View Full Version : WB Game Day V Gold Coast Suns R11 2023 Sat 27/5, 7:25PM - TIO Stadium, Darwin
27-05-2023, 10:14 PM
I gave him a reprieve for his sweet goal against Richmond but I never want to see Hannan again.
Hannan wasn't the reason we lost , but that mark he missed in the last quarter was key to the connection come out of the back half.
REally good to see the GC players embrace the fans, number 40 Joel Jeffrey looks like his a local there.
Could not watch tonight. Someone please explain how you lose a game when inside 50s are 48-65?
We will never get a dream like that with the umpiring again and we lstill ost.
Absolute leg up from the umps in the 4th. What was that 50 for? Still lost, not good enough, didn't deserve it.
27-05-2023, 10:15 PM
Frustrating game.
Rowell was insanely good.
Probably the only one who stood up in that second half and said I'm not losing this for either side.
Naughton's worst game ever maybe.
Suns are a really competitive side.
Need to win those type of games for top 4 maybe, however we've been up for a while.
Bailey Smith was off the boil today, Treloar will be a welcome addition back to the midfield rotations.
Could not watch tonight. Someone please explain how you lose a game when inside 50s are 48-65?
#justbulldogsthings
Naughton's goal video checked in last minuted.
Almost 90% of what Naughton did was horrible. We didn’t deserve it. Rowell and Ballard did what they want. The back of post rule is BS when the line is thinner than the post
Also, doesn’t it suck we need to play in Darwin. We need to play in Hobart. We need to play in Launceston. Do the Pies? Do the Blues? Do the Tigers?
We are already behind the curve ball with supporter numbers and they double down and hit us with a massive stick. I’m sick of it.
27-05-2023, 10:16 PM
Well we went back to letting a team get a run on again . Can usually bank on it happening half way through the second until mid 3rd .
Can’t say we aren’t consistent in that area .
27-05-2023, 10:16 PM
Very disappointing loss. Apart from the first 7 minutes we were fumbly, inept at moving the ball and could not stick a tackle.
Goal kicking? Same old story. Kicking it inside 50? Very poor. Ball handling? They were a lot cleaner.
We may live to rue this lost opportunity.
Almost 90% of what Naughton did was horrible. We didn’t deserve it. Rowell and Ballard did what they want. The back of post rule is BS when the line is thinner than the post
The line between the goals and points is the same width as the padding.
27-05-2023, 10:18 PM
Will be interesting to see how they pull up for next week. Not sure why they wouldn't do this game before the bye round.
27-05-2023, 10:20 PM
And the flag sits in a pocket of the post outside the padding.
And the flag sits in a pocket of the post outside the line .
And still part of the post. Not sure why this is an issue as its always been part of the post. It was a point as the replay proved.
27-05-2023, 10:23 PM
I’m not mad. They played pretty shit but didn’t give up. Suns are cool and not terrible, not like we lost to Hawthorn or anything.
Just win next week and it’s all g.
27-05-2023, 10:23 PM
That hurts. Wasted great games from English, jones, baker, and all down to shit skill errors from us all night. Total failure to prevent Rowell running amok. Just a garbage game.
English great game? He lost hits out by 30! Numerous times they went straight to Rowell
27-05-2023, 10:24 PM
Get the flags out of there this happens too often. I've seen it three times this season.
27-05-2023, 10:25 PM
English great game? He lost hits out by 30! Numerous times they went straight to Rowell
English against good tap ruckman, his not a ruckman.
Jarrod witts has really come on. Its staggering he was delisted by the Pies. Only picked up because Eade was at the pies at that time, I believe.
27-05-2023, 10:25 PM
Then the line is thicker in the goal square than anywhere else on the boundary or points. It’s obviously crossed the line fully anyway. Its BS anyway cos we didn’t deserve it
27-05-2023, 10:26 PM
And still part of the post. Not sure why this is an issue as its always been part of the post. It was a point as the replay proved.
It's a bit of a quirk I guess as it's possible for the flag to be in a different position dependant on how its sitting in the cradle.
However, I've got no problem that it's a point.
It the way she goes boys. The way she goes.
27-05-2023, 10:26 PM
I get they're frustrating, but our worst players weren't the issue tonight. Our most highly paid players didn't do as much their most highly paid players and we lost because of it.
Completely agree but I also think our inability to shut down Lukosius was as big a factor in the loss as anything. He beat O'Brien in a number of contests and did Gardiner cold once as well.
If O'Brien isn't intercepting in the air he really brings nothing to the side and is a defensive liability. I think he's had a solid year, but tonight was a big step backwards
27-05-2023, 10:27 PM
Also, doesn’t it suck we need to play in Darwin. We need to play in Hobart. We need to play in Launceston. Do the Pies? Do the Blues? Do the Tigers?
We are already behind the curve ball with supporter numbers and they double down and hit us with a bit massive stick. I’m sick of it.
its not Carlton's fault they are shit... its the fixture! heyk, they don't get to travel as much as we do , the burden of being a big club.
27-05-2023, 10:28 PM
I’m just saying the flag is not inside the line, personally I think if it hits the flag it’s a goal especially when the flag is actually at the back of the post.
What happens if the goal umpire somehow doesn’t wrap it properly and the wind blows it around ? If it hits the actual flag blowing around it’s not a goal ?
27-05-2023, 10:28 PM
I blame Steven King.
He's too dangerous to be kept alive.
27-05-2023, 10:29 PM
Completely agree but I also think our inability to shut down Lukosius was as big a factor in the loss as anything. He beat O'Brien in a number of contests and did Gardiner cold once as well.
If O'Brien isn't intercepting in the air he really brings nothing to the side and is a defensive liability. I think he's had a solid year, but tonight was a big step backwards
As I saw it too.
I’m just saying the flag is not inside the line, personally I think if it hits the flag it’s a goal especially when the flag is actually at the back of the post.
What happens if the goal umpire somehow doesn’t wrap it properly and the wind blows it around ? If it hits the actual flag blowing around it’s not a goal ?
Yep. That's the way it's always been.
There was a reason the Hawks delisted him, and you pretty much summed up the 2 biggest ones.
1. his frustrating and does not play close enough , and poor body on body with his opponent
2. he can't kick.
It's a bit of a quirk I guess as it's possible for the flag to be in a different position dependant on how its sitting in the cradle.
However, I've got no problem that it's a point.
It the way she goes boys. The way she goes. It was probably the only umpiring decision that went their way tonight so all good.
27-05-2023, 10:30 PM
Poor performance and likely to flow into next week given the conditions.
Think we had a decent chance and enough quality to go on and win it after Flea goaled after the siren. The run on they had, and us not cashing in when we got going killed whatever chance of sneaking out a win in a poor performance existed.
27-05-2023, 10:31 PM
Yep we gotta cop this loss and move on el pronto.
27-05-2023, 10:31 PM
There was a reason the Hawks delisted him, and you pretty much summed up the 2 biggest ones.
1. his frustrating and does not play close enough , and poor body on body with his opponent
2. he can't kick. It is the reason he was let go by Hawks - his disposal and decision making is awful.
27-05-2023, 10:32 PM
It was probably the only umpiring decision that went their way tonight so all good.
What was the 50/ goal to Williams for???
27-05-2023, 10:33 PM
Umpire had money on us.
Crazy decision.
Ask him to move back, then if he doesn't it's 50.
The umpire's desire for a thrilling finish. That decision was ridiculous, would've been ropeable if I were a Suns fan
English against good tap ruckman, his not a ruckman.
Jarrod witts has really come on. It’s staggering he was delisted by the Pies. Only picked up because Eade was at the pies at that time, I believe.
It happen vs Carlton and wouldn’t call Pittonet a good tap ruck. Witts beat him in most stats except marks anyway
27-05-2023, 10:35 PM
I felt we were a runner short all night. I would have brought one in for JOD.
Get the flags out of there this happens too often. I've seen it three times this season.
Outside of nostalgia there really isnt a need for them anymore.
27-05-2023, 10:37 PM
I felt we were a runner short all night. I would have brought one in for JOD.
Who was JOD's match-up? Mostly seemed like it was Jones to King, Gardiner to Casboult and O'Brien to Lukosius. I didn't really spot who JOD was mostly running with.
27-05-2023, 10:37 PM
I reckon Naughtons shot hit the post proper anyway but they should change that flag rule tomorrow.
27-05-2023, 10:38 PM
Suns +17 contested ball.
Probably all Rowell
27-05-2023, 10:40 PM
Suns +17 contested ball.
Probably all Rowell
Good thing we don’t shut down opposition gun mids. That’s really going to work for us soon.
27-05-2023, 10:42 PM
We were fine. Blew some opportunities at goal early but then thankfully took all our chances late - gold coast just consistently took their chances.
I don't think there is a game plan issue or personnel issue - we just needed to convert.
The Tim O'Brien bang it up the middle when nobody is ready for it with 3 minutes to go was so f***ing stupid. It was 30 seconds left, last roll of the dice sort of stuff.
27-05-2023, 10:44 PM
I?m not mad. They played pretty shit but didn?t give up. Suns are cool and not terrible, not like we lost to Hawthorn or anything.
Just win next week and it?s all g.
Good post HD. These games happen. It sucks but occasionally it just doesn?t click. We played crap, fumbled the ball, generally poor delivery but still managed to get within a goal near the end. I know we should of won but hey at least we are not Carlton.
27-05-2023, 10:50 PM
Good post HD. These games happen. It sucks but occasionally it just doesn?t click. We played crap, fumbled the ball, generally poor delivery but still managed to get within a goal near the end. I know we should have won but hey at least we are not Carlton.
I’d be ok with it if we beat Geelong next week. How do we normally go against them?
27-05-2023, 10:55 PM
I don't see why the umpires don't carry the flags. They should have them in their side pockets. It's ridiculous that even if they're part of the post they're part of the post.
27-05-2023, 10:57 PM
I?m just saying the flag is not inside the line, personally I think if it hits the flag it?s a goal especially when the flag is actually at the back of the post.
What happens if the goal umpire somehow doesn?t wrap it properly and the wind blows it around ? If it hits the actual flag blowing around it?s not a goal ?
If it hits the flag it's a point because the flags are part of the post for some silly reason. There's literally no reason why the flags need to be connected to the posts and part of them.
27-05-2023, 10:59 PM
Who was JOD's match-up? Mostly seemed like it was Jones to King, Gardiner to Casboult and O'Brien to Lukosius. I didn't really spot who JOD was mostly running with.
He seemed to just try to unsuccessfully fills gaps all night.
27-05-2023, 11:02 PM
We were fine. Blew some opportunities at goal early but then thankfully took all our chances late - gold coast just consistently took their chances.
I don't think there is a game plan issue or personnel issue - we just needed to convert.
The Tim O'Brien bang it up the middle when nobody is ready for it with 3 minutes to go was so f***ing stupid. It was 30 seconds left, last roll of the dice sort of stuff.
We didn't defend the ground as well as we have in previous weeks. Everything was just a bit loose and given our missed shots we paid the price.
27-05-2023, 11:04 PM
Just got home from the Victoria Hotel in Yarraville looking forward to going to the footy again next week.
Disappointed not to have won but we competed pretty well throughout the night and just didn't make the most of our opportunities. Bont worked hard and Liam Jones was magnificent taking 10 intercept marks. Great game. Marra was very good tonight.
Need to refresh and come out strong against the Cats next Saturday night.
27-05-2023, 11:09 PM
I’d be ok with it if we beat Geelong next week. How do we normally go against them?
Is that rhetorical as I think you know the answer.
27-05-2023, 11:41 PM
Bailey Smith couldn't register a tackle tonight. Not sure why.
Five of their players had one or zero tackles, twelve of our players had one or zero tackles. That's right, more than half of our team had one or zero tackles.
It's actually really hard to not register a tackle or two in a game that's slippery and fought out like tonight's was. Reckon I know what a focus area might be this week.
27-05-2023, 11:46 PM
Gee it’s a savage crowd here sometimes.
We had key players down, yep, but I doubt they did so to personally antagonise Woof posters.
We didn’t make the most of our dominance..and most of the time we WERE dominant though being out scored! . It felt like the kind of night where when we executed desperate smothers the ball sat up for a Suns player. I thought our effort was ok as evidenced by the number of I50s. Our goal kicking is an ongoing frustration for sure. Agree the defence seemed to lack the chemistry and cohesion we’ve seen. Wondered if O’Donnell being down there interrupted that understanding of how to switch position and cover for each other. He hasn’t exactly had time to learn the role.
We have had a very tough set of matches in gruelling conditions. I didn’t see this as “good ole Bulldogs just didn’t turn up against a mediocre team.” It wasn’t attitude but execution. Though there’s something badly wrong with the way our forwards present and play, evident even in our wins!
27-05-2023, 11:51 PM
I thought this game was like our structure regressing to that of the past few seasons.
Total dominance of inside 50s for little scoreboard impact. Hurt on the counter with the opposition having loads of space in their inside 50. Congested forwards 50 where we bomb it in all night. Non existent small forwards. Wayward shots on goal. Lazy passages from our mids. Not sure why it happened but it felt like watching one of our 2022 games.
27-05-2023, 11:55 PM
If it hits the flag it's a point because the flags are part of the post for some silly reason. There's literally no reason why the flags need to be connected to the posts and part of them.
Why the fudge do we even need flags for goal umpires?
28-05-2023, 12:15 AM
Stop it.
28-05-2023, 12:16 AM
Hahaha
So predictable. Loser culture that just invites losing
28-05-2023, 12:22 AM
Gee it’s a savage crowd here sometimes.
We had key players down, yep, but I doubt they did so to personally antagonise Woof posters.
We didn’t make the most of our dominance..and most of the time we WERE dominant though being out scored! . It felt like the kind of night where when we executed desperate smothers the ball sat up for a Suns player. I thought our effort was ok as evidenced by the number of I50s. Our goal kicking is an ongoing frustration for sure. Agree the defence seemed to lack the chemistry and cohesion we’ve seen. Wondered if O’Donnell being down there interrupted that understanding of how to switch position and cover for each other. He hasn’t exactly had time to learn the role.
We have had a very tough set of matches in gruelling conditions. I didn’t see this as “good ole Bulldogs just didn’t turn up against a mediocre team.” It wasn’t attitude but execution. Though there’s something badly wrong with the way our forwards present and play, evident even in our wins!
I think a lot of the frustration results from the last few weeks where when that smother happens and the ball is loose we've literally been all over it. We've defended assertively and stifled the ball in play/ loose ball. Jones was magnificent tonight but he didn't have enough mates and to be honest, Lukosius did get on the end of a couple of lucky ones but it's frustrating he was able to do that.
Also, while the intent at the footy was there, again, we were a bit ordinary without it compared to how we've been the past few weeks. They had 71 to 57 tackles tonight, and to me while that's concerning as a number in itself, it seems a bit off given we crowded the footy and left them on the outside more than we should have.
I do agree with you, however, we've had a really tough run of games and a lot of travel. We were ripe for the picking but a bit more organisation and concentration at the task at hand may have netted us another result and a spot in the top four, and we should be really upset/ annoyed about not achieving that.
28-05-2023, 12:28 AM
Hahaha
So predictable. Loser culture that just invites losing
Hope this one made you feel better my man
28-05-2023, 12:47 AM
It's the game day thread!!!
Trust us to choke a ****in top 4 finish
28-05-2023, 12:55 AM
I think a lot of the frustration results from the last few weeks where when that smother happens and the ball is loose we've literally been all over it. We've defended assertively and stifled the ball in play/ loose ball. Jones was magnificent tonight but he didn't have enough mates and to be honest, Lukosius did get on the end of a couple of lucky ones but it's frustrating he was able to do that.
Also, while the intent at the footy was there, again, we were a bit ordinary without it compared to how we've been the past few weeks. They had 71 to 57 tackles tonight, and to me while that's concerning as a number in itself, it seems a bit off given we crowded the footy and left them on the outside more than we should have.
I do agree with you, however, we've had a really tough run of games and a lot of travel. We were ripe for the picking but a bit more organisation and concentration at the task at hand may have netted us another result and a spot in the top four, and we should be really upset/ annoyed about not achieving that.
Oh, I’m annoyed!
But even with all of the above, we were a Tim Obrien brain fade, or a few stray fibres on a flag, away from winning.
28-05-2023, 02:44 AM
Are you sure about that?
28-05-2023, 05:51 AM
Thanks.
It was nice to release.it did feel predictable. I had to watch it on delay and also ended up skipping through it swiftly.
I’m very disappointed.
By next Thursday you know there’s no way in my mind we lose.
28-05-2023, 05:56 AM
Tried to follow the game on AFL app and it was difficult while moving around Paris.
All I can say is a lost opportunity with so many missed goals and stuffing up 2nd quarter.
28-05-2023, 07:52 AM
Is it easier to process a loss if you're in Paris?
28-05-2023, 08:09 AM
Tried to follow the game on AFL app and it was difficult while moving around Paris.
All I can say is a lost opportunity with so many missed goals and stuffing up 2nd quarter.
Enjoy mate sounds like you'll be able to move on pretty quickly.
28-05-2023, 08:49 AM
Oh, I’m annoyed!
But even with all of the above, we were a Tim Obrien brain fade, or a few stray fibres on a flag, away from winning.
My personal frustration is about what that loss means in the context of our season rather than because of the performance on the night.
We've dropped plenty of these winnable games in recent seasons and have come to regret it down the line. I hope this isn't the loss that consigns us to fifth on percentage or means we miss the 8 altogether.
We smacked them in most key indicators and had huge amounts of momentum but our inability to put that on the scoreboard compounded the feeling that this is one that got away.
28-05-2023, 09:03 AM
WE didn't handle the conditions as well as the Suns who have been playing good footy this year and I think if you under estimate them they will get you.
I think they would have given us a run for our money in Ballarat also don't forget their summer training would also be in very humid conditions so they may have also had an edge.
It very hard these days to keep rolling on and keep winning as we have seen in the round so far my tips are down the toilet.
Lets see how we back it up next round.
28-05-2023, 09:18 AM
WE didn't handle the conditions as well as the Suns who have been playing good footy this year and I think if you under estimate them they will get you.
I think they would have given us a run for our money in Ballarat also don't forget their summer training would also be in very humid conditions so they may have also had an edge.
It very hard these days to keep rolling on and keep winning as we have seen in the round so far my tips are down the toilet.
Lets see how we back it up next round.
I think they were better at the source and got cleaner forward entries. Our mids weren’t able to find space like theirs. Bont seems to be less dynamic than few weeks ago, unfortunately all the grunt work may have left him hobbled even though he was still a decent contributor. The guy with spread (smith) was well down I wonder if he was I’d identified as a guy to stop.
Rowell killed us in that second half one of the great mid performances I’ve seen. Keep eating grass son.
Lukosius was so clean in the conditions he is a fantastic player.
Those two were the stand outs and ultimate difference.
Maybe we should rest Bont for the North game before the bye so he gets a decent break.
28-05-2023, 09:52 AM
Just watched the highlights. Seriously. How many soft goals did we give up?
Stoppage goals where we let them exit the front without pressure. Losing 1 on 1s we should have at a minimum halved. Easy balls over the back into space. Fumbles in our D50. Missing targets coming out of D50. TOB kicking up the guts with nearly three minutes left on the clock. Goals we have not given up in the last few weeks.
We had 18 more inside 50s. Four more shots on goal. 43 more possessions. 25 more marks. We won three quarters of football. Doesn't look like a profile to lose game. But when you concede so many soft goals you are always going to be in trouble. Interesting to hear Bevo mention in the presser that our defence did not hold up as well as in previous weeks.
28-05-2023, 10:02 AM
Stop it.
This is the hill I choose to die on.
28-05-2023, 10:03 AM
If loosing last night means we are 1% more likely to beat Geelong, I'm all for it. It's time we beat those bloody cats and get back on the horse quickly, the next two games will define our season.
Boots
28-05-2023, 10:09 AM
Stoppage goals where we let them exit the front without pressure. Losing 1 on 1s we should have at a minimum halved. Easy balls over the back into space. Fumbles in our D50. Missing targets coming out of D50. TOB kicking up the guts with nearly three minutes left on the clock. Goals we have not given up in the last few weeks.
We had 18 more inside 50s. Four more shots on goal. 43 more possessions. 25 more marks. You win three quarters of football. Doesn't look like a profile to lose game. But when you concede so many soft goals you are always going to be in trouble.
This post perfectly encapsulates my frustrations last night. The sloppy execution wasn’t as annoying as the failure to hold them accountable, and it really counted in the second quarter, which we lost badly. I had hoped the 3q games were behind us.
28-05-2023, 10:09 AM
If loosing last night means we are 1% more likely to beat Geelong, I'm all for it. It's time we beat those bloody cats and get back on the horse quickly, the next two games will define our season.
Itd be nice but I just don't see it. We can never beat them at the best of times, but now add in 3 losses in a row for them and we are coming back from Darwin. At least it's at Marvel but I've got a bad feeling about this game. I think it might get ugly.
However if we do win, I think it'd be quite a monumental victory for us.
28-05-2023, 10:16 AM
Bulldogs had nine scoring shots to three in the last quarter. Bulldogs win the quarter by 10 points.
Suns have six scoring shots to two in the second quarter. Suns win the quarter by 24 points.
Boots
28-05-2023, 10:20 AM
Itd be nice but I just don't see it. We can never beat them at the best of times, but now add in 3 losses in a row for them and we are coming back from Darwin. At least it's at Marvel but I've got a bad feeling about this game. I think it might get ugly.
However if we do win, I think it'd be quite a monumental victory for us.
one thing that gives me hope is that in this loss, we didn’t give up. We came back hard in the fourth quarter and it was only their younger players’ energy that saved them. In the past we’ve dropped off in q4 against Geelong and that’s one thing that does seem to be dropping out of our games.
28-05-2023, 11:29 AM
It's the game day thread!!!
So what?
D Mitchell
28-05-2023, 12:04 PM
We had 18 more inside 50s. Four more shots on goal. 43 more possessions. 25 more marks. We won three quarters of football. Doesn't look like a profile to lose game. But when you concede so many soft goals you are always going to be in trouble. Interesting to hear Bevo mention in the presser that our defence did not hold up as well as in previous weeks.
Similarly relying upon the highlights. Too hard on O'Brien's kick down the middle, the game had to be won and the target was Bont, who spilled the mark. It looked like Suns were able to get out of our forward 50s easily, particularly given the imbalance in forward 50 entries. Someone mentioned selfishness among our forwards, they all want to fly for marks or lead but still underperform defensively.
D Mitchell
28-05-2023, 12:09 PM
Getting the ball inside forward 50 is one thing, scoring and keeping it in is another. Our forwards don't work hard enough defensively.
28-05-2023, 12:15 PM
I don't subscribe to the theory of 'well Gold coast are actually OK'.
We're all in this year. It's Premiership or bust. It's top 4 or another failure. Under no circumstances do I accept a loss to a club who has won about 20 games in their entire history.
28-05-2023, 12:23 PM
Are we all on board the Naughton back train now?
I would've made the move at half time.
He was sooooo bad.
Although he mightve got in Jones' way ;)
Marra is a natural forward he gets in good spots.
Chef - it's time.
28-05-2023, 12:54 PM
Are you actually serious?
The 2 goal umpires are about 160 metres apart - how else are these supposed to communicate with each other when there is a score? It is the 2 goal umpires who are solely responsible for recording the correct score in an Australian Rules football game - not the scoreboard, not the ARC, not the timekeepers, not the field umpires.
The issue with the flags is that at grounds the padding around the goal post is not correctly fitted - when it is the flags sit flush with the back of the padding so the ball cannot hit the flags without first hitting the post. It appears that the goal posts in Darwin were the problem.
28-05-2023, 12:57 PM
The 2 goal umpires are about 160 metres apart - how else are these supposed to communicate with each other when there is a score? It is the 2 goal umpires who are solely responsible for recording the correct score in an Australian Rules football game - not the scoreboard, not the ARC, not the timekeepers, not the field umpires.
The issue with the flags is that at grounds the padding around the goal post is not correctly fitted - when it is the flags sit flush with the back of the padding so the ball cannot hit the flags without first hitting the post. It appears that the goal posts in Darwin were the problem.
Ok....
I guess they could have a score keeper next to the time keeper.
28-05-2023, 01:38 PM
Enjoy your trip BAD, As others have said, being in Paris will soon offset any lingering thoughts about the result.
D Mitchell
28-05-2023, 01:45 PM
The 2 goal umpires are about 160 metres apart - how else are these supposed to communicate with each other when there is a score? It is the 2 goal umpires who are solely responsible for recording the correct score in an Australian Rules football game - not the scoreboard, not the .......
...and it's time to bring back the collar & tie, white dust coat and hat.
https://www.facebook.com/vflafl20thcenturyphotosvideosmemories/videos/tribute-to-vfl-goal-umpire-steve-stevens-oam-courtesy-of-afl-umpires-association/613345676691081/
28-05-2023, 02:17 PM
Similarly relying upon the highlights. Too hard on O'Brien's kick down the middle, the game had to be won and the target was Bont, who spilled the mark. It looked like Suns were able to get out of our forward 50s easily, particularly given the imbalance in forward 50 entries. Someone mentioned selfishness among our forwards, they all want to fly for marks or lead but still underperform defensively.
I agree with you about O?Brien. The forward line spent 30 minutes in the first half destroying our chances of winning. Then at the end we find a scapegoat and they all walk free. The backline has done very well lately and if the forwards were half as good we would be top of the ladder.
28-05-2023, 03:00 PM
Great post @DMitchell
2nd quarter , 22 fwd entries for 2 behinds
TOB kick to the centre was Long , no one flies for the mark, gcs player crumbs , bont misses a tackle , ball then comes back and gives Humphrey a goal
28-05-2023, 03:19 PM
So what?
It means unleash/ go for it!
28-05-2023, 03:22 PM
So what?
28-05-2023, 04:29 PM
Easy solution, put the flags on the behinds side of the goal post. It is a disgrace that this is even a talking point. Another AFL stuff up.
28-05-2023, 04:32 PM
Enjoy your trip BAD, As others have said, being in Paris will soon offset any lingering thoughts about the result.
Thanks YHF, it still hurts from the other side of the world.
28-05-2023, 05:21 PM
Great post @DMitchell
2nd quarter , 22 fwd entries for 2 behinds
TOB kick to the centre was Long , no one flies for the mark, gcs player crumbs , bont misses a tackle , ball then comes back and gives Humphrey a goal
That Humphrey kid goes alright.... He complements Rowell and Anderson very nicely.
28-05-2023, 06:14 PM
That Humphrey kid goes alright.... He complements Rowell and Anderson very nicely.
Looks really good.
28-05-2023, 06:16 PM
Easy solution, put the flags on the behinds side of the goal post.
That's actually not a terrible idea.
28-05-2023, 07:32 PM
That's actually not a terrible idea.
Don't tell BAD that FFS. He'll be bobble heading his way around Paris more arrogantly than any french person ever did.
28-05-2023, 07:38 PM
Don't tell BAD that FFS. He'll be bobble heading his way around Paris more arrogantly than any french person ever did.
If you haven't been abused by a Parisian you haven't lived.
D Mitchell
28-05-2023, 08:56 PM
If you haven't been abused by a Parisian you haven't lived.
Notre homme dans Paris
28-05-2023, 09:01 PM
Notre homme dans Paris
Ha - let's cross live to our man in Paris.
Bad to random Parisian : what's your response to the ongoing saga dubbed flag gate?
28-05-2023, 09:08 PM
Ha - let's cross live to our man in Paris.
Bad to random Parisian : what's your response to the ongoing saga dubbed flag gate?
"What are your views on overweight undersized key position defenders?"
28-05-2023, 09:50 PM
"What are your views on overweight undersized key position defenders?"
Probably lucky BAD doesn't seem to be into the NBA. Jokic would cause him conniptions.
D Mitchell
28-05-2023, 10:01 PM
Probably lucky BAD doesn't seem to be into the NBA. Jokic would cause him conniptions.
Que ? Jokic ? conniptitons ? In English ? I think you and jazzadogs are pulling our legs all the way down Bourke Street.
28-05-2023, 10:44 PM
Que ? Jokic ? conniptitons ? In English ? I think you and jazzadogs are pulling our legs all the way down Bourke Street.
Jokic is a big fat guy in the NBA that has no business playing elite sport and yet is unstoppable. BAD wouldn't know how to process it.
D Mitchell
28-05-2023, 10:52 PM
Jokic is a big fat guy in the NBA that has no business playing elite sport and yet is unstoppable. BAD wouldn't know how to process it.
Me neither. Fat blokes can find a space, that's what cricket's Colin Cowdry, Boonie, Beefy and Merv demonstrate.
29-05-2023, 12:36 AM
Too late :D
29-05-2023, 12:52 AM
Too late :D
Hope you're enjoying the trip mate!
29-05-2023, 01:04 AM
Hope you're enjoying the trip mate!
Thanks Jee, really needed a holiday.
29-05-2023, 01:16 AM
I noticed a few were not happy with Bont.
Some Stats
Bont vs Suns:
27 touches
team high 14 contested
game high 11 tackles
equal game high 4 tackles I50
team high 27 pressure acts
team high 9 clearances
equal game high 5 centre clearances
game high 8 inside 50’s
game high 707 metres gained
team high 7 score involvements
29-05-2023, 08:55 AM
56 percent dis effiency and 10 turnovers.
My view was he was very good, however his delivery to the lead up player was poor.
Macrae was at 85 percent efficiency and 5 turnovers for comparison.
Libba 77 percent and 4.
Think with Bont, he's carrying something probably knee from Crows game and various other niggles.
The inside role will affect his damage in other areas.
As I said in another thread watching Dunkley's inside work v the Crows made me realise as the season slogs on we will a.) miss him more and more and b.) hobble our Rolls Royce who is filling the void.
29-05-2023, 09:42 AM
56 percent dis effiency and 10 turnovers.
My view was he was very good, however his delivery to the lead up player was poor.
Macrae was at 85 percent efficiency and 5 turnovers for comparison.
Libba 77 percent and 4.
Think with Bont, he's carrying something probably knee from Crows game and various other niggles.
The inside role will affect his damage in other areas.
As I said in another thread watching Dunkley's inside work v the Crows made me realise as the season slogs on we will a.) miss him more and more and b.) hobble our Rolls Royce who is filling the void.
Thinking the same thing.
29-05-2023, 09:59 AM
Thinking the same thing.
He definitely took a knock v Crows and I noticed he was more inclined to handball than kick the footy in recent weeks. Suspect that is as much about comfort as it is tactics.
29-05-2023, 10:14 AM
Well the media are full of it . Last week they were praising our back line and how it was so good recently, this week apparently our backline with the exception of Jones is terrible and needs Naughton down there. It’s comical how they do a complete turn around each game.
29-05-2023, 11:54 AM
Are we all on board the Naughton back train now?
I would've made the move at half time.
He was sooooo bad.
Although he mightve got in Jones' way ;)
Marra is a natural forward he gets in good spots.
Chef - it's time.
Needs a hair cut and to refocus.
29-05-2023, 02:47 PM
Well the media are full of it . Last week they were praising our back line and how it was so good recently, this week apparently our backline with the exception of Jones is terrible and needs Naughton down there. It’s comical how they do a complete turn around each game.
More focus was on space given to the GC player from TOB and Gardner. It's been good up until Saturday and the old saying has always been You're only as good as your last game.
29-05-2023, 02:52 PM
It?s becoming really annoying how much NBA style analysis is creeping into footy coverage. It can?t just be that Ballard played an outstanding game and defended Naughton perfectly, it has to be about who sucks.
I get that it?s because it?s (much) easier to anger an audience by pointing out errors rather than informing them by pointing out successes, but it gets pretty frustrating to hear end on end how no one is actually good.
29-05-2023, 03:04 PM
It?s becoming really annoying how much NBA style analysis is creeping into footy coverage. It can?t just be that Ballard played an outstanding game and defended Naughton perfectly, it has to be about who sucks.
I get that it?s because it?s (much) easier to anger an audience by pointing out errors rather than informing them by pointing out successes, but it gets pretty frustrating to hear end on end how no one is actually good.
It’s not just nba and it’s nothing new. We as fans expected more from Naughton and the criticism is valid.
29-05-2023, 05:21 PM
Aflca votes
Gold Coast v Western Bulldogs
10 Matt Rowell (GCFC)
6 Jarrod Witts (GCFC)
4 Liam Jones (WB)
3 Charlie Ballard (GCFC)
3 Jack Lukosius (GCFC)
3 Noah Anderson (GCFC)
1 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
LEADERBOARD
59 Zak Butters PORT
56 Nick Daicos COLL
51 Christian Petracca MELB
47 Jordan De Goey COLL
44 Marcus Bontempelli WB
43 Zach Merrett ESS
41 Lachie Neale BL
41 Matt Rowell GCFC
40 Jordan Dawson ADEL
40 Clayton Oliver MELB
39 Jack Sinclair STK
38 Toby Greene GWS
38 Tim Taranto RICH
37 Darcy Moore COLL
37 Callum Wilkie STK
35 Noah Anderson GCFC
35 Connor Rozee PORT
35 Chad Warner SYD
34 Jeremy Cameron GEEL
33 Caleb Serong FRE
29-05-2023, 05:22 PM
Macrae getting no love this year from coaches.
29-05-2023, 05:27 PM
Nor Daniel who I thought was very good.
25/30 votes to the GC in a 1 goal game?
Sounds like a game one coach expected to lose (Dew) against a side who expected to win (Bevo).
#whystupidindividualawardsdontmatter
30-05-2023, 03:29 PM
Macrae not getting a vote is criminal
30-05-2023, 11:21 PM
Bont has been down the last month must be carrying again.