03-04-2023, 04:59 PM

03-04-2023, 05:13 PM
Do we tag Bolton?

03-04-2023, 05:15 PM
Do we tag Bolton?

He's a great footballer and I would hope we put a bit of work into him but I doubt it will a hard tag.

03-04-2023, 06:04 PM
Do we tag Bolton?

We do need to do something as he seems to play his best against us ALWAYS.

This match is vital for us.

03-04-2023, 06:16 PM
We do need to do something as he seems to play his best against us ALWAYS.

This match is vital for us.

Dusty and Hopper will be back as well.

03-04-2023, 07:27 PM
I've got 0 confidence going into this one.

I feel like the Tigers have become the new Geelong for us.
We never beat them, and on the G forget it.

Will be a good test to see if we can cover the turn over better as Tigers play that game well.

03-04-2023, 07:37 PM
Won’t be easy at the G. Last year in this fixture we basically kicked ourselves out of it kicking 7.19

03-04-2023, 08:01 PM

Will be a good test to see if we can cover the turn over better as Tigers play that game well.

I hope youre wrong GrantyGhost. I see the Tigers as very beatable this week even with Dusty likely to be coming back.

03-04-2023, 09:31 PM
I hope youre wrong GrantyGhost. I see the Tigers as very beatable this week even with Dusty likely to be coming back.

Nice... Hope so!

03-04-2023, 10:14 PM

Yeah can't see us winning this one unfortunately they just move the ball too well and too quickly for us.

Tigers by 23 points
FG: Hopefully Arty
BOG: Adz

04-04-2023, 01:08 AM
Dogs by 45
FG: Naughty
BOG: Daniel

04-04-2023, 09:37 AM
Dos by 2 goals. Its going to be a close one.

04-04-2023, 10:21 AM

I reckon the last time we beat the tigers at the G would've been 2015 or 2016.

Its crap, why do we always play an away game against them? Its been like that for three years running.

04-04-2023, 10:25 AM

Its crap, why do we always play an away game against them? Its been like that for three years running.

Good question - I'd be pushing hard to miss that game and the Cats at Sedat Stadium if I was the club. Also pi55 off the round 1 game v Melbourne. Go back to the Pies.

04-04-2023, 10:35 AM

We wouldnt be able to get all their supporters into Marvel is the only reason why its probably scheduled that way. Nice pick up.

04-04-2023, 10:43 AM

2015 at the G

Recent Matches Between Richmond Tigers and Western Bulldogs

Date
Venue
Home v Away Teams
Result
High Disposals
High Goals

Round 4, 9 Apr 2022
MCG
Richmond (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers) defeats Western Bulldogs (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
99-61 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10575)
J. Dunkley (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=4148) 37
T. Lynch (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3457) 4

Round 7, 30 Apr 2021
MCG
Richmond (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers) defeats Western Bulldogs (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
77-55 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10385)
C. Daniel (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=4073) 34
A. Naughton (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=6491) 3
T. Lynch (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3457) 3
S. Bolton (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=6355) 3

Round 9, 29 Jul 2020
Heritage Bank Stadium
Western Bulldogs (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeated by Richmond (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers)
49-90 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10236)
J. Macrae (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3800) 37
M. Wallis (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3467) 3
D. Martin (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3316) 3
J. Aarts (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=6681) 3

Round 7, 4 May 2019
Marvel Stadium
Western Bulldogs (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeat Richmond (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers)
99-52 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=9779)
J. Macrae (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3800) 36
C. Daniel (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=4073) 36
A. Naughton (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=6491) 5

Round 23, 25 Aug 2018
MCG
98-95 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=9705)
J. Macrae (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3800) 43
J. Riewoldt (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1731) 5

Round 7, 6 May 2017
Marvel Stadium
Western Bulldogs (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeat Richmond (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers)
80-75 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=9366)
L. Dahlhaus (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3556) 31
C. Smith (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3655) 4
J. Riewoldt (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1731) 4

Round 16, 9 Jul 2016
Marvel Stadium
85-75 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6302)
D. Martin (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3316) 38
J. Stringer (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3799) 4

Round 2, 11 Apr 2015
MCG
Richmond (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers) defeated by Western Bulldogs (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
66-85 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5974)
T. Cotchin (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=2302) 34
T. Dickson (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3693) 4

Round 3, 5 Apr 2014
Marvel Stadium
100-98 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5776)
J. Macrae (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=3800) 30
J. Riewoldt (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1731) 4

Round 13, 22 Jun 2013
Marvel Stadium
Western Bulldogs (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs) defeated by Richmond (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers)
61-121 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5655)
R. Griffen (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1486) 38
J. Riewoldt (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_profile?pid=1731) 3

04-04-2023, 10:44 AM
We wouldnt be able to get all their supporters into Marvel is the only reason why its probably scheduled that way. Nice pick up.

Well if that is the case, then that is rubbish. We have a home ground and we should host them there.

04-04-2023, 11:18 AM
That 2015 game was great. I left thinking Tory Dickson was going to win the Brownlow.

04-04-2023, 11:34 AM
We should have won the 2018 game. Had our chances. We kicked 3.5 in the last and had a shot to hit the front with minutes to go but missed.

04-04-2023, 11:37 AM
We should have won the 2018 game. Had our chances. We kicked 3.5 in the last and had a shot to hit the front with minutes to go but missed.

Was that Brad Lynch?

04-04-2023, 11:57 AM
Was that Brad Lynch?

Yes, it was.

04-04-2023, 12:08 PM
Ditto - Dusty's great but doesn't chase. In their glory years the Tigers set up to let others do the chasing. Play through his opponent!
Taranto and Hopper are brilliant ball winners but woeful kicks. Richards (who is killing it for intercept possessions this year) could be set for a big game.

The Tigers are one side where if you set up correctly you're always in the game. If you're a bit off they can kill you. At Marvel I'd be confident, MCG less so.

05-04-2023, 10:30 AM
When was the last time we played well at the G?

Feels like it has been a while, even though we don't play there often. The game in late '21 v Melb?

05-04-2023, 12:13 PM
Ditto - Dusty's great but doesn't chase. In their glory years the Tigers set up to let others do the chasing. Play through his opponent!
Taranto and Hopper are brilliant ball winners but woeful kicks. Richards (who is killing it for intercept possessions this year) could be set for a big game.

The Tigers are one side where if you set up correctly you're always in the game. If you're a bit off they can kill you. At Marvel I'd be confident, MCG less so.
Yep, Tigers are just a side in 2023. They aren't awful but they aren't a juggernaut either. We should approach this match with the confidence that our best will get a positive result if we go in with the right set-up and intensity (as we did last week against Brisbane).

05-04-2023, 03:06 PM
Yep, Tigers are just a side in 2023. They aren't awful but they aren't a juggernaut either. We should approach this match with the confidence that our best will get a positive result if we go in with the right set-up and intensity (as we did last week against Brisbane).

I reckon I’ve thought this every game since 2020 though.

06-04-2023, 08:40 PM
It's time to beat the tigers at the G and build some momentum, absolutely no excuses for us going into this one.

06-04-2023, 10:32 PM
Margin: Dogs by 13 points - due for a win at the G

First Goal: Rory Lobb

Best on ground: Marcus Bontempelli

07-04-2023, 12:18 AM
Dogs by 19

First Goal Arty

BOG Macrae

Uninformed
07-04-2023, 03:17 AM
Yes, it was.

Wish Brad had made it. Seemed to have everything.

07-04-2023, 08:52 AM
Was that Brad Lynch?

Weird memory to hold onto, but I'll always remember watching that last shot at goal by Lynch on my phone from a kids party at Caribbean Rollerama. Was a heartbreaker but I was sure Lynch was gonna be a player.
A lot of important times in my life I have no memory of, but apparently that is stuck there for me to grab whenever I need to.

07-04-2023, 11:26 AM
Weird memory to hold onto, but I'll always remember watching that last shot at goal by Lynch on my phone from a kids party at Caribbean Rollerama. Was a heartbreaker but I was sure Lynch was gonna be a player.
A lot of important times in my life I have no memory of, but apparently that is stuck there for me to grab whenever I need to.

Yeah I remember I was buying the next round at a bucks at a rooftop bar.

Like 911, everyone remembers where they were for Brad Lynch's shot.

07-04-2023, 11:37 AM
Do we tag Bolton?

Bevo doesn’t tag Petracca or Oliver so he won’t Bolton? Will he ?

07-04-2023, 11:48 AM
Rich by 31 pts (Lynch 5, Bolton 2, Martin 2)

Bog - Libba
1st goal - Jamarra

07-04-2023, 02:20 PM
Brad Lynch got caught holding the ball more times per game than anyone I’ve ever seen. But it was kind of admirable in a way because at least he was doing something to get caught, which we were in dire need of in 2018.

07-04-2023, 02:26 PM
Dogs by 23
First goal Arty
Bog Bont

07-04-2023, 02:43 PM
Dogs by 31
First goal - Naughton
BOG - Smith

We should've beat them there last year but somehow went down by 40+. We kicked terrible for goal. Straighten up and we'll beat them.

07-04-2023, 07:04 PM
Dogs by 31
First goal - Naughton
BOG - Smith

We should've beat them there last year but somehow went down by 40+. We kicked terrible for goal. Straighten up and we'll beat them.

If I remember correctly another factor was having the whole backline try to spoil Lynch, and if they were successful an unmanned Richmond player had an easy shot at goal.

Shouldn?t happen now we have Jones. This is the game he was recruited for.

07-04-2023, 07:52 PM
Brad Lynch got caught holding the ball more times per game than anyone I’ve ever seen. But it was kind of admirable in a way because at least he was doing something to get caught, which we were in dire need of in 2018.

More times than Sam Power or Andrew Wills?

07-04-2023, 08:56 PM

Ha ha. Points for unexpected throwback KT.

08-04-2023, 01:36 PM
Dogs by 17 points
BOG Bont
1st goal Lobster

08-04-2023, 01:52 PM
Ha ha. Points for unexpected throwback KT.

Especially given Wills only played ten games for us!

08-04-2023, 04:35 PM
Close night, 'Dogs by 5 points.
BOG: Bont
First Goal: Arty.

Sadly, I wil miss tonight's game live, but the recorder will do its trick, I hope.

08-04-2023, 04:46 PM
Dogs by 1 point
BOG: Bailey Smith
First Goal: Jamarra

08-04-2023, 04:54 PM
Dogs by 9
FG Naughton
BOG Treloar

08-04-2023, 05:28 PM
Raining will make it interesting

08-04-2023, 05:36 PM
Keath on Lynch, Jones on Dusty

08-04-2023, 05:38 PM

More times than Bont?

08-04-2023, 05:39 PM
More times than Bont?

I'd do a turn over count but I'm not supposed to shoot Bambi.

08-04-2023, 05:44 PM
Good start from Lobb, staying in the two contests he's been involved in.

08-04-2023, 05:49 PM
Great start.

Richards, English and Bont on fire.

08-04-2023, 05:53 PM
Fair hands from Lynch in these conditions.

08-04-2023, 05:53 PM
Keath looked KO

08-04-2023, 05:56 PM
You can?t teach pace. JJ. Play him where the pace does damage. Half back is his spot.

08-04-2023, 05:57 PM
Forget Anthony Hudsons stupidity until watching this game. Thought Baker didn't have much time??

08-04-2023, 06:02 PM
Keath subbed out by the looks.

Would be concussion.

Stevo
08-04-2023, 06:04 PM
I like the way we have started but the next quarter normally tells the story.
Liberatore is on fire.

Stevo
08-04-2023, 06:05 PM
Keath subbed out by the looks.

Would be concussion.

On the raid it said he is still being assessed.

08-04-2023, 06:08 PM
Killing them at the ground ball, thats the best quarter of the year by a long way.

08-04-2023, 06:09 PM
Great quarter. Good intensity and pressure. Dale and Libba excellent. Love Arty’s pace.

Mutz
08-04-2023, 06:11 PM
Awesome to see Arty gaining confidence. That was a nice swivel of the hips.

McComb and Hannan both in the team now........

Forget Anthony Hudsons stupidity until watching this game. Thought Baker didn't have much time??

You could really notice who he wanted to win early.

08-04-2023, 06:12 PM
Great 1st qtr. I’m watching on a horrendous stream from Papamoa in NZ. Go dogs!

Stevo
08-04-2023, 06:13 PM
McComb and Hannan both in the team now........

Shame for the Chief.

08-04-2023, 06:13 PM
Hannan on. Whose injured or been subbed?

08-04-2023, 06:15 PM
Why the hell us McComb playing

Ruckmen can't do what English just did.

Keath

Keath with a concussion.

08-04-2023, 06:17 PM
Lynch is a low key dirty prick. No designs on an aerial ball so lays a hip and shoulder on an unsuspecting opponent tracking back to contest it, who's now out under concussion protocols.

Stevo
08-04-2023, 06:18 PM
Great to get that response.

08-04-2023, 06:20 PM
Lynch is a low key dirty prick. No designs on an aerial ball so lays a hip and shoulder on an unsuspecting opponent tracking back to contest it, who's now out under concussion protocols.

His output would be limited now when Riewoldt is out. His number 1 forward, which he will struggle against the bigger defenders like May and McGovern.

English kicks a ground ball, its good he kicked it, but where are our small fwds ?

08-04-2023, 06:20 PM
Percentage builder.

08-04-2023, 06:26 PM
Percentage builder.

Too soon bids!

Stevo
08-04-2023, 06:28 PM
We need a steadier dont we?

Percentage builder.

Take that back.

Boots
At the game… so not on my phone much. Jj’s first quarter was like he’s turned back the clock. English superb, Richards excellent. Still liking baker. Caleb better but still a little worrying with ball in hand. Arty Jones looking a little out of his depth (only a little). Still worrying signs that we aren’t running both ways, and a few out the back goals since Keath went off.

08-04-2023, 06:29 PM
How do we give goals up so quickly. I’m absolutely flabbergasted. Same story. I’m control. Why are we awake to this.

08-04-2023, 06:33 PM
Even early in Q1 tigers were opening up our defence they just couldn’t capitalise. Now they are.

08-04-2023, 06:33 PM
Ruckmen can't do what English just did.

So we agree he isn?t a ruckman?

08-04-2023, 06:34 PM
There's the classic Bont miss. Now watch us get run over.

08-04-2023, 06:35 PM
Bont. We need a goal. Badly. Stop their momentum. Miss. Similar story. They go down the other end. Goal.

There's the classic Bont miss. Now watch us get run over.

As opposed to the four to five goals they got pre his miss?

Once their kicking efficiency came to what it?s expected, rich are now doing what I expected them to do. Getting on top in field play. Tackling better, fumbling less. Once they break that centre line they look like kicking a goal every time.

08-04-2023, 06:36 PM
I'm sick of these pricks switching off.

No team defence whatsoever.

we were 5 goals up, and then just fall asleep in the centre , now 10 points difference. The only reason why we are infront because the tigers did not kick straight in the first quarter

Bont takes a ripper mark, and misses 40 m in front.

He had to kick that.

10pt lead back to 16 is a lot better than 16 down to 4.

It's the same old story line.

08-04-2023, 06:37 PM
What a shit show. We seemed to have given up.

08-04-2023, 06:38 PM
Run at the ****ing kciker Bont. Jesus Christ. You're the ****ing captain!

What do McComb and Hannan offer us?

Who cares what they did? He’s our captain. He needs to kick those. He rarely does.

Same old story just let the mids March through for a bout 5 goals until we make a change of some sort.

The moment: Bont shanks another set shots, rot sets in.

Come on dogs.

Their run on started with the most brilliant Shai Bolton goal you will ever see. But since then our ability to defend the ground has been embarrassing.

Another conceded goal avalanche.

08-04-2023, 06:39 PM
Now we losing what a joke

Six in a row.

Ptsd.

We cough up so many fwd entries and the tigers just wait for it to land and sweep up. I swear is there any forward pressure training ? same old story every week.

Cotchin comes on and kicks his first goal with his first kick, now 5 points difference.

With the wet and slippery conditions, this game is going to be energy sapping late in the game. Any lead is so important. We can't even have a steadier.

Melb kicked 5 unanswered goals when the heat was on. Saints did it twice, and now Rich with 6.
Laughable
6 goals to none in 10 mins

Getting smashed out of the middle. 1metre behind their players. It's the same old symptoms. We are just plain rubbish. A fluke win over the lions shouldn't change that.

I really can’t believe this. I can not believe it.

08-04-2023, 06:40 PM
Their run on started with the most brilliant Shai Bolton goal you will ever see. But since then our ability to defend the ground has been embarrassing.

Another conceded goal avalanche.

We couldn’t defend the ground during the first, they just didn’t capitalise.

Team of absolute bed shitters.

Gosh this is disappointing. We have not been able to stop these run ons for years. We've thrown away a great lead and no in deficit going into half time. How does this continue to happen?

This game is over.
No plan B as usual

Absolute bed shitters.

08-04-2023, 06:41 PM
Game over. This'll be 10 goals in the end.

Wowee.

We couldn’t defend the ground during the first, they just didn’t capitalise.
100%

dukedog
Just gone to sleep

It's a real concern our ability to defend a surging side.

Scott on the wing didn't play tempo and turned it over. Tigers goal.
Crozier didn't rush through under pressure on the line. Goal.
Bont miss.
Long ball to top of square not punched through, goal.

It's basic stuff we do badly.

Midfield has disappeared too.

Terrible! How do we give up a 5 goal lead like that then concede more?

08-04-2023, 06:42 PM
Bailey Smith just runs over the footy.

How many times have we seen avalanches like this? There's something wrong with this group. You don't see it happen this frequently with any other club. The complete night and day.

08-04-2023, 06:42 PM
Is this like the fremantle game last year ? same old switch off and ball watching.

tigers 45 % efficeny in first quarter, now they are 85%

08-04-2023, 06:43 PM
Well haven't we lost momentum. Lets see what Bevo can do to wrestle this back.

Worst part is I reckon opposition sides aren't worried when we are 5 goals up.

dukedog
We just dont care about footy. Just a paycheck for some of these guys. Just watching gooty fly past em. Bloody attack the footy or the man boys!

We are mental midgets as soon as anyone pressures us. That GF is probs still scarring us

08-04-2023, 06:44 PM
This club just kill you with these avalanches conceded. It’s like a rusty dagger though the heart. Against an ordinary Tigers team too.

29 points up to 14 down in a heart beat.

08-04-2023, 06:45 PM

Why is it up to Bevo? Eventually somebody who actually can influence the game on the field has to take some ownership for this bullshit.

We are mental midgets as soon as anyone pressures us. That GF is probs still scarring us

The one we didn’t review. How’s that turning out for us?

Anyhoo. Still a half of footy left. Hope Bevo has something in his bag of tricks and the players show a bit of heart.

He can't do anything. That has been proven so many times.

We've all seen this multiple times before and know how it ends.

The regularity that sides put 5+ goals on us is embarrassing.

I'm about done with this group of players.

The run from Richmond is unbelievable. I don’t understand how we can’t stop it. This will end up being an 80 point loss.

I mean, no other team in the league is so bad at this stuff are they?

08-04-2023, 06:46 PM
What happened to Libba?

if Hannan cannot kick those set hots 35 m infront, what does he offer ?

Round #1. Deja Vu.

Grand Final. Deja Vu.

Elimination Final. Deja Vu.

Worst part is I reckon opposition sides aren't worried when we are 5 goals up.

A mate texted me when we went up by 5 saying, we're on, we've got this. I texted back and said it won't last. Didn't think it would evaporate so quickly though. So disappointing.

Is this like the fremantle game last year ? same old switch off and ball watching.

tigers 45 % efficeny in first quarter, now they are 85%

That 45% was the only reason we lead. Once they got their disposal where it should be they were always going to shred us?and they have.

08-04-2023, 06:47 PM
From 5 goals up to practically 3 goals down in 15 minutes.
Under 12s would even know how to stop that

Boots
Jesus Christ, what happened. Richmond sure lifted, but we had simultaneous failures across the ground with no apparent cause. Started letting them rebound off half back, then stopped winning clearances, then the zone came apart. They’re like a different team again. First quarter the skills and pressure were incredible. Now they’re flat and weird again.

They are kicking from everywhere and we missed two gettable once to stop the momentum. The Bont was a much a bigger miss albeit harder shot as that would have stopped that momentum.

What happened to Libba?

Got comfortable as usual. Stopped working as hard as we was in the first quarter.

08-04-2023, 06:48 PM
Isn’t Smith out of touch. He hasn’t fired since his time off last year

08-04-2023, 06:49 PM
They are kicking from everywhere and we missed two gettable once to stop the momentum. The Bont was a much a bigger miss albeit harder shot as that would have stopped that momentum.

Bont is great at missing goals that hault momentum . History of it.

How’s our on field leadership going?

That quarter our skills dropped, our pressure dropped, their efficiency improved, we fumbled more and fell over. They kept their feet and ran in numbers.

08-04-2023, 06:50 PM
Too soon bids!

I take full responsibility for my idiocy.
Things turned at that point.
I instantly realised I should delete, then my daughter rang.

Then were were down 14 pts.
F me.

08-04-2023, 06:50 PM
Rich has 7 players under 20 games. You’d think it was the opposite.
It was embarrassing but predictable.

08-04-2023, 06:51 PM
Got comfortable as usual. Stopped working as hard as we was in the first quarter.
Didn’t see him on the ground for a long period. When he went off we started losing centre
clearances

08-04-2023, 06:52 PM
I take full responsibility for my idiocy.
Things turned at that point.
I instantly realised I should delete, then my daughter rang.

Then were were down 14 pts.
F me.

Haha. How dare you! ;)

It's painful to watch the capitulations. Hurts my chest.

08-04-2023, 06:53 PM
What happens in the coaching box? Obvious change in tactics by Richmond, then as a counter we offer nothing! I know Bont and Hannon should have steadied us but the problem is we can’t get it and defend.

I don’t know if I wanna do this again.

Rich $1.14
Dogs $4.50

Even the bookies know this is done and dusted ;)

5 goal lead in the wet, we should have put it to sleep

08-04-2023, 06:54 PM

Nothing and we've got a host of those retreads on our list who will constantly let us down. Sure they'll pop up and play well once in a while but for the most part they're not going to take us to another level. We've got to get better at recruiting and build again rather than bring in these types of players.

Isn’t Smith out of touch. He hasn’t fired since his time off last year

Not he hasn't, was flat footed at the contest where Bolton roved and snapped a goal.

Maybe a spell at Footscray might focus his attention.

Bont is great at missing goals that hault momentum . History of it.

He might end up being our greatest ever player but in clutch moments he doesn't capitalize often enough like the great players tend to do.

The regularity that sides put 5+ goals on us is embarrassing.

I'm about done with this group of players.

You have said that a bit. Which ones?

I know it’s punching down and this isn’t on him but how is McComb on an AFL list, let alone getting games.

We need a lift from Treloar, Smith and Macrae

We gave up so many soft goals in that run of seven. Again. Everything that goes wrong goes wrong. Almost comical. If it happened only once you would say it’s just bad luck, but when it happens again and again….

He might end up being our greatest ever player but in clutch moments he doesn't capitalize often enough like the great players tend to do.

Have our great players ever done that?

08-04-2023, 06:55 PM
I mean, no other team in the league is so bad at this stuff are they?

I don't think I've seen it regularly from any other team.

Swamp

Sides to have kicked multiple streaks of 7+ goals in 2023
coll
RICH

Sides to have conceded multiple streaks of 7+ goals in 2023
haw
WBD

We really need West in the side today. Why does he continue to get overlooked. Crozier looks slow. I wouldn’t mind swapping him with Williams on the wing. He is a good kick but I think Williams is better than Crozier down back. Williams struggling on the wing so we have nothing to lose

Comon dogs we can win this still. C

Rich has 7 players under 20 games. You’d think it was the opposite.
It was embarrassing but predictable.

That's the worst part about all this, they're younger and inexperienced and looking like a well oiled machine in that 2nd quarter. That's what a decent coaching panel brings.

08-04-2023, 06:56 PM
What do McComb and Hannan offer us?
Probably as much as Scott and Crozier.

08-04-2023, 06:56 PM

Well I'm told EJ was a great clutch player and Grant getting that goal against Essendon was as telling as you could hope for but I get your point.

08-04-2023, 06:57 PM
Have to say it but our deficiencies have been exposed in the most brutal fashion and the second half of this game will be a pointer to how we are going to go this season - an acid test if you like.

Are we going to roll over and fold like a deck of cards or roll up our sleeves and get to work? Damn we are good at failing the big moments - Bont, Hannan, Bailey Smith - sorry but I shake my head. Just have to do better.

08-04-2023, 06:57 PM
Swamp

Sides to have kicked multiple streaks of 7+ goals in 2023
coll
RICH

Sides to have conceded multiple streaks of 7+ goals in 2023
haw
WBD

Bevo was to slow to get English back on the ground Lobb in the run close gave ip 3 goals snd all the momentum

08-04-2023, 06:58 PM
I know it’s punching down and this isn’t on him but how is McComb on an AFL list, let alone getting games.

I read on here he took a pack mark against Andrews late last week against Brisbane and his kick to Williams to seal the game.

Boots
Isn?t Smith out of touch. He hasn?t fired since his time off last year

he?s so frustrating to watch. He?s had a few nearly awesome moments that end up brain fades. A weird tackle on a Richmond forward who didn?t have the ball followed by a dusty goal from the loose ball behind him. He also seems to be holding onto it too long and making sub par plays or turnovers.

I really don't know what else to say about this type of performance other than its emblematic of everything that has cost us in big moments in critical games, repeatedly.

We really need West in the side today. Why does he continue to get overlooked. Crozier looks slow. I wouldn’t mind swapping him with Williams on the wing. He is a good kick but I think Williams is better than Crozier down back. Williams struggling on the wing so we have nothing to lose

Comon dogs we can win this still. C

West was crap today in condition that should have suited him I don't know if he would help.

Bevo was to slow to get English back on the ground Lobb in the run close gave ip 3 goals snd all the momentum

Bevo doesn't control rotations.

08-04-2023, 06:59 PM
We really need West in the side today. Why does he continue to get overlooked. C
if you watched the VFL today you wouldn’t say that

08-04-2023, 07:00 PM
West was crap today in condition that should have suited him I don't know if he would help.

Agree. West was ordinary in the VFL. No pace. He ain?t the answer to the problems exposed on those last 10 minutes.

Bevo doesn't control rotations.

Genuine question; how are they decided? Literally via a stop watch or time on the clock?

Pouring rain again

Hawkins was clutch.

JJ's decision not to follow Bolton to the front of the pack with any level of intensity wins effort of the day for me thus far. Game defining.

08-04-2023, 07:01 PM
JJ's decision not to follow Bolton to the front of the pack with any level of intensity wins effort of the day for me thus far. Game defining.

Bolton has made players better than JJ look stupid. He is a freak when he is on.

Boots
08-04-2023, 07:01 PM
I really don't know what else to say about this type of performance other than its emblematic of everything that has cost us in big moments in critical games, repeatedly.

that’s where I get to too. It’s like… what solutions exist? We’ve wargamed everything on this forum, very few potential solutions get a run and none of them work. I will keep watching them play, but i can’t even get agitated at something that feels as irritatingly likely as a red light in traffic or the 5:25 all stops Sunbury suddenly becoming an express as it whizzes past middle Footscray with me on it.

08-04-2023, 07:03 PM
How do we turn this around? Or can we even turn it around? Need to win clearances and control the tempo. Unfortunately we rely on pressure and turnovers. If this doesn’t happen we are stuffed. Our ball movement is too slow and our delivery into the forward line is crap.

We get the midfield back on our terms, we are still right in this.
Doesn't feel like it due to the manner of the turn around however we are a big chance.

Rain might help too.

Agree. West was ordinary in the VFL. No pace. He ain?t the answer to the problems exposed on those last 10 minutes.

Here lies another problem. We have no one else. This is it. I can't comprehend how alarm bells aren't ringing. This list is bog average and it's going to take a few drafts with high picks to steady it. We are a long way off it.

None of our top line players are leadership material and I think that reflects on the field.

08-04-2023, 07:07 PM
When we are on top and the opposition starts a run on Bevo and our coaching group 1.don't see it coming 2.do nothing to stop it or 3. are simply incapable of coaching and defending a good lead.

08-04-2023, 07:13 PM
So far so good this quarter. Maybe the wet is our friend?

08-04-2023, 07:13 PM
Yeah well done English. Always behind in ruck contests and then just pushes in the back. Soft as butter.

08-04-2023, 07:17 PM
Bloody hell. Can tackle by the legs now?

08-04-2023, 07:17 PM
That legged miss. How is that missed? How? In such a tight game. Horrific umpiring.

08-04-2023, 07:18 PM
Shocking freekick miss but Daniel should be kicking that.

08-04-2023, 07:19 PM
And again Daniel.

08-04-2023, 07:20 PM
Could we please pick the ball up

08-04-2023, 07:25 PM
As usual we can’t score with the momentum

08-04-2023, 07:27 PM
Does McComb ever have a SuperCoach score in the positives ?

08-04-2023, 07:28 PM
Were 8.3….now 9.10

08-04-2023, 07:28 PM
Can’t win if can’t convert. Like last year against this mob.

08-04-2023, 07:29 PM
Mitch Hannan. Zero words. Zero words.

08-04-2023, 07:29 PM
We are working hard, just shooting ourselves in the foot.
Hannan, man o man.

08-04-2023, 07:30 PM
Geez it’s obvious we have too many VFL players in our senior team. Cue the Benny hill music.

Get McComb and Hannan out of this team

I never want to see Hannan again. In the team, at training, on the street, anywhere.

08-04-2023, 07:31 PM
Hannan how did you miss?

Geez it’s obvious we have too many VFL players in our senior team. Cue the Benny hill music.

Out top ten is as good as anyone, unfortunately the depth isn't there.
Arthur isn't ready. I'd love to see him kick a goal!

We have too many Bevo project players. Our list is filled with too much crap.

Hanging in there right now. We're a good chance.

Why do we keep picking Hannan and McComb?

Seriously. It's inexcusable.

They play 10 minutes of football. Kick seven goals.

We dominate a quarter. Kick one goal. Blow endless chances.

08-04-2023, 07:32 PM
We got back on top with contested possessions but just couldn’t score

With Croz out & H&M playing we are effectively 3 men down.

Hannan, you just keep finding new ways to piss me off. Unbelievable.

Ed Richards with his weekly brain fade and turnover right at the time when we should have been heaping on the pressure. Typical.

Hanging in there right now. We're a good chance.

I think we are going to win.

08-04-2023, 07:33 PM
McComb tries hard. But he is just not at league standard. Makes poor decisions and has poor skills. He is a good suburban footballer.

We have too many Bevo project players. Our list is filled with too much crap.

Agreed. Brought this up earlier in the thread. We rely on these "Money Ball" selections way too much. Invest in scouting and recruiting and draft more These guys are given away for a reason.

We can win this if we work hard and kick accurately

08-04-2023, 07:34 PM
I never want to see Hannan again. In the team, at training, on the street, anywhere.

What about the nets?

Boots
08-04-2023, 07:34 PM
Man, goals are hard to come by in the wet. If only we?d had a commanding lead going into this mess.

08-04-2023, 07:35 PM
Has McComb made a single positive contribution? Missing that handball to Hannan into an immediate turnover is just suburban level bullshit.

I guess that’s actually fitting when I spell it out like that.

If we lose this game that 3rd quarter will be the archetypal example of pissing a game of football up against the wall. An unbelievable number of goal scoring opportunities butchered. All I can do is shake my head in bemusement. Next step, if we lose this, is a brick through the TV.

I’m calling it right now 3/4 time. We will win by 10 points

It’s a strange game but a 3 quarter time motivation speak from Bevo gets us over the line

Frustrating that we missed our chances but much better than the 2nd qtr. if we can keep that pressure around the ball and take a couple of chances then we win.

Maybe Bont will kick that long awaited Captain’s goal?

What about the nets?

Good point. I could put his hairline back to work.

08-04-2023, 07:42 PM
Always backed Hannan.

08-04-2023, 07:43 PM
I've always believed in Mitch Hannan. Always.

Piss off he kicked that.

Well he made up for that miss. Back in front! Come on Dogs

08-04-2023, 07:44 PM
Come on boys. Come on. Hang on now.

08-04-2023, 07:49 PM
Always believed in McComb.

Goals to Hannan and McComb has me laughing

Love that free kick.

Total rubbish but makes up for the Hannan trip.

08-04-2023, 07:50 PM
Lucky one there but I'll take it. We're in control here just need to keep the foot on the gas.

08-04-2023, 07:50 PM
Hell of a time for McComb to hit his first ever straight kick

08-04-2023, 07:56 PM
We have to stop their running

08-04-2023, 07:59 PM
Some crunch moments coming up. Go Dogs

08-04-2023, 08:01 PM
We need Bont back on the ground.

08-04-2023, 08:08 PM
Up the scraggas!

08-04-2023, 08:09 PM
Oh my god

Some of you woofers have no faith

Never in doubt.

McComb. Hannan. With last quarter goals. Sorry for losing belief in your ability.

Well done dogs..should never had been that close.

Between the 8 goals in a row conceded and the dodgy free kicks this answers absolutely nothing but hell yeah what a win.

08-04-2023, 08:11 PM
Well done. Great work to stop their run. Whatever we did it worked. It is purely in the head.

Such a massive win for belief after we gave up that lead.

That was a gutsy, gutsy, gutsy win. Wow.

Englisssshhhhh!!!!!!!!

08-04-2023, 08:12 PM
Between the 8 goals in a row conceded and the dodgy free kicks this answers absolutely nothing but hell yeah what a win.

Yes it does. We can actually concede a run of goals and work our way back into the game.

08-04-2023, 08:13 PM
Glad we hang on and some of our players stepped up when it counted.

08-04-2023, 08:13 PM
**** yeah, never in doubt haha.

Need to work on my faith levels.

08-04-2023, 08:14 PM
That win should build BELIEF. We did it the HARD way, with true guts. I'm too exhausted to process how we did it other than to say we showed TRUE BULLDOG SPIRIT. Well done Dogs. That was a huge turnaround after half time. We were a five goal better side if we had taken our ops.

Dale and Daniel were huge in that last quarter

That Bolton goal I'm thinking here we go but thank goodness we got that last clearance. Tough win, apart from the 2nd we were pretty good. Got to stop those consecutive goals.

08-04-2023, 08:16 PM
Treloar is back where he belongs in the middle and what a difference that makes

08-04-2023, 08:16 PM
Kicking 17 behinds is just stinky but that’s an unreal win!’

08-04-2023, 08:17 PM
Dale and Daniel were huge in that last quarter

I thought JUH played a good last quarter for no scoreboard reward.

Mutz
08-04-2023, 08:17 PM
Well done. Great work to stop their run. Whatever we did it worked. It is purely in the head.

So the key is to only let the run start with the quarter nearly over and to arrange for rain.

08-04-2023, 08:18 PM
Arty Jones ran over the ball too many times when he need to body it, will be interesting to see if he keeps his spot.