View Full Version : Bulldogs V Dockers - Round 14, 15/6/24 Marvel Stadium 1:45PM AEST

11-06-2024, 12:28 PM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

13-06-2024, 09:38 PM
Margin: Dogs by 3 points
First goal: Jamarra Ugle Hagan
Best on ground: Ed Richards

13-06-2024, 09:41 PM
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2024/06/13/who-will-win-and-why-the-tips-and-predictions-for-afl-round-14-1/

Western Bulldogs v Fremantle
Saturday - 1:45pm AEST – Marvel Stadium

Before last week’s loss to Brisbane, the Western Bulldogs suggested they were looking forward to the bye and their performance proved it.

Now, the Dogs have to lick their wounds and go again one more time before a fortnight’s break. Luke Beveridge is a master of galvanizing his men against the odds, but could he lift the Dogs’ performance after a 43-point loss last week and against a team which has lost just one of its last five games.

Beveridge and the Dogs are up against it to keep in touch with the top eight.

Fremantle, on the other hand, are brimming with confidence having belted Melbourne by 92 points prior to the bye. That win looks less impressive than first thought after the Demons’ King’s Birthday loss, but the Dockers’ form since a six-goal loss in the WA Derby is solid.

Justin Longmuir’s troops have come to Melbourne twice since to record impressive wins against Richmond and St Kilda, while a draw against Collingwood also reads well.

But also nestled in that block of contests was the last time Fremantle met the Bulldogs. It was less than two months ago when Fremantle posted a four-goal triumph over the Dogs at home.

With the margin just five points at the final break, Longmuir’s men kicked away in the last to record a comfortable win. Given the Dogs’ physical state, with Alex Keath the latest to succumb to injury in Round 13, Fremantle will enjoy a clear mental edge in the last term in a close contest.

Yet Beveridge has proven time and time again, even in 2024, that his Dogs are not to be underestimated and with Ed Richards (concussion) and Cody Weightman (elbow) a chance to return from injury, the home side will be up for the fight.

Tip: Fremantle by 11 points.

Seb Mottram

13-06-2024, 10:13 PM
Dogs by 11
First Goal Weightman
BOG Adz

13-06-2024, 10:48 PM
Freo by 26.
FG Lobb
BOG Treloar

Ominous signs with Bont being ill and not training. I also hate how we match up against them defensively. Jones plays loose at times but to do that he needs better support around him. Problem is Khamis plays even looser and JOD is still green.

We would need to win the midfield battle but we don't look overly potent forward. Cody back helps but they're a well drilled defensive unit.

Reckon this has all the hallmarks of being a dog of a day and one that ends our season.

13-06-2024, 10:52 PM
Freo by 30
FG Vandermeer
BOG Serong

13-06-2024, 11:07 PM
Freo by 25
FG Marra
BOG Treloar

13-06-2024, 11:12 PM
Dogs by 1 point (I don't tip against but would if I did)
First goal to Bontempelli starting forward
BOG English

13-06-2024, 11:17 PM
Won't be able to watch this until the match is finished sadly. Hopefully that's a good omen

13-06-2024, 11:57 PM
It’s not going to rain Saturday - anyone interested in joining me to lobby the stadium / league to open the roof so that this could feel like a real game of footy?

14-06-2024, 10:00 AM
For those interested:

Luke Beveridge will speak to the media this morning ahead of our Round 14 match against Freo on Saturday.

�� You can listen via Twitter Spaces from approx. 9:45am.

14-06-2024, 10:08 AM
Dogs by 35
First goal: West
BOG: Richards

14-06-2024, 11:38 AM
Them by 20+

I have a real hard time actively wanting the team I support to lose, especially one with Bont in the team. I hope he is a late withdrawal, and we get beat which gives more credence to a coaching change at the end of the season

I've tried to be positive and was hopeful that our selection integrity would improve, which I thought was given early season indicators, but it still remains a ''boys club'' and given we've been stuck as a bog avearge team for a 3rd successive year (when really we should be better), well there's the door.

15-06-2024, 01:16 PM
All emergencies playing for Footscray.

15-06-2024, 01:44 PM
I love Sarurday arvo games. I can get here and home around dinner time. Perfect!!

15-06-2024, 01:54 PM
Caleb Daniel is the sub.

15-06-2024, 02:09 PM
Dogs by: who cares, just win.
First goal and BOG: Not important as long as they are wearing Bulldog colours.

Sorry, but only a Bulldog win matters at this stage.

15-06-2024, 02:36 PM
Dogs by 21 points
BOG Bont with 4 goals
1st Goal West

15-06-2024, 02:39 PM
Darcy + Naughton authored half our score against this mob last time so gunna be fascinating to see what we can conjure without them.

Not letting Fyfe party like it's 2015 might be a start.

15-06-2024, 02:43 PM
Dogs by 17
First goal Marra
BOG Dale

15-06-2024, 03:01 PM
I’m sick of watching the opposition just run through the middle for 5 years and hit their forwards, while we couldn’t hit the side of a barn door going forward.

15-06-2024, 03:02 PM
Jeez this is way too easy and way too predictable.

Atrocious f50 entry and then a paddock for them yo rebound into without any competition. Sick of seeing it honestly.

15-06-2024, 03:04 PM
No composure going inside 50m and then getting sling shot out the back. So predictable.

15-06-2024, 03:06 PM
Why didn’t Bont just run on and kick the goal he had miles to do what he wanted.

15-06-2024, 03:07 PM
Mids getting belted

Gonna be a looooong afternoon.

15-06-2024, 03:07 PM
Freo are quick and make us pay full price for our errors.

15-06-2024, 03:08 PM
Every turnover they just go direct. When they turn it over we go sideways, backwards and out wide to a 50/50.

Going to get destroyed unless we change our way.

15-06-2024, 03:09 PM
I just don't get the rules of this game anymore....the ball was knocked out of the tackle yet called htb. Fyfe got away with the same earlier.

15-06-2024, 03:10 PM
Mids getting belted

Gonna be a looooong afternoon.

What’s new ? And no one defensive side when they are winning it as usual.

15-06-2024, 03:11 PM
I just don't get the rules of this game anymore....the ball was knocked out of the tackle yet called htb. Fyfe got away with the same earlier.

We are on the wrong side of it every week

15-06-2024, 03:11 PM
By the time we go forward they are camped inside our 50m. Completely getting out coached at the moment.

15-06-2024, 03:13 PM
That?s better. Move the ball fast and it?s amazing what can happen.

15-06-2024, 03:16 PM
Wow that’s not holding the ball ?

15-06-2024, 03:18 PM
We can win this game if we hit up Lobb. Big call i know but our players refuse to kick to him its getting ridiculous.

Holding the ball lol

15-06-2024, 03:19 PM
Weightman playing, helps West too. Best small defender goes to Flea.

So what *is* holding the ball?

Hugely important goal after multiple surges forward. Richards looks so dangerous in the forward half. Go Dogs!

Well it would seem rumours of Libba's death have been greatly exaggerated.

They've really nailed the holding the ball interpretation this week.

15-06-2024, 03:20 PM
Holding the the ball rule is a joke. Freijah given a millisecond and then Brayshaw given an eternity.

I know it?s a difficult game to umpire, but surely you need to be more consistent than that.

15-06-2024, 03:20 PM

That one on the half forward flank was right in front of me. Everyone in my bay should be eligible for compensation.

15-06-2024, 03:21 PM

It?s a really rusty nail too.

15-06-2024, 03:22 PM
Holding the the ball rule is a joke. Freijah given a millisecond and then Brayshaw given an eternity.

I know it?s a difficult game to umpire, but surely you need to be more consistent than that.

As predicted the new interpretation is a shambles.

What I don't get is why we've been on the wrong end of it every week.

15-06-2024, 03:23 PM
What about - we eliminate holding the ball entirely. Libba would be the best player of all time.

15-06-2024, 03:36 PM
Bailey Dale runing riot

15-06-2024, 03:38 PM
Our pressure is awesome.

Somebody look up the pressure acts.

15-06-2024, 03:39 PM
Lobb lengths ahead of English today

We won the holding the ball lottery that time!

VDM. Geee whiz. Misses the mark and then tackles high.

15-06-2024, 03:41 PM
Should be 5-6 goals up.

15-06-2024, 03:42 PM
And down they go with an easy goal again. Why is it so easy against us ?

15-06-2024, 03:44 PM
The minute we don?t completely dominate the game. We cough up cheap goals.

How are we so bad at setting up behind the ball?

Khamis just doesn't know where to position himself.

That Dale dropped marl could be the moment. 2 goal swing sp far....

15-06-2024, 03:46 PM
We are always in front of the forward so all they have to do is kick the ball over the top and they run into an open goal.
At least have one defender at the back

15-06-2024, 03:47 PM
Khamis is a stop gap when we have no one, he just hasn’t got anything but what he is coached.

15-06-2024, 03:49 PM
That is just awesome Bont. Awesome

15-06-2024, 03:50 PM
There are not enough superlatives to describe the Bont

15-06-2024, 03:51 PM
Bont. No words. I have run out of adjectives.

We are blessed.

15-06-2024, 03:52 PM
Pressure has been fantastic.

15-06-2024, 03:53 PM
I love how they can be incompetent and miss clear marks, and then get told it's OK.

15-06-2024, 03:54 PM
Lobb has been good today.

That goal by Treloar - superb & the one by Bont….Just magic.

15-06-2024, 03:56 PM
I love how they can be incompetent and miss clear marks, and then get told it's OK.

I thought I must have missed something. Like it was touched.

Lobb has been good today.

That goal by Treloar - superb & the one by Bont….Just magic.

Yep Lobb has been good. Might not get many possessions but contesting well and doing some good things off the ball.

Great quarter.

Just hope we've got enough tickets to finish it off. We look gassed and freo of course are well rested.

15-06-2024, 03:58 PM
That goal by Bont, I'm not sure any other player in the comp could do that.

Treloar with the running goal a beauty too.

Good pressure today and impressed by Lobbs ability to just compete. He's actually won quite a few ground balls and I don't recall him being outmarked once.

Bont man. Witness him.

One of the great grabs... such a shame. Reckon he would have dobbed it too.

Bramble having his best game.

15-06-2024, 03:59 PM
Worth the drive today just to see that Bont goal up close. What a God.

Bont man. Witness him.

That was about 20 metres from where I’m sitting and holy ****, I nearly ascended.

One of the great grabs... such a shame. Reckon he would have dobbed it too.

Cracking (non) mark. Seriously how did they not pay that.

15-06-2024, 04:00 PM
Great quarter.

Just hope we've got enough tickets to finish it off. We look gassed and freo of course are well rested.

If we can win this look out after the bye . Naughton, Darcy back and maybe Coffield.
O’Donnell is becoming a player and Lobb is doing a lot of 1% that are not recorded as anything but make a difference.

15-06-2024, 04:01 PM
That was about 20 metres from and holy ****, I nearly ascended.

Must have been awesome that close. It’s not like he was against average defenders- Pearce and Ryan - just toyed with them. There is no one better

15-06-2024, 04:01 PM
If Bontempelli's goal of the year doesn't inspire a win nothing will. The non-decision on English' mark was pathetic.
And just before 1/2 time where were the trainers when English had a head cut ?

15-06-2024, 04:04 PM
Treloar 6 tackles. Not only is he great offensively but his defence, often overlooked, is bloody good

15-06-2024, 04:09 PM
As long as we can win the middle and Bont stays forward we will win

15-06-2024, 04:10 PM
Must have been awesome that close. It?s not like he was against average defenders- Pearce and Ryan - just toyed with them. There is no one better

Absolutely outstanding. Was on my feet.

15-06-2024, 04:11 PM
Treloar 6 tackles. Not only is he great offensively but his defence, often overlooked, is bloody good

Great call.

Been amazing this year and really, his service from day one has been elite

15-06-2024, 04:12 PM
As long as we can win the middle and Bont stays forward we will win

I am dreading the last quarter, which is when the game normally opens up a bit. Maintaining pressure as we have been able to is draining on all concerned. An open game will give Freo a good opportunity to exploit their speed advantage.

15-06-2024, 04:17 PM
Does Bont have the ball on a string? What are we witnessing here?

15-06-2024, 04:18 PM
Sign that #29

15-06-2024, 04:20 PM
Awesome start, Buku isn't an AFL player.

15-06-2024, 04:20 PM
Buku has nfi as a defender.

15-06-2024, 04:23 PM
Our forward pressure is off the charts today.

15-06-2024, 04:27 PM
Maybe the bye wasnt good for Freo.

15-06-2024, 04:28 PM
Sign that #29

Rather have BTC.

I've only just dialled in, commentators very positive about Rory Lobb. This is good but also annoying.

15-06-2024, 04:30 PM
Scott on Ryan working.

15-06-2024, 04:31 PM
Rather have BTC.

I've only just dialled in, commentators very positive about Rory Lobb. This is good but also annoying.

In 2012 my nerd colleagues had bitcoin miners and I laughed at them. So me too.

15-06-2024, 04:34 PM
Sam Power should leave the ground now and start working the phones for a KPD.

15-06-2024, 04:35 PM
I’m worried

15-06-2024, 04:36 PM
This is poor now. We missed a couple of easy set shots. Should have been 10+ goals and we concede some soft goals. Three in a row to them.

15-06-2024, 04:39 PM
How? How?

15-06-2024, 04:40 PM
Gallagher needs to pull his ****en head in and give the ball off to better users.

I’m worried

I wouldn't say worried yet, but this does have a whiff of the old Bulldogs story about it.

Early nomination for anchors - easy misses by Scott and Vandermeer who both graduated from the McNeil goalkicking academy.

15-06-2024, 04:41 PM
Lobb. Good boy. We needed that.

15-06-2024, 04:47 PM
Bramble having his best game.

Some of us never wavered.

15-06-2024, 04:48 PM
Freo off the bye are getting some run. Hopefully 7 goals is enough of a margin.

15-06-2024, 04:49 PM
If we can just outscore them in the last quarter we will have done well.

Bramble has been excellent today. Credit where it's due. Loved his defensive efforts, plenty of run and used the ball well.

Jones has been off and I have NFI why we went with Khamis over Busslinger.

How good has Lobb been, killing it today when we needed him

15-06-2024, 04:50 PM
Some of us never wavered.

Of course :) he has been fantastic today. That run and carry and the pass to Jamarra was sublime (Bailey Dale class)

15-06-2024, 04:50 PM
Lobb playing awesome in his farewell game.

15-06-2024, 04:51 PM
How good has Lobb been, killing it today when we needed him

Pretty close to his best game for us. If he can bring this week in week out he doesn’t need to look for another club

15-06-2024, 04:51 PM
I think Daniel is being subbed in

kickit2Koly
15-06-2024, 04:52 PM
Can someone explain the afl stats for me? Gallagher has had 3 touches, 3 turnovers but his disposal efficiency is 67%. I’m no mathematician but…..

15-06-2024, 04:52 PM
Dwayne Russell is one pathetic commentator, changes his allegiance with every goal.

15-06-2024, 04:53 PM
We need to find a replacement for Khamis. Zero back craft or awareness. We cant carry him.

I need Khamis out of this team.

Khamis can't play again but he does over and over.

jDogs
15-06-2024, 04:54 PM
Daniel subbed in for Scott.
Gallagher is a lucky boy, or unlucky depending on how you look at it.

jDogs
15-06-2024, 04:54 PM
Khamis can't play again but he does over and over.

He has the worst reactions times.

15-06-2024, 04:55 PM
Here it comes , bloody khamis and get Bont in the middle

15-06-2024, 04:57 PM
Attack the air ball Khamis for ****s sake.

15-06-2024, 04:59 PM
We have been selfish in important moments in the last 30 minutes. It has been costly.

All Treloar needed to do was hit a ****ing target.

Was 58 points. Wow
We?ve stopped dead

15-06-2024, 05:00 PM
We are the only team that can be bet on to lose a game from this position.

15-06-2024, 05:01 PM
Can someone explain the afl stats for me? Gallagher has had 3 touches, 3 turnovers but his disposal efficiency is 67%. I’m no mathematician but…..

Long kicks to a contest are counted as effective. If the opposition then wins the contest, they're also counted as turnovers.

Weightman is a very smart footballer. He is the opposite of Khamis.

Come on lads, one more breaks them.

Great exit from Bramble to Dale.

15-06-2024, 05:02 PM
Bramble great tackle to Dale to Jamarra to Cody. Goal. Needed that

15-06-2024, 05:02 PM
Cop that Jeemak

15-06-2024, 05:03 PM
Gaggs. Mbappe eat your heart out.

Euros stuff here!

Fair goal from Gallagher, great stuff.

Weightman is a very smart footballer. He is the opposite of Khamis.

Good?

Euros stuff here!

Brett Emerton 30m over the cross bar!

15-06-2024, 05:04 PM
Well done Gags

Bont with the turnover just to prove he is actually human and not an alien cyborg.

Not Bont's best moment.

15-06-2024, 05:06 PM
Gee that Hayden Young is a good player. He turned it around for Freo

15-06-2024, 05:08 PM
In the quarter and a half I've seen Bramble has been excellent

jDogs
15-06-2024, 05:10 PM
The Bramble Dale duo has been sensational.

15-06-2024, 05:10 PM
Just a beautiful unselfish kick from Treloar.

15-06-2024, 05:14 PM
We're actually smashing these guys, it's miles apart. What is going on this season?

15-06-2024, 05:14 PM
Amazing what happens when we actually lower our eyes and spot up a forward.

15-06-2024, 05:17 PM
Definitely need to work on our tackling.

15-06-2024, 05:19 PM
Wow we do some stupid stuff . Thats primary school dumb

15-06-2024, 05:20 PM
Three votes. M Bontempelli.

15-06-2024, 05:20 PM
Three votes. M Bontempelli.

We should persist with him. He might turn out ok.

jDogs
15-06-2024, 05:21 PM
See Bont set up that play from half back, directing Bramble into space and receiving the handball? So good.

15-06-2024, 05:25 PM
Party time. Onya Lobby!!

Amazing what happens when we actually lower our eyes and spot up a forward.

Excellent post.

Lobb couldn’t have replied any better .
Great game today

15-06-2024, 05:26 PM
I?m happy with that. Smashed them except for two 5 minute patches.

15-06-2024, 05:27 PM
Well that was a good response to a challenge.

Could have been forgiven for trotting out and killing the game, but put the foot down and spanked them.

15-06-2024, 05:29 PM
Does that mean we are a 150+ point better team than the Demons?

kickit2Koly
15-06-2024, 05:29 PM
That was fun

15-06-2024, 05:35 PM
Only saw the last 5min as I?ve been grieving. The difference some pace in the centre square makes is immense. We were super slow in there last week and had the mix completely wrong, especially with Bont blanketed and we got spanked, but different with Ed in there.

15-06-2024, 05:37 PM
Swamp

WBD score 23.11 (149) v FREM (conceding 67.5 points a game)
The highest score by any team up against the #1 ranked defensive side since 2017
2017 R04 - ADEL 24.9 (153) v ESS

15-06-2024, 05:38 PM
Good performance, we could have gone into our shells a few times when the Dockers found momentum but we were able to get things back on track, was pretty impressive, also thought we may have struggled to kick a winning score with Darcy and Naughton not playing but we obviously did that and more, terrific.

Geez what now with Lobb, played a great game and easily his best game for us, must be a Dockers at Marvel thing? But with Darcy and Naughton back after the bye, surely not? Very good game from Bramble too, inspiring re-signing ;)

Jumping Jones
15-06-2024, 05:39 PM
Bang! What a great win

We had a lot of players play their best game for the club today.

Only saw the last 5min as I?ve been grieving. The difference some pace in the centre square makes is immense. We were super slow in there last week and had the mix completely wrong, especially with Bont blanketed and we got spanked, but different with Ed in there.

Hope you're going OK mate.

15-06-2024, 05:41 PM
Best win of the year

15-06-2024, 05:41 PM
Hope you're going OK mate.

All good?only grieving Garcia?s demotion.

I?ve been at kids birthday parties all day? fun times.

15-06-2024, 05:42 PM
All good?only grieving Garcia?s demotion.

I?ve been at kids birthday parties all day? fun times.

Hard to argue it now.

15-06-2024, 05:44 PM
Freo was aiming for a top 4 spot

15-06-2024, 05:48 PM
The Dogs had five players kick 3+ goals today!!!!!

West
Flea
Marra
Lobb
Bont

15-06-2024, 06:07 PM
Bont man. Witness him.

Must have been awesome that close. It’s not like he was against average defenders- Pearce and Ryan - just toyed with them. There is no one better

He was running straight towards me when the ball hit the ground, and I thought to myself "he'll ****ing kick this". The Freo supporter in front of me just went "that's not a bad goal".

Side note: Freo supporters are the best opposition supporters to sit with and it's not even close.

15-06-2024, 06:11 PM
How good was Ryley West today. The 4 goals was a great effort but everything else he did was excellent. So many small things he did well that won't show up on the stat sheet.

15-06-2024, 06:16 PM
Bevo outcoached Longmire today. We nullified the influence of Pearce and Ryan. Serong was relatively quiet (still had 28 possessions). Our rucks were better around the ground and worked well in tandem. Their main danger was Young.

15-06-2024, 06:18 PM
Did Cody kick the opening goal of the quarter for us in the 1st, 2nd and 4th quarters?
On the ABC commentary they were trying to come up with a better name than Flea for him.
Does Code Breaker work?

15-06-2024, 06:18 PM
We got better as the game went on.

Q1 four goals
Q2 five goals
Q3 six goals
Q4 eight goals

Win ever quarter. Demolition.

15-06-2024, 06:19 PM
Really pleased that Lobb had an impact on the game today and the same for Bramble.

15-06-2024, 06:33 PM
I went to the game and it was a joy to behold. We had solid contributors from many and the usual suspects were outstanding.

I was very happy with Tim English. I thought he competed very hard at the stoppages and was very good around the ground. Bont, Libba and Treloar had outstanding games. Richards was very good too. Williams and Dale were impressive. Dale ran the ball put of defence many times and Williams did not make an error. Bramble played his best game for the year.
It was great to see Lobb play well after a pretty tough week. I also noticed how the team got around him.

To win a vital game so convincingly was very satisfying. Now for a rest and the run home. Go Dogs!

15-06-2024, 06:35 PM
Here’s a question .. how do you drop Lobb next game with Darcy and Naughton coming back in?
I think Buzz gets his debut for Khamis.
No injuries for a change and I would think at least 3 changes.

15-06-2024, 06:38 PM
Bont was sick this week and puts out a perform like this.
Superhuman . Marvel will be making inquiries on a movie at this rate.

Uninformed
15-06-2024, 06:41 PM
We got better as the game went on.

Q1 four goals
Q2 five goals
Q3 six goals
Q4 eight goals

Win ever quarter. Demolition.

Outside of last week it seems our fitness has improved under the new guy.

Uninformed
15-06-2024, 06:43 PM
Bont was sick this week and puts out a perform like this.
Superhuman . Marvel will be making inquiries on a movie at this rate.

The coach will be spiking his food each week to make him crook.

15-06-2024, 06:48 PM
The coach will be spiking his food each week to make him crook.

Backing he gets drug tested by the AFL.
3 year ban for eating a mouldy orange before games loading him up with penicillin.

15-06-2024, 07:10 PM
I said it in the first quarter that if we hit up Lobb we will win in, we finally went through him more after quarter time and his was better than Tim in the ruck also. How do we get him to do it more often? I was hoping maturity would be kicking in with him by now fingers crossed he can continue to have an impact because he is a very handy backup indeed.

Bailey Dale has been brilliant since Bevo made him sub early in the season, he is playing with a lot higher intensity than many he really looks like AA quality atm.

Love the fact we kept the foot to the floor in the last, fingers crossed we can continue to see the new fitness regime shine through in the second half of the year.

Bont we love you, it was a bloody pleasure to watch you live again today.

Ed gives us another gear in the midfield, he is the player we have been searching for.

Um how did Freo kick 82 points? They were bloody awful and while we wanna stay glass half half full our defence isn't good enough and that's being polite. We have a lot of work to do still, we absolutely missed Keathy today and I struggle to see how it can hold up week in week out against better opposition.

15-06-2024, 07:38 PM
I said it in the first quarter that if we hit up Lobb we will win in, we finally went through him more after quarter time and his was better than Tim in the ruck also. How do we get him to do it more often? I was hoping maturity would be kicking in with him by now fingers crossed he can continue to have an impact because he is a very handy backup indeed.

Bailey Dale has been brilliant since Bevo made him sub early in the season, he is playing with a lot higher intensity than many he really looks like AA quality atm.

Love the fact we kept the foot to the floor in the last, fingers crossed we can continue to see the new fitness regime shine through in the second half of the year.

Bont we love you, it was a bloody pleasure to watch you live again today.

Ed gives us another gear in the midfield, he is the player we have been searching for.

Um how did Freo kick 82 points? They were bloody awful and while we wanna stay glass half half full our defence isn't good enough and that's being polite. We have a lot of work to do still, we absolutely missed Keathy today and I struggle to see how it can hold up week in week out against better opposition.

Well it doesn’t matter just kick more goals than the opposition.

15-06-2024, 08:04 PM
Bevo

It was an outstanding achievement to keep them under 70 contested marks.

15-06-2024, 08:05 PM
Bevo

It was an outstanding result, but let's not get carried away we are 7-7. However, I'm proud of how the group has persevered and got a little back of momentum back in the season and give us a little bit of a look coming out of they bye.

15-06-2024, 08:06 PM
Bevo

If Sydney are the benchmark. Against Sydney we were up at HT. We lost a couple of players that made it hard for us. We looked like we could challenge them for parts of that game. That is encouraging.

15-06-2024, 08:19 PM
I said it in the first quarter that if we hit up Lobb we will win in, we finally went through him more after quarter time and his was better than Tim in the ruck also.

Really - I don't think so. Lobb had ONE HTA

15-06-2024, 08:20 PM
I love the game day thread … if you have the time, read this thread from first post to last. Such a roller coaster of a read considering the comprehensive scoreline. (p.s. not many getting their Captain Positivity badges today) :cool:

15-06-2024, 08:26 PM
Really - I don't think so. Lobb had ONE HTA

Yep really. Tim has too many quite halfs in which he has to be reminded to compete, it's really obvious when he comes on the ground after a spray from upstairs. Lobb got us going in the second quarter.

He is having an average season at best, you love your stats BD he is the 9th highest rated ruckman going into the round.

15-06-2024, 08:31 PM
I've seen a few people praise Tim. I thought he was average today and was bullied by the Freo pair. Took a couple of heavy knocks as well

15-06-2024, 08:36 PM
Yep really. Tim has too many quite halfs in which he has to be reminded to compete, it's really obvious when he comes on the ground after a spray from upstairs. Lobb got us going in the second quarter.

He is having an average season at best, you love your stats BD he is the 9th highest rated ruckman going into the round.

I've seen a few people praise Tim. I thought he was average today and was bullied by the Freo pair. Took a couple of heavy knocks as well

9 marks, six tackles and 2 goals. maybe I attended a different game. As for bullying he had 9 Cont Poss to 11 for Darcy and HTA were 2 in favour of Darcy. Tim had a very good game.

15-06-2024, 08:50 PM
9 marks, six tackles and 2 goals. maybe I attended a different game. As for bullying he had 9 Cont Poss to 11 for Darcy and HTA were 2 in favour of Darcy. Tim had a very good game.

I just saw it differently. Tim wasn't that great today especially early on.

15-06-2024, 08:51 PM
I love the game day thread ? if you have the time, read this thread from first post to last. Such a roller coaster of a read considering the comprehensive scoreline. (p.s. not many getting their Captain Positivity badges today) :cool:

Are you new here?

15-06-2024, 08:53 PM
Are you new here?

Bahahaha :p

15-06-2024, 09:18 PM
Great win.

The midfield responded well today.

Our forward mix looked much better with Cody back. Lobb was excellent. Bont pushing hard forward caused them all sorts. Good coaching.

JOD and Jones had some good and some less good moments, but overall did enough intercepting the ball.

Buku was up against it, he’s not suited against an opposition with 3 keys.

Love a good demolition job on a Saturday afternoon.

15-06-2024, 09:24 PM
Just finished watching. Pretty solid wins all round. Players coming back were good, still can look forward to more soldiers returning, just need to do something about Daniel man he is cooked and almost the only lowlight of the match

15-06-2024, 09:53 PM
I love the game day thread ? if you have the time, read this thread from first post to last. Such a roller coaster of a read considering the comprehensive scoreline. (p.s. not many getting their Captain Positivity badges today) :cool:

What you just described doing (going back and reading the game day thread after the game has finished) is actually illegal and punishable under law.

15-06-2024, 10:28 PM
What you just described doing (going back and reading the game day thread after the game has finished) is actually illegal and punishable under law.

The very concept is perverse.

15-06-2024, 10:32 PM
Bevo

It was great to see Westy get four in his 50th, not that goals are everything, there are certain things you need your small forwards to deliver.

15-06-2024, 10:37 PM
Bevo

I said to the players at HT. That was a special goal from Bont. Competes in the air. 1 v 3. He had every right to go to ground after that aerial contest. Kept his feet. See the strength. Fends off. Brilliant finish. We talk about the little things in footy. But there is no replacement for brilliance and team lifting stuff. That is one thing that epitomises what he does. It is infuential game from him after he is pretty crook. He has a stye in his eye, he is rundown. He didn't train with the group. He set a really strong example.

15-06-2024, 10:45 PM
Longmuir

Clearly something was not right. We got dominated from the start to the finish. We kicked four in a row in the first, but all from our back half. Never got the game played on our terms, we got beaten in all the aspects that were important to us.

15-06-2024, 10:50 PM
Longmuir

We tried to tag Bontempelli. There is so much depth in that midfield. If you can't get your hands on the ball and they spread there is no point on having one person locked onto one person if they have 2-3 out. They owned the outside of the contest all night.

15-06-2024, 11:38 PM

The very concept is perverse.

I have always been one for the dark side … probably explains why I married a Dockers supporter.

16-06-2024, 12:20 AM
Great afternoon out at the footy at Marvel. I really enjoy the more traditional Saturday afternoon games.

Could have gone either way in the first quarter the way that transpired but after quarter time we put the foot down and got right on top and controlled it after that.

Bont is unbelievable what a goal that was. Will be a sad day when he retires. One of the greatest ever Bulldogs and so glad he won a flag. Libba very good as well along with Treloar.

West and Weightman provided a lot of spark in the forward half as well as Jamarra. Opposition defenders will be fearful once the AstroNaught and Darcy come back.

I liked Bramble's game today. Lobb also very good and he really stuck it up Freo.

We remain in the hunt and keep pace with the top 8.

A well earnt bye before we get to work again against North and then some tough assignments after that - just take it one week at a time.

Went around the Whitten Statue tonight at Whitten Oval.

16-06-2024, 01:42 AM
I have always been one for the dark side … probably explains why I married a Dockers supporter.

Getting married IS the dark side

16-06-2024, 08:01 AM
I never watch Kane Cornes on the AFL app but did for whatever reason today. He gave Bevo praise saying it was a great coaching effort in how we were able to shut Freo down - uncontested marking and therefore disposals, and particularly Luke Ryan. Not verbatim but that was the gist.

16-06-2024, 10:32 AM
Longmuir

We tried to tag Bontempelli. There is so much depth in that midfield. If you can't get your hands on the ball and they spread there is no point on having one person locked onto one person if they have 2-3 out. They owned the outside of the contest all night.

They didn't try very hard. Bont had acres of space at some critical times.

16-06-2024, 10:48 AM
I never watch Kane Cornes on the AFL app but did for whatever reason today. He gave Bevo praise saying it was a great coaching effort in how we were able to shut Freo down - uncontested marking and therefore disposals, and particularly Luke Ryan. Not verbatim but that was the gist.

Wasn't he calling the Richmond game on SEN yesterday. I wonder how much of it he actually saw.

16-06-2024, 11:01 AM
They didn't try very hard. Bont had acres of space at some critical times.

They use Hayden Young as their primary tagger, who is frankly way too good to have to sacrifice his own game to stop someone else’s (especially when it doesn’t work). I think they released it sometime around Bont kicking that goal on their whole backline because Young started to do some real damage afterwards.

16-06-2024, 11:28 AM
Luke Ryan, whatever we did there with Scott was massive and partly why Garcia was out i think.

I saw Ryan destroy the Tigers live earlier this seasln he is a fantastic intercept player and he had no say on the result yesterday.

Massive credit to coach and players.

16-06-2024, 01:52 PM
Wasn't he calling the Richmond game on SEN yesterday. I wonder how much of it he actually saw.

Interesting. I guess he’s derived his view from looking at numbers. In any event, I don’t hear him give out much praise for Bevo but he did in this case. Maybe he’s starting to see the wheels turn and is making sure he can save face!

16-06-2024, 02:02 PM
Interesting. I guess he’s derived his view from looking at numbers. In any event, I don’t hear him give out much praise for Bevo but he did in this case. Maybe he’s starting to see the wheels turn and is making sure he can save face!

I think every coach is not immune to criticism, but you need to see how the season pans out and not start from round 2 or 3 like Cornes does (and many supporters).

16-06-2024, 04:37 PM
I think every coach is not immune to criticism, but you need to see how the season pans out and not start from round 2 or 3 like Cornes does (and many supporters).

Cornes is paid to make idiotic statements that have no actual fact.
Eg Bevo should go but Hinkley should be re-signed , there is no figures that back that up in fact stats say the opposite.

Uninformed
16-06-2024, 06:29 PM
I still think Bevo's response to the criticism and mention of 'one or two who give journalists a bad name' might of had an impact.

16-06-2024, 09:39 PM
Something that was odd. Post game Bont walked off by himself to the wing to hand out a football. The rest of the team huddled and seemed to talk before signing and bringing footy's around. It just seemed weird.

Anyway Bont, go one more aisle over next time. My son would be over the moon.

16-06-2024, 09:47 PM
Something that was odd. Post game Bont walked off by himself to the wing to hand out a football. The rest of the team huddled and seemed to talk before signing and bringing footy's around. It just seemed weird.

Anyway Bont, go one more aisle over next time. My son would be over the moon.

He has been crook all week, maybe just a wanted to get it over and go home.

16-06-2024, 10:19 PM
Cornes is paid to make idiotic statements that have no actual fact.
Eg Bevo should go but Hinkley should be re-signed , there is no figures that back that up in fact stats say the opposite.

Cornes probably trying to put on his "good cornes" act. Rest of his mood is put heat on the doggies and fixation on sacking the coach.

Where is his analysis on Hinkley ?

16-06-2024, 11:58 PM
Cornes probably trying to put on his "good cornes" act. Rest of his mood is put heat on the doggies and fixation on sacking the coach.

Where is his analysis on Hinkley ?

He brings out stats against the dogs but opinion on Hinkley . He knows the stats don’t add up with Hinkley and would make his Bevo stats look amazingly good if he did.

17-06-2024, 07:51 AM

Guilty

Actually the only way I can read it and retain sanity.

It also means a bad day can be ignored, but games like this are golden.

Countrydog5
17-06-2024, 04:19 PM
Coaches votes

Western Bulldogs v Fremantle​
10 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
7 Bailey Dale (WB)
5 Adam Treloar (WB)
4 Tom Liberatore (WB)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB)
1 Rory Lobb (WB)

I'm struggling to think where the votes have gone here, especially with the 5,4,3 sequence and Dale scoring 7. I can only assume there was a couple zeros given? Possibly something like the below with Bevo left, Longmuire right?

10 Marcus Bontempelli (WB) (5+5)
7 Bailey Dale (WB) (3+4)
5 Adam Treloar (WB) (4+1)
4 Tom Liberatore (WB) (2+2)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB) (0+3)
1 Rory Lobb (WB) (1+0)

Or option 2:
7 Bailey Dale (WB) (4+3)
5 Adam Treloar (WB) (1+4)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB) (3+0)
1 Rory Lobb (WB) (0+1)

17-06-2024, 04:54 PM
Coaches votes

Western Bulldogs v Fremantle​
10 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
7 Bailey Dale (WB)
5 Adam Treloar (WB)
4 Tom Liberatore (WB)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB)
1 Rory Lobb (WB)

I'm struggling to think where the votes have gone here, especially with the 5,4,3 sequence and Dale scoring 7. I can only assume there was a couple zeros given? Possibly something like the below with Bevo left, Longmuire right?

7 Bailey Dale (WB) (3+4)
5 Adam Treloar (WB) (4+1)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB) (0+3)
1 Rory Lobb (WB) (1+0)

Or option 2:
7 Bailey Dale (WB) (4+3)
5 Adam Treloar (WB) (1+4)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB) (3+0)
1 Rory Lobb (WB) (0+1)

Lachie Bramble? Clearly both coaches are drunk.

17-06-2024, 06:57 PM

Or just one is really really drunk.

Edit, my maths is rubbish

17-06-2024, 07:02 PM
Could also be:
7 Bailey Dale (WB) (4+3)
5 Adam Treloar (WB) (3+2)
4 Tom Liberatore (WB) (0+4)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB) (2+1)
1 Rory Lobb (WB) (1+0)

17-06-2024, 07:43 PM

Could also be:
7 Bailey Dale (WB) (4+3)
5 Adam Treloar (WB) (3+2)
4 Tom Liberatore (WB) (0+4)
3 Lachie Bramble (WB) (2+1)
1 Rory Lobb (WB) (1+0)

My maths goes ok. Thanks jazzdogs.

17-06-2024, 09:36 PM
Bramble play his best game for the club on Saturday not surprising he's in the votes.

17-06-2024, 09:41 PM

Or you're drunk?

17-06-2024, 09:41 PM
Or you're drunk?

Not even Jeenak's drunk at that time of day.

17-06-2024, 09:52 PM
I had him in my top 4.

30 touches at ~90% DE and took the game on. Outstanding game

18-06-2024, 08:52 AM
I had him in my top 4.

30 touches at ~90% DE and took the game on. Outstanding game
It was an identical game to the one I think got him recruited. The semi final in the vfl v Footscray.

21-06-2024, 11:52 AM
Some interesting comments from Longmuir re this game....

“There’s no doubt in the seniors on the weekend that guys were worried more about how many possessions they got than how they competed in the contest, how they pressured the opposition and how they defended,” Longmuir told reporters on Thursday.
“That’s not what I stand for as a coach.”

21-06-2024, 12:00 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pno2D-F5-tA&ab_channel=AFL