View Full Version : WB Game Day V Richmond R21 2023 Fri 4/8, 7:50pm - Marvel Stadium

25-12-2022, 09:13 PM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

02-08-2023, 09:07 PM
Margin: Bulldogs by 17 points

First goal: Aaron Naughton

Best on ground: Marcus Bontempelli

02-08-2023, 10:29 PM
Bartel and Lloyd on Footy Classified both pick Dogs. Barret picks Richmond.
Bartel analysed with footage how we regularly put no pressure on the kicker into GWS forward line.. He twice said he felt sorry for Duryea and our backline because of lack of pressure on kicker into their forward line.
He opined that it was an over reliance on team defence and individuals not chasing down, just jogging into position.
Methinks he is right.

Dogs by 23 pts
FG Weightman.
BOG Libba

02-08-2023, 10:53 PM
Bartel analysed with footage how we regularly put no pressure on the kicker into GWS forward line.. He twice said he felt sorry for Duryea and our backline because of lack of pressure on kicker into their forward line.
He opined that it was an over reliance on team defence and individuals not chasing down, just jogging into position.
Methinks he is right.

Dogs by 23 pts
FG Weightman.
BOG Libba

Oh that is so accurate. See it all the time. You'll often see 4 or 5 players in the same space with opposition players floating free everywhere.

02-08-2023, 11:44 PM
Dogs by 25
First Goal Weightman
BOG: Smith

03-08-2023, 08:43 AM
Methinks he is right.

Dogs by 23 pts
FG Weightman.
BOG Libba

Can I restart my campaign to get Bartel to our club in football manager role?

03-08-2023, 10:46 AM
Can I restart my campaign to get Bartel to our club in football manager role?

You could but isn't he aiming for a role at AFL HQ?

03-08-2023, 11:45 AM
You could but isn't he aiming for a role at AFL HQ?

Club land is where all the fun is. I'm sure if we asked him he'd consider it.

03-08-2023, 02:51 PM
Andrew McQualter has confirmed in his press conference this morning that Trent Cotchin will be rested tomorrow night.

"He was just a bit sore and the five-day break just proved a little bit tough... He’ll be right for next week."

03-08-2023, 03:38 PM
Andrew McQualter has confirmed in his press conference this morning that Trent Cotchin will be rested tomorrow night.

"He was just a bit sore and the five-day break just proved a little bit tough... He’ll be right for next week."

Drats. He's cooked.

03-08-2023, 08:10 PM
Dusty out - yay. Need to quell Shai Bolton who loves playing us.

Dogs by 21
FG Naughts
BOG B Smith

03-08-2023, 08:11 PM
Dogs by 46
Bog Naughton
First goal Naughton

03-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Huge game for English and Lobb. A massive challenge.

Richmond are playing both Nankervis and Soldo who will aim to physically work over our ruck division.

03-08-2023, 09:56 PM
Huge game for English and Lobb. A massive challenge.

Richmond are playing both Nankervis and Soldo who will aim to physically work over our ruck division.

Pretty sure Lobb plays CHB now mate.

I wonder if we thought about Sweet in (or are now the sides are named). Not a bad week for him to play….

03-08-2023, 10:00 PM
Rich by 9 points

Bog Bolton

1st goal for us…Scott

03-08-2023, 10:01 PM
Dusty out - yay. Need to quell Shia Bolton who loves playing us.

Dogs by 21
FG Naughts
BOG B Smith

Well we won’t tag Bolton. That’s a given.

03-08-2023, 10:39 PM
Dogs by 18 points
1st goal Dale
BOG Libba

D Mitchell
03-08-2023, 11:57 PM
He opined that it was an over reliance on team defence and that individuals not chasing down, just jogging into position.
Methinks he is right.

Dogs by 23 pts
FG Weightman.
BOG Libba

He?s spot on, even in 2021 but 2022 and this year. Did he name names ?

D Mitchell
04-08-2023, 12:14 AM
Dogs by 46
Bog Naughton
First goal Naughton
That?s 6 goals 10. More likely to be final score than winning margin.

04-08-2023, 06:33 AM
Pretty sure Lobb plays CHB now mate.

I wonder if we thought about Sweet in (or are now the sides are named). Not a bad week for him to play?.

Unlikely, but Sweets physicality would?ve been handy against the tigers ruck division.

04-08-2023, 02:13 PM
Richmond by 9 points

BOG: Bont
1st goal: Someone from rRichmond in the first 90 seconds.

04-08-2023, 02:44 PM
Tigers by 4 points. Late comeback.
1st goal - Cody
BOG - Libba

Richmond are absolutely good enough to beat us tonight and they will be primed to take our spot in the 8.

If my prediction comes true tonight it will be an unmitigated disaster.

04-08-2023, 07:19 PM
That?s 6 goals 10. More likely to be final score than winning margin.

Gee I hope you’re wrong…

I don’t have much swagger of confidence tonight. Hope the boys do.

04-08-2023, 07:20 PM
I'm going to my first game for the year, tonight.

Not feeling great about it!

04-08-2023, 07:20 PM
Dogs by 40 points
First Goal: Weightman
BOG: Daniel

04-08-2023, 07:21 PM

If we win by 10 goals. You have to attend every week

04-08-2023, 07:21 PM

Say it ain't so Jee.

04-08-2023, 07:22 PM
If we win by 10 goals. You have to attend every week

I agree, this also includes the Tassie game against the Hawks too

04-08-2023, 07:41 PM
Won't even get to see them play on TV tonight, however:

Dogs by 5 Points
BOG: Macrae
FG: West

If we win I guess it will be a late night, watching the taped replay.

04-08-2023, 07:45 PM
Dogs by 48
BOG Bont
FG Marra

WOG : Balta (hack)

04-08-2023, 07:52 PM
I’m reasonably confident tonight.. Richmond are just going and don’t play well at Marvel.

Go dogs!

04-08-2023, 07:56 PM
Won't even get to see them play on TV tonight, however:

Dogs by 5 Points
BOG: Macrae
FG: West

If we win I guess it will be a late night, watching the taped replay.

Hope you have an enjoyable and long night. We are showing our age saying watching the tape, I say it too!!

04-08-2023, 07:59 PM

we will be right

04-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Didn’t even look at subs- surprised it’s Arty

04-08-2023, 08:02 PM
Grimes is a late out.

04-08-2023, 08:21 PM
Richmond have pretend men on the mark out for their warmup. We don?t. Interesting.

04-08-2023, 08:39 PM
Feeling confident. Marvel stadium is not the ideal place for the Tigers and Martin out is a huge bonus. We should run out winners by 25 points.

04-08-2023, 08:41 PM
Richmond have pretend men on the mark out for their warmup. We don?t. Interesting.

Are you allowed to say that? ;)

04-08-2023, 08:47 PM
Vandermeer warming up with the defenders this week.

04-08-2023, 08:48 PM
Didn’t even look at subs- surprised it’s Arty

I’m actually glad it’s Arty. I dream of a FireWire line of Naughts, JUH, Lobb, Weightman, Arty and a resting Bont

04-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Vdm…

04-08-2023, 08:52 PM
Vdm…

Let's get it out of the way early.

04-08-2023, 08:53 PM
Caleb Daniel is ridiculously good in one on one contests.

04-08-2023, 08:56 PM
Those beautiful, beautiful hands at ground level. Never seen another player like it.

04-08-2023, 08:56 PM
I mean, Bontempelli is not actually real, is he?

04-08-2023, 08:59 PM
Nice Rory.

Naughton to Lobb to Marra.

Three headed monster chain.

04-08-2023, 09:00 PM
I like how unselfish Lobb was there. He needs goals but wasn't afraid to take it from 99% to 100% chance there

04-08-2023, 09:00 PM
McNeil was playing ahead of West most of the year!

04-08-2023, 09:01 PM
Wowee. What a start. Quick, aggressive forward entries. Love it!

Boots
04-08-2023, 09:04 PM
When we forget to turn up for the fourth after another fast start I want to remind myself that only a few years ago we used to forget to turn up in the first. That’s an improvement.

cynicism aside, loving this so far.

04-08-2023, 09:08 PM
Big boys doing it. West so good.

04-08-2023, 09:08 PM
West has some real quality about him in close. He's a real spark for this team.

Boots
04-08-2023, 09:10 PM
We are a different side with jones back in.

04-08-2023, 09:11 PM
Not getting ahead of myself.

Still very much game on based on recent performances. 6 goals isn’t enough.

04-08-2023, 09:14 PM
Nice I50 tackle by Lobb to set up Cody.

04-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Loved that one, out of position in the marking contest but made sure the ball wasn't marked and able to get Weightman open with a nice finish

04-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Liam Jones is so good

I can still barely believe I'm saying that. .

04-08-2023, 09:24 PM
Best opening term since 2011!

And now WE get the goal just before the end of the quarter

I think Kane Cornes was right.

Marra is in his prime :)

9 goals!!!!

Even the most optimistic supporter out there wouldn't have seen this coming. Incredible!!

04-08-2023, 09:25 PM
It’s the jumpers

04-08-2023, 09:26 PM
It’s the jumpers

Yep, keep them for the rest of the season

I think the term they use is: " CHAMPAGNE FOOTBALL!"

That was beautiful to watch. That is exactly how we should be playing. Well done to the coaching team for changing our tactics. That was awesome

04-08-2023, 09:27 PM
It’s the jumpers

�� has to be ;)

04-08-2023, 09:28 PM
That was beautiful to watch. That is exactly how we should be playing. Well done to the coaching team for changing our tactics. That was awesome
Moving the ball quickly out of defence

What tactics have they changed?

And we got the last goal! I was dirty when Riewoldt got that cheapie. Glad we got it back

04-08-2023, 09:29 PM

Fast ball movement. Playing on at all costs. Not stopping and short kicking. Completely different

04-08-2023, 09:30 PM
Played witches hats but Richards, JJ and Dale off half back is so much better for our forward line.

04-08-2023, 09:37 PM
wtf Daniel?

Wtf was that ?
Here we go again stop dead.

Oh no. Not a turnover like that.

04-08-2023, 09:42 PM
They are falling over like 9 pins and still coming back.
We are Jeckyll and Hyde .

04-08-2023, 09:45 PM
JOD playing well.

04-08-2023, 09:46 PM
JOD playing well.

Getting a chance to show his mobility off

04-08-2023, 09:47 PM
Losing all the clearances all of a sudden.
I can’t believe a team can go backwards so quick.
4 or 5 of them running in packs where have our players disappeared to ?

04-08-2023, 09:49 PM
Losing all the clearances all of a sudden.
I can’t believe a team can go backwards so quick.
4 or 5 of them running in packs where have our players disappeared to ?

Tigers are playing better to be fair.

Pressure causes errors.

04-08-2023, 09:49 PM
Happy Lobb got that one. He's done well so far tonight.

04-08-2023, 09:53 PM
Rhylee stole that!! :D

04-08-2023, 09:53 PM
Rhylee stole that!! :D

But most importantly he kicked it.

Evened back up for the quarter too

04-08-2023, 09:55 PM
Happy Lobb got that one. He's done well so far tonight.

Credit to the mc for dropping him. Given him the rev he needed.

04-08-2023, 09:55 PM
Naughton has been sloppy tonight

04-08-2023, 10:03 PM
Good quarter. Tigers increased intensity as expected. We were able to hold them off and even the score. Good job

Boots
04-08-2023, 10:04 PM
I’m really not liking how many of them are at every contest, and how often we seemed to fail to commit that quarter. And what happened to our clearances?

Still a good lead, and we didn’t concede a run on, but some weird turnovers and fumbles.

04-08-2023, 10:05 PM
Well that is usually our dead qtr and it still was, difference is we didn’t let them get a run on in goals . So many of their goals were turnovers we gave them when we were running forward.

04-08-2023, 10:07 PM
Gee it’s good to have Ed and Liam back. Eases pressure on Dale. Agree JoD looks good tonight. That punch early in Q2 near boundary when had to make up a bit of distance and not chop the arms-well done lad. Think we’ve found a good player.

How ****ing good is Liam Jones.

JOD playing well.

His efforts tonight, his athleticism, reflexes, and marking make me see why the match committee have been resolute in the face of quite a bit of fan and media scrutiny around his selection. And from his previous performances it's been hard not to be at least puzzled by his repeat selection at this stage of his development.

But wow, I can totally see what they see him capable of, now, much less in the future based on what he's shown in a half of footy. If he keeps this level up for the game, it will really be some kind of boost to his self-belief.

04-08-2023, 10:08 PM
Weightman and Scott need to get in to the game. We are getting done in Stoppages but winning contested ball .

Adz is everywhere

04-08-2023, 10:10 PM
Very unusual for us to be losing clearances and dominate a game. They are having difficulty stopping our transition game and what is normally our achilles heel we are not conceding intercept marks in our D50.

04-08-2023, 10:12 PM
Hopefully we don’t turn into our last half last week.

04-08-2023, 10:13 PM
Credit to the mc for dropping him. Given him the rev he needed.

Well he didn't really set the world on fire in his return. Tonight though he's doing so well, the ball is not being marked by defenders. He's there at the contest every time and at least bring the ball to ground. This kind of game is what I thought we would get from him in our jumper.

04-08-2023, 10:13 PM
Poulter will be a player for us. Left footer and wearing the number of another left footed Bulldog - the great Johnny Jillard.

04-08-2023, 10:14 PM
Poulter will be a player for us. Left footer and wearing the number of a Bulldog great - Johnny Jillard.

West owes him a beer after stealing his shot on goal.

04-08-2023, 10:16 PM
Poulter will be a player for us. Left footer and wearing the number of another left footed Bulldog - the great Johnny Jillard.

Yeah I like how he always stays in the contest.

04-08-2023, 10:17 PM

Of all the nice things you can say about Poulter, having a good oppo foot isn't one of them. Happy for anyone else to steal that one

04-08-2023, 10:18 PM

Feel like Caleb couldn't get far enough away from that either though - a man's gotta know his limitations

04-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Yeah I like how he always stays in the contest.

I think he lacks a little bit of toughness in his game. So did Macrae once upon a time so it's something that may come through coaching and maturity

04-08-2023, 10:19 PM
Feel like Caleb couldn't get far enough away from that either though - a man's gotta know his limitations

Is that why the Richmond guy was protesting so much. Hahaha

04-08-2023, 10:22 PM
Lobb's best quarter for us by a country mile.

04-08-2023, 10:29 PM
My God that man is ridiculous. How the **** does he hold that mark and get up as though nothing happened?

Boots
04-08-2023, 10:30 PM
Nankervis is monstering English. We also look slow as hell again after actually looking ok (for us) in the first.

Pace is such a funny thing. Sometimes it’s just a matter of starting half a step before your opponent. They’ve taken that half step off us.

04-08-2023, 10:34 PM
Rest the Bont and English.

04-08-2023, 10:36 PM
Hopefully JJ is ok. Makes a big difference to our run.

04-08-2023, 10:36 PM
Odds of Reiwoldt announcing retirement post this?

Boots
04-08-2023, 10:40 PM
Geez our ball movement has gone back to being quite slow, while theirs has picked up.

04-08-2023, 10:40 PM
These jumpers look so bloody good. None of you deny it.

04-08-2023, 10:46 PM
Arty on

04-08-2023, 10:49 PM
105.7 to 109.1 percentage so far.

Be nice to get it 110.

04-08-2023, 10:52 PM
Gotta love these red time goals.

04-08-2023, 10:53 PM
M. Bontempelli 3 votes

04-08-2023, 10:54 PM
Gotta love these red time goals.

How good is it to be on the right end of them?

04-08-2023, 10:54 PM
Can we safely say we have got this.

04-08-2023, 10:55 PM
M. Bontempelli 3 votes

2 votes. T. Liberatore.

04-08-2023, 10:56 PM
M. Bontempellim - can play a bit.

04-08-2023, 10:56 PM

I'm not. :)

04-08-2023, 10:57 PM
LIBBA has been enormous. His so clean with disposal and tried to win every contest . His trying his guts off

04-08-2023, 10:57 PM
West has been impressive tonight. Used his body well. I had almost if not certainly written him off halfway through the year, but he's been good since returning to the side.

04-08-2023, 10:58 PM
Is Adz injured?

04-08-2023, 10:58 PM
West has been impressive tonight. Used his body well. I had almost if not certainly written him off halfway through the year, but he's been good since returning to the side.

Yep best game he has played. He belongs.

04-08-2023, 10:59 PM

This has been one of my takeaways tonight. West shows the type of touch and nous that makes you go 'how is this guy not an elite in the competition. Some of his skillset isnt just good, or even A level, it's top shelf. His decision to use his body there, was just as compelling and elite as Libba's hands in tight.

04-08-2023, 10:59 PM
My God that man is ridiculous. How the **** does he hold that mark and get up as though nothing happened?

Multiple courageous acts by Bontempellim throughout his career. Just a great player. Will finish his career with us as a full forward - and a bloody good one too.

04-08-2023, 11:03 PM

Too early to call.

04-08-2023, 11:06 PM
Too early to call.

Reckon we're ok now.

04-08-2023, 11:07 PM

He's incredibly strong for a little guy too. Just busts through tackles

04-08-2023, 11:07 PM
This has been one of my takeaways tonight. West shows the type of touch and nous that makes you go 'how is this guy not an elite in the competition. Some of his skillset isnt just good, or even A level, it's top shelf. His decision to use his body there, was just as compelling and elite as Libba's hands in tight.

Bailey Smith took something he said unkindly end of third.
He is known as the biggest pest /smart arse.
Been excellent.

04-08-2023, 11:13 PM
West looks dangerous.

04-08-2023, 11:14 PM
Reckon we're ok now.

I hope you don't regret such rashness.

The boys on both sides have certainly taken Mr Burns orders about their sideburns seriously.

Boots
04-08-2023, 11:14 PM
Credit to the Richmond players (including Rioli) who looked out to make sure MacRae was ok after running into the barrier. Classy.

04-08-2023, 11:16 PM
What was Jones meant to do there exactly? Does the ump have a quota to fill this week after the AFL announcement or something?

04-08-2023, 11:17 PM
Giving up percentage now…

04-08-2023, 11:17 PM
Annoying to cough up 3 in a row. Should have just kept the foot on their throat.

04-08-2023, 11:18 PM
And we stop again. Are we trying to let them back in ?

04-08-2023, 11:18 PM

04-08-2023, 11:19 PM
This is bs, we just knocked 22 points off our lead.... % counts !

04-08-2023, 11:31 PM
So did we not just win by 9 goals or...

04-08-2023, 11:32 PM
Gotta be happy with that. Lapsed a little late but in no way shape or form was I expecting to win by that much. Wonderful performance!

04-08-2023, 11:34 PM
I hope you don't regret such rashness.

The boys on both sides have certainly taken Mr Burns orders about their sideburns seriously.

Ok we're home now.

Marra - ' we should wear them all year ' re the jumpers.

Get around it!

Very good win.

What a win, that was awesome. Bring on finals we can do some damage.

04-08-2023, 11:35 PM
I must say a lot of fans pick on Naughton but he chases and does a hell of a lot we don’t see.
How good was JOD, I can’t wait for him to do a pre season !
Bont just no words .
Jones we miss him.
I am confused with Richmond though resting players when they have to win.
I think they will drop away even more next year.

04-08-2023, 11:35 PM
Great effort. Puts us squarely back in the mix. We play like that watch out. Pity we can’t make top 4 but we can still do some damage. Finally moving the ball quickly opening up the forward line.

04-08-2023, 11:41 PM
How solid is Poulter seems nearly everything he does is good, nothing special but reliable and impressive.

04-08-2023, 11:45 PM
Any one think the backline is better without the key backs out

04-08-2023, 11:47 PM

Certainly looked slicker. JOD, man we have stolen one.
Poulter too, looks OK at the level.

04-08-2023, 11:48 PM
Certainly looked slicker. JOD, man we have stolen one.
Poulter too, looks OK at the level.
Both only 20 years old

04-08-2023, 11:49 PM
So did we not just win by 9 goals or...

I am not decrying the performance at all but we were 11 goals up at one point and the ladder is so tight every % counts.

04-08-2023, 11:49 PM

We could get away with it because Richmond didn't really have any KPFs given Jack is done.

I posted in another thread that we'll love pairing JOD with Jones for the athletic profile but I'm not sure we can only go in with those two against the better sides. Still, what's more important, is having Dale/JJ/Richards.

04-08-2023, 11:51 PM
How solid is Poulter seems nearly everything he does is good, nothing special but reliable and impressive.

Yep, his got plenty more upside , another pre-season and some more bulk he could be handy playee

04-08-2023, 11:54 PM

Opponent worked in our favour a little as they didn't really have the key forwards in this team. Throw Lynch in and it may look a little more shakey.

05-08-2023, 12:00 AM
Opponent worked in our favour a little as they didn't really have the key forwards in this team. Throw Lynch in and it may look a little more shakey.

and Martin, and Cotchin :)

05-08-2023, 12:01 AM
I am not decrying the performance at all but we were 11 goals up at one point and the ladder is so tight every % counts.

We are the only club in the AFL that hasn't played West Coast yet. That is worth a minimum of 5% right there. (Carlton have played them twice FFS).

05-08-2023, 12:02 AM
The 1st qtr was a training drill and it was a rather lifeless contest from there on in.. good to have a much needed blow out though.

Hopefully we get through the next 2 unscathed and continue to build towards our 1st final.

05-08-2023, 12:06 AM
We are the only club in the AFL that hasn't played West Coast yet. That is worth a minimum of 5% right there. (Carlton have played them twice FFS).

Yes, given the form of North and Westcoast the fixtures have favoured some teams. Lets hope we get that 5%.

05-08-2023, 12:12 AM
Yes, given the form of North and Westcoast the fixtures have favoured some teams. Lets hope we get that 5%.

Besides getting smacked at the Gabba that’s Richmond’s biggest loss all year so to back some percentage against a very competitive opponent is a nice bonus. The

05-08-2023, 12:12 AM
Life time ban for patting a player on the shoulders!!!!

05-08-2023, 12:13 AM

I missed this. What happened?

05-08-2023, 12:15 AM

Yeah, crazy. They love to talk these issues up so much.

Hopefully we can have have screens around the ground to stop a despicable act like this happening again.

Nothing, a supporter patted Pickett on the back and so Pickett knocked his beer over and got angry. Seemed like he was a Richmond supporter as well.

05-08-2023, 12:15 AM

Someone, in the dogs section, leant over the fence and patted Pickett on the shoulder. Who was very unhappy.

Lifetime ban would be fine by me.

05-08-2023, 12:19 AM

Yep. I used to love watching Rhylee at clearances in VFL - I?m going coaches give him a bit more mid/clearance time like they do with Daniel and Cody.

05-08-2023, 12:21 AM
A fan touched Pickett. Jordan Lewis and Jon Ralph called for a hanging.

05-08-2023, 12:31 AM
Good win.

Not going to get carried away, it’s just four points against a team we should beat but I didn’t trust us to be able to do it because the squad has eroded that trust.

Flogging them was nice. But I didn’t enjoy it, my brain has been rewired to prepare for the collapse. They’ll need to do it against some teams in some games of real consequence to fix it.

05-08-2023, 12:32 AM

I'm calling for the chair.

05-08-2023, 12:38 AM
Great win tonight after the disappointment of last Saturday. A really solid performance throughout which was pleasing. Gets us closer to another finals berth and who knows how far we can go.

05-08-2023, 12:38 AM
Only had a few of those wins this season. Just a professional win. Got the job done. Almost a four quarter effort.

05-08-2023, 12:45 AM
Such was the team performance tonight that I wasn't able to find votes for many worthy players tonight. English did not get outbodied against a strong opposing ruckman in Nankervis and he also was an effective link up midfielder around the ground.
By holding his own in the clinches he effectively was able to use his point of difference skillset in open field and around the ground as a 200cm ruck-rover.

Similarly I reckon Macrae's performance, whilst not producing off the chart stats numbers like we know he can, felt really impactful. I reckon he's starting to buy into the fact that he can 100% be even more dangerous and effective getting 20-25 touches, than 30-35. He just seems to be flourishing in the half forward/mid role.

05-08-2023, 12:46 AM
Good win.

Not going to get carried away, it?s just four points against a team we should beat but I didn?t trust us to be able to do it because the squad has eroded that trust.

Flogging them was nice. But I didn?t enjoy it, my brain has been rewired to prepare for the collapse. They?ll need to do it against some teams in some games of real consequence to fix it.

I also had some fleeting moments when I thought, how are we going to let them back in here, but it didn't happen.

In terms of games of consequence, we lose we're out and Richmond are in. Pretty consequential in my view.

D Mitchell
05-08-2023, 01:08 AM
The Players have to be on drugs. There's no other explanation.

05-08-2023, 01:11 AM
We could get away with it because Richmond didn't really have any KPFs given Jack is done.

I posted in another thread that we'll love pairing JOD with Jones for the athletic profile but I'm not sure we can only go in with those two against the better sides. Still, what's more important, is having Dale/JJ/Richards.

True - it was just nice to see the ball moved quickly.

05-08-2023, 02:41 AM
Such was the team performance tonight that I wasn't able to find votes for many worthy players tonight. English did not get outbodied against a strong opposing ruckman in Nankervis and he also was an effective link up midfielder around the ground.
By holding his own in the clinches he effectively was able to use his point of difference skillset in open field and around the ground as a 200cm ruck-rover.

Similarly I reckon Macrae's performance, whilst not producing off the chart stats numbers like we know he can, felt really impactful. I reckon he's starting to buy into the fact that he can 100% be even more dangerous and effective getting 20-25 touches, than 30-35. He just seems to be flourishing in the half forward/mid role.

Agree. He did a lot of bullocking inside work to to put the breaks on Tiger forward thrusts. It was a very good game by him.

05-08-2023, 02:46 AM
That first quarter was the best football we have played for a long time. And we backed it up and had many good players.

05-08-2023, 07:21 AM

I found it funny J Brown said Pickett was within his right to lay one on the guys chin. On national TV, hey lets assault people.

D Mitchell
05-08-2023, 08:04 AM
Q1. From where did that come ? A level of intensity I thought was beyond this team. It was awesome in the literal meaning of that word. The best footy I’ve seen for at least 2 seasons, possibly since 2016 Grand Final.

05-08-2023, 08:30 AM
I found it funny J Brown said Pickett was within his right to lay one on the guys chin. On national TV, hey lets assault people.

Luckily he’s not a magistrate because that’s not how assault of self defence works? The more I hear him to more moronic I think he actually is. He must be a great bloke, because he doesn’t seem overly astute at his job more broadly than just a comment like that.

The guy should get a life ban though, just not violently assaulted.

Boots
05-08-2023, 09:06 AM
Yeah it’s not that complex. Don’t touch the players. Also don’t assault people.

Brown’s idiotic comment was “Pickett should be applauded for not punching the guy” which is just the lowest bar imaginable for congratulations for men, other than perhaps being applauded for not raping a woman. Just be better, Brown.

05-08-2023, 09:33 AM

Yeah I heard that and thought it said a lot about Brown.

05-08-2023, 09:34 AM
Yeah it’s not that complex. Don’t touch the players. Also don’t assault people.

Brown’s idiotic comment was “Pickett should be applauded for not punching the guy” which is just the lowest bar imaginable for congratulations for men, other than perhaps being applauded for not raping a woman. Just be better, Brown.

Brown's macho shtick works with a demographic.

I find it nauseating.

As for the guy on the fence.

Dumb. Really dumb.

Especially against a guy who's been convicted of GBH and a former ice dealer.

Pick your targets!

05-08-2023, 01:21 PM
Brown's macho shtick works with a demographic.

I find it nauseating.

As for the guy on the fence.

Dumb. Really dumb.

Especially against a guy who's been convicted of GBH and a former ice dealer.

Pick your targets!

Haha love the macho shtiick with demographic.

05-08-2023, 01:29 PM
I thought we would start to rag doll teams earlier, we've left it late.
With bont, libba and treloar firing, liam back with b. Dale and potent forward line, who will beat us?

05-08-2023, 01:53 PM
You could tell from the Bevo press conference that he's lamenting not being able to get our defensive six to eight players settled all year.

He also provided some good insights into why we were able to move the footy quicker last night by going smaller due to a lack of opposition KPF personnel.

05-08-2023, 03:53 PM

Corporate box I assume.

05-08-2023, 09:12 PM
Corporate box I assume.

Ouch.

No, I haven't used my membership/ social club at all this year so I thought I would, but was lucky enough to have a reserved seat set aside for me by a friend whose daughter doesn't like going.

Enjoyed the game and appreciated the live experience outside of the breaks between goals and quarters. It's a really shit product unless the game is actually going on.

What I would say though, is you need to be in practice or condition to watch a game of modern AFL footy. There's so much going on and it's so quick. That Rioli run from the backline with Naughton chasing was sooooo fast. Modern players are amazing and if the game was as slow as it was twenty or thirty years ago then we'd have a different view of their skill level.

Anyway, get ****ed Aza.

05-08-2023, 09:18 PM
There's been a bit of a vibe about our win being not that great because Richmond were without Cotchin, Martin and Lynch.

I guess it's fair, losing players prior to the game is hard and I think the margin reflected what a good performance from us should look like under those circumstances.

Interesting thing is a lot of the sentiment is coming from the same types as the sentiment that we were brutally out coached when we lost key players in-game, after we had our best player in their area already out of the team.

So what makes a bigger difference? Injuries to key players before a game starts, or injuries to key players and structural players with half a game to go? If you're already running with a "B" structure, how severe should the impact be when you have to go to your "B-" or "C" structure?

05-08-2023, 09:31 PM
There's been a bit of a vibe about our win being not that great because Richmond were without Cotchin, Martin and Lynch.

I guess it's fair, losing players prior to the game is hard and I think the margin reflected what a good performance from us should look like under those circumstances.

Interesting thing is a lot of the sentiment is coming from the same types as the sentiment that we were brutally out coached when we lost key players in-game, after we had our best player in their area already out of the team.

So what makes a bigger difference? Injuries to key players before a game starts, or injuries to key players and structural players with half a game to go? If you're already running with a "B" structure, how severe should the impact be when you have to go to your "B-" or "C" structure?

Oh snap…

05-08-2023, 09:59 PM
Just for clarification, when I mention "the same types" I mean in the media.

06-08-2023, 12:12 AM
First time at a live footy game since the 2016 GF. Loved being back.

Thought JOD looked good last night. A couple of times he got himself into a trouble, but overall I though he was impressive. I get why the MC have persisted with him. He is a versatile option down back who can mark/intercept well and play a lock down role.

The Bont is on another level in terms of time and space. He is living proof that time travel is possible. The way he drifts through games and always seems to have time is Michael Jordan like. If he could nail set shots with regularity he would seal his legacy.

06-08-2023, 03:01 AM
He's no Scotty Pendlebury though, even if he does have a bit of a basketball background which is something that's never been mentioned about Scotty Pendlebury ever.

Fredi - how did you find watching the game live after so long and trying to keep up with what was happening? I went to one game last year and not many between COVID and that, and must admit that from half way up L1 on the members flank I really struggled to comprehend what was going on. Seems the game has gone up a few notches since I was going regularly pre-COVID.

Glad they could turn it on for you on your return, and welcome back.

06-08-2023, 09:17 AM
"He's no Scotty Pendlebury though, even if he does have a bit of a basketball background which is something that's never been mentioned about Scotty Pendlebury ever."

Did Pendlebury play basketball? Well, fmd! That's the first I've ever heard about that. How did I not know that?.Amazing. I'll have to start paying a lot more to the commentary- aka inanity.

06-08-2023, 09:33 AM

Kept our forwards forward so the fast ball carriers/movers had valid targets to hit.

06-08-2023, 09:34 AM
"He's no Scotty Pendlebury though, even if he does have a bit of a basketball background which is something that's never been mentioned about Scotty Pendlebury ever."

Did Pendlebury play basketball? Well, fmd! That's the first I've ever heard about that. How did I not know that?.Amazing. I'll have to start paying a lot more to the commentary- aka inanity.

Did you also know that Nick Cox from Essendon is over 200cm tall.

06-08-2023, 09:47 AM

Say what?

06-08-2023, 10:09 AM
Gee I hope you?re wrong?

I don?t have much swagger of confidence tonight. Hope the boys do.
You have been influenced by negative vibes. Think positive like me it is more fun.

06-08-2023, 10:34 AM
Someone, in the dogs section, leant over the fence and patted Pickett on the shoulder. Who was very unhappy.

Me too BT if he gets away with this it will become more prevalent. You just dont touch the players during the game. A big no no.

06-08-2023, 10:45 AM

Probably just asking for his car radio back.

06-08-2023, 11:12 AM
Me too BT if he gets away with this it will become more prevalent. You just dont touch the players during the game. A big no no.

Agree list a no no but a life ban? I think a bit of perspective. A stern warning, an apology and acknowledgement form the individual and maybe a short ban.

No one was hurt. It is an isolated incident. Calls for a life ban are OTT.

06-08-2023, 11:17 AM

But how tall is Peter Wright? There's just no way of knowing.

06-08-2023, 11:19 AM
Fredi - how did you find watching the game live after so long and trying to keep up with what was happening? I went to one game last year and not many between COVID and that, and must admit that from half way up L1 on the members flank I really struggled to comprehend what was going on. Seems the game has gone up a few notches since I was going regularly pre-COVID.

Glad they could turn it on for you on your return, and welcome back.

I enjoyed it. The game is sooooo much faster than I remember and so much faster than on TV. We were in AFl Members section to the right of the interchange. So had a good view. I thought the game was less physical. Yes the tackles are hard and strong, but there was less malice. I think the ball movement was so quick especially by hand. I query whether they are actual handballs.

Overall really enjoyed it and didn't mind the flashing lights etc. In fact my 10 year old came with me and he really enjoyed it and he doesn't watch AFL on the telly as he finds it boring, so whilst its not everyone's cup of tea it does appeal to a demographic.

06-08-2023, 01:54 PM
I enjoyed it. The game is sooooo much faster than I remember and so much faster than on TV. We were in AFl Members section to the right of the interchange. So had a good view. I thought the game was less physical. Yes the tackles are hard and strong, but there was less malice. I think the ball movement was so quick especially by hand. I query whether they are actual handballs.

Overall really enjoyed it and didn't mind the flashing lights etc. In fact my 10 year old came with me and he really enjoyed it and he doesn't watch AFL on the telly as he finds it boring, so whilst its not everyone's cup of tea it does appeal to a demographic.

Glad they had a win for you.

It is very different live than TV

06-08-2023, 01:57 PM

He mustn't be very athletic then

06-08-2023, 02:03 PM
Enjoy the first quarter goals

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6G0HmEbbrg

06-08-2023, 03:42 PM

And that’s the demographic they are trying to capture. Not jaded folks over 30. We are already emotionally invested.

07-08-2023, 04:47 PM
AFL Coaches Votes

10 Bont
6 Treloar
6 Marra
6 Libba
1 Jones
1 Dale

Leaderboard

99 Nick Daicos COLL
89 Christian Petracca MELB
87 Zak Butters PORT
86 Marcus Bontempelli WB
75 Connor Rozee PORT
74 Toby Greene GWS
73 Zach Merrett ESS
73 Lachie Neale BL
71 Noah Anderson GCFC
69 Errol Gulden SYD

07-08-2023, 05:00 PM
Bont votes this year. That is now eight times where he has got 10 or 9 votes.

Round 1 Melb 0
Round 2 Saints 4
Round 3 Lions 10
Round 4 Tigers 9
Round 5 Port 0
Round 6 Freo 10
Round 7 Hawks 0
Round 8 GWS 10
Round 9 Blues 0
Round 10 Crows 0
Round 11 Suns 1
Round 12 Cats 0
Round 13 Port 0
Round 14 North 9
Round 15 Bye 0
Round 16 Freo 2
Round 17 Pies 1
Round 18 Swans 10
Round 19 Dons 10
Round 20 GWS 0
Round 21 Tigers 10

07-08-2023, 05:28 PM
"The fan who touched Richmond's Marlion Pickett over the fence on Friday night has been banned from attending AFL games until the end of 2024. The individual was not a club or AFL member."

07-08-2023, 05:40 PM
"The fan who touched Richmond's Marlion Pickett over the fence on Friday night has been banned from attending AFL games until the end of 2024. The individual was not a club or AFL member."

I can't believe nobody ripped his arms off and bashed his head in with them.

07-08-2023, 05:45 PM

I remember sitting on the fence of the Western Oval whilst Roger Merrett and Rick Kennedy pretty much were on top of me trading blows.

How things have changed.

07-08-2023, 06:08 PM

Very harsh penalty

On a side note: Did you know that the MCG has face recognition software that checks every single patron attending the ground. As part of your tickets Terms and Conditions they can do this and keep the information in a database and you can't do a thing about it.

Not sure about other venues.

07-08-2023, 06:12 PM
Very harsh penalty

Harsh. But seriously. Don't touch the players. It is just not on.

07-08-2023, 06:14 PM

Totally agree with not touching players

07-08-2023, 06:19 PM
Very harsh penalty

On a side note: Did you know that the MCG has face recognition software that checks every single patron attending the ground. As part of your tickets Terms and Conditions they can do this and keep the information in a database and you can't do a thing about it.

Thanks BAD.

Understand and have some empathy for reasoning.

Scary thought to think what consequences could be if this data ended up in unscrupulous hands. Guessing EPL and possibly other overseas codes have used it for a while. Hope it?s being used at AAMI park to keep those banned for life out of ground after those ugly scenes during A league City vs Victory game earlier this year. Thank goodness AFL nuffies are not at that level of stupidity and violence.

07-08-2023, 06:24 PM

Most major sporting venues have it. I've told the story on here before but a colleague I worked who was a consultant went into the poker gaming room at Crown with a small group friends and two of them went onto the poker tables while he and a few others stayed well away and were standing and enjoying a drink and a chat.
The two guys started to cheat at Poker (throwing subtle signals to each other to get the other to raise the pot etc) and the dealer noticed this so pressed a button to get his table observed. Sure enough it was reviewed and they were in fact cheating.
They were all kicked out and banned for life even the ones who were something like 30mtrs away standing at a table and enjoying a drink oblivious to what was happening on the tables.
Something like 6 years or more later he was in the Crown complex with some other friends and thought he could walk through a gaming area as a short cut but a few moments later security asked him to leave. Facial recognition had identified him so I would imagine all major entertainment sites have it in place.

07-08-2023, 06:26 PM

Harsh would have been a lifetime ban. 12 months to me seems firm but reasonable.

D Mitchell
07-08-2023, 06:30 PM

Hird hugged that young bloke behind the goals v Eagles 2004. Players who bring the toy footys to youngsters in the crowds at the end of games have their shoulders patted or hands shaken. My unruly mate put a bear hug on Bont at the end of the Grand Final in 2016 (another mate, who saw the incident on TV from interstate commented that it was the only tackle Bont didn't break all afternoon). At the end of games, when access to the rooms used to be available, it was common for supporters to give players a pat on the back. In vision of the incident it looked to me as if Pickett took offence at what the supporter said rather than the hand to shoulder contact, which didn't look aggressive anyway. Punishment must be commensurate with the offence. It's subjective, of course, but I reckon a ban for a season and a bit including 2 finals series is more than enough. He may have form for all I know but if not, perhaps half a season, it would send the message and give the bloke something to look forward to to drive it home.

07-08-2023, 07:06 PM
This is disgusting. "A camera has caught an egg flying onto the field and exploding near a player during the Tigers v Bulldogs game last Friday.".

https://twitter.com/9NewsMelb/status/1688458479835754496?s=20

This should be a life ban.

07-08-2023, 07:11 PM
This is disgusting. "A camera has caught an egg flying onto the field and exploding near a player during the Tigers v Bulldogs game last Friday.".

I hope they catch the person or persons responsible. A hefty fine and ban should follow.

07-08-2023, 07:50 PM

I thought the last time I'd see a flying egg at Docklands was when Andrew Wills retired.
See you just never know.

07-08-2023, 09:26 PM
He was a strange concept.

10-08-2023, 09:36 AM

Surely not! I thought he looked more like a Collingwood 6 footer.