View Full Version : WB Game Day V Geelong R24 2023 Sat 26/8, 7:25PM - GMHBA Stadium

Pages : 1 [2]

26-08-2023, 08:49 PM
That's fair enough and I take it back and apologise.

I just want cool heads to prevail.

Jee, I’m glad we didn’t end up in the nets.

26-08-2023, 08:50 PM
I am at a loss to make any sense of our demise. Maybe it's because of the personality types we have in the team. We need players who HATE losing. Do we have enough of those individuals? The evidence says "NO, WE DON'T"

26-08-2023, 08:50 PM
That's rubbish Jee. He's ultimately responsible and this is losing to bottom 4 teams three weeks in a row when finals are on the line.

If you think game plan is the only thing that coaches need to manage then you're insane.

They manage people, they manage the mood and confidence of the team.

If he let his emotions re Smith filter through the sqaud then that's terrible managment.

It's not insane at all to question this leadership. He has lost the people he manages. He strong point is his people skills as he is not a great tactician. Once he loses the people he is cooked.

26-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Lots of players are out of form. Bad field kicking and turnovers killing us.

That first quarter against the Tigers feels like it was 10 years ago.

Question it, but don't act as if the sky is falling in. We don't want our players to be panic merchants, but we don't act accordingly.

If the past two or three weeks are what you think is wrong then you're kidding yourself. The issues are structural, and deep seated. What we're seeing are symptoms of that.

Managing through reactiveness isn't the way to manage a football club.

If you're saying theyre long term issues then it wouldn't be reactive.

26-08-2023, 08:52 PM
Jee, I’m glad we didn’t end up in the nets.

It's still early! :)

26-08-2023, 08:55 PM
If you're saying theyre long term issues then it wouldn't be reactive.

Sacking him based on three games output would be.

If we win by a point tonight, is everything OK? If we win by a point tonight and then beat Carlton by a point in a fortnight is everything OK?

No. Using results only is using lag indicators, which the industry is stupid enough to live and die by....you know, it's a results based industry which is the biggest load of bullshit ever.

Be considered, figure it out. If that means he needs to go, then fine. A win here or there, or making the finals is a silly way to manage things because you're looking at results only.

26-08-2023, 08:55 PM
That was massive from Treloar .

26-08-2023, 08:56 PM
Treloar kicks that goal. Where is the energy from the group?

Cmon Adz. Lift dogs

Interesting we start with Lobb in the ruck.

Treloar kicks that goal. Where is the energy from the group?

Thinking the same thing.

26-08-2023, 08:57 PM
2 important Vandermere moments from 2 Lobb based clearances

26-08-2023, 08:57 PM

If we win by a point tonight, is everything OK? If we win by a point tonight and then beat Carlton by a point in a fortnight is everything OK?

No. Using results only is using lag indicators, which the industry is stupid enough to live and die by....you know, it's a results based industry which is the biggest load of bullshit ever.

Be considered, figure it out. If that means he needs to go, then fine. A win here or there, or making the finals is a silly way to manage things because you're looking at results only.

Yep fair points Jee.

I want to keep Bevo Fwiw.

26-08-2023, 08:58 PM
Lobb has sparked us in the middle.

26-08-2023, 08:59 PM
Lobb and Vandermere involved again

English is on Stewart. Possibly a good move. C’mon English!!

Is it based on 3 weeks though? It's been poor since 21 GF and questions have been on Bevo for a long time. Players losing confidence in the coach may be the final straw but it would be disingenuous to say it's based on 3 weeks.

And we've kicked 3 goals since i started writing this post :)

Lobb been excellent

This is the start of the 4 and a half winning games

26-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Did Bevo pull the spray lever?

26-08-2023, 09:01 PM
Lobb playing like an AA ruck!!

26-08-2023, 09:01 PM

You would hope that it didn’t need a bale to pull the finger out… but whatever was said has worked so far.

26-08-2023, 09:03 PM

Haha.

If he didn't he's a better man than I.

Vanders playing well.

26-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Baker is best when he doesn’t have time to think.

26-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Go Westie.

26-08-2023, 09:06 PM
West with more ball = good.

26-08-2023, 09:06 PM
Baker is best when he doesn’t have time to think.

As I said.

26-08-2023, 09:10 PM
3 min of footy is that it ?

26-08-2023, 09:11 PM
JUH can **** off for the moment. I'd sub him.

26-08-2023, 09:12 PM
Marra having another nightmare

26-08-2023, 09:12 PM

Me too. The extra runner would be handy

26-08-2023, 09:13 PM
We aren’t going to move forward with Baker getting consistent games.

26-08-2023, 09:14 PM
We re-signed Baker didn?t we?

26-08-2023, 09:14 PM

Give him time.

26-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Where has this defensive pressure been for the last two and half games?

26-08-2023, 09:15 PM
Weightman and Vandermere showing a defensive intent that has been missing

26-08-2023, 09:16 PM
My God the commentator just said Weightman had an elbow to overcome.

Ah... That was last year... Crikey.

26-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Geelong's thirds are doing well.

Can someone tell me how Geelong always get a lucky bounce or tap or fumble ?

Now doing a typical Dogs when we dominate and conceded soft goals against the trend of play.

Had all the numbers...

We aren’t going to move forward with Baker getting consistent games. He is a butcher.

Bailey Dale is having an ordinary night… put your ****ing fist through the ball!

26-08-2023, 09:18 PM
Lobb rucks better than English

26-08-2023, 09:18 PM
Baker caught htb when we are attacking then misses two gettable shots at goal - sub standard stuff.

26-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Marra'a effort and body language has been so bad.

26-08-2023, 09:20 PM
English with one hand.

Pea hearted effort.

26-08-2023, 09:21 PM
Marra'a effort and body language has been so bad.

He needs to be subbed.

26-08-2023, 09:21 PM
We all know the story from here don't we?

26-08-2023, 09:22 PM
English with one hand.

Pea hearted effort.

English literally tapped the ball to the oppo ruck !

Dale has mongrel punted so many balls tonight.

We all know the story from here don't we?

Dogs v Blues Friday week.

26-08-2023, 09:24 PM
If I actually gave a **** my TV remote would be through the TV… so many shit turnovers.

Weak effort Marra

Put a knee into his ribs Marra FFS!

I love JOD

26-08-2023, 09:25 PM
****ing hell how hard is it to hit a forward ? They don’t have to be anywhere near our forward we just kick it to them every time .
Stewart has not picked up one of our forwards all night and we just kick it to him .

26-08-2023, 09:25 PM
90 seconds to go and English if playing a kick behind the game. Why

26-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Un****enbelievable.

These guys are a complete pack of bedshitters.

26-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Unbelievable , just block the backline up Omg 8 seconds to go and we still manage to give them a goal .

26-08-2023, 09:28 PM
What was Liam Jones doing? We had all the momentum. He shanks it.

Even when we lift our intensity we find a way to stuff it up.

Baker caught htb when we are attacking then misses two gettable shots at goal - sub standard stuff. from a sub standard player

How did we concede one then?

So. How’s it going. Doesn’t sound great.

8 seconds left and we decide to play man on man for the first time tonight

So which is it….

A coaching overhaul or a player overhaul?

26-08-2023, 09:29 PM

It's all Bevo's fault that he did that.

If I was Bevo I'd actually just give it up. These players are like a partner who you think will change and improve but just can't or won't. By the time you've realised it you've missed your best years.

Just horrific.

This team are dementors.

Hate this team

English literally tapped the ball to the oppo ruck !

Brilliant, the guy didn't know what was happening and was caught HTB. 4D chess from the AA ruckman

I am totally over this teams game plan .
It’s happened time and time again in the last 3 years . Just like teams getting 5 or 6 goal run ons and our coaches have not changed a thing .
3 bloody years of it !

26-08-2023, 09:30 PM
So which is it….

A coaching overhaul or a player overhaul? c. All of the above

So which is it….

Both.

Why, with 8 seconds left on the clock would you stand behind your opponent Ed?

So which is it….

https://media.giphy.com/media/3o85xIO33l7RlmLR4I/giphy.gif

26-08-2023, 09:31 PM
We just need a couple of the boys to stand up now. Naughty, Marra and Weightman need to all kick goals.

Shocking error, totally unnecessary.

Not sure if we have the belief to get over the line here but our intensity at least lifted substantially that quarter.

Lobb rucks better than English

Miles better.

It's all Bevo's fault that he did that.

If I was Bevo I'd actually just give it up. These players are like a partner who you think will change and improve but just can't or won't. By the time you've realised it you've missed your best years.

I've seen Liam's arm up close.

Scar goes from elbow to wrist.

Not even a free!

26-08-2023, 09:32 PM

Better than English for sure

26-08-2023, 09:32 PM
We win.

26-08-2023, 09:33 PM
Three goals in the first three minutes.

We then dominate the rest of the quarter. Dominated.

One goal to three goals for the rest of the quarter.

26-08-2023, 09:35 PM
Kick the goal English I've always beleived in you

26-08-2023, 09:36 PM
Good boy Cody.

26-08-2023, 09:36 PM
Geelong laughing on the bench. Can?t lose to a side that aren?t serious.

26-08-2023, 09:37 PM
Laith out? That's close to his best game as a Dog. Weird call.

26-08-2023, 09:37 PM
VDM injured? Best game he's played as a forward in years and we sub him our for McNeil?

26-08-2023, 09:38 PM
Come on lads!!!! Come on!!!!

26-08-2023, 09:38 PM
Let’s see if we can have the momentum for more than 3 mins

26-08-2023, 09:39 PM
Loving our effort, it's starting to insert some doubts in the feral cats supporters.

26-08-2023, 09:39 PM
English you star.

Treloar passion I love it.

26-08-2023, 09:40 PM
Right, here’s our 2 goal lead. Can we hang on ;)

Come on lads!!!! Get fired up and keep going. Come on!!!

Foot on the throat from here. Don't give them a sniff.

Lobb, Lobb, Lobb.

Sons of the west....

Cmon you glorious pack of a-holes!

26-08-2023, 09:42 PM
Cmon you glorious pack of a-holes!

Haha I lolzed hard.

26-08-2023, 09:42 PM
Richards is emerging as a leader of this side. He makes mistakes, but you can't fault his competitiveness

26-08-2023, 09:48 PM
Poulter is the hardest 'soft' player I've seen - not sure why Pies supporters thought he didn't take body contact.

26-08-2023, 09:48 PM
Get out of this team Oskar.

26-08-2023, 09:49 PM
JOD's composure to beat three Cats back for that footy, turn and execute to Crozier under all that pressure is exceptional. Kid will be special

26-08-2023, 09:51 PM
Surely….

Whoever said JUH needs to be subbed is a lunatic.

Good boy Marra… had a shit night, but a few important touches now.

26-08-2023, 09:53 PM
Naughton has been huge all game.

26-08-2023, 09:53 PM
Whoever said JUH needs to be subbed is a lunatic.

Haha I was going to do my typical how dare you post but I knew Marra would answer you :)

26-08-2023, 09:55 PM
Don't care about draft picks. Don't care about who gets sacked. I just want to beat this pack of inbread assholes at their tax payer funded shit hole toybox stadium finally

26-08-2023, 09:56 PM
Aaron Naughton is our most selfish player.

26-08-2023, 09:58 PM
Man. Scott needs to retire :(

Concussion has ruined his career. Hopefully not his life.

26-08-2023, 09:59 PM
Lobb has been super. That was brave too.

Rory Lobb clearly cares.

Great mark and great finish. And shoving it up some.

He’s had a big game.

26-08-2023, 10:00 PM
Lobb turned the game.

Lobb move to centre was when game turned.

We are going to win. Woohoo.

26-08-2023, 10:01 PM
Lobb turned the game.

Ha ha-same same (for those of you who are Arrested Development fans).

26-08-2023, 10:02 PM
I can't believe the volume of swearing at my place for a five goal lead.

Lobb second half. 100% was the difference.

Where has this been all year? Great last quarter

Where the **** has this been?

26-08-2023, 10:04 PM
It's why a good start would have made the night so stress free.

The Cats were always going to be up and about if they had any sort of sniff. A decent first quarter would have taken that away from them.

26-08-2023, 10:04 PM
My ****ing family are all from Geelong so half the games I'd get to go to were at the dung heap. Eat a shit sandwich Geelong fans as you finally miss finals until you find someone else to throw cash at (maybe try English I've heard he's looking)

26-08-2023, 10:06 PM
Lobb turned the game.

He's been huge

26-08-2023, 10:07 PM
No idea what i just finished watching, absolute Jekyll and Hyde performance.
That 2nd half and in particular the final quarter is an example of how good this side can be but equally shows why so many of us are frustrated as it only comes out once in a blue moon

Bont ten tackles

Where the **** has this been?

Surely isn?t as simple as Lobb in the ruck and English forward. Our game just flowed

26-08-2023, 10:11 PM
Lobb turned the game.

No Bevo turned the game - great move:)

26-08-2023, 10:11 PM
I can't believe the volume of swearing at my place for a five goal lead.

Now to buy some sorry presents for the neighbours.

26-08-2023, 10:12 PM

Bevo pulled every lever he had and that's why he's our best ever coach.

Yet again, the Bulldogs' season goes down to the final Sunday.

2019 - Dogs need a Dogs win to play finals ✅
2020 - Dogs need a Dogs win to play finals ✅
2022 - Dogs need a Dogs win & Carlton loss to play finals ✅
2023 - Dogs need a Carlton win to play finals ❓

Can’t have one without the other.

Oooooohhhhhh......double edged sword here!

26-08-2023, 10:13 PM
Bevo pulled every lever he had and that's why he's our best ever coach.

Exactly GG

It's never black or white.

Well done. Really good last quarter. Lobb, Bont, Libba and Treloar were sensational. Now the wait and see. I feel Carlton will be doing everything tomorrow to make sure they play us 1st week of finals.

We do deliver when it counts in terms of making it. No consolation. But we do.

26-08-2023, 10:14 PM
Last quarter.

Libba. 10 touches. 7 contested.
Treloar. 10 touches. 1 goal.

They were tremendous.

26-08-2023, 10:15 PM
English needs to go forward more. Not sure on his split between Ruck and Forward but hasn't seemed like a lot. Wnglish in dangerous up there and gets Lobb involved more.

26-08-2023, 10:15 PM

Mate, you don't know how sick I am about hearing about the coach - you can only do so much. Players need to be better, or get rid of them.

Some of our players we have to put up with - Crozier - did he hit a target tonight?, same with Dale, Keath - the turnovers are coach killers

Boots
26-08-2023, 10:16 PM
Not a particularly convincing win when they had about 30 points out just between Cameron and Hawkins. Reckon we’ll go down fairly quickly to Carlton in a fortnight. still great to win at that awful stadium against that awful team.

I am so livid about the commentary. Hamish was spewing garbled trash about Geelong missing finals the year after the premiership, saying crap like “they’ve tasted success” and “they’ve got a bright future”. When we bowed out in 2017 all the rhetoric was about wasted potential.

how in gods name is the narrative not that Geelong wasted most of Dangerfield and selwoods years with terrible finals performances? We’ve been overperforming (grand finals from 6th and 7th) and they flubbed multiple top fours.

that whole club is just kissed on the dick constantly.

26-08-2023, 10:16 PM
Four headed monster tonight?

Naughton 3 goals
Lobb 3 goals
English 2 goals
Marra 1 goal

26-08-2023, 10:17 PM
Hats off to Lobb. Had a difficult year but he's actually hit form in recent weeks and we've looked for him more. That was his best game.

Still not convincing but at least we looked hungry in the last.

Bont ten tackles

Weightman 11!

Hopefully some happy faces from the supporters puts a bit of spirit into the team.

26-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Weightman 11!

Weightman had good intensity all night.

26-08-2023, 10:19 PM
Weightman had good intensity all night.

And more of his tackles stuck tonight.

26-08-2023, 10:20 PM
Mate, you don't know how sick I am about hearing about the coach - you can only do so much. Players need to be better, or get rid of them.

Some of our players we have to put up with - Crozier - did he hit a target tonight?, same with Dale, Keath - the turnovers are coach killers

I think you'll find I'm a bit closer to your side than even you are at times....well, that's impossible. But I'm completely over the sole accountability being placed on the coach.

In terms of your post being a double edged sword, all I'm suggesting is that if Bevo pulled the lever today, then he could have pulled more levers over time and people will jump on that.

26-08-2023, 10:21 PM
If we make finals . Bevo has some serious work to do to turn this around . If a win can be bad this was a bad win .
We will play Carlton and they are on fire .

26-08-2023, 10:21 PM
Never been so flat about potentially getting into the finals after a win.

26-08-2023, 10:22 PM
English needs to go forward more. Not sure on his split between Ruck and Forward but hasn't seemed like a lot. Wnglish in dangerous up there and gets Lobb involved more.

When Tim has an influence he's Wenglish and when he doesn't he's Lenglish

26-08-2023, 10:22 PM
Bevo pulls a rabbit called Rory out of the hat.

26-08-2023, 10:24 PM
When Tim has an influence he's Wenglish and when he doesn't he's Lenglish

Stop making fun of my fat finger typing.

If we make finals . Bevo has some serious work to do to turn this around . If a win can be bad this was a bad win .
We will play Carlton and they are on fire .

The win was 1 half of football, arguably 1 quarter and that quarter a absolutely was convincing.
It's the same old story, good but not good for long enough.

Scotty West 24 disposals, a lot of grunt work, a few mistakes but played well

Good to get a win. The last qtr was fun.

26-08-2023, 10:25 PM

Scotty!

Scotty turned back the clock alright.

Stop making fun of my fat finger typing.

I'm celebrating your, and now this forums, embrace of Streamer culture. Wenglish tonight. Wenglish forever

Bont saying that Lobb changed the game for them. In good spirits Bont. A win is always such a stress reliever.

26-08-2023, 10:27 PM
Bont saying that Lobb changed the game for them. In good spirits Bont. A win is always such a stress reliever.

Was that on channel 7 or radio?

26-08-2023, 10:27 PM
Never been so flat about potentially getting into the finals after a win.

Well give yourself an uppercut and enjoy it.

It's a bloody tough competition and a bloody long season.

26-08-2023, 10:28 PM

It won't matter, you'll listen to all of it and buy into it. :)

26-08-2023, 10:28 PM
Just goes to show English needs to realise he's more of a forward ruck than a pure ruck.
You need a bit of mongrel in your rucks and Tim is to placid.

26-08-2023, 10:29 PM
Scotty!

Scotty turned back the clock alright.

Whoops , apologises to Rhylee

Channel 7.

Much better 2nd half as we started getting on top and taking control of that game. Solid last quarter and just good to see that we wanted it more but should have been there the past 2 weeks.

Bont, Libba and Trelaor were very important tonight. Lobb played his best game for us this season. English really good marking along with Naughton kicking some important goals.

We are still a chance on the proviso the Blues beat the Giants. Still frustrated in that it has got to this point again in relying on other results but we sit and wait to see what happens.

26-08-2023, 10:30 PM
Just goes to show English needs to realise he's more of a forward ruck than a pure ruck.

100% agree with this and Bevo has known that for a long time.

26-08-2023, 10:31 PM

Don't agree he is placid. He had a bad day in the middle but still had plenty hit outs around the ground.

26-08-2023, 10:32 PM

We need to continue to play West in the midfield also Lobb who was a game changer in the ruck tonight

26-08-2023, 10:33 PM
Don't agree he is placid. He had a bad day in the middle but still had plenty hit outs around the ground.

So you think English has mongrel? Love Timmy but he is definitely placid

26-08-2023, 10:34 PM
We need to continue to play West in the midfield also Lobb who was a game changer in the ruck tonight

Agree. West had some moments around the ball. Liking it.

26-08-2023, 10:34 PM
West's disposal was disgusting at times. If he wants to play in the midfield he needs to tidy that up.

Outside of that, I'm happy he's been able to show he can do many of the things required to be an AFL midfielder.

26-08-2023, 10:35 PM
So you think English has mongrel? Love Timmy but he is definitely placid

Not Mongrel, but not placid.

26-08-2023, 10:36 PM
I thought Poulter was good.

26-08-2023, 10:37 PM

He's a mid fielder in a ruckman's body and he is good around the ground but I still think he is too placid at the centre bounce.
He gets out muscled a fair bit and I think he does better when he takes a leap at it but that gets nullified with a throw up which will become the norm when the AFL in there wisdom take away the centre bounce and throw everything up.

26-08-2023, 10:37 PM
I thought Poulter was good.

I thought he was good as well ledge.

26-08-2023, 10:39 PM
Lobb. Six clearances. Second most on the ground.

26-08-2023, 10:40 PM
It shows hiw much better we can be when there's effort. I just don't understand why our effort is so constantly inconsistent.

26-08-2023, 10:41 PM
Ameet. Fully support Bevo. He has two more years.

26-08-2023, 10:44 PM
He's a mid fielder in a ruckman's body and he is good around the ground but I still think he is too placid at the centre bounce.
He gets out muscled a fair bit and I think he does better when he takes a leap at it but that gets nullified with a throw up which will become the norm when the AFL in there wisdom take away the centre bounce and throw everything up.

Whatever. The experts will pick him as AA ruckman next week.

26-08-2023, 10:44 PM
Ameet. Fully support Bevo. He has two more years.

How funny was the coverage after the build up of controversy about those two people.

Ameet - Luke is contracted and has our full support, Bailey gets attention but is staying here....in about eight seconds.....pan back to the telecast and they didn't even know what to say!

26-08-2023, 10:46 PM

It's probably fair to say that English has lapses and also does well in the centre.

If I was him I'd be lapping up the chance to play half a quarter in the ruck role, and the other half forward. If he doesn't realise that's the best thing for him and the TEAM then he's an idiot and not a team player.

26-08-2023, 10:46 PM
It shows hiw much better we can be when there's effort. I just don't understand why our effort is so constantly inconsistent.
The turn around came when Lobb became number 1 ruckman.

before then we were losing the clearances, by the end we were ahead. He kept the ball in where the smalls could get it. His best game for us by a long way.

26-08-2023, 10:53 PM
The turn around came when Lobb became number 1 ruckman.

before then we were losing the clearances, by the end we were ahead. He kept the ball in where the smalls could get it. His best game for us by a long way.

A great move. Yep we were getting a belting around there in the 1st half.

26-08-2023, 10:53 PM

I'd suspect you have very different opinions about these 'experts' depending on what they're doing... any of them on the rules committee? ;)

26-08-2023, 10:55 PM
It won't matter, you'll listen to all of it and buy into it. :)

You are right? It was still early? nets?

26-08-2023, 10:55 PM
Bevo calling out Weightman’s tackling pressure and putting Lobb into the Ruck.

26-08-2023, 10:59 PM
Dogs by 24
First goal WEIGHTMAN
BOG LIBBA

Wasn?t far off with the margin again. Also brand Nostradamus.

26-08-2023, 11:00 PM
I'd suspect you have very different opinions about these 'experts' depending on what they're doing... any of them on the rules committee? ;)

No worries

26-08-2023, 11:38 PM
Centre Bounce Attendances tonight. We just relied on the old guard mids with Lobb getting a lot more time than normal. (Last week. English 26. Lobb 4.)

Treloar 27
Libba 23
Bont 23
English 16
Lobb 14
West 11
McLean 6

26-08-2023, 11:41 PM
Centre Clearances

Lobb 5
Libba 4
Treloar 2
English 1
Bont 1

Lobb got the centre clearance at a rate of more than 1 in 3 when he went in there which is INSANE!

Bont went 1 from 23. 4%.
Lobb went 5 from 14. 36%.

The new clearance KING.

27-08-2023, 12:03 AM
It was good to see Bevo to give a shout out and kudos to Isaac Smith after the game. Nice touch.

27-08-2023, 12:08 AM
It was good to see Bevo to give a shout out and kudos to Isaac Smith after the game. Nice touch.

He remembers 2016

27-08-2023, 12:21 AM
Good second half performance tonight. Westy finally gets some time in the middle. I thought he showed plenty & gives us something in there. Could of been a bit tidier in there but his grunt work I was happy with. I thought when Dunks left that Westy or Garcia would see some time in there, but had to wait for the last H&A game of the year to see it. Its amazing! you give the kid a chance in there & then you can actually see what he can do. Go figure huh!
Lobb in the middle was important. He has looked good the last few weeks. Seemed to me we had no idea how to play the guy for 3/4s of the year & now maybe we do have an idea & now he looks what we were after in the first place.
What the hell has been going on in that coaches box or coaches head all year?

27-08-2023, 12:29 AM

He was really trying to bounce pretty quick into it as well too.

Points I found interesting:
Corrected a journo who said we'd done everything we can to make finals 'everything tonight.' Seems to really lament the last couple of weeks like we do.
Said Lobb has been completely willing to play whatever role for the team whether ruck or forward (not surprising given he's even gone on the wing) and they're aware of past performances where he's turned games after going in the middle but probably lends more credence to English being the holdout on getting a more 50/50 mix when he's in Lenglish mode.
Highlighted Cody's tackle numbers (as well as Lobb in the ruck) as part of the turnaround

Oh and Laitham was a precaution but they think he'll be right.

27-08-2023, 12:47 AM
36 possessions, a goal and 800 odd metres gained. Maybe he should give him a post-season call to coax him out of retirement as well.

27-08-2023, 01:09 AM
Good second half performance tonight. Westy finally gets some time in the middle. I thought he showed plenty & gives us something in there. Could of been a bit tidier in there but his grunt work I was happy with. I thought when Dunks left that Westy or Garcia would see some time in there, but had to wait for the last H&A game of the year to see it. Its amazing! you give the kid a chance in there & then you can actually see what he can do. Go figure huh!
Lobb in the middle was important. He has looked good the last few weeks. Seemed to me we had no idea how to play the guy for 3/4s of the year & now maybe we do have an idea & now he looks what we were after in the first place.
What the hell has been going on in that coaches box or coaches head all year?

That's the happiest I've seen you recently.

27-08-2023, 01:11 AM
36 possessions, a goal and 800 odd metres gained. Maybe he should give him a post-season call to coax him out of retirement as well.

I can live with whatever Isaak Smith does.

He gets footy, knows his role and can kick. Almost my perfect footballer.

27-08-2023, 01:21 AM
I'm really pleased with that performance overall. Make no mistake, we were up against it tonight, amplified by the absence of so many of Geelong's best 22. I certainly don't think their absence made our task significantly easier, and it might've made it harder.

Irrespective of the Geelong lineup this was a good result. At their home, with 100 million years since we last beat them down at that freezing, skinny shaped crap hole and with ZERO for them to lose from any win/loss outcome. If Geelong lose - then they were depleted and inexperienced of course they lost. If Dogs lose, we put the exclamation mark on a dumpster fire of a season whilst Geelong get to spruik all over the off-season about the new era of talent they have coming through.

I really liked how we were the one's who responded and got a run on. I thought that was character building and affirming, given the team's recent history during games of capitulating after crafting a decent lead and having dominance of play.

27-08-2023, 02:00 AM
Weightman 11!

Very good game.

27-08-2023, 07:36 AM

There was some talk on here when he was leaving the Hawks that he'd be a good fit for us and there was also some talk that he was too old. His 3 years at the Cats proved that viewing this DOB and making assumptions on that was extremely short-sighted. His 3 years at the Cats were highly productive. Quite a player.

27-08-2023, 08:21 AM
There was some talk on here when he was leaving the Hawks that he'd be a good fit for us and there was also some talk that he was too old. His 3 years at the Cats proved that viewing this DOB and making assumptions on that was extremely short-sighted. His 3 years at the Cats were highly productive. Quite a player.

Agree 100%. He is a jet.

27-08-2023, 08:39 AM

Its ironic needing Carlton to win.

Next year it will be GWs to win

27-08-2023, 10:23 AM

I was thinking about those discussions last night. I think he well and truly proved the 'too old' brigade wrong as he'd have made a massive difference over the last 3 years if he came to us (maybe even enough that the premiership race would be over before the run on by Melbourne?)

FWIW I don't remember what side of the discussion I was on or if I even had an opinion. If I said too old I was for sure wrong.

27-08-2023, 10:33 AM
That's the happiest I've seen you recently.

I hope people aren't reading my posts thinking I'm someone struggling with life because I don't generally like what I see when I tune in to see the boys play. Covid had an enormous impact on my life & me as a person but out the other side now & I'm in a place now thats all sunshine & rainbow. I'm a glass half full person now but maybe most don't see that with my posts.
I just see a squad with so much upside the last 2 years & watching games that don't marry up to the potential. Its good to know that this forum has members that actually care about their fellow human. We certainly need more of that in society.

27-08-2023, 11:09 AM
How can Bevo keep his job?

Are you all absolutely insane? It's not like we're finishing 18th. Get a grip.

You may not like it, but it's not crazy that he may keep his job after making a GF, making finals, and then just missing out. Jesus Christ.

Stop watching TV and listening to SEN, it's messing with you.

I mean, he might lose his job and that would probably be OK, but it's equally OK if he keeps it.

Just read this thread it was like I was reading MAGA supporters opinions.

27-08-2023, 12:15 PM
Centre Bounce Attendances tonight. We just relied on the old guard mids with Lobb getting a lot more time than normal. (Last week. English 26. Lobb 4.)

Treloar 27
Libba 23
Bont 23
English 16
Lobb 14
West 11
McLean 6

Hypothetical, do we prefer a side where West gets those CBAs or Bailey Smith?

27-08-2023, 12:22 PM
Hypothetical, do we prefer a side where West gets those CBAs or Bailey Smith?

My preference is to give West a chance and ask him to become the contested beast. We will never know if we don't play him there consistently.

27-08-2023, 12:31 PM
I was thinking about those discussions last night. I think he well and truly proved the 'too old' brigade wrong as he'd have made a massive difference over the last 3 years if he came to us (maybe even enough that the premiership race would be over before the run on by Melbourne?)

FWIW I don't remember what side of the discussion I was on or if I even had an opinion. If I said too old I was for sure wrong.

I said too Old because I was (and probably still am) sick of getting discards from other clubs that are 30 plus. Having said that Lobb and Jones have worked out ok.

Isaac has proven to be a top player for Geelong.

27-08-2023, 12:33 PM
I hope people aren't reading my posts thinking I'm someone struggling with life because I don't generally like what I see when I tune in to see the boys play. Covid had an enormous impact on my life & me as a person but out the other side now & I'm in a place now thats all sunshine & rainbow. I'm a glass half full person now but maybe most don't see that with my posts.
I just see a squad with so much upside the last 2 years & watching games that don't marry up to the potential. Its good to know that this forum has members that actually care about their fellow human. We certainly need more of that in society.

Good to hear you are doing a lot better after Covid and your posts have swung to be more half glass full.

27-08-2023, 12:38 PM
How do rate Mclean's game yesterday?
15 disposals with 11 of them handballs, 6 tackles and 76 % time on ground.

I didn't see anything bad did he do enough to keep a spot?

27-08-2023, 12:40 PM

The trouble is if you have Macrae, Smith, Duryea and perhaps JJ coming back - who do you drop.

27-08-2023, 12:45 PM
The trouble is if you have Macrae, Smith, Duryea and perhaps JJ coming back - who do you drop.

I suppose the next question would be Mclean or McNeil as the substitute

27-08-2023, 12:45 PM

He?s ok for a depth player through the middle or where he can do a defensive job on another slower player. I probably don?t see a spot for him on our senior list in 2024.

27-08-2023, 12:54 PM
He?s ok for a depth player through the middle or where he can do a defensive job on another slower player. I probably don?t see a spot for him on our senior list in 2024.

I do as a tagger. If he gets enough of the ball can be a good offensive player and hurt the opposition. The fact that he had 6 tackles shows he has a defensive mindset.

But will we play a tagger ???? I am afraid I am asking a rhetorical question.

27-08-2023, 12:56 PM
I suppose the next question would be Mclean or McNeil as the substitute

I think we play finals next week in the VFL, so that may influence who the sub is

27-08-2023, 01:23 PM
Westy finally gets some time in the middle. I thought he showed plenty & gives us something in there. Could of been a bit tidier in there but his grunt work I was happy with.

Why does he fumble so much?

He busts a gut in there but he just isn't clean...I wish he could tidy this up. I understand you have to take the good with the bad but I find the fumbling really frustrating...

27-08-2023, 01:38 PM
VDM, Crozier, Baker and McNeil's sub spot

27-08-2023, 01:51 PM
VDM, Crozier, Baker and McNeil's sub spot

The question was asked about Mclean. Do you keep him in?

27-08-2023, 01:53 PM
The question was asked about Mclean. Do you keep him in?
There are 4 I wouldn't play in front of him

27-08-2023, 03:20 PM

He busts a gut in there but he just isn't clean...I wish he could tidy this up. I understand you have to take the good with the bad but I find the fumbling really frustrating...

Is that something you've noticed with him in the past because TBH I'd have considered that a strength of his normally. Picking up a loose ball and getting quick hands to someone else running towards goal feels like his forte and why his assist numbers are somewhat high but maybe that's just perception rather than fact

27-08-2023, 03:50 PM
Is that something you've noticed with him in the past because TBH I'd have considered that a strength of his normally. Picking up a loose ball and getting quick hands to someone else running towards goal feels like his forte and why his assist numbers are somewhat high but maybe that's just perception rather than fact

Last night he was very fumbley and disposal was uphazard.

27-08-2023, 04:07 PM
Last night he was very fumbley and disposal was uphazard.

But is that typical of him or a bit uncharacteristic?

27-08-2023, 04:11 PM
Muted tv and JJCale strumming on b box.
No expectatations, no commercial analysis except WOOF n me.

Little known fact that JJ Cale was a big dogs supporter.

27-08-2023, 04:11 PM
Bevo calling out Weightman?s tackling pressure and putting Lobb into the Ruck.

Weightman was interviewed after the game on Fox and he quipped that he probably hadn't even made 11 tackles across his career. I get that he was being light-hearted but it's a... strange... attitude for a small forward to have in 2023 and a bit revealing.

27-08-2023, 04:17 PM

Could it be related to how much experience he has had in the position at AFL level. Personally I enjoyed some of his work.

27-08-2023, 05:11 PM
But is that typical of him or a bit uncharacteristic?

maybe uncharacteristic

27-08-2023, 05:37 PM
Weightman was interviewed after the game on Fox and he quipped that he probably hadn't even made 11 tackles across his career. I get that he was being light-hearted but it's a... strange... attitude for a small forward to have in 2023 and a bit revealing.

Was he just trying to be self-deprecating to show humility?

27-08-2023, 08:26 PM
I suppose a win is good.

I suppose pick 8 had we lost is better than pick 10 for having won after choking for 3 months.

27-08-2023, 08:44 PM
Good to hear you are doing a lot better after Covid and your posts have swung to be more half glass full.

It was tough period for everyone & some of us for different reasons. It was the worst time & the best at the same time. Life has so much to offer but in the end its mindset that will determine how we perceive our own reality.

27-08-2023, 08:47 PM
Over to you Ameet and Grant lets see what you can come up with, It's going to be an interesting off season.

27-08-2023, 08:48 PM

I think we saw a guy who has itching for so long to get a chance in there that mentally he was conscious of having an impact in there to prove his worth that the pressure he placed on himself caused him to fumble. Worth giving Westy some time in there in the future I think.

27-08-2023, 08:55 PM
Over to you Ameet and Grant lets see what you can come up with, It's going to be an interesting off season.

We can't as a club now hide behind a disappointing finals performance and think that making the 8 is an achievement. It's never really been that but many people see a top 8 finish as some sort of justification that the side performed well.

We will get an early draft pick, probably land a father son and draft 3 other players and hopefully trade for a player or two.

That there is still a lot of things to get excited about and we just need to strengthen the list and fix the footy department set-up.

27-08-2023, 09:01 PM
We can't as a club now hide behind a disappointing finals performance and think that making the 8 is an achievement. It's never really been that but many people see a top 8 finish as some sort of justification that the side performed well.

We will get an early draft pick, probably land a father son and draft 3 other players and hopefully trade for a player or two.

That there is still a lot of things to get excited about and we just need to strengthen the list and fix the footy department set-up.
For me, the problem has been more about the game plan and less about the players.

Even as late as last night we had players miles away from the opposition because they were minding grass instead of opponents.

getting more red, white and blue into the viewing area would be a major improvement.

27-08-2023, 09:05 PM
How do we get the playing group to buy in and actually give a f***? Like put their body on the line. Play your role to help the team even if it doesn't win the accolades. Consistently do the 1%ers. Pressure with effort.

These are the sorts of things the majority of our players think are negotiable. They seem to think their talent will just gift them wins. It never does at this level. I don't know why the coaches haven't drilled this into the players and haven't consistently dropped them for not doing it. Carlton turned it around mid season. We're still letting our players off the hook.

The gameplan and personnel are certainly big things that need fixing. But the above fundamentals are more crucial to me. For whatever reason Bevo doesn't seem to value them.

27-08-2023, 09:08 PM
Good to finish a frustrating year with a win at that Shit Hole.

Hopefully something is done to fix the culture at the football club - can't have the tail wagging the dog year after year.

On the Pies for the flag.

Looking forward to the next few drafts when players I have helped coach since under 12s from my club will be graduating to the AFL and AFLW.

And that's a wrap for 2023.

27-08-2023, 09:40 PM

The coaching box is a massive issue, have a look at what Big Ange has done at Tottenham in three games they are unrecognisable from the previous regime even after losing their best all time player.He is a man with a plan and a clear directive on what style of football he wants from his side.

All our coaching panel could come up with after being poor defensively last year was slow and wide ball movement. I wonder how long they took to come up with that? We also went into the season thinking land of the giants was our point of difference and it basically lasted one game. They were also wedded to three key defenders all year, how many times did we see Keath and Gardner get used as the exit kick??????? It was humorous at times. Oh and while I'm at it my favourite move was the weekly swapping of Vandermeer and Caleb in the last month now that was genius.

Did anyone else find it strange that it took the last game to push English forward when he wasn't impacting the game?

I'm not sure I have faith in Ameet and Grant after kicking the can down the road last year but all we can do is hope GVGr.

I agree that if we are strong enough we can seriously rebound I really like our draft hand but it all comes down to Bevo. If he can accept his short comings, If Ameet and Grant can bring in some talented coaches in then we can see a bulldogs side play some exciting football again.

As I said in another post it feels like groundhog day at the kennel, lets hope it doesn't continue.

27-08-2023, 10:50 PM
The coaching box is a massive issue, have a look at what Big Ange has done at Tottenham in three games they are unrecognisable from the previous regime even after losing their best all time player.He is a man with a plan and a clear directive on what style of football he wants from his side.

All our coaching panel could come up with after being poor defensively last year was slow and wide ball movement. I wonder how long they took to come up with that? We also went into the season thinking land of the giants was our point of difference and it basically lasted one game. They were also wedded to three key defenders all year, how many times did we see Keath and Gardner get used as the exit kick??????? It was humorous at times. Oh and while I'm at it my favourite move was the weekly swapping of Vandermeer and Caleb in the last month now that was genius.

Did anyone else find it strange that it took the last game to push English forward when he wasn't impacting the game?

I'm not sure I have faith in Ameet and Grant after kicking the can down the road last year but all we can do is hope GVGr.

I agree that if we are strong enough we can seriously rebound I really like our draft hand but it all comes down to Bevo. If he can accept his short comings, If Ameet and Grant can bring in some talented coaches in then we can see a bulldogs side play some exciting football again.

I'm not that concerned about the coaching box as others might be and I think losing Rohan Smith isn't ideal but we do need to make changes to the footy department set-up and it has to start somewhere.

28-08-2023, 04:13 PM
More than 28 weeks until the next Game Day thread. How depressing.

28-08-2023, 04:23 PM
More than 28 weeks until the next Game Day thread. How depressing.

We have the excitement of the delistings, trades and Draft in the meantime. :D

28-08-2023, 04:44 PM
We have the excitement of the delistings, trades and Draft in the meantime. :D
Thanks Dodoro ;)

I wonder which club will finish 2nd in trade week behind the Bombers this year.

28-08-2023, 04:58 PM
Thanks Dodoro ;)

Zerk-Thatcher apparently wants out to Port.

He's not bad.

28-08-2023, 05:25 PM
Thanks Dodoro ;)

Dodoro is on track to win his 20th trade week Premiership in succession. The man is a genius, just ask him.