View Full Version : Always Right Match Committee Round 17 v Collingwood

19-05-2023, 05:49 PM
Welcome to the Always Right Match Committee Thread. The Match Committee threads has been named after long time WOOF member Always Right who tragically passed away in March 2018.

If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee, what changes would you make after our Round Sixteen match against Fremantle for our Round Seventeen match against Collingwood at Marvel on Friday night.

For those new to these threads, please give a brief explanation for your changes ... this would add a lot of value to the discussion

29-06-2023, 04:50 PM

01-07-2023, 04:39 PM

01-07-2023, 05:38 PM
Anyone back from injury?

Not sure if we need Bruce as the extra bigger body. Not sure who performed in the VFL not that it matters a heap.

If not, West in for Hannan or McNeil.

Lobb could be dropped or you could make case for it, and Darcy has 16 touches, 7 marks, 11 hit outs and three goals mid way through the last quarter of the VFL.

(I’d say Khamis four goals today deserves a shot over Hannan, but he’s not part of set up)

01-07-2023, 06:21 PM
No change is my first thought but need to see how we went with the Footscray boys

01-07-2023, 06:22 PM
No change is my first thought but need to see how we went with the Footscray boys

Would you start Mcsteal over West?

01-07-2023, 06:23 PM
Would you start Mcsteal over West?

Happy to have both in the team. Hannan just giving us enough run.

01-07-2023, 06:29 PM
Libba injured?

01-07-2023, 06:33 PM
Libba injured?

They said he had a corky on the radio

01-07-2023, 07:18 PM
In West, Out Hannan

* Could Richards come straight in if available?

01-07-2023, 07:58 PM
Happy to have both in the team. Hannan just giving us enough run.

Crazy talk.

01-07-2023, 08:10 PM
Crazy talk.

That should have been *isn't giving us enough run. Train ride home was a bit bumpy :)

01-07-2023, 08:55 PM
West has to come into the 22 for Hannan surely.

02-07-2023, 07:55 PM
Sounds like Ed is a big chance to return on Friday night.

02-07-2023, 08:00 PM
Sounds like Ed is a big chance to return on Friday night.

Seems that way, a couple of weeks back he said it was more likely to be the Sydney game.

02-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Seems that way, a couple of weeks back he said it was more likely to be the Sydney game.

gut feeling, I think it would be the Sydney game

02-07-2023, 08:33 PM
Hopefully he plays, it should result in Daniel going forward of centre.

02-07-2023, 09:26 PM
In West, Out Hannan

* Could Richards come straight in if available?

He will be very close based on an injury report I heard last week.

02-07-2023, 09:33 PM
If Ed is back...

In: Ed, Westy
Out: Hannan, McNeil (becomes sub)

03-07-2023, 01:05 AM
In: Richards West Khamis
Out: Vandemeer McNeil Hannan

03-07-2023, 06:32 PM
Would Buku be the ideal sub? Can go forward and back and also pitch hit in the ruck.

03-07-2023, 06:46 PM
Would Buku be the ideal sub? Can go forward and back and also pitch hit in the ruck.

Probably lacks the pace that seems to work well for subs

03-07-2023, 07:44 PM

Nah, I'd rotate it with the fringe smaller guys. McNeil, Baker, Vandermeer etc.

03-07-2023, 08:10 PM
I cant believe Richards is the mix so quickly. In Richards Out McNeil and I like McNeil

Richards vs De Goey is a good match up for us.

04-07-2023, 02:38 PM
I cant believe Richards is the mix so quickly. In Richards Out McNeil and I like McNeil

Richards vs De Goey is a good match up for us.

DeGoey is playing mostly midfield these days. I actually think he's a nightmare match up for us.

04-07-2023, 04:13 PM
DeGoey is playing mostly midfield these days. I actually think he's a nightmare match up for us.

Really? How come?

I like our midfield vs (primarily) one-way running mids like De Goey. He's a good player but does rely on winning at the contest through a bit of bully-ball vs craft...most of our blokes are genuinely too big to be shoved around/moved off the ball.

04-07-2023, 07:12 PM
Brody Mihocek out this week, whilst McStay could return.

04-07-2023, 07:16 PM
Brody Mihocek out this week, whilst McStay could return.

Damn it that strengthens them.

04-07-2023, 07:22 PM

No way, Mihocek is a very good player whilst McStay hasn't played any footy since round 5.

04-07-2023, 07:25 PM

No way Jose.

04-07-2023, 07:40 PM
Really? How come?

I like our midfield vs (primarily) one-way running mids like De Goey. He's a good player but does rely on winning at the contest through a bit of bully-ball vs craft...most of our blokes are genuinely too big to be shoved around/moved off the ball.

Maybe, but we’ve been torn up by Cripps forever and players turning that inside power to goal scoring frightens me. Maybe we have the cattle to stop it. DoGoey seems very dynamic this year and doesn’t need much space to do damage.

04-07-2023, 07:51 PM
No way, Mihocek is a very good player whilst McStay hasn't played any footy since round 5.

Mihocek is a spud. Cmon you guys!

04-07-2023, 07:59 PM
Mihocek is a spud. Cmon you guys!

I'm starting to think there's leaking CO in your home.

04-07-2023, 08:18 PM
I'm starting to think there's leaking CO in your home.

You're sated by expansion level good.

Spud city. This is a well advertised fact amongst my peers, watch him when the ball hits the ground.

Think you've had a few too many zaps from the defib.

For a socialist you're an A grade troll EW! I've cottoned onto your shtick now.

04-07-2023, 08:33 PM
You're sated by expansion level good.

Spud city. This is a well advertised fact amongst my peers, watch him when the ball hits the ground.

Think you've had a few too many zaps from the defib.

For a socialist you're an A grade troll EW! I've cottoned onto your shtick now.

CO leak confirmed.

04-07-2023, 08:47 PM
CO leak confirmed.

God man you're incorrigible, it's not a good trait. Who hurt you? XD

Cobalt melts at 1495 c so unlikely btw.

https://media.giphy.com/media/dwEweAW0zXcGQupuAC/giphy.gif

And yes I think Mihocek is crap!

04-07-2023, 09:06 PM
No way, Mihocek is a very good player

Absolutely agree

Not top shelf but very important for the Pies

04-07-2023, 09:57 PM
God man you're incorrigible, it's not a good trait. Who hurt you? XD

Cobalt melts at 1495 c so unlikely btw.

https://media.giphy.com/media/dwEweAW0zXcGQupuAC/giphy.gif

And yes I think Mihocek is crap!

I don't think you know what CO is.

04-07-2023, 10:05 PM

I think it?s too late EW, he?s delirious.

04-07-2023, 10:05 PM
I think it’s too late EW, he’s delirious.

I'll call the Fire Brigade.

04-07-2023, 10:08 PM

For GG or to talk to ex-dogs players?

04-07-2023, 10:09 PM

Starts fires so he can put them out. What a cliche.

04-07-2023, 10:25 PM
Starts fires so he can put them out. What a cliche.

Nah mate I get paid to do it. I don't feel a need to see it more than I already do.

04-07-2023, 10:26 PM
For GG or to talk to ex-dogs players?

Not necessarily. I might want to talk to ex Melbourne, ex Richmond, ex Essendon, ex Brisbane players instead.

Not Heath Scotland though. Too punchy.

04-07-2023, 10:36 PM
Nah mate I get paid to do it. I don't feel a need to see it more than I already do.

Or… Why get paid to put out fires when you can be paid to sleep???

04-07-2023, 10:39 PM
Not necessarily. I might want to talk to ex Melbourne, ex Richmond, ex Essendon, ex Brisbane players instead.

Not Heath Scotland though. Too punchy.

Scotland still not calmed down a little bit? Sounds like a good candidate to take up issues with the bosses then.

04-07-2023, 10:40 PM
Mihocek has 35 or something goals for the season I reckon he goes OK.

Also seems to get to good spots and is a bit too clever for Gards and Keath at ground level.

04-07-2023, 10:42 PM
Mihocek has 35 or something goals for the season I reckon he goes OK.

Also seems to get to good spots and is a bit too clever for Gards and Keath at ground level.

He won't be playing, he is out.

04-07-2023, 10:56 PM
Or… Why get paid to put out fires when you can be paid to sleep???

is that one in the new cops handbook? Every copper I meet pulls out that one. I tell them it's not my fault they picked the wrong service:).

Scotland still not calmed down a little bit? Sounds like a good candidate to take up issues with the bosses then.

Nah dunno he never got in. I don't know if he even applied after the Chief at the time said "no deal".

04-07-2023, 11:01 PM
is that one in the new cops handbook? Every copper I meet pulls out that one. I tell them it's not my fault they picked the wrong service:).

But we all can’t save kittens stuck in trees. :D

04-07-2023, 11:04 PM
He won't be playing, he is out.

I know that's what I mean. They'll miss him structurally and on the scoreboard.

04-07-2023, 11:06 PM
I know that's what I mean. They'll miss him structurally and on the scoreboard.

Mate how many times do we have to say.....he's out!

04-07-2023, 11:12 PM
He's out?

04-07-2023, 11:14 PM
He's out?

Who's out?

04-07-2023, 11:16 PM
Who's out?

Out of what?

04-07-2023, 11:19 PM
Brad Rito, yeah, I know him.

04-07-2023, 11:26 PM

You've got me, damn although you probably don't know where I work :)

It probably wouldn't be cool to troll re carbonic oxide if you did.

I was trying to make light of your very poor taste post, alas I failed to hit the target.

Still don't like Mihocek, don't take it personally.

04-07-2023, 11:28 PM

I was trying to make light of your very poor taste post, alas I failed to hit the target.

Carbonic oxide......

Hmmmmm. What are ya, a pansy?

04-07-2023, 11:33 PM

Poor taste? That's banter baby, you should know that.

04-07-2023, 11:33 PM

Who is really Mihocek?

04-07-2023, 11:37 PM
I think it?s too late EW, he?s delirious.

Dude. That's pretty average.

All this because I am not a fan of Mihocek, crikey no wonder we can't keep new members the clique pile on is strong.

Ok I LIKE Mihocek!

I try to be reasonable on here and have a unique opinion is all.

Not delirious, well maybe I am who knows xD

If this is a long standing GF day hangover, (EW likes to remind me of that), then I apologise again

I'd just lost a parent, whom I couldn't see or have a funeral for due to Covid.

But you know trolling is the way to show you're a bonafide socialist!

04-07-2023, 11:40 PM
Poor taste? That's banter baby, you should know that.

Ah got it, classic bants.

04-07-2023, 11:42 PM
Dude. That's pretty average.

All this because I am not a fan of Mihocek, crikey no wonder we can't keep new members the clique pile on is strong.

Ok I LIKE Mihocek!

I try to be reasonable on here and have a unique opinion is all.

Not delirious, well maybe I am who knows xD

If this is a long standing GF day hangover, (EW likes to remind me of that), then I apologise again

I'd just lost a parent, whom I couldn't see or have a funeral for due to Covid.

But you know trolling is the way to show you're a bonafide socialist!

Delirium is a side effect/consequence of CO exposure…

04-07-2023, 11:54 PM
Delirium is a side effect/consequence of CO exposure…

Aware, we had a related death at work (science workplace)so had plenty of training :)

Colleague went into a lab with a failed monoxide monitor on his own. Silent death, sad stuff!

All good Im not bothered too much you guys are free to speak your minds prefer it is about an issue though.

I'll try and get it back on thread.

Richards is probably my only in this week if he's fit.

Think I'd try and harness West's explosive ending last game and swap him and McNeil.

So Richards in LVDM out.

04-07-2023, 11:56 PM
Aware, we had a related death at work (science workplace)so had plenty of training :)

Colleague went into a lab with a failed monoxide monitor on his own. Silent death, sad stuff!

All good Im not bothered too much you guys are free to speak your minds prefer it is about an issue though.

I'll try and get it back on thread.

Richards is probably my only in this week if he's fit.

Think I'd try and harness West's explosive ending last game and swap him and McNeil.

So Richards in LVDM out.

You sound pretty bothered mate, so to be absolutely clear I was just joking around with you as I thought that was the relationship we had. Seems I was wrong so I will be mindful of that going forward and think twice before hitting send.

04-07-2023, 11:56 PM
So Richards in LVDM out.

Do you think that Latham might go forward or at least to sub if Richards goes back, rather than being dropped?

04-07-2023, 11:59 PM
Do you think that Latham might go forward or at least to sub if Richards goes back, rather than being dropped?

I'd have him as a sub rather than drop. I'm sure Ed won't be back unless they're 100% sure he'll get through but there is always that what if.

05-07-2023, 12:01 AM
You sound pretty bothered mate, so to be absolutely clear I was just joking around with you as I thought that was the relationship we had. Seems I was wrong so I will be mindful of that going forward and think twice before hitting send.

Same here. Will be more mindful.

05-07-2023, 12:11 AM
How do we stop Mihocek?

05-07-2023, 12:23 AM

Ha no gawd.

Bants great.

We good.

05-07-2023, 12:26 AM
I'd have him as a sub rather than drop. I'm sure Ed won't be back unless they're 100% sure he'll get through but there is always that what if.

He's been a little underwhelming so far for mine, I guess he could go forward I just don't see whose spot he takes presently.

05-07-2023, 12:26 PM
Given Collingwood's running and ability to outnumber their opposition at the contest, I would like to see Baker back in the side for this game. I think his pace and tenacity would make him an ideal run with tagger for whichever mobile Collingwood player proves to be the most dangerous on the day.

05-07-2023, 01:11 PM
Collingwood ins and outs:

* Brayden Maynard ruled out of Friday’s clash with the Dogs.
* Dan McStay will play VFL.
* Billy Frampton likely to play forward in the absence of Mihocek (hamstring),
* Kreuger (concussion) and Ash Johnson (VFL)

05-07-2023, 01:17 PM
Collingwood ins and outs:

* Brayden Maynard ruled out of Friday’s clash with the Dogs.
* Dan McStay will play VFL.
* Billy Frampton likely to play forward in the absence of Mihocek (hamstring),
* Kreuger (concussion) and Ash Johnson (VFL)

So long as Frampton doesn't have another career game against us like he did for the Crows at Ballarat.

05-07-2023, 01:42 PM
So long as Frampton doesn't have another career game against us like he did for the Crows at Ballarat.

Frampton and Cox feels like a slowww front half. I like Gardiner and Keath on those two.

Elliot is the danger for me, I think Duryea probably starts on Hill and I don't see a natural match-up for Jamie in our back 6/7.

05-07-2023, 02:01 PM
I don't see a natural match-up for Jamie in our back 6/7.

Dale or Truck?

05-07-2023, 02:18 PM
Dale or Truck?

I think Lemmon is saying who does JOD play on?

05-07-2023, 02:39 PM
Frampton and Cox feels like a slowww front half. I like Gardiner and Keath on those two.

Elliot is the danger for me, I think Duryea probably starts on Hill and I don't see a natural match-up for Jamie in our back 6/7. I think JOD or VDM to Elliot but prefer JOD.

05-07-2023, 03:18 PM
I think JOD or VDM to Elliot but prefer JOD.

Why not Richards?

05-07-2023, 03:25 PM
Why not Richards?

He's our best interceptor - with Jones out, I suspect we want him rolling up higher and having a crack at winning it back for us. Elliot tends to do that get up, drift back, hit up type movement that is kind of the enemy of intercept players.

05-07-2023, 04:10 PM
I think JOD or VDM to Elliot but prefer JOD.

Elliot plays more like Cody, so you want someone that can go with him in the air, so VDM is out

06-07-2023, 01:10 PM
Richards a confirm starter

06-07-2023, 01:17 PM
Richards a confirm starter

Will be interesting if Poulter or Hannan makes way for Richards.

06-07-2023, 02:06 PM
Will be interesting if Poulter or Hannan makes way for Richards.

Surely Hannan doesn't play this week

06-07-2023, 07:24 PM
Round 17 - Western Bulldogs v Collingwood
Friday 7 July, 7.50pm AEST
Marvel Stadium

B: Taylor Duryea, Ryan Gardner, James O’Donnell
HB: Bailey Dale, Alex Keath, Ed Richards
C: Laitham Vandermeer, Marcus Bontempelli, Bailey Williams
HF: Jack Macrae, Aaron Naughton, Adam Treloar
F: Cody Weightman, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Rory Lobb
R: Tim English, Caleb Daniel, Tom Liberatore
Int: Caleb Poulter, Lachlan McNeil, Bailey Smith, Rhylee West
Sub: Anthony Scott
Emerg: Buku Khamis, Jordon Sweet, Arthur Jones

IN: E. Richards
OUT: M. Hannan (injured)

06-07-2023, 07:25 PM
I’m surprised Scott is the sub.

06-07-2023, 07:30 PM
I?m surprised Scott is the sub.

Offers more than McNeil...

Good to see West keep his spot though

dalek
06-07-2023, 07:49 PM
Offers more than McNeil...

Good to see West keep his spot though

Yes, it is especially after his fantastic last quarter.

06-07-2023, 08:00 PM
Fingers crossed Libba gets up after his corky. Anyone seem him in training drills?

06-07-2023, 08:03 PM

Same

06-07-2023, 08:12 PM

Perhaps they are hoping for late game impact like West provided last week.

06-07-2023, 08:43 PM
Scott being sub probably also talks to the faith they have in Vandermeer.

06-07-2023, 08:51 PM
Scott being sub probably also talks to the faith they have in Vandermeer.

I'm surprised McNeil is still in but perhaps we're mindful of Collingwood's speed and have tried to load up in this area.

I would have strongly considered Baker for this game and told him to hold width as he was earlier in the year, but his form really did drop off.

Scott had a strong month or so a while ago but I've thought he hasn't given us enough for the last month so I don't mind him as the sub, but I'm not sure how many more chances we can give McNeil.

Without watching the VFL, I wonder if Arty was considered too.

06-07-2023, 08:58 PM
Really keen to be on the bid stage Friday night against the ladder leaders. I honestly think this side is good enough to get an upset this week. Bevo will be doing his thing and getting the boys up for this one.

I love West in the starting 22 and after last week it?s purely up to him now to make a fist of it.

06-07-2023, 09:09 PM
Really keen to be on the bid stage Friday night against the ladder leaders. I honestly think this side is good enough to get an upset this week. Bevo will be doing his thing and getting the boys up for this one.

I love West in the starting 22 and after last week it?s purely up to him now to make a fist of it.

Good post BB. I would argue that if we play as well as Collingwood has been playing then it wouldn't even be an upset win (yes I know that's what an upset win really means, but you get what I'm saying.)

06-07-2023, 09:17 PM
Good post BB. I would argue that if we play as well as Collingwood has been playing then it wouldn't even be an upset win (yes I know that's what an upset win really means, but you get what I'm saying.)

I get it but just sit back and enjoy a tough arm wrestle all night. It’s gonna be a heart stopper but a good win to put the fear of life back into the competition that we are back and back in a big way. This is when Bevo is at his best.

06-07-2023, 09:19 PM

I hope he does well but I am not a fan and still doubt him.

06-07-2023, 09:20 PM
How early do people think we would need to get to the ground to lock in a GA seat tomorrow night? I'm guessing at least an hr?

06-07-2023, 09:22 PM
I hope he does well but I am not a fan and still doubt him.

When Westy does the basics and takes first option he is a solid AFL player. I know it's not as simple as that but If I was coaching him it would be all I would be preaching.

06-07-2023, 09:29 PM
When Westy does the basics and takes first option he is a solid AFL player. I know it's not as simple as that but If I was coaching him it would be all I would be preaching.

He does show a bit but he is very inconsistent.

06-07-2023, 09:38 PM
I'm surprised McNeil is still in but perhaps we're mindful of Collingwood's speed and have tried to load up in this area.

I would have strongly considered Baker for this game and told him to hold width as he was earlier in the year, but his form really did drop off.

Scott had a strong month or so a while ago but I've thought he hasn't given us enough for the last month so I don't mind him as the sub, but I'm not sure how many more chances we can give McNeil.

Interestingly with McNeil I thought on watching the replay he was pretty good early and then finished some work late. There was a play in the middle of the game where I referred to an effort where he over-ran the football as McShit, but outside of that he was probably OK on the eye. However, he barely got his hands on it.

06-07-2023, 09:42 PM
How early do people think we would need to get to the ground to lock in a GA seat tomorrow night? I'm guessing at least an hr?

Are you not there already?

06-07-2023, 09:47 PM
Are you not there already?

There's a couple of spots left in G's tent if anyone can get down to Marvel quickly.

We have a small camp fire next to Thor's hammer.

Bring marshmallows!

06-07-2023, 10:01 PM

He had 6 possessions in a win against the bottom team so it would have been hard to justify.

06-07-2023, 10:31 PM
I?m surprised Scott is the sub.

Perhaps Bevo has a role in mind, for which he judges McNeil is more suited.

07-07-2023, 09:41 AM
Scott has done bugger all the past month. What McNeil offers more than Scott is some pace.

07-07-2023, 10:42 AM
I'd say McNeil playing rather than Scott is an indication of us being wary of Collingwood's pace. Scott is the better footballer, and plays some important roles/does some great contest work between the arcs.

07-07-2023, 02:32 PM

07-07-2023, 03:55 PM
Apogies, I can't navigate this post on a more appropriate thread but this from Cornes I read as sincere, in fact more about him than Bails.
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/someone-needs-to-save-bailey-smith-from-himself-i-would-know-20230705-p5dm0c.html
"I certainly did not listen to my coaches, teammates and family who tried to help and warn me. If only!

With hindsight, I can see that like Smith, I did stupid things during my playing career.

Late in the last quarter of a game Port Adelaide won by a considerable margin, I missed an easy set-shot goal. Rather than let it go to celebrate with my teammates in the change rooms, I waited for the crowd to leave, took a bag of balls onto the ground and had 100 shots from where I missed – while my wife and family waited in the car....."

He is basically saying Bailey is too hard on himself when he does not perform to his high standards.
Obsessive compulsion.

07-07-2023, 07:13 PM
Apogies, I can't navigate this post on a more appropriate thread but this from Cornes I read as sincere, in fact more about him than Bails.
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/someone-needs-to-save-bailey-smith-from-himself-i-would-know-20230705-p5dm0c.html
"I certainly did not listen to my coaches, teammates and family who tried to help and warn me. If only!

With hindsight, I can see that like Smith, I did stupid things during my playing career.

Late in the last quarter of a game Port Adelaide won by a considerable margin, I missed an easy set-shot goal. Rather than let it go to celebrate with my teammates in the change rooms, I waited for the crowd to leave, took a bag of balls onto the ground and had 100 shots from where I missed – while my wife and family waited in the car....."

He is basically saying Bailey is too hard on himself when he does not perform to his high standards.
Obsessive compulsion.

That is a really sad story from Cornes. I feel sorry for his family. I don't know if that would have made any difference kicking those 100 shots after the game. It sounds like more punishment than need to improve!

complete rubbish article by Cornes.

I would be expecting the club to be managing Baily Smith's workload , game time /structure and mental health.

07-07-2023, 07:28 PM
That is a really sad story from Cornes. I feel sorry for his family. I don't know if that would have made any difference kicking those 100 shots after the game. It sounds like more punishment than need to improve!

complete rubbish article by Cornes.

I would be expecting the club to be managing Baily Smith's workload , game time /structure and mental health.

Did you read the lot?
How Smith does the same?
I value someone who sees themselves in others even if it a projection.

07-07-2023, 10:15 PM
Just realised Adz is on Daicos. Understandable Adz not gaining as many clean possessions as normal. If Daicos is kept below normal output that’s a win for us.

Agree if Bont can star in 2nd half we are really in with a chance.

Would like to see English do just a tad more although he has been ok and held the big Texan well.