View Full Version : Bulldogs V Demons - Round 21, Fri 2/8/24 Marvel Stadium 7:15PM AEST

01-07-2024, 02:50 PM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

01-08-2024, 11:45 AM
Margin: Dogs by 27 points
First goal: Cody Weightman
Best on ground: Adam Treloar

01-08-2024, 11:46 AM
Dogs by 22
First Goal West
BOG: Adz

01-08-2024, 11:54 AM
Reckon we?re in a for a big night but I?ll reign myself in.

Dogs by 14
BOG: Richards
FG: Jamarra

01-08-2024, 11:58 AM
Dogs by 44
BOG Treloar
FG Cody

01-08-2024, 07:28 PM
I know he?s pretty much done as an AFL footballer (has he actually retired yet?), but I?m pretty happy not seeing Ben Brown?s name on the Demons team sheet. Billings is also omitted and he cut us up in round 1.

Should win.

01-08-2024, 08:33 PM
No matter what the try to pull. We will win this one easily.
Dogs by 37 points
1st Goal - Flea
BOG.- just can?t go past Adz but need Bont to have a big one if he wants that Charlie

Pleather Sole
02-08-2024, 02:24 AM
Dogs by 51 (like the 54 GF)
First Goal Sam Darcy (FF as above)
BOG: Libba or Bont

I would love for all the fellas to wear black boots. Some of them might have to have them painted (not unrealistic). The boots could all be auctioned off as part of the fundraiser. They could be signed and be 'Footscray Forever' collectors items.

02-08-2024, 10:23 AM
Tonight means so much. We have a real shot to stake a real claim. Current mood ....

His palms are sweaty, knees weak, arms are heavy
There's vomit on his sweater already, mom's spaghetti
He's nervous, but on the surface, he looks calm and ready

02-08-2024, 10:29 AM
I'm more nervous about tonight than I was last week, mainly because I thought we were a decent chance against the Swans but I think we should be morals against the Dees and that's an uncomfortable feeling.

My biggest cause for concern isn't their key defenders chewing us up. It's if we've gone too tall and immobile down back. They have some really crafty, mobile types that can cause us trouble (Pickett, Fritsch, Neal-Bullen). I hope we don't let them off the chain due to the wrong match ups.

02-08-2024, 10:35 AM
How long has it been since we won a game we absolutely should have won against a team between 9-15. Feels like at least 5 years.

02-08-2024, 11:04 AM
How long has it been since we won a game we absolutely should have won against a team between 9-15. Feels like at least 5 years.

This is a very meaningful game for a lot of reasons.

We just have to find a way to win against a bogey team and not them beat us the same way yet again. Literally our last few losses against them feel like carbon copies. Start ok, they peg us back, we stop scoring and before you know it the game is finished and they're up by 6 goals somehow.

We also have a chance to exorcise our demons (lol) from last year after those monumental losses to West Coast & Hawthorn. Melbourne are better than those two sides, but they're just going and are nowhere near their best.

If this team is legit, they win tonight.

02-08-2024, 11:04 AM
Also, I'm worried we haven't heard from mjp this week.

02-08-2024, 11:06 AM
Dogs by 54.
Statement game
Marra first goal (again)
Richards BOG

02-08-2024, 11:54 AM
Also, I'm worried we haven't heard from mjp this week.

Or EW where is he? I'm missing his shizen postas ...

02-08-2024, 12:23 PM
Contenders or pretenders, tonight will tell us a lot. We seem to have put a stop to the oppositions fast break from the centre bounces, but will big Max prove our undoing in this area? Less worried about May and Lever, providing Naughts, Marra and Sam continue to keep on the move and maintain the level of separation that they have been doing. And with The Bont lurking forward more often it's a bit of Sophie's choice who they will go to. With a five day break our midfield will have both their fitness and durability sorely tested, here's hoping they are up to it. Best wishes to Adz for his milestone game.

Footscray to win by 12 points, everything else doesn't matter.

02-08-2024, 12:27 PM
Or EW where is he? I'm missing his shizen postas ...

As I theorised in another thread EW seemed to stop posting around the same time John Setka resigned from the CFMEU. Therefore he is either in deep mourning or he is in fact Setka himself.

02-08-2024, 12:55 PM
EW is still liking posts so he's lurking. Maybe too busy with the fallout to take the time to post

02-08-2024, 01:02 PM
As I theorised in another thread EW seemed to stop posting around the same time John Setka resigned from the CFMEU. Therefore he is either in deep mourning or he is in fact Setka himself.

It's also around the time of that horrid factory fire in Derrimut so hope he wasn't somehow breathing in toxic gases from that!

02-08-2024, 02:05 PM
Hope the group is ready and hellbent on beating this mob. They have toyed with us for too long.

Dogs by 33
FG Darcy
BOG Richards

02-08-2024, 02:23 PM
It's also around the time of that horrid factory fire in Derrimut so hope he wasn't somehow breathing in toxic gases from that!

Judging by that McNeil thread are you sure you didn't inhale some too? ;)

02-08-2024, 02:24 PM
Judging by that McNeil thread are you sure you didn't inhale some too? ;)
A hahaaa! That's just my normal insanity.

02-08-2024, 02:30 PM
Channel 7 promo piece for tonight's game.

Eight games into 2024, the Bulldogs were languishing at 3-5. Now their season has been turned around, and they lurk in their favourite striking zone..

https://x.com/7AFL/status/1819211267912970298

02-08-2024, 03:07 PM
Margin: French Imperials by 31 pts over the evil Satans.
First goal: Darcy
Best on ground: Darcy

02-08-2024, 03:16 PM
Channel 7 promo piece for tonight's game.

Eight games into 2024, the Bulldogs were languishing at 3-5. Now their season has been turned around, and they lurk in their favourite striking zone..

https://x.com/7AFL/status/1819211267912970298

Dare I say it but that got me a bit pumped.

02-08-2024, 03:19 PM
Dare I say it but that got me a bit pumped.

Me too!!!!! How many hours until the bounce?

02-08-2024, 03:59 PM
we will be sing this tonight - bring back this song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyQ1U4kS8jA

02-08-2024, 04:38 PM
we will be sing this tonight - bring back this song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyQ1U4kS8jA

BEST VERSION EVER! Ripping brass and the Fable singers.

Now I'm Pumped.

02-08-2024, 06:20 PM
Think this might be closer than expected. Melbourne have got everything to lose and under the pump.

Dogs by 11
Lachie McNeil to celebrate his 50 th by kicking the opener.

Bog Ads

02-08-2024, 06:45 PM
Emphatic victory.

That's the enttree, now for the main course.

02-08-2024, 07:14 PM
BEST VERSION EVER! Ripping brass and the Fable singers.

Now I'm Pumped.

Needs to be played by the Hyde Street State School Band.

NoseBleed
02-08-2024, 07:21 PM
Needs to be played by the Hyde Street State School Band.

Get the 50c coins ready.

02-08-2024, 07:34 PM
Very nervous about this one, just given our history against the demons in the recent years, the 5 day break and what's at stake for Melbourne.

However, if we can overcome this hurdle, i think the guys are just so set up to put destiny in their own hands in the remaining rounds to make the 8, and a not unlikely possibility we could even secure a top 4 spot. Either of these would be a remarkable given we're we've been at stages this year both on the ladder and form wise.

Dogs by 27 points
First Goal: Weightman
BOG: Dale

02-08-2024, 08:06 PM
Great to hear the scray!

It's actually better.

Soft crowd numbers so far.

02-08-2024, 08:10 PM
Have to say, I?d completely missed that it was a 7:15 game. Glad I went from work?
And yes I realise its in the title of the thread

02-08-2024, 08:11 PM
Have to say, I?d completely missed that it was a 7:15 game. Glad I went from work?
And yes I realise its in the title of the thread
It may catch a few out.

For some reason there are two games, might be the Olympics.

02-08-2024, 08:14 PM
Great to hear the scray!

It's actually better.

Soft crowd numbers so far.
should be the club song

02-08-2024, 08:20 PM
Naughton's headband rules and must stay.

02-08-2024, 08:21 PM
Naughton's headband rules and must stay.

Needs 'Up Yours Oakley' across the front.

02-08-2024, 08:22 PM
Cody has had a tonne of the ball.
good kick for goal!

02-08-2024, 08:25 PM
Richards starts off half back, Bramble on the wing then Richards goes up and Bramble back

02-08-2024, 08:26 PM
Really interesting what we are doing off half back.
Treloar, Richards and West have all had a crack.

02-08-2024, 08:29 PM
Man 2 posters and 1 shaved the post

Gawn ankle heavy tapped. English should try to be physical this game and really push him

02-08-2024, 08:39 PM
Lobb could walk on water at the moment. Full of confidence

02-08-2024, 08:47 PM
Wow. Apart from the goalkicking that was some absolutely sizzling Footscray football.

02-08-2024, 08:48 PM
Lobb could walk on water at the moment. Full of confidence

He was lucky early on. Flew for a contest and Melksham ducked out the back, 30 m on his own. If we had of lost the ground ball it’s a goal.

jDogs
A couple of posters and this could have been over already. What a hot start. They are playing with serious confidence right now.

That mark and kick to Williams is exactly the story we were sold on English's future

02-08-2024, 08:49 PM
Unbelievably good footy by the ‘Scray.
Posts are way too fat at this ground though.

02-08-2024, 08:49 PM
Needs to change his name to Rory Lobbovich.

02-08-2024, 08:50 PM
The signs are GOOD! Go Scray!

How good is the Footscray chant? We are hot. Keep it up boys. Woof woof.

Bont does not want to lose this. 11 disposals, 5 tackles and a goal.

02-08-2024, 08:51 PM
Bont does not want to lose this. 11 disposals, 5 tackles and a goal.

First game for Footscray too !

02-08-2024, 08:52 PM
Ed very quiet at the moment, about onfire
another couple of goals would have been nice

02-08-2024, 08:58 PM
Weak then English. Can't let a one-legged Gawn run off him like that

02-08-2024, 08:59 PM
What the hell English, giving Gawn that much room in the fwd line ?

02-08-2024, 09:02 PM
Bont is having an incredible game.

02-08-2024, 09:03 PM
Now Bont comes off half back after a goal is scored

02-08-2024, 09:03 PM
Much better from English. Make Maxy earn it

02-08-2024, 09:04 PM
That is an absolute rubbish 50m. Geez the umpires continually get these wrong every single game.

02-08-2024, 09:04 PM
English shows a little physicality for once and the up says 50. BS

02-08-2024, 09:06 PM
We are wasting a lot of opportunities here

02-08-2024, 09:07 PM
We will probably have 60 inside 50’s for 9 goals at the end. lol

02-08-2024, 09:08 PM
Certainly playing a kamikaze style into that fwd 50.

02-08-2024, 09:11 PM
How many times does Jamarra lead to the boundary ?

02-08-2024, 09:11 PM
Whatever VDM is, it’s not a forward.

02-08-2024, 09:12 PM
We will probably have 60 inside 50?s for 9 goals at the end. lol

Reckon the Dees are having a really good defensive performance too

Whatever VDM is, it’s not a forward.
It’s obvious who the VFL players are..VDM is one

Quite a bit of sloppiness from Poulter has been costly.

02-08-2024, 09:14 PM
It’s obvious who the VFL players are..VDM is one

VDM has been great, his hassle and pressure has looked awesome. Same as McNeil, they've prevented Melbourne from moving the ball out of their backline.

02-08-2024, 09:14 PM
Poulter is ace.

02-08-2024, 09:16 PM
Buku's one-on-one defending has improved massively

02-08-2024, 09:16 PM
We have been very wasteful this quarter

02-08-2024, 09:17 PM
God, this is ANNOYING

02-08-2024, 09:18 PM
We have been profligate in kicking ten bums whilst they have only one.

02-08-2024, 09:20 PM
You can see Melb 10.1 here

Coffield sucks.

Yeah, really not sure about Coffield

02-08-2024, 09:21 PM
Our goalkicking is looking like it may come back to haunt us.

Coffield is clanger king.

We are blowing it

02-08-2024, 09:22 PM
WTF is this…this is going to be very costly

That was really really poor effort from Poulter to let Langdon run away. Lack of Physicality showing

**** this.

We are blowing it
Melb will get a run on sometime.

02-08-2024, 09:24 PM
We are dramatically throwing this game away

02-08-2024, 09:24 PM
Khamis not much better than Coffield today

02-08-2024, 09:25 PM
Melb will get a run on sometime.

We are keeping them in the game with our shithouse kicking.

1st quarter…dogs OK, Melb PUTRID
2nd quarter…Melb ok, Dogs very wasteful

That was putrid and we now look tired. We're in trouble.

Khamis not much better than Coffield today

Those two are huge weak links in this team.

02-08-2024, 09:26 PM
2.6 why oh why

Those two are huge weak links in this team.
They can’t defend

jDogs
We just continue to do it to ourselves, time and time again. It's crazy.

02-08-2024, 09:27 PM
When the ball is loose in our fwd 50, with Jamarra and Naughton fumbling to pick the ball up shits me to tears… why can’t we just bottle it up. It’s like a cake of soap for those 2.

02-08-2024, 09:27 PM
Demons are a good side. We mightve got ahead of ourselves need to get back to hard work.
Demons made it a scrap. They're playing for their season.
Long way to go here.

02-08-2024, 09:28 PM
That was putrid and we now look tired. We're in trouble.
If we allow Melb to come down the guts, we are screwed.
We need to slow the game right down when Melb have the ball.

02-08-2024, 09:29 PM
We are killing them EVERYWHERE except on the scoreboard. I hate these sort of games

How many times do we reach “10 points” before we reach 10 goals??? 8 out of every 10 games ?

19 scores to 6 reflects the gameplay, it's just a shame we haven't converted our dominance into scoreboard dominance.

22 shots from 35 inside 50s. We're doing a great job creating chances. I think May might get subbed off too which could help.

02-08-2024, 09:30 PM
Marra 1.4

We have left the door wide open off a five day break. Game should have been over after 15 minutes.

I'm optimistic for sure.

The behinds will turn to goals and reward our possession dominance.

02-08-2024, 09:31 PM
This 5 day break will cost us…we came out looking like we needed a lead to defend after HT. 18 points aren’t enough if we start to run out of legs

02-08-2024, 09:32 PM
Marra 1.4

For mine, he’s a 50/50 chance at a set shot. His kicking has gone way off since his first year. And when he misses, majority it’s not a slight miss..it’s a big miss.

Apart from our kicking for goal we are completely dominating. Melbourne have made some forays and their accuracy, coupled with our inaccuracy, are keeping them in it.

This is such a weird looking game, purely because of our horrid goalkicking. This absolutely looks like a 10 goal plus margin... But instead they're only 3 kicks behind.
This is set up for a Melbourne win from here. They've got to view that margin, given the Dog's dominance, as a real win for them. They have no business being in this game, and yet they're a 90 second spurt in a 3 Qtr of a GF away from getting in front?
With the 5 day break, we wouldn't want to show signs of flagging in this qtr, and we've simply got to take our chances this half. No excuses. Otherwise this could go down the same way as the Essendon game earlier in the year, where all the metrics had us down as a win, but instead due to putrid goalkicking we lost by 4 goals.

02-08-2024, 09:34 PM
Melbourne struggle to get the ball inside 50. We need to nail our chances

I think Coffield was very lazy in a couple of contests that quarter and Buku is not attacking the ball with enough intent.

We should be 6 or 7 goals up and the game should be in our keeping. It is paramount that we come out firing after half time

For mine, he’s a 50/50 chance at a set shot. His kicking has gone way off since his first year. And when he misses, majority it’s not a slight miss..it’s a big miss.

His run up is terrible. Kicks to close to the man on the mark, and has now a hook to his kick. There is so much wrong with his kicking atm.

02-08-2024, 09:36 PM
Feels a family story doesn't it?

Big test for this group coming up. Can they steady and remain calm but focused to get the job done or will it crumble like it has in the past?

We need a good start to the third which sounds weird to say, but you can see momentum shifting in a big way if we don't come out with the energy of that first quarter.

02-08-2024, 09:38 PM
We are winning every stat but should have at minimum 10 goals on the board

02-08-2024, 09:40 PM
One of the best halves of football we've played in a long time completely ruined by that goal kicking

Boots
02-08-2024, 09:41 PM
I don’t like talking umps but that bizarre 50m penalty for what should have been a free kick that gave max Gawn a goal might turn out to be telling.

I hate how well Fritsch plays against us too.

I still hold out hope we absolutely squash these pricks. I’ll never forgive them for 2021.

All that being said, agree that the behinds are the problem here. This will be an embarrassing game to lose from here, and it’s a real danger.

02-08-2024, 09:46 PM
Need a great start here

02-08-2024, 09:50 PM
We have the momentum. Let’s do this

02-08-2024, 09:51 PM
Tom McDonald with the saltiest tears

jDogs
02-08-2024, 09:52 PM
22 scoring shots to 6... complete smashing really.

02-08-2024, 09:52 PM
Mature response so far.

02-08-2024, 09:59 PM
Good qtr so far…let’s keep it up.

02-08-2024, 10:03 PM
Vanders is hard to love.

02-08-2024, 10:04 PM
Three long kick coast to coast goal!

With a barrel.

02-08-2024, 10:08 PM
Horrible umpiring with the missed holding the man on Poulter gifts that goal to Melbourne

02-08-2024, 10:08 PM
Coz of the way we are setting up, we can’t allow a team to run the ball quickly. Our backs are playing fairly high and that leaves opposition 50 very open if they run it quick. Need to slow their movement

02-08-2024, 10:10 PM
Garcia playing himself out of the team.

02-08-2024, 10:11 PM
Garcia playing himself out of the team.

Yep, Sanders belted down the door today. Garcia needs a good quarter and a bit.

02-08-2024, 10:12 PM
Garcia just chews too much off.

This goal kicking is diabolical. We?ve done ourselves out of an extra 10% here

02-08-2024, 10:20 PM
Vandermeer must be close to having a spell. He's not exactly giving us much.

02-08-2024, 10:21 PM
Who gets subbed?

02-08-2024, 10:23 PM
We must start the last the same way we came out after half time. C'mon Scray, put 'em away!

02-08-2024, 10:23 PM
Alright let's make sure we finish off this game right.

02-08-2024, 10:24 PM

Those pressure smalls / high half forwards in Laith, McNeil, Garcia and West have been fairly mediocre. Reckon there's a chance for Daniel, Sanders or Macrae to earn a starting 22 spot next week.

Westy having his quietest game in a while. The short break maybe.

Libba was immense in that 3rd quarter. He was pivotal to us winning so many contests.

That Lobster long bomb & Poulter’s miracle goal - gold!!

How good is Libba today in the clinches?

Adz pure class.

Anyone else think Duryea has been excellent today?

I’m guessing Bont or Adz will get off the chain Q4 (x fingers).

02-08-2024, 10:26 PM
We win so let's enjoy the last.

02-08-2024, 10:28 PM

Those pressure smalls / high half forwards in Laith, McNeil, Garcia and West have been fairly mediocre. Reckon there's a chance for Daniel, Sanders or Macrae to earn a starting 22 spot next week.

Are you guys insane.

Our quick smalls have been a HUGE part of our form turnaround. It's a hard role to look "good" in week to week but they contribute so much to the way we setup and play.

02-08-2024, 10:32 PM
English…

02-08-2024, 10:32 PM
Just what the doctor ordered. Astro!

02-08-2024, 10:33 PM
Are you guys insane.

Our quick smalls have been a HUGE part of our form turnaround. It's a hard role to look "good" in week to week but they contribute so much to the way we setup and play.

Yeah nah, not for a few weeks for VDM. McNeil has been fine. VDM has lost just about every contest he's been in.

02-08-2024, 10:40 PM
Are you guys insane.

I do agree that they're an important part of the structure. I think we're playing one more than we have to tonight and when Sanders is having 40 and kicking 3 in the VFL, someone's going to be unlucky

02-08-2024, 10:46 PM
We may only need to win two finals for the flag, unlike 2016.

02-08-2024, 10:47 PM

Umm…..

Boots
I wonder what Garcia said to Oliver? Oliver was pissed.

How are we rating English's game tonight? Been some terrific stuff and some horrendous stuff.

02-08-2024, 10:58 PM
Same margin as 1954

Carn the Scray. Good win.

How are we rating English's game tonight? Been some terrific stuff and some horrendous stuff.
The best I've seen him.
Dominated taps and great marking a la Dempsey around the ground.

51 points, what a hammering

02-08-2024, 10:59 PM

Yep some good. Some garbage too.

02-08-2024, 11:00 PM
Yeah nah, not for a few weeks for VDM. McNeil has been fine. VDM has lost just about every contest he's been in.

Do you mean Mac Neil? Pretty sure that's his name I watched the coverage

Pleather Sole
02-08-2024, 11:03 PM
Dogs by 51!!

The goal wastage was diabolical but the rest of it was mighty. Carn the Scray!

02-08-2024, 11:06 PM
Feels good to belt the Demons by 50+ in both games. We should have smashed Melbourne by so much more though.

02-08-2024, 11:06 PM
Well I just read all the posts . We are a negative lot aren’t we. 51 point win boys and girls, yes we missed a few but wowee that was massive , this last 4 weeks something had clicked.
Lobb is huge in our backline.
Jamarra is smashing it. Ok his kicking was out but 2.6 shows when he had a day out watch out !
The Bont, Treloar , Bramble great again.
Another big team effort, you know what wins flags ? TEAM and that’s what we are.

02-08-2024, 11:07 PM
Great win. Could have been a 75 point win but I'll take it!

02-08-2024, 11:09 PM
Really strong performance, thought our ball movement was terrific. Bont was exceptional when the game was there to be won.

02-08-2024, 11:12 PM
Certainly a solid turnaround from our Round 1 effort.

When was the last time we won 4 in a row?

02-08-2024, 11:13 PM

Mid last year:

02-08-2024, 11:16 PM
Mid last year:

When was the last time we won 10 in a row?

02-08-2024, 11:21 PM
That was a fantastic win. Even with the bad kicking at no point did we look like losing. Just a class above these arseholes.

02-08-2024, 11:24 PM
We outplayed them tonight as much as they did in that grand final. Hopefully we realise we?re better than them and put a gap on them over the next few years. Should have been 100+

02-08-2024, 11:26 PM
It really looked like men vs boys tonight, we absolutely smashed them psychically and they were scared of our boys

02-08-2024, 11:27 PM
Once again, I want/need to defend VDM. So often he is the difference between an opposition's walk in goal and an interception/tackle or contested delay. I would love to know what his Satnav distance figures are for tonight.

02-08-2024, 11:31 PM
We had a lot of good players. I was really impressed by our INTENT. We were hard at it all night. Their key midfielders like zViney and Oliver were overwhelmed by our manic attack on the ball and, ipso facto, THEM. Well done Scray.

02-08-2024, 11:35 PM
The only player I was most disappointed in was Coffield and we would get the same with Buss but better marking time to debut.

02-08-2024, 11:40 PM
Things are just starting to click, we really did dominate tonight and could have had an 80 plus point win but still take that.

02-08-2024, 11:41 PM
Found myself singing along with the old Sons of the 'Scray after the game, just like in the old John Gent Stand, after a win. God I am old. Not sufficiently sloshed to launch into a solo rendition of, "If you know Footscray, like I know Footscray...... Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh what a team".

02-08-2024, 11:45 PM
Found myself singing along with the old Sons of the 'Scray after the game, just like in the old John Gent Stand, after a win. God I am old.

Poor John Gent has been forgotten.

03-08-2024, 12:03 AM

I'm not sure but one thing I am sure about Mofra is that is the best stretch of home and away wins in a row I can remember as a bulldog supporter. That passage of play in the last from Marra to Naughty to English... I was shaking my head in disbelief. This is our team we are watching.

How many years at the kennel have we yearned for a tall forward? It's been a bloody grave yard. I know we missed opportunities but the spacing, the work rate, the courage to fly.

I have never been more bullish as a bulldog supporter than now. This is legit, we are becoming one serious football side, a top 4 side that we have craved for a long time now.

Enjoy the weekend woofers, how sweet it is.

03-08-2024, 12:13 AM
Great win and we could have won by more had we kicked straighter.

We were well on top tonight. 4 wins in row now and coming. Such an open season we are a chance to win the flag I'm saying it now :D

Go Footscray! Was great to sing the old Footscray song at the end.

03-08-2024, 12:49 AM
I don't know why all of you are getting so excited.

We were playing Melbourne without Petracca, Oliver and Viney playing.

03-08-2024, 12:50 AM
What an enjoyable night at the footy. Definitely much better than what I witnessed vs. Essington earlier in the year.

I really struggled to intellectualise the game, with respect to how players position themselves and what they are trying to do. The modern game is so quick that you need practice in watching live to understand what's happening. I guess I need to start attending live again if I want to understand it better.

The things that were obvious to me though were things that always have been. Commitment and work rate of the playing group. We're bringing each to the game and it makes such a massive difference.

We're also clearly setting up the ground well for when we don't have the footy. Add the commitment and work rate and we're in most games.

Fantastic stretch.

03-08-2024, 01:00 AM

Come on mate...we're currently sitting fourth, we've just come off wins against the top 3 sides and we belted a team that's owned us for years off a 5-day break. Our list is healthy and our form is as good as anyone's.

I didn't think we should fear the Dees, but there's heaps to get excited about.

03-08-2024, 01:04 AM
Come on mate...we're currently sitting fourth, we've just come off wins against the top 3 sides and we belted a team that's owned us for years off a 5-day break. Our list is healthy and our form is as good as anyone's.

Mate some people just want to shove pineapples up their arses. Let them have their fun.

03-08-2024, 01:04 AM
Horse said we made them look third rate, ditto Demons.

03-08-2024, 01:15 AM
Dogs by 51!!

The goal wastage was diabolical but the rest of it was mighty. Carn the Scray!

It certainly needs improving because poor goal kicking accuracy can cost you finals wins against the better teams this year when it is closer.

I still thought Jamarra competed very well tonight despite the poor goal kicking. Been really good the last couple of weeks and seems to have elevated his game.

03-08-2024, 01:16 AM

Oliver and Viney played. I think he was making a joke about how ineffectual they were.

03-08-2024, 01:39 AM

The joke is both Oliver and Viney were playing...

03-08-2024, 01:43 AM
The joke is both Oliver and Viney were playing...

I only realised Viney was playing in Q3. What has happened to Dees? Who cares and long may it continue.

03-08-2024, 01:44 AM
Mate some people just want to shove pineapples up their arses. Let them have their fun.

Sorry DR, I didn't get the joke at first.

I was only joking about the pineapple BTW.

03-08-2024, 01:48 AM
Pretty funny how some people don't get a pretty obvious joke.

And an even bigger joke is how Tom McDonald is still on an AFL list.

03-08-2024, 01:49 AM
Sorry DR, I didn't get the joke at first.

I was only joking about the pineapple BTW.

No problems, but how hopeless were Oliver and Viney?

03-08-2024, 01:53 AM

I'm still more interested in the pineapples but to your question, without the inside/ outside ability of Petracca those two are easily sat on and ineffective.

03-08-2024, 09:33 AM
A decent sized crowd attended last night around 33K but at the start of the game it was looking really bad.
Apparently the earlier start due to the double header caught a lot of people out. The AFL should have got that advertised a lot better.

03-08-2024, 09:42 AM

Oliver and Viney were hopeless because they were covered in a RWB rash every time they got near the ball. Well done Dogs.

03-08-2024, 10:11 AM

Had to read this post twice but laughed loudly afterwards.

The only reason I knew Oliver was even out there was his stoush with Garcia at the end.

03-08-2024, 10:15 AM
Oliver was invisible for 3 quarters. Was decent in the second.
I honestly felt like Garcia matched him when they played on each other, and with all respect to Garcia he's about our 6th midfielder and that's with Macrae and Sanders in the VFL.

03-08-2024, 10:17 AM
TBH I couldn't pick Viney out of a lineup. Could anyone else?

03-08-2024, 10:21 AM

lol love the sarcasm DR :)

03-08-2024, 10:22 AM

The only reason I knew Oliver was even out there was his stoush with Garcia at the end.

Oliver was really poor last night. Early on in the game he couldn't make a tackle stick at all. I don't know if it's due to his delayed start to the season but he isn't the force he was over the last few seasons.

03-08-2024, 10:22 AM

Did Oliver play? I didn’t notice

03-08-2024, 10:25 AM
Good match-up between English and Gawn last night. Tim's tactics in the middle caused Gawn to have a rethink and while Gawn was probably their best player I though English did very well against him. A goal, some good marks in defence and his overall impact around the ground meant that Tim had a good night.

03-08-2024, 10:28 AM
Oliver was really poor last night. Early on in the game he couldn't make a tackle stick at all. I don't know if it's due to his delayed start to the season but he isn't the force he was over the last few seasons.

For all his ability he doesn't have the mental fortitude to carry they midfield without backup from Brayshaw and Petracca.

03-08-2024, 10:33 AM

He looked lazy and disinterested from the moment he stepped out on the field for the warm up. Pickett as well.

Last to join in, jogged when others sprinted, and walked between drills.

Has there been any heat on Goodwin to be sacked yet?

03-08-2024, 10:36 AM
Pretty funny how some people don't get a pretty obvious joke.

And an even bigger joke is how Tom McDonald is still on an AFL list.

Sorry mate! Joke's on me

03-08-2024, 11:28 AM
I think I counted at least 3 occasions where Jones passed the ball to Lobb. They seem to have quickly worked out some synergies and have become a really competitive the KP pillars of our defence.

03-08-2024, 12:31 PM
TBH I couldn't pick Viney out of a lineup. Could anyone else?

Yep. His head looks like it was modelled on the Easter Island statues.

Critter
03-08-2024, 12:40 PM
Once again, I want/need to defend VDM. So often he is the difference between an opposition's walk in goal and an interception/tackle or contested delay. I would love to know what his Satnav distance figures are for tonight.

Agree he runs a lot but am unsure about his tackling contribution. Stats in recent games are:

R21 - 1
R20 - 1
R19 - 1
R18 - 2

For someone who doesn't get many possessions, I'd like him to have a more direct effect in his contests - stick more tackles, take more marks that bounce off his hands etc.

03-08-2024, 12:46 PM
Is it more about shutting down space which forces them to go down the line for our interceptors.
It was mentioned last night on Fox where they show a snippet of VDM running to the boundary dragging his opponent with him which open up space behind him which I think it was Treloar ran into and then sent us into attack.
So his role may be defined in ways we don't understand and if he is doing all the right things the coaches want he stays in the team.

03-08-2024, 01:36 PM
Good match-up between English and Gawn last night. Tim's tactics in the middle caused Gawn to have a rethink and while Gawn was probably their best player I though English did very well against him. A goal, some good marks in defence and his overall impact around the ground meant that Tim had a good night.

Tim seems to be adjusting better at centre bounce to the shorten run up? He made a few errors but he is moving really well atm, he has found his marking form around the ground again.

03-08-2024, 01:41 PM
What an enjoyable night at the footy. Definitely much better than what I witnessed vs. Essington earlier in the year.

I really struggled to intellectualise the game, with respect to how players position themselves and what they are trying to do. The modern game is so quick that you need practice in watching live to understand what's happening. I guess I need to start attending live again if I want to understand it better.

The things that were obvious to me though were things that always have been. Commitment and work rate of the playing group. We're bringing each to the game and it makes such a massive difference.

We're also clearly setting up the ground well for when we don't have the footy. Add the commitment and work rate and we're in most games.

Fantastic stretch.

Nothing like watching the game live. There was one piece of play where English ran the entire ground and then positioned himself in the F50 to take the mark. Gawn couldn't keep up. Just don't get that watching on TV. Watching VDM live and his running is also incredible, again you don't see that on TV.

03-08-2024, 01:43 PM
Agree he runs a lot but am unsure about his tackling contribution. Stats in recent games are:

R21 - 1
R20 - 1
R19 - 1
R18 - 2

For someone who doesn't get many possessions, I'd like him to have a more direct effect in his contests - stick more tackles, take more marks that bounce off his hands etc.

Check with GG on his pressure acts

03-08-2024, 01:46 PM

Fantastic stretch.
We conceded 2.1 from turnover last night. That is insane and easily the biggest change to our game plan - we are defending the entire ground a million times better than we have in the past.

And on the flipside we scored 9.10 from turnover, again something we haven't been strong at in previous seasons. And we are still a strong clearance and stoppage team.

It's a compelling mix and shows we have a number of ways to hurt the opposition.

03-08-2024, 01:49 PM
Nothing like watching the game live. There was one piece of play where English ran the entire ground and then positioned himself in the F50 to take the mark. Gawn couldn't keep up. Just don't get that watching on TV. Watching VDM live and his running is also incredible, again you don't see that on TV.

That's exactly what Tim needs to do week in week out, to simply run his opponents around especially with Gawn on one leg last night, there was one piece of play where he just let Gawn take that grab in front of goal by losing concentration for that second or two but overall played well, even Leathal Leigh who was scathing on English's lack of strength earlier in the season has been a lot more impressed over the past month or so.

03-08-2024, 02:01 PM
That's exactly what Tim needs to do week in week out, to simply run his opponents around especially with Gawn on one leg last night, there was one piece of play where he just let Gawn take that grab in front of goal by losing concentration for that second or two but overall played well, even Leathal Leigh who was scathing on English's lack of strength earlier in the season has been a lot more impressed over the past month or so.

Yeah Tim knew he did the wrong thing there and looked disappointed with himself. Gawn is physically stronger than Tim, but to Tim's credit he pushed back many times at stoppages

03-08-2024, 03:51 PM
Yeah Tim knew he did the wrong thing there and looked disappointed with himself. Gawn is physically stronger than Tim, but to Tim's credit he pushed back many times at stoppages

I was really happy with English's game, but was really impressed by Darcy's strength in the ruck. Just refused to be pushed around.
I shouldn't have been surprised because he does the same thing in marking contests but still...I just freaking love Sam Darcy.

03-08-2024, 04:07 PM
A friend of mine who works at WB managed to get me and the family tickets right next to the cheer squad. It was a fantastic vibe and experience. Here's a great pic:

https://i.ibb.co/LzXn9gj/IMG-5164.jpg

03-08-2024, 07:20 PM
I was really happy with English's game, but was really impressed by Darcy's strength in the ruck. Just refused to be pushed around.
I shouldn't have been surprised because he does the same thing in marking contests but still...I just freaking love Sam Darcy.

I've been very critical of Tim. Without looking at stats he was very good last night. Looked more physical and didn't back down to the contest. It's the most influential I've seen him this season.

03-08-2024, 07:47 PM
Did anyone else see Josh Bruce and Matt Suckling at the game yesterday?

03-08-2024, 07:59 PM
Did anyone else see Josh Bruce and Matt Suckling at the game yesterday?

There for Adz?

Nice to see Dunks babysitting in the crowd too.

03-08-2024, 10:02 PM
There for Adz?

Nice to see Dunks babysitting in the crowd too.

Doing opposition analysis.

04-08-2024, 12:28 AM
Nope but I saw some 7 footers in the meech shop. Who were those guys?

05-08-2024, 01:52 PM

Make that three finals.

05-08-2024, 05:29 PM
Coaches votes
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GUMofv0aAAA8M73?format=jpg&name=medium

05-08-2024, 05:29 PM
T Mac stiff

05-08-2024, 05:34 PM
Bont and Treloar going to be trading Bronwlow votes.

05-08-2024, 05:44 PM
That Lobb resurgence!

05-08-2024, 05:49 PM
Bevo appreciating Tim's game? Curious as I'd have thought Gawn was closer to votes than English

05-08-2024, 05:51 PM
Bevo appreciating Tim's game? Curious as I'd have thought Gawn was closer to votes than English

I don't think Gawn influenced the game at all

05-08-2024, 06:30 PM

I thought he had an enormous influence. One of their few influential players. I actually thought Tim did well by the way. But Max had a massive inlfuence. If he didn't play they probably lose by 100+.

Gawn's stats (Tim in brackets)

23 touches (16)
11 contested possesions (7)
9 marks (8)
2 contested marks (3)
2 tackles (1)
44 hit outs (28)
2 clearances (2)
1 goal (1)
4 score involvements (6)
4 intercept possesions (3)
89% game time (84%)

By the way. Gawn was the highest rated player on the ground in AFL Fantasty and he was the third highest rated player for Supercoach (only Bont and Treloar were rated higher).

05-08-2024, 07:26 PM
And before anyone asks
HTA 15 (8)
Intercept Marks 3 (3)

I generally look at those as well when judging rucks and figured HTA would likely come up if Tim did well there.

To the eye Gawn was a big part of why they were even close. Tim had some counter punch moments but I thought Gawn was still the best ruck on the ground

05-08-2024, 07:48 PM

Well he did but not substantially so and he was also a bit underdone.

05-08-2024, 07:52 PM
Looks very close to break even looking at those stats which isn't a bad thing.

05-08-2024, 10:29 PM
I thought he had an enormous influence. One of their few influential players. I actually thought Tim did well by the way. But Max had a massive inlfuence. If he didn't play they probably lose by 100+.

Gawn's stats (Tim in brackets)

23 touches (16)
11 contested possesions (7)
9 marks (8)
2 contested marks (3)
2 tackles (1)
44 hit outs (28)
2 clearances (2)
1 goal (1)
4 score involvements (6)
4 intercept possesions (3)
89% game time (84%)

By the way. Gawn was the highest rated player on the ground in AFL Fantasty and he was the third highest rated player for Supercoach (only Bont and Treloar were rated higher).

And before anyone asks
HTA 15 (8)
Intercept Marks 3 (3)

I generally look at those as well when judging rucks and figured HTA would likely come up if Tim did well there.

To the eye Gawn was a big part of why they were even close. Tim had some counter punch moments but I thought Gawn was still the best ruck on the ground

Well he did but not substantially so and he was also a bit underdone.

Although he did rack up numbers, I didn't feel watching him he influenced the game much - after all a 51 point drubbing shows he could do little to change the game.

05-08-2024, 11:28 PM
Although he did rack up numbers, I didn't feel watching him he influenced the game much - after all a 51 point drubbing shows he could do little to change the game.

I thought it was a good game but nothing special. That mark and goal was impressive from him.

05-08-2024, 11:29 PM
Bramble was a genuine winger against Melbourne and I thought we would use him more in the back line given the Dees small forwards.

This is his heat map from the game.

Poulter also racked up his possessions across the wing

06-08-2024, 08:21 AM

Agreed BAD. I thought both rucks had their moments but neither really influenced the game as such.

06-08-2024, 08:28 AM
Bramble was a genuine winger against Melbourne and I thought we would use him more in the back line given the Dees small forwards.

This is his heat map from the game.

Poulter also racked up his possessions across the wing

I wish I paid more attention but from memory Bramble played on the wing just as his form started to turn around, but the last week or two it has been quite evident.

To my untrained eye playing him on the wing gives him more time and isn't under immediate pressure like he would be as a small defender inside our D50.

Interestingly Bailey Williams heatmap is very similar to Bramble and Poulter.