View Full Version : Bulldogs V Swans - Round 11, 23/5/24 Marvel Stadium 7:30PM AEST

21-05-2024, 11:57 AM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

22-05-2024, 12:31 PM
Margin: Dogs by 2 points
First goal: Jamarra Ugle Hagan
Best on ground: Ed Richards

22-05-2024, 12:33 PM
Via AFL Website: https://www.afl.com.au/news/1135243/r11-preview-swans-aim-for-88-year-high-cats-face-home-bogey

Western Bulldogs v Sydney, Marvel Stadium
Thursday, May 23, 7.30pm AEST
Last time: Sydney 11.12 (78) d Western Bulldogs 11.10 (76), R18 2023

What it means

The Western Bulldogs (5-5) have revitalised their season with back-to-back wins including a clinical dismantling of heated rivals Greater Western Sydney last week. But the Bulldogs are coming off a five-day break to face the white-hot Swans with further tests of their finals credentials to follow against the Pies, Lions and Dockers before a bye.

Sydney (9-1) can stretch its blistering start to the season to a 10-1 record for the first time since 1936 with a seventh consecutive victory when it faces the Bulldogs. The stunning streak has helped the Swans open up a gap on the chasing pack that they can maintain with a win over the Dogs before a week off with a bye.

Game shapers

The Bulldogs have been forced to shake up their midfield this year with Bailey Smith out for the season and Tom Liberatore sidelined in recent weeks. Dashing defender Ed Richards has made the most of his move to midfield over the past two weeks, winning the ball at the coalface while still using his pace to find space and move the ball forward at speed.

Isaac Heeney has lapped up the plaudits as the Swans have soared to the top of the ladder, but fellow onballer Chad Warner has been in similarly imperious form. Warner is all about maximum impact as he averages 24.5 disposals with 3.8 clearances, while booting the third most goals of all midfielders, with 15 from 10 matches.

Early tip: Sydney by 11 points

22-05-2024, 12:34 PM
Dogs by 9 points
West with the first goal
Naughton the best on ground

22-05-2024, 12:39 PM
Swans have been excellent, so we need 4 quarters of footy and limit our turnovers.

We can win this.

Dogs by: 14 points
First Goal: Marra
BOG: Adz

Mat Lyons
22-05-2024, 05:32 PM
Don't miss Dougie's magnificent comments on the topics EVERY Bulldog fan is talking about!...

\<font color="#1D1D1D"><span style="font-family: Verdana">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YoAHu_i4ps&amp;t

22-05-2024, 11:38 PM
Not sure the 5-day break helps after playing in the wet.

If we've got a few sick, this could be ugly.

Would love to see us throw everything at the Swans.

Sydney by 28
FG Darcy
BOG Bont

23-05-2024, 10:03 AM
I too have a bad feeling about this one. The Swans’ game style is quick as hell and really suited to Marvel, and I think they’ll open us up.

I’m also astonished that despite AFL.com.au telling me that the AFL has the best fixture guru in the history of fixture gurus that 5 day breaks off interstate trips are still happening.

23-05-2024, 10:14 AM
I too have a bad feeling about this one. The Swans’ game style is quick as hell and really suited to Marvel, and I think they’ll open us up.

So how do we counter that?

We know they're quick and like to move the ball quickly... we need to counter-act their ball movement and not allow ourselves to lose this way.

We must take this game into the trenches, clog up space in their front half (we can't give up out the back/ sling shot goals) and hopefully expose their lack of height in defence.

23-05-2024, 10:41 AM
I'm going to go out on a limb and say we'll win this one. We're playing some great footy right now and think Sydney is due to drop one. It would be a great scalp to have if we take it.

23-05-2024, 10:53 AM

We know they're quick and like to move the ball quickly... we need to counter-act their ball movement and not allow ourselves to lose this way.

We must take this game into the trenches, clog up space in their front half (we can't give up out the back/ sling shot goals) and hopefully expose their lack of height in defence.
Easier said than done, but we just need to be 'on' tonight. I know they have significant weapons and we need to put some work/plans into these (others have already articulated what these are and potential plans), but it really comes down to our unwavering competitiveness at contests for 120 minutes. If we are switched on tonight and our forward half gets plenty of good looks inside F50, they will have a really hard time stopping our key forwards in the air with McCartin still out. Francis, Melican and Rampe will need enormous help from the likes of Blakey zoning off and especially from their mids preventing our F50 supply.

It all starts with English v Grundy. Grundy has toyed with English in the past and Tim really has to attack the ruck contests tonight to blunt the stoppage threat of Grundy. Do that and we will be in this up to our eyeballs.

We are a tricky opponent for Sydney with our aerial threat up forward and our strong midfield notionally being able to match theirs (if 'good' Bulldogs show up). They also don't have absolute topline key forwards to exploit our weakness in the defensive half. On the flipside, they do have gun pressure forwards and their mids are also incredibly dangerous going forward.

23-05-2024, 10:54 AM
I'm going to go out on a limb and say we'll win this one. We're playing some great footy right now and think Sydney is due to drop one. It would be a great scalp to have if we take it.

Even though I hate Thursday night footy, I will be there and like you have a feeling we will knock this mob off.

23-05-2024, 11:30 AM
Easier said than done, but we just need to be 'on' tonight. I know they have significant weapons and we need to put some work/plans into these (others have already articulated what these are and potential plans), but it really comes down to our unwavering competitiveness at contests for 120 minutes. If we are switched on tonight and our forward half gets plenty of good looks inside F50, they will have a really hard time stopping our key forwards in the air with McCartin still out. Francis, Melican and Rampe will need enormous help from the likes of Blakey zoning off and especially from their mids preventing our F50 supply.

It all starts with English v Grundy. Grundy has toyed with English in the past and Tim really has to attack the ruck contests tonight to blunt the stoppage threat of Grundy. Do that and we will be in this up to our eyeballs.

We are a tricky opponent for Sydney with our aerial threat up forward and our strong midfield notionally being able to match theirs (if 'good' Bulldogs show up). They also don't have absolute topline key forwards to exploit our weakness in the defensive half. On the flipside, they do have gun pressure forwards and their mids are also incredibly dangerous going forward.

I can't believe it's taken you until the morning of the game to bring this topic up.... it's a little-known fact that Brodie slept in the change rooms last night. :D

Tim needs to be at his absolute best tonight... if he wants to be a million-dollar player, he needs to be up to the challenge opponents like Grundy presents.

I don't want to see us defending high tonight and I don't want to see Jones leaving D50, he needs to be our anchor point. I also want to see Bont spending more time as our ''defensive mid'' in terms of positioning tonight, especially early on... we need to be in the game for as long as possible so that we can take advantage of our tall forwards and feel Bont can really help in this area.

23-05-2024, 12:17 PM

Everything you’re saying is right but I don’t know that we can actually do it. They’re *really* good and have weapons everywhere.

The stats say that we should have a clear advantage at stoppage and will get killed outside of it. If we can be first and emphasise protecting the ball at the expense of there being any speed on it, I think it will go a long way. We also have to make their actual forwards be the one to try and kick their score. That space 65-50m out from goal is deadly for them when Warner, Heeney or Gulden have it.

I dunno. I just think they’re better than us.

23-05-2024, 12:37 PM
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2024/05/23/who-will-win-and-why-the-tips-and-predictions-for-afl-round-11/

Western Bulldogs v Sydney
Thursday - 7:30pm AEST – Marvel Stadium

Thursday night footy is set to return to its brilliant best in Round 11, with both the Western Bulldogs and Sydney Swans in strong form.

John Longmire’s Swans are shooting for a 10-1 record, a start to the season not seen for the club since 1936. They’ve been clinical throughout the 2024 season, with all of their wins coming by 22 points or more in proving potent ahead of the footy.

Ironically, their only loss came to now-17th Richmond. Make sense of that as you will, but Sydney holds no fears having since claimed the scalps of Gold Coast, GWS, Fremantle in Perth and most recently Carlton.

In defeating the Blues, Swan Chad Warner played the second best game seen this year on AFL rating points and proved that if you want to go after one star, another one is going to stand up in spades.

Combatting all of Sydney’s weapons is Luke Beveridge’s biggest headache on paper, with game-breakers on every line for the Swans.

But in what is a mild free hit for the Dogs after their last two wins, including most recently over the Giants at Engie Stadium, expect Beveridge’s men to come out firing on all cylinders.

They’ve averaged just shy over 100 points over the last three weeks, with key forward Aaron Naughton looking to be in career best form.

Ed Richards has also proven to be dynamite in the midfield, while a Liam Jones-led defence has conceded just 12 total goals in the last fortnight.

Their game is in good order, a leap back into the top eight beckons with a win and the Swans may be sleepy in the week before their bye.

But Sydney’s proven to be the most trustworthy team in the competition so far and have no chinks in their armour.

Tip: Sydney by 24 points.

Seb Mottram

23-05-2024, 12:44 PM

To be fair the last time that Grundy dominated English was round 1 2020. Grundy isn't that player anymore and English is much more mature.

For the 2021 game Martin did most of the ruck work. He didn't play us in 2022 and round 1 2023 it was more Gawn than Grundy.

23-05-2024, 02:21 PM
To be fair the last time that Grundy dominated English was round 1 2020. Grundy isn't that player anymore and English is much more mature.
Even if the historical comparison is not overly recent, it is not kind to English. But even taking that to the side, Grundy is on AA pace for 2024 - English needs to be as strong as possible at the ruck stoppages tonight.

Just maybe the acquisition of Grundy in the off-season is one of the key reasons why Sydney have gone from mid-table wasteland in 2023 to premiership favourites this year. It's just not talked about much with Heeney, Warner and Gulden getting all the headlines.

23-05-2024, 04:28 PM
Dogs by 22
BOG Harmes
First Goal Harmes

23-05-2024, 04:34 PM
Swans will be huge heavy favorites on this one, especially since we are flu ridden. only takes us to be off 1% and we are cactus.

Swans by 78
BOG: Warner

IF Bevo manages to get the boys up to win tonight all talk of him being in jeopardy this year will and must cease immediately.

Pleather Sole
23-05-2024, 04:51 PM
Dogs by 1-6
First goal West
BOG Ed White and Blue

23-05-2024, 05:14 PM
Nah, not off 5 days we won't

23-05-2024, 05:14 PM
Dogs by 3
first goal West
bog Ed the Red.

Really need a good start.
Let's emulate the '97 qualifying final against the Swans and have a 9 goal to zip first quarter.

Hopefully the supporters get right behind the boys from the get go and make it a hostile environment for the Swans.

23-05-2024, 05:15 PM
Swans will be huge heavy favorites on this one, especially since we are flu ridden. only takes us to be off 1% and we are cactus.

Swans by 78
BOG: Warner

IF Bevo manages to get the boys up to win tonight all talk of him being in jeopardy this year will and must cease immediately.

Has flu raised it's head in the ranks?

23-05-2024, 05:31 PM
Margin: us by one point
BOG : Harmes
first goal : Harmes

In a nail biting finish Harmes kicks an outrageous goal from outside 50. After the siren.

Nah, I really have no idea. Such a gap between our best and worst. Don’t like the mutterings that there are sore players, colds going round, 5 day break. Want us to be competitive and for effort to be unquestioned, but maybe they are just better than us.

23-05-2024, 07:01 PM
Dogs by 1 million points, or 1 point.
BOG:Naughton
First Goal: JUH

23-05-2024, 07:07 PM
Swans by 15
BOG Ben Richards the butcher of bakersfield (Ed)
FG : Jamarra Ugle-Hagan

23-05-2024, 07:12 PM
BOG in this thread is for who will be our BOG

23-05-2024, 07:16 PM
BOG in this thread is for who will be our BOG
Sorry I was trying to be funny referencing the Stephen King novel / later movie with arnie the running man. The protaganist is Ben Richards.

I mean Ed of course.

23-05-2024, 07:42 PM
Dogs by 2 points
BOG Bontempelli
First goal to Bamm-Bamm West

23-05-2024, 07:51 PM
I feel confident about this game. Dogs by 15 points. For once we're going to kick straight and snap a few miracle goals

23-05-2024, 07:58 PM
Did anyone watch the Swans only loss so far to Richmond?

If so, did the Swans just have a off day or did the Tigers do something special to stop them?

23-05-2024, 08:01 PM
JOD out. The flu has really hit us hard. 4 blokes that really should be home in bed with some of Nonna?s chicken soup.

Going to be tough

23-05-2024, 08:04 PM
Dermott interviewing Bevo finish a sentence challenge.

23-05-2024, 08:21 PM
Caleb warming up with the mids

23-05-2024, 08:22 PM
My son just changed his tips to Bulldogs. We're stuffed now. :D

23-05-2024, 08:24 PM
No predictions, but Go 'Dogs.

23-05-2024, 08:32 PM
I thought that guy was going to keep talking until 8pm.

23-05-2024, 08:35 PM
Darcy on Francis is a dream match up, because that guy stinks.

23-05-2024, 08:37 PM
Damn Scott, he has missed a lot with concussion in previous years hasn't he?

23-05-2024, 08:40 PM
Poor Tony Scott!

23-05-2024, 08:41 PM
Grundy is such a chump.

23-05-2024, 08:41 PM
That's really smart from English, engaging with Grundy so the latter goes too hard on the body/ hold. Then goads him for the fifty.

Can't knock the start.

23-05-2024, 08:43 PM
Richards is what we've needed for so long.

23-05-2024, 08:44 PM
What a gift

Bont that is completely ****ed mate.

Dumb freebie…

23-05-2024, 08:45 PM
Joke of a 50. A time were umpire abuse should be allowed.

23-05-2024, 08:46 PM
Bont that is completely ****ed mate.

He didn't even really swat at the ball though...was just unlucky imo.

Freijah dont kick on the back foot short in defence.

Bont FFS.

23-05-2024, 08:48 PM
Freijah with a couple dodgy acts

So when is it advantage and when is it not advantage?

Nobody else could have gotten a free just then.

Jones disposal is horrid we have given them both goals .

Look forward to Naughton getting some soft frees like that. And lucky Hayward didn't take the advantage!

23-05-2024, 08:49 PM
Amartey is going to join the "duds with career best figures v the dogs" club.

Majak Daw being the patron saint.

23-05-2024, 08:50 PM
No second chances with this mob. They are burning us with our mistakes.

23-05-2024, 08:51 PM
Defence is all over the place. But also coming in way too fast.

23-05-2024, 08:51 PM
Amartey is going to join the "duds with career best figures v the dogs" club.

Majak Daw being the patron saint.

Billing’s as well.

23-05-2024, 08:55 PM
Great work Ed and Vitas

23-05-2024, 08:57 PM
These posts.

23-05-2024, 09:00 PM
Can?t give them the ball.

We’ve done well to keep them in the game and now ahead.

Rushed kick into jamara with 2 swans players in front of him who were always going to cut it off.

Another gift from our backline. This is Hawks level turnovers.

Dale, seriously. If you're not sure go to a defensive position not down the guts!

To mirror Bevo's sentiments. **** me.

23-05-2024, 09:05 PM
Great finish to the quarter

23-05-2024, 09:05 PM
West is such a mixed bag player. No idea why he didn't bring Daniel into the game, then goes crazy hard at the footy and causes turnovers. Misses easy shots.

He's my new bingo card player, now that Hunter has gone.

23-05-2024, 09:06 PM
Marra converting a set shot is such a relief.

23-05-2024, 09:07 PM
English, Naughts, Darcy & Marra.

The four headed monster returns.

23-05-2024, 09:08 PM
All above the shoulders.

Good hes stuck with the 5 and 5 he can't be chopping and changing too much.

Great qtr by the boys against the ladder leaders. Felt we were the better team but letting get a couple of easy goals. Great signs from our younger lads

Was a great block by English

Feel for Scott he has had quite a few concussions . Hope he is ok

23-05-2024, 09:09 PM
West could have really pushed us away. A missed easy shot and the no hand ball to Daniel who would have pretty much run into an open goal.
We are going ok though all our forwards are getting marks , just our stupidity giving them goals.

23-05-2024, 09:09 PM
Great quarter. They really do make you play well and we are. Hopefully we maintain the rage.

Grundy trying to rough English up multiple times.

Transition we look vulnerable but they're a super skilled side. Jones needs to play closer because of it - don't rate either of their talks but you have to actually be close enough to impact the contest

23-05-2024, 09:10 PM
English’s best game this year so far

Gags needs to get his hands on the ball but he is playing a negating role

Scott can’t take a trick we need his speed and hardness in this game.

23-05-2024, 09:11 PM
Great courage by English going back with the flight at D50 halfway through the qtr. Good signs.

Man, the Swans are deadly by foot. Need to keep the pressure up, so far so good.

23-05-2024, 09:12 PM
Impressive start by Sanders.

Looks hardened.

Freijah getting a lesson in playing against the best.

Ed Richards is elite since his move into midfield. Top shelf Elite.

Richards has changed the entire season outlook for.me. We look so much more dangerous with his penetration and clean skills.

Where does Libba play??!

23-05-2024, 09:14 PM
Naughty has done his knee

23-05-2024, 09:17 PM
JUH needs to be dragged after that. Gives away a shit free kick, then just walks and lets Blakey run it on.

Im flat. That tackle. Putting all your weight through Naughts legs. Legal but yuk.

Naughty has done his knee

Maybe.

Reckon it might be a lower grade one, hopefully.

23-05-2024, 09:19 PM
Thinking Naughts will be ok.

Posters. FMD.

JUH doesn't kick it with enough intent. Needs to stop leaning back.

Damn Gags.

23-05-2024, 09:20 PM
Lucky Gags.

Gallagher omg that’s twice now he can’t kick an open goal

I hope you're right, i fear the worst.

23-05-2024, 09:22 PM
Sorry English back to his normal self. Weak in our goal square

23-05-2024, 09:22 PM
Jesus . If we were clean they wouldn’t get near us.
We are our own worst enemy.

23-05-2024, 09:23 PM
Sorry English back to his normal self. Weak in our goal square

If it was the other way round, Amartey is getting an arm chop free kick.

23-05-2024, 09:24 PM
Westy Bingo!!!

23-05-2024, 09:24 PM
Put Naughton in defence now

23-05-2024, 09:25 PM
Westy is so good at those scrapping goals.

Great game.

23-05-2024, 09:25 PM

It's a mechanism that could be any of ACL, meniscus, medial collateral ligaments...or all three. Wait and see.

23-05-2024, 09:27 PM
Jamarra is just so poor when he picks the ball up at ground level. Either gets tackled turning back into traffic, turns it over or gets his disposal blocked. Been a huge issue since day 1 and no sign of improvement.

23-05-2024, 09:29 PM
If it was the other way round, Amartey is getting an arm chop free kick.
Punch it through

23-05-2024, 09:29 PM
Should be a few goals up. Cmon dogs.

23-05-2024, 09:30 PM
Geez we throw games away with those shots at goals.

23-05-2024, 09:31 PM
Disappointing. Cmon dogs, get it back.

How does Dale miss that FFS.

How the **** does West miss JUH in the pocket.

Then they get it up their end, no worries.

There's your moment right there, sloppy, missed tackles all the way upfield.

23-05-2024, 09:32 PM
And there it is the return goal as always. Miss easy shots and then whack down the other end.

Jacko needs to stick those tackles.

Cmon Dogs.

So annoying, we waste a lot of rudimentary shots and entries and then they get it in for a goal.

Did Syd just break 5-6 lacklustre tackles. Launghable. We tackle like little boys

23-05-2024, 09:33 PM
Bees to a honey pot. Keep your width boys.

23-05-2024, 09:33 PM
Nice save Keath.

23-05-2024, 09:34 PM
If Macrae can?t stick his tackles he has no value in the team.

23-05-2024, 09:35 PM
This is going to be a very tough ask now. We've not historically coped well with major injuries during big games before.

I get the feeling this could get nasty.
2 players down already.

Has Macrae forgotten how to tackle?

It's a mechanism that could be any of ACL, meniscus, medial collateral ligaments...or all three. Wait and see.
Thanks JD.

23-05-2024, 09:36 PM
Bont is having a bad one when we need him to stand up.

23-05-2024, 09:37 PM
Bont is having a bad one when we need him to stand up.

Bont looks lethargic as f**k

23-05-2024, 09:38 PM
How does Dale miss that FFS.

How the **** does West miss JUH in the pocket.

Then they get it up their end, no worries.

JUH and West are having a lovers tiff. Before that JUH was mouthing off to West about letting his opponent intercepting.

Garcia!

Great forward contest work and a great finish from Garcia.

Excellent.

23-05-2024, 09:39 PM
Put Naughton in defence now

Nice, kicking a bloke when his down.

23-05-2024, 09:40 PM
Not dropping our heads at all. I like it.

Suck shit Warner you little ****en bogan.

Marra has lifted.

23-05-2024, 09:41 PM
Lizard has shit himself twice.
Given up two goals

23-05-2024, 09:42 PM
Suck shit Warner you little ****en bogan.

He looks like the king hitting type.

23-05-2024, 09:44 PM
We are playing so well, loving this.

23-05-2024, 09:45 PM
Fantastic stuff from the Dogs.

Was about to get into all of Bont, Richards and Treloar in that second, but each of them really got us back into it.

23-05-2024, 09:45 PM
Liam Jones, take a bow.

23-05-2024, 09:46 PM
I love Liam Jones.

Gutsy

Liam Jones, take a bow.

Much better positioning by Jones that quarter

Tighten up next half. Win.

Cmon boys.

We are playing so well, loving this.

Yes agree. Extremely well

Has Naughton done a knee

Great half of footy. Arguably our best for a few years given the opponent and that we're down 2.

As much as I've loved this half, can't help but wonder about Naughton.

23-05-2024, 09:47 PM
Any news on Naughton injury?

Has Naughton done a knee

BT said that it's not an ACL

NoseBleed
Gonna be important that we don?t drop our heads over Naughts after 1/2 time.

Short break and 3 on the bench will be an uphill battle.

23-05-2024, 09:48 PM
Has Naughton done a knee

Just said on tv it looking ok.

23-05-2024, 09:49 PM
This is a good game of footy! We've had patches of playing well in 2024 but IMO never looked like one of the better sides. Tonight is a different story, we actually look like we belong. Keep fighting Dogs!

23-05-2024, 09:49 PM
Love Garcia?s composure. The best half in a long time should be a few up.

23-05-2024, 09:50 PM
Garcia has grown so much with confidence since he came into the side.

Naughty ACL?

That Garcia goal got me off the coach. A ripper.

Marra kicking to the top of the square when Marra was alone in the pocket also got me off the couch. A stinker.

23-05-2024, 09:51 PM
Has Naughton done a knee

AFL needs to do something about that Melican tackle.

He's hurt it very badly. Just HOW badly is the question.

Reading these posts you would reckon we were down by goals. Two players short, and up at half time against the top team, we must be doing something right.

How about a bit of credit and gratitude for the things the boys are doing right.

Loving Sanders' edge. Playing angry. Looks up to the pace of the game and physicality is miles ahead of early in the year. Great signs.

23-05-2024, 09:53 PM
Love Garcia?s composure. The best half in a long time should be a few up.
How good was English in that play to Garcia

23-05-2024, 09:54 PM
Excellent game so far. Loved it when Chompers halved the aerial contest in our defensive goal square against one of their tall forwards and saved a goal about halfway through that qtr. He does a couple of those acts every week.

23-05-2024, 09:54 PM
I hope Naughton is just a knee cap hit

23-05-2024, 09:55 PM
Agree Jeanette54. We?re in this right up to our eyeballs. Boys are doing us proud. Just need to hit up our forwards better and we can win this. X finger Naughts injury is not a bad one.

Garcia - you bloody gun!!!

Richards, Bont, Treloar, Jones Boy, Saunders, Doc?. So many doing well.

23-05-2024, 09:57 PM
Excellent game so far. Loved it when Chompers halved the aerial contest in our defensive goal square against one of their tall forwards and saved a goal about halfway through that qtr. He does a couple of those acts every week.

Love that I knew who you were talking about as soon as I read Chompers.

He looks confident and is giving us a fair bit that doesn't always translate to a stat sheet.

Reading these posts you would reckon we were down by goals. Two players short, and up at half time against the top team, we must be doing something right.

How about a bit of credit and gratitude for the things the boys are doing right.

Really? I feel like the vibe is pretty good.

Lots of worry for Naughton but I think there have been enough compliments and positive comments!

It's the game day thread babyyyyyy

I really hope those misses and the loss of Scott and now Naughton find us coming up short.
This is going to be a very, very tough second half if we're not at 100% for 100% of the time remaining.

We need to be smarter with our ball use into F50 in the 2nd half. No Naughts so we need to spot up the shorter leading targets, otherwise they will double and triple team JUH and Darcy.

23-05-2024, 09:58 PM
Any news on the TV coverage about Naughton?

23-05-2024, 09:58 PM
I'm very proud of the performance so far, but we're in a very precarious position against a tail up opposition who the whole football love is in love with right now.

23-05-2024, 10:00 PM

Jon Ralph said word from the dogs is we aren't sure.

My read is that the ACL integrity tests were negative, but because they aren't very reliable with false positives/negatives they will have to do scans to confirm anyway.

Best guess is it's not immediately apparent it's an ACL, however need scans to confirm.

Edit: what our resident physio Dr JD said.

Nothing conclusive. Tests.. clubs hoping it's like his previous knee injury in that final against GWS a few years back.
I think they're putting a very hopeful spin on it.
See what the tests say and hope for the best. It's a horrible scenario for us. He's impossible to replace as like for like.

At the game half time
Not much in it.
65 vs 70 % kicking efficiency.

Swans area very disciplined teamand dont give us much space.
We need to take our chancesm those missed shots in front ofngoals need ti cinvert.
Jones great mark at end of second quarter.

Richards was on fire in hmthe first quarter.

Hope Naughton is ok but it looked bas..
Scott very unlucky.

We need to win thus game , big challenge.

23-05-2024, 10:01 PM

Reporter saying it looks an ACL on the video of incident but we don’t know yet.

23-05-2024, 10:02 PM
Thank you for the Naughton updates. Fingers crossed.

23-05-2024, 10:04 PM
What happened to Scott?

23-05-2024, 10:05 PM
What happened to Scott?

Concussion head knock in the first couple of minutes

What happened to Scott?

Concused in a head clash. Very early.

Head clash for Ed.. dropping like flies.

23-05-2024, 10:06 PM
Now Ed possibly concussed. Bloody hell.

23-05-2024, 10:06 PM
This is ridiculous. We're stuffed. Richards is surely out too now.

23-05-2024, 10:07 PM
Need to switch on again.

Yep we are goneski.

Very flat start. Don't do this now guys.

23-05-2024, 10:08 PM
I've got to go to bed, have to get up early.

23-05-2024, 10:09 PM
Umpire was going to blow whistle on the toss tackle on Treloar then didn’t .. **** Me

23-05-2024, 10:11 PM
Marra.

23-05-2024, 10:11 PM
Love u marra.

23-05-2024, 10:19 PM
Getting frustrating. Dominating most areas but the goals.

23-05-2024, 10:20 PM
So poor from Keith.

Gotta get to bed. 4am start, these time slots suck!

Keath and Jones 65 years between them and played it like under 9s.

Concused in a head clash. Very early.

Just seen it. Football incident very freak - two guys putting their head's over the ball

23-05-2024, 10:21 PM
So poor from Keith.

Jones needed to take one step back over the boundary. His decision making tonight has been off.

23-05-2024, 10:22 PM
What did we ever see in Bramble, he is a liability every time he has the ball in his hand?

What did we ever see in Bramble?

Clanger king.

Gee Bramble is a trash footballer

Feels like that could be it.

23-05-2024, 10:23 PM
Why is he still playing (Bramble).

Gags has struggled too.

Can't keep playing Bramble when he keeps making those errors

Geez bramble just kick it ffs.
Injuries taking there toll . Any news on Richard’s ?

Why is Bramble in the team? The only thing he offers is pace but he runs himself into trouble all the time.

It should have never come down to Cleary out and Bramble staying in.

23-05-2024, 10:24 PM
I dont mind Bramble.

Good two way player.

Gaggs ****ed it.

23-05-2024, 10:26 PM
Geez bramble just kick it ffs.
Injuries taking there toll . Any news on Richard’s ?

He’s out

I dont mind Bramble.

Good two way player.

Gaggs ****ed it.

I mean, Bramble fumbled then tried to duck through two tacklers and refused to give the hands. Horrendous play

Ed is out.

Richards out with concussion.

23-05-2024, 10:28 PM
Take him over Bramble. Bloody hell.

23-05-2024, 10:30 PM
We need to hold the ball up here. They're running over the ground

We need players to start going the knee into backs. Swans have been bullying us out there and letting it, at least let someone line up Melican.

Just the margin now. Great while we fought it out.

23-05-2024, 10:31 PM
They will run away with it now just our luck big game and we get injuries during the game.
And not just this week but next week as well.

23-05-2024, 10:31 PM
Disappointing. We were right in this. Bloody injuries.

23-05-2024, 10:32 PM
Just the margin now. Great while we fought it out.

You can’t lose 3 players off a 5 day break, especially the best key forward on the ground and the leading midfielder.

23-05-2024, 10:32 PM
This will be a hiding now , and the media will say how good Sydney are is the worst part.

23-05-2024, 10:33 PM
They can talk it up as much as they want but we had these nupties

23-05-2024, 10:35 PM
Footy ain?t fair sometimes.

23-05-2024, 10:35 PM
Hard to watch.

We would have beaten this mob on an even setting tonight.

23-05-2024, 10:36 PM
We were having too good a run. Oh well.

Sam Darcy has had a bit of a lesson in aerial contests tonight. Swans defenders have been excellent in bumping him off balance just before the ball lands.

We need Bont to lift and play out of his skin this quarter

23-05-2024, 10:37 PM
We are really against it with3 injuries, 5 day break and dumb umpires

23-05-2024, 10:38 PM
Sam Darcy has had a bit of a lesson in aerial contests tonight. Swans defenders have been excellent in bumping him off balance just before the ball lands.

Also double teaming him at every opportunity, not that the players kicking inside 50 are taking any notice.

Still in this one. We just need a lift from Daniel and Jamara.

Can't wait for everyone to get the wanksuits out and blitz a team and coach that lost two runners to concussion including a key mid, and the competition's highest rated forward in the process of losing to the competition's best team.

But......it's not over until it's absolutely over. I expect us to come out and do what we can to try and win it. I expect our captain to stand up, and I expect Treloar and Dale to stand up with Jacko, Daniel and our experienced defenders in tow.

Come on lads.

I wonder what Bevo will do ? Put a tall back ?

23-05-2024, 10:39 PM

A lesson in how nice it is to have Aaron Naughton playing alongside you as well...

23-05-2024, 10:40 PM
Also double teaming him at every opportunity, not that the players kicking inside 50 are taking any notice.
Yeah there's been a bit of that, but he has been well beaten one out a few times as well. Great learning experience for him.

We played into their hands by bombing it in that qtr - needed to spot up the short on the lead more.

23-05-2024, 10:41 PM
A lesson in how nice it is to have Aaron Naughton playing alongside you as well...

Been a huge gap.

But in the end we don't have the legs. Cruel game.

Sanders has done some good things- apart from his kick out on the full

I wonder what Bevo will do ? Put a tall back ?

I actually think he's pretty happy to have Sanders, Garcia and Gags in the midfield, getting important experience in a high pressure game.

I'd prefer to have Macrae, Harmes, Daniel getting mid minutes as I think it gives a higher chance of a win.

23-05-2024, 10:42 PM
Warner goal and that?s the game right their.

I could have smothered that ****en ball from my couch Gags.

Williams had a shocker. Gags too

23-05-2024, 10:44 PM
Bont cant be fit.

He looks 150.

Harmes with a nice finish.

Great stuff from Daniel and Harmes.

Still in it. Need a Swans lapse, but still in it.

23-05-2024, 10:45 PM
Bont cant be fit.

He looks 150.

Carrying a lot by the looks of things.

23-05-2024, 10:46 PM
Jeez Gags needs a spell

23-05-2024, 10:46 PM
Excellent from Caleb. Love it

23-05-2024, 10:48 PM
Carrying a lot by the looks of things.
We should manage him one side of the bye.

23-05-2024, 10:48 PM
One thing we're very good at is finding ways to screw up an absolute easy play.

23-05-2024, 10:49 PM
Jones has looked his age tonight.

Jones had to call Duryea out of that, and just take the mark himself.

I'm so glad Duryea decided not to trust Jones with that and fly leaving Warner on the ground.

23-05-2024, 10:50 PM
21 shots to 20 shots - and we are 24 points down…

23-05-2024, 10:51 PM
A few out there on their feet. Injuries took away a cracking game.

23-05-2024, 10:52 PM
Disappointing. We were right in this. Bloody injuries.

........... 8 minutes to go in the third 1/4 .before Bramble in another moment of idiocy decided he could take on half the Swans team we were just 5 points down - then Warner goaled soon after.

How was that not htb??

**** off Heeney.

Now they kick magic goals, when things aren’t going your way they definitely go against you in all ways

The umpiring has been incredibly poor tonight, consistent with most games I've watched this year.

I really don?t know how to respond but 21 shots on goal a piece and a e are 5 goals down.

23-05-2024, 10:53 PM
Can't one of those arrogant pricks get knocked out instead of Ed...

We all knew he'd miss that right?

Captains point.

23-05-2024, 10:54 PM
I really don?t know how to respond but 21 shots on goal a piece and a e are 5 goals down.
That's a very misleading comparison.

Oils aint oils (shots aint shots).

Swans have generated a massive amount from turnover which means the shots are much much easier.

23-05-2024, 10:54 PM
Can't believe Bont missed it left. It's almost as if his kicking action where he swings his boot across his body has a flaw in it.