View Full Version : School yard footy challenge - pick your side from Dogs current list.

21-09-2023, 07:40 PM
Ok woofers.

You've travelled back in time. You're in the school yard with all of your besties : the current Dogs afl men's team.

Some bully from the posh private school next door reckons he can wipe the floor with us... So.

We need to pick 10 players and a sub to take them on...

The spine (ff, chf, ruck, chb, fb) is 5.
A centre, a rover, forward flanker, back flanker and a winger another 5.
Plus the super sub...

Who you picking and why.

Me first.

Name
Position
Why?

Bontempelli
Centre
Duh! He's God

Naughton
CHF
Can split packs, bring it to ground, use the knee of Zaine

Liberatore
Rover
Brawls and extraction

Smith
Wing
Distraction and pace

English
Ruck
Need a running big man to link

Jamarra
Full forward
Just sit deep and control the air

Richards
HBF
Rebound 50, and such a sweet kid

O'Donnell
CHB
Athletic, good distributor, can play tall or small

Jones
FB
Golden fist, closing speed, another knee of Zaine

Dale
HFF
Need someone who can kick straight!

Just leaves the super sub.....

Hmmm

Treloar. Release him for 33 percent game time late to run rampant over the top of the opposition.

Ok I've put my reputation on the line here Woofers..
What would you do differently? I've left some talent in the shed.

Danjul you can't choose Schache ;)

21-09-2023, 07:46 PM
Sedat first picked for my WOOF football match - Brayden Maynard style enforcer in the backline I think.

I'll have a think about my 10 man Bulldogs.

21-09-2023, 07:55 PM
Sedat first picked for my WOOF football match - Brayden Maynard style enforcer in the backline I think.

I'll have a think about my 10 man Bulldogs.

Game has to be played at Sedat Park, and prior to the game have Daniel Andrews hand over a novelty cheque to Chris Scott for phase 45 of the upgrades to get him fired up.

21-09-2023, 08:39 PM
I'll do this - just no time to think through it right now.

I'm eagerly waiting to see someone nominate Naughton as a key defender. And Sweet hasn't gone yet - get him in the ruck and Tim forward. C'mon.

21-09-2023, 09:54 PM
Is there an umpire? Are there any specific schoolyard rules?

What about the ground, is it both sides kick to one end, across the ground or a full ground game? My povo school didn't really have two decent ends to play to.

21-09-2023, 10:03 PM
Different sport, but this reminds me of the disparity between schools in the zone I grew up in. Playing cricket vs. Mount Scopus at their school in Burwood and I was opening the batting. We'd been playing on concrete state school wickets that didn't get any bounce with rock hard composite balls in ten over per innings matches.

Anyway, I decide I won't need a helmet, and for some unbelievably stupid reason our coach and old school cricket guy had no problems with it - I guess they let 11 year old's fail hard in the early 90s. But the problem was there was a synthetic deck at Mount Scopus, and Michael Klinger was opening the bowling and at that point he (as I found out almost the hard way) wasn't just a bat.

The first ball was a half tracker quicker than I'd faced by a lot of older kids I played against, and he was a year younger than I. It climbed and I pulled back, and I reckon it missed my head by less than half a foot. I called for the helmet, and carried my bat for a solid twelve not out to set up a tight win

21-09-2023, 10:03 PM
Is there an umpire? Are there any specific schoolyard rules?

What about the ground, is it kick to one end, across the ground or a full ground game? My povo school didn't really have two decent ends to play to.

It's kind of a 50 and a centre square, jumpers at the end of the non goal post side for goal and point posts.

Umpire... Maybe someone from woof :)

21-09-2023, 11:04 PM
An all time Dogs team would be interesting.

21-09-2023, 11:09 PM
It's kind of a 50 and a centre square, jumpers at the end of the non goal post side for goal and point posts.

Umpire... Maybe someone from woof :)

BAD has to be the umpire. Very strict and no convolution of the rules.

The bit around the ground configuration really clears things up as well mate. Cheers.

21-09-2023, 11:15 PM

The bit around the ground configuration really clears things up as well mate. Cheers.

Ha I lolzed with both parts of that.

21-09-2023, 11:24 PM
Alex Keath has to be the teacher on yard duty, in triacetate pants. Two stripes because he can't afford three on a teachers salary - especially during a cost of living crisis.

21-09-2023, 11:26 PM
This feels like picking an AFLX team!

22-09-2023, 12:12 AM
This feels like picking an AFLX team!

You mean AFLExcellent.

22-09-2023, 09:06 AM
Name
Position
Why?

Treloar
Centre
You've got to pick your best players!

Naughton
CHF
Can fly at everything, up against two key defenders, no problem. Cause some chaos.

Liberatore
Rover
Made for roughing up private school boys

Bontempelli
Wing
Designated distributor out wide, taking turns on ball

English
Ruck
AA ruck in the schoolyard, thanks for coming

Weightman
Full forward
Cody with a license to fly and will convert better than anyone else

Dale
HBF
The artful dodger in his natural position

Richards
CHB
Opting for run over lumbering height. He can compete in the air just fine while providing drive

Jones
FB
LJ will terminate every high ball, leaving Dale and Richards to run away with it

Daniel
HFF
The schoolkids will think him one of their own. Will break the intercept records.

22-09-2023, 09:09 AM
Can't fault the two teams put up so far... Although I think rhylee west is built for the school yard. He would get some enjoyment from dragging his opponent across the asphalt, like A-train did to Night Hawk.

22-09-2023, 10:07 AM
Name
Position
Why?

Treloar
Centre
You've got to pick your best players!

Naughton
CHF
Can fly at everything, up against two key defenders, no problem. Cause some chaos.

Liberatore
Rover
Made for roughing up private school boys

Bontempelli
Wing
Designated distributor out wide, taking turns on ball

English
Ruck
AA ruck in the schoolyard, thanks for coming

Weightman
Full forward
Cody with a license to fly and will convert better than anyone else

Dale
HBF
The artful dodger in his natural position

Richards
CHB
Opting for run over lumbering height. He can compete in the air just fine while providing drive

Jones
FB
LJ will terminate every high ball, leaving Dale and Richards to run away with it

Daniel
HFF
The schoolkids will think him one of their own. Will break the intercept records.

Love it Scorlibo!!

Weightman, I had him in and out of the side.... I just thought Dale might be more flexible if I need to shore up my defence (there's no 666 in the school yard).

Bont out on the wing - nice. Imagine him loping along just cutting those floggy opposition type to shreds!

Loving the smaller back line too.

That's a formidable line up.

22-09-2023, 10:08 AM
Can't fault the two teams put up so far... Although I think rhylee west is built for the school yard. He would get some enjoyment from dragging his opponent across the asphalt, like A-train did to Night Hawk.

Oh yes of course. West and Garcia actually, now they might be better as subs to come on when BAD has completely lost control of things and there are spot fires all over the ground.

Illegally of course we'd be playing with 11.

22-09-2023, 10:15 AM

For clarity Jee :

https://i.postimg.cc/4NpbBS16/footyground.png (https://postimg.cc/TpYDPQF1)upload my picture (https://postimages.org/)

22-09-2023, 10:17 AM
For clarity Jee :

https://i.postimg.cc/4NpbBS16/footyground.png (https://postimg.cc/TpYDPQF1)upload my picture (https://postimages.org/)

The ground actually looks like an angry BAD yelling rules at the kids.

22-09-2023, 10:34 AM
For clarity Jee :

The ground actually looks like an angry BAD yelling rules at the kids.

What am I doing on the wing :D

22-09-2023, 10:37 AM

Well we know you won't be on the fat side :)

22-09-2023, 10:44 AM

Safety: if things turn to sh1t, you there's a taxi rank on that side of the ground.

22-09-2023, 10:44 AM
Well we know you won't be on the fat side :)

Hahaha.

22-09-2023, 10:46 AM

To be honest it looks like you'll be leaving the game early if the scores aren't close and yet I know you never do that.

22-09-2023, 11:16 AM
Name
Position
Why?

Jones
FB
Will spoil long bombs and just out mark the private schoolboys

Bont
CHB
It?s a schoolyard. Nothing gets past him. Plus he could kick goals from,CHB

Richards
HBF
Intercept, quick, hard at it

English
Ruck
Always want a big kid in the guts

Libba
Centre
In the guts, first hand on the ball

Daniel
Rover
He will slice and dice in the phone box

Bazlenka
Wing
Shrieking schoolgirls on the sidelines. Plenty of pace to break the game open

Darcy
CHF
The Unicorn. Can switch at any time with Tim, Bont and Naughty

Naughton
Full forward
This game is made for Jack In The Pack

Weightman
HFF
An additional Jack In The Pack option plus he?s a pest who will just kick goals when the ball hits the ground.

And Jamarra as the sub. This game is made for the big leap.

22-09-2023, 11:21 AM
Name
Position
Why?

Jones
FB
Will spoil long bombs and just out mark the private schoolboys

Bont
CHB
It?s a schoolyard. Nothing gets past him. Plus he could kick goals from,CHB

Richards
HBF
Intercept, quick, hard at it

English
Ruck
Always want a big kid in the guts

Libba
Centre
In the guts, first hand on the ball

Daniel
Rover
He will slice and dice in the phone box

Bazlenka
Wing
Shrieking schoolgirls on the sidelines. Plenty of pace to break the game open

Darcy
CHF
The Unicorn. Can switch at any time with Tim, Bont and Naughty

Naughton
Full forward
This game is made for Jack In The Pack

Weightman
HFF
An additional Jack In The Pack option plus he?s a pest who will just kick goals when the ball hits the ground.

And Jamarra as the sub. This game is made for the big leap.

Caleb nice! Actually he would definitely dominate in the school yard.

Bont CHB!! Sensational that's the kind of lateral thinking I love to see, he would be pretty bloody awesome patrolling defense.

Marra coming on late and sitting on people's heads. To borrow a terrible old AFL cliche: I'd like to see that.

22-09-2023, 11:30 AM
For clarity Jee :

That drawing uses the same crisp, sharp lines as the AFL Goal Review system.

22-09-2023, 11:47 AM
That drawing uses the same crisp, sharp lines as the AFL Goal Review system.

Hahahaaaa. Gold.

22-09-2023, 12:03 PM
Name
Position
Why?

Gardner
FB
Will spoil everything

Keath
CHB
Will bark directions to everyone upfield

Crozier
HBF
Will fly high and kick long

Lobb
Ruck
Big strange kid in the ruck seems about right

McComb
Centre
Tough onballer, hard to beat in tight

McNeil
Rover
What can't he do?

Vandermeer
Wing
Nobody will catch him (kids don't do hammies)

O'Brien
CHF
Great leap and hands, athletic to cover the ground

Bruce
Full forward
Big Brucey won't be beaten 1 on 1, even if his goals don't count

Hannan
HFF
Can sit on heads and kick goals from nowhere

Duryea the sub as he's going to be late getting out of detention.

Team Name: The Whipping Boys

22-09-2023, 12:04 PM
Name
Position
Why?

Gardner
FB
Will spoil everything

Keath
CHB

Crozier
HBF

Lobb
Ruck

McComb
Centre

McNeil
Rover
What can't he do?

Vandermeer
Wing

O'Brien
CHF

Bruce
Full forward

Hannan
HFF

haha, love it

22-09-2023, 12:16 PM
Name
Position
Why?

Gardner
FB
Will spoil everything

Keath
CHB

Crozier
HBF

Lobb
Ruck

McComb
Centre

McNeil
Rover
What can't he do?

Vandermeer
Wing

O'Brien
CHF

Bruce
Full forward

Hannan
HFF

Haha. Love it.

Lobb the big strange kid... I can see it.

Taking on a private school it's a good sledge team name as well. Might evoke some traumatic memories for the opposition!

22-09-2023, 12:37 PM
Haha. Love it.

Lobb the big strange kid... I can see it.

Taking on a private school it's a good sledge team name as well. Might evoke some traumatic memories for the opposition!

Funny thing is we probably only have a couple of players on the list that didn't go to private school themselves (Clarke?). Gone are the days of the public school tough kids.

22-09-2023, 12:40 PM
Funny thing is we probably only have a couple of players on the list that didn't go to private school themselves (Clarke?). Gone are the days of the public school tough kids.

Yes, the way of modern recruiting. Marra had a scholarship to one of the prestigious schools too.

22-09-2023, 12:56 PM
Here's a stab at it

Name
Position
Why?

Liberatore
Centre
He's going to winning it at the coal face and getting it out.

Naughton
CHF
I mentioned this in another thread gives room for JUH to work in.

Bontempelli
Rover
I may be getting my idea of centre and rover mixed up but the Bont is out there to distribute.

Dale
Wing
Has pace is better on the outside and a good user.

Sweet
Ruck
I would like us to have first use and I was always a fan of Minno and Hudson.

Jamarra
Full forward
It he's natural position and hopefully not competing with Naughts

Richards
HBF
Same as mentioned but if he can loose the sweetness and become more hardnosed. Rebound 50, and such a sweet kid

Darcy
CHB
Good hands and he would be the biggest kid in the school

Jones
FB
Backs himself providing he can get a run at it.

West
HFF
Footy smarts can win the hard ball

Smith. Just not sure about his commitment.

* Sweet hasn't gone yet :)

22-09-2023, 01:45 PM
Here's a stab at it

Name
Position
Why?

Liberatore
Centre
He's going to winning it at the coal face and getting it out.

Naughton
CHF
I mentioned this in another thread gives room for JUH to work in.

Bontempelli
Rover
I may be getting my idea of centre and rover mixed up but the Bont is out there to distribute.

Dale
Wing
Has pace is better on the outside and a good user.

Sweet
Ruck
I would like us to have first use and I was always a fan of Minno and Hudson.

Jamarra
Full forward
It he's natural position and hopefully not competing with Naughts

Richards
HBF
Same as mentioned but if he can loose the sweetness and become more hardnosed. Rebound 50, and such a sweet kid

Darcy
CHB
Good hands and he would be the biggest kid in the school

Jones
FB
Backs himself providing he can get a run at it.

West
HFF
Footy smarts can win the hard ball

Smith. Just not sure about his commitment.

* Sweet hasn't gone yet :)

Oh like it. Sweet in for a bit of an old state school head cracking vibe. Same with Westy.
Dale on a wing, actually.... That's not a bad idea I. reality.

22-09-2023, 02:21 PM
Didn't Liber play ruck in some game in overseas post 16 GF?

Is anyone gonna do it??

22-09-2023, 02:25 PM
Didn't Liber play ruck in some game in overseas post 16 GF?

Is anyone gonna do it??

I'm waiting for BAD's team of waifs too.

22-09-2023, 02:46 PM
Yes, the way of modern recruiting. Marra had a scholarship to one of the prestigious schools too.

Rocket was the coach

22-09-2023, 02:46 PM
I'm waiting for BAD's team of waifs too.

As long as both his key defenders are 200cm+, BAD has free reign from me!

22-09-2023, 02:52 PM
As long as both his key defenders are 200cm+, BAD has free reign from me!

No short arses in the backline for me

22-09-2023, 03:48 PM
Name
Position
Why?

B Smith
Centre
catch me if you can? will smash them

Bont
CHF
would dominate as CHF at this level. Unstoppable

Daniel
Rover
I think an elite user of short distance will be key on this deck. Danny Boy is in

Truck
Wing
Has the long kick to score from anywhere on the field and versatile enough to do a few roles.

Lobb
Ruck
Bit more grunt in the middle to do some dirty work and versatility

English
Full forward
Quick, deep entries - big chill with a big bag

Richards
HBF
what everyone said

Naughton
CHB
yeah? think this would suit him roaming and marking everything in sight

Jones
FB
What Naughts doesn?t mark, Jones does. Mean spoil and great closing agility

Dale
HFF
Run hard, kick sausages

Sub - trying to think of someone different to use here, but Treloar I think it has to be.

22-09-2023, 05:05 PM
Name
Position
Why?

B Smith
Centre
catch me if you can? will smash them

Bont
CHF
would dominate as CHF at this level. Unstoppable

Daniel
Rover
I think an elite user of short distance will be key on this deck. Danny Boy is in

Truck
Wing
Has the long kick to score from anywhere on the field and versatile enough to do a few roles.

Lobb
Ruck
Bit more grunt in the middle to do some dirty work and versatility

English
Full forward
Quick, deep entries - big chill with a big bag

Richards
HBF
what everyone said

Naughton
CHB
yeah? think this would suit him roaming and marking everything in sight

Jones
FB
What Naughts doesn?t mark, Jones does. Mean spoil and great closing agility

Dale
HFF
Run hard, kick sausages

Sub - trying to think of someone different to use here, but Treloar I think it has to be.

English at FF will make a few posters very happy GD!

An AA forward line spine would be pretty unstoppable.

Was waiting for a Truck nomination very nice.

Good side!

22-09-2023, 08:44 PM
Different sport, but this reminds me of the disparity between schools in the zone I grew up in. Playing cricket vs. Mount Scopus at their school in Burwood and I was opening the batting. We'd been playing on concrete state school wickets that didn't get any bounce with rock hard composite balls in ten over per innings matches.

Anyway, I decide I won't need a helmet, and for some unbelievably stupid reason our coach and old school cricket guy had no problems with it - I guess they let 11 year old's fail hard in the early 90s. But the problem was there was a synthetic deck at Mount Scopus, and Michael Klinger was opening the bowling and at that point he (as I found out almost the hard way) wasn't just a bat.

The first ball was a half tracker quicker than I'd faced by a lot of older kids I played against, and he was a year younger than I. It climbed and I pulled back, and I reckon it missed my head by less than half a foot. I called for the helmet, and carried my bat for a solid twelve not out to set up a tight win

I gave Tony Dodemaide a huge sledge after catching him in the slips for a relatively low score in U/16s. We'd been told how good his form with the bat.

As I walked out to bat with us 2 for not many I heard "Give. Me. The. Ball" come from the region of covers.

Luckiest duck i ever made. Couldn't get away quickly enough.

22-09-2023, 08:45 PM
Rocket was the coach

He was Darcy's too wasn't he?

22-09-2023, 08:50 PM

You should have seen the look on MJP's face the day we were getting ready to play touch footy and Westdog turned up to umpire.

MJP just looked at him and said "what the **** are you dressed up as?"

22-09-2023, 10:01 PM
He was Darcy's too wasn't he?
yes he was

22-09-2023, 10:02 PM
You should have seen the look on MJP's face the day we were getting ready to play touch footy and Westdog turned up to umpire.

MJP just looked at him and said "what the **** are you dressed up as?"

Did he have his police uniform on :eek:

22-09-2023, 10:14 PM
I’ll do it, but only if I can sneak in Pat Veszpremi and Andrew McDougall

23-09-2023, 11:50 AM
The evolution of this thread is definitely "all-time Bulldogs school yard challenge"

23-09-2023, 12:13 PM
The evolution of this thread is definitely "all-time Bulldogs school yard challenge"

Ha it's alive!

I love a good dynamic thread.

Woofmeisters post whatever team you want.

I'll collate it all into the final team at some point.

Can be woof celebrities, current day aflw aflm or former of both!

Robert Groenewegen might be good to get on the school PA for some sledging.

23-09-2023, 02:02 PM
I like the idea of an all time WOOF posters team. Not brave enough to have first crack though.

23-09-2023, 03:12 PM
I like the idea of an all time WOOF posters team. Not brave enough to have first crack though.

Ha, I'll have a go a bit later.