View Full Version : AFL Game Day R6

17-04-2024, 09:59 AM
Lets keep all the non Bulldog Round 6 discussion to this thread.

Friday 19/4/24
Adelaide vs Essendon at Adelaide Oval 7.40pm

Saturday 20/04/24
Collingwood vs Port Adelaide at MCG 1.45pm
Carlton vs GWS Giants at Marvel 4.35pm
Brisbane vs Geelong at GABBA 7.30pm
West Coast vs Fremantle at Optus Stadium 8.10pm

Sunday 21/04/24
Sydney vs Golad Coast at SCG 1.05pm
North Melbourne vs Hawthorn at Marvel 4.05pm

17-04-2024, 09:59 AM
Some potentially ripping games this week

17-04-2024, 10:25 AM
Carlton vs GWS is a game that could shape the 8 if you ask me. Most of the Giants opponents have been pretty rubbish at worst or mediocre at best so Carlton is the first real test of the season for an undefeated side. Beat them without Taylor and Giants are legit.

I'd hesitate to say that Brisbane are done as a threat this season if they get beaten by Geelong at the GABBA. They really only looked good against Melbourne last week.

Sydney vs Gold Coast is the other one that will show us where the Suns are at.

19-04-2024, 09:09 PM
Bombers have absolutely dominated territory in the 1st half. Their pressure has been off the charts.

19-04-2024, 09:59 PM
Bombers last week 15.6
This week so far 8.17

19-04-2024, 10:25 PM
Rachele had the brown underpants on twice in the last few minutes.

19-04-2024, 10:26 PM

Stank it up.

The last non decision was ridiculous. Draper just laid on the ball...

19-04-2024, 10:29 PM
I hate seeing Essendon fans happy.

19-04-2024, 10:30 PM
I hate seeing Essendon fans happy.
same

19-04-2024, 10:32 PM

Absolute shockers both of them, worse than Jack Darling in the Elimination Final!

19-04-2024, 10:32 PM
Draper hatching the footy. Ha.

19-04-2024, 10:34 PM
Holding the ball every day of the week, this putting the whistle away at the end of close games is ridiculous. If it’s there pay it

19-04-2024, 10:35 PM
Bombers were 4-5 goals better on the night but were so wasteful. They are better in 2024 than I thought they'd be.

19-04-2024, 10:38 PM
Absolute shockers both of them, worse than Jack Darling in the Elimination Final!
That was as bad as I've seen in relation to a player hearing footsteps and crapping the bed. And he did it twice in 3 minutes at crucial areas that basically cost them 2 goals.

19-04-2024, 10:38 PM
Bombers were 4-5 goals better on the night but were so wasteful. They are better in 2024 than I thought they'd be.
I never get that sentiment. Being better would be kicking straight, it's not bad luck.
They generated more chances i'll give you that..but like a missed kick anywhere on the ground goal kicking is part of playing well.

Crows were robbed, there was a clear 50 they missed v Cox running through the protected area and then that last decision wow that's a season killer.

19-04-2024, 10:42 PM
I never get that sentiment. Being better would be kicking straight, it's not bad luck.
They generated more chances i'll give you that..but like a missed kick anywhere on the ground goal kicking is part of playing well.

Crows were robbed, there was a clear 50 they missed v Cox running through the protected area and then that last decision wow that's a season killer.
Both are true. Bombers were +20 for inside 50's and dominated territory - they should have almost been out of sight by half time.

Crows were also robbed late as you mentioned.

19-04-2024, 10:57 PM
Both are true. Bombers were +20 for inside 50's and dominated territory - they should have almost been out of sight by half time.

Crows were also robbed late as you mentioned.

Ah yep.

Dons have done well with some lesser light picks. Hobbs, Durham, Martin add a lot.

Theyre looking ok.

19-04-2024, 11:21 PM
Draper might've dragged it in but Walker also gave him a Randy Savage elbow drop posing as a tackle. Also skill issue if you don’t wanna lose then don’t be behind at the end.

19-04-2024, 11:48 PM
Draper might've dragged it in but Walker also gave him a Randy Savage elbow drop posing as a tackle. Also skill issue if you don’t wanna lose then don’t be behind at the end.

Essendon acolyte.

20-04-2024, 12:14 AM
Essendon acolyte.

Adelaide are kinda entering Essendon levels of it never being Adelaide’s fault.

20-04-2024, 08:24 AM
Funny shot - all appealing instead of trying to get the ball

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GLh0gLHaIAAu7j9?format=jpg&name=medium

20-04-2024, 08:44 AM
It will be interesting to see the level of scrutiny on Nicks. A team that should be pushing for finals is at 1-5. Not good enough considering the talent.

20-04-2024, 09:21 AM
It will be interesting to see the level of scrutiny on Nicks. A team that should be pushing for finals is at 1-5. Not good enough considering the talent.
What talent apart from Dawson? Everything is overhyped in Adelaide. They have an unhealthy reliance on past it players like Walker and O’Brien.

20-04-2024, 09:41 AM
Funny shot - all appealing instead of trying to get the ball

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GLh0gLHaIAAu7j9?format=jpg&name=medium

You could insert any two teams in here and the picture would be unchanged.

They look like baby birds begging for a feed.

20-04-2024, 10:04 AM

The Crows supporter base has been pretty critical. Especially regarding his unwillingness to play the younger guys, which they have started to do more the last few weeks.

20-04-2024, 10:30 AM

Especially after extended him early which is what we did. There is nothing wrong with a wait and see to earn that extra 2 or more years.

20-04-2024, 10:34 AM
They've got too many similar types and lack a real spine. Walker is ancient.
They are missing Tilthorpe for sure.
They have so many flanker types Pedlar, Rachele, et al i think they are a fair way away.

20-04-2024, 03:38 PM
Port looked awesome for 20 minutes and then 2023 Collingwood showed up and have absolutely pulled them apart. Pies have gone from 5 goals down to 33 points up in 2 quarters. Port are absolutely rattled.

20-04-2024, 03:46 PM
It’s about 11 goals to one, ports soft underbelly shows up again under pressure.
I thought Sweet was going ok taking on Cox and Cameron, poor bloke comes in with a rampaging Collingwood on the March .

20-04-2024, 04:13 PM
It’s about 11 goals to one, ports soft underbelly shows up again under pressure.
I thought Sweet was going ok taking on Cox and Cameron, poor bloke comes in with a rampaging Collingwood on the March .

Five touches, only two kicks, in nearly a whole game of footy. He gets some hit outs for sure, but doesn’t do much more than that.

Edit:

Averaged 8.18 touches and 21.36 hit outs for us at AFEL Level.

First up, 5 touches and 21 hit outs.

20-04-2024, 04:32 PM
Soldo was a fair bit worse than Sweet (who was no world beater). It was very poor selection to play both, actually poor to recruit both when they only needed one of them.

Port were exposed badly today across all areas. Their defence is shaky, their forward line is impotent and their much vaunted mids still cannot handle real heat. Butters and Rozee got a lot of cheap junk late today (JHF got a lot more hardball). They aren't top 4 material.

20-04-2024, 04:59 PM
Five touches, only two kicks, in nearly a whole game of footy. He gets some hit outs for sure, but doesn?t do much more than that.

Edit:

Averaged 8.18 touches and 21.36 hit outs for us at AFEL Level.

First up, 5 touches and 21 hit outs.

But it's more the intangibles you have to focus on with Jordon, not the tangibles.

FWIW he was OK around the contest from what I could see, but doesn't do enough around the ground. Only his first game for the year, so hopefully he can get some form under his belt.

20-04-2024, 05:28 PM
But it's more the intangibles you have to focus on with Jordon, not the tangibles.

FWIW he was OK around the contest from what I could see, but doesn't do enough around the ground. Only his first game for the year, so hopefully he can get some form under his belt.

I personally still don’t see him really making the grade. Nothing against him, but I think his lot in life is the back up ruckman. And more power to him, I’d love $150,000-$200,000 to work out all week and party with my mates while not ever paying for drinks. Great if you can get it. But I didn’t see anything new about him today at the top level. I don’t think recruiting Soldo and favouring him as the the number one was going to overly help him.

20-04-2024, 05:29 PM
I’ve been saying it for nearly 12 months. I like watching GWS.

20-04-2024, 06:02 PM
I?ve been saying it for nearly 12 months. I like watching GWS.

Yes they do play a great brand of footy.

20-04-2024, 06:28 PM
I’m finally seeing Zendaya manipulate two tennis bros tonight so missed most of the second half of the Collingwood game, but that second quarter was as electric as you can play football. They sadly still have their fast ball.

20-04-2024, 07:02 PM
Carlton area serious contender this year.

20-04-2024, 07:13 PM
Carlton area serious contender this year.
Eww.

20-04-2024, 07:46 PM
Toby apologists will be out in force this week. As he's not tried to do anything other than bump a player running back in a marking contest Anthony Hudson asks what else can he do?

Um......not run up and jump into a vulnerable player running back with the flight of the ball? Yer ****wit.

20-04-2024, 08:08 PM
Toby apologists will be out in force this week. As he's not tried to do anything other than bump a player running back in a marking contest Anthony Hudson asks what else can he do?

Um......not run up and jump into a vulnerable player running back with the flight of the ball? Yer ****wit.
Hes lucky the blues player didnt get injured. He should get a week. Probably get a fine.

20-04-2024, 08:40 PM
Watched the second half. The Blues were very, very good. It all started with them with enormous pressure. When they lifted with pressure GWS could not go with them.

Cats are also taking it right up to Lions. Their form this year has completely caught me off guard. I though they were in decline.

20-04-2024, 08:49 PM
Glad we played WC already , they are gaining confidence.

20-04-2024, 08:53 PM
We have got Freo and we know what happens when a side gets hammered the week before.

20-04-2024, 08:57 PM
We have got Freo and we know what happens when a side gets hammered the week before.

Let's just hope they don't have a new coach for our game next week, because we know what usually happens.

20-04-2024, 09:04 PM
Jake Waterman has tuned into Fraser Gehrig in the last two weeks!

20-04-2024, 09:11 PM
Dunkley...

Is. In. The. RUCK!

https://i.postimg.cc/J0wPdX9x/Screenshot-20240420-210939.png (https://postimg.cc/zbjCyyDH)

Andrew right now :

https://media.giphy.com/media/v1.Y2lkPTc5MGI3NjExMmhxMXp4M2VqaW92cG4xcGdyOTYzajFrNm9pYTYyM mZ2aG55ZzdqbCZlcD12MV9pbnRlcm5hbF9naWZfYnlfaWQmY3Q9Zw/l2JhFpL4hyd6EAJPi/giphy.gif

20-04-2024, 09:13 PM
Dunkley...

Is. In. The. RUCK!

https://i.postimg.cc/J0wPdX9x/Screenshot-20240420-210939.png (https://postimg.cc/zbjCyyDH)

Andrew right now :

https://media.giphy.com/media/v1.Y2lkPTc5MGI3NjExMmhxMXp4M2VqaW92cG4xcGdyOTYzajFrNm9pYTYyM mZ2aG55ZzdqbCZlcD12MV9pbnRlcm5hbF9naWZfYnlfaWQmY3Q9Zw/l2JhFpL4hyd6EAJPi/giphy.gif

Hahahaha:D

20-04-2024, 09:26 PM
He was no good as a tagger, so ruck makes sense…

20-04-2024, 09:37 PM
He was no good as a tagger, so ruck makes sense…

But will he sook it up?

20-04-2024, 09:41 PM
But will he sook it up?

Nah he's got the support of his girlfriend's family nearby, they'll get him through it.

20-04-2024, 09:47 PM
But will he sook it up?

Request a trade to Essendon under contract?

20-04-2024, 09:57 PM
Geelong is a very good footy team. Lose Stewart and have still dismantled the Lions in the second half.

20-04-2024, 09:59 PM
Lions have had three games at the GABBA for zero wins. Not sure anyone would have tipped that.

20-04-2024, 10:02 PM
Could Harley Reid win the Brownlow in his first year ?
I think his birth certificate is falsified.

20-04-2024, 10:10 PM
Could Harley Reid win the Brownlow in his first year ?
I think his birth certificate is falsified.

Beast. Tongala have produced a beauty

20-04-2024, 10:11 PM
I know there's been a huge love in with Harley Reid already but... how good is this kid? Pushes off players with ease, kicks goals, all with a smile. You'd have to go back to Judd to find a draftee with similar wow factor.

20-04-2024, 10:14 PM
Request a trade to Essendon under contract?

If they fall short again it wouldn't surprise me. The guy is a mercenary.

20-04-2024, 10:23 PM
I know there's been a huge love in with Harley Reid already but... how good is this kid? Pushes off players with ease, kicks goals, all with a smile. You'd have to go back to Judd to find a draftee with similar wow factor.

I think his first few games have even been better than Judd. He is the real deal.

20-04-2024, 10:52 PM
Wasn't it 2 weeks ago the media were saying the Eagles should get assistance?

20-04-2024, 10:54 PM
Fremantle will be missing Jye Amiss with concussion next week who was their leading goal kicker going into tonights games.

20-04-2024, 10:55 PM

You don?t need more assistance than Harley Reid.

Some of their senior players getting some consecutive games under their belt and some fitness has helped them enormously in the last few weeks.

20-04-2024, 11:02 PM

I think the word media says it all as in we haven’t a story let’s make one media.

Any guesses on which club gets the media attention this week ?
I will go Freo.
Saints are safe as they played Thursday and get away with being so long ago.

20-04-2024, 11:26 PM
Our loss to Geelong is looking all the more respectable now......not that it makes me happy, just they're proving each week they're at the top of their game.

21-04-2024, 08:11 AM
Fagan should come under fire. Premiership favourites (or close to)at the start of the year and sitting at 2-4 with 3 losses at home. That is ordinary. He is lucky he is in a rugby league town. Media should be all over him.

21-04-2024, 09:02 AM
Fagan should come under fire. Premiership favourites (or close to)at the start of the year and sitting at 2-4 with 3 losses at home. That is ordinary. He is lucky he is in a rugby league town. Media should be all over him.

It's a good point. From a quality of the playing list perspective they should be performing better and yes the media should be ramping up some pressure on him. You have to wonder if the off field distractions have caused some additional challenges.

21-04-2024, 12:03 PM
Fremantle will be missing Jye Amiss with concussion next week who was their leading goal kicker going into tonights games.

Let's hear Happy Days' thoughts on what he thinks Jye will do with his time off.

21-04-2024, 12:37 PM
Let's hear Happy Days' thoughts on what he thinks Jye will do with his time off.

Hopefully he finally gets some sleep.

21-04-2024, 01:02 PM
North supporters must be stoked they won that meaningless game in R23 last year againat Gold Coast. Harley Reid is going to haunt them for the next 10-12 years

As an aside, our formline of beating West Coast by 13 goals, losing by a kick to Geelong and then losing to Essendon by 5 goals now isn't looking quite as bad as it did initially (notwithstanding we were really poor last week)

21-04-2024, 01:40 PM

Well...you can't stay at the top forever. Maybe their window has come and gone without a flag (like ours did under Eade).

21-04-2024, 03:14 PM
Jed Walters is a lump of a lad apparently.

21-04-2024, 03:16 PM
Jed Walters is a lump of a lad apparently.

Shame Gold Coast is a lump of shit.

Seriously this hero worshiping of Hardwick needs to stop.

21-04-2024, 03:48 PM
Shame Gold Coast is a lump of shit.

Seriously this hero worshiping of Hardwick needs to stop.

Suns lost 11% today , now sitting at 94%.

21-04-2024, 04:14 PM
That performance from the Suns today was as undisciplined and half-hearted as I can recall seeing. Really poor stuff.

21-04-2024, 04:38 PM
North might not win a game.

Clarko highest paid coach apparently? Surely questions need to be asked soon.

Or did Brad Scott competely destroy the joint?

21-04-2024, 04:58 PM

Clarko highest paid coach apparently? Surely questions need to be asked soon.

Or did Brad Scott competely destroy the joint?

How have you pinned this on Brad Scott?

21-04-2024, 05:03 PM
How have you pinned this on Brad Scott?

He traded away/retired a bunch of their senior talent, didn't have any good kids coming through and theyve been uncompetitive since.

21-04-2024, 05:10 PM
He traded away/retired a bunch of their senior talent, didn't have any good kids coming through and theyve been uncompetitive since.

Other than Pitrie and Harvey who else did he sack?

Didn’t Scott say they needed to rebuild and that is why he left half way through this final year as the board disagreed?

I pin it more on their offield decision making.

Rhys Shaw, David Noble, Alister Clarkson have all been poor choices in coaches.

21-04-2024, 05:12 PM
Just found them

“ In assessing whether Scott has been selfish or selfless (or a bit of both), it is worth recalling his mantra when Michael Firrito, Nick Dal Santo, Drew Petrie and Brent Harvey were shown the door.

In August 2016, Scott maintained he was doing what was best by the club. He reiterated this when Sam Gibson was traded and Andrew Swallow shown the door. Now Scott is living that same philosophy. The club “always” comes first, he said on Sunday flanked by Buckley in front of a sponsorship banner”

21-04-2024, 05:13 PM

It’s a shit show all round.

21-04-2024, 05:16 PM
Other than Pitrie and Harvey who else did he sack?

Didn’t Scott say they needed to rebuild and that is why he left half way through this final year as the board disagreed?

I pin it more on their offield decision making.

Rhys Shaw, David Noble, Alister Clarkson have all been poor choices in coaches.
Was Mason Wood another?

21-04-2024, 05:22 PM
Mason Wood was 2020 trade period. A year and a half after Scott's departure.

21-04-2024, 05:27 PM
Aha - thats right the big cull with Shaw and then he left.

AB is correct it's a series of fk ups.

21-04-2024, 05:42 PM

Uh oh.

21-04-2024, 05:53 PM
Uh oh.

If we give them every first round pick for the next three years, then maybe they’ll one day be competitive?

How they weren’t send to Tassie is still confusing. It’s shades of Fitzroy.

21-04-2024, 05:54 PM
Uh oh.

Oops

21-04-2024, 06:51 PM
Seriously how does Kelli Underwood have a job ..
Ball goes out of bounds
“ Chol running and jumping” .. wtf ? Olympic long jump ?
Ball bounced OOF just over the line .. “ he has kicked it into the second row”
I mean a 4 yo would do a better job.
Then brings up the Harley Reid thing as if she had some sort of footy knowledge.. it’s Been in the media all week !

22-04-2024, 04:01 PM
Rachele coming out and saying he was not braver enough in the marking contest. Good on him for fronting the media and owning it. https://x.com/bradeningram/status/1782285715319189689

22-04-2024, 04:04 PM
With all the issues going on about concussion can you blame players for being a little shy in going in hard.

22-04-2024, 04:41 PM
With all the issues going on about concussion can you blame players for being a little shy in going in hard.

Nathan Buckley spoke really well on Whatley's program last Tuesday after Nathan Murphy retired.

He said we now have to re-evaluate how we judge players on going back with the ball.

22-04-2024, 11:20 PM
Nathan Buckley spoke really well on Whatley's program last Tuesday after Nathan Murphy retired.

He said we now have to re-evaluate how we judge players on going back with the ball.

I agree they look like what you called in the old days “short steps “ but now they have to second guess whether they will hit a player in the head .
Still no excuse for ducking out of a mark though.

22-04-2024, 11:39 PM
Everyone's done it. Everyone.

It just looks way sillier if nobody's actually there to justify the action which was the case with Rachele.

In the whole debate there's something that's being missed about how players engage another player running back with the footy, and that is, the lowest percentage play is the play that's likely to give away a free kick - without even thinking about a suspension due to a hit that causes harm.

Every player from Cripps, to Greene, to Wright, to Cameron etc. etc. etc. were always going to give away a free kick with the way they attacked the man....uh...sorry, the footy (or at least should have been penalised). If you don't want to hurt people in those situations, not giving away a free kick is the right place to start, and we can deal with the exceptions from there.

22-04-2024, 11:44 PM

Some players who left !

Drew Petrie
Rawlings
Jarred Waite
Brent Harvey ( should've gone at least 1 more season)
David hale ( went to hawks end of 2010) - 3 premierships!

But Daniel Currie stayed on , from 2013-2015!

22-04-2024, 11:49 PM
Just found them

“ In assessing whether Scott has been selfish or selfless (or a bit of both), it is worth recalling his mantra when Michael Firrito, Nick Dal Santo, Drew Petrie and Brent Harvey were shown the door.

In August 2016, Scott maintained he was doing what was best by the club. He reiterated this when Sam Gibson was traded and Andrew Swallow shown the door. Now Scott is living that same philosophy. The club “always” comes first, he said on Sunday flanked by Buckley in front of a sponsorship banner”

Thats a lot of senior players in : Michael Firrito, Nick Dal Santo, Drew Petrie and Brent Harvey

I could not believe Harvey was told to leave. I thought he had at least 1 more year in him. In his last year 2016 , avg 21.6 disp, 36 goals ! anything above 40 goals is elite, 36 is a fair return for someone his age.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brent_Harvey

22-04-2024, 11:51 PM

Mason wood did pretty well last year, playing on the wing. Don't know what his issues were at North, but he seems to gotten a lot right to be able to play 19 games last year, 16.6 disposal average with 5.6 marks!
He has only played 2 games this year.

23-04-2024, 12:02 AM
I think we can all agree that Norf's player management/ list management has been shite for a while, it's just that not all of it can be pinned on Brad Scott.

23-04-2024, 08:08 AM
Mason wood did pretty well last year, playing on the wing. Don't know what his issues were at North, but he seems to gotten a lot right to be able to play 19 games last year, 16.6 disposal average with 5.6 marks!
He has only played 2 games this year.
Broke his collarbone in rd 2

23-04-2024, 02:24 PM
Rachele coming out and saying he was not braver enough in the marking contest. Good on him for fronting the media and owning it. https://x.com/bradeningram/status/1782285715319189689

Well, it's hard to play when you're petrified.

Needs a few weeks in the state league to think about things. This is 100% a "don't be sorry, be better" situation and no matter what words he says he needs to take a holiday from the senior side. The behaviours we walk past are the ones we tolerate and no footy side can tolerate the last 5-mins of footy he gave us.

Some things are just non-negotiables.

23-04-2024, 02:31 PM
Well, it's hard to play when you're petrified.

Needs a few weeks in the state league to think about things. This is 100% a "don't be sorry, be better" situation and no matter what words he says he needs to take a holiday from the senior side. The behaviours we walk past are the ones we tolerate and no footy side can tolerate the last 5-mins of footy he gave us.

Some things are just non-negotiables.

Is this going to haunt him for a long time? Mentally? Teams will go after him surely.

23-04-2024, 02:38 PM
Broke his collarbone in rd 2
He was very injury prone when he was at North. Played ok in 2023.