Dogs by 47
First goal English
BOG Sanders

14-03-2024, 07:11 PM
Dogs by 27
Bog Bont
First goal McNeil (if he’s sub, Westy)

Quietly confident we’ll be too good for the Dees this week. Our midfield appears up for the challenge, Tim has a massive role with Lobb supporting, and our key forward depth should be too much for their defence. Expecting LJ to have a field day.

Hoping to make it for at least a half. Likely to have a child with me who naps at 1230…. Hmmm

14-03-2024, 08:29 PM
Dogs by 23 points
First Goal JUH
BOG Bont

Raels_d
14-03-2024, 08:36 PM
Margin: 10 points
First Goal: Westy
BOG: Bont

15-03-2024, 12:46 AM
Dogs by 21
FG: Sanders
BOG: English

15-03-2024, 12:59 AM
Scrays by 18 points
FG: Lobb
BOG: Naughton

54Bulldog16
15-03-2024, 02:54 AM
Dogs by 16
FG: Bontempelli
BOG: Bontempelli

15-03-2024, 11:23 AM
After last year I said I wouldn't front up again for an away game vs Melbourne... But alas, I have my tickets for Sunday.

Dogs by 13.
FG Marra.
BOG Treloar.

15-03-2024, 12:22 PM
28c. Sunny. Light winds. Early afternoon game. A little on the warm side, but should be a cracking day at the MCG.

Dogs by 17
FG Naughton
BOG Treloar

Bigdog
15-03-2024, 12:31 PM
Dogs 32 Points
FG VDM if he plays, if not Lobbster
BOG Sanders

15-03-2024, 04:09 PM
After last year I said I wouldn't front up again for an away game vs Melbourne... But alas, I have my tickets for Sunday.

Dogs by 13.
FG Marra.
BOG Treloar.

Ha ha. Like your predictions. Let?s hope Doggies stick it right up ?em.

15-03-2024, 06:42 PM
Melb by 32 points
Bog : Libba
First goal : Weightman

16-03-2024, 01:22 PM
Does Sydney’s win make Melbournes performance in round one better or worse?

16-03-2024, 01:25 PM
Neither I don't think. Sydney also had two days break on the Pies.

Very difficult to tell what's going on.

16-03-2024, 01:34 PM
History suggests we are going to be in for a long and rough afternoon.

Five new players is concerning.

Two are questionable if their form is warranted to be picked and one hasn?t played at the level for a ridiculous amount of time. Harmes and Sanders for mine deserve their spot.

Khamis as our second key defender frightens me massively. Coupled with Bramble and Coffield our defensive mix is not ideal. Don?t get me started on the Fritsch match up?

May and Lever typically feast on our forwards, hopefully we have figured out how to avoid them and score consistently throughout the match.

Surely the plan is to ruck English and Lobb 60% and 40% to really drive home the advantage over Gawn on such a hot day?

The biggest thing that pisses me off is the afl and the fixture bullshit. We should not have to worry about that little grub snippet Pickett as he should be suspended?

16-03-2024, 01:35 PM
Neither I don't think. Sydney also had two days break on the Pies.

Very difficult to tell what's going on.

Why is it difficult? It’s not like 4 clubs have played two games without us playing one! Oh wait…

16-03-2024, 02:11 PM
Why is it difficult? It’s not like 4 clubs have played two games without us playing one! Oh wait…

The most devastating part is that we didn’t get to share in the overwhelming success of Opening Round.

meenies
16-03-2024, 06:15 PM
At end of last year there was talk that Bevo will coach from the boundary line this year. Will we see that tomorrow?

16-03-2024, 10:59 PM
Doggies by 27 points
BOG Trelor
1st Goal English.

Really confident this week for the first time in many years we?ve had no distractions and negativity around our preseason.

Smiths injury cold be a blessing in disguise honestly.

17-03-2024, 01:56 AM
Dogs 21 points
FG Naughton
BOG Libba

May to lose his shit and get reported

Harmes to be involved in the first fight, and then the next three

17-03-2024, 09:22 AM
Dogs 21 points
FG Naughton
BOG Libba

May to lose his shit and get reported

Harmes to be involved in the first fight, and then the next three

It was at this time that James Harmes realised the entire league is correct - Bailey Fritsch does have an extremely punchable head.

17-03-2024, 09:30 AM
Starting to get a bit excited about today's game, really looking forward to seeing if we can match a very good opponent at the G.

17-03-2024, 09:47 AM
Nervous. Apprehensive. Somewhat frightened.

I?m not sure I have the energy for footy season to be back in full swing. I?m not sure my emotions can handle an 8 goal first round loss to the Dees.

The game starts at midday Brisbane time which, fortunately, makes it kinda socially acceptable for me to have a few beers during the match.

17-03-2024, 10:24 AM
Dogs by 27
Bog Bont
First goal McNeil (if he’s sub, Westy)

Quietly confident we’ll be too good for the Dees this week. Our midfield appears up for the challenge, Tim has a massive role with Lobb supporting, and our key forward depth should be too much for their defence. Expecting LJ to have a field day.

Hoping to make it for at least a half. Likely to have a child with me who naps at 1230…. Hmmm

It's a rare afternoon game for us so I'm bringing my one year old for his mcg debut. Going all out and getting the train in as well.

Hoping for a 20 point dogs win, first goal Sanders, Coffield BOG as he completely blankets Fritsch.

17-03-2024, 10:28 AM
It's a rare afternoon game for us so I'm bringing my one year old for his mcg debut. Going all out and getting the train in as well.

Hoping for a 20 point dogs win, first goal Sanders, Coffield BOG as he completely blankets Fritsch.

Lovely jazzadogs. Let?s hope it?s a great day for you and your little one. Your predictions would be bloody brilliant should they come to fruition. If I see a dad with dear little tot I?ll think it?s you!!

17-03-2024, 10:32 AM
I'm going to resist my natural inclination to go all in on the outcome of this game. I think the AFL has unnecessarily made further compromises to the draw with the unfathomably pointless Opening round where only 8 teams played.
I think those teams who played last week are better for the run, especially when playing against a team who hasn't yet shaken off the rust.
So I have Melbourne slight favourites, and today's result (short of a 100 point belting) I don't think will have any material bearing on our season's fortunes.

17-03-2024, 10:36 AM
I'm excited for the first time in a long time.

No excuse football, no compromise. The messaging from the club has been exactly where it needs to be all offseason.

There would be nothing better than driving Melbourne to 0-2 on a perfect day at the G.

Bigdog
17-03-2024, 10:48 AM
We have 9 changes since Round 1 Last Year.

17-03-2024, 10:53 AM
It was at this time that James Harmes realised the entire league is correct - Bailey Fritsch does have an extremely punchable head.

Glass houses there though maybe.

17-03-2024, 11:01 AM
We have 9 changes since Round 1 Last Year.

I think that's a fairly normal amount of turnover tbh.

Dees also have 9 changes.

Out: Tomlinson, Petty, Brayshaw, Hunter, Harmes, Grundy, Laurie, Bowey, Melksham
In: Howes, Hore, Windsor, Van Rooyen, Viney, Salem, Billings, Woewodin, Fritsch

For comparison, our 10 including sub..
Out: Scott, Hannan, Baker, Macrae, Keath, Duryea, Bruce, BSmith, Darcy, McLean
In: West, Sanders, Harmes, Gallagher, Coffield, Khamis, Bramble, VDM, McNeill, Weightman

17-03-2024, 11:40 AM
I think that's a fairly normal amount of turnover tbh.

Dees also have 9 changes.

Out: Tomlinson, Petty, Brayshaw, Hunter, Harmes, Grundy, Laurie, Bowey, Melksham
In: Howes, Hore, Windsor, Van Rooyen, Viney, Salem, Billings, Woewodin, Fritsch

For comparison, our 10 including sub..
Out: Scott, Hannan, Baker, Macrae, Keath, Duryea, Bruce, BSmith, Darcy, McLean
In: West, Sanders, Harmes, Gallagher, Coffield, Khamis, Bramble, VDM, McNeill, Weightman

I call that a net… um… prob 0 difference. Albeit hindsight now says Bruce and Keath were to looked cooked and a couple go on to be delisted.

17-03-2024, 11:44 AM
The real footy is nearly here :):D:):D

17-03-2024, 11:49 AM
Bring your voices today boys and girls, it always sounds like we are at a funeral when the dogs are in possession at the G.

I really don't know what to expect from this group, naturally worried about our backend but I have a feeling we are going to bring the pressure hopefully that will put us in good stead.

17-03-2024, 12:30 PM
Anxiously anticipating the season.
We need to show our mettle today.

17-03-2024, 12:46 PM
Not expecting a win today, but hopefully some green shoots to take us forward long term. Looking forward to seeing 5 new Bulldogs run around, and hopefully some good team defence.

Enjoy the day Woofers, the sun's out and footy's back.

17-03-2024, 12:47 PM

Good stuff, hope it?s a successful day all round!

17-03-2024, 12:49 PM
I'm going to resist my natural inclination to go all in on the outcome of this game. I think the AFL has unnecessarily made further compromises to the draw with the unfathomably pointless Opening round where only 8 teams played.
I think those teams who played last week are better for the run, especially when playing against a team who hasn't yet shaken off the rust.
So I have Melbourne slight favourites, and today's result (short of a 100 point belting) I don't think will have any material bearing on our season's fortunes.

Yeah but… we should still win by 5 goals right??!!

17-03-2024, 12:55 PM
History suggests we are going to be in for a long and rough afternoon.

Five new players is concerning.

Two are questionable if their form is warranted to be picked and one hasn?t played at the level for a ridiculous amount of time. Harmes and Sanders for mine deserve their spot.

Khamis as our second key defender frightens me massively. Coupled with Bramble and Coffield our defensive mix is not ideal. Don?t get me started on the Fritsch match up?

May and Lever typically feast on our forwards, hopefully we have figured out how to avoid them and score consistently throughout the match.

Surely the plan is to ruck English and Lobb 60% and 40% to really drive home the advantage over Gawn on such a hot day?

The biggest thing that pisses me off is the afl and the fixture bullshit. We should not have to worry about that little grub snippet Pickett as he should be suspended?

Melbourne also have 5 new inclusions. Annoying actually that kozzie served his one match ban last week.

I?m really hoping naughton and Marra have learnt each others running patterns and we can split lever and may from the contest. Love the idea of naughton running one of them all over the park.

I?m too scared to put in a prediction. Patiently optimistic.

jDogs
17-03-2024, 01:27 PM
Daniel the sub.
I said when I first joined the forum and gave my rd 1 team prediction... they just love Vandermeer and his speedy little legs, don't they?

17-03-2024, 01:35 PM
Daniel the sub.
I said when I first joined the forum and gave my rd 1 team prediction... they just love Vandermeer and his speedy little legs, don't they?

Surprised Daniel is the sub. Weird one.

I’m still quite high on VDM and what he can bring to our team. He’s never going to be the cleanest or most efficient player, however he should be able to play a role and help us with repeat entries, defensive workrate and intensity.

17-03-2024, 01:41 PM
Surprised Daniel is the sub. Weird one.

I’m still quite high on VDM and what he can bring to our team. He’s never going to be the cleanest or most efficient player, however he should be able to play a role and help us with repeat entries, defensive workrate and intensity.

There's no reason he can't be Beau Mcreery...a guy with flaws but a very specific role, who is now a premiership player.

17-03-2024, 01:52 PM
VDM starting? :(

Hope he proves me wrong

17-03-2024, 01:52 PM
Not happy Daniel sub, but seems he hasn’t been in good form

17-03-2024, 01:53 PM
Surely something vanilla like Coldplay instead of something vanilla like Enter Sandman would be more suited to Melbourne?

17-03-2024, 01:56 PM
Nice reminder just being here that I still hate this pack of entitled pricks.

17-03-2024, 01:57 PM
Yeah but? we should still win by 5 goals right??!!

Dogs by 5 goals
Jamarra first goal
Bont BOG

17-03-2024, 02:00 PM
Shut the ****ing music

17-03-2024, 02:03 PM
Not a fan with Vanders starting and Daniels as sub.

17-03-2024, 02:05 PM
Naughton what a kick!

17-03-2024, 02:07 PM
Gags and Sanders both with possessions. Happy the kids get their hands on it early.

jDogs
17-03-2024, 02:07 PM
3 marks inside 50 already. wowee

17-03-2024, 02:08 PM
May caught in no mans land twice already.

17-03-2024, 02:08 PM
Out the front. X(

17-03-2024, 02:13 PM
A mark inside 50 to each of the core 4 forwards

17-03-2024, 02:14 PM
I?m stuck at a bloody music festival in Ballarat so some WOOF play by play will be much appreciated. Triple headed monster starting well by the looks of it!

17-03-2024, 02:18 PM
Demons being pretty undisciplined with their tackling, Dale and Coffield high tackles were both there with the Coffield one being because Fritsch just had to get involved as well.

17-03-2024, 02:18 PM
Someone needs to get closer to Oliver in open play. Running around on his own and going to get heaps of it

17-03-2024, 02:20 PM
Imagine relying on Ben Brown as your best tall forward these days.

17-03-2024, 02:21 PM
May is becoming a problem. Not sure if we're kicking it to him or whether we're not giving an alternative.

We can't keep kicking it around 60 out its exactly what they want.

Turning it over too much with our kicks from half back.

Pressure on their mids has dropped.

17-03-2024, 02:22 PM
Need someone to go elbow first into May's ribs.

17-03-2024, 02:25 PM
Terrible kicking from Cody.

17-03-2024, 02:26 PM
Bont looks cherry ripe

17-03-2024, 02:26 PM
Two very poor misses from Weightman today.

17-03-2024, 02:28 PM
Gaggs!

On ya Gaggs!

Good boy Gags, can't believe anyone doubted you.

Gagsmcaggs feasting on Gawn's ****up

17-03-2024, 02:31 PM
How?s Timmy handling things against their big dick head?

17-03-2024, 02:33 PM
How?s Timmy handling things against their big dick head?

On top.

He and Jones did just clash (Jones coming forward, English coming back) which gave them a goal. Not sure that's English's fault though

17-03-2024, 02:33 PM
Gawn is playing very well. English is ok but Gawn more impactful.

17-03-2024, 02:35 PM
Forward line creating separation great to see. English????? Seriously we need more from him.

God our defense is horrendous.

English or Lobb have to impact that slow high ball

17-03-2024, 02:36 PM
Between Lobb Jones and English we should have controlled that contest in the air

17-03-2024, 02:37 PM
Tim getting towelled up late in q after knock

17-03-2024, 02:37 PM
Giving up too many scores from easy over the back spillages in defence. We need a small goal-keeper. We'd be in front otherwise

17-03-2024, 02:38 PM
Any chance of finding a man in transition?

Horrendous. We're being walked through.

17-03-2024, 02:39 PM
Over the back goals are guaranteed against our defence. Melb look likely to score every time they go inside 50.

17-03-2024, 02:40 PM
McNeil off Daniel in please

Giving up too many scores from easy over the back spillages in defence. We need a small goal-keeper. We'd be in front otherwise

Yep. It?s plain as day. Coaches will address this hopefully.

Tim getting towelled up.
You told us he was a Superstar

Good 1st quarter. Fwd line looks to be moving well and mids are looking for them on the lead.

Over the back easy goals annoying down the other end but we have shown good system. Go dogs!

17-03-2024, 02:41 PM
Over the back goals are guaranteed against our defence. Melb look likely to score every time they go inside 50.
The issue is when the ball hits the ground Melbourne winning them. Not just in Forward line

West is tackling hard and chasing like an animal.

On ya Gaggs!

That was a ripper goal. Buku & Saunders playing ok too.

17-03-2024, 02:42 PM
English has been fine.

It's our inability to lay a glove on transition and the over the back goals that are killing us.

The over the back stuff I'm least concerned about for now, we're competing in the air OK, but our inability to stifle clean patterns is putting us under a lot of pressure.

17-03-2024, 02:42 PM
Tim getting towelled up late in q after knock
Overall contest is even with Gawn

17-03-2024, 02:43 PM
Harmes non existent

17-03-2024, 02:43 PM
Early days. Sure some issues we need to address but really liked our start. Good signs

17-03-2024, 02:44 PM
Same old same old against Melbourne , they just run through, the Viney one was typical us.
What happened to the make sure someone is behind the pack rules we were taught as kids ?

17-03-2024, 02:45 PM
Can we actually stick a tackle. Weak as by Richards

17-03-2024, 02:46 PM
That was completely ****ed Richards.

What a piss poor effort. Terrible.

I feel a run on coming.

Our defence is horrible

Ed ****ing weak

What is Treloar actually trying to contribute defensively there? Terrible effort.

Boots
I?m only watching via the live blog on the AFL app and the commentary here (internet too poor for much else) but it seems like we can?t stop May (as usual), can?t intercept mark ourselves (as usual), and are struggling to stop their ground ball gets in the F50 (as usual).

is this about right?

Oliver starts on bench and already 14 possessions. Can harmes tag him? He’s yet to touch the ball.

17-03-2024, 02:47 PM
Bevo confused already haha.

I feel a run on coming.

It's already up to four in a row.

I?m only watching via the live blog on the AFL app and the commentary here (internet too poor for much else) but it seems like we can?t stop May (as usual), can?t intercept mark ourselves (as usual), and are struggling to stop their ground ball gets in the F50 (as usual).

is this about right?
100%

17-03-2024, 02:48 PM
Oliver starts on bench and already 14 possessions. Can harmes tag him? He’s yet to touch the ball.
Hes destroying us!

Run ons…

Oh well we played a good quarter.

We're getting opened up very easily now. I was worried we wouldn't be able to run it out but 1qtr effort is bad.

English looks injured.

Naughton needs to get involved.

17-03-2024, 02:49 PM
Nothing like a good old Demons run on to remind us footy is back.

English sore and fading out of the game.

Save our money there I think, when the time comes.

We've got some work to do, Melbourne have really settled.

17-03-2024, 02:50 PM
Omg mcneil

**** off McNeil. Said it forever and a day, shouldn't even be on a list.

McNeil you complete arse.

McNeil, come on mate, how are you turning that over

Boots
5 goals lol.

Crumbs, crumbs, crumbs. Is there a team more attuned to our weaknesses than the Dees?

17-03-2024, 02:51 PM
Okay... I'm done with McNeil

17-03-2024, 02:51 PM
McNeil Jesus. Buku should have cleaned that up.

17-03-2024, 02:53 PM
Bont putting the cape on

Dale has been rubbish. Not sure where he is at.

Bont we needed that. Bless you

17-03-2024, 02:54 PM
McNeil Jesus. Buku should have cleaned that up.

It was a horrible bounce. It was perfect for Brown. Lucked out big time.

Looks like Harmes has gone to Oliver

Boots
App says all five goals in that run were from clearances, and that they’re winning cont possessions. Seems like it’s not our defence that’s the problem.

Had a gutful of McNeil.

17-03-2024, 02:55 PM
Looks like Harmes has gone to Oliver
I called it haha
Might get his own possessions now

17-03-2024, 02:56 PM
Brown was always going to kick 5.

Richards been in two massive mismatches.

We are a tall defender short.

Let off with Pickett dropping a chest mark.

Edit: nevermind

What a joke that free to Brown

17-03-2024, 02:57 PM
Had a gutful of McNeil.

He tries hard but for me his papers are stamped.

The undersized defence can only work if your midfield is half serious about putting pressure on the ball carrier.

Brown was always going to kick 5.

Richards been in two massive mismatches.

We are a tall defender short.

Rubbish free kick but think you're spot on

17-03-2024, 02:58 PM
So we haven’t stopped run ons since 2021 and Melbourne must lick their lips knowing they only have to play a qtr against us to beat us.

17-03-2024, 02:59 PM
It's good we e had another off season of puff piece articles to pump us up only to see us just bomb it into the forward line yet again.

17-03-2024, 03:00 PM
Coffield's got some work to do if he wants to keep his spot next week. Anonymous at the moment and he's playing the role Buku should be.

Boots
17-03-2024, 03:02 PM
AFL app pointing out Melbourne gets more points from stoppages against us than anyone else. Shame given that’s our primary path to scoring…

17-03-2024, 03:03 PM
We are being bullied around the contest as usual against this mob.
Melb are 1 goal away from blowing this apart.

This is no good. Midfield getting rolled in the contest. Lots of almost moments turn into a shot on goal for them

Think they're doing a great job of peeling Jones away from the danger areas. Feel like they're willing to sacrifice a forward if it means Jones isn't intercepting inside 50s

Is Naughton playing today?

17-03-2024, 03:04 PM
This is no good. Midfield getting rolled in the contest. Lots of almost moments turn into a shot on goal for them

Same shit again. We just don't look like we want it enough. Our effort is not matching theirs. They swarm when the ball hits the deck or they get it off half back. We jog around or stand and watch.

17-03-2024, 03:04 PM
Way too easy to score against, in really familiar ways.

Hard to see where the goals will come from to draw us back in here.

17-03-2024, 03:06 PM
Marra's repeat efforts are outstanding

17-03-2024, 03:07 PM
JUH seems the only forward likely to impact the game.

17-03-2024, 03:09 PM
Gee whiz without Jones this would be really ugly.

17-03-2024, 03:10 PM
Ed and Cody have been ordinary

17-03-2024, 03:10 PM
Gee whiz without Jones this would be really ugly.

And again.

17-03-2024, 03:12 PM
McNeil's playing on-ball in a role that I'd much rather see Caleb Daniel in

17-03-2024, 03:13 PM
100 goals for Cody.

17-03-2024, 03:14 PM
Now for the red time goal.

17-03-2024, 03:15 PM
Did I just see Naughton one hand spoil Lobb in the pocket?

17-03-2024, 03:15 PM
Did Naughton spoil Lobb with about 90 seconds to go in the first half?

17-03-2024, 03:16 PM
I didn't want to jinx it but going in just 2 down is a minor win for us

I was hoping for a more fluent faster game style. I get it is hot but we are slow and very little run.

Get Caleb on for either McNeil or VDM.

Did I just see Naughton one hand spoil Lobb in the pocket?

Well if we both saw it….

17-03-2024, 03:17 PM

I think he's an unbelievably selfish footballer at times.

17-03-2024, 03:17 PM
What is the point of English being behind Gawn at every throw in. He just can?t get around him. Secondly why is English not on the Melbourne goal side if Max. Sorry but getting troweled up with out a plan B

17-03-2024, 03:18 PM

Feel like those two names are going to get a lot of mentions this year.

I get that our 20-26th players aren't going to be the difference, but it's time to put a line through these two.

Gawn for sure on top now. More impact on the clearances. Hopefully with Lobb and English working together we can wear him out. That said since it's out first match and their second I'm willing to cop we might not have the same match fitness they do right now.

I think VDM has been kinda ok in spots. Agree McNeill needs to be subbed off .

Ground balls. In our F50 and our D50 we are getting destroyed. Both ends. How many goals to them from soft crumbs?

Where are we when the ball hits the ground from the long ball? We are always outnumbered and they make us pay.

I was hoping for a more fluent faster game style. I get it is hot but we are slow and very little run.
Melbourne aren?t allowing us to do it. We need to stick to the plan and move the ball quicker

17-03-2024, 03:19 PM
Caleb Daniel to the high half forward role. We need someone to place the ball carefully as Melbourne's defensive set up is excellent.
West has probably been our best ball user going inside 50 which is both a big tick for his improvement and an indictment on our mids.

Gallagher and Treloar have trailed off a few times allowing their opponents to run forward and provide an option.

Get Caleb on for either McNeil or VDM. VDM for mine. He has just to many 1/2 efforts and turn overs

I didn't want to jinx it but going in just 2 down is a minor win for us

Given we were dominated it is a big win but every year it is the same old ?looking for positives in an otherwise poor performance?

I just don?t get how we can look so good early on but the rest of the game is ordinary.

Anyone else impressed by Gallagher? He tries to kick to a player instead of long down line & the inevitable Dees mark. Seems to have a decent footy IQ.

17-03-2024, 03:20 PM
A play to highlight our issues.

Lobbs kick inside 50 towards the end of that quarter. We had Marra, Naughton and Weightman at the contest. They all go up for the mark. Ball spills to the ground and there's 3 melbourne players to mop up (Melbourne had more players than us at the contest). So we have noone at the drop of the ball.

Ok weird but whatever. But then coming out of our 50, the dees have 2 or 3 players on their own for an easy outlet. So where the hell are our guys? That already nearly 4 or 5 dees players on their own. What the hell are we doing?? Either our structure sucks, our players are unfit/lazy or stupid. Perhaps all of the above.

Melbourne aren?t allowing us to do it. We need to stick to the plan and move the ball quicker

Melbourne move the ball more fluently and safer than us, we are static and under pressure. We are coughing up goals from soft turnovers and they look solid coming out of D50. Big difference in the game.

McNeil was ok late in the qtr. Apart from that horrendous turn over he's not the issue.

Oliver and May, our midfield defense and our forward entries.
JJ was running out of defence early, now they've clamped him its dried up. Need to move it quickly

English playing like he has sunstroke.

17-03-2024, 03:21 PM
Jones and JJ have been excellent, we'd be in a world of pain without both.

I'm infuriated that McNeil continues to get games. How much evidence do we need? Vandermeer has given nothing either.

It's a disappointing display so far. We just aren't prepared to work hard defensively in transition and it's disheartening to watch us continually be walked through.

The one positive is we did stop the bleeding and are only 2 goals down - a good result given the pattern of about the last 40 minutes of play - but a lot needs to change and quickly.

17-03-2024, 03:21 PM
Also, centre clearance.

The stats have them in front but it only tells half the story. How many clean exits do we allow out the front? GF 21 issue still not resolved.

17-03-2024, 03:22 PM
Anyone else impressed by Gallagher? He tries to kick to a player instead of long down line & the inevitable Dees mark. Seems to have a decent footy IQ.
I'm not sure he has the tank yet. Windsor ran off him after a contest a few times and Gags couldn't follow him.
Seems to position himself well and do the right things in the contest though.

Marra's repeat efforts are outstanding

Agree. He is becoming a leader before our eyes.

English playing like he has sunstroke.

It's pretty common story with him sadly. Doing well, cop a knock, turtle up for the rest of the game. Is that sustainable as a ruckman?

McNeil was ok late in the qtr. Apart from that horrendous turn over he's not the issue.

Oliver and May, our midfield defense and our forward entries.
JJ was running out of defence early, now they've clamped him its dried up. Need to move it quickly

Come on GG - his role is to apply pressure and to get forward crumbs. He's got nowhere near either of those metrics, and when he was given the ball, he turned it over twice.

It's.not good enough.

17-03-2024, 03:23 PM
The hot weather is probably compounding the already unfair advantage melbourne has by already having played a game. Stupid afel.

It's not an excuse for us at this point but I reckon by the end of the game it will have played its part in the margin.

I think he's an unbelievably selfish footballer at times.

I actually think Naughton, Weightman and Lobb are all too selfish and perhaps too one dimensional for our forward line to be effective.

I'm not sure he has the tank yet. Windsor ran off him after a contest a few times and Gags couldn't follow him.
Seems to position himself well and do the right things in the contest though.

Thanks. Love woofers for their footy knowledge.

It's pretty common story with him sadly. Doing well, cop a knock, turtle up for the rest of the game. Is that sustainable as a ruckman?

Today, so far, exemplifies why he's not worth $1m+. He hasn't been BAD, but he needs to be much better.

17-03-2024, 03:24 PM
It feels like a team who hasn?t played versus a team with one under their belt at the moment.

We look too careful and slow, a little rusty, dumbly, too gassed at times. Oh- we keep getting in each others way and handing over the ball.

Hopefully the oppressive conditions Melbourne had last week is a bit of a leveller as the game wears on.

17-03-2024, 03:25 PM
I don't think it could get much better for Melbourne, in that they get a ten day break after their first hit out and we last played two weeks ago.

Let's see how our added running over preseason aids us.

17-03-2024, 03:25 PM
Better effort in bringing footy to ground that term, but those small forwards need to get dangerous. The talk in pre-season was the likes of McNeil, West, Laith and Cody 'bringing the heat' at ground level and it simply hasn't existed.

McNeil seems be rolling up and playing as a midfielder, that's...fine, but he was our best-performing small forward during pre-season, so not sure why he's not there now.

17-03-2024, 03:27 PM
Again. English has had a hugely interrupted campaign and has copped a heavy collision in the first quarter.

He's come up against Gawn who was always going to be coming out heavy this week. Reckon some context goes a long way in judging his performance.

Ball movement pedestrian, JJ or bust off half back we don?t seem to be playing the modern game. The last goal was important and more important we didn?t allow them to reply cheaply late. We are due for the ball to bounce the right way haven?t got anything cheap yet, we need to get cody more involved lets see how his running has i proved. That first half was embarrassing by English.

Better effort in bringing footy to ground that term, but those small forwards need to get dangerous. The talk in pre-season was the likes of McNeil, West, Laith and Cody 'bringing the heat' at ground level and it simply hasn't existed.

McNeil seems be rolling up and playing as a midfielder, that's...fine, but he was our best-performing small forward during pre-season, so not sure why he's not there now.
West has also done some really good work high up the field too, but that's not where you want him being dangerous.

Naughton is getting an absolute bath and Dale looks really out of touch.

17-03-2024, 03:29 PM
McNeill and Vandermeer 1 tackle between them and some here want them in before Macrae and Daniel ?

Also, at the ground. It?s proper hot. It?s going to take a toll. Fitness is going to be massive in this second half.

I wonder if playing both of Bramble and Coffield was a mistake. I'm sure their mindset on debut is 'ease in and don't make a mistake', but coming off half back we really need more run, dash and aggressive ball-use. Bramble in particular needs to back in his speed and start breaking lines.

Our forwards need to be more mobile, May is not quick, uses his judgement to put himself in position and props there. Naughton, or which ever forward he is covering, needs to get on their bike and change the ball game. In short, lead where May aint.

17-03-2024, 03:33 PM
Ball movement pedestrian, JJ or bust off half back we don?t seem to be playing the modern game. The last goal was important and more important we didn?t allow them to reply cheaply late. We are due for the ball to bounce the right way haven?t got anything cheap yet, we need to get cody more involved lets see how his running has i proved. That first half was embarrassing by English.
how is it embarrassing? State say otherwise- again even Steve s except Gawn had 6 more hitouts

17-03-2024, 03:34 PM
Same old story Jeemak playing from behind at ever contest has nothing to do with it. You cant be holding out for a contract when playing like this.

17-03-2024, 03:34 PM
Thought our fwds led better and mids honoured the leads also. When were did that we looked dangerous.

I think a lot went right for Melb that half. We can tighten up our ball handling a little, and the defenders talk better, and we can do some real damage.

17-03-2024, 03:35 PM
Two things about the McNeil turnover, firstly, it was always on and needed to happen. Secondly, you just knew he was going to take that moment to long to do it and **** it up.

So annoying.

17-03-2024, 03:35 PM
So your the No1 ruck and you start forward in the third term. He has no mongrel in him

17-03-2024, 03:36 PM
When you have 5-6 players who struggle to get 8 possessions for the game, you can’t afford McNeil to be in the starting 22

17-03-2024, 03:36 PM
Same old story Jeemak playing from behind at ever contest has nothing to do with it. You cant be holding out for a contract when playing like this.

Play in front of Gawn and he forces you under it and grabs it out of the contest.

17-03-2024, 03:38 PM
Just too easy

That was so soft from Khamis. He's made Brown look like a highly skilled loose ball player with that effort.

How soft was that. Bruise free footy for an end to end 1st goal

Ben Brown easily clearing out of defense, what a joke??

English was woeful then

17-03-2024, 03:39 PM
English must do the needful here

Edit: he has not done the needful there

17-03-2024, 03:39 PM
Happy birthday Petracca and Oliver today as always .

17-03-2024, 03:40 PM
Granted it’s only the first half but clearly we are backing the same game plan we have for the last couple of years?

17-03-2024, 03:41 PM
English must do the needful here

Edit: he has not done the needful there

Or there

17-03-2024, 03:44 PM
They have two players that slaughter us for the last 4 years and we still let them wander around doing whatever they want.

17-03-2024, 03:49 PM
West is a very smart player. Really great game today.

17-03-2024, 03:49 PM
Ugle-Hagan is really starting to make this his forward-line. That hit to Vandermeer was excellent

17-03-2024, 03:50 PM
West is a very smart player. Really great game today.

Agree. Shame he missed the very gettable goal early on.

My God we should have made them pay.

Really need to put this dominance on the scoreboard. That last decision is hurting us

17-03-2024, 03:51 PM
Ugle-Hagan is really starting to make this his forward-line. That hit to Vandermeer was excellent

Yep. Time to get some more unselfish players around him.

17-03-2024, 03:52 PM
Vandermeer is not a forward.

17-03-2024, 03:53 PM

Is he anything ?

Bramble has lifted

Probably not an AFL player

So frustrating

Countrydog5
17-03-2024, 03:54 PM
VDM is not an an AFL standard player unfortunately. Speed and repeat sprints mean nothing if he doesn't tackle, kick goals or use his disposal effectively. He's a net negative on the team at the moment

17-03-2024, 03:54 PM
Keep shooting ourselves in the foot.

17-03-2024, 03:55 PM
Sanders will be good but not up to the speed or importance of the game yet, rather Macrae ATM

17-03-2024, 03:58 PM
How can sanders be subbed over McNeil ?

17-03-2024, 03:58 PM
Lol McNeil.

He's consistent if nothing else.

17-03-2024, 03:59 PM
Sanders will be good but not up to the speed or importance of the game yet, rather Macrae ATM

17-03-2024, 03:59 PM
Surely the McNeil experiment ends today. Surely.

17-03-2024, 04:00 PM
I wonder if Bontempelli ever thinks about requesting a trade to Geelong.

Harmes out for Macrae ought to be the easiest selection decision we’ve ever made.

Lol McNeil.

He's consistent if nothing else.

He is like watching a slow motion train wreck. Feel for him but sheesh.

Good luck convincing me Daniel isn't in our best 22. He makes kicks no one else in this side makes.

17-03-2024, 04:01 PM
Can the McNeil and Vandermeer fans on here justify why they are not list cloggers ?

That 5 goal run on is the game so far.

https://i.postimg.cc/J0wWwjQQ/Screenshot-20240317-145946.png (https://postimages.org/)

Caleb Daniel has done more in 5 minutes on the ground than half our side has the whole game.

That 5 goal run on is the game so far.

https://i.postimg.cc/J0wWwjQQ/Screenshot-20240317-145946.png (https://postimages.org/)

#justbulldogsthings

17-03-2024, 04:02 PM
Treloar has been so lazy. Standing still while the opposition mids move to attacking positions. Really disappointed with his game.

17-03-2024, 04:02 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised if we were in front if Daniel played the whole game.

17-03-2024, 04:04 PM
We actually created a few front half turnovers that quarter but could not make them pay, We just made some dumb decisions. Our decision making is horrendous.

Wouldn’t be surprised if we were in front if Daniel played the whole game.

McNeil, Harmes, not good enough

17-03-2024, 04:05 PM
Can the McNeil and Vandermeer fans on here justify why they are not list cloggers ?

I know there's one McNeil fan, not sure I've really seen a vocal VDM fan.

This is the most prepared we've been?

Worrying.

Hats off to Jones and JJ. Bramble has been OK, Marra pretty good too, but senior core players like Naughton, Treloar, Dale, Lobb, English and co haven't given nearly enough.

We need to keep Bailey Smith. Badly.

Harmes is a rubbish footballer. Just such a nothing pickup and a waste of time.

17-03-2024, 04:06 PM
Treloar has been so lazy. Standing still while the opposition mids move to attacking positions. Really disappointed with his game.

His defensive running is embarrassing.

Harmes is a rubbish footballer. Just such a nothing pickup and a waste of time.
He looks even slower than i remember. I was warming, now... Ice cold.

Jacko come back!

Bramble has been good

He seems to get a free pass from the MC, when I see a lot of what you're talking about.