, but I am expecting he will undergo a conventional ACL reconstruction.?

Alex Keath suffered a second concussion for the season during the five-point loss to the Giants and will miss this weekend?s fixture against Richmond.

?Alex was removed from the game in the second quarter after falling heavily from a contest.? Bell said.

?On viewing the vison in slow motion on the sideline, he had a very subtle signs that can be a related to a concussion, so he was ruled out of the game.?

?Alex has commenced our concussion protocol and will work with our doctor to confirm a return to play plan.?

Ed Richards look set to return after recovering from a bout of gastro last week, with the defender improving continually over the past 48 hours.

Richards will train with the main group on Wednesday.

The Bulldogs defensive stocks look set to be boosted by the return of Liam Jones after a long lay-off with an arm injury.

The 32-year-old hasn?t played for two months but will fully train this week.

?Liam Jones suffered a nasty fracture in his forearm in round 14,? Bell said.

?He had an extensive surgery where a plate and screws stabilised the fracture site.

?Liam has progressed incredibly well over the last six weeks and has been fully training without contact for the last month.?

?We have been working closely with the specialist on his return to play plan ? and if Liam progresses through our contact requirements this week, he will return to availability.?

Injury List

Ed Richards (illness): Available
Liam Jones (arm): test
Alex Keath (concussion): 1-2 weeks
Harvey Gallagher (illness): 1-2 weeks
Hayden Crozier (hamstring): 2-3 weeks
Tim O?Brien (hamstring): 2-3 weeks
Sam Darcy (quad): 3-5 weeks
Josh Bruce (knee): Indefinite

31-07-2023, 05:47 PM
Sounds like Liam Jones is a lock.

31-07-2023, 08:57 PM
I thought Darcy was just a corked thigh? It's listed as quad, can a corkie last that long. I know Bevo said it was a cork on cork and a bad one.

31-07-2023, 09:19 PM
I thought Darcy was just a corked thigh? It's listed as quad, can a corkie last that long. I know Bevo said it was a cork on cork and a bad one.

It was a cork I spoke to his Dad at sponsors night. Think he was still in Sydney at that stage.

31-07-2023, 09:32 PM
It was a cork I spoke to his Dad at sponsors night. Think he was still in Sydney at that stage.

Another 3 - 5 weeks though? Can a cork be that bad? I've had some bad ones over the years and I felt like a wimp for missing 2 weeks with the worst one I had. Maybe mine wasn't that bad and I was a wimp. Lol

31-07-2023, 09:35 PM
Another 3 - 5 weeks though? Can a cork be that bad? I've had some bad ones over the years and I felt like a wimp for missing 2 weeks with the worst one I had. Maybe mine wasn't that bad and I was a wimp. Lol

He had bleeding under the skin so sounded pretty bad

31-07-2023, 10:39 PM
He had bleeding under the skin so sounded pretty bad

Isn't that literally what a cork is?

31-07-2023, 10:54 PM

Yes you are correct, however it was quiet bad

01-08-2023, 08:48 AM

I think he got the fabled double cork.

01-08-2023, 10:10 AM
I think he got the fabled double cork.

The mythical injury... the UniCork...

Thanks

05-08-2023, 09:01 PM
Garcia hammy

Roarke back in two weeks

07-08-2023, 03:54 PM
Josh Gabelich reporting that Mitch Hannan has ruptured his achilles and will be out for the next 12 months.

07-08-2023, 03:55 PM
Josh Gabelich reporting that Mitch Hannan has ruptured his achilles and will be out for the next 12 months.

Going to lose a year of country footy wages in 2024. Poor bastard. I wish him well.

07-08-2023, 03:57 PM

That's tragic. For guys like him and Josh Bruce, what rehab is provided by the club/AFL when they have a long term injury in what ends up being their final year?

07-08-2023, 04:01 PM
That's tragic. For guys like him and Josh Bruce, what rehab is provided by the club/AFL when they have a long term injury in what ends up being their final year?

I think mjp said they get support (potentially full rehab) as they did it under contract and playing footy.

You would hope the club offers that at minimum regardless of our contractual obligations.

07-08-2023, 04:14 PM
I think mjp said they get support (potentially full rehab) as they did it under contract and playing footy.

You would hope the club offers that at minimum regardless of our contractual obligations.

Yes, you'd hope so. It just such a bad way to finish an AFL career.

07-08-2023, 04:20 PM

Yep, that is my understanding and they deserve club support during the rehab stage.
It's a tough life when the footy career comes to a sudden stop.

07-08-2023, 04:28 PM
You'd think that is curtains for Hannan. If he wants to stick around with the club at VFL level then I'm sure we'd be happy to have him at Footscray as he's still a dangerous VFL player but missing a year when on the fringe and coming out of contract is the nail in the coffin.

07-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Victoria University Medical Room | Round 22

Mitch Hannan will miss the remainder of the 2023 season after rupturing his Achilles tendon on the weekend.

Bulldogs? utility Mitch Hannan will miss the remainder of the 2023 season after rupturing his Achilles tendon during Footscray?s 66-point win over North Melbourne on Saturday.

The 29-year-old had surgery completed over the weekend and begins a nine-month rehabilitation period later this week.

?Mitch Hannan has unfortunately suffered an Achilles tendon rupture,? Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell said.

?He was running in space, with the injury happening spontaneously and without warning.

?Mitch has already had surgery to repair the tendon.

?With a 9-12 month recovery period common for these types of injuries, we will put our arms around Mitch to support him over the next few weeks before we start to map out his rehabilitation plan.?

Anthony Scott and Robbie McComb both suffered concussion during their respective fixtures and will miss this weekend?s games.

Ryan Gardner has been struggling with several issues over the past month and was given time to heal over the weekend, missing the clash with Richmond.

?Ryan Gardner has been carrying a few injury niggles over the last few weeks,? Bell said.

?One is an irritated ankle and the other is a minor ligament injury in his toe.

?To make sure that these niggles didn?t impact Ryan's performance, we thought it was best to give Ryan the week off playing to allow these niggles to improve.

?We will monitor Ryan this week to determine if he returns to availability.?

Alex Keath will return to availability after overcoming a concussion suffered against GWS in Ballarat a fortnight ago.

Hayden Crozier is in the final stages of his rehabilitation following a hamstring injury and could return to availability as soon as this weekend, providing he completes training on Thursday.

Harvey Gallagher has recovered strongly from a bout of Glandular Fever, returning to full training this week, with an eye on selection for the upcoming weekend.

Round 22 Injury List
Harvey Gallagher (illness): test
Alex Keath (concussion): test
Hayden Crozier (hamstring): test
Robbie Mccomb (concussion): 1-2 weeks
Anthony Scott (concussion): 1-2 weeks
Tim O?Brien (hamstring): 1-2 weeks
Sam Darcy (quad): 3-4 weeks
Roarke Smith (foot): 3-4 weeks
Josh Bruce (knee): indefinite
Mitch Hannan (Achilles) : indefinite

Link: https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1398163/victoria-university-medical-room-round-22

07-08-2023, 04:31 PM
That is now quite an extensive injury list. It is quite surprising that our VFL team is still going so well.

07-08-2023, 04:47 PM
So is Garcia still injured or right to go?

07-08-2023, 04:48 PM
So is Garcia still injured or right to go?

My understanding is that he is injured. Not sure why it's not listed.

07-08-2023, 04:58 PM
Sad that 2 players who are probably on the brink of being delisted get struck down with serious injuries which will pretty much wipe out their 2024 seasons too... I know they were unlikely to be picked up by opposing teams, but it would've been nice if that option was open to them.

07-08-2023, 05:04 PM
Sad that 2 players who are probably on the brink of being delisted get struck down with serious injuries which will pretty much wipe out their 2024 seasons too... I know they were unlikely to be picked up by opposing teams, but it would've been nice if that option was open to them.

Yes. It is such a cruel game.

Pedro Sanchez
07-08-2023, 06:12 PM
Brutal for Hannan... What a way for him and Bruce to go out - poor buggers.

Does anyone know more about this corky Darcy got? Was very innocuous in the game. Did he have to get surgery it or something... Seems a massive amount of time to overcome injury like this.

07-08-2023, 07:15 PM
I still think AFL players are underpaid considering the risks they take and where they sit compared to other world sports. Really feel for Bruce and Hannan

07-08-2023, 07:17 PM
Brutal for Hannan... What a way for him and Bruce to go out - poor buggers.

Does anyone know more about this corky Darcy got? Was very innocuous in the game. Did he have to get surgery it or something... Seems a massive amount of time to overcome injury like this.

My understanding is it was like a double cork if that makes sense.
I don't pretend to know why that's worse.

07-08-2023, 07:19 PM
My understanding is it was like a double cork if that makes sense.
I don't pretend to know why that's worse.

Double is more than single.

07-08-2023, 07:23 PM

That could be it.

07-08-2023, 07:26 PM

That could be it.

But how much more?

07-08-2023, 07:31 PM
But how much more?

I doubt it's linear.

I think they get exponentially worse.

So c=c x 10 ^ 2 or f(x) = 2. x

Where f is your fked and c is cor blimey this double corkey hurts more than two normal corkies.

07-08-2023, 07:37 PM
I doubt it's linear.

I think they get exponentially worse.

So c=c x 10 ^ 2 or f(x) = 2. x

Where f is your fked and c is cor blimey this double corkey hurts more than two normal corkies.

By george, I think you’ve nailed it.

Now do the formula for JUH to get more depth and less elevation in his set shots!

07-08-2023, 07:55 PM
By george, I think you’ve nailed it.

Now do the formula for JUH to get more depth and less elevation in his set shots!

Hahahaaaa

07-08-2023, 11:21 PM
I wonder if Darcy was at risk of compartment syndrome, like what Jarryn Geary had? I'm not suggesting he had the major surgery Geary had, but to me a 'double cork' would just mean more bleeding and swelling with more risk and longer healing time

Link to Geary story (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/graphic-warning-gruesome-extent-of-jarryn-geary-quad-injury/news-story/5df05862e982744d9d3c681b1b5867d9)

08-08-2023, 08:00 AM
Yes, you'd hope so. It just such a bad way to finish an AFL career.

Not to mention the sheer physical pain of an injury like that.

08-08-2023, 02:42 PM
I wonder if Darcy was at risk of compartment syndrome, like what Jarryn Geary had? I'm not suggesting he had the major surgery Geary had, but to me a 'double cork' would just mean more bleeding and swelling with more risk and longer healing time

Link to Geary story (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/graphic-warning-gruesome-extent-of-jarryn-geary-quad-injury/news-story/5df05862e982744d9d3c681b1b5867d9)

I wouldn't think so, not an expert at all but isn't this most caused from repetition? ie: running Muscle injuries can cause it but wouldn't think an impact injury like a cork could cause this much damage. That being said it's the longest corky I've seen at AFL level, well at least the longest I can remember.

I had compartment syndrome when I was younger in my calf, it was bloody painful but the long massage on the legs were amazing! It was the reason I didn't advance to VFL/AFL level. :cool:

09-08-2023, 06:22 AM
Yes for sure. Must take a huge toll on mental health of players in situations like that. As if transitioning from footy was hard enough then you get rushed up a double whammy

Hope they both have a great recovery

09-08-2023, 08:03 AM
I wouldn't think so, not an expert at all but isn't this most caused from repetition? ie: running Muscle injuries can cause it but wouldn't think an impact injury like a cork could cause this much damage. That being said it's the longest corky I've seen at AFL level, well at least the longest I can remember.

I had compartment syndrome when I was younger in my calf, it was bloody painful but the long massage on the legs were amazing! It was the reason I didn't advance to VFL/AFL level. :cool:

It's just caused by swelling, whether its sudden trauma or a slow build up. All the swelling gets stuck in one 'compartment' of the limb, and can't escape, which builds the pressure until the skin and other tissues around that compartment aren't actually receiving blood flow anymore.

Can definitely be caused by a bad corkie, but not saying that's definitely what is happening to Darcy. The 'double corkie' is not a medical term, so this was just me trying to figure out what they mean.

Pedro Sanchez
09-08-2023, 05:50 PM
It's just caused by swelling, whether its sudden trauma or a slow build up. All the swelling gets stuck in one 'compartment' of the limb, and can't escape, which builds the pressure until the skin and other tissues around that compartment aren't actually receiving blood flow anymore.

Can definitely be caused by a bad corkie, but not saying that's definitely what is happening to Darcy. The 'double corkie' is not a medical term, so this was just me trying to figure out what they mean.

You have to think he's definitely had some kind of surgery... You just cant miss that much footy for copping the equivalent of a dead leg. Unless its just a complete smokescreen for a different injury altogether that they want to keep under wraps...

15-08-2023, 04:20 PM
Medical Room l Round 23 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1406174/victoria-university-medical-room-l-round-23)

Tom Liberatore will miss the Bulldogs clash against West Coast this weekend after entering concussion protocols.

The midfielder was subbed during the second quarter in Launceston and will now sit out the next 12 days.

Jason Johannisen suffered calf tightness against the Tigers a fortnight ago and will be monitored this week.

?Jason had some calf tightness in the second half of the Rd 21 game against Richmond,? Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell said.

?These calf symptoms persisted into last week so he didn?t play on the weekend.

?We won?t take any risks with JJ and will monitor him this week to confirm when he returns to playing.?

In more positive news, defender Tim O?Brien and utility Riley Garcia will be considered for selection this weekend after overcoming significant hamstring injuries.

"Tim O?Brien and Riley Garcia are in the final stages of their rehab following their hamstring injuries,? Bell said.

?Both will have to tick some final boxes and train well Thursday before they will be considered available.?

Anthony Scott will return to availability this week, overcoming concussion sustained a fortnight ago.

Roarke Smith will also be a welcome addition to the squad, recovering from a plantar fascia injury to his foot, needing to complete a final session to be ticked off.

Injury List | Round 23

Tom Liberatore (concussion): TBC
Jason Johannisen (calf) : test
Roarke Smith (foot): test
Tim O?Brien (hamstring): test
Riley Garcia (hamstring): test
Robbie McComb (concussion): 1 week
Anthony Scott (concussion): available
Sam Darcy (quad): 2 weeks
Josh Bruce (knee): indefinite
Mitch Hannan (Achilles): indefinite

15-08-2023, 04:32 PM
Some positive news on the injury front.

15-08-2023, 04:40 PM
Some positive news on the injury front.

Good to see Roarke back.

15-08-2023, 06:07 PM
Glad to see Roarke back on the injury front, he has had shocking luck and is reliable depth. I think he's still probably done as an AFL player as he's just not really durable enough but I'd love to keep him as a VFL listed player.

19-08-2023, 10:55 PM
Great news on all fronts.
Geelong here we come.

20-08-2023, 09:16 AM
Great news on all fronts.
Geelong here we come.

Don't we have to beat West Coast first?

22-08-2023, 03:51 PM
Jack Macrae has been ruled out this week due to concussion protocols.

22-08-2023, 03:52 PM
Don't we have to beat West Coast first?

Ah.... next question...

22-08-2023, 03:55 PM
Ah.... next question...

EW jinxed us. :D

22-08-2023, 03:56 PM
Medical Room l Round 24 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1413337/victoria-university-medical-room-l-round-24)

Jack Macrae will miss this weekend?s clash against Geelong after entering concussion protocols following Sunday?s defeat to West Coast.

The vice-captain will be monitored this week before his return to play plan is developed.

?Soon after the completion of the game, Jackson developed some low-level symptoms that he reported to our Club Doctor,? Head of Sports Medicine, Chris Bell said.

?Jack subsequently failed a concussion test and was immediately placed in protocols.?

?Jack will be assessed during this week before a return to play plan is developed.?

Tom Liberatore looks set to return from his concussion in time for Saturday night?s clash, while Robbie McComb will also make his way back through the VFL.

?Tom and Robbie are progressing well in the final stages for their recovery following their concussions,? he said.

?Both are on track to be cleared to return to full contact training for our main session on Thursday.?

?I?m optimistic that both will return to availability.?

Injury List
Jack Macrae (Concussion): TBC
Tom Liberatore (Concussion): Test
Robbie McComb (Concussion): Test
Jason Johannisen (Calf): 1-2 weeks
Sam Darcy (Quad haematoma): 1-2 weeks
Roarke Smith (hamstring): 2-3 weeks
Arthur Jones (Shoulder): Indefinite
Dominic Bedendo (Groin): Indefinite
Josh Bruce (Knee ACL): Indefinite
Mitch Hannan (Achilles rupture): Indefinite

22-08-2023, 03:57 PM
Jack Macrae has been ruled out this week due to concussion protocols.

No JJ either

22-08-2023, 04:02 PM
No JJ either

We probably shouldn't have played him first game back in Ballarat. That's two injuries for him there now isn't it?

22-08-2023, 04:04 PM
We probably shouldn't have played him first game back in Ballarat. That's two injuries for him there now isn't it?

Calf always takes longer than you think

22-08-2023, 04:16 PM
EW jinxed us. :D

I'd reply to this basless slur if this thread wasn't a figment of imagination and actually existed.

26-09-2023, 07:41 PM
Looking at a photo of Adz at the Brownlow, he was wearing a moon boot.

26-09-2023, 07:47 PM
Looking at a photo of Adz at the Brownlow, he was wearing a moon boot.

I think he mentioned on his podcast he had ankle surgery.

26-09-2023, 07:50 PM
I think he mentioned on his podcast he had ankle surgery.

Thanks, I didn't listen to it

12-11-2023, 02:10 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/1459835/arthur-jones-very-much-a-learning-year

Artie played from round 7 onwards with a pretty serious shoulder injury, had surgery and is in a sling.

12-11-2023, 03:26 PM
It will be interesting to see if Arty can take another step in the right direction.

12-11-2023, 07:00 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/1459835/arthur-jones-very-much-a-learning-year

Artie played from round 7 onwards with a pretty serious shoulder injury, had surgery and is in a sling.

Surprising he did it then as that was right before his best bit of form in the seniors. Not a coincidence our best period of form for the year was when he was in the team and contributing

12-11-2023, 08:53 PM
Be an interesting year for Arty so much talent, I think it’s just getting in the right places at the moment but I think it will come.

13-11-2023, 05:51 PM
Be an interesting year for Arty so much talent, I think it’s just getting in the right places at the moment but I think it will come.

For me, Arty's best spot is on a wing rather than a small forward. As he builds up his strength, it will complement his elite running. He reminds me of an early (premiership winning) Bradley Hill at Hawthorn.

13-11-2023, 05:55 PM
It will be interesting to see if Arty can take another step in the right direction.

For sure. An exciting player. Really gave us some energy when he was playing. Look forward to seeing him continue to progress in 2024.