View Full Version : Bulldogs V Swans - Round 11, 23/5/24 Marvel Stadium 7:30PM AEST

Pages : 1 [2]

23-05-2024, 10:54 PM
I really don?t know how to respond but 21 shots on goal a piece and a e are 5 goals down.

That’s where we have lost it plus the injuries

23-05-2024, 10:54 PM
I really don?t know how to respond but 21 shots on goal a piece and a e are 5 goals down.

That Bont shot tells the story.

We've been really good, but you've gotta be excellent to get the Swans.

23-05-2024, 10:55 PM
Bont playing forward when we are a mid down and no Libba is Bevo magic.

23-05-2024, 10:56 PM
Never happy with a loss but I've liked our endeavour since the hawks debacle.

23-05-2024, 10:56 PM

Check out who we had in the CB just now.

23-05-2024, 10:58 PM
Bitch about whatever you wanna bitch about, but these guys are giving it everything

23-05-2024, 10:59 PM
Keep fighting lads. Come on!

Gaggs!

Bitch about whatever you wanna bitch about, but these guys are giving it everything

Yep. I’m consigned to the result, but happy they haven’t dropped their heads.

Most fighting and committed effort from the group I've seen for a very long time. Very happy.

23-05-2024, 11:00 PM
Awesome effort. You learn a lot from these games.

23-05-2024, 11:00 PM
Obviously not 100%

23-05-2024, 11:01 PM
West claims a concussion back! 1-2.

23-05-2024, 11:03 PM

Think it tells us more about Bont than Bevo.

23-05-2024, 11:04 PM
Think it tells us more about Bont than Bevo.
Yep needs a spell.

23-05-2024, 11:06 PM
Marra !!!!!!

Loving this fight!!

Oh me oh my

23-05-2024, 11:07 PM
Now, go and ****ing win it

23-05-2024, 11:10 PM
How is that 50

Very soft.

Bullshit

Rubbish decision

Why do we even play the ****ing games honestly.

Wow umpires have fu**Ed another game.

Absolute shit.

23-05-2024, 11:12 PM
Umpires have stuffed this game

23-05-2024, 11:13 PM
Unfortunately with injuries Bramble will play nxt game.

23-05-2024, 11:13 PM
Proud effort. Go dogs.

23-05-2024, 11:14 PM
This sport sucks. Umpires f*ck every game these days. Atrocious.

Gallant effort tonight, can’t be disappointed with the injuries we sustained.

Why do I even follow AFL . But I will say this was a huge effort and I don’t think the media can find anything negative about us . The not playing for Bevo narrative has definitively gone.

23-05-2024, 11:16 PM
Great fight back from our young pups, would've won that if Richards hadn't been taken out of the game.

Brian Taylor just piss off .. they took over after half time, yeah after we lost Richards in the first minute.
I can’t believe these commentators about how good Sydney were.

If you had said we would lose by 14 and still be in it util the death with Naughton, Richards off the ground for 90 and 60 mins respectively I would have said no way.

Let's hope neither are LT injuries.

23-05-2024, 11:17 PM
I think we have seen the future and it was bloody fantastic. West, Sanders , Garcia, Freijah and even Gags did some good things. Loved the fact we went with the young lads in the middle. Gutsy effort

Top effort.

Awesome stuff.

Fantastic effort, super proud of the group.

No way the coach has lost the players, not with that fight.

How much of a **** of an umpire would you have to be to pay that fifty against Vanders, and then the one against Darcy.

Oh well, we'll always have 2016.

23-05-2024, 11:18 PM
Fantastic effort, super proud of the group.

No way the coach has lost the players, not with that fight.

How much of a **** of an umpire would you have to be to pay that fifty against Vanders, and then the one against Darcy.

Oh well, we'll always have 2016.
It was a howler the LVDM one.

23-05-2024, 11:18 PM
Agree woofers-boys were brave. Go Dogs. Thought umpiring was pretty average. Hope Sawns don?t make GF.

23-05-2024, 11:19 PM
28 to 22 scoring shots and lose. Being Bulldogs.

23-05-2024, 11:19 PM
Warner is hard to like, but wow he can play.

Was the diff in that third.
Rd 3?pick.

Swans in the box seat to lose the flag to Collingwood

23-05-2024, 11:20 PM
Enormous effort from our boys.

If we'd converted a few more of our GETTABLE shots then we win.

If we hadn't lost Naughton early then we win.

If we hadn't lost Ed in the second half then Warner doesn't kick 4 and we win.

But unfortunately...we don't win.

23-05-2024, 11:21 PM
Gutted. Absolutely huge effort.

23-05-2024, 11:23 PM
The Heeney goal really ****en pissed me off.

23-05-2024, 11:24 PM
Lion hearted stuff. That’ll be the making of a few. Sending Garcia, West and Gallagher into the middle nearly stole the game and I hope we do everything to let them know about it.

23-05-2024, 11:24 PM
Proud. Just proud of the effort tonight. You can?t ask more than that. They gave everything.

23-05-2024, 11:25 PM
Swans fans are total morons by the way.

Great effort, against the odds. Even Terry Wallace couldn't spew about this one.

Realistically we handed them the game with our turnovers, our missed set shots and our inability to kick goals out of our arses. (Marra excepted).
Disappointed with the loss but cannot question the players commitment. With Richards and Naughton uninjured we would have won for sure.

The umpire was an idiot expecting a player over 200cm late in a game try and pull up to man the mark. Wanker!

The Heeney goal really ****en pissed me off.
Should not have been a throw in. Swans player was caught HTB, but not given. Right in front of me

23-05-2024, 11:26 PM
Bont didn’t go to the centre to till last 5 min

Raels_d
23-05-2024, 11:26 PM
Great effort especially with the injuries. Swans getting 5 goals from free kicks.
Did anyone else notice Bont touching the back of his left leg up high in the last quarter. Thought he might have had some tightness there

23-05-2024, 11:27 PM
Can’t fault our effort tonight.
A bit of bad luck with injuries and umpiring, some poor goal kicking again and a field kicking.
The number of times they stepped over the mark. We did it once when they played on anyway 50.
The second last 50 to Maclean was the worst all night.

23-05-2024, 11:28 PM
Swans fans. In the Bulldog reserved seats. Creating conflict. I said this last time. I?m OK with them sitting there. But when you are in the middle of Bulldog fans, why choose to antagonise people. Unnecessary, stupid and dangerous. A few there tonight deserved a little violence, even though I don?t condone that.

23-05-2024, 11:28 PM
Should not have been a throw in. Swans player was caught HTB, but not given. Right in front of me
Spot on

23-05-2024, 11:29 PM

Yeah, Amartey was caught dead to rights and crawled over the line after he got tackled.

23-05-2024, 11:31 PM
Should’ve been a 50 to Amartey and then we should’ve all had to write letters to the umpire about what a great decision he made.

23-05-2024, 11:32 PM

One of many many poor decisions. A few went our way too.

The 50 against VDM is an all timer. I'll die on the hill that it's not even a mark, it's play on - he spoiled it! How on earth can you say he's not in the marking contest... (It's nice to have somewhere to redirect my disappointment, because the players don't deserve it)

23-05-2024, 11:34 PM
Lion hearted stuff. That?ll be the making of a few. Sending Garcia, West and Gallagher into the middle nearly stole the game and I hope we do everything to let them know about it.

Yep, super important they were able to help fight that out with such massive responsibility placed on them.

23-05-2024, 11:35 PM
Swans fans. In the Bulldog reserved seats. Creating conflict. I said this last time. I?m OK with them sitting there. But when you are in the middle of Bulldog fans, why choose to antagonise people. Unnecessary, stupid and dangerous. A few there tonight deserved a little violence, even though I don?t condone that.

Occasionally, someone needs to run through people just to keep society in check.

23-05-2024, 11:36 PM
Yes it’s upsetting. They on sell pre-sold tickets where people don’t go. Marvel and AFL are the pricks

23-05-2024, 11:38 PM
One of many many poor decisions. A few went our way too.

The 50 against VDM is an all timer. I'll die on the hill that it's not even a mark, it's play on - he spoiled it! How on earth can you say he's not in the marking contest... (It's nice to have somewhere to redirect my disappointment, because the players don't deserve it)

He's in the marking contest, but it was a mark. But given he was in the contest it can't be a fifty.

Umpires and the AFL wonder why umpires get abused within an inch of their lives. It's because nobody can either say I'm upset about that decision, or upset about the times that's not paid fifty. Pricks want it both ways.

I hate them.

23-05-2024, 11:40 PM
The 50 against Vandermeer was such an obvious case of the umpire wanting to make himself the main character.

A Razor Ray special if you will

23-05-2024, 11:43 PM
The 50 against Vandermeer was such an obvious case of the umpire wanting to make himself the main character.

A Razor Ray special if you will

Razor invented it and passed it on.

Bigdog
23-05-2024, 11:48 PM
I think we win that game by 4-6 goals without injuries.

Also want to say that Harmes has really been establishing himself as an important player after a rough start.

Incredible stats from the game :

We were +33 contested possessions which is massive.
+14 inside 50
+6 contested marks

Dogs 14 forward 50 stoppages for 2 goals 1.
Swans 5 for 2 goals.

Swans +19 rebound fifties (we got it in didn't keep it in)
Swans are #1 team for pressure differential and won pressure rating again 185-173.

We worked fkn hard, just didn't capitalise for reasons discussed.

23-05-2024, 11:49 PM
That 50m against VMD was not far from where I was sitting. Didn?t even look like a mark to the naked eye let alone 50m.

How can a league umpire pay that? How? He sees something no one else is even thinking about. So much on the line. So many people invested and he destroys the game with horrific judgement. Surely he is umpiring at Swan Hill next week.

23-05-2024, 11:51 PM
How's the press conference, only one reporter showed up to kick it off.

Bevo's response to that, in congratulating the single reporter for showing up will get ripped into, no doubt, but that's an absolute disgrace.

23-05-2024, 11:52 PM
I said after last week, good luck counteracting our thirty odd shots at goal a game. Coaching is not the issue with this group, composure is. Players need to be responsible for their own finishing.

23-05-2024, 11:52 PM

We were +33 contested possessions which is massive.
+14 inside 50
+6 contested marks

Dogs 14 forward 50 stoppages for 2 goals 1.
Swans 5 for 2 goals.

Swans are #1 team for pressure differential and won pressure rating again 185-173.

We worked fkn hard, just didn't capitalise for reasons discussed.

Yes. They also capitalised on some horrific turnovers from us for easy goals. So you don?t mind the other team having the ball when you feast on their mistakes and they can?t make you pay from regulation set shots. Then from some of those points you go coast to coast and put a dagger through their heart.

23-05-2024, 11:53 PM
The umpiring was atrocious tonight. Swans were literally given 4 frees whicb resulted im shots at goal. That 50m penalty to Vanders was putrid. Yet 5 mins earlier we were not given one. The crowd erupted with Booing when Vanders got penalised.

I dont mind them calling it , as long as they are consistent. And they are nothing of that sort tonightm

Its ruining the game , the umpiring interpretation.

Cant fault the effort. It is one of those losses i think which we can build on. Lile sering Sanders and Garcia in the midfield.
Those snaps of goal from Garcia was brilliant and JUH stood uo tonight to take some important marks.

23-05-2024, 11:53 PM
Hard to run a narrative that the players are not playing for the coach after the last three weeks.

The media narrative so far from reality.

23-05-2024, 11:54 PM
Has everyone recovered from that bramble effort on the wing? Refuses to take the first option just keep it simple.

Loved the effort overall we even stopped their momentum a few times which has been rare from this group. Still struggle to show any composure coming out of the backend when the whips are cracking.

Likely to miss the 8 now I reckon, time to get Garcia in the guts Bevo one of the few to tackle Warner in the last. He along with Westy add some much needed 2016 edge.

23-05-2024, 11:56 PM
More frustrating is where was that effort vs the hawks or Freo or Essendon?

23-05-2024, 11:58 PM
How's the press conference, only one reporter showed up to kick it off.

Bevo's response to that, in congratulating the single reporter for showing up will get ripped into, no doubt, but that's an absolute disgrace.

Ross Lyon had the same thing a couple of weeks ago. There's a video clip of it, got shown on front bar.

Ross: "2 men enter, only one leaves. Hope you're ****ing ready"

23-05-2024, 11:59 PM
Has everyone recovered from that bramble effort on the wing? Refuses to take the first option just keep it simple.

Loved the effort overall we even stopped their momentum a few times which has been rare from this group. Still struggle to show any composure coming out of the backend when the whips are cracking.

Likely to miss the 8 now I reckon, time to get Garcia in the guts Bevo one of the few to tackle Warner in the last. He along with Westy add some much needed 2016 edge.

Maybe, but get through this run of games positive or even with the ledger and we only need to be plus two versus losses to make it. If we did that last year instead of being one win positive of the ledger we're finishing if fifth.

Need to keep pushing.

24-05-2024, 12:02 AM
I hope we get to play the Swans in the finals. They're good but we can beat them

24-05-2024, 12:03 AM
Maybe, but get through this run of games positive or even with the ledger and we only need to be plus two versus losses to make it. If we did that last year instead of being one win positive of the ledger we're finishing if fifth.

Need to keep pushing.

We do.

Our run home is a mess though. If we make it we will have earned it.

24-05-2024, 12:05 AM
I hope we get to play the Swans in the finals. They're good but we can beat them

With a full team. Yes. Absolutely. They have only used 27 players all season, having an unbelievable good run with injuries. Having early bye and now another week of this week doesn?t hurt either.

24-05-2024, 12:06 AM
time to get Garcia in the guts Bevo one of the few to tackle Warner in the last. He along with Westy add some much needed 2016 edge.

Obvious to all of us, I just hope that Bevo took note. Game seems to turn with those two in the guts.

24-05-2024, 12:08 AM
I have been on this site for 17 odd years, and if you want to check I rarely crap on about umpiring.

But those last two 50s against us late in the fourth were absolute ****ing bullshit.

24-05-2024, 12:11 AM
Since 2016 I have been so often disappointed with us.

Tonight I was proud of our lads.

24-05-2024, 12:12 AM
The umpiring was atrocious tonight. Swans were literally given 4 frees whicb resulted im shots at goal. That 50m penalty to Vanders was putrid. Yet 5 mins earlier we were not given one. The crowd erupted with Booing when Vanders got penalised.

I dont mind them calling it , as long as they are consistent. And they are nothing of that sort tonightm

Its ruining the game , the umpiring interpretation.

Cant fault the effort. It is one of those losses i think which we can build on. Lile sering Sanders and Garcia in the midfield.
Those snaps of goal from Garcia was brilliant and JUH stood uo tonight to take some important marks.

That Vanders call has nothing to do with consistency. It was a shi*t, stupid, idiotic decision that should never be paid under any circumstances. To pay it in that situation is even more appalling. That umpire shouldn't see afl action for a long time. Seriously. These guys have no idea what they're doing out there. This season the standard has been abysmal.

24-05-2024, 12:14 AM
If we make the 8 from here we'll go close to winning the flag. We've got the toughest run home of any side and we're already behind the 8 ball due to our poor start.

24-05-2024, 12:15 AM
Just got home from the match.

Very disappointing not to have won tonight but the overall performance from us was very good against the top team at the moment.

Really enjoyed that first half. It fell apart for us once Richards went off with the concussion. Naughton as well hopefully not too serious.

We fought it out right to the end despite the challenges we had with personnel.

That 50 at the end was rubbish and everyone around me thought so as well very disappointed. Just bad umpiring. They need to get decisions right and be consistent which simply they are not.

Thursday night is not my favourite timelsot and glad that will be our last one this year but it is what it is. I reckon it keeps a good 5-7K away when you compare it to Friday night crowds.

24-05-2024, 12:20 AM
Did Bevo say anything about Naughton?

24-05-2024, 12:21 AM
First game in what felt like years that I’ve seen us play footy to be proud of. There was a level of resilience and grit that felt Bulldog like to me and it’s just not been there in our game, even in wins this year.

It’s another loss in a close game and we’re on the wrong side of the ledger and we need a new voice in the coaching role but at least it wasn’t just another week of learning nothing and just going through the motions.

We desperately needed a win under duress, against a good side in form, and we didn’t get it. So no credits earned. But it’s good to know that game is there and there are enough talented players to bring the game to life under less than ideal circumstances.

24-05-2024, 12:22 AM

Sydney supporters are the worst. Bunch of smarmy, preppy casuals who will confidently chirp away with very little apparent interest in the outcome.

24-05-2024, 12:28 AM

Yeah it's annoying. There were a few where I was as well Level 1 Aisle 33 but nothing crazy happened. Where about do you sit AP?

They really should have gone to the Coventry End near their cheer squad where the away fans typically sit at Marvel and still can be passionate.

24-05-2024, 12:30 AM
Grundy 46 hitouts but only 9 to advantage. He loves wrestling and dragging his opponent. That is not ruck work.

24-05-2024, 12:30 AM
I enjoyed this loss more than the Richmond shellacking. So very proud of the effort. We were 5 goals down, Heaney had kicked one out of his butt, and we looked exhausted. But we did exactly what we as fans have been wanting, spirit, never say die effort.

Yeh there were mistakes, we were sometimes our own worst enemies, but I don’t want to dwell or think about those. The umpiring was atrocious. They killed the game with that VDM 50.

It was so fun to have an electric atmosphere, the crowd were galvanised, the chant rang out. Goddamit it would have been great to win it but the injuries, the short break meant we were up against it. We’ve got some good young ones, I loved Sanders game. We’ve endured a lot of disappointing efforts lately, I’m just glad footy was fun and our team made us proud tonight.

24-05-2024, 12:35 AM
Sydney are the clear competition benchmark. We got a good audit of where we are tonight, and it is not as far away as we all feared a few weeks ago.

We are capable enough and playing well enough to square the ledger and win 2 of the next 3 before the bye (3 would be fantastic and frank our form). There are not many teams shooting the lights out at the moment apart from Sydney - we just need to hang in, keep working hard and stay in touch with the top 8.

24-05-2024, 12:37 AM
Sydney supporters are the worst. Bunch of smarmy, preppy casuals who will confidently chirp away with very little apparent interest in the outcome.

They know they can mouth off, be disrespectful and get away with it. Sometimes I would love a time machine to back 30 years in time. I wonder what would have happend if they tried to pull that crap on the Doug Hawkins wing back in the day. Good luck.

24-05-2024, 12:38 AM
I enjoyed this loss more than the Richmond shellacking. So very proud of the effort. We were 5 goals down, Heaney had kicked one out of his butt, and we looked exhausted. But we did exactly what we as fans have been wanting, spirit, never say die effort.

Yeh there were mistakes, we were sometimes our own worst enemies, but I don’t want to dwell or think about those. The umpiring was atrocious. They killed the game with that VDM 50.

It was so fun to have an electric atmosphere, the crowd were galvanised, the chant rang out. Goddamit it would have been great to win it but the injuries, the short break meant we were up against it. We’ve got some good young ones, I loved Sanders game. We’ve endured a lot of disappointing efforts lately, I’m just glad footy was fun and our team made us proud tonight.

This group's been hard to love, but tonight was so brave. We were in the game with a few minutes to go and that's a minor miracle given the circumstances.

It felt like a heavyweight encounter at the ground, the quality of the game was really high. Hopefully the group takes a lot of positives away and can regroup for the coming couple of weeks where we need to bank at least one win to stay in touch.

24-05-2024, 12:47 AM
First game in what felt like years that I?ve seen us play footy to be proud of. There was a level of resilience and grit that felt Bulldog like to me and it?s just not been there in our game, even in wins this year.

It?s another loss in a close game and we?re on the wrong side of the ledger and we need a new voice in the coaching role but at least it wasn?t just another week of learning nothing and just going through the motions.

We desperately needed a win under duress, against a good side in form, and we didn?t get it. So no credits earned. But it?s good to know that game is there and there are enough talented players to bring the game to life under less than ideal circumstances.

Have you considered, you know, that it might be somewhat to do with the coaching that we responded the way we did? Just putting it out there, and sorry to interrupt a pants off Thursday night for you, again.

24-05-2024, 12:48 AM
Is it just me, or does anyone else think that Darcy's ruck work is now better than that of English?

24-05-2024, 12:48 AM
Bevo

-Our players showed enormous charachter
-Our backline stayed on for the entire last half
-Tim English also didn't get a rest
-We had to ask the boys to do different things
-Triple R radio station in there. West, Garcia and Sanders! Giving us chances out of the middle.
-We had to sent Bont forward as our forward line became dysfunctional after the Aaron loss and how we had to move some players around
-Marcus made them weary of him and kept them on edge
-Great integrity in what the boys did
-You never lose and feel like a winner, but in my eyes our boys were winners tonight
-What did you make of that VDM call? I will make sure I don't comment on the umpires. Ultimately the decision was made. We have to live with it.
-Indicators are that Naughton hopefully is not an ACL, but you can never tell. We need to wait for the scan.
-We are conservative with concussions.
-Richards was pivotal in the game. His growth has been important for us. It is encouraging for our future. It is a big loss. It gives an opportunity for others to shine. The three Rileys were great.
-Bailey Williams had to go to the backline. We then had to play new wingers.
-We just made some monumental errors and some monumental misses in front of goal that cost us any chance of winning the game
-With the bad luck in the game with injuries we still had a chance in the game
-Why did you send Caleb to the wing? Not go back? It is a good question. We wanted Caleb to find some form. Half back was probably the role he is familar with and he could find form in VFL. What happens at state level is that he gets sat on and blocked by their defensive forward. Then we said it is better he plays as a midfielder. That worked for him and worked for our team. That is not unfamiliar to him. It was straight forward for him to play that role tonight and we thought he played well tonight (wing).
-You can have too many midifelders. We will need to work it out if we have Richards and Libba.
-The teams with blend of speed and endurance, rationalise the time in the midfield, will be the teams at the end of the year

24-05-2024, 12:50 AM
They know they can mouth off, be disrespectful and get away with it. Sometimes I would love a time machine to back 30 years in time. I wonder what would have happend if they tried to pull that crap on the Doug Hawkins wing back in the day. Good luck.

Your machine is Pussycat One, and Pussycat Two. They live on the end of your arms. Go for it brother, ruin your life in getting even. If the eighties didn't teach you that getting even and then some equals valour, then you've learned nothing.

24-05-2024, 12:55 AM
That was character building.

At least I hope it is. It deserves to be.

I hope we remember this game.

Great effort, lads. That was a performance better than many wins. Proud.

As for the umpiring? It's enough to turn you away from the game. Disgraceful. And Grundys ruck work is a ****ing blight on the game - he literally blocks the opposition pathway and then gets rewarded.

24-05-2024, 12:59 AM
Have you considered, you know, that it might be somewhat to do with the coaching that we responded the way we did? Just putting it out there, and sorry to interrupt a pants off Thursday night for you, again.

I have. And it’s not.

24-05-2024, 01:01 AM
I have. And it’s not.

You realise that blaming the coach for shit efforts and then not giving the coach credit for good efforts is a bit hypocritical, right?

For the record, I don't know what the answer is, but sitting on the fence at least means I don't have to do this bullshit balancing act of conflicting positions you have to do.

24-05-2024, 01:03 AM
I suppose that the upside of adversity is finding opportunities.

At the start of the season, if I had posted that halfway through the season we would be playing the clear top team, 20 or 30 points down, getting late in the fourth quarter and no Libba or Bont in the midfield, you would've said we were gone, not come back like we did with the triple Rileys in the midfield.

Great signs for the future.

24-05-2024, 01:08 AM
Longmire

-They were better than us in many elements but we took our chances in the third quarter
-Talks about the benefit of having the bye this week (Swans get two byes before we get one!!!!)
-The Dogs mids were all over us before half time, Warner went forward in third quarter and hit the scoreboard
-We had to send Rowbottom to Richards after quarter time. We got that wrong. They were killing us in the middle. (Rowbottom went from Bailey Dale to Richards).

24-05-2024, 01:12 AM
Longmire

-They were better than us in many elements but we took our chances in the third quarter
-Talks about the benefit of having the bye this week (Swans get two byes before we get one!!!!)
-The Dogs mids were all over us before half time, Warner went forward in third quarter and hit the scoreboard
-We had to send Rowbottom to Richards after quarter time. We got that wrong. They were killing us in the middle. (Rowbottom went from Bailey Dale to Richards).

I would have preferred the Ross Lyon wank fest where he belittles people and doesn't answer a question and then get's wanked off by the media, but I guess some decent candor will have to do.

24-05-2024, 01:13 AM
Tip my cap to Bevo & his coaches. Thats the best performance since the 21 prelim win. Been very critical of Bevo for a few years, deservedly so too!, but I'm seeing something I wasn't expecting & I'm liking it. Really brave effort tonight, Haven't said that in a longtime.

Whoever came up with the Richards move into the guts is a genius. Didn't see that one coming & wow how good has he been. Ed just gives us something different that complements what we already have. Love his defensive work in there to, really needed.

All we need now is for Lobb, Darcy & JUH to light it up with Astro out which would force Astro to defence on his return & team up with Jones. Just a thought!

Freija I like the look of. The way he moves reminds me of Embley. Anyone else see that? I saw a few times we had Darcy, the Colonel & Gallagher in the centre bounce, good future ahead.

Give Westy more inside mid minutes please! Can't believe Weightman got a look in before Westy.

Anyhow, don't change the style just weed out the mistakes.

24-05-2024, 01:18 AM
Tip my cap to Bevo & his coaches. Thats the best performance since the 21 prelim win. Been very critical of Bevo for a few years, deservedly so too!, but I'm seeing something I wasn't expecting & I'm liking it. Really brave effort tonight, Haven't said that in a longtime.

Whoever came up with the Richards move into the guts is a genius. Didn't see that one coming & wow how good has he been. Ed just gives us something different that complements what we already have. Love his defensive work in there to, really needed.

All we need now is for Lobb, Darcy & JUH to light it up with Astro out which would force Astro to defence on his return & team up with Jones. Just a thought!

Freija I like the look of. The way he moves reminds me of Embley. Anyone else see that? I saw a few times we had Darcy, the Colonel & Gallagher in the centre bounce, good future ahead.

Give Westy more inside mid minutes please! Can't believe Weightman got a look in before Westy.

Anyhow, don't change the style just weed out the mistakes.

How dare you.

;)

JF was a bit worrisome early again, and cost us a clear goal. However, after that he just kep going and going, and was covering huge amounts of ground. Also, his team mates kept using him which is a huge compliment to his positioning and effort.

24-05-2024, 01:27 AM
How dare you.

;)

JF was a bit worrisome early again, and cost us a clear goal. However, after that he just kep going and going, and was covering huge amounts of ground. Also, his team mates kept using him which is a huge compliment to his positioning and effort.

Just checked out the Freija welcome thread & you did call it first jee! I think he'll end up on the wing too, would be amazing if he ended up a premiership wingman as well. There is a player there I'm certain of it. Luke Cleary though I don't see it, early days I know.

24-05-2024, 01:29 AM
Just checked out the Freija welcome thread & you did call it first jee! I think he'll end up on the wing too, would be amazing if he ended up a premiership wingman as well. There is a player there I'm certain of it. Luke Cleary though I don't see it, early days I know.

Love having you posting more mate. Especially when you agree with me. :)

24-05-2024, 01:34 AM
How dare you.

;)

I put that on Bont. He should not be calling for the ball so agressively there. Imagine you are playing your third game and the great one, your captain, Bont is demanding the ball. To hit him up would take a precise highly skillful kick and even then it was every chance to be picked off. The kid could not ignore his superstar captain. The kick was poor, but I put that on Bont.

24-05-2024, 01:40 AM
Game time.

Keath 100%
Jones 100%
Marra 96%
Dale 94%
Bramble 92%
Bont 92%
Williams 91%
Harmes 91%
English 91%
Duryea 89%
Daniel 89%

We asked a lot from our players coming off a five day break. It was a miracle we were that close to them.

(For example. Bont last week played 75%. Marra 78%. Dale 80%. Harmes 74%).

24-05-2024, 01:41 AM
I put that on Bont. He should not be calling for the ball so agressively there. Imagine you are playing your third game and the great one, your captain, Bont is demanding the ball. To hit him up would take a precise highly skillful kick and even then it was every chance to be picked off. The kid could not ignore his superstar captain. The kick was poor, but I put that on Bont.

It's happened to me and I was lucky enough not to helicopter it to my target. But I was only playing Ammos and not AFL at the time, so you know........

JF should have kicked through it with more conviction. But what I really liked was he didn't ever stop trying to get involved and like Bont, his teammates trusted him. How good was his run and mark at half forward?

As an aside, Bont should always be calling for it in that sport, and we should be aspiring to have people who can get that ball to him.

24-05-2024, 01:43 AM
Game time.

Keath 100%
Jones 100%
Marra 96%
Dale 94%
Bramble 92%
Bont 92%
Williams 91%
Harmes 91%
English 91%
Duryea 89%
Daniel 89%

We asked a lot from our players coming off a five day break. It was a miracle we were that close to them.

We did look out on our feet when we didn't have the ball at times. Really proud they fought to the end, a win would have been massive for this group of players. Had every excuse to fall away. Showed a ton of character!

24-05-2024, 01:43 AM
It's happened to me and I was lucky enough not to helicopter it to my target. But I was only playing Ammos and not AFL at the time, so you know........

JF should have kicked through it with more conviction. But what I really liked was he didn't ever stop trying to get involved and like Bont, his teammates trusted him. How good was his run and mark at half forward?

I like what I saw tonight. My gut feel is that he has the qualities to make the grade. Great build for his age. Composure with ball in hand, great kick and importantly wants the footy in his hand.

24-05-2024, 01:47 AM
I like what I saw tonight. My gut feel is that he has the qualities to make the grade. Great build for his age. Composure with ball in hand, great kick and importantly wants the footy in his hand.

I'm completely frightened when he's near it, but he's just giving snippets on repeat that make you think he might be OK, if not a bit more than that.

And just OK is better than most under the type of pressure he felt tonight.

24-05-2024, 01:59 AM
Game time.

Keath 100%
Jones 100%
Marra 96%
Dale 94%
Bramble 92%
Bont 92%
Williams 91%
Harmes 91%
English 91%
Duryea 89%
Daniel 89%

Just a great effort. The Bulldog spirit was certainly there tonight.

It will give us some huge confidence going into next week against the Pies. They have their injury concerns as well particularly their forward line.

24-05-2024, 08:33 AM
Interested in some thoughts on Jones's game. His intercept game was fantastic but I thought he gave Amartey too much leg rope last night and it stung us going back the other way a couple of time. I think we saw the same with Jessie Hogan too last week.

Obviously no JOD last night, but the balance of our backline and key defenders still isn't quite right, though I think both defences lowered their colours a bit.

24-05-2024, 09:03 AM
I just saw that 50m penalty. Wow! I'll watch the 2nd half when I get home from work. Sounds like we fought it out right to the end.

24-05-2024, 09:16 AM
Interested in some thoughts on Jones's game. His intercept game was fantastic but I thought he gave Amartey too much leg rope last night and it stung us going back the other way a couple of time. I think we saw the same with Jessie Hogan too last week.

Obviously no JOD last night, but the balance of our backline and key defenders still isn't quite right, though I think both defences lowered their colours a bit.

Agreed. I was surprised to see him being given votes.

I felt that his positioning was off (particularly early), his disposal and decision making was poor, and his direct opponent kicked some important goals. Certainly had some good/important contests as well, but overall it was a rare disappointing game imo.

24-05-2024, 09:27 AM

I thought he was still super influntial last night. However, I did think he fumbled a lot more than normal last night. A few groundballs he didn't take as cleanly as he normally does which then put him and the defence on the back foot a few times.

24-05-2024, 10:05 AM

I agree Lemon, many times he was on his own and Jones standing in the goal square. We were a little loose in defence not covering their players.

24-05-2024, 10:11 AM

He was good for the most part but he gave Amartey far too much space. Amartey is pretty rubbish but if you give someone five metres of space and don't put any body work on them then they'll obviously have a day out.

24-05-2024, 10:22 AM
Game time.

Keath 100%
Jones 100%
Marra 96%
Dale 94%
Bramble 92%
Bont 92%
Williams 91%
Harmes 91%
English 91%
Duryea 89%
Daniel 89%

This is incredible really. Dealing with the injuries and short turnaround to then be 5 goals down in the last quarter and get it back to 8pts. It's astonishing.

It feels like we've turned the corner since the hawks game. I hope we can keep it going for the rest of the season and this isn't a blip.

I missed the 1st half so hadn't realised the impact Richards was having. This game really had disaster written all over it. 3 key injuries early in the game. 5 day break. Top side. You wouldn't have blamed us for losing by 8 goals yet we still nearly pinched it.

Boots
24-05-2024, 11:06 AM
So I only saw the first quarter and a half and then read match reports, but I feel a queer sense of joy at this result. The injuries were terrible and I'm really worried about losing Naughton, but from what I saw, our whole-of-ground defence has really clicked in the last few games, we tried our hearts out for the third game in a row, and we came within a stone's throw of beating the top team in the comp.

In just the last three weeks I've gone form not liking or trusting this team to enjoying watching them play again. Darcy continues to be a miracle, and I really enjoy Richards in the midfield.

Curiously excited for the rest of the season now. Of course that will change again haha.

24-05-2024, 11:20 AM
This is incredible really. Dealing with the injuries and short turnaround to then be 5 goals down in the last quarter and get it back to 8pts. It's astonishing.

It feels like we've turned the corner since the hawks game. I hope we can keep it going for the rest of the season and this isn't a blip.

In 2022/2023, we lose that game by 50+ points if the same circumstances eventuated. Something has changed with this group. When Heeney kicked that fantastic goal to get them 5 goals up, it actually kick-started us instead of deflating the group, and they were scrambling to slow the game and protect their ever dwindling lead. It was admirable that we came at them again in the last 20 minutes the way we did.

Bevo has copped a lot (rightfully so) in the past with regard to his match-day stubbornness and resistance to changing the flow of games, but he deserved credit for his in-game coaching last night. Was also excellent last week.

24-05-2024, 11:31 AM
I thought Jones was completely amazing. You?ve gotta forgive some loose checking on his direct opponent because the actual danger against Sydney is their mids getting the ball between 65 and 50 metres out, and not that rabble they call a forward line. He was given a mountain of responsibility and I thought he saved 30 or so points all on his own.

24-05-2024, 11:53 AM
I thought Jones was completely amazing. You?ve gotta forgive some loose checking on his direct opponent because the actual danger against Sydney is their mids getting the ball between 65 and 50 metres out, and not that rabble they call a forward line. He was given a mountain of responsibility and I thought he saved 30 or so points all on his own.

Yep, he was brilliant. I thought he made only 2 mistakes on the night.... which when you consider how many contests he was in was enormous.

One was the dropped mark which led to Keath panicking and pushing the ball out and the instance where he tried to protect Duryea who was coming back with the flight instead of making the ball his.

My Swans supporter said they wouldn't lose a game if Jones was in their team.

24-05-2024, 12:00 PM
Yep, he was brilliant. I thought he made only 2 mistakes on the night.... which when you consider how many contests he was in was enormous.

One was the dropped mark which led to Keath panicking and pushing the ball out and the instance where he tried to protect Duryea who was coming back with the flight instead of making the ball his.

Oh that Keath moment, damn. Wicks goals from that.

Jones looked a bit off at times but was still great.

What do we do when he retires!?

24-05-2024, 12:04 PM
Jones is so bloody good he make me nervous because we are screwed if he goes down with injury.

24-05-2024, 12:09 PM

Is that a pet of some sort? I'm glad my dog can't talk.

24-05-2024, 12:11 PM
+14 inside 50

Yeah...but what goes IN, must:

1/. Be a goal.
2/. Come out (i.e. Be a rebound 50).

If we are +14 for I50's and -4 for goals, well...they are going to have more rebound 50's than us.

We were +9 for i50 stops I think which kind of implies we DID hold it in.

24-05-2024, 12:17 PM
Is that a pet of some sort? I'm glad my dog can't talk.

Probably should've added in ''mate'', but probably didn't want to admit I have a mate that I attended the footy with who barracks for the Swans.

24-05-2024, 12:52 PM
Yeah...but what goes IN, must:

1/. Be a goal.
2/. Come out (i.e. Be a rebound 50).

If we are +14 for I50's and -4 for goals, well...they are going to have more rebound 50's than us.

We were +9 for i50 stops I think which kind of implies we DID hold it in.
Or they were good at killing it and forcing the stop and rebounding out? The 2 goals from 14 was a bad result.

24-05-2024, 02:09 PM
Or they were good at killing it and forcing the stop and rebounding out? The 2 goals from 14 was a bad result.

???

EVERY time there is an i50 there must be a:

GOAL;
R50.

We had 14x i50 stops which does mean we locked it in...Sydney only had 5...

From a STOP, there can be 3-outcomes.
1/. Repeat stop.
2/. We win.
3/. Sydney win.

Is it our stoppage work you are concerned about or fighting to keep the ball inside f50? Because getting 14x i50 stops implies we DID fight hard to keep it in...PLUS we kicked 16x points which pretty much guarantees 16x r50's...Sydney only kicked 6x points so our r50's will automatically be lower.

I mean, there is a discrepancy in the Rebounds but...

24-05-2024, 02:24 PM
???

GOAL;
R50.

1/. Repeat stop.
2/. We win.
3/. Sydney win.

Is it our stoppage work you are concerned about or fighting to keep the ball inside f50? Because getting 14x i50 stops implies we DID fight hard to keep it in...PLUS we kicked 16x points which pretty much guarantees 16x r50's...Sydney only kicked 6x points so our r50's will automatically be lower.

Yep. Spot on. Now please explain the difference between a possession and a disposal - i'm still confused from the ESPN explanation on their podcast from a few weeks ago.

24-05-2024, 03:06 PM
Finished watching. Those goals missed were brutal in the end, we kick straight that disgusting 50 doesn't mean as much. I still think we would have fallen short even if it was not paid. The 50 on Darcy was just as ridiculous but won't get mentioned as it was the opposite side of the ground. These idiots have no feel for how the game is played and their umpiring is robotic.

It's a disappointing loss regardless. Injuries were cruel but we were a different team last night. I really hope we can build off this and start getting some good scalps going forward. I also hope that this doesn't deflate the group and we start dropping back to previous form.

D Mitchell
24-05-2024, 03:13 PM
Well spotted, English disguised it beautifully.

24-05-2024, 03:13 PM
???

GOAL;
R50.

1/. Repeat stop.
2/. We win.
3/. Sydney win.

If we move it in fast on turn over and the swans scramble a stoppage that's a swans win. Then they r50 was what i was thinking. It's not exclusively us forcing a stoppage.

I get the correlation in the stats.

My point was of those 14 we only managed 13 points (2.1) whereas the Swans, from 5, scored 12 (2.0).

So our ability to score from f50 stoppage was poor v theirs.

I don't have the bench mark though as to what's "good". Swans seem to have been elite in this.

24-05-2024, 03:28 PM
I don't understand the purpose of the weekly crackdowns.

Someone at AFL House says let's take any nuance out of this area of the game so we can **** it up a bit more for a few weeks and then go back to how it was before.

Brilliant!!!

24-05-2024, 03:32 PM
If we move it in fast on turn over and the swans scramble a stoppage that's a swans win. Then they r50 was what i was thinking. It's not exclusively us forcing a stoppage.

ummmm....

You can only score from 3 things:
Kick-in
Turnover
Stop

So the Swans forcing a stop in OUR f50 is GOOD by us...it means we have a contest in scoring position...what we make of it, that's challenge b. Remember, it takes 2-teams for a stoppage so I guess if you're saying our delivery inside 50 isn't what it should be, I'd say 'COOL'. But if you had to choose between a Swans intercept possession and a stoppage, what would you choose? Scrambling to force a stoppage inside f50 is GOOD.

Now - should we have made more of those stoppages? Probs, yeah...but that's part 3:

1/. Get the inside 50 (tick)
2/. Win it or halve it (win it or halve it - Tick - we HALVED IT).
3/. Win or halve the stop...etc.

24-05-2024, 03:34 PM
Yep. Spot on. Now please explain the difference between a possession and a disposal - i'm still confused from the ESPN explanation on their podcast from a few weeks ago.

A possession is something you WIN - contested or uncontested.
A disposal is something that happens.

eg.
A kick in from a point is a disposal.
A soccer off the ground marked by the oppo is an INEFFECTIVE DISPOSAL (soccers only become disposals when they result in a subsequent stat)
A kick following on from a mark is a POSSESSION.

24-05-2024, 03:40 PM
A possession is something you WIN - contested or uncontested.
A disposal is something that happens.

eg.
A kick in from a point is a disposal.
A soccer off the ground marked by the oppo is an INEFFECTIVE DISPOSAL (soccers only become disposals when they result in a subsequent stat)
A kick following on from a mark is a POSSESSION.
Is there a way punters can access the champion data stats for a cost? I'd love to access it via an api and create custom queries.

24-05-2024, 03:54 PM
I don't understand the purpose of the weekly crackdowns.

Someone at AFL House says let's take any nuance out of this area of the game so we can **** it up a bit more for a few weeks and then go back to how it was before.

Brilliant!!!

Remember in, I think 2020 or 2021, where we had like 6 or 7 weeks of really strict holding the ball interpretation where pretty much everything was htb?? Then 2 weeks before finals started it completely vanished.

24-05-2024, 05:14 PM

My sister who sits in the same seat surrounded by Bulldog fans had a loud-mouth Swans fan sitting behind them who laughed every time we missed a goal (which was bad enough). A woman turned around and told him to pipe down. He moved away after half time.

I can't go to games so don't have a seat but apparently members are sent emails asking if they want to "sell" their seat back to the club if they're not going to a game so it can be reallocated to an opposition fan.
Surely no one likes that?

24-05-2024, 05:16 PM
Bevo said the defenders played for all of the second half, no breaks, as did English. Heroic effort.

24-05-2024, 05:18 PM
Is there a way punters can access the champion data stats for a cost? I'd love to access it via an api and create custom queries.

Here you go GG, the glossary of terms from Champion data

https://www.championdata.com/glossary/afl/

24-05-2024, 05:19 PM
Here you go GG, the glossary of terms from Champion data

https://www.championdata.com/glossary/afl/

You forgot to send your invoice!

24-05-2024, 05:19 PM

I am in aisle 31 and there were Swans fans taking up vacant seats

24-05-2024, 05:20 PM
You forgot to send your invoice!

It's in the mail :D

24-05-2024, 05:28 PM
I am in aisle 31 and there were Swans fans taking up vacant seats

I'm in aisle 32 and there are always opposition supporters in that area.

24-05-2024, 05:31 PM
I'm in aisle 32 and there are always opposition supporters in that area.

Level 2 ? if so Next time say hello :)

24-05-2024, 05:44 PM
Bevo said the defenders played for all of the second half, no breaks, as did English. Heroic effort.

Jones and Keath with 100%
Dale & Bramble with 94 and 92%
Williams with 91%
Duryea & Daniel with 89 and 88%

English had 91% TOG as well, Marra had 96%

Swans highest TOG was Gulden was 97% and next highest was Florent with 91%

24-05-2024, 06:36 PM
Gulden 97% is psychotic.

24-05-2024, 06:45 PM
Gulden 97% is psychotic.

Not suprising. But he covered the most distance on the night 16.2km. Next was Bramble 15.3km, CD 15.3km, Keath 14.9km, Florent 14.9km.

26-05-2024, 09:24 PM
Anyone feel like this game was very similar to our performance against Collingwood last year? At the game it felt the same, we looked like a top 8 side first half should have been further in front but their class shone through in the third while we battled hard late to steal it.

I really hope the season doesn't go the same way again, we need to see more of this from the group even with the injuries fingers crossed we can keep the momentum going against the Pies.

27-05-2024, 08:44 AM
Gulden 97% is psychotic.

He spoke openly recently that he wants to get to 100% game time shortly.

27-05-2024, 08:52 AM
Anyone feel like this game was very similar to our performance against Collingwood last year? At the game it felt the same, we looked like a top 8 side first half should have been further in front but their class shone through in the third while we battled hard late to steal it.

I really hope the season doesn't go the same way again, we need to see more of this from the group even with the injuries fingers crossed we can keep the momentum going against the Pies.

We just find ways to give up easy goals. It?s a systemic issue.

Losing both Naughton and Richards were extremely costly, you just can?t replace absolute quality in game and expect to beat the game?s benchmark.

However when you reflect we won every KPI except the one that counts, and it happens far too often to dismiss it.

27-05-2024, 06:34 PM
AFLCA Champion Player of the Year votes
Round 11 v Sydney

10 – Chad Warner
7 – Marcus Bontempelli
6 – Errol Gulden
3 – Adam Treloar
2 – Jamarra Ugle-Hagan
2 – Liam Jones