View Full Version : Lloyd out against Bulldogs

10-04-2008, 06:03 PM
Big news on the Bomberblitz forum is that Lloyd will be out this week with a soft tissue injury. Many members discussing it and the word at Windy Hill today was that Lloyd said he will miss one??? Unsure of the validity of this statement but it came from a member at Windy Hill training today. Also Welsh will play with Bendigo and Jetta is a def out. Jason Johnson may be back and young Neagle might get a run. I guess we'll find out in due course whether these chinese whispers are accurate but it is big news on their forum. Great outs for us.

10-04-2008, 06:07 PM
Huge news if it is in fact true.

10-04-2008, 06:11 PM
Indeed, bye bye forward line. C Johns would be the logical replacement but he is also under an injury cloud apparently. Bombers fans on that forum are absolutely spewing:p:D

10-04-2008, 06:14 PM
ESSENDON
B: Ramanauskas, Michael, Fletcher,
HB: Nash, Ryder, Reimers
C: Houli, Watson, Dyson
HF: Davey, McPhee, Lovett
F: McVeigh, Laycock, Lovett-Murray
FOLL: Hille, Lonergan, Stanton
I/C: Monfries, Peverill, Slattery, Winderlich
EMG: Johns, Johnson, Pears
IN: Slattery, Lovett-Murray
OUT: Jetta (hamstring), Lloyd (calf)

WESTERN BULLDOGS
B: Callan, Lake, Morris
HB: Gilbee, Wight, Hargrave
C: Hill, Boyd, Cross
HF: Murphy, Hahn, Giansiracusa
F: Akermanis, Johnson, Welsh
FOLL: Hudson, Cooney, Griffen
I/C: Addison, Minson, Eagleton, Harbrow
EMG: Street, Ward, Skipper
IN: Eagleton
OUT: West (knee)

Field umpires: Stevic, McLaren, Head

http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=57693

10-04-2008, 06:16 PM
Interesting that Skipper has moved up to the emergencies. I wonder if Eagleton is actually fit this week.

10-04-2008, 06:17 PM
Yay I should be WOOF's injury specialist:D (by looking on other club forums:p) Like I said a HUGE out for us.

10-04-2008, 06:21 PM
Does anyone think they are planning to outrun us?
Three tall defenders, two tall forwards in Laycock and McPhee, one ruckman in Hille and nothing tall on the bench.

This is a real change to the normal Essendon teams and granted losing Lloyd on top of the injury to Lucas has tested them but I thought they might have look at some of the other talls on their list. Will Fletcher play as a forward this week?

10-04-2008, 06:38 PM
Does anyone think they are planning to outrun us?
Three tall defenders, two tall forwards in Laycock and McPhee, one ruckman in Hille and nothing tall on the bench.

This is a real change to the normal Essendon teams and granted losing Lloyd on top of the injury to Lucas has tested them but I thought they might have look at some of the other talls on their list. Will Fletcher play as a forward this week?

I thought he might have played forward anyway. Now I definitely think he will.

Perhaps by naming this line-up Essendon are actually thinking ahead of the curve by realising our team simply isn't that 'small' these days. Who - for example - will Wight play on?

That said, if we can find a way to get Hahn to play on Ryder (as the teams are named), I wouldn't actually mind that. If I was Knights though, I would be tempted to throw Hille forward, play McPhee back (on Welsh) and Ryder into the ruck to really try and out-run us.
That is just me though.

10-04-2008, 06:51 PM
Alright hopefully Wight and Harris are agile enough if they have to go small. Maybe Morris will become the FB for the match if they chuck allot of smalls down there

10-04-2008, 06:59 PM
Alright hopefully Wight and Harris are agile enough if they have to go small. Maybe Morris will become the FB for the match if they chuck allot of smalls down there

A tall Dogs side playing a Dons team with a short forward line?

Never seen that before - when was the last time that happened?

10-04-2008, 07:00 PM
Wight is extremely athletic and quick for a 200cm guy and Lake is also quick off the mark so that should not cause too many difficulties. Lake should get Hille going forward and Wight should get Fletcher as I reckon he'll start forward as well. The Bombers may be trying to outrun us but they lose a key player in Jetta in that strategy. Also, on paper without Jetta and Dempsey, they really don't look super-quick. I reckon our pressure will quell their run after the 1st quarter again (but lets not give them a 6 goal start ok Doggies). The run and carry game style worked well for us in 06 but then teams started to put extra pressure on us and we started to cough it up. I think that type of game plan is a little see through and as stated in other threads if we keep the pressure on I don't think they have the skill level to be too damaging. Anyway, I seem to be the instigator of one of a few similar threads going at the moment so mods if you want to combine them that's fine, just wanted to draw attention to the fact that Lloyd was out.

10-04-2008, 07:28 PM
You're in the fine box! LAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Noo. I was so proud at never having said Harris.:o

It's like blinking when you see the sun, you don't choose to do it it just happens.;)

10-04-2008, 07:31 PM
Wight is extremely athletic and quick for a 200cm guy and Lake is also quick off the mark so that should not cause too many difficulties. Lake should get Hille going forward and Wight should get Fletcher as I reckon he'll start forward as well. The Bombers may be trying to outrun us but they lose a key player in Jetta in that strategy. Also, on paper without Jetta and Dempsey, they really don't look super-quick. I reckon our pressure will quell their run after the 1st quarter again (but lets not give them a 6 goal start ok Doggies). The run and carry game style worked well for us in 06 but then teams started to put extra pressure on us and we started to cough it up. I think that type of game plan is a little see through and as stated in other threads if we keep the pressure on I don't think they have the skill level to be too damaging. Anyway, I seem to be the instigator of one of a few similar threads going at the moment so mods if you want to combine them that's fine, just wanted to draw attention to the fact that Lloyd was out.

I think Having Davey and Lovett in the same forwardline still makes them very dangerous. Should be a tall forward most of the time and Wight could go forward so on second thought we should be safe

10-04-2008, 07:36 PM
Lake is going to have a field day as the loose man in defense much like he did against Hawthorn last year. We should smash them now.

10-04-2008, 07:49 PM
Warning,warning! We of all teams should no the danger in playing against a side with injuries, lets not get too cocky, this game is even more dangerous to lose now!
I know there is a saying, something about beware the wounded horse or whatever it is.

10-04-2008, 08:19 PM
Beware greeks bearing gifts???? Oh no that's for the incentives to play interstate games.......

Beware bears with wounded paws???

10-04-2008, 08:56 PM
If I was Knights though, I would be tempted to throw Hille forward, play McPhee back (on Welsh) and Ryder into the ruck to really try and out-run us.
That is just me though.

I wouldn't be surprised if that is what he does.

10-04-2008, 09:23 PM
Beware the Bomber with only one bomb???
I think that might have been a japanese saying.

10-04-2008, 09:30 PM
Beware the Bomber with only one bomb???
I think that might have been a japanese saying.

Who is the bomb?

10-04-2008, 09:34 PM
This makes me more worried. At least we had a longer turn around than they did. Our runners are going to need to work very hard.

10-04-2008, 09:56 PM

Perhaps by naming this line-up Essendon are actually thinking ahead of the curve by realising our team simply isn't that 'small' these days. Who - for example - will Wight play on?

That said, if we can find a way to get Hahn to play on Ryder (as the teams are named), I wouldn't actually mind that. If I was Knights though, I would be tempted to throw Hille forward, play McPhee back (on Welsh) and Ryder into the ruck to really try and out-run us.
That is just me though.

Are you suggesting both Laycock and Hille in the forward line at once?

We'll all get sore necks watching the ball come out that fast.

10-04-2008, 10:19 PM
Are you suggesting both Laycock and Hille in the forward line at once?

We'll all get sore necks watching the ball come out that fast.

And no one to ruck for them. Not sure how realistic this is.

10-04-2008, 10:21 PM
And no one to ruck for them. Not sure how realistic this is.

I am pretty sure he had Ryder in the ruck.

10-04-2008, 10:25 PM
Ryder in the ruck? i feel sorry for Mal Michael, be 4 onto 1

10-04-2008, 10:43 PM
Its a bit of a worry with Lloyd and Lucas and co being out.

Remember last year when we played Adelaide after we were on a winning run. Adelaide had half of their side out. We practically played their reserves.

They thrashed us.

We do not learn by our mistakes.

10-04-2008, 10:48 PM
Its a bit of a worry with Lloyd and Lucas and co being out.

Remember last year when we played Adelaide after we were on a winning run. Adelaide had half of their side out. We practically played their reserves.

They thrashed us.

We do not learn by our mistakes.

I was thinking the same thing. I can remember a few times when dangerous goal kickers are out injured or suspended against us and you think you have it in the bag but then someone bobs up and snags a few goals.
Didn't someone from the Tigers do that to us a few years back?

10-04-2008, 10:51 PM
Who is the bomb?

No idea they are running pretty thin...Davey?? Lovett Murray? Johns?

10-04-2008, 11:04 PM
I think he may still play (based on something in the Footy Show opener)

10-04-2008, 11:08 PM
but he isnt in emergencies so can he still play?

10-04-2008, 11:09 PM
I think he may still play (based on sometihng in the Footy Show opener

The Footy Show opener hinted that somoone who has been named will not be playing... Not the other way around.

10-04-2008, 11:13 PM
more trouble for essendon

10-04-2008, 11:15 PM
The Footy Show opener hinted that somoone who has been named will not be playing... Not the other way around.

Bowden is named on an extended bench but the speculation is he will be dropped.

10-04-2008, 11:20 PM

That is just me though.

I also felt Fletcher was always going to play forward against us with Lucas out.

Do you think Hille will ruck and then go forward, allowing Ryder to do the around the ground rucking. I would have though Hudson would murder Ryder in the centre squares.

They are definitely going to try and out run us. Looks like Ward is the option if Eagle does not come up.

How heavily do Essendon zone off under Knights. If we can win the centre squares can they really match up all our forward options if we use it well?

10-04-2008, 11:31 PM
I also felt Fletcher was always going to play forward against us with Lucas out.

Do you think Hille will ruck and then go forward, allowing Ryder to do the around the ground rucking. I would have though Hudson would murder Ryder in the centre squares.

They are definitely going to try and out run us. Looks like Ward is the option if Eagle does not come up.

How heavily do Essendon zone off under Knights. If we can win the centre squares can they really match up all our forward options if we use it well?

They appear to have been given a license to zone off at will gauging by their game plan for rds 1-3. Didn't work against the Cats of course but against the other two teams (Carlton, Nth. Melb) shock and awe worked well. I believe that If we win the centre clearances we will win the game.