View Full Version : Giants V Bulldogs - Round 10, 18/5/24 ENGIE Stadium, Sydney 4:35PM AEST

Pages : 1 [2]

18-05-2024, 06:56 PM
Need to finish this mob off

18-05-2024, 06:56 PM
Need Bont to stand up and kick a goal.

18-05-2024, 06:57 PM
Treloar has been phenomenal

18-05-2024, 06:58 PM
Dumb 50

On cue gives away 50. Crikey.

Having a great season. Doesn't quite get the acknowledgement from our supporters though.

18-05-2024, 06:59 PM
Freijah nice.

Having a great season. Doesn't quite get the acknowledgement from our supporters though.

My wife loves him

pathetic

18-05-2024, 07:01 PM
Vanders great kick.

That was some nice work from Gag's to VDM to Naughts.

Yes!!!!!

Great win in tough conditions

Gallagher's best game for the club, for mine. Just looked very comfortable out there today, he's physical and is a nice user.

Great finish Naughton after a great game. Come on Dogs!!!!

Naughton, what a STAR

18-05-2024, 07:03 PM

pathetic

Sorry, mate couldn't hear you, what was that?

SIX fu cking 20:D

You ripper Astro!
Reward for effort.

18-05-2024, 07:05 PM
So who tipped against us? There is no shame in it but a good win tonight against a strong opposition. I wonder if the media give us just a bit of praise.

Vanders great kick.

Looked AFL quality to me.

Now put it through MARRA

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

18-05-2024, 07:06 PM
God Marra is the worst kick in the AFL.

Beautiful kick from West. Typical finish from Marra.

Any chance Marra get's a rest in the VFL and Bedendo comes up?

18-05-2024, 07:07 PM
Marra's thrown himself around and his work rate has been great but his game's in a bad place at the moment. Just looks like his confidence is shot

I've previously mentioned that perhaps Marra shouldn't be playing but there hasn't been any takers.
It should be Lobb so we can keep Darcy up forward more.

How good Bulldogs.

Well against a good side this has been very impressive and a surprise.

18-05-2024, 07:08 PM
His attack on the ball in the air is still there. His kicking has been diabolical this season.

Since Johnno arrived, Marra is the only player who seems to be kicking it worse.

How is that not time wasting?

How is that not a free against? Pathetic.

18-05-2024, 07:09 PM
I've previously mentioned that perhaps Marra shouldn't be playing but there hasn't been any takers.
It should be Lobb so we can keep Darcy up forward more.
I'm not a fan of Lobb & Darcy in the same side. Rebound against us would be painful to watch

That's a ****en disgrace.

How is that not time wasting?

Because it was Toby? he can do know wrong.

18-05-2024, 07:10 PM
The Toby tax is bs. Umps love him

18-05-2024, 07:11 PM
Suck my balls GWS.

18-05-2024, 07:11 PM
They were undermanned but that was a proper win.

Percentage isn?t a concern for us but we should have won by 10 goals.

18-05-2024, 07:12 PM
Cracking win, go Dogs. Tough month coming up but bring it on.

18-05-2024, 07:13 PM
Suck my balls GWS.

Mine too and I did a really long, hot sweaty run before the game.

18-05-2024, 07:13 PM
Very impressive win. All elements humming along except conversion.

We are defending the ground much better this year than the last couple of seasons.

18-05-2024, 07:15 PM
Oh Reload, post of the day. Time to have shower now.

At least he didn?t get the high free kick. Stopped Hogan and stopped them. Someone woke up.

A great win. Players seemed to play their roles really well. Richards another standout effort, but gee some of Jamarras kicking has gone way off.

18-05-2024, 07:17 PM
At least he didn?t get the high free kick. Stopped Hogan and stopped them. Someone woke up.

Two of Hogan's goals were after our poor use.

18-05-2024, 07:18 PM
Very impressive win. All elements humming along except conversion.

We are defending the ground much better this year than the last couple of seasons.

Defending the ground was amazingly good tonight.

18-05-2024, 07:19 PM
Ugly win but I'll take it. We should have won by so much though, that was frankly embarrassing in front of the sticks. But we locked it in our forward half and prevented deep entries into their forward 50 so I will take how we played defensively.

18-05-2024, 07:19 PM
Two of Hogan's goals were after our poor use.

Well spotted.

18-05-2024, 07:20 PM
Treloar was awesome again . Liked Friejahs game he is fitting in nice very early.
The media Bevo pile on has disappeared off the face of the earth.

18-05-2024, 07:21 PM
Freijah showed some very good signs.

Looks clean, composed and has some skill. Liking what I'm seeing.

Treloar deserves some credit, should be leading our B&F easily.

18-05-2024, 07:22 PM
Frejiah looks good including under pressure. Might have found ourselves a good one.

18-05-2024, 07:22 PM
Treloar was awesome again . Liked Friejahs game he is fitting in nice very early.
The media Bevo pile on has disappeared off the face of the earth.

Now it will be about us finally putting our stacked list to use and a better coach doing it much sooner. Or silence. Definitely no kudos, especially for the coach.

Amazing that with a win against Hawthorn we'd be sitting third right now.........

18-05-2024, 07:24 PM
Now it will be about us finally putting our stacked list to use and a better coach doing it much sooner. Or silence. Definitely no kudos, especially for the coach.

Amazing that with a win against Hawthorn we'd be sitting third right now.........

#sackBevo

18-05-2024, 07:35 PM
We really came to play from the off today and should have won by another five goals.

I was really impressed by our attack on the ball in difficult conditions. There was so much chaos in the game but as it went on we got some clean ball and strung together some good chains.

I was very impressed by the TEAM EFFORT!

18-05-2024, 07:38 PM
Wow. That?s a tough road trip to get four points and to be honest we smashed them in most aspects of the game for four quarters and just didn?t always get the reward.

GWS were the Premiership favourites a few weeks ago and were on the second line of betting earlier in the week. That?s a great which must give the players a lot of belief.

18-05-2024, 07:39 PM
#sackBevo

Please do.

18-05-2024, 07:42 PM
Bloody gutsy win that one. Probably kept the door open for them but the fight was there to hold on. One of the good wins. The best win of the year.

18-05-2024, 07:45 PM
Please do.

You love him SoS, you need him.

:)

18-05-2024, 07:51 PM
I'll give a shout out Gags I think he was doing a job on Tom Greem and he didn't have any influence.
Good game by Treloar and the game suited Macrae. You could almost drop Marra for Buku at least if Buku marks the ball he is 90% chance of kicking it.

18-05-2024, 07:56 PM
Freijah showed some very good signs.

Looks clean, composed and has some skill. Liking what I'm seeing.

Treloar deserves some credit, should be leading our B&F easily.

In one of the defensive drills on Thursday there was a real emphasis of giving the ball to Freijah. I guess we have a lot of faith in him and he's not just making up the numbers.

18-05-2024, 08:00 PM
#sackbevo

please do.

hahahaha

18-05-2024, 08:04 PM
Also to note. I picked them to win.

Bigdog
18-05-2024, 08:05 PM
I thought Marras effort was great today. Really chased hard. Best I?ve seen him defensively. He will work his way into form if works this hard.

18-05-2024, 08:06 PM
Great win, really happy with that. The conditions worked in our favour no doubt but our pressure was elite all day.

18-05-2024, 08:06 PM
In one of the defensive drills on Thursday there was a real emphasis of giving the ball to Freijah. I guess we have a lot of faith in him and he's not just making up the numbers.
In the second half there was quite a good intercept mark and a good 1-2 from the D50. There are definitely glimpses of what he'll become in time.

18-05-2024, 08:09 PM
They were undermanned but that was a proper win.

Percentage isn?t a concern for us but we should have won by 10 goals.

Well we were missing Cody who would have excelled in these conditions, Libba, JJ and Baz from our best 22 so....

18-05-2024, 08:10 PM
I thought Williams and Dale did some amazing things with the footy in the wet that were probably the difference at times in our transition. Composure and skill combined.

18-05-2024, 08:11 PM
Well we were missing Cody who would have excelled in these conditions, Libba, JJ and Baz from our best 22 so....

Nah, we don't have injuries that you can actually count. I mean you've listed four absolute best 22 players, not players you'd prefer to have in there like Carlton's injury list, but you know..........

18-05-2024, 08:13 PM
Nah, we don't have injuries that you can actually count. I mean you've listed four absolute best 22 players, not players you'd prefer to have in there like Carlton's injury list, but you know..........

Are your family Carlton?

18-05-2024, 08:14 PM
Are your family Carlton?
you know the answer

18-05-2024, 08:15 PM
Are your family Carlton?

Grandfather played seniors for them and the Dogs. Brother defected at the age of nine from the Dogs to the Blues, and he and my uncle are the only two in the family who follow them.

They're my second favourite side which is why I hate them.

18-05-2024, 08:16 PM
you know the answer

Sorry, I didn't realise I and my family situation was a joke to Aza.

18-05-2024, 08:17 PM

I took it that is what he was on about :D

18-05-2024, 08:19 PM
you know the answer

Grandfather played seniors for them and the Dogs. Brother defected at the age of nine from the Dogs to the Blues, and he and my uncle are the only two in the family who follow them.

They're my second favourite side which is why I hate them.

Not a joke mate. I legitimately could not remembered, I thought I remember you mentioning they were. Kinda like how your a pulp fan.

I did not know the playing connection.

18-05-2024, 08:19 PM
I took it that is what he was on about :D

Not everyone is an agitator like you BAD.

18-05-2024, 08:20 PM
Not a joke mate. I legitimately could not remember, I thought I remember you mentioning they were. Kinda like how your a pulp fan.

I did not know the playing connection.

I'm fine. Take it up with that agitator BAD.

18-05-2024, 08:20 PM

I am scared of BAD.

18-05-2024, 08:21 PM
I am scared of BAD.

The most convenient double use username on the internet. BAD.

Note - was going to follow that up with a Michael Jackson Bad analogy but couldn't figure out a way in which it wouldn't cause offence.

18-05-2024, 08:22 PM

I am scared of BAD.

The most convenient double use username on the internet. BAD.

I am still convinced you two are the same person

18-05-2024, 08:35 PM

What about Jeenak? Aza, Jeemak and Jeenak, too much to account for.

18-05-2024, 08:43 PM

Me too.

18-05-2024, 08:47 PM
Great win!

Giants are out of form are ripe for the picking at the moment.

Watched only the first half as I had to go out for dinner with the family for my brother’s 30th birthday.

Looking forward to catching up on the 2nd half of the match and Bevos presser

18-05-2024, 08:57 PM
Me too.

If that's the first thing that comes into your mind when you see that sort of post you need to have a look at yourself.

18-05-2024, 10:15 PM
I'll give a shout out Gags I think he was doing a job on Tom Greem and he didn't have any influence.
Good game by Treloar and the game suited Macrae. You could almost drop Marra for Buku at least if Buku marks the ball he is 90% chance of kicking it.
Buku is 90% less chance of marking it

18-05-2024, 10:55 PM
Bont vs Greater Western Sydney:

8 inside 50s
7 clearances
5 tackles
22 pressure acts
4 score involvements
equal team high 6 one percenters
18 disposals (10 contested)
2 marks (both contested)
2 intercepts

18-05-2024, 11:11 PM
Bont was as he should be today. Amazing, but supported.

18-05-2024, 11:28 PM
Bont vs Greater Western Sydney:

8 inside 50s
7 clearances
5 tackles
22 pressure acts
4 score involvements
equal team high 6 one percenters
18 disposals (10 contested)
2 marks (both contested)
2 intercepts

Wasn't Bonts greatest ever game but still has just such a huge influence on our team.

It was good that he didn't carry the load as much in this win and we had a fair number of contributors.

18-05-2024, 11:35 PM
It's nice knowing opposition coaching groups have to ponder our thirty registered scores in shit conditions. GWS only had 13. While I get a lot of them were rushed and due to our inability to understand depth on entry in the wet, we also had six posters.

How do teams break down that volume, even if such an obvious point will be missed in this week's analysis, and how do we stop them from doing so?

How do we actually convert the chances we're feeding ourselves? The conditions made this afternoon look like a slog but make no mistake, we ****ing smashed GWS today and hurt them. Two or three conversions more at the right time and it's an eight goal to ten goal win.

18-05-2024, 11:37 PM
It's nice knowing opposition coaching groups have to ponder our thirty registered scores in shit conditions. GWS only had 13. While I get a lot of them were rushed and due to our inability to understand depth on entry in the wet, we also had six posters.

How do teams break down that volume, even if such an obvious point will be missed in this week's analysis, and how do we stop them from doing so?

How do we actually convert the chances we're feeding ourselves? The conditions made this afternoon look like a slog but make no mistake, we ****ing smashed GWS today and hurt them. Two or three conversions more and it's an eight goal win.

I wish we played on real footy grounds every week.

18-05-2024, 11:40 PM
+21 Inside 50s to us so absolutely we won the territory battle.

We didn't win the disposals, marks but won the clearance battle +8 and had 2 more marks inside 50 (11-9).

Contested Pos. +8 for us
Uncontested Pos. -18 for us

At the end of the day as long as we get overall more points than the opposition that is what counts.

18-05-2024, 11:44 PM

GWS and it's crowd will get a reprieve from the media this week given Sydney's weather today. However, if they don't extend last year's form from here Adam Kingsley isn't the guy to charismatically keep them afloat. Boronia Fire Pit man isn't going to bring in the fans.*

*Unless you know, well I'm not going to say it out loud in the open, but yeah, you agree right. I just hate 'em.

19-05-2024, 12:04 AM
7,700 people at the footy today. The are not making any real progress are they?

I actually think it?s a credit to GWS that they have maintained a reasonable winning culture and have kept so many good players (albeit they have lost a few on the journey, but always appear to have someone to step up and fill that role).

19-05-2024, 12:08 AM
GWS and the AFL lied to everyone from the start and have just multiplied first rounders into first rounders, and I am so happy they have found out the hard way making a team in the AFL isn't something you can do in a boardroom with butchers paper.

They'll be back this year, their quality is too high for them not to be top eight. But **** them anyway, and let's always shit on their small supporter base as they're only here for TV.

19-05-2024, 12:44 AM
If that's the first thing that comes into your mind when you see that sort of post you need to have a look at yourself.

It's honestly taking every ounce of my strength to resist responding with what I want to say to this. I want to keep the gag going but I've already inadvertently made someone angry at me this week (in the same thread you're cleverly quoting) for mimicry and I don't want to upset anyone else.

19-05-2024, 12:49 AM
It's honestly taking every ounce of my strength to resist responding with what I want to say to this. I want to keep the gag going but I've already inadvertently made someone angry at me this week (in the same thread you're cleverly quoting) for mimicry and I don't want to upset anyone else.

I'm glad someone picked it up.

It ends here as far as I'm concerned. I just wanted to be seen.

19-05-2024, 12:50 AM

Ok aza.

my plums
19-05-2024, 07:26 AM
So who tipped against us? There is no shame in it but a good win tonight against a strong opposition. I wonder if the media give us just a bit of praise.

I just watched ?The Round So Far? on the AFL website and they hardly even mentioned the dogs. It was all giants.

19-05-2024, 07:58 AM

This. It seems our players also enjoy playing on real grounds also.

Under the roof just plain sucks.

19-05-2024, 08:03 AM
I just watched ?The Round So Far? on the AFL website and they hardly even mentioned the dogs. It was all giants.

Much like the commentators of the match. They were largely unaware of our presence until the last 20 minutes.

my plums
19-05-2024, 08:09 AM
Much like the commentators of the match. They were largely unaware of our presence until the last 20 minutes.
Typical really

19-05-2024, 08:14 AM

For the first time last night I watched our game with the sound down and playing music and it was somewhat more enjoyable and relaxing experience without the commentators white noise.

I was puzzled when at either half time or three quarter time fox chose to play the giants comeback win in Ballarat and I assumed somehow they were inferring that the giants would do something similar now. Which made me wonder if the commentary all game was pro Giants.

19-05-2024, 08:22 AM
For the first time last night I watched our game with the sound down and playing music and it was somewhat more enjoyable and relaxing experience without the commentators white noise.

I was puzzled when at either half time or three quarter time fox chose to play the giants comeback win in Ballarat and I assumed somehow they were inferring that the giants would do something similar now. Which made me wonder if the commentary all game was pro Giants.

I think you'll find that in all their games. It has been pro Giants coming from the very start. The AFL is desperate for NSW powerhouses.

19-05-2024, 08:29 AM

They have scenarios depending on the score and it’s always going to be the one behind will come back so they keep viewers.

19-05-2024, 08:29 AM
Was it just me or did the players look a little flat after that game? Kicking playing on their minds?

Great to get the win, I just loved Naughty's game. In the past against elite key defenders we have seen him stay at home deep and look kind of defeated very early in the game. Last night his work rate was unbelievable it felt like he was the second best player on our list.

19-05-2024, 08:31 AM
Anybody else get reminded of Biggs with Cleary?

Medium sized jack of all trades defender that is generally tidy with the ball.

Cleary is still yet to reach close to 2016 Biggs but I think the way he floats around is similar.

19-05-2024, 08:47 AM
Me too.

Ok aza.

Has someone got the cliff notes to what just happened?

19-05-2024, 08:52 AM
Has someone got the cliff notes to what just happened?

You do, jee.

19-05-2024, 09:35 AM
Anybody else get reminded of Biggs with Cleary?

Medium sized jack of all trades defender that is generally tidy with the ball.

Cleary is still yet to reach close to 2016 Biggs but I think the way he floats around is similar.

Good spot.

I can see the similarities although Biggs could provide some run and carry, which Cleary hasn't yet done. I think he's worth persisting with for a while, made some errors but then had some strong moments.

19-05-2024, 09:41 AM

I don't expect anything different from Kane. It was suprising that he didn't find a way to give the Dogs a back hander. He just didn't even mention them at all. Nothing. Zero. The AFL official show that reviews the games so far and all only mentions the Giants have lostttheir mojo.

The Dogs rank outsiders. Everyone wrote them off two weeks ago, especially Kane and his friends. They take a roadtrip, defeat the Premiership favourites from three weeks ago, the second Premiership favourite (joint currently and outright prior to the bounce) and the Dogs get zero credit or even a mention. Incredible really.

I understand that this can happen on a pantomime show like what you would see on Channel 9, but not the official AFL website.

19-05-2024, 09:44 AM
Knock the Swans off and we won't be ignored.

19-05-2024, 09:56 AM
This. It seems our players also enjoy playing on real grounds also.

Under the roof just plain sucks.

Friday will be interesting. We suck at home but Sydney haven't played there this season.

19-05-2024, 10:28 AM
Friday will be interesting. We suck at home but Sydney haven't played there this season.

Thursday

19-05-2024, 10:33 AM

However, they have won their last four games under the roof.

19-05-2024, 03:12 PM
Watching the game last night makes you appreciate a player like Tory Dickson and how important he was in our run in 15/16. We just don't have a player currently on the list that you would want ball in hand in front of the big sticks when the game is online.

19-05-2024, 03:36 PM
Watching the game last night makes you appreciate a player like Tory Dickson and how important he was in our run in 15/16. We just don't have a player currently on the list that you would want ball in hand in front of the big sticks when the game is online.

Out of the whole list our best chance from a set shot would be Dale, Cody and Buku after that it falls away very quickly.
Although if you look at Aaron's performance this year compared to last year he has improved a great deal.

my plums
19-05-2024, 05:22 PM
I don't expect anything different from Kane. It was suprising that he didn't find a way to give the Dogs a back hander. He just didn't even mention them at all. Nothing. Zero. The AFL official show that reviews the games so far and all only mentions the Giants have lostttheir mojo.

The Dogs rank outsiders. Everyone wrote them off two weeks ago, especially Kane and his friends. They take a roadtrip, defeat the Premiership favourites from three weeks ago, the second Premiership favourite (joint currently and outright prior to the bounce) and the Dogs get zero credit or even a mention. Incredible really.

I understand that this can happen on a pantomime show like what you would see on Channel 9, but not the official AFL website.

Couldn?t believe it. Actually nothing.

20-05-2024, 04:10 PM
Coaches Votes

Treloar 10 (5 + 5)
Richards 7 (4 +3 )
Macrae 4 (0 + 4) or (3+1)
Harmes 4 (3 + 1) or (4 + 0)
Naughton 3 (1 + 2)
Hogan 2 (2 + 0)

Treloar is now even with Bont on 36 votes after two perfect 10s in a row.

20-05-2024, 04:19 PM
See above. 50% chance that Macrae got 4 + 0. Did Bevo give Macrae any votes?

20-05-2024, 05:24 PM
Coaches Votes

Treloar 10 (5 + 5)
Richards 7 (4 +3 )
Macrae 4 (0 + 4) or (3+1)
Harmes 4 (3 + 1) or (4 + 0)
Naughton 3 (1 + 2)
Hogan 2 (2 + 0)

Treloar is now even with Bont on 36 votes after two perfect 10s in a row.
That Hogan 2 vote has to be Kingsley’s vote. We had at least 4 better players

20-05-2024, 06:16 PM
See above. 50% chance that Macrae got 4 + 0. Did Bevo give Macrae any votes?

I don't think he voted for Hogan, so yes he gave Macrae votes. I also think he likes his new toys and will have given Harmes high votes.

Treloar
Harmes
Ed
Naughton
Macrae

21-05-2024, 11:40 AM
That Hogan 2 vote has to be Kingsley’s vote. We had at least 4 better players

Hogan disappeared after half time so I guess he kept them in it for the first half.
They only had two goal kickers as well which would be rare.