View Full Version : Tassie guernsey/name etc

18-03-2024, 05:24 PM
So the Tassie teams details gets announced tonight.

Expecting the Tassie devils to be the name, the horrid bottle green jumper with yellow map as the guernsey, and a devil as the mascot. How unoriginal.

Will be interesting as the agreement with the AFL was signed by a liberal government. Labour leaders have already said that if they win election on the 23rd March, they will renegotiate the new stadium deal (they are against it), so tonight?s announcement may end up being a fizzer lol.

18-03-2024, 05:36 PM

Expecting the Tassie devils to be the name, the horrid bottle green jumper with yellow map as the guernsey, and a devil as the mascot. How unoriginal.

Will be interesting as the agreement with the AFL was signed by a liberal government. Labour leaders have already said that if they win election on the 23rd March, they will renegotiate the new stadium deal (they are against it), so tonight?s announcement may end up being a fizzer lol.

Devils - do you think we can fly David Puddy down for the opening game?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ftUR6AFTNMA

18-03-2024, 05:40 PM

gold

18-03-2024, 05:43 PM

Hopefully an updated jumper. Devils is good.

I think a world class stadium would be fantastic for Tassie - create plenty of jobs as well as good for business, food outlets, merchandise etc etc.

18-03-2024, 05:59 PM

I think the Devils would be a great name and emblem for the side but they will need to make the jumper a bit more relevant and moderns than some previous jumper designs.
It will be interesting to see if a workable compromise can me met depending on which government is elected.
I get why so many people in Tasmania are skeptical given the outlay and a potential blowout in costs would weigh heavily on their minds.

18-03-2024, 06:40 PM
For this Tassie old boy I'd like to see

Devil as the nickname. Please not Mariner, Convicts, Pademelons or Thylacines or any other stupid name Mainlanders come up with.

Green the dominant jumper colour

Deep sea blue as the trim or dark tan/brown. Shorts can be either. Don't mind white as an alternative

Do we go with a map of tassie in a yellow/huon pine colour on the jumper? I say yes but I don't mind a V but please not a T on the front.

18-03-2024, 06:41 PM
The argument with the stadium is built around the cost (potentially 1 billion) when there are 2 AFL standard grounds already in the state, and I get that argument for sure. A new stadium that holds 28,000 people will never be full, let’s not pretend any different. And the argument that it will bring the likes of Ed Sheeran, Pink and the likes to Tassie is a pipe dream. They don’t go to Perth. No way do they come here.
Will be a few interesting weeks ahead.
As a Tasmanian, I’m just hoping that the jumper isn’t voted the worst in the AFL. And I’ve heard at the announcement they are going to be offering memberships as low as $10.

18-03-2024, 06:46 PM
The argument with the stadium is built around the cost (potentially 1 billion) when there are 2 AFL standard grounds already in the state, and I get that argument for sure. A new stadium that holds 28,000 people will never be full, let’s not pretend any different. And the argument that it will bring the likes of Ed Sheeran, Pink and the likes to Tassie is a pipe dream. They don’t go to Perth. No way do they come here.
Will be a few interesting weeks ahead.
As a Tasmanian, I’m just hoping that the jumper isn’t voted the worst in the AFL. And I’ve heard at the announcement they are going to be offering memberships as low as $10.

They should aim to drop that down to about 23K capacity and that hopefully reduces the cost of the outlay. If they build it right have the design represent the ability to increase the capacity if needed. I get the need for a roof particularly down in Tasmania and it will allow them to host concerts and other events but they needs to be a way that it doesn't add a huge amount to the project.

18-03-2024, 07:09 PM

El Diablo

18-03-2024, 07:11 PM
Just announced.
Colours- Myrtle green, red and yellow
Name- Devils

So, I’m thinking green jumper, red trim and yellow map

18-03-2024, 07:13 PM
Just announced.
Colours- Myrtle green, red and yellow
Name- Devils

Ok we've got an adjective for the green....

I really need to know what type of red and yellow it is.

Clarry Red?

Sherrin Yellow?

18-03-2024, 07:18 PM
Jumpers usually have patterns...

You already have Tassie in the name why does it have to be on the jumper too?

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/03/18/92b43059-a06a-4582-ae54-f02d1a8f0ddc/ME180324MW00010.jpg?width=1416&height=2124

18-03-2024, 07:19 PM

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/03/18/92b43059-a06a-4582-ae54-f02d1a8f0ddc/ME180324MW00010.jpg?width=1416&height=2124

That real?

If so - horrendous. Are they the T's?

Wait wait.....thought of a mascot.

https://i.postimg.cc/VsTkgk69/2024-03-18-18-20-50-Mr-T-webp-WEBP-Image-1024-1024-pixels-Mozilla-Firefox.png (https://postimg.cc/4n6GNZpn)

18-03-2024, 07:20 PM
That real?

If so - horrendous.

AFL site. Richo holding one on the front page

18-03-2024, 07:22 PM
Pathetic but no surprise.
Completely unoriginal in any way. Yep, only tasmanians could like that jumper.
Looks something from a state league.

18-03-2024, 07:23 PM

Really vanilla. I reckon it would take me 5 seconds on dall-e to create a better one.

18-03-2024, 07:24 PM
I think the colours, the logo, the name and jumper all look OK. Just build that stadium.

18-03-2024, 07:25 PM
It's all very unoriginal. Which isn't to say that it's bad...I feel like a little bit of innovation could have been nice?

Hopefully it lands well with the Tassie people!

18-03-2024, 07:25 PM

Very disappointing, I thought they could do better than that. I love tradition but that one served the state well in the past but it's not really that appealing going forward.

18-03-2024, 07:32 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/wM9SzP9Q/Screenshot-20240318-183002.png (https://postimg.cc/S2tZ7g2n)

18-03-2024, 07:35 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/wM9SzP9Q/Screenshot-20240318-183002.png (https://postimg.cc/S2tZ7g2n)
Wayyyyyyyy better

18-03-2024, 07:40 PM

Very good. Like seriously good. But giving off Adelaide Crow vibes.

18-03-2024, 07:48 PM
Very good. Like seriously good. But giving off Adelaide Crow vibes.

Yeah it's the dogs/crows hoops pattern. Replace whatever that is in the top left hs corner with the logo they've come up with and I reckon it's a winner.

The Suns and Giants jumpers really went away from the traditional designs. I think they're both awful.

18-03-2024, 07:49 PM
Apparently getting better concession than Giants/Suns got.

Who we losing?

18-03-2024, 07:55 PM
Apparently getting better concession than Giants/Suns got.

Who we losing?

Sanders unless he's captain coach and president.

18-03-2024, 08:01 PM
Sanders unless he's captain coach and president.

His father didn't seem to think that any of the boys drafted in recent years would be interested in heading too Hobart. Most of the boys who are drafted from Tas are from Launceston. Jimmy Webster was the last one drafted from Hobart

18-03-2024, 08:04 PM
His father didn't seem to think that any of the boys drafted in recent years would be interested in heading too Hobart. Most of the boys who are drafted from Tas are from Launceston. Jimmy Webster was the last one drafted from Hobart

Throw a mill point five a year at someone and they'll love Hobart.

18-03-2024, 10:27 PM

Does the away jumper version have a map of the rest of Australia on it?

19-03-2024, 09:14 AM
Does the away jumper version have a map of the rest of Australia on it?

they forgot Flinders and King islands........

arent they always kicking up a fuss when the map of Australia doesnt have tassie on it?

19-03-2024, 10:08 AM
As bland or even more bland than the Gold Coast guernseys.

They did 20 takes and this is the best the one?

19-03-2024, 10:52 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GI8bTCKbwAApvJw?format=jpg&name=medium

19-03-2024, 11:05 AM
I heard this morning they're up to 70,000. They're $10 memberships that give you a bumper sticker and stuff.

Just membership numbers being used as marketing spin once again.

19-03-2024, 11:10 AM
I suspect there would have been strict limitations placed on the use of an actual Tasmanian Devil on the jumper design (in light of the intellectual property issue with Warner Bros) hence why they have gone down the traditional map design route. I'm surprised that a commercial animal like Warner Bros has shown the goodwill to allow this team to be called the Devils, but no doubt there would be strict caveats in place to never allow the animal itself to be depicted in any official capacity or on any marketing collateral related to the team.

With that in mind, the traditional green jumper with the yellow map and the red T is a good choice - simple, historical, very identifiable and unifying the entire state.

19-03-2024, 11:19 AM
I suspect there would have been strict limitations placed on the use of an actual Tasmanian Devil on the jumper design (in light of the intellectual property issue with Warner Bros) hence why they have gone down the traditional map design route. I'm surprised that a commercial animal like Warner Bros has shown the goodwill to allow this team to be called the Devils, but no doubt there would be strict caveats in place to never allow the animal itself to be depicted in any official capacity or on any marketing collateral related to the team.

With that in mind, the traditional green jumper with the yellow map and the red T is a good choice - simple, historical, very identifiable and unifying the entire state.

Devil logo very different

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GI7-5f3bwAA-L0E?format=jpg&name=medium

19-03-2024, 11:20 AM

The logo IS a devil. Or do you mean the specific Warner bros devil?

19-03-2024, 11:21 AM

This one reminded me straight away of the minnesota wild logo in the nhl.

Bloody hell, they've allowed a devil in the design. They must have been paid handsomely to allow this.

also
https://tasdevils.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/devils-fb.png

19-03-2024, 11:22 AM
The jumper apparently wont be that one. It's just a special case usage.
Real jumper coming in future.

19-03-2024, 11:23 AM

The logo looks like it saw the jumper and is repulsed.

19-03-2024, 11:23 AM
The logo IS a devil. Or do you mean the specific Warner bros devil?
Forget my previous post - I know nothing clearly :D

I would not have been as generous as Warner Bros in sharing/watering down my intellectual property. Good for the new club that they have been allowed to do so.

19-03-2024, 11:24 AM
also
https://tasdevils.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/devils-fb.png

What's that? That devil is WAY better. Actually represents the animal.

19-03-2024, 11:25 AM
The jumper apparently wont be that one. It's just a special case usage.
Real jumper coming in future.

Really? They're not doing a good job here. People are gonna be very confused.

Edit I just read the article again and they mention the released guernsey is the one they'll play in.

19-03-2024, 11:30 AM
Really? They're not doing a good job here. People are gonna be very confused.

Edit I just read the article again and they mention the released guernsey is the one they'll play in.
Just for clarity purposes. The Jumper reveal from last night featuring the famous map of Tassie foundation jumper will be worn sparingly, perhaps once or twice a year. The home and away Devils jumpers will be the mainstay. They will be released later down the track in due course.

https://x.com/lithgowflashman/status/1769833652475842696?s=46&t=neqr5SEP5ru1Jg5rjbq2bQ

19-03-2024, 11:37 AM
Just for clarity purposes. The Jumper reveal from last night featuring the famous map of Tassie foundation jumper will be worn sparingly, perhaps once or twice a year. The home and away Devils jumpers will be the mainstay. They will be released later down the track in due course.

https://x.com/lithgowflashman/status/1769833652475842696?s=46&t=neqr5SEP5ru1Jg5rjbq2bQ

Thanks.

That's pretty poor messaging. I don't think anyone realises this.

19-03-2024, 11:43 AM

Reaction to the negativity? Or always the plan?

19-03-2024, 11:48 AM
Thanks.

That's pretty poor messaging. I don't think anyone realises this.

does it really matter?

19-03-2024, 11:58 AM
does it really matter?

Have you seen the smashing they're getting everywhere?

When you're launching a brand you need to be sending a clear and consistent message to get everyone on board. If that doesn't matter then I don't know what to tell you......

19-03-2024, 12:10 PM
Reaction to the negativity? Or always the plan?

I think the former the way it's played out.

19-03-2024, 02:10 PM
Has anyone seen the tweet from Chris Rowbottom?

Said that Warner bros initially played hardball on the Devils name but relented once they realised the tassie devil was a real animal.......

19-03-2024, 02:14 PM
Said that Warner bros initially played hardball on the Devils name but relented once they realised the tassie devil was a real animal.......
Whoever said that doesn't understand intellectual property law and how lucrative intellectual property actually is (especially on a global scale like Warner Bros, even for a 'lesser' character like their Taz). I'm guessing it would have been one of the 5,000 mental midgets from AFEL media land.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-03-18/afl-team-tasmanian-devils-name-colours-announcement/103572848

You can rest assured a significant sum of money was exchanged to allow the name to be used by the AFEL - this paragraph from the above article tells all:

"Warner Bros Discovery and the AFL have come to an amicable agreement and look forward to seeing footy fans across Tasmania support the AFL's newest football club, the Tasmania Devils," the statement reads.

As to whether money exchanged hands over the use of the name, and who foots that bill, is yet to be revealed.

19-03-2024, 02:21 PM
Whoever said that doesn't understand intellectual property law and how lucrative intellectual property actually is (especially on a global scale like Warner Bros, even for a 'lesser' character like their Taz). I'm guessing it would have been one of the 5,000 mental midgets from AFEL media land.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-03-18/afl-team-tasmanian-devils-name-colours-announcement/103572848

You can rest assured a significant sum of money was exchanged to allow the name to be used by the AFEL - this paragraph from the above article tells all:

"Warner Bros Discovery and the AFL have come to an amicable agreement and look forward to seeing footy fans across Tasmania support the AFL's newest football club, the Tasmania Devils," the statement reads.

As to whether money exchanged hands over the use of the name, and who foots that bill, is yet to be revealed.

I have no doubt a lot of money was paid. But did they soften their stance from "no chance in hell" to "ok but you'll have to pony up" once they realised it was a real animal?

Who benefits from making up such things if it never actually happened now that it's all said and done?

19-03-2024, 02:25 PM
"these memberships are just $10, and include a “digital Founding Membership card”, a “sensational Founding Member sticker”, access to buy merchandise and the promise to list all foundation members at their club HQ in the future in some capacity."

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/tassie-guernsey-reality-emerges-after-criticism-as-whopping-75k-members-locked-in-already/news-story/5cc6b81e3a8821ff637c9779d545e87b?fbclid=IwAR3dPbjGtgNUQgWH96 8zqf803L0FTQjKanR4qHLIwTA1O8P7SWBMwqwetr8

19-03-2024, 03:02 PM
I have no doubt a lot of money was paid. But did they soften their stance from "no chance in hell" to "ok but you'll have to pony up" once they realised it was a real animal?

Who benefits from making up such things if it never actually happened now that it's all said and done?
I suspect the "no chance in hell" stance at the start was a deliberate strategy by Warner Bros to ensure they received maximum compensation now whilst also looking like good corporate and community-minded citizens.

19-03-2024, 03:13 PM
I heard this morning they're up to 70,000. They're $10 memberships that give you a bumper sticker and stuff.

Just membership numbers being used as marketing spin once again.

It's brilliant marketing, great way of building up the coffers.

19-03-2024, 04:04 PM

It came straight from the mouth of the chairman Grant O'Brien. I read it in the Age today, unfortunately I can't link it as it's behind a paywall (I read it in the real life paper version).

19-03-2024, 04:16 PM
It came straight from the mouth of the chairman Grant O'Brien. I read it in the Age today, unfortunately I can't link it as it's behind a paywall (I read it in the real life paper version).
https://archive.is/xAzIg

19-03-2024, 04:24 PM
https://archive.is/xAzIg

that link doesn't work

19-03-2024, 04:27 PM
The detail in the Devil: Why the AFL?s newest club fought so hard for its name (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/tasmania-s-first-afl-club-logo-and-colours-unveiled-20240317-p5fd37.html)

The inaugural chairman of the AFL?s 19th club said he was always going to fight American corporate juggernaut Warner Bros. Discovery for the use of the Devils moniker, after the full name, logo and colours of the new Tasmanian club were unveiled on Monday.

Amid a launch held at six Tasmanian sites and streamed live to pubs and clubs across the state, the Devils? chairman Grant O?Brien joined Richmond legend Matthew Richardson in Devonport to confirm the club will wear a traditional myrtle-green jumper, also featuring primrose yellow and rose red. The front of the foundation jumper will have a yellow map of the state emblazoned.

?It?s a massive moment in our rich state history,? Richardson, who played his junior football with East Devonport, said.

?If you had?ve asked me years ago, I wouldn?t have believed it. It?s richly deserved that we finally get our team.?

To use the moniker of Tasmania?s native animal, the AFL had to negotiate with Warner Bros. Discovery, which has a market capitalisation of almost $24 billion, given ?Tasmanian Devil? was trademarked by the company in 1984, and is a famous cartoon character in the company?s Looney Tunes series.

O?Brien suggested that Warner Bros. had not initially fully grasped there was such thing as a Tasmanian Devil.

?I think there was, for a period of time, a lack of understanding that there was actually an animal called the Tasmanian devil. Once that was understood, things got a little easier,? O?Brien, the former chief executive of Woolworths, told the AFL website.

?But anything to do with copyrights, trademarks, those sorts of things ? is tricky. But we got great co-operation from Warner Bros., and it?s a name we wanted to fight for, because it?s ours, it?s the sort of animal character that we want our club to stand for. It was worth fighting for.?

A statement released by the AFL on Monday night said: ?Warner Bros. Discovery and the AFL have come to an amicable agreement and look forward to seeing footy fans across Tasmania support the AFL?s newest football club, the Tasmania Devils. The Devils will no doubt be a club that unites the state and showcases the best of Tasmania.?

Tasmania?s under-18 men?s and women?s teams already play as the Tasmanian Devils, while a former VFL club was also the Tasmanian Devils.

The Devils are yet to finalise either a club theme song, or chief executive. O?Brien said he wanted the CEO to be appointed by the end of June, and starting in the role by early next year. The role is likely to be filled by Richmond?s current chief Brendon Gale, according to Caroline Wilson?s report on Footy Classified last week. Gale is a Tasmanian native.

O?Brien, speaking to the Devils? faithful, said the work was only now beginning.

?On behalf of the entire board, I want to express my appreciation to all of those who have helped us get to this point. That?s not just been in the last few months, but that?s been for the last few decades as we have fought for what we believe is right for Tasmania, and that?s to have our own team in the AFL,? O?Brien said.

The Devils expect supporters to start signing up as foundation members, with more than 40,000 fans this year expected to pay the $10 membership fee.

The AFL hopes the major launch unites the state, ahead of Saturday?s state election which has the proposed new $715 million stadium at Macquarie Point as a key debate.

AFL chief executive Andrew Dillon reiterated on Monday that the AFL believes the 23,000-seat roofed stadium is a non-negotiable element of the new club, which will enter the competition in 2028.

In their first season, the Devils will play their home games at the existing Bellerive Oval in Hobart and York Park in Launceston. For each season after that, the Tasmanian government must pay the club $4.5 million if the stadium isn?t ready.

Premier Jeremy Rockliff and his state Liberal Party insist the new stadium will go ahead, although the government will tip in no more than $375 million. The federal government will contribute $240 million, although that includes a broader urban renewal project, the AFL $15 million with further funding from private investment.

The Macquarie Point Development Corporation is appointing a quantity surveyor, which could mean the cost estimate change by the end of this year.

Tasmanian Labor leader Rebecca White is keen for the team to move ahead but says it needs to be successful before the new stadium is built.

?You prove up the team. You prove it works. You demonstrate you?ve got the crowd numbers,? White said last week.

The club, handed the league?s 19th licence last year, will also be on the hunt for a coach. Dillon believes ?someone who has done it before? would be the best option.

The AFL will also need to decide what concessions it gives to the club to help it build a strong playing list, with Dillon keen for the club to be an immediate success.

19-03-2024, 05:08 PM
I’ve joined up a $10 foundation membership. The least I can do for being Tassie born. Will I buy a full blown Tassie membership when the time times? Who knows, but I guess Ive done my bit so far. Not many I work with are supportive of that jumper, so to hear it is only the foundation jumper worn sparingly, makes me happier.

19-03-2024, 05:58 PM
that link doesn't work

Works fine for me.

19-03-2024, 06:31 PM
Works fine for me.

Anyway I posted up the article. :)

19-03-2024, 07:22 PM
I hear the media is already saying that the new team should going big for Sanders bloody typical after 4 years in system he will just hitting his straps.

19-03-2024, 07:38 PM
I hear the media is already saying that the new team should going big for Sanders bloody typical after 4 years in system he will just hitting his straps.
Any tasmanians in that 22-26 bracket will be hunted. McKercher will be another.

We (the dogs) certainly won't want to be bottoming out 2026-2028 with all the concessions that will come tassies way (reportably even better than GWS)

19-03-2024, 08:46 PM
There is an entire Warner Bros consumer products office, specifically to manage the commercialisation of their own intellectual property, based here in Melbourne. The idea that Warner Bros didn't know there was an actual animal called a Tasmanian Devil is not the slightest bit plausible. But they are no doubt happy to look like insular but generous Americans whilst pocketing an enormous amount of money (that will likely never be disclosed) to give permission to the new club to use the name.

19-03-2024, 10:29 PM

Yeh I saw a meme which named Sanders as the inaugural captain. Why not Mckercher?? He was the higher draft pick.

It's easier to stick the boot into the Dogs than Norf at the moment...that's bloody sad.

20-03-2024, 10:05 AM
There is an entire Warner Bros consumer products office, specifically to manage the commercialisation of their own intellectual property, based here in Melbourne. The idea that Warner Bros didn't know there was an actual animal called a Tasmanian Devil is not the slightest bit plausible. But they are no doubt happy to look like insular but generous Americans whilst pocketing an enormous amount of money (that will likely never be disclosed) to give permission to the new club to use the name.
On the local Tassie news last night they were asked about the devils name. They said it was only green lit a week ago after Warner heard the Tassie Devil was a legitimate animal and I quote “no money had to change hands”. It was agreed upon in good faith.

20-03-2024, 10:49 AM

The Devil and map need to be swapped around

20-03-2024, 01:14 PM
The Devil and map need to be swapped around

Not sure it quite works.

https://i.postimg.cc/hGqqFvrs/Devils-swap.jpg (https://postimg.cc/nXTWBHN9)right click test (https://keyboardtester.co/mouse-click-tester)

20-03-2024, 01:25 PM
Devil needs to be more robo-like...

20-03-2024, 04:10 PM
The inside story on Warner Bros, AFL negotiations over Tasmania Devils name (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/tasmania/the-inside-story-on-warner-bros-afl-negotiations-over-tasmania-devils-name/news-story/fff5e759a7e1392592fb4d681d74d402)

The AFL and entertainment giant Warner Bros went back and forth in negotiations over the use of the Tasmanian Devils name, as it turned out Google had the answer. This is how it played out.

What?s in a name? Turns out there?s plenty, especially when it comes to commercial rights and trademarks.

So it came as a surprise to the AFL?s legal department that executives at movie giant Warner Bros ? at least some of them ? had no idea the Tasmanian Devil was actually a real, live animal from Tasmania.

They had to google it.

Warner Bros has owned the trademark to the Tassie Devil since 1984, through their Looney Tunes cartoon character Taz Devil, who was born in the 1950s as a foe for Buggs Bunny.

When the AFL came knocking for a peace deal over the name for its 19th team, Warner Bros immediately saw a red flag until it grasped the concept that the Tasmanian Devil was real and the name was being sought to support a footy team from its home state.

An AFL spokesperson said: ?There were some in the company in the US who were unaware that the cartoon character that was created and first appeared in cartoons in 1954 was actually based on a real animal that was native to the island state of Tasmania way down in Australia.

?While kangaroos and koalas may be well known to Americans, the small but ferocious carnivore is less well-known.

?At least one had to google it to find the Tassie Devil character was inspired by a real life marsupial.?

At the launch of Tasmania?s long-awaited AFL club at six locations around the state on Monday night, the Devil image proudly formed the centerpiece as the club?s branding ? on its logo, on the team jumper, and to appear on banding for future merchandise.

Tasmania Football Club chair Grant O?Brien said the hunt for the Devil was a battle worth fighting.

?Early days negotiating through the AFL with Warner Brothers was a bit tricky, but when it got to the point of them understanding the Tasmanian Devil is actually a real animal, things freed up,? O?Brien said.

?They understood why we were so keen to have our own animal represent the team.

?It went down to the wire and Kath McCann [TFC executive officer], god bless her, was riding it all the way until the weekend.

?But we were confident we?d get there and confident they?d cooperate, and in truth they were fantastic.?

The AFL first made contact with the company in 2021 and again in 2022 but it was the day after former CEO Gillon McLachlan announced the licence at North Hobart Oval last year that the process to use the name grew teeth.

?The day after the announcement, Warner Bros contacted the AFL legal team and said let?s get this done and said they were open to granting a licence for the team to use the trademark,? the AFL said.

?The discussions continued and it was eventually worked out that a co-existence deed was agreed that would see the team able to use the terms Tasmania Devils, Tassie Devils or Devils and Warner Bros agreed not to oppose the use of the trademarks and the Devils logo as long as it was associated with Australian Football.?

The deal was eventually signed off on 14 March 2023 and the Devils can be used on all branding pertaining to football.

That made the AFL was ?extremely grateful? to Warner Bros for allowing the new team to use the trademark of one of its famous cartoon characters.

?The announcement of the 19th licence was something that resonated not just across Tasmania and Australian football but right across the world,? the AFL said.

?From the First Floor of the AFL where its legal department is based to the New York offices of Warner Bros and its legal team, AFL CEO Andrew Dillon thanked Warner Bros and said the company had been brilliant in its support of the team being able to use the name of the native Tasmanian animal.?

Like many kids, O?Brien watched Taz Devil as a young tacker and knew exactly what Warner Bros thought was its own creation.

?I grew up here understanding what a Tasmanian Devil was, but most of us grew up watching Warner Bros cartoons and seeing this thing spinning around,? O?Brien said.

?I get it, but the message I?d like to give is they?ve done the right thing by us, and they?ve done it in the right spirit.

?It?s a nice story on the way to getting the club to where it is.?

24-03-2024, 09:47 AM
WHY BRAD JOHNSON WILL NOT JOIN THE TASMANIAN DEVILS MEMBERSHIP BANDWAGON

Over 125,000 AFL fans have signed up to be members of the Tasmanian Devils AFL side after the launch, a groundswell of support that has surprised even the most fervent locals.

The numbers have grown in part because of mainland support, with many AFL fans joining in and committing their $10 or $15 to the cause in exchange for some stickers.

Western Bulldogs great Brad Johnson will not be amongst them, however.

The sheer number of members will inject $2 million directly into the startup of the team and Johnson wonders why opposition supporters are jumping on board when the Devils will quickly become a very real threat to their own teams – as we saw with GWS and Gold Coast.

“I won’t be getting on board whatsoever. It’s not mean, they have now released their jumper, they’re official, they’re now opposition,” Johnson told AFL Nation.

“There is no way known that I am joining the Tasmanian team as a member.

“I cannot believe that people are doing it. How are you going to be when they come and start trying to pinch your team’s players in a couple of years and all of a sudden they play you in Round 1 and beat you?

“Are you going to be happy then that you were a member?

“This is serious now – and I’m not joking – this is serious because they are now an official competitor and a threat to my beloved Bulldogs and I will not buy a membership.”

The take surprised Gerard Whateley, who said: “I never had you as the Grinch, Johnno!”

Johnson explained that he is still incredibly happy for Tasmanians that their dream of receiving a team has been realised.

“I am rapt that they are coming into the competition. It’s going to be awesome. Let’s put that in perspective. Let’s hope they get this right, but the fact of the matter is that they’re now a competitor to my team and there’s no way known that I’m joining them, I’m sorry, that’s just the way that I feel in this footy world!” he added.

24-03-2024, 09:49 AM
Ha. Johnson. Bleeds red, white and blue. Love it.

24-03-2024, 12:01 PM
After last nights election results it looks dead in the water before it began.
Unless the AFL accept York park according to the greens . Someone has got to back down now.

06-05-2024, 03:49 PM
From the Mecury below. Some common sense. Good to see.

After losing an election on an anti-stadium policy, Labor has performed a sensational backflip to support the major infrastructure project.

The future of Tasmania’s AFL team is set to hinge on building a new-roofed stadium in Hobart, which Labor didn’t support at the polls earlier this year.

On Monday, Labor leader Dean Winter announced his party would now support the building of a new stadium on the back of more jobs.

“A stadium will mean thousands of jobs in construction, including hundreds of apprenticeships,” Mr Winter said.

“That’s why Labor will be backing a new stadium.”

He said: “Labor has changed”.

06-05-2024, 03:54 PM

After losing an election on an anti-stadium policy, Labor has performed a sensational backflip to support the major infrastructure project.

The future of Tasmania’s AFL team is set to hinge on building a new-roofed stadium in Hobart, which Labor didn’t support at the polls earlier this year.

On Monday, Labor leader Dean Winter announced his party would now support the building of a new stadium on the back of more jobs.

“A stadium will mean thousands of jobs in construction, including hundreds of apprenticeships,” Mr Winter said.

“That’s why Labor will be backing a new stadium.”

He said: “Labor has changed”.

It's funny people somehow worry about debt, and yet know nothing about the economic benefits of the spend or why debt is an issue.

The stadium will change Tassie and inject huge economic benefits into the economy.

Enough politics, get it done.

06-05-2024, 03:56 PM
It's funny people somehow worry about debt, and yet know nothing about the economic benefits of the spend or why debt is an issue.

The stadium will change Tassie and inject huge economic benefits into the economy.

Adelaide Oval is a case in point. Transformed the city. You could not even imagine having to catch a bus out to footy park to watch the footy now.

06-05-2024, 03:58 PM
Adelaide Oval is a case in point. Transformed the city. You could not even imagine having to catch a bus out to footy park to watch the footy now.

or Waverley :D

06-05-2024, 04:10 PM

Or Perth Stadium (aka Optus).

Ummm. Wait. I mean, it's out in a convenient location for going to the Crown Casino I guess.

06-05-2024, 04:38 PM

Your point about debt is a sound one, provided the long-term benefits have been properly costed and also provided the level of debt accumulated is not too onerous. Without knowing all the specifics of the Tassie stadium project, there seems to be a clear long-term benefit both financially and for the local community with this project being directly tied to the state's own AFEL team.

However, there are far too many other govt funded projects to mention that do not have anywhere near the same long-term benefit to debt/cost ratio. Overall debt levels in the last 5 odd years accumulated nationally and state by state (especially the worst offenders here in Victoria) are completely unsustainable and will result in a lower standard of living and crippling taxation increases for the populations these constituencies are supposed to serve. This is a bipartisan talking point - govts of all stripes are addicted to over-spending other peoples money (with appalling lack of transparency and oversight) and kicking the debt can down the road, and it will cripple us all if this cavalier attitude is not significantly reined in.

06-05-2024, 05:46 PM

The future of Tasmania?s AFL team is set to hinge on building a new-roofed stadium in Hobart, which Labor didn?t support at the polls earlier this year.

?A stadium will mean thousands of jobs in construction, including hundreds of apprenticeships,? Mr Winter said.

?That?s why Labor will be backing a new stadium.?

He said: ?Labor has changed?.

I hate when the press use the term backflip to represent a change of stance. Don't you end up facing the same way when you backflip?

10-05-2024, 09:07 PM
I hate when the press use the term backflip to represent a change of stance. Don't you end up facing the same way when you backflip?

They did a complete 360 and changed their mind.

10-05-2024, 09:08 PM
Shock horror, Brendale Gale named the CEO.

11-05-2024, 02:06 AM

They should be ripping into whoever backflips for wasting everyone's time with extraneous physical motioning when we just want to hear their points of view.

11-05-2024, 02:18 PM
Shock horror, Brendale Gale named the CEO.

I think Tazzie will be a successful team very quickly, the AFL has learnt a lot from GWS and GC.
Being an AFL state the fans will jump on this extremely quick.
I don’t think the AFL will have to worry about pumping money into them once the set up cost is done.
I hope the stadium is built with a roof and as big as possible,with the weather down there and being a winter sport you need a roof.

07-07-2024, 02:44 PM
New Stadium in Tassie

https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.519%2C$multiply_0.7725%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$ x_3%2C$y_0/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/d7ac14d2504052015ba6bc7baad2f3837d65b3f6

Clear roof

https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.609%2C$multiply_0.7725%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$ x_69%2C$y_0/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/0bc584949dec6a13fb286f59e18f90d7318adeae

07-07-2024, 02:59 PM
Looks verry fancy. One question how do fans get to the game? I've never been to Tassie so I don't what the public transport is like but looking at that I don't you would drive would you.
Ferries if they have them would be a novel way to get there.

07-07-2024, 03:08 PM
Looks verry fancy. One question how do fans get to the game? I've never been to Tassie so I don't what the public transport is like but looking at that I don't you would drive would you.
Ferries if they have them would be a novel way to get there.

Only holds 23,000? Is this big enough?

07-07-2024, 03:12 PM
Only holds 23,000? Is this big enough?

How many go to the North and Hawthorn games? You could add 10 or 20% because it a local team.

07-07-2024, 03:14 PM
How many go to the North and Hawthorn games? You could add 10 or 20% because it a local team.

Has Collingwood, Carlton Essendon ever played in Hobart or Launceston? Nah, they get to play at the G and build their members and exposure up.

07-07-2024, 03:54 PM
Has Collingwood, Carlton Essendon ever played in Hobart or Launceston? Nah, they get to play at the G and build their members and exposure up.

Of course they do and fun fact Collingwood last play at Sedat park in 1999. Scott Pendlebury has never played at the cattery.

07-07-2024, 05:02 PM
of course they do and fun fact collingwood last play at sedat park in 1999. Scott pendlebury has never played at the cattery.

wtf.

07-07-2024, 06:20 PM
Of course they do and fun fact Collingwood last play at Sedat park in 1999. Scott Pendlebury has never played at the cattery.

Does the AFL realise there are 18 teams - Nope

07-07-2024, 11:27 PM
New Stadium in Tassie

https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.519%2C$multiply_0.7725%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$ x_3%2C$y_0/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/d7ac14d2504052015ba6bc7baad2f3837d65b3f6

Clear roof

https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.609%2C$multiply_0.7725%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$ x_69%2C$y_0/t_crop_custom/q_86%2Cf_auto/0bc584949dec6a13fb286f59e18f90d7318adeae
These are the most beautiful images of a proposed new stadium development since the ones for Mars Stadium in Ballarat for the upcoming Commonwealth Games in 2026.

07-07-2024, 11:29 PM
These are the most beautiful images of a proposed new stadium development since the ones for Mars Stadium in Ballarat for the upcoming Commonwealth Games in 2026.
Hate to be cleaning the bird shit off.

07-07-2024, 11:57 PM

Plans always look nice don't they

09-07-2024, 02:32 AM
I don't get the wood. Surely there are stronger, lighter metals with a zillion times the longevity?

09-07-2024, 08:15 AM
I don't get the wood. Surely there are stronger, lighter metals with a zillion times the longevity?

I think it's possibly like wood cladding over the metal. More decorative than structural.

09-07-2024, 10:16 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EuydK9lf6jQ

09-07-2024, 10:33 AM
There is now merch available for the team too. I think it looks good