View Full Version : Bulldogs V Blues - Round 18, Sat 13/7/24 Marvel Stadium 4:35PM AEST

Pages : 1 [2]

weltschmerz
13-07-2024, 09:57 PM
Best game we've played in years.

13-07-2024, 10:17 PM
Fantastic win today. The atmosphere at Marvel was electric today with a great crowd of 45K.

I was nervous going into this one with number of key players out and one Treloar being a late out.

Great pressure and effort today from the team. It would have nudged over 200 at times the pressure.

Bailey Dale was really good today. That goal he scored was great. JUH had a great game which he was due. Rhylee West is a great one up forward.

I thought English was much better compared to what he has been of late today.

Our defence held up really well with Khamis and Lobb doing really well to hold out Curnow and MacKay.

We know how tough the competition is and we need to enjoy this win today against a team who has been right in the top 4 all year in Carlton.

We are in with a shot and need to head down to Geelong next week believing we can win. I prefer going in as underdogs as we do best when we are.

Go Bulldogs!

13-07-2024, 10:17 PM
I don?t know about all of you but that is as invested as I?ve been been in a game in forever. Felt like I was out there.

Same mate. I was pretty emotional post game, don't know why but this one felt very special.

13-07-2024, 10:25 PM
This team, Jesus H Christ.

Insert SopranosJustWhenIThoughtIWasOut.gif

Tag yourself ...

https://i.ibb.co/PFySYBr/it-s-over.png (https://ibb.co/sb4BPLg)

13-07-2024, 10:27 PM
Just finishing the second quarter.

That free against Buku that led to a Curnow goal seemed a bit soft. Protected species. Naughton never gets that as a free.

The Poulter goal - great kick into him by McNeil, who was also the player who got in the way of Curnow snaring an easy mark at the other end to start the chain, and then sprinted forward to follow the ball leading to the goal assist. I know his miss in the last could’ve been costly (but also really rated his intercept after that) but he’s doing some important things that aren’t always standing out and based on the bits I’ve seen so far, he’s been solid.

13-07-2024, 10:30 PM
Tag yourself ...

You better believe I’m sunglasses Bevo.

13-07-2024, 10:54 PM
If you are going to drive over for a game, this is the type you want.

Freaking awesome.

Can?t wait to get home on Tuesday to watch a replay.

13-07-2024, 11:00 PM
Tag yourself ...

I'm 3 o clock Bevo.

13-07-2024, 11:07 PM

Freaking awesome.

You can watch it I think at the end of the round, they have the full match afl on the afl website.
100% thats what I will be doing after work on Monday.

13-07-2024, 11:07 PM

Freaking awesome.

Stoked for you!

13-07-2024, 11:18 PM

Freaking awesome.

So happy it was a great one for you TAC. Statement win and we are in the finals race.

Warrnambulldog
13-07-2024, 11:25 PM
When the whips were cracking? Sam Darcy was huge. Felt like he was the All Australian ruck in our side, his getting some real presence about him

13-07-2024, 11:59 PM
Terrific win that affirms some of the positives that have emerged from this season.

Loved West’s and JUH goals that came quickly after Carlton scored to keep the pressure building. Snuffed out momentum. Curnow had a chance to tear us a new one with the amount of shots he had, but team defence and the pressure applied by Buku made life difficult for him.

In a tight game the performances of West, JUH, Cody and Buku tipped it in our favour IMO.

14-07-2024, 12:06 AM
Great atmosphere at the grouund today. Such a relief to win a tight contest which I thought we deserved to win after controlling large patches of the game.

Just one of those games where you felt if we could hang on for the win it meant more than four points. We must build so much belief from that win today. It was a real team effort. We didn't have a dominant midfielder and everyone just played their role.

I felt we really made it hard for them to move the ball from their back half. Great team defence. A few times they got through and they got good looks or goals, but for large stretches we had the ball camped in our forward half and probably should have taken more chances, especially in that first quarter.

14-07-2024, 12:11 AM
Congested pedestrian exit along La Trobe-being rained upon. Who cares? Go Dogs!!🐶 🐶 🐶

Saw the rain, and decided to go to the bar with an old woofer

14-07-2024, 12:13 AM
Cody with the hanger, right in front of the faithful.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GSWTLF1XAAA4a-9?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

14-07-2024, 12:17 AM

Freaking awesome.

Come over anytime, you brought the luck

14-07-2024, 12:21 AM
Has Garcia been brought on as as sub yet?;)

14-07-2024, 12:22 AM
Ha. He's still sitting there.

14-07-2024, 12:22 AM

Maybe we didn't need him so saved him to play tomorrow.

14-07-2024, 12:24 AM
Maybe we didn't need him so saved him to play tomorrow.

Yeah I just feel for the kid, very unlucky not to be playing seniors and then left on the bench all game when Gags was very clearly up against it when playing midfield.

14-07-2024, 12:34 AM
One day, someone's gonna ask you where you were when we stole that game against a couple of Coleman winners with a defensive spine of Buku Khamis and Rory Lobb.

14-07-2024, 12:37 AM
You can watch it I think at the end of the round, they have the full match afl on the afl website.
100% thats what I will be doing after work on Monday.

I?ve got Kayo and my iPad here, but this one deserves box office and I want the first viewing to be on my cinema screen in the recliner.

14-07-2024, 12:42 AM
So happy it was a great one for you TAC. Statement win and we are in the finals race.

Cheers all for the kind words. I usually get over for 2-3 games a year and I generally have a pretty high strike rate.

It?s the games in Adelaide that traditionally haven?t gone so well- prelims aside.

14-07-2024, 12:46 AM
One day, someone's gonna ask you where you were when we stole that game against a couple of Coleman winners with a defensive spine of Buku Khamis and Rory Lobb.
Roberts/Hamling vibes against $2m+ in forwards in 2016

14-07-2024, 07:37 AM
Serious question.

Have our best two wins this season come without one of our top 3 midfielders playing?

And have our best 3 wins come without Naughton?

And if I?m right, what does that mean?

14-07-2024, 10:41 AM
Michael Voss has now made the list

"I felt like when Ugle-Hagan’s hands weren’t up at their highest point, taking a strong grab, they were in Weiter’s back"

14-07-2024, 10:59 AM

"I felt like when Ugle-Hagan’s hands weren’t up at their highest point, taking a strong grab, they were in Weiter’s back"

Hope the salt tastes nice Vossy.

Weitering was pushing just as much, maybe more than his opponents.

14-07-2024, 11:02 AM

Always been a flog

14-07-2024, 11:09 AM

Imagine if Curnow got treated like Naughton! He’d be on 5 goals for the year!!!!

14-07-2024, 11:10 AM

I found Voss's demeanor at the press conference a tad bit disrespectful. We were clearly the better side in the pressure aspects and he did not really acknowledge that.

They got gifted at least 3 goals , 2 I recall really peeved myself and the supporters:
- one for the Dale incorrect disposal
- Bukus soft free on Curnow

What does he mean by 'marginal'?

I think his team has holes on the list and he knows the mental fragility of his team when Walsh or Cripps are not performing.

GWS were 40 points down last week and they swung it around with massive pressure from all their players, at one stage they got to a 30 point lead.

14-07-2024, 11:17 AM
Hope the salt tastes nice Vossy.

Weitering was pushing just as much, maybe more than his opponents.

It's ridiculous if he is suggesting his defenders or forwards don't do it.

14-07-2024, 11:27 AM
Key defender Rory Lobb is fascinating, nobody could have expected it to work but he has been really impressive since the move and is giving it his all.
Even if he decides he'd rather move to a new club to be a forward he's not sooking and is instead cracking in.

14-07-2024, 11:28 AM

You know that it burns Voss when people point out how soft the umpiring that Curnow gets is so he has to point out "well no Ugle-Hagan got to push out as much as he wanted"

14-07-2024, 12:06 PM
We can’t have made any body contact with Weitering because he didn’t pretend to be injured and go into the rooms at any point.

Man that game yesterday. That’s the stuff that you live for.

14-07-2024, 12:14 PM
Key defender Rory Lobb is fascinating, nobody could have expected it to work but he has been really impressive since the move and is giving it his all.
Even if he decides he'd rather move to a new club to be a forward he's not sooking and is instead cracking in.

Lengths ahead of say a Schache experiment already, he looks to be moving with speed, competitive and takes the ball at its highest point. He just needs to go a little less aggressive with his kicks but yeah he is now our second best defender just wish Jones was back with him next week.

14-07-2024, 12:18 PM
Lengths ahead of say a Schache experiment already, he looks to be moving with speed, competitive and takes the ball at its highest point. He just needs to go a little less aggressive with his kicks but yeah he is now our second best defender just wish Jones was back with him next week.
In Lobb's favour was his high TOG for many years now meaning he can stay on the paddock close to 100% TOG and if he's having a poor game, we know he can play forward or ruck. A genuine plan B option.

14-07-2024, 12:26 PM
As an aside was that tiny guy in the long sleeve who turned it over every time he touched it the same Jordan Boyd you guys were worried that we missed out on?

14-07-2024, 12:53 PM
Going to the game yesterday, I said to my Dad that I would be happy if we just showed that we had an appetite for the contest and we made a game of it. It would be OK if we lost.

Then a few minutes in, after Owies got a dubious HTB decion. Kicks the goal and then carries on like a complete and utter w%^&$ over celebrating like they had just won the Grand Final. I completely changed. I wanted to desperately beat these clowns.

One of the more satisfying wins in the last few years.

14-07-2024, 12:54 PM
Watching the replay now. Hope none of you had the misfortune of listening to this Carlton cheer squad pretending to be a commentary team live.

14-07-2024, 12:55 PM
Going to the game yesterday, I said to my Dad that I would be happy if we just showed that we had an appetite for the contest and we made a game of it. It would be OK if we lost.

Then a few minutes in, after Owies got a dubious HTB decion. Kicks the goal and then carries on like a complete and utter w%^&$ over celebrating like they had just won the Grand Final. I completely changed. I wanted to desperately beat these clowns.

One of the more satisfying wins in the last few years.

When Owies missed that goal I gave him an actual 30 second spray which I’m sure everyone around me thought was very funny and cool. I feel like I actually helped the team win yesterday.

14-07-2024, 12:57 PM
Owies is the world's biggest, actually... second biggest flog. The other is lucky his head isn't bigger.

14-07-2024, 02:01 PM
Watching the replay now. Hope none of you had the misfortune of listening to this Carlton cheer squad pretending to be a commentary team live.

In the last 5 minutes Cripps has been called all of:

“Crippa”
“Paddy”
“The Bull”
“The Big Man”
“Big Crippa”
“The Man”
“The Big Bull”
“Big Fella”

Maybe just tell him your hotel room number while you’re at it.

14-07-2024, 02:22 PM

“Crippa”
“Paddy”
“The Bull”
“The Big Man”
“Big Crippa”
“The Man”
“The Big Bull”
“Big Fella”

Missing: Victorious

14-07-2024, 02:30 PM
When Owies missed that goal I gave him an actual 30 second spray which I’m sure everyone around me thought was very funny and cool. I feel like I actually helped the team win yesterday.

Happy Days are here again, the skies are red, white & blue again.

14-07-2024, 02:35 PM
Missing: Victorious

Cripps played well so on the Official Carlton Scoring System they actually won.

14-07-2024, 02:37 PM
Owies is your quintessential ordinary player who gets to play in front of big parochial crowds and thinks he's awesome because of it.

14-07-2024, 02:46 PM
Cripps played well so on the Official Carlton Scoring System they actually won.

You won’t believe me but a Carlton supporter behind me was calling Cripps Mr.September in the second half. Mind you you also said Cripps v Bontempelli is not a debate because Cripps has a Brownlow.

14-07-2024, 03:03 PM

“Crippa”
“Paddy”
“The Bull”
“The Big Man”
“Big Crippa”
“The Man”
“The Big Bull”
“Big Fella”

You missed

“Skipper” and “big dogs (with Curnow)

I am surprised there was no Big Poppa Pump

14-07-2024, 03:11 PM
You won’t believe me but a Carlton supporter behind me was calling Cripps Mr.September in the second half. Mind you you also said Cripps v Bontempelli is not a debate because Cripps has a Brownlow.

Lol.

At least they weren’t calling Charlie that. Would’ve been more inappropriate I suppose. Lots of Mr June’s in their side.

14-07-2024, 03:15 PM
Serious question.

Have our best two wins this season come without one of our top 3 midfielders playing?

And have our best 3 wins come without Naughton?

And if I?m right, what does that mean?

Perhaps a few things, Richards played more time in the middle, Westy at times and a few others, we seem to rotate more than with our usual starting line up and i believe that is healthy for us being more unpredictable.

Without Naughton, perhaps 3 talls really is one too many, in an ideal world one plays mainly higher up the ground but you find most times all edge back close to goals jumping for the same ball.

14-07-2024, 03:16 PM
As an aside was that tiny guy in the long sleeve who turned it over every time he touched it the same Jordan Boyd you guys were worried that we missed out on?
The very same

14-07-2024, 03:21 PM

?Crippa?
?Paddy?
?The Bull?
?The Big Man?
?Big Crippa?
?The Man?
?The Big Bull?
?Big Fella?

Maybe just tell him your hotel room number while you?re at it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZBoaFPGKcA&ab_channel=Michael

14-07-2024, 03:23 PM
Perhaps a few things, Richards played more time in the middle, Westy at times and a few others, we seem to rotate more than with our usual starting line up and i believe that is healthy for us being more unpredictable.

Without Naughton, perhaps 3 talls really is one too many, in an ideal world one plays mainly higher up the ground but you find most times all edge back close to goals jumping for the same ball.

When Darcy went into the ruck, I don't think English was on the ground, so we only had JUH forward, which I found interesting

14-07-2024, 03:28 PM
Bloody great win, awesome to see Marra get back to his best and snagged a few which have done wonders for his confidence, Lobb very good again and hopefully can now just gain confidence with each game played down back, looking forward to seeing him and Jones string a few games together, the way Dale just somehow scoops the ball up on the run is unbelievable, so good also to have him back in form.

Well done Timmy as well, 2nd highest ranked player behind Cripps, that is the standard that is required on a weekly basis especially asking for such a big pay rise, thought Poulter played well also, interesting to see what we do with Coff if he keeps his body right and continues to get batter, does JOD miss out? Feel as though with Jones and Lobb back can only play one of Coff, JOD or Buku.

14-07-2024, 03:32 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQ9Re0Rh8RA&ab_channel=WesternBulldogs

14-07-2024, 03:32 PM
When Darcy went into the ruck, I don't think English was on the ground, so we only had JUH forward, which I found interesting

Yeah that is really interesting, obviously easier to see what is taking place on the ground all times being at the ground as you miss a lot of that on TV, it's probably good to mix things up at certain times and go a bit smaller, as long as we don't just bomb it in, although Flea doesn't mind sitting on players heads.

14-07-2024, 03:47 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQ9Re0Rh8RA&ab_channel=WesternBulldogs

How's Cody's maniacal attack on the football to ensure a contest leading up to Marra's second goal. Also loved the boos from the Carlton fans after thinking Marra was given a free for too high unfairly.

14-07-2024, 03:48 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GSW9gbbXMAEF_dP?format=jpg&name=900x900

14-07-2024, 04:28 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GSW9gbbXMAEF_dP?format=jpg&name=900x900

To be fair. We were all thinking exactly the same thing.

14-07-2024, 04:29 PM
To be fair. We were all thinking exactly the same thing.

Narc.

14-07-2024, 04:51 PM
Narc.

Ha ....

14-07-2024, 05:05 PM
I don't know if this is true or not but apparently the cameras located GrantyGhost after Marra had kicked his 2nd goal.
He really gets into his footy.

https://x.com/i/status/1812114757295444050

14-07-2024, 05:50 PM
I don't know if this is true or not but apparently the cameras located GrantyGhost after Marra had kicked his 2nd goal.

Gary you've posted a lot of great stuff over the years. Good to see you're still at the top of your game.

14-07-2024, 06:00 PM

Was that when McNeil marked it just outside the goal square?

14-07-2024, 06:03 PM
Was that when McNeil marked it just outside the goal square?

That’s how the McNeil-ites react when he’s selected

14-07-2024, 06:30 PM
Footy Fix: Undermanned, outgunned, undaunted - the trick play that saw Bevo's bold Bulldogs conquer Carlton

https://www.theroar.com.au/2024/07/14/footy-fix-undermanned-outgunned-undaunted-the-trick-play-that-saw-bevos-bold-bulldogs-conquer-carlton/?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0BMAABHb-HKWbKNHrBqTst-n0SsY8dbyxH_RFMsAghT08WsZnug-Xl9ygyB8_cTA_aem_dVU0N7yYe5lPn7XFxhihng

Contains a good breakdown of the Bont/ Jamarra goals from similar set plays.

14-07-2024, 06:59 PM

Hahaaaaaaa. Classic!

I hadn't even noticed the massive gust of wind that made him miss I was so enraptured!

14-07-2024, 07:05 PM
Footy Fix: Undermanned, outgunned, undaunted - the trick play that saw Bevo's bold Bulldogs conquer Carlton

https://www.theroar.com.au/2024/07/14/footy-fix-undermanned-outgunned-undaunted-the-trick-play-that-saw-bevos-bold-bulldogs-conquer-carlton/?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0BMAABHb-HKWbKNHrBqTst-n0SsY8dbyxH_RFMsAghT08WsZnug-Xl9ygyB8_cTA_aem_dVU0N7yYe5lPn7XFxhihng

Contains a good breakdown of the Bont/ Jamarra goals from similar set plays.

Not the point of the article but I did enjoy the description of West

"fast building a reputation as the craftiest small forward you had no idea was as good as he is"

14-07-2024, 09:34 PM

Hilarious. GG really does support Marra

14-07-2024, 10:02 PM
He's a lovely lad. Very fond of him reminds me of my nephew.
So glad he had a game like that. Be great for his confidence.

14-07-2024, 10:06 PM
He's a lovely lad. Very fond of him reminds me of my nephew.
So glad he had a game like that. Be great for his confidence.

Hopefully he keeps it up. I think his confidence is back

Uninformed
14-07-2024, 10:14 PM

Surely he could show a little more enthusiasm than that!

Uninformed
14-07-2024, 10:23 PM
Wasn't sure whether to ask this here or on the training thread.

But, did any of the training watchers notice a difference in training methods that would explain the great level of desperation we showed yesterday.

There was probably some adjustment to the method in the midfield to explain how we moved from being dominated by Port to besting the Blues (whose mids are probably better than Ports.)

But the difference that stood out to me was the level of desperation and intensity of our defensive/pressure game all over the field.

Just wondering if there was something identifiable in our training?

14-07-2024, 10:50 PM
Carlton have given up the second most scores from the contest/ clearance across the season. Cripps, Cera and Walsh have some things in common with our guys, but more severe I guess.

All of our good football has seen quality full ground defence like we showed yesterday, and while Carlton did us by a small margin in clearance we just seemed a bit more desperate without it than they were and made them pay because of that difference.

14-07-2024, 11:52 PM
Just saw on Frist Crack David King justify Pittonet's position in the Carlton side by showing all the times he won the hitouts with Bulldogs players taking the ball away from the contest.

He then said his mids need to do better with it. Not sure it's a great argument either way.

15-07-2024, 12:22 AM
Just saw on Frist Crack David King justify Pittonet's position in the Carlton side by showing all the times he won the hitouts with Bulldogs players taking the ball away from the contest.

He then said his mids need to do better with it. Not sure it's a great argument either way.

What I'm hearing is Pittonet and our mids already have a strong connection, and Jeenak is trying to get rid of English so he can bring in Pittonet!

15-07-2024, 12:54 AM
Watching the replay now, and Marra could have had a much better start than the first quarter turned out.

Also, McNeil did an awesome kick to space at half forward to allow Richards and the rest of the cavalry to come to neutralise a contest after running out of options on the run out of half back. He's a smart footballer, just needs to keep working on his polish.

15-07-2024, 01:10 AM
The Sanders mark defensive side of the centre circle and handball to Dale onto Gallagher which resulted in a turnover goal was purely on Dale who demanded it with a wall of Carlton players directly in front of him but behind Sanders' back.

I was furious with Dale at the time but in retrospect absolutely admire what he was trying to do to get the side running.

As an aside immediately after that Boyd for Carlton went into the rooms for a check on his leg, but thankfully managed to get back on the field.

15-07-2024, 01:27 AM
The thing about the Dale goal in the second is the coolness and the fact it went flat and two rows back after he was tackled while kicking it from forty-five. Amazing.

The VDM turnover from his conceded free was there, but his opponent had been scragging him leading up to that moment unfairly. A lot of that happens without penalty.

15-07-2024, 01:57 AM
Not only was the Curnow hold against Khamis BS, it happened 1-1.5m outside the fifty. Khamis was called back to 1-1.5m inside the fifty or went there himself, and then Curnow kicked it while Khamis was being forced to concentrate on the mark by the umpire.

The AFL is riddled with poor rules and interpretations.

15-07-2024, 02:31 AM
A great bit of commentary bias towards the stars was when Bramble kicked the ball out of defence along the ground as a straight ball to Walsh, who fumbled, and Huddo calls it a cruel bounce after the pressure arrived.

Pervert.

15-07-2024, 02:42 AM
Cody flying for the ball and it resulting in a ground ball was maniacal, and helped get Marra his second goal massively.

He might make it.

15-07-2024, 03:23 AM
The JUH kick on his right to West and West's finish were the two best kicks of the game.

JUH will never be Buddy, but Buddy was never able to hit a guy on the tit 55m away on his opposite. Outside of the easy race based comparisons there's some decent football ones to consider.

15-07-2024, 03:27 AM
The Curnow goal off the throw in was Libba's fault. He's looking directly at him but didn't move to block the space.

15-07-2024, 06:01 AM
The JUH kick on his right to West and West's finish were the two best kicks of the game.

JUH will never be Buddy, but Buddy was never able to hit a guy on the tit 55m away on his opposite. Outside of the easy race based comparisons there's some decent football ones to consider.
Jamarra has really struggled with his ball use and taking the best option from ground ball gathers. Saturday needs to be his template now, take the easy option and don’t invite pressure.

15-07-2024, 06:45 AM
Wow Jee you really are a night owl or a very troubled insomniac. Thanks for the insights. :)

15-07-2024, 07:05 AM
Wow Jee you really are a night owl or a very troubled insomniac. Thanks for the insights. :)

I prefer ramblings rather than insights. And I'm troubled for many reasons but not that one.

15-07-2024, 08:50 AM
AFL website now has the full match replay

https://www.afl.com.au/video/1171084/match-replay-western-bulldogs-v-carlton?videoId=1171084&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1720905960001

15-07-2024, 09:01 AM
The Curnow goal off the throw in was Libba's fault. He's looking directly at him but didn't move to block the space.
The one where English was out muscled in the ruck contest by Cripps?

15-07-2024, 09:08 AM

Either way English was poor in that passage of play. The boundary throw in and the lack of follow up after it.

15-07-2024, 09:24 AM
Wasn't sure whether to ask this here or on the training thread.

But, did any of the training watchers notice a difference in training methods that would explain the great level of desperation we showed yesterday.

There was probably some adjustment to the method in the midfield to explain how we moved from being dominated by Port to besting the Blues (whose mids are probably better than Ports.)

But the difference that stood out to me was the level of desperation and intensity of our defensive/pressure game all over the field.

Just wondering if there was something identifiable in our training?

It was a tough week on the track with so many players in the rehab area or not on the track at all. A one stage they had 3 small groups of 9 or 10 players being pitted against each other over the the ground size and Alex Johnson was on the ground to help make up the numbers.

I can't recall them doing anything much in terms of tackling but there was a couple of sessions where they worked on congested footy. The other thing I think I called out on the Thursday update was L.Smith and English doing a bit of work with Lade on the rucking and that shorter run up that Tim employed against Carlton was the focus.

15-07-2024, 09:38 AM
The thing about the Dale goal in the second is the coolness and the fact it went flat and two rows back after he was tackled while kicking it from forty-five. Amazing.

The whole passage of play was a thing of beauty. It is right up there with one of the best goals from a pure class perspective (not freakish).

Firstly, Dale read the play and intercepted with a defensive spoil,

Then followed up with a handball receive from Liberatore,
Then sidestepped a Carlton opponent and within two steps was tackled again and still managed to kick it flush and it never looked like missing.

Then considering the stage of the game - the scoreline was one goal; seven behinds. Such an important goal to nail from a team lift perspective.

15-07-2024, 09:53 AM

That's gonna happen from time to time, but the Blues set up an open passage for Curnow to just blast through and Libba saw it and also ignored it.

Around forward stoppages, relying on ruck advantage to win the contest and stop a score is about as smart as relying on safety vests to stop you getting run over by a forklift.

15-07-2024, 10:05 AM
Either way English was poor in that passage of play. The boundary throw in and the lack of follow up after it.

The boundary throw in was pathetic - fell short

15-07-2024, 10:09 AM
Watching the replay now, and Marra could have had a much better start than the first quarter turned out.

Also, McNeil did an awesome kick to space at half forward to allow Richards and the rest of the cavalry to come to neutralise a contest after running out of options on the run out of half back. He's a smart footballer, just needs to keep working on his polish.

How dare you. McNeil defender!

15-07-2024, 10:10 AM
How dare you. McNeil defender!

Jeenmak's account has been hacked by GG

15-07-2024, 10:13 AM
Jeenmak's account has been hacked by GG

When you talk as much sh1t as I do, you have to be right once out of every 2000 posts.

Lachie is a very good little player. Got speed, aggression, works hard. He's a perfect 15-23 player.

These days you have to have the best "list cloggers", ergo someone with at least one elite trait (like speed).

Plus I've never lost faith (dont NARC EW).

15-07-2024, 10:14 AM
When you talk as much sh1t as I do, you have to be right once out of every 2000 posts.

Lachie is a very good little player. Got speed, aggression, works hard. He's a perfect 15-23 player.

These days you have to have the best "list cloggers", ergo someone with at least one elite trait (like speed).

Plus I've never lost faith (dont NARC EW).

I like Lachie, he just needs to nail those set shots and not panic with the ball in hand.

15-07-2024, 10:53 AM
The boundary throw in was pathetic - fell short

Fair call. It seemed to happen a lot during the match.

Hot Dogs
15-07-2024, 11:22 AM
AFL website now has the full match replay

https://www.afl.com.au/video/1171084/match-replay-western-bulldogs-v-carlton?videoId=1171084&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1720905960001

Thank you. I guess my work will have to go on hold for a bit longer.

15-07-2024, 12:28 PM
That's gonna happen from time to time, but the Blues set up an open passage for Curnow to just blast through and Libba saw it and also ignored it.

Around forward stoppages, relying on ruck advantage to win the contest and stop a score is about as smart as relying on safety vests to stop you getting run over by a forklift.
Gonna happen? Our best ruck beaten by a smaller non ruck in our defensive 50?
We scored from forward stoppages a number of times Saturday but it wasn?t because their ruck didn?t win or half the contest.

15-07-2024, 04:31 PM
Coaches in alignment on the votes. Same top four players. Only deviating on the 5th best on ground.

9 Dale (5+4)
9 Marra (4+5)
6 Cripps (3+3)
4 Westy (2+2)
1 Weitering (1+0)
1 Bont (0+1)

15-07-2024, 05:13 PM
Just finished the replay. Bailey Dale is some goddamn footballer.

16-07-2024, 12:19 AM
Just finished the replay. Bailey Dale is some goddamn footballer.

I suggest he is going better now than when he was AA.

Much harder in the contest and has learnt to deal with a tag much more effectively.

16-07-2024, 12:42 AM
Sadly, I was caught up with carer duties on Saturday afternoon and most of the weekend and missed seeing the game. Sounds like a cracker. I will enjoy reading this game thread.

But the big question for me still remains.

How can we play so poorly one week against Port and then turn it on like this the following game?

16-07-2024, 10:15 AM
Bevo’s post-game speech from Saturday night

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgTfObKc0CQ&ab_channel=WesternBulldogs

16-07-2024, 10:40 AM
Capable of anything is true. Both good and bad.