View Full Version : Trade Rumours 2024

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

12-10-2024, 11:41 AM
That all depends. I’m of the mind that either of VDM or McNeil might be better off at HB. They have pressure and speed but don’t kick goals. If we make that move then it’s less imperative. Then say look at Konstanty to move forward. Or maybe look at one of each (small forward and defender). It seems any players coming will be cheap or DFAs, so we are going to need to pan for gold again like Bramble.

Not sure McNeil or VDM kick it well enough to play down back. Plus VDM (and Garcia) tends to over play situations and give away silly free kicks

12-10-2024, 12:05 PM
Not sure McNeil or VDM kick it well enough to play down back. Plus VDM (and Garcia) tends to over play situations and give away silly free kicks

McNeil doesn't seem a bad kick tbh. I've been surprised with some of the passes he's pulled off. IDK if he has the strength of a Dureya to hold the spot down or the ball reading of a Boyd but I don't think it's a bad idea.

I guess my main concern would be his composure. Might be the type to panic under pressure and give up a goal

12-10-2024, 12:27 PM

My guess is McNeil has the yips near the goals but should be better with his field kicks. Worth a try over the preseason

12-10-2024, 01:00 PM
McNeil on wing be worth a try.

12-10-2024, 01:09 PM

I thought he rotated through there at different stages.

12-10-2024, 01:10 PM
McNeil was a dogs supporter. Maybe if nobody picks him up he might be keen to run around at Footscray with a view to pulling a midyear/EOY spot.

12-10-2024, 01:19 PM
McNeil was a dogs supporter. Maybe if nobody picks him up he might be keen to run around at Footscray with a view to pulling a midyear/EOY spot.

Who?

12-10-2024, 01:22 PM

I think you are talking about Owies? He will be on AFL list next year, on an average contract.

12-10-2024, 01:22 PM
Who?
Think he means McHenry (who is a Dogs supporter)

12-10-2024, 01:24 PM
In a recent interview (can?t remember who with), McNeil said he was aiming to play wing in 25.

12-10-2024, 09:23 PM
Mitch Cleary:

Hawthorn’s former No.6 pick Denver Grainger-Barras met with Carlton yesterday.
Any move would be as a rookie / SSP train-on.
DGB remains uncontracted for 2025.

Blues looking at key defensive options after delisting Caleb Marchbank but bringing in Nick Haynes.

12-10-2024, 09:53 PM
Mitch Cleary:

Hawthorn’s former No.6 pick Denver Grainger-Barras met with Carlton yesterday.
Any move would be as a rookie / SSP train-on.
DGB remains uncontracted for 2025.

Blues looking at key defensive options after delisting Caleb Marchbank but bringing in Nick Haynes.

That could be a good move for them. Low risk really and if he stays fit he might add something for them.

12-10-2024, 10:38 PM
That could be a good move for them. Low risk really and if he stays fit he might add something for them.

I wonder what happened to him? high draft pick and had a ripper against us last year in Tassie, definatly worth a punt for someone, surprising if neither W.A clubs have a sniff.

12-10-2024, 11:29 PM
In a recent interview (can?t remember who with), McNeil said he was aiming to play wing in 25.
He played as an inside/outside mid in SA before we took him.
I think he has upside.

13-10-2024, 03:47 AM
Who?

Ha, I was talking about McHenry but replied to the wrong comment and then randomly switched to McNeil. In my defence I was a few beers deep at the time.

McHenry was a dogs fan growing up.

13-10-2024, 08:20 AM
EAGLES EXPLORING NEW BAKER TRADE, WEIGHING UP LATEST BARRASS OFFER

West Coast is exploring other ways it can land Liam Baker and is considering a revised offer for Tom Barrass ahead of the second week of the trade period.

The Eagles’ plans were thrown out on Friday when Hawthorn and Carlton completed a trade involving Pick 14, which West Coast had been eyeing in the Barrass deal to forward to Richmond for Baker.

AFL Media reports Baker’s management and the Eagles are discussing a new deal between West Coast and Richmond that would see the 26-year old make the move west.

The new talks would also ensure West Coast wouldn’t need to rely on trading Barrass before it can acquire Baker.

It’s believed Hawthorn’s latest offer for Barrass is a future first-round pick and a second rounder (either tied to Hawthorn or Carlton), with a future later pick also going back to West Coast.

The Eagles could yet split their Pick 3, which Carlton is targeting, for multiple selections to give them more capital to manoeuvre moves.

If Baker’s bid to get to West Coast falls through, Fremantle looms in the background, having offered its trio of first-round selections for Baker and Shai Bolton.

13-10-2024, 09:42 AM
Ha, I was talking about McHenry but replied to the wrong comment and then randomly switched to McNeil. In my defence I was a few beers deep at the time.

McHenry was a dogs fan growing up.

No worries, a few guys explained.

Is Mchenry any good?

13-10-2024, 11:01 AM

Is Mchenry any good?
Amazing at covering ground - in his draft year he'd run 30-35km in a single run 'for fun'. Has a massive tank.
Not great at anything else from what I've seen. With VDM, Arty & McNeill capable of playing that running HF role he's not a need.

13-10-2024, 12:44 PM

Is Mchenry any good?

His attack on the ball is absolutely ferocious...to me he just runs to dumb spots and lacks composure/class ball in hand.

He is not a terrible option though.

13-10-2024, 12:58 PM
His attack on the ball is absolutely ferocious...to me he just runs to dumb spots and lacks composure/class ball in hand.

He is not a terrible option though.

He has also got an elite tank from all reports and does an absolute mountain of work. But only averaged about 10 touches. I don't think anyone is going to trade for him, so with limited spots I hope he makes his way to Footscray where we can work with him and get a closer look.

Can't see anything recent, but this from 2021:
Ned McHenry is Adelaide’s endurance king after finishing top of the Club’s leaderboard for the most distance covered per game this season.

According to data released by the AFL's Telstra Tracker, the small forward covered 14.28km a game in 2021.

McHenry was followed closely by Club Champion runner-up Ben Keays, who covered 14.17km per game...

...He played 15 matches in 2021 and recorded an average of 17.6 possessions a game.

McHenry finished in the top five of the most distance covered in a game in 2021, registering 16.58km against Carlton in Round 15 and 16.51km against Brisbane in Round 16.

2020:
Top-five most distance covered per game in 2020
Ben Keays, 12.2km
Ned McHenry, 12.1km

13-10-2024, 02:02 PM
St Kilda pulled away from Soldo. Medical showed some knee issue and although not massive, they don’t want to take the risk. So he’s likely staying at Port.

13-10-2024, 03:31 PM
St Kilda pulled away from Soldo. Medical showed some knee issue and although not massive, they don’t want to take the risk. So he’s likely staying at Port.

I think Ivan is worth chatting to. It sounds like he's mostly keen to get back to Melbourne - come in as number two to English and realistically, you're an injury away from the starting ruck spot at a finals contender. We're as good a spot for him as anywhere.

14-10-2024, 07:21 AM
Will an actual player trade happen today? What are the odds?

14-10-2024, 07:23 AM
Will an actual player trade happen today? What are the odds?

Trades probably start to drop today but there will be a feeding frenzy on Wednesday.

14-10-2024, 08:28 AM
From Trade radio
"Matt Owies - Doesn't have an offer from Carlton - he won't be going back to Carlton. He will be going somewhere in this trade period. Has had interest from Gold Coast and West Coast. He will make a decison as early as today. He will NOT be going back to Carlton, that ship has sailed."

14-10-2024, 09:15 AM
Twomey:

Possible today: Essendon trading pick 9 and a future third-round pick for Melbourne's future first-round pick and picks 28, 40, 46, 54 and 65.

14-10-2024, 09:21 AM
Twomey:

Possible today: Essendon trading pick 9 and a future third-round pick for Melbourne's future first-round pick and picks 28, 40, 46, 54 and 65.

We need to target that 28, GCS 29 &/or Dons 32 - especially if we end up with 47 & 48.

14-10-2024, 09:57 AM
Tom Morris
@tommorris32

Waiting on final confirmation, but looks as if the @essendonfc / @melbournefc
trade will be this, or very close to this:

Ess gives: 9 & Ess F3
Melb gives: Melb F1,28,40,46,54,65

Essendon would gain 1747 points.

14-10-2024, 10:11 AM
I think Ivan is worth chatting to. It sounds like he's mostly keen to get back to Melbourne - come in as number two to English and realistically, you're an injury away from the starting ruck spot at a finals contender. We're as good a spot for him as anywhere.

Agreed

14-10-2024, 10:32 AM
"Shai Bolton - Fremantle have offered 10 and 18, Richmond want 10 and 11 for Bolton."

I think he is only worth a first and a second rounder

14-10-2024, 10:32 AM
Tom Morris
@tommorris32

Waiting on final confirmation, but looks as if the @essendonfc / @melbournefc
trade will be this, or very close to this:

Ess gives: 9 & Ess F3
Melb gives: Melb F1,28,40,46,54,65

Essendon would gain 1747 points.
That's a good deal for Essendon.

Get a first rounder this year in Kako and next.

14-10-2024, 05:04 PM
It legit seems pies are getting Houston for free…

14-10-2024, 05:37 PM
Dan Houston will land at Collingwood and the Tigers will secure selections six and 23 for Daniel Rioli under a deal that will unlock the trade period’s biggest impasse.

Gold Coast, Collingwood and Port Adelaide are on track to lock in a three-club trade that will make Houston a Pie while also delivering Pies small forward Joe Richards to Ken Hinkley’s side.

All three clubs will secure their trade priorities under a deal that leaves the Suns enough trade collateral to also bring Dan Rioli to the Gold Coast.

Under the key elements of the deal:

-Collingwood will hand over its future first-rounder, Noble and Richards but secure Houston from the Power and also get back a pick in the 50s likely to be taken in the 40s on the night of the national draft.

-Port Adelaide will hand over its future first-rounder and Houston but secure picks 13, 29, a future third rounder and Richards, with Suns rebounder Rory Atkins a strong chance to also get to the Power.

-The Power will be able to consider splitting pick 13 with one of the many clubs interested (Sydney is offering picks 19 and 22) so could end up with 19, 22 and 29 for Houston in an elite draft.

-Gold Coast will hand over picks 13, 29 and Jack Lukosius to the Power but will secure both Port Adelaide and Collingwood’s future first-rounders and Pies defender Noble.

Link (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/trade-hq/afl-trade-news-live-updates-and-news-from-day-8-of-the-afl-trade-period/live-coverage/74ad597ec58209dea9e91cbae99ba374)

14-10-2024, 05:40 PM
Good for all the other clubs that exploit GCS to laughable ends. Why do other clubs exploit them?

14-10-2024, 05:51 PM
How can the AFL let its own club be taken for a ride this badly?

14-10-2024, 06:08 PM
It's not a great trade but if you break it down -
13 for port f1
Lukosius for pies F1 (salary dump, they don't want him)
29 for Noble

It's not too bad? Probably some late picks for points this year and next?

14-10-2024, 06:11 PM
13 for port f1
29 for Noble

GCS handing over 23 too apparently.

14-10-2024, 06:12 PM
GCS handing over 23 too apparently.

Scratch that, that’s for Rioli plus 6!

14-10-2024, 06:17 PM
Only we pay top dollar for GCS last year.

14-10-2024, 06:17 PM
13 for port f1
29 for Noble

Yeah that's awful when broken down too

14-10-2024, 06:19 PM
Only we got screwed by GCS last year.

I’d say it’s a win-win trade in the end. I’d say we are the only club that hasn’t got to exploit them senselessly though.

14-10-2024, 06:23 PM
Scratch that, that’s for Rioli plus 6!

Now THAT trade stinks.

14-10-2024, 06:28 PM
Focus is on GC, but is it a good trade for port?

Out Houston, F1
In Lukosius, 13, 29, f3

Pies clear winners imo, because Houston is a clear class above the other players.
Out Noble, Richards, F1
In Houston, pick 50

I can't believe that the final cost for Houston is effectively one first rounder and some fringe guys. And Port don't even really 'gain' a first - they swap Houston for Lukosius, F1 for 13?

14-10-2024, 06:34 PM

Out Houston, F1
In Lukosius, 13, 29, f3

Pies clear winners imo, because Houston is a clear class above the other players.
Out Noble, Richards, F1
In Houston, pick 50

I can't believe that the final cost for Houston is effectively one first rounder and some fringe guys. And Port don't even really 'gain' a first - they swap Houston for Lukosius, F1 for 13?

Good call, they’ve kind of bigfooty traded.

They’ve gone from demanding two firsts. To getting one first rounder (could be 16 after bids), and then instead on the other first a group of a pick that will be passed 30, plus Richards, plus maybe/not Atkins and a F3 that could be in the 40’s. That’s not great.

14-10-2024, 06:36 PM

I saw this comment and thought it was a reply about us shafting Geelong. Disappointed.

14-10-2024, 06:45 PM

Out Houston, F1
In Lukosius, 13, 29, f3

Out Noble, Richards, F1
In Houston, pick 50

Just saw Kane Cornes said Pirt trying win the SANFL Premiership with this trade…

14-10-2024, 07:07 PM

Out Houston, F1
In Lukosius, 13, 29, f3

Out Noble, Richards, F1
In Houston, pick 50

Lukosius is a handy player, even though he is a bit timid. Has plenty of talent

14-10-2024, 07:20 PM
Giving up the best player by far and also somehow a first? Horrible.

14-10-2024, 07:24 PM
Losing Houston, but having the likes of Ratagolea, Soldo, Richards, timid Luko over two years doesn’t seem like loading up for a flag.

Seems more like Street, Koops, Morgan & Rawlings, while losing Nat Brown.

14-10-2024, 07:30 PM
Losing Houston, but having the likes of Ratagolea, Soldo, Richards, timid Luko over two years doesn’t seem like loading up for a flag.

Seems more like Street, Koops, Morgan & Rawlings, while losing Nat Brown.

Ken has lost the plot

14-10-2024, 07:35 PM
Ken has lost the plot

Well his list manager has. Completely. They’re hoping a few guns can wall paper over a bunch of average players. That don’t work. I’ve seen it tried many times.

14-10-2024, 08:04 PM
Lukosius is a handy player, even though he is a bit timid. Has plenty of talent

Jack Watts mk 2.

14-10-2024, 08:09 PM
Jack Watts mk 2.

Is Josh Schache mk3?

14-10-2024, 08:11 PM
I?d say it?s a win-win trade in the end. I?d say we are the only club that hasn?t got to exploit them senselessly though.
Yes you put it much better than me.

14-10-2024, 08:22 PM
Yes you put it much better than me.

What shits me is how this feeder club has strengthened already strong clubs:

Rich: Prestia, Lynch, Caddy
Port: Dixon, todays trades
Geel: Bowes/7, Ablett Jr, Caddy
Coll: Houston indirectly,
Carl: Saad, Martin, Hollands

Plus Jaeger, May, Rankine, etc

14-10-2024, 08:38 PM
Cal Twomey reporting the deal is off.

Power have come to their senses.

14-10-2024, 08:45 PM

Thankfully.

Pies would have been falling over themselves to get that signed off

14-10-2024, 09:16 PM
Thankfully.

Pies would have been falling over themselves to get that signed off

Fancy a trade spruiked on trade radio being big Vic biased!

I'm glad it's not going through.

How do we get Baz and Geelong involved in this?

14-10-2024, 10:43 PM

Is there anyway we could get involved - love to have him in the backline

15-10-2024, 06:22 AM
Is there anyway we could get involved - love to have him in the backline

No. Our best offer right now is 35 & F1. Not even close.

Everything (trades, pick trades) hinges on Geelong.

15-10-2024, 06:33 AM
No. Our best offer right now is 35 & F1. Not even close.

Everything (trades, pick trades) hinges on Geelong.

It actually also hinges on Power.

Rightly or wrongly is holding our also limits our ability to do anything and it has been that way for a number of years now.

15-10-2024, 07:13 AM
It actually also hinges on Power.

Rightly or wrongly is holding our also limits our ability to do anything and it has been that way for a number of years now.

This is the problem he faces. Take an earlier poor offer and try to deal. Or wait and get a better deal, which then limits him to pick trading. He’s a bit in a no win situation. Clubs are deliberately trying to exploit us by running the clock out to ramp up the pressure on Sam. He’s damned if he does or doesn’t. Unless there’s a guaranteed great trade for a lesser trade, I back him to wait it out for better returns on players.

15-10-2024, 07:41 AM
Reports Eagles are giving up pick THREE for Carlton's 12, 14 and Owies.

Somebody please explain that to me!!!

15-10-2024, 07:43 AM

I wish I could. It’s ****ing insanity.

15-10-2024, 08:24 AM

I would think that the Eagles think the draft is pretty even in the top 15 or so and want someone who they reckon will be there at 12.
14 goes for Baker and Owies comes in so they get some senior talent in as well.

Maybe they're keen on local kid Bo Allan and think he will be there anyway.

15-10-2024, 08:27 AM

How do we get in on deals like this? Pick 3?!? Bloody hell, well done Carlton.

15-10-2024, 08:54 AM

They did a terrible deal, but got someone else to make an even more terrible deal, retroactively making the first deal brilliant

15-10-2024, 09:12 AM
What is going on this trade period!?

Well done Carlton moving a future 1st and 2nd into pick 3. West Coast wanting to fight gold coast and port for worst traders.

I would also like to get in on these deals somehow. It's annoying that the bigger clubs seem to be taking advantage. How does that work?

15-10-2024, 09:17 AM
For all the posters asking why we cannot get in on deals... honestly... it is because we hold up deals such as Dunkley, Macrae, Daniel, Smith, Bruce, Keath etc etc.

Carlton looked at this trade period as a whole, not as individual trades.

IMO, Power looks at each deal individually rather than an overall outcome.

15-10-2024, 09:20 AM
Looking like this:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GZ4jz9fb0AUm85b?format=png&name=small

15-10-2024, 09:24 AM
For all the posters asking why we cannot get in on deals... honestly... it is because we hold up deals such as Dunkley, Macrae, Daniel, Smith, Bruce, Keath etc etc.

Carlton looked at this trade period as a whole, not as individual trades.

IMO, Power looks at each deal individually rather than an overall outcome.

Power massaged Keath & Bruce, such that we kept the pick for Weightman. Something the media said was impossible.

With Dunkley we held out to get the pick for AOD, and swapped two F3 for a F2. That F2 got unpacked for Croft and in the process was used to get Coffield for free.

So on these alone, Power holding out got us Weightman, AOD & Coffield. He also held out on Marcus Adams to get an extra pick that paid for half of Bruce too. This allowing the chance to keep the Weightman pick.

He moved swiftly to lock up Pick 6 last year before the bidding war heated up.

I?m not sure it?s an overly fair critique of Sam. What?s the alternative of demanding better deals this year, take just 17 for BS, 47 for Jack and an upgrade for CD?

15-10-2024, 09:30 AM

Their plan to use Barrass picks for Baker got destroyed by Hawthorn, so they went and found another way to get the picks they needed. I wish we were dealing with WCE rather than Geelong.

15-10-2024, 09:30 AM
West Coast gave up pick 2 in 2022 (could have been Sheezel) for 9 (Ginbey) and 14 (Hewitt). Seems they have learned nothing.

15-10-2024, 09:31 AM
Power massaged Keath & Bruce, such that we kept the pick for Weightman. Something the media said was impossible.

With Dunkley we held out to get the pick for AOD, and swapped two F3 for a F2. That F2 got unpacked for Croft and in the process was used to get Coffield for free.

So on these alone, Power holding out got us Weightman, AOD & Coffield. He also held out on Marcus Adams to get an extra pick that paid for half of Bruce too. This allowing the chance to keep the Weightman pick.

He moved swiftly to lock up Pick 6 last year before the bidding war heated up.

I?m not sure it?s an overly fair critique of Sam. What?s the alternative of demanding better deals this year, take just 17 for BS, 47 for Jack and an upgrade for CD?

I am not unhappy with the outcomes; posters are venting why cannot we do the same.

Rightly or wrongly the facts are we do not agree to terms early.

I am ok with that, as clearly, we have a strategy, and we stick to it.

15-10-2024, 09:40 AM
I am not unhappy with the outcomes; posters are venting why cannot we do the same.

Rightly or wrongly the facts are we do not agree to terms early.

I am ok with that, as clearly, we have a strategy, and we stick to it.

Cool. I think it’s problem with the system and not us. If the trade period was 3-4 days, and clubs had to work quickly and couldn’t use time as a weapon/pressure point then we could move quicker I’d imagine. What the posters you refer to need to remember is we seem to looking at moving up the draft order. If Power can land some good picks he’s still got until the National Draft to trade picks to move up the draft order. So if we aren’t interested in players, but upgrading picks. The deadline isn’t tomorrow it’s another month for that. Tomorrow is just about whether Sam can get as many good picks as possible to manoeuvre up the order or use a F1 to also get another first this year.

I think some have forgotten when we had guys like Fantasia push out Callan Ward, McCartney folding like a cheap suit for bad deals in and out. Forgetting trading top picks for Veale/Rawlings, Street, Koops, Morgan etc, etc. and Jacovich before that. We’ve finally got a smart operator that deserves our trust and has runs on the board. We should question why some players want to leave the club, but that’s not Sam’s area.

15-10-2024, 09:42 AM
Looking like this:

That's absolutely horrendous for the Eagles

15-10-2024, 09:43 AM
That's absolutely horrendous for the Eagles

Good luck with the rebuild…

15-10-2024, 10:50 AM
Looking like this:

If the Eagles are getting Bo Allan that's an understandable deal for them.

Pick 3 though, I get the angst it usually is a super player! Could be the next Bont!!

15-10-2024, 11:02 AM
Summary I've seen for Carlton is 'Carlton have given up pick 12, their future 1st, future 2nd and Owies' to get pick 3. Owies is whatever they didn't want him and TBH could have been done though PSD. So 12 is the only clear asset they've lost and the rest depends on next year. If it's 12+12+30 that's pretty good.

15-10-2024, 11:12 AM
Summary I've seen for Carlton is 'Carlton have given up pick 12, their future 1st, future 2nd and Owies' to get pick 3. Owies is whatever they didn't want him and TBH could have been done though PSD. So 12 is the only clear asset they've lost and the rest depends on next year. If it's 12+12+30 that's pretty good.

Outrageous return. I struggle to believe a club would do this trade. Carlton have done so well.

15-10-2024, 11:16 AM
Their plan to use Barrass picks for Baker got destroyed by Hawthorn, so they went and found another way to get the picks they needed. I wish we were dealing with WCE rather than Geelong.

If only Tim was let walk. That pick would have been ours.

15-10-2024, 12:39 PM
Collingwood has emerged as a possible destination for Tim Membrey. The Saints forward has gathered some interest from the Pies - he doesn't have a deal for next year at St Kilda.

15-10-2024, 01:30 PM
Silvangi doing Silvangi things.

Saints chasing Kemp from Carlton.

Chasing duds he drafted at a previous club.

15-10-2024, 02:00 PM
Silvangi doing Silvangi things.

Saints chasing Kemp from Carlton.

Chasing duds he drafted at a previous club.
Kemp is quality but I don't think he's a pure CHB the way Carlton have used him.

15-10-2024, 02:16 PM
Kemp is quality but I don't think he's a pure CHB the way Carlton have used him.

I really like Kemp, and was really hoping he could've gotten to us in his draft year, but it was a moot point anyway given we had to use a cluster of picks to get Jamarra.

16-10-2024, 01:39 PM
BLUES, SAINTS HIT STALEMATE OVER KEMP ASKING PRICE (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/trade-hq/afl-trade-2024-live-updates-and-news-from-deadline-day-of-the-afl-trade-period/live-coverage/adedfbc3c8977fdb0196145abda326cb)

Carlton would trade Brodie Kemp to St Kilda for a mid-20s draft pick but have only been offered a future second-rounder by their former list boss Steve Silvagni.

St Kilda list boss Silvagni has again made a beeline for a player he drafted at Carlton, with Kemp taken at pick 17 in 2019, as he seeks to find a replacement for third defender Josh Battle.

It is understood the Blues would have done the deal for the No.27 draft pick that the Saints had in their possession.

Instead they traded that pick to the Lions in exchange for pick 32 and 45 to get more draft collateral to secure Bulldogs midfielder Jackson Macrae.

The Saints have not offered 32 given they are trying to keep their draft hand intact after picks seven and eight, which they secured through a low ladder finish and the Battle compensation.

So the clubs are at a stalemate given the Blues are not interested at all in future picks and St Kilda seems unwilling to give up a quality 2024 selection.

Even accepting the No.32 draft pick would be problematic for the Blues because there is a chance a club bids on father-son candidate Ben Silvagni before Carlton has a chance to take a player in that part of the draft.

The No.32 pick will stay where it is given four academy players will be taken before it (Levi Ashcroft, Isaac Kako, Leo Lombard, Sam Marshall) and some picks will evaporate from the draft order after being used by clubs to bid on those players.

Brisbane?s pick 27 and Essendon?s picks 28 and 31 will disappear from the draft order ? shuffling later picks closer to the front of the draft ? when they match bids for their academy and father-son stars.

It is the latest in a long line of players who Silvagni has drafted and then attempted to woo to a new club after the former GWS list boss then secured many Giants players while working at the Blues.

In the past two years St Kilda has secured former top 20 picks Liam Stocker and Paddy Dow at St Kilda after initially drafting them at Carlton, wth Silvagni joining the Satins in early 2023.

16-10-2024, 05:11 PM
Crows also having issues trading:

Sam Edmund

Adelaide is preparing to walk GWS utility James Peatling to the Pre-Season Draft if a trade can’t be reached with the Giants according to SEN’s Sam Edmund.

As things stand, the Giants are demanding a future second-round pick on its own in exchange for the 24-year-old and won’t negotiate with the Crows until that’s tabled.

Edmund says that the Crows have been trying to workshop a deal with the Giants with a heap of potential options thrown their way.

16-10-2024, 05:11 PM
Stringer trade not going through at this stage

16-10-2024, 05:12 PM
Stringer trade not going through at this stage
God how awesome. He will dial it on so badly now.

16-10-2024, 05:16 PM
God how awesome. He will dial it on so badly now.

GWS have walked.

16-10-2024, 05:20 PM
That’s a shame .gif

16-10-2024, 06:32 PM
No movement on Barass with the Hawks offer being future first+future second for Barass+future first.

Terrible offer. If WCE would take F1 and 17 I'd do the Smith deal

16-10-2024, 07:20 PM
XOH Twoomey saying won't happen. Not surprising, will be spun as us taking too long but was always up to GWS and less likely once Stringer fell through

17-10-2024, 01:52 PM
Who is he talking about here?

Inside AFL Trade Period: Scott Gullan?s take on the highs and lows from 2024 (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/trade-hq/inside-afl-trade-period-scott-gullans-take-on-the-highs-and-lows-from-2024/news-story/902061510716435c2e058009d223555d)

The walls in the Marvel Stadium corporate suites aren?t very thick so the spray delivered by a prominent player manager reverberated down the corridor.

Tensions were understandably running high given 10 days of nothing had come down to the final 15 minutes before the trade deadline.

The haggling over a late draft pick sliding one or two spots and the refusal of another club to not to help financially with exiting a player they wanted out was at the centre of the robust discussion.

While the deal eventually got done with minutes remaining, the repercussions for one club are set to live on over the next 12 months.

It?s fair to say any hope of them having a crack at some big-name free agents from that management stable in the near future took a sizeable hit.

That?s the games which are played in the AFL trade period.

There is a lot of you scratch my back and I?ll scratch yours but there is also a clear understanding that if you screw me over now, it?s coming back 10-fold in the future.

Leading agent Paul Connors, who has been in the game for 25 years, described this year?s trade period as ?one of the hardest? and that it was easily ?the hardest last day I have been involved in.?

His team, including partner Robbie D?Orazio and Nick Gieschen, spent a lot of the final hour at Marvel Stadium on Wednesday night going in and out of the club allocated suites given they were linked to the big deals involving Bailey Smith, Jake Stringer, Tom Barrass and Dan Houston.

?It?s been a hard last few days as clubs are getting shrewder and tougher,? Connors lamented after getting all his big names done with literally just seconds remaining before the 7.30pm deadline.

The CCTV vision which AFL trade radio had access to of the suites and the corridor was bizarrely enthralling television even if there was no sound.

As the clock ticked into the last half-hour the sight of Connors sitting next to Geelong list boss Andrew Mackie gesturing with his hands suddenly gave hope that the Smith deal was still alive.

In the end nine players got traded in the final 30 minutes and many of those for deals which had actually been on the table for days.

The AFL loves having the focus for the 10 days but once again having it all go down in the final hour rams home again that they?re allowing clubs to take the piss by having such a drawn-out period.

Holding out to get a future fourth round or shuffling three spots in the fifth round is madness and hardly worthy of chest-beating afterwards but that?s how some list managers see it.

Richmond?s Blair Hartley has been one of the busiest given the exodus of premiership stars from Punt Rd and he summed it up perfectly: ?10 days, I?m a big advocate for three.?

The spin was in overdrive when each club was required to front the cameras at the end of the madness.

When Hartley outlined the circumstances behind Liam Baker, Shai Bolton and Daniel Rioli wanting to leave, he gave the latter a nice drive-by.

Referring to Rioli who won the Tigers best and fairest and was now moving to the Gold Coast, he said he was ?coming to the twilight of his career?.

Five minutes later, standing in the same spot, Suns list manager Craig Cameron described Rioli as ?an A-grade player in a position we wanted to bolster?.

Port Adelaide football boss Chris Davies was next and he vented his frustrations at the recent trend of players signing long-term contracts and then wanting out.

He?d had a tough few days accommodating All-Australian halfback Dan Houston who had three more seasons to run with the Power but requested a trade.

?The AFL needs to look at players in contract wanting out ? a balance has to be looked upon,? Davies said.

In the end everyone left Marvel Stadium looking tired but seemingly happy, many were heading off for a well-needed beer although one club didn?t need that, they already had a hangover which might last 12 months.

17-10-2024, 01:55 PM

Inside AFL Trade Period: Scott Gullan?s take on the highs and lows from 2024 (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/trade-hq/inside-afl-trade-period-scott-gullans-take-on-the-highs-and-lows-from-2024/news-story/902061510716435c2e058009d223555d).

Not much of a doggies supporter is he.

17-10-2024, 02:06 PM
This bit - "Holding out to get a future fourth round or shuffling three spots in the fifth round is madness and hardly worthy of chest-beating afterwards but that's how some list managers see it". - is just bullshit. A standoff requires two opposing sides. He could have just as easily said - "Refusing to offer a future fourth round or a shuffle of three spots in the fifth round to get a trade done, is madness and hardly worthy of the chest beating afterwards but that is how some list managers see it". It also shows total disregard for the mental welfare of the player they supposedly value so highly.

I'm done with reading anything AFL related that isn't on the Bulldogs Website or WOOF, at least for the next few weeks.

17-10-2024, 02:12 PM
Essendon.

17-10-2024, 02:28 PM
It?s fair to say any hope of them having a crack at some big-name free agents from that management stable in the near future took a sizeable hit

What does this even mean? Is he suggesting that one particular management company won’t deal with a certain club (obviously us). What a load of bollocks. As if a management company will refuse to deal in the best interests of a player nominating a particular club. Some of these journos think they are bigger than the game. Wankers.

17-10-2024, 02:30 PM
Essendon.
Reckon you're spot on - the Stringer trade was revived at the last minute and Essendon clearly weren't going to assist GWS with paying any salary despite obviously wanting him out the door. Also there was haggling over late picks.

17-10-2024, 02:40 PM
Reckon you're spot on - the Stringer trade was revived at the last minute and Essendon clearly weren't going to assist GWS with paying any salary despite obviously wanting him out the door. Also there was haggling over late picks.

Haggling over 3 spots between 53 and 56. With not a cent contribution despite Essendon wanting him out the door.

Makes our requests for more look more reasonable. Not to mention Jack & BS are both Connor’s and by bringing them together the clubs got the best deals they could get done. Not sure we pissed Connors off such that he’s going to knock back 20% of a massive deal we might offer…

17-10-2024, 02:53 PM

Inside AFL Trade Period: Scott Gullan?s take on the highs and lows from 2024 (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/trade-hq/inside-afl-trade-period-scott-gullans-take-on-the-highs-and-lows-from-2024/news-story/902061510716435c2e058009d223555d)

The haggling over a late draft pick sliding one or two spots and the refusal of another club to not to help financially with exiting a player they wanted out was at the centre of the robust discussion.

While the deal eventually got done with minutes remaining, the repercussions for one club are set to live on over the next 12 months.

It?s fair to say any hope of them having a crack at some big-name free agents from that management stable in the near future took a sizeable hit.

At a guess maybe Essendon refusing to take any of Stringer's salary? They definitely wanted him out and I imagine GWS cap is tight.

17-10-2024, 06:08 PM
Not much of a doggies supporter is he.
He's cats.

17-10-2024, 06:11 PM
He's cats.

Herald Sun reporter Scott Gullan gives an insight into being a lifelong Bulldogs supporter (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/herald-sun-reporter-scott-gullan-gives-an-insight-into-being-a-lifelong-bulldogs-supporter/news-story/fb679f9ba4e5f6c6da38b5d2416adfa1)

17-10-2024, 06:12 PM
Herald Sun reporter Scott Gullan gives an insight into being a lifelong Bulldogs supporter (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/herald-sun-reporter-scott-gullan-gives-an-insight-into-being-a-lifelong-bulldogs-supporter/news-story/fb679f9ba4e5f6c6da38b5d2416adfa1)

Sigh.

17-10-2024, 06:16 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/P5NwyNNk/Screenshot-20241017-181500.png (https://postimg.cc/VJQvLfj7)

17-10-2024, 06:18 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/P5NwyNNk/Screenshot-20241017-181500.png (https://postimg.cc/VJQvLfj7)

If he wrote a book about Hitler would that make him a Nazi?

He's written books about Sally Pearson and Cathy Freeman as well.

17-10-2024, 06:22 PM
If he wrote a book about Hitler would that make him a Nazi?

He's written books about Sally Pearson and Cathy Freeman as well.
Dude. He's getting paid by the cats to be their "inside man".

Why do we care about this guy he's the furthest thing from a dog's supporter you could find.

And that's a ridiculous analogy.

17-10-2024, 06:35 PM
Dude. He's getting paid by the cats to be their "inside man".

Why do we care about this guy he's the furthest thing from a dog's supporter you could find.

And that's a ridiculous analogy.

I don't care about him but that article was about how he grew up a dogs supporter, why would he make that up?

Writing is his job, why does being paid by the cats to do just that make him a Geelong supporter?

Personally I don't care who he follows.

17-10-2024, 06:42 PM
I don't care about him but that article was about how he grew up a dogs supporter, why would he make that up?

Writing is his job, why does being paid by the cats to do just that make him a Geelong supporter?

Personally I don't care who he follows.

I've never said he's a Geelong supporter.
He's a cats man.

18-10-2024, 08:56 AM
MORE PICKS TO CHANGE HANDS (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/draft-intel-latest-draft-news-after-trade-period-reshapes-club-selections/news-story/213f9ed317df2e709aefe845f6bc73f2)

The trade period might be over, but don?t expect that to be the end of pick swaps.

Almost every club has publicly stated that it is open to doing further trades to improve its draft hand in some way, either for this year or next year.

Clubs can still trade picks up to and during the draft, which will be held over two nights on November 20 and 21.

Richmond hasn?t ruled out trading at least one of its eight top 24 picks, potentially into next year?s draft.

GWS holds picks 15, 16 and 21 and the Giants are confident of finding three quality players in that range.

However, they could also look to package up at least two of those picks and move up the board.

The Western Bulldogs are another club who would like to climb into the very pointy end of this draft if they can.

?To have 17, 25 and 35 is really positive and all our future picks as well,? Bulldogs list manager Sam Power said on Thursday.

?So it gives us flexibility or might open up opportunities with live trading and being able to do different things on the night potentially, depending on how it plays out in front of us.?

North Melbourne has also indicated it is open to a ?slight slide? from pick two, if the price is right.

Melbourne has picks five and nine and says it is ?open to everything?.

18-10-2024, 11:04 AM
If we trade a future pick, what's the lowest you would gamble on it?

I wouldn't want to trade it outright for anything outside the top 10.

18-10-2024, 11:16 AM

If we are just talking a straight swap I don't think that we could get anything in the top 10. If I was St Kilda I wouldn't trade 7 or 8 for our F1. Perhaps Richmond's 10 or 11 might be a chance as they have more than enough picks this year.

18-10-2024, 11:44 AM
Trade the future pick every year for a pick this year. We’ve actually broken the meta just no one realises it yet.

I have seen one half of underage footy this year (accidentally saw half of the academy game against Footscray, who I assumed were playing a normal team) but based on that Sam Lalor is the best player of all time. We need to talk getting him into existence somehow.

18-10-2024, 11:47 AM
If we are just talking a straight swap I don't think that we could get anything in the top 10. If I was St Kilda I wouldn't trade 7 or 8 for our F1. Perhaps Richmond's 10 or 11 might be a chance as they have more than enough picks this year.

I agree that 10 or 11 are our best bets - which will actually be 13/14. So I don't think that's worth the gamble, although I have heard that next year's first round will be even more bastardised than this years with NGA and FS.

18-10-2024, 12:08 PM

I think 11 might be the most gettable as you guys say. Not sure Richmond go for it at this stage unless they think we are in for a fall. Also the same question for Sam. Are we playing finals next year? If that’s his assessment, then he should go for it. Interesting forecasting/assessing by both clubs to be had.

18-10-2024, 12:19 PM
I think 11 might be the most gettable as you guys say. Not sure Richmond go for it at this stage unless they think we are in for a fall. Also the same question for Sam. Are we playing finals next year? If that’s his assessment, then he should go for it. Interesting forecasting/assessing by both clubs to be had.

What do you think we could get for packaging 17 and F1? I don't like it but think we would offer it for something like saints pick 7/8 and 32 (just an example, doubt that saints are doing that deal).

18-10-2024, 12:37 PM

I don't think there is any reason the club wouldn't be expecting to play finals next season. The current betting markets have us as 9th favourite for the flag which puts us in the familiar position of an expected 6-12 finish from outside the club. So an expected first round pick in the 7-13 range before free agency compo and NGA/FS movements.

18-10-2024, 12:37 PM

I want pick 8. Taking a kid directly after a St Kilda first rounder guarantees you get a star.
Petracca, Bont, Naughton...

18-10-2024, 12:41 PM
What do you think we could get for packaging 17 and F1? I don't like it but think we would offer it for something like saints pick 7/8 and 32 (just an example, doubt that saints are doing that deal).

It’s a really tough one. Really tough.

It really comes down to the clubs assessing us. If they think we finish top 8 again, maybe win a final, then maybe 11 & 24?

If clubs say we lost good depth, that Jones, Libba, Ads can’t back up to the level of this year and our kids won’t step up and we miss finals then maybe a bit better.

The other question is who we think might be there at 11 vs 17 for example? Is it a game changing upgrade?

It’s a really complicated one for me to overthink. Say it’s Richmond 11 & 24 for 17 & F1 for example sake. We get back to back picks at 24 & 25 (which we like) and hopefully 27 or 28 in a points trade if we can buy one of those.

While I’m overthinking. Do we go aggressive anyway if two years future trading comes in next year? Are there any flight risks for next year that could bring in a first or multiple firsts?

Also are we confident that West is a first rounder (seems to be) and Cooney, what’s his projection. With the DVI tightening do we look at future trading to pay for them and load up on talent before then too?

Without fully thinking the answers through point by point. I think trading the F1 makes a good amount of sense. I’m hopeful we don’t go backwards next year either. So maybe a 6 pick upgrade in the first round plus the 24 (especially if there’s 25 & 27/28) would be a great draft hand. The best after Richmond.

For Richmond they slide back 6 spots, hand over 24 and get a pick in the say early teens next year. You can make a case at why that it’s a good deal for them too.

I get the feeling clubs will come hard for 11 so if this is the plan I hope we are all over it with 27/28. That would completely change the complexion of the trade period and I’d feel is the final big stock up of talent (assuming Milesi nails them) with West & Cooney with the kids we have. So yeah maybe do it.

Long way to say, we will have stiff competition for 11 so we will need to offer something enticing. 17 & F1 should be about the mark off the top of my head (say 13 & 17 for 11 & 24 across the two years if we had the same first again).

18-10-2024, 08:16 PM
Say it’s Richmond ....

Richmond have too many picks. TOO MANY.

They can't manage this many new players. No-one can. They need to trade a couple out...or some will fall through the cracks and never reach their potential...this is Gold Coast Suns like first round picks.

Yze may as well quit now cos in two years he's getting sacked...no coach can survive this level of rebuild.

23-10-2024, 05:36 PM
Richmond have too many picks. TOO MANY.

They can't manage this many new players. No-one can. They need to trade a couple out...or some will fall through the cracks and never reach their potential...this is Gold Coast Suns like first round picks.

Yze may as well quit now cos in two years he's getting sacked...no coach can survive this level of rebuild.

I don't think he meant to he's just navigating rough seas.