View Full Version : Always Right Match Committee Round 16 v Fremantle

19-05-2023, 05:47 PM
Welcome to the Always Right Match Committee Thread. The Match Committee threads has been named after long time WOOF member Always Right who tragically passed away in March 2018.

If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee, what changes would you make after our Round Fourteen match against North Melbourne for our Round Sixteen match (after the bye) against Fremantle Dockers at Marvel on Saturday.

For those new to these threads, please give a brief explanation for your changes ... this would add a lot of value to the discussion

18-06-2023, 09:31 AM

18-06-2023, 08:32 PM
In:

Bruce, Buss, Richards

Out:

Jones & TOB (injured), smaller type

Naughton CHB, Bruce FP, Buss 3rd KPD, Richards back

18-06-2023, 08:43 PM
In:

Bruce, Buss, Richards

Out:

18-06-2023, 08:49 PM
In:

Bruce, Buss, Richards

Out:

Dislike

18-06-2023, 08:50 PM
Dislike

I’m sure you will post something more in depth for discussion purposes.

18-06-2023, 09:04 PM
Agreed ;)

18-06-2023, 09:09 PM
Out
Jones and TOB

In
Gardner and Poulter

I don't want another tall forward. The Marra/Lobb plus medium-smalls worked well.

Naughton, Keath (yuck), Gardner. Gardner on Amiss, Keath on Treacy, Naughton floating.

18-06-2023, 09:27 PM
Bizarrely I found myself at the Giants home game yesterday, Freo were really putrid and I think we can be a little adventurous with selections.

18-06-2023, 09:36 PM

Agreed ;)

Out Jones, TOB

In: Bruce and Gardner

18-06-2023, 09:43 PM
Bizarrely I found myself at the Giants home game yesterday, Freo were really putrid and I think we can be a little adventurous with selections.

That's not the sort of information that will ingratiate yourself with other WOOF members. :)
Read the room DR, read the room :)

18-06-2023, 09:51 PM
So Jones and TOB are out

In A Jones and Richards.

I honestly thought we looked better with Naughton down back. The only wish I would like is Khamas in for Baker. I thought that Hannan has a place forward if Naughts plays back. Jones Wilmer better with some rest.

18-06-2023, 09:52 PM
That's not the sort of information that will ingratiate yourself with other WOOF members. :)
Read the room DR, read the room :)

The story is actually much, much worse.

An old uni mate was up in Sydney and it was his idea to catch up at the game.

He is a Demons fan and wanted to watch Toby Greene play....

18-06-2023, 09:52 PM
Out Jones O'Brien
In Cleary or Crozier or Poulter, Khamis

Naughton to the backline

18-06-2023, 09:56 PM
So Jones and TOB are out

In A Jones and Richards.

I honestly thought we looked better with Naughton down back. The only wish I would like is Khamas in for Baker. I thought that Hannan has a place forward if Naughts plays back. Jones Wilmer better with some rest.

Richards is a few weeks away BB and those suggestions would leave us very light on.

18-06-2023, 10:00 PM
That’s a bugger. I think we really need some speed. When the game is quick we like ok good. Very good.

18-06-2023, 10:01 PM
I'd consider

In Sweet, Gardner and either Poulter or Bruce
Out Jones, O'Brien and Lobb.

18-06-2023, 10:30 PM
I'd consider

In Sweet, Gardner and either Poulter or Bruce
Out Jones, O'Brien and Lobb.

Lobb looked good without Naughts in the forward 50. He had three good leads that were not honered.

18-06-2023, 10:33 PM
Lobb looked good without Naughts in the forward 50. He had three good leads that were not honered.

Should’ve ended up with 3-4 but for poor decisions by teammates. I thought he looked good tonight.

18-06-2023, 10:37 PM

But I'm keeping Naughty forward and Bevo won't move him back unless he absolutely has to.
Lobb took one overhead mark and wasn't much chop in the ruck.
I don't mind sticking with him but we have to admit he's not offering much.

19-06-2023, 07:25 PM
But I'm keeping Naughty forward and Bevo won't move him back unless he absolutely has to.
Lobb took one overhead mark and wasn't much chop in the ruck.
I don't mind sticking with him but we have to admit he's not offering much.

I saw an interesting stat on the weekend. Apparently leading up to the game we'd targeted Naughton ~80 to 85 times, Jamarra about 70% of that and Lobb less than 50% of that. So if you want to know why his output is low compared to last year, there's your answer.

He'd have probably had the ball kicked to him at least twice as much last year, and funnily, kicked more goals! Here's the comparison in output for last year, we just need to look for him more and the example of Jamarra ignoring him yesterday was a perfect example.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=8&playerStatus2=A&tid2=8&type=A&pid1=3946&pid2=3946&fid1=S&fid2=P&fopt2=2022

19-06-2023, 08:15 PM
I saw an interesting stat on the weekend. Apparently leading up to the game we'd targeted Naughton ~80 to 85 times, Jamarra about 70% of that and Lobb less than 50% of that. So if you want to know why his output is low compared to last year, there's your answer.

He'd have probably had the ball kicked to him at least twice as much last year, and funnily, kicked more goals! Here's the comparison in output for last year, we just need to look for him more and the example of Jamarra ignoring him yesterday was a perfect example.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=8&playerStatus2=A&tid2=8&type=A&pid1=3946&pid2=3946&fid1=S&fid2=P&fopt2=2022

For me I am not too worried about goal kicking but rather his success (or not) as a chop out for Tim in the ruck. When he rucks he needs to play better than he has. Marking has been an issue around the ground. If he gets a goal or two a week then forward play is ok as he takes another tall away from Naughton and JUH.

19-06-2023, 08:42 PM
For me I am not too worried about goal kicking but rather his success (or not) as a chop out for Tim in the ruck. When he rucks he needs to play better than he has. Marking has been an issue around the ground. If he gets a goal or two a week then forward play is ok as he takes another tall away from Naughton and JUH.

I tend to agree that he could impact the game more when taking a turn in the ruck. Interestingly for me is he's spending 83% of time on ground with us, and was up around 97% for Fremantle.

19-06-2023, 10:47 PM
I'd like to see Naughts down back but it won't happen.

In- Bruce, JOD, McNeil (starting)
Out- TOB, Jones, Baker (becomes sub)

I know Bruce was awful against Port but I liked what I saw of him in the VFL more than Gardner. Bruce can at least possibly be swapped with Naughts too if we want to change it up. Thought JOD was great in the VFL and I think suits the KPD3 role way more than whoever is left from Bruce or Gardy.

19-06-2023, 11:51 PM
I'd like to see Naughts down back but it won't happen.

In- Bruce, JOD, McNeil (starting)
Out- TOB, Jones, Baker (becomes sub)

I know Bruce was awful against Port but I liked what I saw of him in the VFL more than Gardner. Bruce can at least possibly be swapped with Naughts too if we want to change it up. Thought JOD was great in the VFL and I think suits the KPD3 role way more than whoever is left from Bruce or Gardy.

I haven't seen JOD play the previous weeks. Did he play in the backline at all? I know that is his position, and maybe that is where he should play if he comes back in.

20-06-2023, 06:43 AM
He did play back last game. Took an all mighty leap over the pack on the wing during the last game and if he'd marked it instead of a hefty punch it would have been about mark of the year. Correct me if I'm wrong for those at the game as I'm relying on TAFE TV.

20-06-2023, 06:55 AM
I haven't seen JOD play the previous weeks. Did he play in the backline at all? I know that is his position, and maybe that is where he should play if he comes back in.

Played back last week. Bevo mentioned him in the press conference and how well he did. He'll be in for TOB.

20-06-2023, 04:24 PM
An inexperienced JOD, a cooked and slow Bruce and an out of form Gardner suggested as ins ? Freo forwards must be salivating already.

20-06-2023, 05:45 PM
I'd bring in Gardiner.

Match-ups would determine if I brought in another tall or someone more mobile.

It sucks that Jones is out for so long.

20-06-2023, 06:07 PM
I'd bring in Gardiner.

Match-ups would determine if I brought in another tall or someone more mobile.

It sucks that Jones is out for so long.

Gardner

20-06-2023, 10:04 PM
An inexperienced JOD, a cooked and slow Bruce and an out of form Gardner suggested as ins ? Freo forwards must be salivating already.

That's how we roll.

20-06-2023, 10:33 PM
Gardner has to come in for mine. I would bring in JOD as well.

Not sure I would make any other changes. Thought Baker was ok. Hannan was Hannan, so may be him out and McNeill in.

20-06-2023, 10:37 PM
I would actually play Bruce forward and Naughton back. Gardner is terrifyingly out of form and is just a real worry atm.

Also, if Darcy is a test him before JOD under any circumstance.

20-06-2023, 10:56 PM
I would play Bruce and Naughton back and Keith forward with occasional chop out from Lobb and English. This is follow strategy from bevo for out selections

Hell just make it more interesting , recall JOD so he can play at both ends

21-06-2023, 10:16 AM

Who are these forwards you talk of?

Amiss is promising, but are really concerned about him & Treacy?

21-06-2023, 10:22 AM
Who are these forwards you talk of?

Amiss is promising, but are really concerned about him & Treacy?
I'm more concerned about Sean Darcy returning to the team (he's a test this week). He destroyed us in the EF last year, although to counter-balance that we absolutely torched their midfield in Perth earlier this year with Darcy playing.

We will need to win the midfield battle decisively again, which we are capable of doing. Our key defensive personnel are obviously important, but nowhere near as important as the midfield battle.

21-06-2023, 10:46 AM
I'm more concerned about Sean Darcy returning to the team (he's a test this week). He destroyed us in the EF last year, although to counter-balance that we absolutely torched their midfield in Perth earlier this year with Darcy playing.

We will need to win the midfield battle decisively again, which we are capable of doing. Our key defensive personnel are obviously important, but nowhere near as important as the midfield battle.

It's one of the reasons why I would consider playing Sweet next week to help combat Darcy. I do also feel that this is the best version of Tim English so it might be a bit of an overkill to play a 2nd pure ruck.

21-06-2023, 11:39 AM
It's one of the reasons why I would consider playing Sweet next week to help combat Darcy. I do also feel that this is the best version of Tim English so it might be a bit of an overkill to play a 2nd pure ruck.

I'd only bring in Sweet to release English to play forward and then allow Naughton to go back.
1- Bevo won't do it
2- I don't mind Sweet and think he is a decent back up but I believe his tap work strength is largely a myth. He beats up on rucks who aren't close to AFL level, rucks who are really raw and part timers filling in. Also feel we'd lose plenty from English around the ground.

21-06-2023, 11:42 AM
I'd only bring in Sweet to release English to play forward and then allow Naughton to go back.
1- Bevo won't do it
2- I don't mind Sweet and think he is a decent back up but I believe his tap work strength is largely a myth. He beats up on rucks who aren't close to AFL level, rucks who are really raw and part timers filling in. Also feel we'd lose plenty from English around the ground.

Darcy would dominate Sweet. May as well have someone in there with strengths Darcy might struggle to counter

21-06-2023, 12:17 PM
1- Bevo won't do it
As none of the above will happen, we really need to challenge Lobb to step it up in the next few weeks and release English to provide more aerial cover in D50. Jones was a sweeper and rebound marker, and none of our other key defenders have that capability in them and IMO need the additional aerial assistance from English (Keath did once upon a time but it's not 2019 anymore). English covers the ground as well as anyone and can also get involved in defensive transitions/ball movement out of D50.

Lobb needs to provide much more both in ruck back-up and in F50, where he should be doing more of the stoppage work than previous weeks. Also there's nothing stopping deploying Naughton for short bursts late in quarters either on ball or in D50 as a spare, something he's done on occasions in recent history. I like the idea of keeping the opposition guessing in game and being less predictable with our structure.

Sweet is not really competing with English for a spot in the team, he's competing more with Lobb. Quite simply we need to get more out of Lobb, both as 2nd ruck and as 2nd/3rd tall forward.

21-06-2023, 01:30 PM
As none of the above will happen, we really need to challenge Lobb to step it up in the next few weeks and release English to provide more aerial cover in D50. Jones was a sweeper and rebound marker, and none of our other key defenders have that capability in them and IMO need the additional aerial assistance from English (Keath did once upon a time but it's not 2019 anymore). English covers the ground as well as anyone and can also get involved in defensive transitions/ball movement out of D50.

Lobb needs to provide much more both in ruck back-up and in F50, where he should be doing more of the stoppage work than previous weeks. Also there's nothing stopping deploying Naughton for short bursts late in quarters either on ball or in D50 as a spare, something he's done on occasions in recent history. I like the idea of keeping the opposition guessing in game and being less predictable with our structure.

Sweet is not really competing with English for a spot in the team, he's competing more with Lobb. Quite simply we need to get more out of Lobb, both as 2nd ruck and as 2nd/3rd tall forward.

Totally agree. My 3rd point was going to be dropping Lobb.

I've said it a few times, Lobb is very rare in AFL where he is actually suited to mainly KPF/ruck relief role. I think he is coasting/just surving atm, not saying he isn't trying but he kind of has a guaranteed place due to how specialised his role is. Be better than Hannan in the ruck and Sweet up forward. Dropping him means a big change to the side but he can't just go on with such low benchmarks.

21-06-2023, 01:36 PM
Lobb isn't having the ball kicked to him and is playing 85% of the TOG he was last year. Not sure what output people are looking for when he not prioritised as a target and English puts huge minutes in the ruck (85% TOG in total). When Lobb was at Freo Darcy only spent 80% TOG most likely giving Lobb as many minutes in the ruck as he gets today on top of the minutes he had as the main target forward of the ball.

I feel simply need to utilise/ prioritise Lobb more if we want to get more out of him.

21-06-2023, 01:48 PM
Lobb isn't having the ball kicked to him and is playing 85% of the TOG he was last year. Not sure what output people are looking for when he not prioritised as a target and English puts huge minutes in the ruck (85% TOG in total). When Lobb was at Freo Darcy only spent 80% TOG most likely giving Lobb as many minutes in the ruck as he gets today on top of the minutes he had as the main target forward of the ball.

I feel simply need to utilise/ prioritise Lobb more if we want to get more out of him.

Great point/s.

What I was trying to get at is we got/should have get Lobb for a very specific reason. Not many of his type at all and we targeted him. I was thinking that getting Lobb would mean more of a balance with English.

21-06-2023, 01:53 PM
Great point/s.

What I was trying to get at is we got/should have get Lobb for a very specific reason. Not many of his type at all and we targeted him. I was thinking that getting Lobb would mean more of a balance with English.

Do you think we are managing him a bit due to ankle?

21-06-2023, 01:54 PM
Great point/s.

Cheers, agreed.

I like Sedat's role for English helping out across half back, or even deeper as required. That should pull Lobb further up the field and give him more ruck minutes and at the same time open up some space in the forward line.

21-06-2023, 01:58 PM
Do you think we are managing him a bit due to ankle?

Yeah, maybe. Jeemak made a great point about TOG. One the reasons I was happy about us getting Lobb was his ability to play huge TOG. More chop out in ruck, bigger mins up forward. Helps rest of team.

Atm he is providing less TOG than I thought and probably a notch down up forward and as ruck relief.

Stevo
21-06-2023, 04:06 PM
In Bruce and Gardner
Out OBrien and Jones.

Simples.

21-06-2023, 04:12 PM
In Bruce and Gardner
Out OBrien and Jones.

Simples.

Is it though?

I would think our line-up might depend on what Frematle's team looks like.. if they play 3 talls what you have mentioned makes sense, but not sure we need all of Keath, Gardner & Bruce if they only play 2.

21-06-2023, 04:27 PM
Is it though?

I would think our line-up might depend on what Frematle's team looks like.. if they play 3 talls what you have mentioned makes sense, but not sure we need all of Keath, Gardner & Bruce if they only play 2.

Maybe we play all of them in the hope they gel together in preparation for weeks where Jones is out and we play teams with a few more imposing talls.

21-06-2023, 05:10 PM
Maybe we play all of them in the hope they gel together in preparation for weeks where Jones is out and we play teams with a few more imposing talls.

That would be a change in philosophy as it's been a 'horses for courses' approach thus far as referenced by TOB being omitted for Bruce for the Port game as they had 3 genuine talls.

21-06-2023, 05:18 PM
Times like these its annoying that they've tried to make Buku a forward. Would like to see him replace O'Brien ideally.

Not that phased on Bruce or Gardner....prefer Naughton play back though.

21-06-2023, 05:43 PM
Times like these its annoying that they've tried to make Buku a forward. Would like to see him replace O'Brien ideally.

I don't know if he's ever going to be good enough but they have really done is development a disservice. Just flung around in multiple positions and never able to focus on his craft in one. Right now he's a Fwd/Ruck. Why? Is LB still hell bent on having undersized rucks not winning any contests?

21-06-2023, 06:23 PM
I don't know if he's ever going to be good enough but they have really done is development a disservice. Just flung around in multiple positions and never able to focus on his craft in one. Right now he's a Fwd/Ruck. Why? Is LB still hell bent on having undersized rucks not winning any contests?

He rucks as a relief to Sweet. We don't have anyone else (which we should) Darcy will take over when he is back.

21-06-2023, 07:21 PM
That would be a change in philosophy as it's been a 'horses for courses' approach thus far as referenced by TOB being omitted for Bruce for the Port game as they had 3 genuine talls.

I think with Jones as the anchor they may have felt they could afford the flexible approach. Not sure with him out for a couple of months or whatever it is that they can.

21-06-2023, 08:35 PM
I reckon Naughty will go back now that Liam's injury is not far off the remainder of the regular season, it gives Bevo an out for mine( his comments).

How do you go back to what we had in defence last year? It didn't work then and it won't work now. It must be said our defence trailed off significantly which coincided with Liam's drop in form(you can obviously point to JJ and Ed too) prior to him getting injured.

Mix it anyway you want but Keath,Bruce and Gardner aren't the solution to the problem they are role players where as Naughty can be and bring them along for the ride.

The one thing against it, is Naughty's contact situation and the fact we asked him to carry a ridiculous load last year and again would be asking him to go over and above.

The bye gives us an opportunity to change let's do it rather than continue to go down the same road, it gives us an opportunity to scratch that Naughty itch in defence.

21-06-2023, 09:11 PM
He rucks as a relief to Sweet. We don't have anyone else (which we should) Darcy will take over when he is back.

Joel Garner was a pretty tall man back when he played for the West Indies. Put him in the ruck.

22-06-2023, 10:34 AM
I reckon Naughty will go back now

I will be shocked if Naughton doesn't line up in the forward 50 Saturday week v Freo. Every single piece of evidence we have suggests Bevo will not play him back as a first option.

22-06-2023, 11:00 AM
Joel Garner was a pretty tall man back when he played for the West Indies. Put him in the ruck.

Josie will love you advocating picking him up and playing asap.

22-06-2023, 12:37 PM

I wouldn’t be against playing Naughton back given the decimation of our defence without Jones JJ and Richards. Apart from the talent we have in the midfield we struggle both in defence and our forward line. I think it is time for a revamp of our line up by including Sweet to alternate with English at full forward. We also struggle with lack of goals from our small forwards and would prefer to see Bont and Treloar spending more time forward. At the moment there is an over reliance on the midfield through the likes of Bontempelli Liberatore Treloar Macrae and now Daniel to keep us afloat.

22-06-2023, 12:53 PM
I wouldn’t be against playing Naughton back given the decimation of our defence without Jones JJ and Richards. Apart from the talent we have in the midfield we struggle both in defence and our forward line. I think it is time for a revamp of our line up by including Sweet to alternate with English at full forward. We also struggle with lack of goals from our small forwards and would prefer to see Bont and Treloar spending more time forward. At the moment there is an over reliance on the midfield through the likes of Bontempelli Liberatore Treloar Macrae and now Daniel to keep us afloat.

Would you still play English and Sweet through the forward line if the MC didn't put Naughton back?

23-06-2023, 03:19 PM
Josh Treacy,
[9] Luke Jackson,
[10] Michael Walters
HF
[39] Sam Switkowski,
[24] Jye Amiss,
[5] Lachie schultz are the forwards I talk of Mantis, I.e their entire forward line

23-06-2023, 11:01 PM
Would you still play English and Sweet through the forward line if the MC didn't put Naughton back?

Bevo is reluctant to play Sweet so I cannot see him changing his mind. With Jones missing we lack a quality key defender. All of Gardner Bruce O?Brien and Keath struggle to fill that role.
LB has already highlighted his decision not to play Naughton back so we are left with tossing a coin on playing
2 or 3 of the above mentioned.
We are still content to play Lobb as a back up to English and he has been disappointing. Having said that I would play Naughton at
Centre half forward where his class and quick leading avoids him being found competing with 2 or 3 others regularly in the air closer to goal.

Critter
25-06-2023, 09:55 AM
From Ray Ward in today's Age newspaper.

"...Fremantle knew they missed ruck Sean Darcy, but perhaps they undersold his absence as his return saw the Dockers snap back into form and end Essendon’s four-match winning streak at Optus Stadium on Saturday night.
Darcy’s impact on the stat sheet looked modest but his presence at the stoppages broke open the game for his side’s much-vaunted midfield. Second ruck Luke Jackson spent more time up forward and kicked a game-high three goals in a 32-point win over the Bombers..."

Well, I'll be buttered on both sides! Who'd a thunk it? A solid, strong, tap ruckman frees up a midfield and his more mobile, strong-marking partner goes forward and kicks gaols.

D Mitchell
25-06-2023, 10:35 AM
From ...Well, I'll be buttered on both sides! ....

That's a beauty, love it

25-06-2023, 10:38 AM

"...Fremantle knew they missed ruck Sean Darcy, but perhaps they undersold his absence as his return saw the Dockers snap back into form and end Essendon’s four-match winning streak at Optus Stadium on Saturday night.
Darcy’s impact on the stat sheet looked modest but his presence at the stoppages broke open the game for his side’s much-vaunted midfield. Second ruck Luke Jackson spent more time up forward and kicked a game-high three goals in a 32-point win over the Bombers..."

Well, I'll be buttered on both sides! Who'd a thunk it? A solid, strong, tap ruckman frees up a midfield and his more mobile, strong-marking partner goes forward and kicks gaols.

I love Darcy. Would look great in the RWB.

25-06-2023, 05:07 PM
So it all comes back putting time into Like Jackson next week. We stop hom we go a long way to winning this game. We need Timmy to have a huge take and get back to his best.

25-06-2023, 06:15 PM
So it all comes back putting time into Like Jackson next week. We stop hom we go a long way to winning this game. We need Timmy to have a huge take and get back to his best.

Didn't Jackson do most of his damage as a forward?

I feel like I'm missing something???

25-06-2023, 06:37 PM

English to CHB… clearly

25-06-2023, 07:24 PM

Yes but we need him to drop back and fill the hole. Are back 6 will not be able to manage him with Timmy playing back as an extra.

25-06-2023, 07:52 PM

"...Fremantle knew they missed ruck Sean Darcy, but perhaps they undersold his absence as his return saw the Dockers snap back into form and end Essendon?s four-match winning streak at Optus Stadium on Saturday night.
Darcy?s impact on the stat sheet looked modest but his presence at the stoppages broke open the game for his side?s much-vaunted midfield. Second ruck Luke Jackson spent more time up forward and kicked a game-high three goals in a 32-point win over the Bombers..."

I have a feeling we'd probably consider playing a good stoppage ruckman if we actually had one. The last time we did have one he was played and he was almost broken (SSSM).

25-06-2023, 09:08 PM
Yes but we need him to drop back and fill the hole. Are back 6 will not be able to manage him with Timmy playing back as an extra.

OK - Darcy pushes forward though and had a few shots on goal...the backs are simply gonna have to handle him 90% of the time.

27-06-2023, 08:21 AM
Bevo is reluctant to play Sweet so I cannot see him changing his mind. With Jones missing we lack a quality key defender. All of Gardner Bruce O?Brien and Keath struggle to fill that role.
LB has already highlighted his decision not to play Naughton back so we are left with tossing a coin on playing
2 or 3 of the above mentioned.
We are still content to play Lobb as a back up to English and he has been disappointing. Having said that I would play Naughton at
Centre half forward where his class and quick leading avoids him being found competing with 2 or 3 others regularly in the air closer to goal.

If Sweet could do anything other than win taps against F grade VFL ruckman he might be a chance of playing... but that's all he's capable of.

Critter
27-06-2023, 11:09 AM
If Sweet could do anything other than win taps against F grade VFL ruckman he might be a chance of playing... but that's all he's capable of.

I suppose that when you play in the VFL you have no opportunity other than to win taps against F Grade VFL ruckmen. It's when you play in the AFL that you have the opportunity to win taps against A and B grade ruckmen.

27-06-2023, 11:47 AM
I suppose that when you play in the VFL you have no opportunity other than to win taps against F Grade VFL ruckmen. It's when you play in the AFL that you have the opportunity to win taps against A and B grade ruckmen.

But you need to do more, like take marks around the ground. Sweet has a long way to go before he is actually AFL standard

27-06-2023, 01:22 PM
But you need to do more, like take marks around the ground. Sweet has a long way to go before he is actually AFL standard

On this I agree with BAD.

Sweet rarely marks even against that F grade opposition. Not what the coach needs at the top level.

Just trade him and we can forget the weekly discussion.

27-06-2023, 01:34 PM
Just trade him and we can forget the weekly discussion.

Yeah, like we have with Schache, Lipinski and Young.

27-06-2023, 01:40 PM
Yeah, like we have with Schache, Lipinski and Young.

Imagine if he played literally 1 half decent game. It's all we'd ever talk about

27-06-2023, 01:51 PM
Imagine if he played literally 1 half decent game. It's all we'd ever talk about

He's not even dreamy, so he deserves even less of the discussion he receives.

27-06-2023, 07:15 PM
This was the logic that got 12 games into Arthur Jones and 5(?) into JOD.

With both we were happy to see 5 or less possessions in the firsts.

I think both experiments could only be described as failures.

We have emptied the tank of developmental games and must now focus 100% on winning.

27-06-2023, 07:18 PM
Actually he has.

27-06-2023, 07:26 PM
The problem for the Bulldogs this week is the zone that was contributing most to the teams success has been shattered by injuries to Richards, JJ and Jones. Who have we got that can act as a focal point the way Jones has. Every suggested replacement has been struggling in the reserves. This will be the critical selection decision. We must have at least one star shining behind the centre.

Plug that hole and the rest of the team will generate a comfortable win.

27-06-2023, 09:32 PM
This was the logic that got 12 games into Arthur Jones and 5(?) into JOD.

With both we were happy to see 5 or less possessions in the firsts.

I think both experiments could only be described as failures.

We have emptied the tank of developmental games and must now focus 100% on winning.
That's crazy. You want the club to put games into Sweet in the name of development but call playing Jones a 'failed experiment'. Arthur was great. He had a meaningful and obvious impact in a 2 wins when we were under the pump which is about all you can ask for a player in that position at that level of development. Other games were less obvious but his formline was a bit like a mountain. He came in straight from injury, built up and showed he could impact games before running out of steam towards the end. I'd go as far as to say he's had a more clear impact on field already in the AFL than Sweet ever has in his 5 years on the list. I don't have to point to other players impact or an overall win loss rate I can point to passages of play that helped turn the game in our favor. He's certainly had less sub 5 possession games than Sweet if we're arbitrarily determining a pass mark based on possession numbers.

I don't know if Jones will play again this year but I do believe the investment in him has been successful in finding a potential future player

Actually he has.
For another club. The same way people come out and lament the club 'giving away players' that turned down contracts to stay and requested a trade.

And mjp's point is now proven, sub board please

27-06-2023, 10:47 PM
That's crazy. You want the club to put games into Sweet in the name of development but call playing Jones a 'failed experiment'. Arthur was great. He had a meaningful and obvious impact in a 2 wins when we were under the pump which is about all you can ask for a player in that position at that level of development. Other games were less obvious but his formline was a bit like a mountain. He came in straight from injury, built up and showed he could impact games before running out of steam towards the end. I'd go as far as to say he's had a more clear impact on field already in the AFL than Sweet ever has in his 5 years on the list. I don't have to point to other players impact or an overall win loss rate I can point to passages of play that helped turn the game in our favor. He's certainly had less sub 5 possession games than Sweet if we're arbitrarily determining a pass mark based on possession numbers.

I don't know if Jones will play again this year but I do believe the investment in him has been successful in finding a potential future player

For another club. The same way people come out and lament the club 'giving away players' that turned down contracts to stay and requested a trade.

And mjp's point is now proven, sub board please
you are incorrect.

I don?t want any games put into Sweet. The time for doing that has passed us by.

If it had been done in late 2021 we would probably have won a premiership by avoiding one of those 3 losses and not having the impossible round Australia set of finals. If it had been done last year we might have had some small benefit. But now we certainly don?t need him.

We have Lobb finally running into form as both a forward and a ruck. We have put games into a couple of next generation players who will deliver big dividends soon and we have an easy draw. We should be able to build on our great progress and finish top four. I can?t see any excuses this season.

But a few details. Arthur was poor in most games. He ran around a lot but delivered only a few good quarters, finishing up with a Zero possession game. When he went back to the vfl he went close to repeating it.

one of his good quarters was against Carlton, where his early quarters helped put us at risk if Carlton got a run on, which they did.

He will be good down the track, but to give him 12 consecutive games is unheard of in the real world. He should have gained some experience and then gone back to develop. Then some more games. I think there was a lot of hype and little common sense. Similarly with JOD, and to go into the Geelong game with two beginners was stunning. The firsts are a business, but not a nursery.

And to be brought straight in from injury, it was obviously too early but consistent with recent selections.

27-06-2023, 10:58 PM

Whilst I largely agree with you, I can see this statement getting old very quickly next year when he is picked up by a team needing a ruck and given game time. I think Sweet can be a good ruck option and if I had to be honest I would have been playing him as 1st ruck v English and allowing the latter to develop into the Lobb role. That said, you can't make that case today so I expect Sweet to leave and make us look silly.

27-06-2023, 11:05 PM
Whilst I largely agree with you, I can see this statement getting old very quickly next year when he is picked up by a team needing a ruck and given game time. I think Sweet can be a good ruck option and if I had to be honest I would have been playing him as 1st ruck v English and allowing the latter to develop into the Lobb role. That said, you can't make that case today so I expect Sweet to leave and make us look silly.

While I expect Sweet to leave and get games at his new club, we need to keep in mind that our current coach will never play someone like him.

If we compare Jordan Sweet with Will Minson, we should agree that Will was far better as a pure ruck than Sweet will ever be.

It didn't take long for Bevo to take Minson from All Australian Ruckman to out of the game.

27-06-2023, 11:32 PM
you are incorrect.

I don?t want any games put into Sweet. The time for doing that has passed us by.

If it had been done in late 2021 we would probably have won a premiership by avoiding one of those 3 losses and not having the impossible round Australia set of finals. If it had been done last year we might have had some small benefit. But now we certainly don?t need him.

We have Lobb finally running into form as both a forward and a ruck. We have put games into a couple of next generation players who will deliver big dividends soon and we have an easy draw. We should be able to build on our great progress and finish top four. I can?t see any excuses this season.

But a few details. Arthur was poor in most games. He ran around a lot but delivered only a few good quarters, finishing up with a Zero possession game. When he went back to the vfl he went close to repeating it.

one of his good quarters was against Carlton, where his early quarters helped put us at risk if Carlton got a run on, which they did.

He will be good down the track, but to give him 12 consecutive games is unheard of in the real world. He should have gained some experience and then gone back to develop. Then some more games. I think there was a lot of hype and little common sense. Similarly with JOD, and to go into the Geelong game with two beginners was stunning. The firsts are a business, but not a nursery.

And to be brought straight in from injury, it was obviously too early but consistent with recent selections.

I can't

28-06-2023, 12:25 AM
I can't
Not sure what you mean but I will assume you are disputing my comment that losing 2 games instead of 3 would have left us in the top four.

We lost to Hawthorn. They finished the season as fifth last, and it was the victory over the Dogs that prevented them from finishing second last, half a game above the wooden spooners. How did the ruck go in that game, we lost 15-55. Who were our ruckmen? English 10 hitouts assisting Young with 5. We got so much momentum from the centre the team got a massive 5 goals for the whole match.

Embarrassed by a team at the bottom of the ladder. The selection for that game undid a great season by the boys. Was it foreseeable? Only by those who saw Essendon get 6 goals from the centre square ruck contests the week before. And that was a game where, apart from the ruck, the Dogs outplayed them.

So l am happy to be the only one not pretending 2021 was the best it could have been.

28-06-2023, 02:22 AM
Not sure what you mean but I will assume you are disputing my comment that losing 2 games instead of 3 would have left us in the top four.

We lost to Hawthorn. They finished the season as fifth last, and it was the victory over the Dogs that prevented them from finishing second last, half a game above the wooden spooners. How did the ruck go in that game, we lost 15-55. Who were our ruckmen? English 10 hitouts assisting Young with 5. We got so much momentum from the centre the team got a massive 5 goals for the whole match.

Embarrassed by a team at the bottom of the ladder. The selection for that game undid a great season by the boys. Was it foreseeable? Only by those who saw Essendon get 6 goals from the centre square ruck contests the week before. And that was a game where, apart from the ruck, the Dogs outplayed them.

So l am happy to be the only one not pretending 2021 was the best it could have been.

Yes, I was disputing the objective part of that statement not the subjective aspect.

28-06-2023, 04:21 PM
Just looking at training pics on Insta is Naughty wearing different colours to Marra? Naughty to Defence?��

29-06-2023, 03:55 PM
Bravo to the coach for resisting putting his hand in the cookie jar for a whole month.

https://i.ibb.co/cKBxcWd/Screen-Shot-2023-06-29-at-2-56-05-pm.png (https://ibb.co/Gf6FvZj)

29-06-2023, 04:31 PM
Bevo's love of shiny toys comes good. :) In all seriousness with Richards and JJ out the timing is about right.

29-06-2023, 04:34 PM
Wonder if Poulter will play wing or backline? Both he and Williams possess some height and capable of playing either position.

29-06-2023, 04:36 PM
Wonder if Poulter will play wing or backline? Both he and Williams possess some height and capable of playing either position.

We've swung Williams back a couple of times recently so it will be interesting to see if he's going to the HBF so Williams can stay more on the wing. Perhaps he's replacing Baker.

29-06-2023, 04:40 PM
Number 25

29-06-2023, 05:52 PM
Number 25

Hopefully he's more Ryan Hargrave and less Kingsley Hunter.

Also it's a great shame our guys of Hargrave's era never got over the line, we really had a great, tough bunch of guys.

29-06-2023, 05:56 PM

Also it's a great shame our guys of Hargrave's era never got over the line, we really had a great, tough bunch of guys.

Can he punch like Hargrave? If so, he can play on Gary Rohan in the last round.

29-06-2023, 06:01 PM

Our Team of the Century full back, Herb Henderson, rated an absolute Champion, wore No. 25. Herb was full back in our 1954 Premiership.

29-06-2023, 06:09 PM
Our Team of the Century full back, Herb Henderson, rated an absolute Champion, wore No. 25. Herb was full back in our 1954 Premiership.

My grandfather used to talk glowingly about the partnership of Henderson and Donald. Said they knew what the other was doing at all times.

29-06-2023, 06:25 PM
Please.

Create the sugar free zone. I beg of you. What will it take??

29-06-2023, 06:30 PM
We know Poulter is in and Jones and TOB out. I think either Gardner or Bruce come in and no other changes

29-06-2023, 07:17 PM
It's a Bevo special:

In: Poulter, JOD, Gardner
Out: Jones, Baker, TOB, West

29-06-2023, 07:20 PM
Western Bulldogs v Fremantle
Saturday 1 July, 1.45pm AEST
Marvel Stadium

B: Taylor Duryea, Ryan Gardner, James O’Donnell
HB: Bailey Dale, Alex Keath, Laith Vandermeer
C: Jack Macrae, Marcus Bontempelli, Bailey Williams
HF: Bailey Smith, Aaron Naughton, Adam Treloar
F: Cody Weightman, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Rory Lobb
R: Tim English, Caleb Daniel, Tom Liberatore
Int: Caleb Poulter, Lachlan McNeil, Anthony Scott, Mitch Hannan

Sub: Rhylee West
Emerg: Josh Bruce, Jordon Sweet, Arthur Jones

IN: R. Gardner, J. O’Donnell, C. Poulter
OUT: O.Baker (omitted), Jones (injured), O’Brien (injured)

29-06-2023, 07:23 PM
When JOD does nothing for three quarters, I guess we will see Naughton in defence again. That’s fine by me.

29-06-2023, 07:23 PM
It's a Bevo special:

McNeil in for West- swapped roles

29-06-2023, 07:31 PM
The one thing I like is that Daniel will play up the ground in that lineup, he is having a great year.

I must say don't get Mcsteal in front of West but lets be honest its more about how we defend turnover which will determine the result for this group.

29-06-2023, 07:36 PM
McNeil in for West- swapped roles

BRB off to Scott's Facebook.

29-06-2023, 07:43 PM
I mean Baker's your classic JAG type but fancy losing your spot to the coach's latest pet project.

29-06-2023, 07:44 PM
Is Bevo mates with Simon O'Donnell?

29-06-2023, 07:46 PM
It's a Bevo special:

I think these were predictable inclusions. Not sure about dropping both West and Baker though
Happy to see McNeil be given a chance to consolidate his spot.

29-06-2023, 07:54 PM
Is Bevo mates with Simon O'Donnell?

What’s the alternative?

Freo have 3 young & athletic tall forwards so JOD should be in before Bruce.

29-06-2023, 07:56 PM
What’s the alternative?

That's how I see it. We don't need another KPD as we are covering TOB with JOD
Gards replaces Jones and Poulter comes in for Baker.

I think JOD is far more likely to be a better defender at this stage of his development.

29-06-2023, 08:11 PM
I think JOD is far more likely to be a better defender at this stage of his development.

If that's the case we should delist Bruce right now because what's the point?

29-06-2023, 08:16 PM

Khamis too, not sure what his point on the list is at all. JOD’s average of 5 touches at AFEL level are ranked higher. So be it. Live by the sword and all that.

29-06-2023, 08:24 PM

Pretty sure we are outside of the period where you can make changes to the list.

But I’m also pretty sure he would be feeling every single word you just said. JOD might be a better physical match for the oppo we are facing this week but Bruce is simply a better football player. Yep, he’s made a bit of a mess of things down back a few times but he does know how to get the thing at least.

29-06-2023, 09:12 PM
Pretty sure we are outside of the period where you can make changes to the list.

ORLY?

But I’m also pretty sure he would be feeling every single word you just said. JOD might be a better physical match for the oppo we are facing this week but Bruce is simply a better football player. Yep, he’s made a bit of a mess of things down back a few times but he does know how to get the thing at least.

But that's exactly what I'm getting at. Thankyou for mansplaining it.

29-06-2023, 09:13 PM
Number 25

A quarter of a century; but outside the 22 in the team.
I'd take it.

29-06-2023, 09:15 PM

The great HH had Coleman as a bunny.

29-06-2023, 09:17 PM
When JOD does nothing for three quarters, I guess we will see Naughton in defence again. That?s fine by me.
Well your pessimism may prove realism or lack of faith...
C'mon JOD show what the faith is all about!
Naughton, ply your craft better!

29-06-2023, 09:18 PM
What’s the alternative?

Should he though?

I was happy enough to give him some games but that extended far beyond what it should have. Sent back to learn his craft for 1 week. Buku very good last week, Bruce was as well are other options. Not that fussed about it really, just strange a player who was completely lost at AFL level is back after 1 decent game.

29-06-2023, 09:22 PM

The point is you think he is needed this game and the club thinks otherwise...

29-06-2023, 09:23 PM

We don't need to play 3 key defenders this week. Bruce for Keath might be okay but we want someone to play on more mobile types
Bevo's didn't do JOD any favors playing him as a forward.

29-06-2023, 09:26 PM
Should he though?

I was happy enough to give him some games but that extended far beyond what it should have. Sent back to learn his craft for 1 week. Buku very good last week, Bruce was as well are other options. Not that fussed about it really, just strange a player who was completely lost at AFL level is back after 1 decent game.

Mate the club is clearly and very deliberately backing JOD so I am.
Whether it is wrong I know not but let us see.

29-06-2023, 09:28 PM
JOD good.
Bruce bad.

Me like.

29-06-2023, 09:32 PM
The point is you think he is needed this game and the club thinks otherwise...

I'd rather see Caleb Daniel play as a key back than JOD right now. If we're not going to play Bruce in the role we've tried to reinvent him for then I see no reason to even have him on the list.

We don't need to play 3 key defenders this week. Bruce for Keath might be okay but we want someone to play on more mobile types
Bevo's didn't do JOD any favors playing him as a forward.

I'm not sure he's doing the club any favours by playing JOD at all.

29-06-2023, 09:33 PM
Should he though?

Mate the club is clearly and very deliberately backing JOD so I am.
Whether it is wrong I know not but let us see.
The psycho in me thinks it must've been a deal with Simon.

29-06-2023, 09:35 PM
I'd rather see Caleb Daniel play as a key back than JOD right now. If we're not going to play Bruce in the role we've tried to reinvent him for then I see no reason to even have him on the list.

I'm not sure he's doing the club any favours by playing JOD at all.

To be clear, I think we are both not talking about JOD in the longer term. But right NOW, with the season in the line after his bad games coinciding with bad losses... No freaking way this week.

29-06-2023, 09:40 PM
To be clear, I think we are both not talking about JOD in the longer term. But right NOW, with the season in the line after his bad games coinciding with bad losses... No freaking way this week.

Absolutely not, I rate what I have seen of JOD. But he isn't ready.

29-06-2023, 09:41 PM
Thankyou for mansplaining it.

No worries. I?m here to help!

29-06-2023, 11:31 PM
Imo our selected defence .with the exception of Bailey Dale. is either out of form, not up to it or inexperienced. I fear if Freo play Fyfe foward we will be torched. Bevo however might swing Naughton back although i doubt it.

30-06-2023, 12:02 AM
Imo our selected defence .with the exception of Bailey Dale. is either out of form, not up to it or inexperienced. I fear if Freo play Fyfe foward we will be torched. Bevo however might swing Naughton back although i doubt it.

The Fyfe forward option concerns me as well.

30-06-2023, 01:13 AM
I know we have some injuries but that named 22 is depressingly a long way from troubling any of the good sides.

30-06-2023, 02:05 AM
I know we have some injuries but that named 22 is depressingly a long way from troubling any of the good sides.

Yep very long tail there.

30-06-2023, 10:39 AM
Yep very long tail there.

I am a believer that depth can be overstated and most often a reflection of the better players/structural things. That said, I agree our tail doesn't look good.

Whatever the case, if we continue to not get anywhere near bang for buck with our midfield domination, our depth will not matter.

30-06-2023, 11:20 AM
Don't think JOD is ready but at least he is probably getting picked to play an actual position this week. The previous games were as if we were told we had to select him and were just trying to hide him where ever we could in the 22.

Also after another week of not being selected I think Khamis is a big Sweet-zone contender in the future. Not sure if he is even worth discussing seeing as we have been interested in even considering him for selection maybe 5 weeks in his 5 years at the club.

30-06-2023, 11:26 AM
Don't think JOD is ready but at least he is probably getting picked to play an actual position this week. The previous games were as if we were told we had to select him and were just trying to hide him where ever we could in the 22.

Also after another week of not being selected I think Khamis is a big Sweet-zone contender in the future. Not sure if he is even worth discussing seeing as we have been interested in even considering him for selection maybe 5 weeks in his 5 years at the club. I agree with your thoughts on JOD. Let's cool our jets and wait to see the role he will be given and how he goes about it. It won't necessarily be to get 20 - 30 p's but to play a role. Yes he is probably not ready yet but we don't have a great deal of options at the moment so thinking long term it is great for his development.

30-06-2023, 11:51 AM
I’d be much happier without the injuries, but given the circumstances I am very happy and quite excited by the JOD selection. It appears the club believes they have struck gold and I think that is also quite likely. He has all the attributes and is physically ready. But underdone re game time experience. Liam Jones has to be under a question mark re finals and it looks like the mc think Gardner, Keath and JOD could be the best option. Unlike Buss, he doesn’t need physical conditioning, just experience. Injuries to Jones and O’Brien have made the risk worth it.
I’m also ok with Poulter coming in. The club has had a good look at him and liked what they saw. He is mature aged with AFL experience and ready to go.

30-06-2023, 11:54 AM

Agreed. He's named in the position he has been playing VFL so it's a better launching block than we gave him before

30-06-2023, 12:31 PM
Just keep JOD in defence, that's all I ask.

30-06-2023, 04:20 PM
Treacy and Amiss are both young and not huge forwards. They seem like as good a matchup as any for JOD.

30-06-2023, 04:27 PM
Treacy and Amiss are both young and not huge forwards. They seem like as good a matchup as any for JOD.

We can't take Amiss lightly. He is a very talented youngster and won't need many opportunities to kick goals.

30-06-2023, 04:35 PM

Yes, was thinking the same we need to consider match ups.

30-06-2023, 05:12 PM
We can't take Amiss lightly. He is a very talented youngster and won't need many opportunities to kick goals.

For sure, and unlike his name suggests he rarely misses. I wasn't suggesting they were no good, just that for a physical matchup they are about as favourable as he's going to get. Treacy is probably who I would want JOD's primary matchup to be, but of course they all need to swap and cover in play.

30-06-2023, 05:35 PM
For sure, and unlike his name suggests he rarely misses. I wasn't suggesting they were no good, just that for a physical matchup they are about as favourable as he's going to get. Treacy is probably who I would want JOD's primary matchup to be, but of course they all need to swap and cover in play.

His nick name is “nev” as in “nev-a-miss”. I remember watching him kick 6.2 in a colts game and the two both hit the post...it was a remarkable display - all drop punts and from ridiculous angles. When he missed the first shot in the elimination final last year I was thinking ‘yep, another one who the pressure has gotten too’ but as it turned out that was just a one off. The kid knows where the goals are.

30-06-2023, 05:46 PM
His nick name is “nev” as in “nev-a-miss”. I remember watching him kick 6.2 in a colts game and the two both hit the post...it was a remarkable display - all drop punts and from ridiculous angles. When he missed the first shot in the elimination final last year I was thinking ‘yep, another one who the pressure has gotten too’ but as it turned out that was just a one off. The kid knows where the goals are.

He also seems a very clever player and knows how to play football.

Do you see him similar to Jack Gunston?

30-06-2023, 06:00 PM

Amiss will torch JOD. To nimble and too smart.

30-06-2023, 06:43 PM
Amiss will torch JOD. To nimble and too smart.

I did say I would play JOD on Treacy.

30-06-2023, 08:58 PM
Gardner, Keath and JOD makes me feel sick.

30-06-2023, 09:11 PM
Gardner, Keath and JOD makes me feel sick.

DG no alternatives.

30-06-2023, 11:32 PM
DG no alternatives.

Naughton is an alternative and Beveridge can take ALL the heat if we lose without having made that move.

01-07-2023, 08:05 AM
Naughton is an alternative and Beveridge can take ALL the heat if we lose without having made that move.

What if we lose cause Walters kicks 5 and their key forwards don’t get near it?

01-07-2023, 11:00 AM
What if we lose cause Walters kicks 5 and their key forwards don’t get near it?

Walters has played 59 games since the beginning of 2020 and kicked 67 goals during that time, av 1.1 per game, so if he kicks 5 it would be 1.unlikely 2. a problem for us :)

01-07-2023, 11:12 AM
Dogs by 19 points
First goal Lobb
BOG Macrae.

01-07-2023, 11:17 AM
Walters has played 59 games since the beginning of 2020 and kicked 67 goals during that time, av 1.1 per game, so if he kicks 5 it would be 1.unlikely 2. a problem for us :)

Schultz is more of a worry than Walters these days.

01-07-2023, 01:03 PM

Does he get all the credit if we win?

01-07-2023, 01:17 PM

LOL. That is not how coaching works.

01-07-2023, 01:30 PM

Yes. Where would you play Naughton today ? Do you think our backline is up to scratch and doesn't need him ?

01-07-2023, 01:34 PM
I’d play Naughton forward :)

01-07-2023, 01:38 PM
Dogs by 19 points
First goal Lobb
BOG Macrae.

Hmmm should I tell you G or do you already know.

01-07-2023, 02:04 PM
Hmmm should I tell you G or do you already know.

He's messing with us...making us hunt from thread to thread to find the gold.

01-07-2023, 04:33 PM
Game in the balance id make the sub now get Westy on for Mcsteal

01-07-2023, 04:46 PM
Biggest quarter of the year coming up, come on dogs.

01-07-2023, 04:48 PM
Wrong thread excuse lol

01-07-2023, 04:48 PM
Wrong thread excuse lol

Off with his head.

01-07-2023, 05:03 PM
Out: West
In: McNeil

Match committee need a kick in the arse!

01-07-2023, 05:12 PM
Out: West
In: McNeil

Match committee need a kick in the arse!

Dislike ;)

01-07-2023, 05:18 PM
Wrong thread.

01-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Wrong thread.

Off with his head