Melbourne vs. Richmond MCG 7:20pm Seven/Fox
Tuesday, Apr 25 - Anzac Day
Collingwood vs. Essendon MCG 3:20pm Seven/Fox
16-04-2023, 11:43 PM
22-04-2023, 10:48 AM
Looking forward to watching the round unfold now that we have notched the first win of the week.
Cats V Swans. It should be interesting tonight. Cats have had a few kills against weak teams, but tonight will be a bigger test.
Blues v Saints. This game will reveal a lot. I have not been too impressed with the Blues even though they have 3 1/2 wins.
Demons v Tigers. Tigers should be easy prey for a rebounding Demons
Pies v Dons. Should be a ripper. For a change a game that deserves the big stage.
22-04-2023, 05:38 PM
Looking forward to seeing Geelong beaten at GMHBA..
22-04-2023, 08:35 PM
Charlie Cameron with 7.2 from 10 kicks and 12 score involvements from 15 possessions. Just bonkers.
22-04-2023, 09:10 PM
I’d forfeit going to Geelong or send the third string side.
Whats the point ?
22-04-2023, 09:17 PM
Whats the point ?
Sydney's defence is cooked and they haven't really bothered showing up through the middle.
We'll be fine.
22-04-2023, 09:30 PM
Sydney's defence is cooked and they haven't really bothered showing up through the middle.
We'll be fine.
13 goals up at 3/4 time and they’ve been in average form it’s bonkers.
22-04-2023, 09:48 PM
Sydney have been atrocious though. In every way, irrespective of personnel.
22-04-2023, 10:12 PM
Whats the point ?
Last game of the year yeah? Hopefully they've sewn up top spot and have nothing to play for.
22-04-2023, 10:33 PM
Gee whiz. I hate Geelong. Every time I think they are done, they come again.
23-04-2023, 08:48 AM
They are one of the few teams left in the comp that has a genuine home ground advantage.
There should never ever be a final played at that ground that involves Geelong.
23-04-2023, 08:48 AM
Swans' worst second half since 1971 (so Sydney’s worst ever).
Longmire’s worst ever loss.
23-04-2023, 12:29 PM
Charlie Cameron with 7.2 from 10 kicks and 12 score involvements from 15 possessions. Just bonkers.
His a great player, best small forward in the comp. Electric
23-04-2023, 03:39 PM
Hawks by 10 points, bringing Crows back down to earth
23-04-2023, 03:47 PM
Hawks by 10 points, bringing Crows back down to earth
Put the moz on them and Crows win by 3 ;)
23-04-2023, 05:05 PM
Just turned game on. Cordy doing ok for Saints. I’m happy for him. Weird seeing him in another shirt.
23-04-2023, 05:54 PM
Carlton bigger pretenders than us
23-04-2023, 05:57 PM
Saints pretty solid under Lyon. Well drilled. Very reminiscent of their 2008-10 days.
Be interesting to know what this system he has implemented though. This list is performing much better.
23-04-2023, 06:20 PM
Saints pretty solid under Lyon. Well drilled. Very reminiscent of their 2008-10 days.
Be interesting to know what this system he has implemented though. This list is performing much better.
They're out-running opponents, specially late in games.
Using the corridor means that overall their running is a bit more 'useful' too. Given Collingwood's rise, is taking the risk to use the corridor the new effective trend in AFL football?
23-04-2023, 07:09 PM
I have never rated Voss as a coach. With the players they have they should be a top 4 side
23-04-2023, 07:29 PM
Using the corridor means that overall their running is a bit more 'useful' too. Given Collingwood's rise, is taking the risk to use the corridor the new effective trend in AFL football?
I mean the corridor has always been the way to hurt opponents and teams have therefore ensured to defend it. Most of the time if you try to use it you turn it over. How are the likes of Collingwood and saints able to break that down now? And wouldn't teams ensure the corridor is well defended?
I thought I read somewhere last week that the pies forced the saints to use the corridor which worked for them. I assumed the saints wanted to use the boundary.
From my untrained eye it looks like the saints, as you said, use their run. But they seem to use the wings with numbers and space. They always seem to have an extra with the ball carrier running out of defence and amazingly an extra up at half forward. Might simply be work rate.
23-04-2023, 07:36 PM
Brad Hill looks a like a player and a half again.
I have never rated Voss as a coach. With the players they have they should be a top 4 side
LOL...with the players they have.
Ed Curnow is playing - he's been cooked for 5 years.
23-04-2023, 08:17 PM
Lyon and his assistant have done a fantastic job to be 5-1 after 6 rounds . IF you would have asked me last year if the saints would be here, I would have laughed. Just shows how little I know about the genius or genesis of Lyon. I really dont know much about footy.
The saints have really lifted as a team and they have players seemingly recruited from nowhere playing their parts .
Stoker, Cody, Mason Wood would not have gotten a game in their old sides.
They found Caminitti from Carlton.
I would not be surprised if Tom Campbell gets a game this year!
Hunter Clarke is starting to fullfil his potential
interestingly the top disposals were all Calrton.
Cerra 39
Walsh 38
Acres 36
Crips 34
Hewitt 29
Newman 28
Sinclair 27
23-04-2023, 08:41 PM
Lyon and his assistant have done a fantastic job to be 5-1 after 6 rounds . IF you would have asked me last year if the saints would be here, I would have laughed. Just shows how little I know about the genius or genesis of Lyon. I really dont know much about footy.
The saints have really lifted as a team and they have players seemingly recruited from nowhere playing their parts .
Stoker, Cody, Mason Wood would not have gotten a game in their old sides.
They found Caminitti from Carlton.
I would not be surprised if Tom Campbell gets a game this year!
Hunter Clarke is starting to fullfil his potential
interestingly the top disposals were all Calrton.
Cerra 39
Walsh 38
Acres 36
Crips 34
Hewitt 29
Newman 28
Sinclair 27
GWS had more or less the same problem yesterday.
Kelly 41
Cognilio 38
Haynes 27
Rich 27
Perryman 24
Whitfield 23
Toby Greene 22
23-04-2023, 09:35 PM
It appears some of their supporters have had enough of him and are looking for change already.
23-04-2023, 09:54 PM
Do you really enjoy the life of a self hating Bulldog?
23-04-2023, 09:55 PM
He's gotten them super fit, and ready to bring it up to the opposition and rebound the other way. A bit like Ratten did in his first season or so.
23-04-2023, 09:57 PM
This is going to sound like lip service, but it is until it isn't.
Using the corridor has always been awesome if you can pull it off. But eventually you'll have to become more circumspect about your chances as teams shut you down as they get used to it.
It's before round ten, I'm not worrying about "footy trends" for a few more weeks.
23-04-2023, 09:59 PM
Carlton fans and the media are about as silly as it gets when rating Carlton's quality. It catches on.
23-04-2023, 10:58 PM
They have a long injury list that doesn't help. I take it you don't rate their list. Curnow wouldn't be playing if some of the players injured were available.
Player
Injury
Update
Jordan Boyd
Foot
In full training.
Will be available this week. (Update: 19 April)
Matthew Cottrell
Foot
In full training.
Expected to be available next week. (Update: 19 April)
David Cuningham
Calf
Returning to skills training next week. (Update: 19 April)
Sam Docherty
Knee
Underwent surgery for a meniscus tear.
Expected to be available in 4-6 weeks. (Update: 12 April)
Caleb Marchbank
Calf
Has returned to skills training this week. (Update: 19 April)
Jack Martin
Calf
Returning to skills training next week. (Update: 19 April)
Mitch McGovern
Calf
Was a late withdrawal with calf tightness last week.
Will aim to train fully on Friday: is a test to play this week. (Update: 19 April)
Matthew Owies
Hamstring
Expected to be available in Round 8. (Update: 12 April)
Sam Philp
Foot
Underwent surgery after experiencing a stress fracture to the second metatarsal in his foot.
Has been placed on the inactive list. (Update: 3 February)
Marc Pittonet
Eye
Has been cleared of any damage to his eye.
Will be available to play. (Update: 19 April)
Adam Saad
Hamstring
Scans showed a low-grade hamstring strain.
At this stage is expected to miss 1-2 weeks. (Update: 12 April)
Zac Williams
Knee
Underwent surgery after rupturing his anterior cruciate ligament.
Ruled out for the 2023 AFL season. (Update: 3 February)
24-04-2023, 06:50 AM
Do you really enjoy the life of a self hating Bulldog?
You really don?t like a joke don?t you?
They have a long injury list that doesn't help. I take it you don't rate their list. Curnow wouldn't be playing if some of the players injured were available.
Injuries huh?
Well, everyone's got 'em.
Carlton's list is fine but being anointed as a top 4 side when they haven't yet made the top 8? Spare me.
The commentary on this stuff is completely OTT and because they have Cripps, Walsh, Curnow, McKay and Weitering doesn't mean they have a 'winning' team. Throw Saad in that group above if you like but I think he has been at 3x clubs and NEVER ONCE been in a team that has made the top 8.
Their list is 'fine'.
But put our top 5 against theirs and see where you think the strength is (I think it's about even).
Put our NEXT 5 against theirs and we are CLEARLY ahead...
Because Carlton were a trendy pick pre-season and because they have a large membership = lots of clicks they get some good PR, but top 4?
Plus, Michael Voss is potentially TOO SMART a footy person and I suspect is still seriously over-complicating things...so when they go bad they are HORRID...
Yep - throw Zac Williams in there...great. Mitch McGovern - well, he's ALWAYS injured and being available is a SKILL....Cottrell is OK as a developing outside mid...Docherty gets the ball I guess but hurt factor is low...
So right now they have Saad and Williams out. And Williams ain't coming back.
24-04-2023, 10:37 AM
They were 5-1 with a percentage of 130 after 6 rounds last year as well. 8-3 at the bye. Finished 11-11.
I think this year does look different with the way they're playing and teams they're beating, BUT their real test will come in the second half of the year.
24-04-2023, 10:48 AM
I actually think Carlton’s list profile is very similar to ours, with undeniably elite top end talent mixed in with a pretty rough bottom 6 each week. Only difference is our guys are sourced for cheap whereas most of their lesser players are somehow top 10 picks.
Also I’ve never seen an agitprop campaign for a footballer be sustained for so long as the one put on by Channel 7 in support of Jack Silvagni.
24-04-2023, 11:01 AM
Injuries huh?
Carlton's list is fine but being anointed as a top 4 side when they haven't yet made the top 8? Spare me.
The commentary on this stuff is completely OTT and because they have Cripps, Walsh, Curnow, McKay and Weitering doesn't mean they have a 'winning' team. Throw Saad in that group above if you like but I think he has been at 3x clubs and NEVER ONCE been in a team that has made the top 8.
Their list is 'fine'.
But put our top 5 against theirs and see where you think the strength is (I think it's about even).
Because Carlton were a trendy pick pre-season and because they have a large membership = lots of clicks they get some good PR, but top 4?
Plus, Michael Voss is potentially TOO SMART a footy person and I suspect is still seriously over-complicating things...so when they go bad they are HORRID...
Yep - throw Zac Williams in there...great. Mitch McGovern - well, he's ALWAYS injured and being available is a SKILL....Cottrell is OK as a developing outside mid...Docherty gets the ball I guess but hurt factor is low...
Don't disagree with any of that, but I still think they are currently under achieving.
PS: They are the club I hate the most, equal with Essendon.
24-04-2023, 12:16 PM
Hearing Schache might get a gig tonight.
Hope he goes ok, can kick a bag with the right delivery.
24-04-2023, 02:45 PM
Hearing Schache might get a gig tonight.
Hope he goes ok, can kick a bag with the right delivery.
I wouldn't boo him, go Josh.
24-04-2023, 03:12 PM
I wouldn't boo him, go Josh.
I might say Boo-urns.
24-04-2023, 03:55 PM
Injuries huh?
Their list is 'fine'.
Just on Carlton. Listen to this passionate caller on 3AW
https://twitter.com/jasonhimm2/status/1650076472365940736
24-04-2023, 04:55 PM
Ross the Boss is an absolute gun coach, and I was surprised at how many dissenters he had a couple of years ago. If Luke Sayers got his way, Carlton would be top 4 with a bullet - Voss is just not at the level of a Ross Lyon when it comes to tactical nous, game plan development and taking away the opposition strengths.
His teams are a hard watch but he is a coaching master.
24-04-2023, 07:42 PM
Ross the Boss is an absolute gun coach, and I was surprised at how many dissenters he had a couple of years ago. If Luke Sayers got his way, Carlton would be top 4 with a bullet - Voss is just not at the level of a Ross Lyon when it comes to tactical nous, game plan development and taking away the opposition strengths.
His teams are a hard watch but he is a coaching master.
Ross also played footy with craft.
One step ahead.
24-04-2023, 08:03 PM
Kick arse tiges!
24-04-2023, 08:04 PM
Jake Lever is an idiot, and all of the commentators are idiots as well.
The protected area extends to behind the mark. Dumbshits.
I still laugh at his meltdown from last year's finals series. It was so weird......
24-04-2023, 08:07 PM
Kysiah Pickett is supremely balanced like a cat.
24-04-2023, 08:11 PM
I still laugh at his meltdown from last year's finals series. It was so weird......
For such a smart footballer he certainly does some dumb shit. God damn I love watching when it happens.
24-04-2023, 08:16 PM
For such a smart footballer he certainly does some dumb shit. God damn I love watching when it happens.
It just popped up again. Chef's kiss!*
*Not the macaroon flavoured type.
24-04-2023, 08:18 PM
Richmond have Melbourne where we had them earlier this year, and previously at times that I won't mention.
Let's see what happens as Melbourne respond clinically.
24-04-2023, 08:23 PM
Sorry BID54 no positive comments on Pickett.
24-04-2023, 08:26 PM
Richmond four goals up and Darcy says they are in this game up to their ears. About as mind boggling when Hamish says great to see Picket back after that terrible act…
Seriously if I could figure out how to stream the radio call…
24-04-2023, 08:34 PM
Richmond four goals up and Darcy says they are in this game up to their ears. About as mind boggling when Hamish says great to see Picket back after that terrible act…
Seriously if I could figure out how to stream the radio call…
It doesn't matter how much they try to glorify Melbourne, Melbourne will always be unlikeable, and considered complete pieces of shit, rent seeking, cheating arseclowns to everyone else.
24-04-2023, 08:34 PM
Wondered what that free was for. Thanks for explaining. How far behind the mark does the “protected area” extend to?
24-04-2023, 08:42 PM
Wondered what that free was for. Thanks for explaining. How far behind the mark does the “protected area” extend to?
Would be 5 meters. Lever got very close as Cumberland kicked for goal.
24-04-2023, 08:49 PM
You're lucky it's not your job to know this stuff like it is for the players and commentators otherwise you'd be in big trouble with me buddy.
24-04-2023, 08:59 PM
Both of his 50s are just about 1 and 2 for the stupidest bits of play I've ever seen in a football match.
It genuinely annoys me when the commentators don't know the rules but are happy to bag out the umpires. STFU and call the game.
24-04-2023, 09:05 PM
You're lucky it's not your job to know this stuff like it is for the players and commentators otherwise you'd be in big trouble with me buddy.
Just testing your knowledge:)
You didn’t answer my question. Does that mean I need to do my own research??
I see aza got in first :)
24-04-2023, 09:08 PM
Just testing your knowledge:)
You didn’t answer my question. Does that mean I need to do my own research??
I see aza got in first :)
Aza's always picking up knowledge crumbs.
24-04-2023, 09:09 PM
I just need to say, again, that I think it's magnificent Max Gawn is interested in coffee. It really brings the game to life.
24-04-2023, 09:10 PM
I just need to say, again, that I think it's magnificent Max Gawn is interested in coffee. It really brings the game to life.
Why you watching the footy when another episode of Succession has dropped
24-04-2023, 09:15 PM
Why you watching the footy when another episode of Succession has dropped
I already watched it inspector jeemak police.
It was actually awesome, BTW.
24-04-2023, 09:18 PM
Yes I thought it was too. :)
24-04-2023, 09:21 PM
How bad is that umpiring?
Brayshaw clearly kicked it, wasn't tackled. Pinged.
24-04-2023, 09:22 PM
I'm not sure I've seen two teams lose their minds so much as I have in the last ten minutes.
24-04-2023, 09:27 PM
Crazy game of footy. So much better than yesterday’s supposed blockbuster which ended up being a bit of a yawn fest.
24-04-2023, 09:30 PM
Still a bullshit rule.
24-04-2023, 09:34 PM
What's happened to beer ads in this country?
24-04-2023, 09:35 PM
Crazy game of footy. So much better than yesterday’s supposed blockbuster which ended up being a bit of a yawn fest.
You mean the sold out game that had thousands of seats vacant?
24-04-2023, 09:38 PM
Cracking contest, Richmond have their work cut out now to claw this one back.
24-04-2023, 09:43 PM
You mean the sold out game that had thousands of seats vacant?
That’s the one between the “perennial underachievers whose supporters think they are on the cusp of sustained success but are guaranteed to be let down with a thud” v “the flogs who are already talking up a flag but won’t get near it as their team will fall in a heap when it matters”. Yes that game.
24-04-2023, 09:53 PM
Geez Richmond don’t know how to win at the moment.
early days but the Hopper and Taranto trades have been a poor return for Tiges. I would be spewing if we offered 7 year contracts and this is what we are getting
24-04-2023, 09:53 PM
When I am king and after half of the channel 7 commentary team has been put to the wall, my instructions to the remainder of them will be that any time they refer to a player as "Max" or "Jack" they will be next in line.
24-04-2023, 09:58 PM
Geez Richmond don’t know how to win at the moment.
early days but the Hopper and Taranto trades have been a poor return for Tiges. I would be spewing if we offered 7 year contracts and this is what we are getting
They get a bit of the footy but they won't hurt teams like other mids. Put them around Oliver or Bont and they probably work out pretty well but not as the number 1 and 2 in the midfield.
24-04-2023, 10:16 PM
4 Umpires is clearly a problem
24-04-2023, 10:17 PM
So many missed shots missed by the Tigers. Just needed to hit some of them to wrestle the momentum back. They lost by three goals and missed so many gettable set shots in the last quarter and a half.
24-04-2023, 10:18 PM
So many missed shots missed by the Tigers. Just needed to hit some of them to wrestle the momentum back. They lost by three goals and missed so many gettable set shots in the last quarter and a half.
3.8 in the second half
24-04-2023, 10:28 PM
Can someone please explain to me why the Tigers traded for Hopper?
24-04-2023, 10:29 PM
You have to love Cumberland.
24-04-2023, 10:45 PM
Jack Riewoldt did a great job to get them in a strong position but too many others were wasteful.
24-04-2023, 10:47 PM
Can someone please explain to me why the Tigers traded for Hopper?
Hopper is an okay player and has plenty of football in front of him but certainly isn't a number 2 or even 3 midfielder in a good side.
25-04-2023, 12:41 AM
Congrats on finally watching the show right
25-04-2023, 08:39 AM
Hopper is an okay player and has plenty of football in front of him but certainly isn't a number 2 or even 3 midfielder in a good side.
Hes had two very good seasons (2019 and 2021) where injuries forced him to be the #2 mid at GWS, but most of his other seasons have been ruined by injury and opportunity. Think he made the all Australian squad in one or both of those years as well. I don't mind him - but agree he hasn't repaid the faith so far.
25-04-2023, 08:42 AM
4 Umpires is clearly a problem
It kinda begs the question, is there not enough quality umpires ?
or...
the rules are such crap now that it makes it hard for umpires to "interpret" , adding that layer of subjectivity?
25-04-2023, 08:43 AM
He has extraordinary balance, agility and knows how to keep his feet. He is also an amazing 1 touch player and just so clean in picking up the footy.
25-04-2023, 09:06 AM
It kinda begs the question, is there not enough quality umpires ?
or...
the rules are such crap now that it makes it hard for umpires to "interpret" , adding that layer of subjectivity?
Both
What a fun team Collingwood are to watch, play breathtaking football. The Daicos brothers are amazing.
25-04-2023, 05:58 PM
It?s delicious, delightful. Go Pies!! Final wish from a lovely Q4 - Please show Stringer?s countenance upon siren.
Wish granted. Thanks Camera person.
25-04-2023, 06:03 PM
What a fun team Collingwood are to watch, play breathtaking football. The Daicos brothers are amazing.
They certainly are. That last quarter was unbelievable. For most of that game Essendon were the better team, Collingwood were pretty average - skill error, poor execution- then in the last it is like it is a different team. It is obvious their fitness levels are above other teams as they are just able to run, run, run.
The only way to beat them will be to use the superior height advantage to gain a 50+ lead at 3/4 time.
25-04-2023, 06:06 PM
As much as I hate to say it but Brad Scott has Essendon looking like a decent team. They are also good to watch, not in the Collingwood league but they go alright.
25-04-2023, 06:10 PM
Moore a class act-on the field one of the best and just then spoke extremely well and from the heart. Good role model.
25-04-2023, 06:11 PM
As much as I hate to say it but Brad Scott has Essendon looking like a decent team. They are also good to watch, not in the Collingwood league but they go alright.
They certainly looked pretty good for most of the first 3 quarters, however I really expected Essendon to win when you look at the injury list at Collingwood.
25-04-2023, 06:11 PM
Yeah, I thought for 3.5 quarters they were going to win.. then the Collingwood pressure just overwhelmed them.
Essendon have much more disciplined and they look to be more hard working than last year.
The pies are a good team to be able to stay in it even if they were 3 goals behind. They just kept running, creating pressure and wait for the turnover.
The sad look on the Bombers face was a highlight of the round.
25-04-2023, 06:23 PM
Was getting concerned that the Bombres could win and even worse might be improving. Pies are unbelievable in these situations. Yes, fitness but brute strength around the ball too with guys like De Goey, McGreery, Crisp unable to be pushed aside. Their self belief is also phenomenal.
25-04-2023, 06:27 PM
When Stringer kicked a goal at the end of the 3rd quarter to make it 28 points my mate sent me a message saying 'the package always delivers'.
He had one touch in the final quarter.
25-04-2023, 06:47 PM
When Stringer kicked a goal at the end of the 3rd quarter to make it 28 points my mate sent me a message saying 'the package always delivers'.
If your reply didn't include some reference to the song "Return to Sender" then I will be immensely disappointed.
25-04-2023, 06:49 PM
Was getting concerned that the Bombres could win and even worse might be improving. Pies are unbelievable in these situations. Yes, fitness but brute strength around the ball too with guys like De Goey, McGreery, Crisp unable to be pushed aside. Their self belief is also phenomenal.
Went to the game today after an invite, great atmosphere and glad Pies won.
Collingwood won basically without a ruckman and no support from the forward line with many players down - Mihocek, Hill ordinary game from Elliot, Johnson flashed in and out. However, Nick Daicos is an unbelievable player with 40 disposals and two crucial goals in the last.
25-04-2023, 06:50 PM
Stringer was lazy, little effort and should be ashamed of himself.
25-04-2023, 07:04 PM
Stringer was lazy, little effort and should be ashamed of himself.
11 disposals , same as Elliot
Stringer 5Kicks 6 H Zero Marks , 3 Tackles , Zero Goal assist
Elliott 8 K 3 H , 6 Marks, Zero Tackles , 2 Goal Assist .
25-04-2023, 08:53 PM
McGreery is so strong and balanced over the ball.
25-04-2023, 09:06 PM
Beau McCreery is exactly the type of player I’d love in our colours. Reminds me so much of Clay Smith.
25-04-2023, 09:13 PM
Beau McCreery is exactly the type of player I’d love in our colours. Reminds me so much of Clay Smith.
His running power is phenomenal.
25-04-2023, 09:28 PM
His running power is phenomenal.
His very good tackler, 3.5 average a game
https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/players/4056/beau-mccreery
total irrelevant, but his player sponsored by : Barwon Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
I never realised sponsorships went that wide in terms of type of businesses . I don't even know what that company does! fascinating.
25-04-2023, 10:18 PM
With an average playing list and probably paying 600K of Treloar and Grundys salary how and why are Collingwood so impressive at the moment?
25-04-2023, 10:47 PM
11 disposals , same as Elliot
Stringer 5Kicks 6 H Zero Marks , 3 Tackles , Zero Goal assist
Elliott 8 K 3 H , 6 Marks, Zero Tackles , 2 Goal Assist .
Elliot was poor . Every time he got the ball he stopped and waited. He should have been moving the ball quicker.
26-04-2023, 12:38 AM
With an average playing list and probably paying 600K of Treloar and Grundys salary how and why are Collingwood so impressive at the moment?
Are they average? Their first 4 flankers would be in our top 10 players. Pace and out numbering are a major asset.
26-04-2023, 07:09 AM
Are they average? Their first 4 flankers would be in our top 10 players. Pace and out numbering are a major asset.
No ruckman, outside of Moore their key position players are average and their midfield is relying on the ageing Sidebottom, Mitchell and Pendles.
I agree their flankers are fantastic but they are getting results far better than the strength of their list.
26-04-2023, 07:47 AM
I'm sure there are significant tactical reasons, but what stands out to me is that they are fit, committed to each other, play with attacking flair and defensive intent, and don't seem to take anything too seriously. They are confident and trust each other.
It's not that different to Dogs 2016. Need a clear simple plan which everyone is committed to.
26-04-2023, 08:21 AM
No ruckman, outside of Moore their key position players are average and their midfield is relying on the ageing Sidebottom, Mitchell and Pendles.
I agree their flankers are fantastic but they are getting results far better than the strength of their list.
Darcy Cameron and Mason Cox are a more than adequate ruck duo.
I think you are underestimating Taylor Adams, Josh Dacois, De Goey, Jack Crisp and Nathan Murphy.
Their role players go ok also; Maynard, Noble, Lipiniski, Mccreery.
26-04-2023, 09:04 AM
Darcy Cameron and Mason Cox are a more than adequate ruck duo.
I think you are underestimating Taylor Adams, Josh Dacois, De Goey, Jack Crisp and Nathan Murphy.
Their role players go ok also; Maynard, Noble, Lipiniski, Mccreery.
Cameron and Cox, as well as Lipinski, have been out injured for most of the year, and Adams has been shifted to a half forward role which he is struggling in.
Their ruckman for the last month have been Dan McStay, Ash Johnson and Billy Frampton.
It is very impressive what they're doing - playing people in their natural positions and letting them play their natural games.
26-04-2023, 09:42 AM
While their outs have been significant I don’t think it’s unfair to question the offensive potency of their midfield. When we cooked them last year it was on the back of total clearance and stoppage dominance.
De Goey has come on a lot in this area but if they are vulnerable anywhere I think it’s still on the inside.