View Full Version : WB Game Day V Adelaide Crows R10 2023 Sat 20/5, 2:10PM - Mars Stadium, Ballarat

25-12-2022, 09:04 PM
Margin:
First Goal:
Best on ground:

16-05-2023, 08:57 PM
Big game on Saturday in Ballarat.

Margin: Dogs by 2 points in a close one

First goal: Jamarra Ugle Hagan

Best on ground: Marcus Bontempelli

16-05-2023, 09:08 PM
Does anyone know if my home membership gets me into/cheaper tickets to this cold far away bullshit that I’m going to against my better judgement?

It will surprise none of you that the club has provided either no or at least impossible to find guidance re the above.

16-05-2023, 10:04 PM
Does anyone know if my home membership gets me into/cheaper tickets to this cold far away bullshit that I?m going to against my better judgement?

It will surprise none of you that the club has provided either no or at least impossible to find guidance re the above.

Home membership should get you in.

I am unable to attend as I am in Europe flying out Saturday and back in a month.

I have a reserved seat if you want it.

17-05-2023, 12:06 AM

I am unable to attend as I am in Europe flying out Saturday and back in a month.

Have a great trip. Are you going to some euro trash techno raves?

Also, today is Happy Days' 31st birthday so I think giving him your seat is a great gift.

Happy Birthday old fella.

17-05-2023, 01:14 AM

Also, today is Happy Days' 31st birthday so I think giving him your seat is a great gift.

Hope you keep that energy for the young, still very hot and cool Tom Liberatore on the weekend.

17-05-2023, 01:14 AM

Thanks BAD but I’d need to seat a few.

17-05-2023, 01:27 AM
Does anyone know if my home membership gets me into/cheaper tickets to this cold far away bullshit that I’m going to against my better judgement?

All seating has been sold out though there are general admission standing room tickets still available.

I don't know what exact membership you have but as you are asking this question I very much doubt that it has the Ballarat add-on.

A home membership only gets you access to Marvel games if you do not have this add-on.

I suggest you ring the club to clarify.

17-05-2023, 10:27 AM

Thanks EW, Euro Techno trash raves is my daughters domain.

17-05-2023, 10:29 AM

No worries.

If anyone wants my seat DM me.

17-05-2023, 12:34 PM

It's your birthday you can sit if you wanna, sit if you wanna.

Happy Birthday Happy Days.

Boots
17-05-2023, 12:37 PM
Given my comment in the Always Right thread I'm going to predict that Charlie Cameron will get the first goal

17-05-2023, 12:37 PM

There was an email back in late February with the details of how to buy tickets for the Ballarat game. If you want seats you usually have to book well in advance.

17-05-2023, 12:43 PM
There was an email back in late February with the details of how to buy tickets for the Ballarat game. If you want seats you usually have to book well in advance.

Yep - not even coteries get seats. #bemorebulldog

The 2 x games in the Rat irk me more and more these days and I have no real idea why.

It's a great local feel.

17-05-2023, 12:46 PM
Yep - not even coteries get seats. #bemorebulldog

The 2 x games in the Rat irk me more and more these days and I have no real idea why.

It's a great local feel.

I have a two game Ballarat membership with seats. Mates don't usually go to Ballarat, and I can't be ****ed waiting for them to make a decision, so usually go on my own.

I did get an email this week from the club addressed to my daughter (she has a normal home membership) asking if she wanted to upgrade to a ticket at Ballarat.

17-05-2023, 12:46 PM
Happy birthday HD.

31 - it's all down hill from there.

17-05-2023, 04:26 PM
Adelaide forward Riley Thilthorpe will miss Saturday's clash against the Western Bulldogs, while veteran Taylor Walker is in some doubt.

Thilthorpe (knee soreness) and Walker (managed) did not train at West Lakes on Wednesday.

Crows coach Matthew Nicks said the club was optimistic Walker would face the Bulldogs.

He said the club and Walker would make a call together on his availability.

"We'll see how he goes a little bit later in the week but at this point we're reasonably confident," Nicks said.

Forward/ruck Elliott Himmelberg will replace Thilthorpe and Lachlan Gollant can come in if Walker does not play.

Thilthorpe has not missed an AFL game since being overlooked in round 1.

Walker has played all nine matches this season.

Defender Nick Murray returns from concussion to replace Tom Doedee after his own head knock.

Link (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-2023-all-the-news-from-the-adelaide-crows-after-round-9/news-story/cd2e7a3fda3fd1a8f8896ac36c0fa22b)

17-05-2023, 04:33 PM
Link (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-2023-all-the-news-from-the-adelaide-crows-after-round-9/news-story/cd2e7a3fda3fd1a8f8896ac36c0fa22b)

This is good news. It might not be a day for tall forwards so Thilthorpe may not be a big loss. Tex would be a massive loss.

17-05-2023, 04:41 PM
No excuses if they both miss. Walker has played some decent games against us and not having Thilthorpe and Walker limits their 2nd ruck options.

17-05-2023, 05:53 PM
FUN FACTS

This will be the Bulldogs? 10th match played at Mars Stadium, with six wins coming from their previous nine matches there
Jack Macrae is the only current player to have featured in all nine of those Ballarat matches, averaging 33.67 disposals
The Dogs have a 54.1% winning rate against the Crows ? the highest of any opponent the Club has faced (minimum 20 matches) in the modern 18-team era
Saturday will mark Alex Keath?s second meeting against his former club, having played 30 games as a Crow between 2017-19 before crossing to the Kennel
The Bulldogs registered their biggest winning margin (49 points), and kicked their biggest score (121 points), at Mars Stadium against the Crows in 2021 and 2019 respectively

19-05-2023, 01:20 AM
BOM Ballarat:
Cloudy. Very high chance of showers, most likely in the morning and afternoon. Light winds becoming northwesterly 15 to 25 km/h in the morning then tending westerly in the middle of the day.
Max 11, possible showers 1-3 mm.
So winds with cold and some wetness.
Skill can still show out.
Judging the wind critical.
Nice and hostile for Crows.
Just containing my optimism, we should coninue building.
Just hope skills are not negated by conditions and simple defensive fight by Crows.

19-05-2023, 02:31 AM
FUN FACTS

This will be the Bulldogs? 10th match played at Mars Stadium, with six wins coming from their previous nine matches there
Jack Macrae is the only current player to have featured in all nine of those Ballarat matches, averaging 33.67 disposals
The Dogs have a 54.1% winning rate against the Crows ? the highest of any opponent the Club has faced (minimum 20 matches) in the modern 18-team era
Saturday will mark Alex Keath?s second meeting against his former club, having played 30 games as a Crow between 2017-19 before crossing to the Kennel
The Bulldogs registered their biggest winning margin (49 points), and kicked their biggest score (121 points), at Mars Stadium against the Crows in 2021 and 2019 respectively

Keath not playing

19-05-2023, 08:45 AM

Old Fella?? I wish I was 31

Stay young HD. Happy Birthday

20-05-2023, 12:54 PM
In spite of the cold, rain and wind, Bulldogs to triumph by 5 points.
FG: Arty
BOG: Libba

20-05-2023, 12:57 PM
Dogs by 14 points.
First goal Weightman
BOG Liberatore

20-05-2023, 01:14 PM
I think Daniel is an important player for us today. If his decision making and skills are switched on he will make other players so much better.

20-05-2023, 01:33 PM
My lazey boy and 4k foxtel is the correct choice.

https://i.postimg.cc/5t2mpXKh/Screenshot-20230520-123016.png (https://postimg.cc/zy4WGGr7)

Why don't they schedule one of these games in early April?

20-05-2023, 01:40 PM
Is there a reason we never play NSW or WA teams in Ballarat?

20-05-2023, 01:55 PM
I haven't checked this but did we play GWS here early on?

20-05-2023, 02:00 PM

Adelaide makes sense in terms of Crows supporters.
Port too, however it's not that far different it's still 6-7 hours. Maybe peeps closer to the border its good.

20-05-2023, 02:01 PM
Dogs: 34points
BOG: Bont
FG: Marra

20-05-2023, 02:02 PM
I haven't checked this but did we play GWS here early on?

No Gold Coast played GWS during a covid year.

We've played Gold Coast, PORT, Lolions, Crows.

20-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Adelaide makes sense in terms of Crows supporters.
Port too, however it's not that far different it's still 6-7 hours. Maybe peeps closer to the border its good.

SA teams I get. Playing them here was part of the initial idea. Just find it strange we play the QLD teams as well but not teams from other states.

20-05-2023, 02:18 PM
SA teams I get. Playing them here was part of the initial idea. Just find it strange we play the QLD teams as well but not teams from other states.

Lions maybe Roys supporters, Suns nfi you'd think Swans be better.

20-05-2023, 03:24 PM
Dogs by 14 points.
First goal Weightman
BOG Liberatore

First goal; missed it by that much.

20-05-2023, 03:36 PM
Our boys look on here.

20-05-2023, 03:44 PM
Our boys look on here.

We treat out supporters well hey look at that horrendous weather!

That end is always 3 or 4 goals better.

Think the stats aren't as skewed as the score.

Great pressure early.

20-05-2023, 03:44 PM
Shame we’re not further up. Have been great.

20-05-2023, 03:47 PM
Great start. I hope Arty is okay.

20-05-2023, 03:49 PM
Happy with the intent, and work around the contest, but would prefer a couple more from the opportunities we generated.

Looks like Lobb has bought into putting body/ tackling pressure on, which is great. Weightman's team oriented play has created a couple of goals.

Didn't need to cough up the one goal we did, Libba just needed to hold it in. Outside of that a good defencive effort across the ground.

20-05-2023, 03:51 PM
+5 contested
-4 clearances

Wouldn't be surprised if close at the half.

Hope the defence sets up well.

20-05-2023, 03:51 PM
Great qtr. Bailey Williams and Smith have been great

20-05-2023, 04:01 PM
Conversion a huge worry. Only thing keeping them in the game but things can change

20-05-2023, 04:01 PM
Hudson is seriously wanting the Crows to come back and make us pay for our goal kicking. He's sweating on it.

20-05-2023, 04:06 PM
Conversion a huge worry. Only thing keeping them in the game but things can change

Yep that is a big concern. Hope Is doesn’t come back to haunt us.

20-05-2023, 04:14 PM
Playing well but not finishing a team off and leaving the door ajar just makes the heart rate lift… as always.

20-05-2023, 04:14 PM
Yep that is a big concern. Hope Is doesn’t come back to haunt us.

Every week it's the same. Aren't we sick of saying this all the time?

20-05-2023, 04:16 PM
Every week it's the same. Aren't we sick of saying this all the time?

I'm certainly sick of seeing it happen. Not going to to give into despair or anything over it. (as I wrote this Williams leads to a goal the other end)

20-05-2023, 04:19 PM
I guess it's just precedent you can trip Naughton if he's too quick for you at ground level?

20-05-2023, 04:19 PM
I'm certainly sick of seeing it happen. Not going to to give into despair or anything over it. (as I wrote this Williams leads to a goal the other end)

Yeah we're doing everything else right so I'm not having a tanty about it, we just should have put it beyond doubt by now

20-05-2023, 04:20 PM
I guess it's just precedent you can trip Naughton if he's too quick for you at ground level?

Infuriating

20-05-2023, 04:20 PM
Libba's having one of his let's piss off Jeemak games where he does silly things.

20-05-2023, 04:21 PM
Hudson is seriously wanting the Crows to come back and make us pay for our goal kicking. He's sweating on it.

It?s driving me bonkers.

20-05-2023, 04:22 PM
Defence is brilliant atm.

Whole ground.

Jones of the Liam variety what an addition.

20-05-2023, 04:23 PM
Libba's having one of his let's piss off Jeemak games where he does silly things.

I fear for you the game both Liberatore and Naughton do silly things.

20-05-2023, 04:23 PM
That was an amazing first half, despite the obvious issue. Fully committed, excellent skill, great structurally.

The goal kicking just continues to haunt us. Will we ever take it seriously? Some of them have been difficult but a lot haven't.

Smith has been immense, LJones phenomenal, but really they've all contributed.

Just want to see us out this game to bed in the third because we should be 8-10 goals up

20-05-2023, 04:24 PM
At the ground. Liam Jones is very good. Bailey smith is playing a game. Need to finish our chances but I suppose everyone knows that

20-05-2023, 04:35 PM
How frustrating are those missed shots?
I don't get why we have Lobb on a wing either.

20-05-2023, 04:40 PM
That was the best first half we have played since 21, just not on the scoreboard. We always seem to give up multiple goals and and allow a run on, if we win the 3rd quarter I reckon we win the game.

Loving the pressure at ground level, our improvement defensively this year is significant.

20-05-2023, 04:53 PM
Caleb Daniel is so clean

20-05-2023, 04:54 PM
Caleb Daniel is so clean

Ridiculously clean Caleb Daniel

20-05-2023, 05:08 PM
We should be 80 points up here.

20-05-2023, 05:11 PM
The Crows have been very good this season. This is an outstanding result so far.

20-05-2023, 05:14 PM
This is a pro performance.

Crows are spuds.

20-05-2023, 05:16 PM
Great performance, but still plenty to work on.

Baker seems to have gone to the same handball school Smith attended.

What has happened to the over the back goal? Finally Bevo, well done!

Outstanding performance. Just a shame about the goal kicking, but the complete dominance v a good side is impressive.

Terrible luck for JJ. He was excellent again today, will be hard to cover. Bont looks pretty sore which is worrying after last year.

Baker has been pretty ordinary and made a number of errors. If we had other options he might have been under more pressure. Hasn't had a good few weeks.

Hasn't had a lot of it but love Arty. His pressure and zip is really exciting.

20-05-2023, 05:20 PM
Need the first one to kill any swagger they might bring. Also, we don’t want them to kick shedloads of junk time goals.

Finish the job.

20-05-2023, 05:20 PM

That back off 5 rubbish last year... I'll never forgive whoever conjured that sh1t!.

Defence wins flags liking this version. L Jones a critical player.

20-05-2023, 05:26 PM
So you CAN'T trip Sloan? It's just Naughton you can do it to?

20-05-2023, 05:32 PM
The way the commentators are talking up Arty I can see backlash coming his way from the typical bogan watcher

20-05-2023, 05:41 PM
Is Timmy ok?

20-05-2023, 05:43 PM
Bont hasn't quite been right today. Might be worth giving him a bit of a rest to finish the match

20-05-2023, 05:44 PM
Is Timmy ok?

Yeah just a poke in the eye in the centre ruck contest.

20-05-2023, 05:44 PM
Two goals for Jacko since when?

20-05-2023, 05:45 PM

Liam Jones.

20-05-2023, 05:47 PM
O'Donnell looks like a real prospect behind the ball. I still don't know whether there's a place for him in the 22 at the moment, but he looks great in the air and seems to be a pretty confident user of the ball.

20-05-2023, 05:50 PM
Pretty clinical performance today. Our backline is a wall at the moment and our boys really support each other.

Still worrying is our inability to put it on the scoreboard, but we're playing strong footy and should celebrate it.

20-05-2023, 05:51 PM
O'Donnell looks like a real prospect behind the ball. I still don't know whether there's a place for him in the 22 at the moment, but he looks great in the air and seems to be a pretty confident user of the ball.

Couldn't agree more. Just seems to have "it".

20-05-2023, 05:52 PM
Pretty clinical performance today. Our backline is a wall at the moment and our boys really support each other.

Still worrying is our inability to put it on the scoreboard, but we're playing strong footy and should celebrate it.

I was worried about Adelaide's ability to score so keeping them to 40 points is a big win to me. 85-40 is a scoreline I'll take against any team

20-05-2023, 05:54 PM
Just clinical today. That’s what great teams do. Just get the job done. No doubt in the result.

5 in a row. 7 from the last 8. Only loss to a team on a tear at their home ground. We are going OK. It’s been a slow build of momentum. 7-3 feels pretty good after starting 0-2.

20-05-2023, 05:55 PM
Best performance for some time.

JJ will be a big loss, hope it isn't a long one.

This is now an impressive stretch of form. 7/8 and the loss was one we should have had vs a top 2 side.

We have really turned the season around.

20-05-2023, 05:55 PM
Just clinical today. That’s what great teams do. Just get the job done. No doubt in the result.

5 in a row. 7 from the last 8. Only loss to a team on a tear at their home ground. We are going OK. It’s been a slow build of momentum. 7-3 feels pretty good after starting 0-2.

A game which we should have won. We are showing good signs and just need to keep improving.

What happened to JJ?

20-05-2023, 05:57 PM
Loved Ugle Hagans work rate today.
Loved how English kept at it against a physical ruckman in O’Brien.
Loved how Liam Jones hates his backline giving up a goal.

20-05-2023, 05:57 PM
A game which we should have won. We are showing good signs and just need to keep improving.

What happened to JJ?

Huge hamstring injury.

20-05-2023, 05:58 PM

Would our back line have been as impressive if their 2 main key forwards were playing? Genuine question as I didn't see the game.

20-05-2023, 05:58 PM
Liam Jones.

Liam is awesome but its more than that.

20-05-2023, 05:59 PM
Huge hamstring injury.

Ah crap. Just as he was in peak form.

20-05-2023, 06:00 PM
Would our back line have been as impressive if their 2 main key forwards were playing? Genuine question as I didn't see the game.

Couldn't say for sure but we've been hard to score against all year so I'd be willing to say that if they did make a difference it wouldn't have been through any failings of our backline.

20-05-2023, 06:01 PM
Couldn't say for sure but we've been hard to score against all year so I'd be willing to say that if they did make a difference it wouldn't have been through any failings of our backline.

Spot on EW.
Prior to this round we had conceded the four least of points against.

20-05-2023, 06:02 PM

Pretty likely they'd have dominated, as the pressure up the field was really good making things a bit easier for them.

May not have had it as easy, but it just seemed our system was complimentary to good defending.

Boots
20-05-2023, 06:04 PM
Thought Smith, English and Libba were exceptional, really liking Baker on the wing and Arty’s game all over the ground. Appreciated having Gardner back too.

We played very well and totally shut Adelaide down. Hard to tell exactly how well because they were just never in it. But it’s a nice workmanlike win and I’ll always take one of those, given this team’s history of wobbly morale.

Some absolute howlers by the umps. There were maybe three free kicks against us missed in the chain leading to Bont’s goal, any Adelaide fan would have a right to be pissed off. Push in the back and Incorrect disposal are becoming as much of a crap shoot as HTB.

Also wasn’t Rankine an absolute shit. I think he was the one I was thinking of when I mentioned Cameron in the pre-match thread. He looked scary at times but his ego and selfishness got in the way. Seems to hydrate only with his own bathwater.

20-05-2023, 06:05 PM
Solid win today. Crows were clearly not at their best today. We could have won by more had we kicked accurately. Our defensive efforts have been a feature in recent weeks.

Baz, Dale, Libba and English were great. Bont might not have been at his absolute best but still influential. Liked Bailey Williams game. Liam Jones was the brick wall in our defence.

A shame with JJ getting injured as he has been huge in our resurgence.

Up to 5th spot now giving ourselves a big chance to go deep this season.

20-05-2023, 06:06 PM
Thought Smith, English and Libba were exceptional, really liking Baker on the wing and Arty’s game all over the ground. Appreciated having Gardner back too.

We played very well and totally shut Adelaide down. Hard to tell exactly how well because they were just never in it. But it’s a nice workmanlike win and I’ll always take one of those, given this team’s history of wobbly morale.

sone absolute howlers by the umps. There were maybe three free kicks against us kissed in the chain leading to Bont’s goal, any Adelaide fan would have a right to be pissed off. Push in the back and Incorrect disposal are becoming as much of a crap shoot as HTB.

also wasn’t Rankine an absolute shit. I think he was the one I was thinking of when I mentioned Cameron in the pre-match thread. He looked scary at times but his ego and selfishness got in the way. Seems to hydrate only with his own bathwater.

Strong Akermanis vibes from Rankine, without the resume to support it.

20-05-2023, 06:44 PM
Here's my take on the game. I have not read one post on this thread.

We completely dominated a side that has shown some good form to date. The only negative was errant kicking although most of the missed ops were snaps or kicks on the run.

There was a lot to like about this performance.

20-05-2023, 06:51 PM
Another game I only got to see bits and pieces of but what I did see was some of the most clinical, professional footy we’ve played since 2016. Good vibes.

20-05-2023, 06:56 PM
Huge hamstring injury.

It may not be as bad as it looked. There was no ice on it when he came onto the ground post-match.

20-05-2023, 07:20 PM
Couldn't agree more. Just seems to have "it".

I hope we can invest games him in
As we need to know if any of the younger players in the vfl have "it" and those on the list for 3-4 years with games we need to move on

20-05-2023, 07:35 PM
It may not be as bad as it looked. There was no ice on it when he came onto the ground post-match.

I saw that. Fingers crossed.

20-05-2023, 07:52 PM
From memory has there ever been a game in Ballarat with accurate kicking from either side because I don’t remember one .

20-05-2023, 08:01 PM
Can forgive inaccuracy in front of goals on a day like today. Wind blowing to the left forward pocket, combined with a wet surface from all the overnight rain, will always make goal kicking difficult.

20-05-2023, 08:02 PM

Bevo said it looks like a bad one.

20-05-2023, 08:12 PM
Oh god it gets cold there! Luckily there was really only one shower because as we discovered, the rain blew in sideways and those sitting in the last bay such as myself got wet. By the end of the last quarter all feeling in hands and feet had been lost.

It was a really strong performance. We’re really gelling especially the defence. At that ground you are close enough to see how they work together and the work rate of Liam Jones and his ability to judge the ball, and when to leave his man, were terrific. I loved Naughton’s speckie too.

I couldn’t really tell who in particular dominated. There was only one tv screen today which is disappointing. That and the early closure of the donut van were the only downers :) I’m really happy with the style we’re playing with the synergy in the forward line the major area we need to improve on.

Did I mention it was cold?

20-05-2023, 08:14 PM
Incredible performance. Our backline and defensive work across the ground has improved out of sight from even 2021. It’s been one of the biggest in-season adjustments I can recall to essentially move away from a strength to a supposed weakness on purpose and have it work so well. Liam Jones is YOUR All Australian full back and I’m kinda regretting getting all those vaccinations now.

If not for collusion between the South Australian Government and the AFL we would have won 8 in a row. We still sharpening our axes or nah.

20-05-2023, 08:21 PM
Also shout out to Taylor Walker for taking indigenous round off to strike another blow in the culture wars probably.

20-05-2023, 08:36 PM
When Baz is playing like that it's not fair on the other kiddies.

20-05-2023, 08:42 PM
Just landed in Dubai to see the result.whoooo

20-05-2023, 08:42 PM
Oh god it gets cold there! Luckily there was really only one shower because as we discovered, the rain blew in sideways and those sitting in the last bay such as myself got wet. By the end of the last quarter all feeling in hands and feet had been lost.

It was a really strong performance. We?re really gelling especially the defence. At that ground you are close enough to see how they work together and the work rate of Liam Jones and his ability to judge the ball, and when to leave his man, were terrific. I loved Naughton?s speckie too.

I couldn?t really tell who in particular dominated. There was only one tv screen today which is disappointing. That and the early closure of the donut van were the only downers :) I?m really happy with the style we?re playing with the synergy in the forward line the major area we need to improve on.

Did I mention it was cold?

Having frozen my butt off prior today I wore 7 layers on top, thermals under pants, explorer socks over heavy stockings. Beanie and headset - mainly to keep my ears warm, not to listen to anything. Oh and a blanket over my legs. Yeah - it was a bit cold today. Had the poncho at the ready but where I sat in newer grandstand stayed dry - phew.

Got a bit dark there too.

I thought Baz, Libba, Dale, L. Jones and Daniel were standouts. English and Williams were pretty good too. Thought Baker wasn?t very good today, but fumbly and some poor decisions but his effort was good and overall he’s been a good pickup. Pity Bedendo is injured as I think we could do with an extra winger (apart from Lobb!!).

Will try the donuts next time.

20-05-2023, 08:44 PM
When Baz is playing like that it's not fair on the other kiddies.

He's so dynamic and strong.

Not sure why EW is so hellbent on trading him, or why Aza is working his juju to get him to Sydney.

20-05-2023, 08:44 PM
Just landed in Dubai to see the result.whoooo

Have a lovely, safe trip BAD.

Woo hoo indeed. If we win next two I think the woo hoo lid will be definitely off…..I often think we play better when there is less expected but I’d like to think we can turn that around.

20-05-2023, 08:46 PM
Also shout out to Taylor Walker for taking indigenous round off to strike another blow in the culture wars probably.

NGL I was thinking before the match it was nice of him/Adelaide to sit him out for this week given all that. There are no coincidences

20-05-2023, 08:46 PM
What a great win. Keeping the Crows to 40 points was superb. 5 wins on the trot playing reasonably well but still with loads of improvement. The next 3 weeks will be tough but if we can get 2 out of 3 we are right in the mix at mid season.

20-05-2023, 08:48 PM
Having frozen my butt off prior today I wore 7 layers on top, thermals under pants, explorer socks over heavy stockings. Beanie and headset - mainly to keep my ears warm, not to listen to anything. Oh and a blanket over my legs. Yeah - it was a bit cold today. Had the ouch I at the ready but where I sat in newer grandstand stayed dry - phew.

Got a bit dark there too.

I thought Baz, Libba, Dale, L. Jones and Daniel were standouts. English and Williams were pretty good too. Thought Baker wasn’t very good today, but dumbly and some poor decisions but his effort was good and overall his been a good pickup. Pity Bedendo is injured as I think we could do with an extra winger (apart from Lobb!!).

The donuts would have been purchased, simply as hand warmers.

I took many of the same precautions as you Josie. In past years I even purchased those hand warmers. Blanket next time.

I’m not sure why we can’t play matches there in the early part of the year. It could be fun and showcase Ballarat in a different way, picnics around the lake etc instead of the grim battle to stave off the elements.

However Dogs were awesome apart from a scrappy last quarter. They were probably dreaming hot showers by then too.

20-05-2023, 08:49 PM
I thought Baz, Libba, Dale, L. Jones and Daniel were standouts. English and Williams were pretty good too. Thought Baker wasn?t very good today, but fumbly and some poor decisions but his effort was good and overall his been a good pickup. Pity Bedendo is injured as I think we could do with an extra winger (apart from Lobb!!).

Yeah, I think we need to accept Baker is 'good' and fills a role but he's not a superstar so in sub-par conditions he's the kind of player that will suffer most. I can live with a 20 posession, 650 meters gained 'poor' game from a guy maybe outside the best 16 though.

And to be clear that's not me disagreeing with you or throwing stats to show you're wrong. I saw exactly what you're talking about and mostly agree TBH

20-05-2023, 08:50 PM

Not sure why EW is so hellbent on trading him, or why Aza is working his juju to get him to Sydney.

Me neither. This version of Baz is literally awesome.

20-05-2023, 08:52 PM
Our players at the lower end of the talent spectrum, like Baker, are like a rising tide. If their performance is solid and their bad games are like the ones he had today then the overall standard of the team still rises.

20-05-2023, 08:53 PM
Having a good night at the Mona Castle Hotel in Seddon for dinner celebrating the Dogs win. Watched the game at home today I find it hard when I watch the Dogs at the pub :D

20-05-2023, 08:55 PM

Don't you just hate it when one of the WOOF alumni target a player to get rid of? :)

20-05-2023, 08:57 PM
Don't you just hate it when one of the WOOF alumni target a player to get rid of? :)

No, just only when they target the wrong ones. :)

20-05-2023, 08:58 PM

One could argue that inspires a player to new heights?

20-05-2023, 09:00 PM

Projection your honour.

20-05-2023, 09:05 PM
I really liked how Bevo said we are going to miss Treloar a lot and I think he was setting Baz a challenge in that statement. Rise to the challenge he has which has been impressive particularly after an interrupted preseason.

When he does go back on the outside at some point he needs to add the heat to his game, I think that and holding on to the ball a little longer while take him to another level.

20-05-2023, 09:07 PM
Have a lovely, safe trip BAD.

Woo hoo indeed. If we win next two I think the woo hoo lid will be definitely off?..I often think we play better when there is less expected but I?d like to think we can turn that around.
Thanks Josie, looks like we missed a lot of shots but 30 scoring is dominant

Critter
20-05-2023, 09:24 PM
Having watched a lot of games at Ballarat, my mind ran to the wind after we'd kicked so many behinds. It's flukey and blows hard here. Easy to get it wrong. The number of behinds made me wonder about how well players used the time during the two warm-up periods before the game to get a handle on the effect of the wind. Or whether they treated it simply as a way to blow out cobwebs. Whatever, the result on the scoreboard was bloody awful. In the end, not winning by the margin warranted by our play will come back to bite us.

21-05-2023, 01:04 AM

Not sure why EW is so hellbent on trading him, or why Aza is working his juju to get him to Sydney. Watched Port and thought if we had 1-2 the age of Rozee and Butters playing like that we would be in business. Great timing by Smith to remind everyone how good he can be.

21-05-2023, 01:52 AM
Forward 50 tackles
WB 16
Adel 2

That's one helluva stat

21-05-2023, 02:00 AM
Looking at the stats our profile is all over the place game to game but we are a bad ten minutes off going 8-0.

21-05-2023, 08:39 AM
I didn’t get to watch much yesterday as the missus is on nights so doing the solo dad thing. Did we have a tag on Dawson?

21-05-2023, 09:10 AM
I didn’t get to watch much yesterday as the missus is on nights so doing the solo dad thing. Did we have a tag on Dawson?

No tag on Dawson.

21-05-2023, 09:12 AM
Forward 50 tackles
WB 16
Adel 2

That's one helluva stat

A really telling one. The squeeze has returned I think.

It’s not Men of Mayhem, manic, relentless pressure on the footy at every contest, but it’s definitely there in the forward line and I think Caleb has started to bring it back in his stints in the middle.

21-05-2023, 09:20 AM
How good was Ryan Gardner yesterday? Not only because he got the first goal but his decision making was spot on.
We took a while to bring him in this year but he's going exceptionally.

21-05-2023, 09:28 AM
How good was Ryan Gardner yesterday? Not only because he got the first goal but his decision making was spot on.

Some big collisions hunting a footy in dispute. He has that real foot soldier mentality and seems to be really comfortable with the role. Some growth in his game yesterday, he went for some marks that he’d typically spoil and clinked 2 really string ones to shut down Adelaide’s kick up the line to try break out of their defence.

21-05-2023, 10:04 AM

Playing next to Jones must be huge for his development as well. No disrespect to Keath, but Gardner's had to play above his weight and experience for a lot of his time with us - plugging Jones in next to him must be a huge boost of confidence.

21-05-2023, 10:13 AM
Forward 50 tackles
WB 16
Adel 2

That's one helluva stat

The workrate in our forward 50 is way up, we're doing much better at trapping it instead of letting them immediately slingshot it out of there. Now we're pressuring them and not allowing clean exits out of the 50 where guys like Richards are then picking the ball off.

21-05-2023, 11:43 AM

No tag, but Smith played off his sh9oulder as a starting point at times like he did Cripps the week prior.

21-05-2023, 12:57 PM
Couldn't Baz and Treloar alternate through the middle?

21-05-2023, 01:17 PM

They could.

For mine both seem to prosper when they spend a high % of game time in the middle.

21-05-2023, 02:09 PM
If Bont needs to be rested or managed they may both get their chances at the same time

21-05-2023, 02:31 PM
Just watch Bevo's brief and I really like the in the rooms stuff much better than him with a mic.

21-05-2023, 03:54 PM
Just watch Bevo's brief and I really like the in the rooms stuff much better than him with a mic.

Yes agree, they have been very good to listen to

21-05-2023, 03:56 PM

How's the psycho kid in the background rocking shorts!

21-05-2023, 04:02 PM
How's the psycho kid in the background rocking shorts!

There was a guy in the crowd yesterday wearing a sleeveless t-shirt and a hoodie tied around his waist primary school style. Which suggests he came to the game with a jumper on, felt like it was too warm and decided to take it off to go essentially shirtless.

Now that’s a psycho.

21-05-2023, 04:05 PM
There was a guy in the crowd yesterday wearing a sleeveless t-shirt and a hoodie tied around his waist primary school style. Which suggests he came to the game with a jumper on, felt like it was too warm and decided to take it off to go essentially shirtless.

Now that’s a psycho.

Yeah but little kids are unlikely to have had goon for breakfast!

21-05-2023, 04:24 PM

Must've had the beer blanket

21-05-2023, 05:03 PM

Tell me you've never been to Ballarat without telling me you've never been to Ballarat.

21-05-2023, 06:11 PM
Tell me you've never been to Ballarat without telling me you've never been to Ballarat.

He whinges about the cold there but is the same guy who stole my tent at Skinner Reserve under the guise that I'd thank him in the long run.
Good luck with that Granty. :)

21-05-2023, 06:30 PM
I thought Windscreens OBrien was a fine player for us in what was a very organised and productive back line. Gardner, Jones, O'Brien being supported by ODonnell worked for us.

Stevo
21-05-2023, 10:29 PM
I thought Windscreens OBrien was a fine player for us in what was a very organised and productive back line. Gardner, Jones, O'Brien being supported by ODonnell worked for us.

It would be remiss of me not to remind you that OBrien is not a key position player :) but he was a decent performer yesterday. He was matched against a few opponents including some smaller players.

21-05-2023, 10:32 PM
To be in this position before the bye and after we were thrashed in the first two games, is outstanding.
Collingwood 10 36 131.3 9 1 0 907 691
W
W
W
W
W
NMFC
2 Brisbane Lions 10 32 129.9 8 2 0 1003 772
W
W
W
W
W
ADEL
3 Port Adelaide 10 32 111.5 8 2 0 911 817
W
W
W
W
W
RICH
4 Melbourne 10 28 138.4 7 3 0 1038 750
W
W
W
W
L
FRE
5 St Kilda 10 28 120.1 7 3 0 811 675
W
L
W
L
W
HAW
6 Western Bulldogs 10 28 108.6 7 3 0 780 718
W
W
W
W
W
GCFC
7 Geelong Cats 10 20 120.6 5 5 0 1017 843
W
W
W
L
L
GWS
8 Adelaide Crows 10 20 107.4

21-05-2023, 10:39 PM
One thing I would like to highlight is we played all four quarters and the opposition never got the 5 or 6 goal run on that had become a huge problem for a long time. Hopefully this now stops and yesterday was a great sign our backline looks like it’s getting it’s act together:

21-05-2023, 10:40 PM
We realistically are going to need 7 more wins to lock in finals. I think essendon and freo will be the threats outside the 8. Lots of rooting this season.

21-05-2023, 10:41 PM
One thing I would like to highlight is we played all four quarters and the opposition never got the 5 or 6 goal run on that had become a huge problem for a long time. Hopefully this now stops and yesterday was a great sign our backline looks like it’s getting it’s act together:

I would say the run ons were the fault of our mids.

21-05-2023, 10:44 PM
I would say the run ons were the fault of our mids.

Bevo said something really important after the Tigers run-on this year, about having to be accountable as a defencive group and actually defending when you're called upon to do so.

It starts in the midfield, but no midfield can be perfect all the time and I think we now have a defencive group/ set-up that can help cope with the times our midfielders lapse.

22-05-2023, 12:15 AM

I didn't get to watch the game, only the kayo mini. Did O Donnell play in defence this week?

22-05-2023, 12:26 AM
I didn't get to watch the game, only the kayo mini. Did O Donnell play in defence this week?

Started like last week, forward within a rotation of the talls - particularly Lobb high, at different positions. Was settled in defence after JJ went off with his hammy.

22-05-2023, 02:19 AM
As an aside, how much do you love Jacko banging goals when everyone else was missing!

He's the quiet story of the year, tackling, moving the footy, now snagging snags. He's a gun.

22-05-2023, 07:08 AM
One thing I would like to highlight is we played all four quarters and the opposition never got the 5 or 6 goal run on that had become a huge problem for a long time. Hopefully this now stops and yesterday was a great sign our backline looks like it?s getting it?s act together:

This was the first game in a long long time where the opposition never actually scored consecutive goals against us.

22-05-2023, 07:19 AM
As an aside, how much do you love Jacko banging goals when everyone else was missing!

He's the quiet story of the year, tackling, moving the footy, now snagging snags. He's a gun.

He is a gun and he is very consistent over his whole career.

22-05-2023, 08:47 AM

He also centred one from the pocket that went on right angles and set up a set shot goal. Mightve been Williams.
His kicking is insane these days.

22-05-2023, 09:02 AM
These are the things that wake me up at night.

When was the last time somebody bounced the ball by touching it on the ground?

I don't think I've seen one for ages.

Gone the way of the flick pass?

22-05-2023, 11:54 AM
This was the first game in a long long time where the opposition never actually scored consecutive goals against us.

Think we've started to get a grip on that since the Hawks game.

In each game from there we've still conceded a run of goals but the impact has been reduced, the intensity of the run on has been tempered and we've either clamped down, or clamped down, then got going again ourselves. Hasn't been exactly as linear as that, but it does feel like the needle is shifting away from catastrophe and towards a more neutral position.

muzzyahoy
22-05-2023, 02:03 PM
Loving the way we are playing right now. Just wish we could apply ourselves to not leaving so much score out there. Really making games harder than they need to be. Should’ve been up by 10-12 goals midway through the third, making the rest of the h game a little easier on the boys bodies. Maybe JJ doesn’t do his hammy if we’re up by 12.
shouldve beat the Blues, by 8, Port by 4, the Giants by 8, Freo by 12. That’s what top 4 sides do.
So, loving their work, but still a lot of work to do. Building nicely

22-05-2023, 07:54 PM
AFLCA votes vs Adelaide

Bailey Smith (WB) – 10 votes
Tom Liberatore (WB) – 6
Bailey Dale (WB) – 6
Liam Jones (WB) – 4
Caleb Daniel (WB) – 2
Tim English (WB) – 2
AFLCA Champion Player of the Year leaderboard

Zak Butters (PORT) – 51 votes
Nick Daicos (COLL) – 51
Marcus Bontempelli (WB) – 43
Christian Petracca (MELB) – 43
Clayton Oliver (MELB) – 40
Lachie Neale (BL) – 39
Jack Sinclair (STK) – 39
Jordan De Goey (COLL) – 37
Darcy Moore (COLL) – 37
Callum Wilkie (STK) – 37

23-05-2023, 01:33 PM

Yep impressive. Liam Jones has been a good influence.

23-05-2023, 01:36 PM
One thing I would like to highlight is we played all four quarters and the opposition never got the 5 or 6 goal run on that had become a huge problem for a long time. Hopefully this now stops and yesterday was a great sign our backline looks like it?s getting it?s act together:

Good backlines win premierships.