View Full Version : Saints V Bulldogs - Round 6, 18/4/24 Marvel Stadium 7:30PM AEST
18-04-2024, 09:48 PM
It’s been nice to see freekickbulldogs back on the agenda.
It is tonight. We've got them all. Haha
18-04-2024, 09:48 PM
Just got home and I only just switched the game on to see a saints goal straight from our backline and a near goal after a shocking turnover out of our 50.
Game looks completely open.
How are we 70pts up?
Hungrier.
18-04-2024, 09:49 PM
Khamis has been good but his last 2 have cost goals. Bit disappointing.
18-04-2024, 09:49 PM
Don’t stop now.
18-04-2024, 09:50 PM
Hungrier.
I'm gonna have to watch the replay cos what I've seen has been average.....granted it's game over of course.
18-04-2024, 09:51 PM
Khamis has been good but his last 2 have cost goals. Bit disappointing.
Same with JOD, if you blood key position players in the backline you have to be prepared for them to get beat. He won’t keep leaking those ones.
18-04-2024, 09:53 PM
Seriously. How good is the set shot goal kicking?
18-04-2024, 09:53 PM
Seriously. How good is the set shot goal kicking?
Jonno will want a pay rise.
18-04-2024, 09:54 PM
Hungrier.
Bullshit. Massive coaching changes!
Our coach was in such good form tonight. He just lifted the team off its backside and won the game for us........
Saints off by ten per cent, Dogs on. Coaching mainly makes a difference if both teams are playing close to capacity.
18-04-2024, 09:55 PM
I'm gonna have to watch the replay cos what I've seen has been average.....granted it's game over of course.
Mate our players have been SHITTING on theirs.
Harder at it, hungrier for it, and able to convert.
18-04-2024, 09:55 PM
14.2 from set shots so far. Surely that's worth some sort of commission.
18-04-2024, 09:57 PM
Williams, that?s shit mate. Had a team mate on his own 20 out and just blazed away.
18-04-2024, 09:58 PM
Its all lucas herbert.
https://archive.is/RKxt7
18-04-2024, 09:58 PM
Williams, that?s shit mate. Had a team mate on his own 20 out and just blazed away.
Sounds rebound and kick a goal, 11 point turn around
18-04-2024, 09:59 PM
Treloar been great all game.
18-04-2024, 09:59 PM
He's one guy that seems to always fly under the criticism radar.
18-04-2024, 10:00 PM
Cmon Dogs. Get it back over 70
18-04-2024, 10:01 PM
Poor JUH of all games to miss.
18-04-2024, 10:05 PM
Disappointing in the end to not win by 300
18-04-2024, 10:06 PM
Wow. Dale 39 possessions
18-04-2024, 10:06 PM
Has to be Dale's best game.
Almost 900 metres gained! Enormous.
18-04-2024, 10:07 PM
There?s no question we are Bi-Polar.
Disappointing in the end to not win by 300
Quote of the day.
You could not have dreamed up a better response. Absolute credit to the entire club.
Emphatic.
18-04-2024, 10:08 PM
Get around us WOOFers!!!!
18-04-2024, 10:08 PM
Looking forward to hearing from Kane, Caro and Damo.
18-04-2024, 10:09 PM
Great response particularly the half back flankers!!!!
Sanders looks like he is still playing under 18s, time for him to go back.
We certainly put the clubs away in that last qtr. great effort. We can seriously build off this.
Worth the trek.
My poor saints supporting mate with us….. nah, stuff him!
No idea what it looked like on the telecast, but that was as good a game as we’ve played for a few years. Much more even. In some ways our hand was forced and it works.
I hope he's called out for it in the review. That's the stuff we can't have.
Hope that no one lets the margin fool them, that’s as big a belting as you’ll ever see.
18-04-2024, 10:10 PM
Looking forward to hearing from Kane, Caro and Damo.
They can just play Devil's Advocate and say, you see, why isn't this what they do all the time........
I hope he's called out for it in the review. That's the stuff we can't have.
He knew it. No need to call it out.
They can just play Devil's Advocate and say, you see, why isn't this what they do all the time........
Mate, the players responded because they hate Bevo
Saints had not conceded more than 12 goals all season. Had not lost by more than 8 points.
18-04-2024, 10:12 PM
Four quarters. No passengers.
What the hell did I just watch?
What the pundits overlook is that when you have a good first eight, an inconsistent second eight, and a fledgling third eight, everything has to be on for you to dominate a game.
If a team that unbalanced shows inconsistent effort they'll be exposed. It's so ****ing simple.
Wow. Dale 39 possessions
29 kicks 92 percent efficiency. What a game.
Bevo pulled the right lever.
Saints had not conceded more than 12 goals all season. Had not lost by more than 8 points.
I didn't see this coming at all. Great response and I hope they players realise the week to week standards they need to maintain.
The are honestly better than the results we've had theblast few years. It's simply about effort.
Which team is the media going to pick on this week.
Naughton 6 goals .. put him back media says.
Dale on the way out.
I want to know how they pick on teams after one bad loss and then when they win it’s we need to wait a few games.
Macrae 30 possessions.
I love it when the media get smashed.
The way they jump from one side to another in seconds is incredible.
18-04-2024, 10:13 PM
Apparently Zaine Cordy played tonight. Can’t recall seeing him or hearing his name.
18-04-2024, 10:13 PM
Apparently Zaine Cordy played tonight. Can’t recall seeing him or hearing his name.
I thought we delisted that guy.
Edit: I take it back. Zaine is a bullgod.
18-04-2024, 10:14 PM
What the pundits overlook is that when you have a good first eight, an inconsistent second eight, and a fledgling third eight, everything has to be on for you to dominate a game.
If a team that unbalanced shows inconsistent effort they'll be exposed. It's so ****ing simple.
Do you get paid $300k to have that opinion mate? If not it’s irrelevant. It’s also true. But also true of most clubs. Not sure I’ve got a point. Just posting because we won and it feels good.
18-04-2024, 10:14 PM
Which team is the media going to pick on this week.
Naughton 6 goals .. put him back media says.
Dale on the way out.
I want to know how they pick on teams after one bad loss and then when they win it’s we need to wait a few games.
Macrae 30 possessions.
I love it when the media get smashed.
The way they jump from one side to another in seconds is incredible.
100 per cent. There should be a heap on Lyon but he is a media darling.
18-04-2024, 10:17 PM
Six straight for Naughton too.
18-04-2024, 10:19 PM
I thought we delisted that guy.
Edit: I take it back. Zaine is a bullgod.
I honestly did not notice him. I usually keep an eye out for former Dogs. Sorry Zaine.
Richards into mids was great
So Bevo absolutely validated for making Dale the sub. If you are not performing, you need to be sent a message.
Tonight is the response you expect from Dale.
Good coaching. Good character from Dale.
18-04-2024, 10:20 PM
From the TV it looks like Gags is getting dominated on the wing - seems to always be out of position.
At the ground thought he was great. Worked hard up and back, had clean hands under pressure for ground ball and generally used well under pressure.
18-04-2024, 10:21 PM
That was awesome from Dale. If he can maintain something close to that, we become so much better.
18-04-2024, 10:21 PM
So Bevo absolutely validated for making Dale the sub. If you are not performing, you need to be sent a message.
Tonight is the response you expect from Dale.
Good coaching. Good character from Dale.
Absolutely. Sometimes a reality check is what is required. Kudos to Dale.
18-04-2024, 10:25 PM
11 Bulldogs players has more marks that the Saints player who had the most marks.
WTF!!!!
18-04-2024, 10:26 PM
Treloar nine clearances and five centre clearances. Tremendous.
18-04-2024, 10:27 PM
11 Bulldogs players has more marks that the Saints player who had the most marks.
WTF!!!!
Wowee. Thought the uncontested mark stats they showed at the ground was one sided but that’s incredible!
I really hope we persist with Richards as a mid.
Treloar nine clearances and five centre clearances. Tremendous.
He’s been good all year, despite some limitations in his game - overall he’s an excellent footballer.
18-04-2024, 10:29 PM
Ed Richards 22 centre bounce attendances. Never been in one before tonight.
18-04-2024, 10:31 PM
Richards - 5 tackles
Garcia - 6 tackles
Both hard at it, both with pace, both with defensive intent.
Can't be understated.
18-04-2024, 10:32 PM
I really hope we persist with Richards as a mid.
I really think we should rotate that midfield more and get more involved in there. This just shows what can happen and we don't become so reliant on one or two people.
18-04-2024, 10:34 PM
Jacko with 15 and 15, 7 tackles and a goal. He's obviously super mistreated.
18-04-2024, 10:37 PM
Wow. That was fun. On the train on the way home. Cannot wait to watch the replay.
Oh and god damn Dale was epic.
18-04-2024, 10:38 PM
Ross Lyon.
I didn?t get the pile on the Dogs this week. You look at the Champion Data stats and they are only one of six teams who have above average offence and defence.
They have played some good teams. I was worried going into tonight?s game.
18-04-2024, 10:38 PM
Wow. That was fun. On the train on the way home. Cannot wait to watch the replay.
Oh and god damn Dale was epic.
Good onya Aza, wish I was there
18-04-2024, 10:39 PM
I love libba but he is slow, maybe this is the difference.
Dare I say it?
Just read something I found hilarious
“ imagine carrying a child in your body for 9 months, pushing it out and it decides to go for St kilda”
18-04-2024, 10:40 PM
I love libba but he is slow, maybe this is the difference.
Dare I say it?
Just read something I found hilarious
“ imagine carrying a child in your body for 9 months, pushing it out and it decides to go for St kilda”
Wooden Spoons
Saints 27
Dogs 4
18-04-2024, 10:40 PM
I really think we should rotate that midfield more and get more involved in there. This just shows what can happen and we don't become so reliant on one or two people.
If the players can maintain their hardness and never want to lose competitiveness, the mix of midfielders is going to confuse a lot f opposition coaches as it be hard match up.
I like Garcia and Richard as they add some speed into there.
18-04-2024, 10:41 PM
Saints have been stitched by the draw, no doubt, and it was clear they were ten per cent off the boil.
The three in eleven games is a bit disingenuous though. It's three in eleven plus whatever the break before the first game was.
Gee Ross is good in the media.
Certain coaches are extremely good in front of the camera he is one of them.
Ross Lyon
The Dogs were fierce. There big men were good, They block well for them.
18-04-2024, 10:42 PM
Saints have been stitched by the draw, no doubt, and it was clear they were ten per cent off the boil.
The three in eleven games is a bit disingenuous though. It's three in eleven plus whatever the break before the first game was.
Dogs theee games in 12 days using same rules.
18-04-2024, 10:43 PM
Gotta respect Ross.
He's a great operator.
18-04-2024, 10:44 PM
Very good. Articulate, honest with a clear message.
18-04-2024, 10:44 PM
He keeps it high level and protects himself from depth by saying he doesn't want to be flippant and then just say flippant things.
And the media lets him off because they don't have to think about it.
Our coach on the other hand tries to articulate detailed answers and get murdered for it.
18-04-2024, 10:48 PM
Gotta respect Ross.
He's a great operator.
I don't rate him as a genuine bloke but there is no denying that he is a brilliant coach.
18-04-2024, 10:51 PM
I've been critical about Treloar and credit were credits due he a good game tonight and also Dale put in his best game for the year.
Buku played great and only tarnished his game in the last quarter and maybe fatigue must have set in.
It was a very good team effort tonight and I also liked the move of Richards to the centre.
How good is watching a game of footy when your forwards make the most of their opportunities.
18-04-2024, 10:51 PM
Here is your Backman :D:D:D
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GLckJ9SbgAAk3TM?format=jpg&name=large
18-04-2024, 10:58 PM
I really like Gallagher.
Good nose for goal.
18-04-2024, 10:59 PM
Ross Lyon.
I didn?t get the pile on the Dogs this week. You look at the Champion Data stats and they are only one of six teams who have above average offence and defence.
They have played some good teams. I was worried going into tonight?s game.
Heard that. He was kinda making excuses for their lack of breaks between games but kinda wanting to give us some credit too. He?s a good media operator if nothing else.
18-04-2024, 11:00 PM
He keeps it high level and protects himself from depth by saying he doesn't want to be flippant and then just say flippant things.
And the media lets him off because they don't have to think about it.
Our coach on the other hand tries to articulate detailed answers and get murdered for it.
Sign of a good coach in front of the camera.
18-04-2024, 11:01 PM
Dogs theee games in 12 days using same rules.
Pretty sure that’s wrong mate. Doesn’t fit with the narrative. Don’t worry though, no journo will fact check.
18-04-2024, 11:04 PM
So as bad as the media make us out , we have won all our games by over 8 goals.
Two games we lost by a bit and a very close one. Puts us in the 8
18-04-2024, 11:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5waQtf-iTwc&ab_channel=Michael
18-04-2024, 11:08 PM
Sign of a good coach in front of the camera.
If you like shallow and flippant responses that avoid questions then sure.
18-04-2024, 11:08 PM
Can't unsee that
18-04-2024, 11:09 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5waQtf-iTwc&ab_channel=Michael
There aren't many things that scare me at acid fueled kick-ons but I reckon this would.
18-04-2024, 11:14 PM
There aren't many things that scare me at acid fueled kick-ons but I reckon this would.
sorry thought it was funny
18-04-2024, 11:15 PM
sorry thought it was funny
It's funny mate, and I'm not attending an acid fueled kick-on right now. So don't stress!
18-04-2024, 11:17 PM
I'm still mad about last week but definitely less so after that.
18-04-2024, 11:36 PM
You could argue that tonight's game makes last week MORE annoying.
What a great win! Woof woof!
18-04-2024, 11:41 PM
Don’t panic we will be above Essendon by tomorrow night.
18-04-2024, 11:42 PM
Went to the game tonight. Really good team performance. Just so happy we responded and emphatically as well.
Naughton and Weightman were having great night outs. We defended really well.
Bailey Dale played a great game. Treloar is in some fine form this season and Macrae was good also. Bont did Bont things and got some goals as well.
18-04-2024, 11:50 PM
Went to the game tonight. Really good team performance. Just so happy we responded and emphatically as well.
Naughton and Weightman were having great night outs. We defended really well.
Bailey Dale played a great game. Treloar is in some fine form this season and Macrae was good also. Bont did Bont things and got some goals as well.
Great stuff mate!
18-04-2024, 11:52 PM
Watching replay. The Naughton goal on the run in the first quarter from the pocket was exquisite.
Bounced it. Steadied, beautiful ball drop. Never looked like missing.
18-04-2024, 11:58 PM
Apparently Ameet called out unfair media treatment of Beveridge prior to the game in an interview, by a particular few journalists. Was anyone around for that?
He also apparently reiterated Beveridge will be coaching until the end of 2025 as per his contract.
Big apricots to say that and back the coach in those terms - especially prior to the game.
At which point does the club reach out and suggest media stakeholders lay off as the hyperventilated coverage is actually bad for the mental health of its employees.
I've never seen anything like what I'm seeing with Beveridge now, particularly for a premiership coach that has had two positive seasons on the ledger after a grand final appearance.
What we're seeing in the AFL ecosystem with our coach is bullying, and the AFL is in part accountable for it. To have him portrayed as a bumbling fool for days until some decent minded journalists came out to provide a balanced view was beyond unfair. I get it's a tough industry, and I've worked in tough industries, but that was over the top.
The AFL needs to step up and pull its media partners into line, because the hysteria is over the top and its impacting their operational stakeholders and customers at the same time unnecessarily.
19-04-2024, 12:11 AM
Good post Jeemak. I don?t listen or read much media, especially muck rakers like Caro, Cornes etc. They seem to just make a whole lotta stuff up.
19-04-2024, 12:12 AM
It’s never been truer that a week is a long time in football.
Some of the best wins come when your club is being kicked from pillar to post, when footy brings more angst than joy, when you wonder why you bother. I wasn’t thrilled about going tonight either, the couch looked tempting, but I’m so glad I was there. The effort was outstanding and we saw some brilliant and spectacular football. I’m not sure what the stats say but the hard running was really obvious perched up high with some great efforts by our half forwards to make space and provide an option.
Much as we ridicule the media’s pile on our fans were pretty horrific too. I felt like last week was pretty soul destroying too and also was guilty of catastrophising the loss, but wow how quickly we forget all those other disaster efforts and awful seasons. Strangely we don’t seem as resilient as a fan base as we were when we were truly terrible. Anyway, now we have to hope and expect that same effort ( and coaching dare…wow Ed was a revelation) every week. A stirring win in Perth would really set our season alight.
19-04-2024, 12:16 AM
Apparently Ameet called out unfair media treatment of Beveridge prior to the game in an interview, by a particular few journalists. Was anyone around for that?
He also apparently reiterated Beveridge will be coaching until the end of 2025 as per his contract.
Big apricots to say that and back the coach in those terms - especially prior to the game.
At which point does the club reach out and suggest media stakeholders lay off as the hyperventilated coverage is actually bad for the mental health of its employees.
I've never seen anything like what I'm seeing with Beveridge now, particularly for a premiership coach that has had two positive seasons on the ledger after a grand final appearance.
What we're seeing in the AFL ecosystem with our coach is bullying, and the AFL is in part accountable for it. To have him portrayed as a bumbling fool for days until some decent minded journalists came out to provide a balanced view was beyond unfair. I get it's a tough industry, and I've worked in tough industries, but that was over the top.
The AFL needs to step up and pull its media partners into line, because the hysteria is over the top and its impacting their operational stakeholders and customers at the same time unnecessarily.
Bain’s was steadfast in his support of Bevo, and not in the ”full and unconditional support of the board” way, more of a “get stuffed SOS, he’s staying” sort of way.
Agree re: media. The prepared, cookie cutter news cycle is boring at the best of times, but when there is a clear personal agenda driving it and the venom is apparent, it’s a real problem for the industry as a whole. It’s malicious. It’s poor content. The ones I’ve seen, the critiques have been crap. Thousands of things to have a crack at and they rely on the stories that get prescribed onto people regardless of what’s actually happening.
Good on Bains for sticking up for him.
19-04-2024, 12:29 AM
They should report the news not make up stories but the AFL will do nothing as it keeps them on the back page and people click on it.
I have seen headlines, clicked on the story and the story is not even related to the headline.
19-04-2024, 12:46 AM
These snakes will tell you the only thing that can make the pillorying go away is by giving them a bit of sugar. If that's not the epitome of an abusive relationship I don't know what is.
Our club doesn't feed them information on a favourable basis, and as such, they're unbalanced and vitriolic towards us. If that's not cooked, I don't know what is.
I don't see how it's sustainable.
19-04-2024, 12:53 AM
Bailey Dale
39 touches
93% kicking effeciency
13 intercept possesions
9 score involvements
15 marks
867m gained
WOW
19-04-2024, 12:56 AM
I wonder who the forward was that Dale was playing on because whoever it was has 0000 defensive game.
19-04-2024, 12:57 AM
Pressure acts
Macrae 23
JJ 22
Harmes 20
Bont 20
Richards 18
Garcia 17
I thought that both Garcia and Harmes, in particular when the game was there to be one early, were great with their pressure. Kudos also to Macrae who was awesome tonight in a number of different facets.
19-04-2024, 12:58 AM
Much as we ridicule the media’s pile on our fans were pretty horrific too. I felt like last week was pretty soul destroying too and also was guilty of catastrophising the loss, but wow how quickly we forget all those other disaster efforts and awful seasons. Strangely we don’t seem as resilient as a fan base as we were when we were truly terrible.
There’s something worth unpacking there. Tired and frustrated vent incoming.
Since the flag, as a supporter group we are a bit lost. Breaking the drought was a bloody minded, single focus. A beacon of hope in our sea of despair. There’d be all sorts of Scraggers, be they a Big Dave or Danny from Droop St, but there was a universal experience that tied us together.
We don’t have that as a fan base, or maybe even as a Club anymore. We haven’t replaced it with anything, is my feeling. Have we? I can’t see it. I don’t feel it.
I actually find myself absolutely hating a portion of our fan base, the contempt I feel for them is very real. The obnoxious, content, sugar hit, seen the flag wag, King Bevo job for life, whatever happens, happens crowd. They make me sick. It’s not a scene really present here, but I see it in my circles and in the broader social media space, I’m copping it from some of them right now as a matter of fact. It’s mindless banter. I don’t bite back.
I’m hungry for more. I’m not patient anymore. I want and expect better. I can accept getting beat, but I can’t accept standing still. I am angry with football post COVID because of the way it continued on without us and how empty it feels to go to the stadium now and have a predetermined experience shoved down your throat and in your ears and eyeballs regardless of the temperature of the actual football. I want to see my Club play football in a manner that reflects the identity of the Club. It has to be tenacious. It has to look like it matters, because it does. There should be moments of absolute joy, and despair. We should feel anticipation and excitement at what’s coming, or hope that today will uncover something affirming of our best version of ourselves as a Club.
It’s been eroded. I want it back. I want the club to start telling a story that goes beyond whatever middling, vanilla space we’ve found ourselves stuck in on-field (and off field, in some respects, despite the good manage of the finances and security of the club) Something other than the story of we are where we are and whatever happens will happen. Pick a fight. Chase something down.
Tonight was a great performance. But we know they can do that to a team that performs like StKilda did. We know they can get up when they have an emotional upswing. We know they are capable of grinding to a halt. We know they are capable of rolling over when it gets too hard. All those stories have been told.
I’m excited to see Darcy, Gallagher and Garcia and Sanders. I don’t know how they’ll handle those moments. I’m hopeful they’ll start weaving the new stories and foster some fresh belief. Maybe the fans aren’t as resilient, but the Club has to give us more to hang onto. Some momentum, some disruption, a fight, something we haven’t seen from this iteration of the team.
Anyway, I am glad I didn’t go tonight. The win means nothing yet.
19-04-2024, 01:01 AM
Bont has had 24 touches. Kicked 3 goals. He also had the second most contested possesions on the ground with 13.
But I thought his first half in partiuclar, he was way off his normal self. He made that may errors, especially by foot that was very uncharacteristic. Just missed targets he normally hits in his sleep with his eyes closed.
But the champion players, even when they have an off night, have an influence and he definitely still had his moments.
19-04-2024, 01:25 AM
Bont has had 24 touches. Kicked 3 goals. He also had the second most contested possesions on the ground with 13.
But I thought his first half in partiuclar, he was way off his normal self. He made that may errors, especially by foot that was very uncharacteristic. Just missed targets he normally hits in his sleep with his eyes closed.
But the champion players, even when they have an off night, have an influence and he definitely still had his moments.
Bont had two very selfish moments in the first half and was also yelling at his team mates a lot. Is this one and a half game patch (leading up to half time) his poorest ever string of form?
He was going at 17% kicking efficiency before he hit up West and did a few other good things, and then in the second half he nailed his set shots.
If I'm honest, while I want him to be at his best all the time, I really want him to chip in as required and not have to be at his best to make sure we win week in, week out. Other playres need to help him, and the only way they'll learn to help him is if they have to and prove they can.
19-04-2024, 05:44 AM
That was a very good team performance. Backing it up against Freo is the best way to silence the media.
19-04-2024, 06:12 AM
Bailey Dale
39 touches
93% kicking effeciency
13 intercept possesions
9 score involvements
15 marks
867m gained
WOW
That is one of the most impressive performances I've seen from a Bulldog's player in my life. Definitely belongs in the top tier.
19-04-2024, 06:14 AM
Bont had two very selfish moments in the first half and was also yelling at his team mates a lot. Is this one and a half game patch (leading up to half time) his poorest ever string of form?
He was going at 17% kicking efficiency before he hit up West and did a few other good things, and then in the second half he nailed his set shots.
If I'm honest, while I want him to be at his best all the time, I really want him to chip in as required and not have to be at his best to make sure we win week in, week out. Other playres need to help him, and the only way they'll learn to help him is if they have to and prove they can.
I'm glad this was picked up. I noted it in my '3 things..' response. Very peculiar...
It actually is reassuring a bit, that he's human after all. And was very pleasing to see us forge this win, without it being on the back of Bont carrying the team. If anything he was a hand brake on our performance last night!
19-04-2024, 08:06 AM
I guess when you allegedly physically assault one of them, question one of their wives, and unload on another for two minutes in a presser they're going to be queuing for their pound of flesh.
19-04-2024, 08:07 AM
That is one of the most impressive performances I've seen from a Bulldog's player in my life. Definitely belongs in the top tier.
Can't believe Ross didn't lock him down. It was one of the great games.
Why can't we do that consistently?
19-04-2024, 08:19 AM
Chef it's time you came out and said you were wrong about Naughton.
We've all been telling you....
It's a good q.... Motivating this group must be infuriating
19-04-2024, 08:21 AM
Not if you’re a master of motivation and narratives with excellent relationships.
19-04-2024, 08:23 AM
A big win I didn’t coming. A few cheapies late against but a great win.
The terms turncoat and narc spring to mind haha.
kickit2Koly
19-04-2024, 09:42 AM
Well said, You should send this to the club and afl house. It was beyond a joke the coverage this week, I'd love to know just how many article and segments on the footy shows were put out last week.
19-04-2024, 09:48 AM
I think many fans were also over the top
19-04-2024, 09:50 AM
Pressure acts
Macrae 23
JJ 22
Harmes 20
Bont 20
Richards 18
Garcia 17
I thought that both Garcia and Harmes, in particular when the game was there to be one early, were great with their pressure. Kudos also to Macrae who was awesome tonight in a number of different facets.
So excuse me for my ignorance but what do they call pressure acts and they put up a graph saying things like one side has 170% pressure and the other side has dropped off on pressure how is that measured ? Seems another American thing the AFL wants to bring in
19-04-2024, 10:27 AM
So excuse me for my ignorance but what do they call pressure acts and they put up a graph saying things like one side has 170% pressure and the other side has dropped off on pressure how is that measured ? Seems another American thing the AFL wants to bring in
These are what Pressure Acts are:
Pressure Act (Corralling): The lowest form of pressure a player can apply, where they are simply occupying space in front of the ball carrier to prevent them moving forward, or have a run at them, but not quickly enough to record ‘closing’ pressure.
Pressure Act (Chasing): Where a player applies pressure from behind an opponent by chasing. They must be gaining ground or applying pressure significant enough to hurry the ball carrier to dispose of the ball. If the chasing player is on the verge of making physical contact from behind, then closing pressure will be imminent.
Pressure Act (Implied): Reducing an opponent’s decision making time without physical contact ‘via corralling, closing space or chasing from behind’.
Pressure Act (Closing): A higher degree of pressure than corralling, where the pressure player is on the verge of making contact with the ball carrier (either from in front or the side) as he disposals of the ball. The key point of difference between this and corralling is that there will be imminent contact and the pressure player is forcing the ball carrier to dispose of it immediately.
Pressure Act (Physical): Applying direct physical contact to a player in the act of disposing of the ball or effecting a tackle that prevents an effective disposal from the ball carrier.
This is what pressure points are:
Pressure Points: Weighed sum of pressure acts. Physical pressure acts are worth 3.75 points, closing acts are worth 2.25 points, chasing acts are 1.5 points and corralling are 1.2.
19-04-2024, 10:39 AM
The terms turncoat and narc spring to mind haha.
https://media.giphy.com/media/v1.Y2lkPTc5MGI3NjExM2N5MzF5dWUzNDZ2NWZzaG90a3o5MXFxcnpqMHp5Y TV3bGc1Zmd4eCZlcD12MV9pbnRlcm5hbF9naWZfYnlfaWQmY3Q9Zw/imDZsS2pRzqsPPlv4L/giphy.gif
19-04-2024, 11:12 AM
These are what Pressure Acts are:
Pressure Act (Corralling): The lowest form of pressure a player can apply, where they are simply occupying space in front of the ball carrier to prevent them moving forward, or have a run at them, but not quickly enough to record ‘closing’ pressure.
Pressure Act (Chasing): Where a player applies pressure from behind an opponent by chasing. They must be gaining ground or applying pressure significant enough to hurry the ball carrier to dispose of the ball. If the chasing player is on the verge of making physical contact from behind, then closing pressure will be imminent.
Pressure Act (Implied): Reducing an opponent’s decision making time without physical contact ‘via corralling, closing space or chasing from behind’.
Pressure Act (Closing): A higher degree of pressure than corralling, where the pressure player is on the verge of making contact with the ball carrier (either from in front or the side) as he disposals of the ball. The key point of difference between this and corralling is that there will be imminent contact and the pressure player is forcing the ball carrier to dispose of it immediately.
Pressure Act (Physical): Applying direct physical contact to a player in the act of disposing of the ball or effecting a tackle that prevents an effective disposal from the ball carrier.
This is what pressure points are:
Pressure Points: Weighed sum of pressure acts. Physical pressure acts are worth 3.75 points, closing acts are worth 2.25 points, chasing acts are 1.5 points and corralling are 1.2.
Wow how many stats blokes are doing that , you must have one for each act !
19-04-2024, 11:14 AM
I guess when you allegedly physically assault one of them, question one of their wives, and unload on another for two minutes in a presser they're going to be queuing for their pound of flesh.
They all started it.
19-04-2024, 11:14 AM
That will be the key now. Can't just be a one off. Need to go to Perth next week and get the win. Freo have been solid but are very beatable.
19-04-2024, 11:33 AM
They all started it.
Nothing wrong with asking Damo to keep that energy when he sees him.
Bain?s was steadfast in his support of Bevo, and not in the ?full and unconditional support of the board? way, more of a ?get stuffed SOS, he?s staying? sort of way.
Agree re: media. The prepared, cookie cutter news cycle is boring at the best of times, but when there is a clear personal agenda driving it and the venom is apparent, it?s a real problem for the industry as a whole. It?s malicious. It?s poor content. The ones I?ve seen, the critiques have been crap. Thousands of things to have a crack at and they rely on the stories that get prescribed onto people regardless of what?s actually happening.
Good on Bains for sticking up for him.
Yeah, I agree and all but a couple of weeks ago Luke Darcy basically said Kane Cornes had no friends etc so his media mates came for Darcy and the club, then we lost to Essendon and even those who have been 'kinda' supportive of our 2024 hopes (in particular David King) were forced to be critical...
Until there is a resolution on the JUH, English and Smith contracts AND the senior side puts together a good 6-8 weeks we are one poor result away from being a news story...I WISH it wasn't so but it is.
Hawthorn and North had no expectations so they are 'SAFE'.
Essendon are playing better and Scott's in his second year.
Richmond have a first year coach and have won 3 flags inside the last 10-years.
St Kilda have a second year coach who took them to the finals in their first.
Melbourne are under pressure due to 'culture' (aka drug issues) but until last week had been winning.
Geelong are undefeated.
Collingwood won the bloody thing last year.
Carlton made a prelim last year and are winning. Fortuitously but winning nonetheless.
West Coast are foul but they are in Perth and no-one in the Melbourne media really cares about the interstate sides anyway.
It's gonna be US until we make it not us.
19-04-2024, 12:14 PM
It was strange last night. I don't think we were at our manic best, tackle count shows we're up big so just maybe the way I viewed it?
The game just seemed easy, we ran with the ball at will, we hit players around the ground and forward targets with ease. Very odd considering the opposition is usually so well drilled around the ground.
19-04-2024, 03:44 PM
It was strange last night. I don't think we were at our manic best, tackle count shows we're up big so just maybe the way I viewed it?
The game just seemed easy, we ran with the ball at will, we hit players around the ground and forward targets with ease. Very odd considering the opposition is usually so well drilled around the ground.
St Kilda were traffic cones, I wasn't expecting them to field a bag of potatoes last night.
Good win, tempered by that fact. A bit like the game we beat Brisbane last year, people yahoo afterwards and felt relieved after a poor start, but they were so terrible I couldn't feel any real confidence coming out of it.
This win was better and we were better performed though, so take them when they come.
19-04-2024, 07:01 PM
What was/were the key factor/s last night? 1. We kicked straight. 2. Our field kicking was vastly improved - we hit targets, we kicked to a team mates advantage even if we didn't hit him lace out. 3. English gave a good competition in the ruck and was handy around the ground too. 4. Lobb competed hard and was bringing the ball to ground as well as narking. 5. We got a lot of drive from half backs Dale and JJ. 6. Jones and Buku intercepted well. Infact the entire defence was tight. 7. Richards was very good in the midfield. 8. Treloar and Macrae gave us a lot of drive from the stoppages. 9. Cody was on fire early. 10. Garcia and West really gave a contest in and under.
To sum up: we had a lot od shoulders to the wheel. EVERYONE PLAYED THEIR PART. Well done Dogs.
19-04-2024, 07:31 PM
Going against the trend here.
I'm not convinced that we played better last night, than we did in the first half last week. The difference was:
- we kicked straight. Last night at half time 4.3 to 12.4...last week 6.6 to 8.2.
- saints were utter shite with their pressure, skills, decision making... everything basically.
The end to the Essendon game was unacceptable...but as we showed with the saints last night, you only have to be a little bit off to get torched
19-04-2024, 09:49 PM
I'm not convinced that we played better last night, than we did in the first half last week. The difference was:
- we kicked straight. Last night at half time 4.3 to 12.4...last week 6.6 to 8.2.
- saints were utter shite with their pressure, skills, decision making... everything basically.
The end to the Essendon game was unacceptable...but as we showed with the saints last night, you only have to be a little bit off to get torched
I don’t fully disagree with this. The effort in the second half was unacceptable but we completely cooked them in the first half and were only losing at half time because they got a free kick actually every time they went inside 50.
19-04-2024, 09:51 PM
Excuses are basically unacceptable in the AFL however, we got the Saints last night on the back of being their 3rd game in just 11 days, that had to have some affect on them? At times it did look too easy especially against a Ross Lyon coached team.
19-04-2024, 09:54 PM
Excuses are basically unacceptable in the AFL however, we got the Saints last night on the back of being their 3rd game in just 11 days, that had to have some affect on them? At times it did look too easy especially against a Ross Lyon coached team.
It was our third in 12, wasn't it?
To me their five day break was the big issue, it's not enough to recover and prepare again, and should only really be something that occurs when teams get given marquee games like ANZAC Day.
kickit2Koly
19-04-2024, 10:42 PM
bombers got us on the 3rd game in 12 days do we get the same out?
20-04-2024, 09:44 AM
bombers got us on the 3rd game in 12 days do we get the same out?
I mean we blew them away in the 1st quarter. It's not like it was a 2nd half demolition.
20-04-2024, 09:48 AM
It was our third in 12, wasn't it?
To me their five day break was the big issue, it's not enough to recover and prepare again, and should only really be something that occurs when teams get given marquee games like ANZAC Day.
You're probably right and i didn't realize we did the 3 in 12, but it was mentioned with the Saints and put to Ross during his presser, but yes the scheduling sometimes is a bit off.
20-04-2024, 02:36 PM
You're probably right and i didn't realize we did the 3 in 12, but it was mentioned with the Saints and put to Ross during his presser, but yes the scheduling sometimes is a bit off.
It's fine, we don't get any excuses given to us because our list is absolutely stacked and we should have won ten premierships in the last nine years.
20-04-2024, 03:25 PM
Makes me laugh. They had only played two games in 11 days until this actual game so the third game hadn’t been played yet , they were also blown out of the water in the first half and Improved in the last qtr, would have thought they would have got worse as the game went on if fatigue was a factor.
Fact is they had a shocker like we did last week.
It happens.