View Full Version : Demons V Bulldogs - Round 1 17/3/24 MCG 1.00pm

Pages : 1 [2]

17-03-2024, 03:06 PM
McNeil, Harmes, not good enough

Add a whole heap more. Naughton, Lobb, Weightman, English, VDM.

Outside of Bont, Jones, West, Marra it’s been pretty disappointing.

17-03-2024, 03:07 PM
A few things that haven’t changed
1, 5 goal runs against us
2 , our mids couldn’t hit a barn door into the forward line.
3 how the hell vandermeer and McNeil get picked above Macrae and Daniel.
Is Williams actually on the ground ?

Sanders 15 off disposals in his first game against a hard side is a good result. Harmes, McNeil, Gallagher and VDM should be all in the gun well before him.

Harmes is a rubbish footballer. Just such a nothing pickup and a waste of time.
Agree

17-03-2024, 03:08 PM
He seems to get a free pass from the MC, when I see a lot of what you're talking about.
And fans. Wonder why we decided to play McNeil in the role up spot at HF.
He's been small forward all pre season.
Edit: hes starting wing ive been reliably informed. Sentiment is the same. Odd.

McNeil and VDM are very frustrating. They've got some very strong AFL attributes, and I can see why we want to pick them, but they are just too reliably unreliable in the moments we need them to nail, and that's their biggest negative attribute set. At some stage you have to wonder if their positive traits just don't outweigh their negative ones, especially if they're not going to close the gap on their negative aspects. So far McNeil and VDM don't look like doing so. They have a quarter to convince me otherwise.

He looks even slower than i remember. I was warming, now... Ice cold.

Jacko come back!

Bramble has been good

I think he has to play half forward, just don't get what he does as a full-time mid. He kind of went to Oliver at one point but it seemed to last for 10 minutes.

Treloar has been so lazy. Standing still while the opposition mids move to attacking positions. Really disappointed with his game.

All the focus on hacking at the fringe guys, yet the guy on $900k pa starting in the centre square is getting a free pass.
Naughton has been soundly beaten.
Dale has been poor, needs a game back and in hindsight should have gotten some VFL/scratch match time first.

17-03-2024, 03:09 PM
Reckon Libba's been okay, but one tackle in three quarters is uncharted territory for him

17-03-2024, 03:09 PM
Given the additional game on us, I just don't see us having the tank being able to pull this back.
I think we'll do well to keep this under a 7 goal loss is my gut feel... hope I'm wrong.

17-03-2024, 03:10 PM
I am not sure how we aren’t ten goals down.

17-03-2024, 03:11 PM
Given the additional game on us, I just don't see us having the tank being able to pull this back.
I think we'll do well to keep this under a 7 goal loss is my gut feel... hope I'm wrong.

So same old then?

I reckon Lobb lead early on a dummy lead then to make space for Naughts & Marra. Selfless

Ffs kick a goal.

17-03-2024, 03:12 PM
Not sure what I am seeing.

Glimpses of a team that can play the game in a manner that we as fans would enjoy, but also all the hallmarks of the team and brand that has eroded trust and enjoyment in the past few years.

The hardness across the board isn’t there. Ball gets out too easily. Tackles don’t stick. Nudged out of the contest. Sweat on opponent and tackle rather than win the ball. That’s not Bulldogs footy.

We can get it done though. JUH can light a spark with the way he is winning the footy when given a chance.

17-03-2024, 03:13 PM
So same old then?

I don't think so. I really think it looks clear the team's who played last week have an advantage up against those that haven't.

17-03-2024, 03:14 PM
Honestly, if Naughton did chop out for 5% of his time in defence during match sim and even had CBAs, he has to be moved to get him in the game. Even if it's for 2-3 minutes.

17-03-2024, 03:14 PM
We need a Goal kicking coach

17-03-2024, 03:16 PM
Remember when Dale was a good kick?

17-03-2024, 03:18 PM
Our mistakes are costly. Don’t reckon we’re that far off.

17-03-2024, 03:18 PM

Too many years ago. I mentioned earlier not sure his role anymore. Not strong at the contest, can’t defend or mark, unable to use his pace.

17-03-2024, 03:19 PM

Still is just a poor option

17-03-2024, 03:19 PM
So we have 3 tall forwards and Weightman who is capable, and we try and spot up a shallow connection to Harmes out wide?

That's not a skill issue, that's decision making

17-03-2024, 03:20 PM
Bramble has had a good game so far

17-03-2024, 03:20 PM
He's been the best of our newbies today, great finish Bramble

17-03-2024, 03:21 PM
So Bevo after 4 years can’t see to stop Petracca and Oliver and put someone on the defensive side of the 50 in the centre ?
Every body in the AFL world can see it !

Bramble has had a good game so far

He has done some good things. Not sure if he has been good

I would have recruited Bramble and would not have recruited Harmes. When do I start as our head recruiter.

17-03-2024, 03:23 PM
Yep. I am done with McNeil.

17-03-2024, 03:24 PM
Ok McNeil can **** off now.

Oh McNeil.

At game 1 of the NBL finals. Is it a case of close enough but still not good enough?

McNeil again.

It's not OK anymore.

I'd like to see Khamis get more opportunities to get handball receives if that's how he's going to use the ball going forward

Get McNeill off and play with 17 ffs

McNeil. How? How? How? How? How?

Never play again. Just not good enough. 50/50 moments. How many times has he killed us today?

My God. 3 fumbles in 1 play to turn a potential 2 goal game I to a 4 goal game.

So frustrating

McNeill is just overawed at this level. Thought his pre-season was a strong step forward and today has been two big ones back. It's just the mistakes that kill you.

McNeil. FFS.

Delist again now.

17-03-2024, 03:25 PM
Pathetic from Richards as well.

Get McNeill off and play with 17 ffs

If he is picked next week I think we need to send a pitchforked posse to WO.

Poor guy might have just fumbled his year

https://i.ibb.co/37jYVj0/Screen-Shot-2024-03-17-at-3-01-33-pm.png (https://ibb.co/R9s4tsC)

Was hoping McNeill had turned a corner. Unfortunately not. Oh well back to Footscray

McNeil…you just have to laugh don’t you. Every time he’s near it you just know what’s coming next.

I would have recruited Bramble and would not have recruited Harmes. When do I start as our head recruiter.

Can we assume you'll un-recruit McNeil?

McNeill can?t ever play for us again

17-03-2024, 03:27 PM
Melbourne have been crap and still waltz to victory.

McNeill can?t ever play for us again
He will play next week haha

Wasn't there another West sibling? I want another one. He's been our 'most improved'

This is such a bad performance.

Once again we fail to kick 10 goals in the game. Not going to win a lot of games doing that.

17-03-2024, 03:28 PM
We may get pumped here. Roll over. Big test to see if we have any desire and fight.

Turned their toes up now, all got too hard when we didn’t hit the scoreboard.

Melbourne have been crap and still waltz to victory.

Have they though ? Thought they have played well. Sure we have made them look good but there run has been very good

dukedog
17-03-2024, 03:29 PM
Just bombing it inside 50 since 2017

Ok McNeil can **** off now.

Even though it's right this still makes me a bit sad.

Goodnight, sweet prince.

On a pefect day for football we have kicked 8 goals. We have not created any easy looks through pressure and turnovers.

Many things have impacted the game, but that is the biggest for me.

17-03-2024, 03:30 PM
Well nothings changed. Same old Bulldogs sadly.

Wasn't there another West sibling? I want another one. He's been our 'most improved'

Really? Not sure what he's done to be honest.

Once again we fail to kick 10 goals in the game. Not going to win a lot of games doing that.

Disappointing considering our over hyped forward line. Bring in Bedendo and Darcy

Massive let down, this last quarter in particular.

17-03-2024, 03:31 PM
Westy can hold his head high.

Naughton been very disappointing.

17-03-2024, 03:32 PM
Westy can hold his head high.

Naughton been very disappointing.

TO be fair to McNeil... that goal was due to his good pass up the field

17-03-2024, 03:37 PM
Can I just say that the media can stop with the “ he had an interrupted pre season.. it’s a myth.
And Bevos we will be fitter than any other pre season is rubbish, falling away.

17-03-2024, 03:38 PM
Bevo intentionally not picking our best side really was a choice.

17-03-2024, 03:39 PM
I for one am shocked that ditching Macrae for a sentient potato who Melbourne had no use for but was reputedly 'exactly what we were crying out for' wasn't the bold master stroke this team needed to take the next step.

Eh I don't think I can handle another season like this.

This is the most prepared we've been remember...

17-03-2024, 03:40 PM
Not great for membership drive.

Just sucks the oxygen, belief and momentum of another season, back against the walls again after our third horrendous outing to Melbourne in round #1.

Beyond disappointing.

Hahaaaaaa wtf...!

Buku... Please.

Eh I don't think I can handle another season like this.

https://i.postimg.cc/BQQHzDWV/moe-the-simpsons.gif (https://postimages.org/)

Can I just say that the media can stop with the “ he had an interrupted pre season.. it’s a myth.
And Bevos we will be fitter than any other pre season is rubbish, falling away.

Oh thanks for reminding me of Bevos bullshit ?we?ll be fitter better hungrier than ever before? pre season speech.

If that?s our best fittest team I?m really worried for our future

Khamis can't play anymore.

McNeil can't play anymore.

17-03-2024, 03:41 PM
This makes me ropeable.

Khamis will never be afl quality. That kind of shit is unforgivable

Embarrassing now.

I’m back in blood rage mode.

44 points is about right. We’ve been killed. The mental disintegration continues.

This is such a bad performance.

Shockingly bad

17-03-2024, 03:42 PM
Khamis will never be afl quality. That kind of shit is unforgivable
He’s not alone. We are playing more than a few who aren’t.

How many easy goals have we gifted them? How many?

How many have they gifted us?

Our pressure and game style just anywhere near at standard.

Surely Bevo is under a bit now, everything changed around him to give him all he needs and this is what the team serves up ?

I know it's only round 1 and all. But what we're seeing is no different to all thr other years of misery. Bevo is on very shaky ground right now....

Anyone want to guess the score from round one 2023?

17-03-2024, 03:43 PM
Our underdone players in English and Dale have been terrible. Our core midfielders have been absolutely shat on from a great height by Melbourne's core group of midfielders.

Naughton absolutely disgusting and selfish performance.

17-03-2024, 03:43 PM
Well I know it’s only round 1 but I didn’t see anything that makes me think we are going to be competitive against top 8 sides. Early call, but nothing looks different.

17-03-2024, 03:45 PM
Don't underestimate the impact having a full game under their belts plus a ten day freshener had on the game. The AFL can't let that happen again.

17-03-2024, 03:46 PM

Nope.

17-03-2024, 03:47 PM
Don't underestimate the impact having a full game under their belts plus a ten day freshener had on the game. The AFL can't let that happen again.

Yep, it?s beyond a joke. Very avoidable too- just get all the teams that played last week to play each other this week.

17-03-2024, 03:47 PM

Clutching at straws. If it was close, maybe. We didn?t fire a shot after the first quarter. We actually started OK

17-03-2024, 03:48 PM
McNeill turns over two goals, which should have been two to us? Khamis gives one . To me thats 5 goals. Melbourne have a bad preseason inside the club leading up to the season we apparently are humming.
A bloke with mental health problems didn’t train with the club and comes out and smashes us.
Cut the crap ��

Happy Groundhog Day :eek:

Nope.

115 v 65 in 2023 and 109 v 64 in 2024.

Let’s just see what we dish up against GC next week.

17-03-2024, 03:49 PM
115 v 65 in 2023 and 109 v 64 in 2024.

Hey we're getting better!!

Yeah it definitely would have played a part in the margin. But I still think we're miles off it.

Our underdone players in English and Dale have been terrible. Our core midfielders have been absolutely shat on from a great height by Melbourne's core group of midfielders.

Naughton absolutely disgusting and selfish performance.

jee what did you see that gives you hope?

Honestly I saw the same game plan and the same outcome.

17-03-2024, 03:50 PM
So will Bevo throw out the preseason plan? Or do we wait another week?

17-03-2024, 03:50 PM
Very disappointing. Melbourne have got our measure and we just make too many mistakes against them.

17-03-2024, 03:51 PM
It was Skinner reserves fault apparently last year.

17-03-2024, 03:51 PM
Surely Bevo is under a bit now, everything changed around him to give him all he needs and this is what the team serves up ?

R1 loss won't add any pressure too him.

17-03-2024, 03:55 PM

It?s not the loss.

It?s the style of the loss. Hardly anything to take out of that game. There will be pressure from the media for sure. Inside the four walls maybe different.

17-03-2024, 03:56 PM

What pre season plan?

I think this is worse than other years, after all the changes.
Melbourne hardly got out of 3rd gear. Not sure what i was watching tbh.

Boots
Do they force us to play Melbourne rd 1 every year as some misguided attempt to kickstart a rivalry? It’s about as much of a rivalry as we had with Geelong in that they just smash us every time.

17-03-2024, 03:57 PM
Very disappointing. Melbourne have got our measure and we just make too many mistakes against them.

Yes. Too many mistakes. But we could not generate anything all day. Coughed up cheap goals, but we looked out of ideas in how to move the ball or how to convert after quarter time.

It was more than the mistakes today. The overall game plan and methodology didn?t pass the first round test.

17-03-2024, 03:57 PM
Clutching at straws. If it was close, maybe. We didn?t fire a shot after the first quarter. We actually started OK

I think if you look at my posting for this game I'm being pretty open with other reasons why we were ordinary. But you can't say having an extra run under your belt and an ideal turnaround wouldn't have made a difference.

17-03-2024, 03:58 PM
I think this is worse than other years, after all the changes.
Melbourne hardly got out of 3rd gear. Not sure what i was watching tbh.

Agree 100%. There was so little to get excited about.

17-03-2024, 04:02 PM
I think if you look at my posting for this game I'm being pretty open with other reasons why we were ordinary. But you can't say having an extra run under your belt and an ideal turnaround wouldn't have made a difference.

Yes. It?s a factor. But it was things I believe rely little on match conditioning and touch that cost us mostly.

Overall structure and methodology just did not stack up against them. Yes, a few skill errors cost us badly, but on general play, they always looked far more in control. Even when the stats were similar, you always felt they had the ascendancy.

jee what did you see that gives you hope?

Honestly I saw the same game plan and the same outcome.

Underdone players playing like underdone players (two in particular), and a midfield lowering its colours cause me to think there is a really easy way to improve. Especially if the likes of Naughton and Lobb can impact the game more at the same time.

I think we needed to select a couple of players who played badly in McNeil and Khamis but we don't need to select them again, and I'm shuffling things around to get Macrae back into the side, Daniel starting the game, and Keath into the CHB position.

But it all goes back to the engine room, if they can't control the game at different times or level it most of the time we're no chance no matter what our game plan is. That's the same for any team.

Underdone players playing like underdone players (two in particular), and a midfield lowering its colours cause me to think there is a really easy way to improve. Especially if the likes of Naughton and Lobb can impact the game more at the same time.

I think we needed to select a couple of players who played badly in McNeil and Khamis but we don't need to select them again, and I'm shuffling things around to get Macrae back into the side, Daniel starting the game, and Keath into the CHB position.

But it all goes back to the engine room, if they can't control the game or level it we're no chance no matter what our game plan is.
Is Keath fit?

I do think we just have to make changes.

17-03-2024, 04:04 PM
Is Keath fit?

I do think we just have to make changes.

From reports he played very well yesterday.

17-03-2024, 04:05 PM
Keath absolutely has to come in.

17-03-2024, 04:05 PM
It's been the same engine room that he's gone with for years.

Throw Richards in, Naughton in for bursts (if it's good enough for Cameron and Geelong it's good enough for us).

You can't keep failing the same way over and over and ignore the coaching.

17-03-2024, 04:06 PM
37 tackles for the match is not a fair dinkum side.

Incredibly inside 50s were even, 53 a piece. We just got killed in transition.

17-03-2024, 04:07 PM
It's been the same engine room that he's gone with for years.

Throw Richards in, Naughton in for bursts (if it's good enough for Cameron and Geelong it's good enough for us).

You can't keep failing the same way over and over and ignore the coaching.

Daniel actually made a noticeable difference to the mix just by virtue of not being one of the same guys that’s always in there.

What happened to Weightman as this guy?

17-03-2024, 04:08 PM
2 First year players, McNeil never should have been in 7 of his 14 disposals were clangers , Harmes is an ordinary player which was my concern when we recruited him again 5 clangers out of 11, Dud Brown with 6 marks, outstretching Buku - what hope have you got. To top it off, delivery to the forward line, same old

So Frustrating

17-03-2024, 04:08 PM

That's utterly appalling.

17-03-2024, 04:09 PM

They only had 8 more tackles

I see nothing Bevo can say that can excuse it after his build up .
Even his team selection was badly out of touch.
We all had doubts on a few players not just a couple like usual team selections.
Khamis as CHB, McNeill, Vandermeer . It’s also the players we didn’t name that should have played.
Why is our delivery into the forward line so horrid for years as well ?

Yes. That?s the issue. We lost the same way we always do. Sides sit back, put numbers behind the ball and make us pay when we inevitably turn it over. They know they don?t need that many more inside 50s to win. This is also against one of the least efficient teams in recent history. We allowed them easy looks all day.

We play the game on the oppositions terms. How they want to play.

17-03-2024, 04:10 PM
Keath absolutely has to come in.
God HD hes been cooked for a couple of years.

Our defense is a shambles.

Positives were Bramble, Marra and West. Not much else.

17-03-2024, 04:11 PM
They only had 8 more tackles

That is still +22% more tackles in a game where they had +10% more possessions.

We didn?t get near them all day.

17-03-2024, 04:12 PM
What’s the old saying about being mad doing the same thing but expecting a different result ?

Mavericks
17-03-2024, 04:14 PM
Very disappointing. Daniel as the sub was comical. Ball movement did not show signs of improvement. Maybe we need to be belted for the next 4 and Bevo goes. The players need a new coach with fresh ideas.

17-03-2024, 04:15 PM
God HD hes been cooked for a couple of years.

Our defense is a shambles.

Positives were Bramble, Marra and West. Not much else.

I don’t think it is. We just need someone with enough core strength to compete when one out until JOD is back and Keath is it. Our backline is close, Coffield and Bramble have added more than I was expecting.

17-03-2024, 04:18 PM
Gold Coast at Ballarat mmm not good they are coming big time and we are shite in Ballarat.
Another hiding is in the works.

17-03-2024, 04:21 PM
Glass half full - West was great and Bramble had a good debut. Jones solid. JJ good.

Did any of our players win their position?

17-03-2024, 04:24 PM
I dunno if I wanna do another year of this. I like myself more when the footy isn’t the centre of my life. I wish I just went to the movies or something today.

17-03-2024, 04:25 PM
I don’t think it is. We just need someone with enough core strength to compete when one out until JOD is back and Keath is it. Our backline is close, Coffield and Bramble have added more than I was expecting.

Fair enough, can't agree and of course it's not all on them however contrast it to Melbourne and i think you can see how far away we are in KPD.
Coffield was ok, something to work with for sure.

JOD is so raw, and Keath is cooked. Jones is 33. Buku isn't a KPD.

There is an obvious answer....

Pleather Sole
Whoever worked with Harry McKay pre-season we need them to coach our goalkickers. Johnno not earning his consultant fees.
There were a few positives but I can't be bothered with them right now. ☹️

Haven't seen it will watch when I can but reading reports and from numerous messages not much has changed.

17-03-2024, 04:32 PM
Fair enough, can't agree and of course it's not all on them however contrast it to Melbourne and i think you can see how far away we are in KPD.
Coffield was ok, something to work with for sure.

JOD is so raw, and Keath is cooked. Jones is 33. Buku isn't a KPD.

There is an obvious answer....

You need to approach the obvious answer from a different angle.

The angle our forward line cannot function with four one dimensional forwards.

Something has to give.

17-03-2024, 04:40 PM
Very disappointing. Daniel as the sub was comical. Ball movement did not show signs of improvement. Maybe we need to be belted for the next 4 and Bevo goes. The players need a new coach with fresh ideas.

Lose to WC in a few weeks time and you might see it.

17-03-2024, 04:47 PM
Imagine our forward line with the ball coming in from chains and turnovers like it did in the Melbourne forward line. It is easy to beat up on forwards. But the quality of entries between Melbourne and us today was huge.

I could kick goals in a forward when you gift them the turnovers like those created by Sanders in the third and McNeil in the second.

17-03-2024, 04:49 PM
I found our forward structure and ball movement incredibly slow and frustrating. Our forwards so often all lead to the spot where May/Gawn/Lever were already standing, or hanging out the back asking for the impossible kick over the back so they can try to take mark of the year.

We would often get the ball on HBF and have NOBODY leading out to the wing - all too busy standing in the middle pointing for their teammates to do the hard work.

17-03-2024, 05:10 PM
Bevo.

They were on top in two main aspects.

1) Rebound froum D 50m. We allowed them to move the ball too easily. Allowed way too many uncontested marks. They got through us on skinnys and short diagonals. Normally we are better at defending that.

2) Our template in tranisition was too stalled. Dissconect through the middle of the ground.

17-03-2024, 05:14 PM
Bevo.

Macrae has had two back. He was OK the other day. With Jacko he had a stress in his femur and then he had a hammy. Missed a lot of running. He is capicity to cover the ground was compromised. He is not far away.

Caleb Some of the boys who had good summers did not have good days today. They will be frustrated by their performances today. Caleb just found himself out of the team.

17-03-2024, 05:16 PM
What?s the old saying about being mad doing the same thing but expecting a different result ?

I think it goes 'actually that's mis-attibuted to Einstein. He never actually said that'

17-03-2024, 05:18 PM
Bevo

Sam Darcy. He is building up his match minutes. He will be a ruck forward over time. If we pick too many talls and rucks our run is compromised.

17-03-2024, 05:56 PM
We also lost every single quarter. We also had less scoring shots in every single quarter.

Q1 lost by one point
Q2 lost b 11 points
Q3 lost by 7 points
Q3 lost by 26 points

17-03-2024, 06:01 PM
Bevo

Sam Darcy. He is building up his match minutes. He will be a ruck forward over time. If we pick too many talls and rucks our run is compromised.

what run?

they were not even walking to position.

17-03-2024, 06:04 PM
There are a lot of adjectives I could use to describe that performance and most of them begin with "in" or "un". But I always like to look for the positives. For example, we are in a better position than Collingwood at the moment.
That being said this game was de ja vue (spl?) all over again. Oliver, Gawn, Petracca, May - did as they liked.

I think it looks very poor when Gawn is able to just take the ball out of the ruck whenever he chooses and just handball to advantage. He invariably assumed front position at throw ins as he it was his birthright.

Another area where we are badly deficent is in kicking the psychologically important goal. Not all goals have the same impact on team morale. Not all goals have "momentum value". Seize the moment? No, we let it slip through our fingers as if it were an eel soaked in olive oil.

Caleb Daniel should have been in the starting line up.

Libba was heroic.

We will win next week.

17-03-2024, 06:09 PM
There are a lot of adjectives I could use to describe that performance and most of them begin with "in" or "un". But I always like to look for the positives. For example, we are in a better position than Collingwood at the moment.
That being said this game was de ja vue (spl?) all over again. Oliver, Gawn, Petracca, May - did as they liked.

I think it looks very poor when Gawn is able to just take the ball out of the ruck whenever he chooses and just handball to advantage. He invariably assumed front position at throw ins as he it was his birthright.

Another area where we are badly deficent is in kicking the psychologically important goal. Not all goals have the same impact on team morale. Not all goals have "momentum value". Seize the moment? No, we let it slip through our fingers as if it were an eel soaked in olive oil.

Caleb Daniel should have been in the starting line up.

Libba was heroic.

We will win next week.

Yep. Every time. English twice in the third quarter. Start of the last quarter. Chance to make something happen. Marra miss. Naughton miss. Marra, miss again.

17-03-2024, 06:17 PM
I must give Jamarra some credit. He competed really well and tried to make things happen.

I was really disappointed that no one came to back up Harmes after that flog May roughed him up TWICE. A mini melee at least was called for

17-03-2024, 06:19 PM
I must give Jamarra some credit. He competed really well and tried to make things happen.

I was really disappointed that no one came to back up Harmes after that flog May roughed him up TWICE. A mini melee at least was called for

Not surprising though.

This group is fragile, soft, and weak. Melbourne know it.

17-03-2024, 06:35 PM
Why did we allow them to chip and walk through us from deep in our own F50?

Why wasn't it addressed?

Is the message and game plan wrong, or are players not following instruction?

The fact we couldn't adapt all day to something so simple astounds me. Are we dumb, lazy, or both?

17-03-2024, 06:46 PM

Why wasn't it addressed?

The fact we couldn't adapt all day to something so simple astounds me. Are we dumb, lazy, or both?

Bevo mentioned this in the presser. It was the number one thing he identifeid where we failed. We allowed them to pierce us at will. They had 50+ uncontested marks more than the AFL average.

It was horrendous.

17-03-2024, 07:15 PM
I dunno if I wanna do another year of this. I like myself more when the footy isn?t the centre of my life. I wish I just went to the movies or something today.

I feel the same. Not saying I can walk away but this same old gaslighting is not great for my state of mind.

17-03-2024, 07:20 PM
I was really concerned about our backend going into the game and wasn't confident considering what we have dished up the last two years so a loss wasn't totally unexpected but what is a massive concern though, is that you couldn't see anything that the club had hung their hat on during preseason come to fruition.

-The only 2 players that looked fitter were West and yep I'm going to say this Mcsteal. Now this is my biggest concern more than anything. The rhetoric about not having to go to Springvale to train, new facilities, new fitness coach, fitness group ever in Bevo's era to kick off the season etc etc etc It was non existent. A good example was Cody, not once during the game did we see his improved running ability impact the game, we barely saw him up the field at all.

-Naughty also played pretty deep for the most part and like in the GF we did nothing about moving him up the field to him to get into the game. A guy that signed a mega deal, in the leadership group it was a disappointing day indeed. When the Dees started the run on surely he can go back at times? He pushed up a lot higher in the preseason I was very surprised that his role felt very 2023 again.

-Bevo continuing to select players that will never be AFL players. Buku has always been a liability when the ball hits the ground, he runs around like a little leaguer he just lacks urgency for defence. Mcsteal and VDM aren't natural small forwards they never will be.

-We get too many similar performances from English for a player of his ability and contract demands$$$ I can't remember a player that has to be reminded to compete at half time as much as Tim does. He looked more dangerous forward and must be prepared to play there at times to benefit the team.

Ageing midfield, yep looked older again today. In fairness we recognised this hence selling the farm for Sanders and have been unlucky with Smith. I'm fine with Macca not playing today considering his issues but yeah I think we need to try something different in there. Gags is going to be an AFL player that I can assure you all but once we get JOD back I agree I wouldn't mind seeing ED going in there.

You could hear Lade on the Doco on Lobb saying to the players at quarter time at the WO simulation game let's not go to sleep like we normally do after a good quarter. I did find it interesting hearing it and yep we were poor in the second quarter in that game and this time it started a few minutes to go in the first. Another run on, I can hear Kane Cornes already and rightly so.

Ball movement looked great for 10 minutes when JJ had them in his pocket early but once again another significant factor of our demise last year came out to haunt us. Are we playing the modern game? Could any woofers see anything different ?

While I'm half glass empty, 44k for a beautiful day at the G? We nearly have 100k members between us that crowd was reflective of our performance.

17-03-2024, 07:21 PM
Bevo mentioned this in the presser. It was the number one thing he identifeid where we failed. We allowed them to pierce us at will. They had 50+ uncontested marks more than the AFL average.

It was horrendous.

This is where the journalism sucks.

Ask WHY it wasn't rectified. It was happening from the beginning.

If we can't adapt mid game to something that simple I'm at a loss to expecting anything from this group.

17-03-2024, 07:22 PM

It was horrendous.

Jack Billings had 15 uncontested marks, all on the wing. What did we do in game to combat this?

17-03-2024, 07:24 PM
Went to the match. It was a warm day for the footy and looking forward to the cooler weather soon and daylight saving ending going back one hour.

Not a great day and plenty to learn from our first outing for 2024.

The match as one poster mentioned turned early in the 2nd quarter with that burst of goals once again which we know so well and seems to happen far too often against us

Need to make some changes going into the match against Gold Coast next week. We must put some work into Rowell in particular next week.

Hopefully Macrae comes back and Daniel starts that match. Need to fix that defence up as well. It was woeful. O'Donnell would have been good down there today.

Still need to take our chances when we go forward once again.

Thought Bramble, Marra and West were positives today. Bont and Libba did what they do but it can't be just them. I liked JJ game and Liam Jones intercepted very well down there.

Tough debuts for Sanders and Gallagher.

17-03-2024, 07:26 PM

Why wasn't it addressed?

TBB we didn't man the mark again if felt like 2022 when we were sagging off all the time.

17-03-2024, 07:34 PM
TBB we didn't man the mark again if felt like 2022 when we were sagging off all the time.

Something I picked up on as well.

Bevo mentioned in his presser that they were able to pick off short diagonals, but in order to do that you need to be super quick with your decision making or you need to be given space as a kicker.

The MCG is huge, sagging off doesn't suit that ground. While you can get away with it a little on smaller/ narrower grounds, you can't at the G. You need the opposition user to either be rushed to make a decision, or go back and take longer to kick the footy - hopefully allowing the defenders to cover it. Neither happened for us because we sagged off in two thirds of the ground and we didn't work hard enough to close up space.

I really do prefer it when our frontal pressure is noticeable for the last two thirds of the ground.

17-03-2024, 07:42 PM
I think we got screwed by the draw, playing a team with already a game under their belts, on the rebound, at their home and in pretty tiring conditions. Plus they are a top 4 side.

I think we'll bounce back next week.

17-03-2024, 07:45 PM
TBB we didn't man the mark again if felt like 2022 when we were sagging off all the time. It also looks like we struggle to play the ground. For whatever reason when we play the teams that are quick on the G we get cut up on the rebound and sides pick us apart. Go to Marvel and we don't seem to have the same gaps.

17-03-2024, 07:52 PM
I think we got screwed by the draw, playing a team with already a game under their belts, on the rebound, at their home and in pretty tiring conditions. Plus they are a top 4 side.

Have you seen the Suns chef?

Theyre a formidable outfit these days.

17-03-2024, 07:57 PM
Robbo. Dislikes.

Same old Dogs need a new trick

That was disappointing. Aaron Naughton would be disappointed. He had six touches and took one mark and was targeted by teammates just twice inside the forward 50. Jamarra Ugle-Hagan was the target 10 times, Cody Weightman was five times and Rory Lobb was four times. If his teammates don’t kick it to Naughton, the $900,000 forward, what’s the point of him being there? The discussion must be about whether he is best suited for the team to play in defence. As Ugle-Hagan was developing, Naughton was needed forward. Now that Ugle-Hagan is a bona fide star, and Sam Darcy kicked six goals in a VFL game at the weekend and is craving selection, Naughton can easily be redeployed.

Certainly, they need to stiffen the defence. The Bulldogs made too many mistakes between the arcs which put way too much pressure on the defensive group. Buku Khamis was okay but the Dogs needed another interceptor to help Liam Jones. Dare we say it, they once again gave up a five-goal stretch, coming late in the first quarter and until the sixth minute of the second quarter. And they gave up 16 scores from turnover. It’s a familiar tale for the Dogs which needs to be challenged. Naughton to the defensive 50 is a trigger that can only help.

17-03-2024, 08:04 PM
Tackles

Harmes 5
Gallagher 5
English 4
Bont 4
West 3
Sanders 2
Caleb 2
Coffield 2

Zero tackles

Weightman
Naughton
Lobb
Jones
Dale

Libba and Treloar also only laid one tackle each which is genuinly a suprise when you consdier how many minutes they spent in the midfield. Libba averaged 7 tackles per game in 2023. Treloar averaged 5 tackles per game in 2023.

It was a bruise free game with the way they cut us up with all that short kicking, but we did not have intensity around the contest or at the man.

When we are dying for some forward pressure from our forwards, zero tackles from Weightman, Naughton and Lobb is a real issue. Especially with someone with the athletic attributes of Naughton at ground level.

17-03-2024, 08:08 PM

And after a ten day break to thoroughly review what went awry, how to counter it, recover well, train well, and prepare well. Outside of winning round zero (whatever the **** that means) they had a ripping lead up to today's game.

Agree we'll be better for the run, and I hope we're quietly lobbying the AFEL to never let such a shit show occur again.

17-03-2024, 08:09 PM
Every cloud has a silver lining guys....

We are off the bottom the alphabet put us in! Woot.

https://i.postimg.cc/x1hpYFTV/Screenshot-20240317-200707.png (https://postimages.org/)

17-03-2024, 08:20 PM

I know one round does not a season make but I am so totally uninspired and unsurprised by what I've seen today that I can t even find the optimism in me right now to think we'll bounce back.

There's been no change to our game, our weaknesses are the same and after game one in another new season we're already discussing the future of guys like McNeil and Vandermeer. Again. Also like the year before. Harmes is Hannan. Buku is Cordy. The deja vu is strong.

I'm very concerned.

17-03-2024, 08:20 PM
Robbo. Dislikes.

That was disappointing. Aaron Naughton would be disappointed.

Senior football writer at the foremost football news outlet btw.

17-03-2024, 08:21 PM
Senior football writer at the foremost football news outlet btw.

Even drunks have their moments of clarity.

17-03-2024, 08:23 PM
Even drunks have their moments of clarity.

To be fair. It didn't require any real thought or analysis. Robbo has been on the decline for years. I struggle to keep up with most of his gibberish these days.

17-03-2024, 08:23 PM
I'm sick of the drunk bashing on this site.

Virgin-Dog
17-03-2024, 08:25 PM
Every cloud has a silver lining guys....

We are off the bottom the alphabet put us in! Woot.

https://i.postimg.cc/x1hpYFTV/Screenshot-20240317-200707.png (https://postimages.org/)
I prefer to focus on the positives. In a massive turnaround from last season, we now sit only two spots behind the reigning premiers

17-03-2024, 08:26 PM

This was my exact thought. Thankfully didn?t get to watch a huge amount today, saw the opening - looked great for the first 10 mins, and then only saw snippets post.

Always an enjoyable read going through this thread after the game.

On your question? that?s the big one. Do we back ourselves in and say we get the selections largely right and have the plan and persist, or do we throw in the towel and go back to something else?

I mean - I?m sure Macrae gives a better outcome than Gags, and Daniel should maybe go back to defence where he hasn?t played for ages because we just don?t have any dare aside from JJ, and maybe Darcy can come back in so at least when we kick and hope we?ve got someone who can mark it.

Shame Jordan Sweet is gone because bringing him in for English vs Witts could?ve actually been a viable option?

If Harmes stays, does he tag Anderson?

17-03-2024, 08:28 PM
This was my exact thought. Thankfully didn?t get to watch a huge amount today, saw the opening - looked great for the first 10 mins, and then only saw snippets post.

On your question? that?s the big one. Do we back ourselves in and say we get the selections largely right and have the plan and persist, or do we throw in the towel and go back to something else?

I mean - I?m sure Macrae gives a better outcome than Gags, and Daniel should maybe go back to defence where he hasn?t played for ages because we just don?t have any dare aside from JJ, and maybe Darcy can come back in so at least when we kick and hope we?ve got someone who can mark it.

Shame Jordan Sweet is gone because bringing him in for English vs Witts could?ve actually been a viable option?

If Harmes stays, does he tag Anderson?

Agree 100%.

Bevo is going to have a sleepless couple of nights contemplating that. In the presser he mentioned how those that had big summers and he backed to take the spots of players like Caleb had poor days and they would be really dissapointed. Do they get a second chance or has he seen enough?

17-03-2024, 08:29 PM
I just made the mistake of listening to Bevo brief and his press conference.

I have no confidence about next week.

Have you seen the Suns chef?

Theyre a formidable outfit these days.

If im going to drive 3 hours each way i need positivity or whats the point.

I just made the mistake of listening to Bevo brief and his press conference.

I have no confidence about next week.

What were your take outs?

17-03-2024, 08:30 PM
Agree 100%.

Bevo is going to have a sleepless couple of nights contemplating that. In the presser he mentioned how those that had big summers and he backed to take the spots of players like Caleb had poor days and they would be really dissapointed. Do they get a second chance or has he seen enough?

Bevo will back the same team in.

17-03-2024, 08:32 PM
If im going to dive 3 hours each way i need positivity or whats the point.

Ha. This is true.

Both my children play in Basketball Grand Finals next Saturday. So I will be missing from the Ballarat game.

Will then also miss the next two due to being overseas on holidays. Next game will be against the Bombers on April 12.

Robbo. Dislikes.

Naughton to the defensive 50 is a trigger that can only help.

Enough said.

Others would argue you need your head checked.

17-03-2024, 08:33 PM

Nothing about football fandom makes sense. Our actions are truly unexplainable.

17-03-2024, 08:34 PM
On a positive note it was good not listening to BT and Richo shit show. :)

17-03-2024, 08:35 PM

We all chose a football team while children and let it dictate our moods for 9 months of the year for the rest of our lives.

We probably all need our heads checked haha.

17-03-2024, 08:37 PM
We all chose a football team while children and let it dictate our moods for 9 months of the year for the rest of our lives.

We probably all need our heads checked haha.

Indeed.

Funnily, I've pretty much narrowed down the negative impacts of football to watching the game and being directly engaged by SEN listeners.

It's a pretty good spot to be in, even if the game in itself is supposed to represent an outlet for recreation rather than masochism.

17-03-2024, 08:40 PM
What were your take outs?

Not much. As always he didn’t say much.

I truly believe he thinks today was an aberration and we will bounce back.

Clearly what we planned for over pre season from team selection to structure to game day strategy did not work.

17-03-2024, 08:41 PM
Agree 100%.

I haven’t listened to the press conference however it’s definitely a Bevo thing to do, to back them in again.

It’s also in his wares to bring someone senior back in when they’re ready to go - it seems like it’ll be how much running and at what pace did Jack get through on the GPS yesterday - but if he’s hitting the metrics, surely he’s straight back in?

Some big calls this week.

GC in Ballarat will be a hard ask, and if we lose, we’re really up against it - confidence will be hard to recover and fans / media will start going hard. It is still early doors but it’s really a season defining game in many ways.

17-03-2024, 08:47 PM
this was my exact thought. Thankfully didn?t get to watch a huge amount today, saw the opening - looked great for the first 10 mins, and then only saw snippets post.

On your question? That?s the big one. Do we back ourselves in and say we get the selections largely right and have the plan and persist, or do we throw in the towel and go back to something else?

I mean - i?m sure macrae gives a better outcome than gags, and daniel should maybe go back to defence where he hasn?t played for ages because we just don?t have any dare aside from jj, and maybe darcy can come back in so at least when we kick and hope we?ve got someone who can mark it.

shame jordan sweet is gone because bringing him in for english vs witts could?ve actually been a viable option?

if harmes stays, does he tag anderson?

whoop whoop sweet alert sweet alert whoop whoop

17-03-2024, 08:54 PM
That race caller guy on Fox was cool. They should get more actual broadcasters in the mix.

17-03-2024, 08:57 PM
Or beer

17-03-2024, 08:57 PM
That race caller guy on Fox was cool. They should get more actual broadcasters in the mix.

He should be ostracised for doing research, if I'm honest.

Throughout the entire game I didn't notice ignorant things coming from his mouth, nor did he painfully sexualise any minorities or people of colour. It was weird.

Countrydog5
17-03-2024, 09:01 PM
Could anyone link Bevos brief? I don't receive the emails anymore for some reason.

17-03-2024, 09:10 PM

I will be in Ballarat - we will bounce back

17-03-2024, 09:11 PM
Could anyone link Bevos brief? I don't receive the emails anymore for some reason.

click here (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/1508500/bevos-brief-round-1?utm_source=sfmc&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=AFL_Content+ _Bevos-Brief-Round-1_Members_O18_2024_03_17&utm_term=https%3a%2f%2fwww.westernb ulldogs.com.au%2fvideo%2f1508500%2fbevos-brief-round-1&utm_id=159581&sfmc_id=16171790)
Not sure it will work

17-03-2024, 09:19 PM
He should be ostracised for doing research, if I'm honest.

Throughout the entire game I didn't notice ignorant things coming from his mouth, nor did he painfully sexualise any minorities or people of colour. It was weird.

Not a single wink wink nudge nudge comment. I am disappointed.

17-03-2024, 09:28 PM
Not a single wink wink nudge nudge comment. I am disappointed.

I give him to the bye......oh wait, the AFEL has already had a bye......I'll give him to the next one.

Countrydog5
17-03-2024, 10:06 PM
Thanks BAD. That worked fine.

17-03-2024, 10:16 PM
A positive of the day - my son loved his first train ride, and first game at the G (he did go to Docklands twice last year vs Hawthorn and Essendon, so this was his first loss).

Do I force him down this road of Bulldogs supporting.......

Well yes of course! Tough luck kid!!!

17-03-2024, 10:20 PM
A positive of the day - my son loved his first train ride, and first game at the G (he did go to Docklands twice last year vs Hawthorn and Essendon, so this was his first loss).

Ha. He has no choice in the matter. But he will love it. It is a great thing you can have in common forever.

17-03-2024, 10:22 PM

That's great. It's the only emotional pain you can inflict on him without society looking down on you.

17-03-2024, 10:22 PM
You knew this was coming after today's loss. Tom Morris off the long run.

https://x.com/FootyonNine/status/1769318160392421505?s=20

17-03-2024, 10:34 PM
You knew this was coming after today's loss. Tom Morris off the long run.

https://x.com/FootyonNine/status/1769318160392421505?s=20

I wish I could just jerk off as a job. Granted, I wouldn't go as far to do it on TV but it'd still be nice.

17-03-2024, 10:40 PM
I wish I could just jerk off as a job. Granted, I wouldn't go as far to do it on TV but it'd still be nice.

Tom has many weaknesses, but he isn't completely stupid. He must have a bit of self awareness. How do you get up every morning and look in the mirror when you know you are just fabricating meaningless stories for supposed entertainment? Does that bring any satisifaction. Does he actually think he is contributing in any meanuful way to the game or society in general.

I would be too embrassed to show my face in public putting up the stuff he does, no matter the coin and I'm sure it doesn't even pay that well for a boy who went to Melbourne Grammar.

17-03-2024, 10:44 PM
Tom has many weaknesses, but he isn't completely stupid. He must have a bit of self awareness. How do you get up every morning and look in the mirror when you know you are just fabricating meaningless stories for supposed entertainment? Does that bring any satisifaction. Does he actually think he is contributing in any meanuful way to the game or society in general.

I would be too embrassed to show my face in public putting up the stuff he does, no matter the coin and I'm sure it doesn't even pay that well for a boy who went to Melbourne Grammar.

Honestly, I don't know whether this is satire.

18-03-2024, 07:32 AM
Who ran harder? We identified that we lost these stats in almost every game last year.

Total distance covered.

Langdon 16.2km
Bont 14.4km
Fritsch 14.4km
McDonald 14.3km
Rivers 14.1km

So Melbourne have four out of the top five.

Distance at high speed

Langdon 3.5km
Sparrow 2.7km
Gallagher 2.7km
Neal-Bullen 2.5km
Billings 2.4km

So Melbourne had four of the top five.

Total Sprints

Langdon 23
Billigns 23
JJ 22
Sparrow 17
Chandler 16

Melbourne have four of the top five.

Repeat Sprints

Billings 5
Langdon 4
Windsor 3
Pickett 2
Van Rooyen 2

Melbourne had the top five.

Overall distance covered was similar. But in repeat sprints Melbourne had 20 and we had 10. So we specifically priortised players with an athletic profile to cover the ground as we thought that is where we could hurt Melbourne and we were still out worked by the look of it. They do have some good runners by the way. Langdon is a running machine and Billings sister is a world class middle distance runner so assuming he also has some good genes.

(Accidently posted this in the "The Moment" thread, so reposting here where it belongs. Apologies for the double post.)

18-03-2024, 07:47 AM
Total sprints is their wings who killed us.

We've got a huge issue in that part of the ground.

18-03-2024, 09:04 AM
When a 31 year old key position player (McDonald) who hasn't been able to get a game, covers more distance than 20 of our players who weren't the sub or subbed, it says it all about why Melbourne are where they are and why we are where we are.

18-03-2024, 09:08 AM

It would be great to see the full data set. The only give us the top five. I know it is probably held back due to the inevitable abuse which would come from fans being cricital of players not working harder enough. But it would be nice to see the numbers of VDM and McNeil for instance. If their running ability is the reason they are being selected, how are they performing?

18-03-2024, 09:12 AM
When a 31 year old key position player (McDonald) who hasn't been able to get a game, covers more distance than 20 of our players who weren't the sub or subbed, it says it all about why Melbourne are where they are and why we are where we are.

Seriously? SERIOUSLY?

18-03-2024, 09:33 AM

Wait till you find out that their wingman Billings took the most marks on the ground - fifteen in total.

18-03-2024, 09:36 AM
Wait till you find out that their wingman Billings took the most marks on the ground - fifteen in total.

15 marks. All uncontested. He ran to space and got easy touches all day. 83% of his touches were uncontested. He generated 10 score involvements only behind Petracca.

He has elite running genes, but his running and ability to find space on a hot day was huge for them.

18-03-2024, 10:08 AM
He has elite running genes, but his running and ability to find space on a hot day was huge for them.
Wasn't the knock on Billings at the Saints was that he had a small tank and couldn't run out games in midfield, so had to stay in F50?

18-03-2024, 10:22 AM
Wasn't the knock on Billings at the Saints was that he had a small tank and couldn't run out games in midfield, so had to stay in F50?

He looked like an elite runner yesterday. His sister is Sarah Billings who is a national competitive runner in the 1500m and 800m.

18-03-2024, 10:27 AM
It would be great to see the full data set. The only give us the top five. I know it is probably held back due to the inevitable abuse which would come from fans being cricital of players not working harder enough. But it would be nice to see the numbers of VDM and McNeil for instance. If their running ability is the reason they are being selected, how are they performing?

I don't really buy that Laith and McNeil were in for running capacity when we've left out Poulter and Daniel (ground coverage) as well as Baker (speed and repeat sprints).

I think they went Laith and McNeil for forward pressure, which clearly didn't work, and we picked one forward too many so they both had to spend a good amount of time on the wing or through the middle. That was compounded when starting winger Gallagher could only get through 71% of game time - Langdon played 93%.

18-03-2024, 11:20 AM
I don't really buy that Laith and McNeil were in for running capacity when we've left out Poulter and Daniel (ground coverage) as well as Baker (speed and repeat sprints).

I think they went Laith and McNeil for forward pressure, which clearly didn't work, and we picked one forward too many so they both had to spend a good amount of time on the wing or through the middle. That was compounded when starting winger Gallagher could only get through 71% of game time - Langdon played 93%.

I thought Gallagher showed some real potential even though his numbers were low. He spent a little time in the centre as well to get some experience. Hopefully he gets another go next week.

18-03-2024, 11:24 AM

It's laughable that we ever thought VDM or McNeil could impact the game in any respect, let alone forward pressure. They have NFI where to run.

If all we want are good athletes, we should just contact Athletics Victoria and ask for their best 2 runners.

18-03-2024, 11:46 AM
It's laughable that we ever thought VDM or McNeil could impact the game in any respect, let alone forward pressure. They have NFI where to run.
The best patch of extended form we've ever had since the premiership was the first 6 rounds of 2021, where we had small pressure forwards selected specifically in that role (McNeil and Scott) and we also had a specialist stoppage ruckman (Martin) providing valuable support to English and keeping hi fresh for longer in games.

I know it's 3 years ago and McNeil has not been great for much of that time since then, but that 6 week stretch was very enjoyable to watch us with an identifiable structure with specialist role players, and not fill-in types from midfield depth to squeeze into those roles.

18-03-2024, 11:57 AM
The best patch of extended form we've ever had since the premiership was the first 6 rounds of 2021, where we had small pressure forwards selected specifically in that role (McNeil and Scott) and we also had a specialist stoppage ruckman (Martin) providing valuable support to English and keeping hi fresh for longer in games.

I know it's 3 years ago and McNeil has not been great for much of that time since then, but that 6 week stretch was very enjoyable to watch us with an identifiable structure with specialist role players, and not fill-in types from midfield depth to squeeze into those roles.

I agree but the 2+ years since suggests some of that was coincidental (i.e. McNeil and to a lesser degree Scott). Our midfield was absolutely dominating in the early part of 2021 and Martin gave us incredible presence (which we just don't get from English).

A lot of us have grown tired of seeing mids play as HFFers, but there's a reason why it happens - it's because the likes of McNeil and VDM offer zero.

A better question would be why haven't we loaded up on small forwards? It's been a problem for a while. We have TOO many talls. We keep McNeil (dumb - move on), Clarke is in his second year, and Arty is still raw. That's it. It's not a lot to choose from.

Weightman doesn't count either - he plays nothing like a small forward.

18-03-2024, 12:04 PM
I thought Gallagher showed some real potential even though his numbers were low. He spent a little time in the centre as well to get some experience. Hopefully he gets another go next week.

I liked Gallagher and was in favour of his selection, but am more making the point that it meant we needed to play another midfielder.

We took in Gallagher and Sanders as kids who would need to be managed, as well as played Harmes as a full-time mid when I think he's best suited to a forward flank and taking a turn through the midfield.

I think Laith and McNeil were then pushed on-ball or on a wing to balance those rotations and the mix was completely wrong.

18-03-2024, 12:23 PM
I agree but the 2+ years since suggests some of that was coincidental (i.e. McNeil and to a lesser degree Scott). Our midfield was absolutely dominating in the early part of 2021 and Martin gave us incredible presence (which we just don't get from English).

A lot of us have grown tired of seeing mids play as HFFers, but there's a reason why it happens - it's because the likes of McNeil and VDM offer zero.

A better question would be why haven't we loaded up on small forwards? It's been a problem for a while. We have TOO many talls. We keep McNeil (dumb - move on), Clarke is in his second year, and Arty is still raw. That's it. It's not a lot to choose from.

Weightman doesn't count either - he plays nothing like a small forward.

There was a contest at the Punt Rd end, I think Lobb took a mark 70 out and turned to get it in quick. Naughton and Weightman were both 50+ metres away calling for it to be kicked to them. They both flew for the unrealistic specify, Melbourne brought the ball to ground and cleared it away.

As soon as Lobb turned, Weightman should have led up at the ball. He likely would have dragged an opponent with him, at least improving Naughton's odds and at best getting a mark on the lead for himself.

Selfish, unrealistic, lazy, egotistical, dumb...I don't know what describes them best.

Why do we not have players hitting up at the ball? Why do our forwards not work to position for the outlet kicks? It is SO frustrating.

18-03-2024, 12:33 PM
There was a contest at the Punt Rd end, I think Lobb took a mark 70 out and turned to get it in quick. Naughton and Weightman were both 50+ metres away calling for it to be kicked to them. They both flew for the unrealistic specify, Melbourne brought the ball to ground and cleared it away.

As soon as Lobb turned, Weightman should have led up at the ball. He likely would have dragged an opponent with him, at least improving Naughton's odds and at best getting a mark on the lead for himself.

Selfish, unrealistic, lazy, egotistical, dumb...I don't know what describes them best.

Why do we not have players hitting up at the ball? Why do our forwards not work to position for the outlet kicks? It is SO frustrating.

I thought Lobb was too slow to move as Weightman was on his own for a long time.

18-03-2024, 12:52 PM
This cost us a goal against the trend of play. The downfield to Max Gawn. I didn't see it on game day. But gee whiz. Horrible. https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/cant-be-paying-that-afl-great-left-baffled-at-max-rule-as-dees-star-given-contentious-free-kick/news-story/01015c874fba93a4b8e9f368e02679d4?fbclid=IwAR2sif9cGPC7Rk3fGb PTpNgwF3VfXLM0u8GUU2fm334RiQoo5ZrWQNwJQlA

18-03-2024, 12:58 PM
This cost us a goal against the trend of play. The downfield to Max Gawn. I didn't see it on game day. But gee whiz. Horrible. https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/cant-be-paying-that-afl-great-left-baffled-at-max-rule-as-dees-star-given-contentious-free-kick/news-story/01015c874fba93a4b8e9f368e02679d4?fbclid=IwAR2sif9cGPC7Rk3fGb PTpNgwF3VfXLM0u8GUU2fm334RiQoo5ZrWQNwJQlA

I didn't see it at the time, but I knew it would be some bullsh*t like that. The only surprising part is that he didn't completely flop and fall to the ground.

D Mitchell
18-03-2024, 12:58 PM
The one I recall was Lobb marking at half forward, Weightman by himself about 30 metres out from goal jumping up and down waving his arms in the air. Lobb walks back to take his kick, by which time Melbourne have flooded back. Lack of urgency.

18-03-2024, 01:05 PM
I thought Lobb was too slow to move as Weightman was on his own for a long time.

I might be combining two passages in my head, but my point remains that Weightman should be hitting up the player with the ball and getting front and centre. If he's the only one in the contest...sure, fly as high as you want and force a contest. But we are already tall enough without a short forward leaping as well!

18-03-2024, 01:11 PM
The one I recall was Lobb marking at half forward, Weightman by himself about 30 metres out from goal jumping up and down waving his arms in the air. Lobb walks back to take his kick, by which time Melbourne have flooded back. Lack of urgency.

yes that one

18-03-2024, 01:26 PM

100% Melbourne went to the AFL sooking about Gawn's treatment against the Swans and we've paid the price for it.

I hate the AFEL and its umpire directives.

18-03-2024, 01:40 PM

100% correct. All the adjectives you suggest apply.

18-03-2024, 02:31 PM
100% Melbourne went to the AFL sooking about Gawn's treatment against the Swans and we've paid the price for it.

I hate the AFEL and its umpire directives.

I thought the umpiring was appalling yesterday. Didn't cost us the game, but boy oh boy some strange decisions. like that one.

I ran into a former umpire at half time (sometimes woofer poster) and he couldn't believe the umpiring in the first half.

18-03-2024, 10:03 PM
Dees v Dogs analysis - Were the Bulldogs 'not up for the fight?' | AFL 360 | Fox Footy

https://youtu.be/_Wp0W7Db-iI?si=tXKVBMsZFrT9PI7w

jDogs
18-03-2024, 10:22 PM
Where did Williams play on the weekend? I don't even think I saw him.

18-03-2024, 10:27 PM
Where did Williams play on the weekend? I don't even think I saw him.

I noticed him in the last quarter on the wing at a centre bounce. He had 18 disposals but they must have been up the Punt Rd end on the other side of the ground to where I was sitting.

18-03-2024, 10:48 PM
Happened all over the ground. Killed any purposeful movement out of the backline all day.

Melbourne rarely stopped to walk back from the mark. They would stand ground while a teammate ran past or quickly kick low to a teammate who had made position 35 metres ahead. (Usually With his opponent standing 15 metres away minding grass)

The contrast between the two teams was glaring. Can we please buy Melbourne?s game plan.

D Mitchell
18-03-2024, 10:58 PM
Melbourne?s game plan. Run hard at the ball when the opposition has it an away from the ball the instant a team mate takes possession.

18-03-2024, 11:34 PM
Dees v Dogs analysis - Were the Bulldogs 'not up for the fight?' | AFL 360 | Fox Footy

https://youtu.be/_Wp0W7Db-iI?si=tXKVBMsZFrT9PI7w

Not much you can argue against with all that.

Harmes headbut that was piss poor. If he wants to do that kind of thing properly, he should look at some old rugby league games from the 1970s.

19-03-2024, 11:46 AM
Which thread has the pic of Williams and Naughton aving a bit of a laff?

19-03-2024, 11:53 AM
Which thread has the pic of Williams and Naughton aving a bit of a laff?

Soapbox IIRC

19-03-2024, 11:58 AM
Soapbox IIRC

You do rc.

Thank you Kanye very cool

kickit2Koly
19-03-2024, 10:37 PM

this is hilarious, Cornes was flogging us on footy classified for not doing this enough.