Collingwood vs Brisbane
Port Adelaide vs Adelaide
StKilda vs Geelong

Sunday
Hawthorn vs Richmond
West Coast vs Carlton

15-08-2024, 08:19 PM
Is Chad Warner injured or has Sydney just dropped him?

15-08-2024, 08:24 PM
Wouldnt be performance based he was their best last week.

15-08-2024, 09:43 PM
CARLTON

In: Le.Young, J.Binns, C.Lord, J.Carroll, C.Durdin, H.Lemmey, B.Wilson, A.Moir, D.Akuei
Out: A.Saad (hamstring), H.McKay (quad), J.Martin (hamstring), L.Fogarty (collarbone), C.Curnow (ankle), J.Boyd (adductor)

The heart bleeds. C'mon Eagles!

15-08-2024, 09:50 PM
CARLTON

In: Le.Young, J.Binns, C.Lord, J.Carroll, C.Durdin, H.Lemmey, B.Wilson, A.Moir, D.Akuei
Out: A.Saad (hamstring), H.McKay (quad), J.Martin (hamstring), L.Fogarty (collarbone), C.Curnow (ankle), J.Boyd (adductor)

The heart bleeds. C'mon Eagles!

https://frinkiac.com/video/S11E06/4HTjM4QVdZnkOJHpPy6NGxwllVM=.gif

15-08-2024, 11:28 PM

Injured

16-08-2024, 09:01 PM
Swans are pathetic.

They will be the easy beats of the finals.

16-08-2024, 09:02 PM
This season seems all about momentum and Sydney have absolutely none going into finals. I hope these clowns are out in straight sets.

16-08-2024, 09:05 PM
Bomber supporters have not turned up at all.

16-08-2024, 09:07 PM
This season seems all about momentum and Sydney have absolutely none going into finals. I hope these clowns are out in straight sets.

I get all the posts but even when they were winning what seemed like 200 games in a row earlier this year they were terrible in first quarters...hell, when we knocked them off I was still nervous at half time because of this - the week before the Bears were up 5-goals to 1 and won by just 2-points and the week before that North were 3goals even with them before Sydney cruised to an 80-point victory.

Not saying it's "GONNA" happy but poor first quarters are part of this team's DNA.

16-08-2024, 09:09 PM
Dons haven't made them pay it should be game over. Well maybe not game over but further up.

+10 inside 50s
+19 contested poss

Both with 2 marks inside 50 though such an important stat.

16-08-2024, 09:34 PM
Brian Taylor definitely wants to give Draper a bristly one (think about the filthiest thing you can and that's what I'm talking about).

16-08-2024, 09:47 PM
Not watching but keeping an eye on the score. 29-22 at HT. High quality game??

16-08-2024, 09:48 PM
Dons haven't made them pay it should be game over. Well maybe not game over but further up.

+10 inside 50s
+19 contested poss

Both with 2 marks inside 50 though such an important stat.

Such a boring game I’ve switched it off.

16-08-2024, 09:51 PM
Not watching but keeping an eye on the score. 29-22 at HT. High quality game??
It's a interesting game. Dons are dominating but can't score.

Swans are awful. Lucky not to be 5+ goals down.

16-08-2024, 09:51 PM
Essendon are working hard at making hopeless look adequate playing against pathetic.
Grundy seems a shadow of who he was at round 1.
Easily pushed aside by Draper more than once.
Draper at the same time doing his best to prove intelligence is an optional extra for ruckmen.

16-08-2024, 09:52 PM
Grundy hasn't been good for 5 years.

16-08-2024, 09:54 PM
and Weideman also doing his best to prove that Liam Jones is an exception and not the rule for failed forwards

16-08-2024, 09:55 PM
Umps desperately for a Bombers win

16-08-2024, 09:57 PM
Umps desperately for a Bombers win
Horse?

Swans will win but they won't win a final.

16-08-2024, 10:12 PM
When will Bombers fans head home?

16-08-2024, 10:15 PM
Why did the Bombers give Weidemann a farewell game and not Heppell?

16-08-2024, 10:17 PM
When will Bombers fans head home?

Mate, there are No supporters there!!!

16-08-2024, 10:36 PM
How good's the Esserdon 'Edge'?

16-08-2024, 10:37 PM

Non existent in that 3rd quarter and for a while now.

16-08-2024, 10:40 PM
Can anyone explain to me why they dumped an experienced guy like Rutten who was part of a successful system to go for an AFL stoolie that had been out of coaching for years?

Did Sheeds have too many reds and confuse him for Chris ?

I think they thought they were getting Clarko and jumped too early.

16-08-2024, 10:43 PM
Can anyone explain to me why they dumped an experienced guy like Rutten who was part of a successful system to go for an AFL stoolie that had been out of coaching for years?

Rutten sucked though…?!

16-08-2024, 10:44 PM
Rutten sucked though…?!
Made finals. Not sure he was terrible?

16-08-2024, 10:44 PM

I did read Sheedy has now gone as well. As much as I can't stand like Sheedy or Dorodo they have been successful at keeping this club shit for so many years. It's a shame they're going.

16-08-2024, 10:48 PM
Mate, there are No supporters there!!!

Jon Ralph @RalphyHeraldSun

Tonight’s game was fully ticketed. AFL had expected a strong crowd. Only at 33,000 now, the final crowd will end up fractionally higher so it’s basically Essendon and AFL members not rocking up. Whether fans had bought tickets a few weeks back and had lost hope?

hahaha

16-08-2024, 10:48 PM
I did read Sheedy has now gone as well. As much as I can't stand like Sheedy or Dorodo they have been successful at keeping this club shit for so many years. It's a shame they're going.
Yes, end of a very successful era.

For the other 17 sides.

16-08-2024, 10:51 PM

They fell off it about a month ago.

16-08-2024, 10:57 PM
Did I just see Dr Zimmerman with Peter Costello?

16-08-2024, 11:05 PM

https://i.ibb.co/R2K4tmN/Screen-Shot-2020-03-01-at-9-52-21-am.png (https://ibb.co/SNg7H8c)

16-08-2024, 11:06 PM
McGrath should test the trade waters at end of season. Finishing 9-10 again is not where you want to be long term.

Just look at how Heppel's career petered out.

16-08-2024, 11:09 PM
The half hearted Bombres apologia in the commentary box is the gravy this game needs.

16-08-2024, 11:13 PM
Sheedy has left the board but will still be at the club.
Dodoro I’ve read one article he has left the club and another he is on leave. God may they stay in some capacity.

Good to see Stringer give his usual game . About 5 minutes and a goal. His Clanger at missing the goal I think puts him in the best players for Sydney.
Swans definitely lifted after that.

16-08-2024, 11:20 PM
McGrath should test the trade waters at end of season. Finishing 9-10 again is not where you want to be long term.

Just look at how Heppel's career petered out.

Doubt there'd be even a ripple.

16-08-2024, 11:35 PM

I thought it was too

16-08-2024, 11:46 PM
Zimmerman has always been a Bombers supporter.

16-08-2024, 11:47 PM
Zimmerman has always been a Bombers supporter.

Didn't know that. traitor

16-08-2024, 11:50 PM
Didn't know that. traitor

He's known Costello since they were kids. They've been going to the footy together for over 40 years.

16-08-2024, 11:55 PM
He's known Costello since they were kids. They've been going to the footy together for over 40 years.
I noticed there's a Zimmerman life member of the Dons so must be a family thing.
Gee must've been hard for him watching some of the hammerings we've given them of late from up close!

17-08-2024, 12:14 AM

Don't stress. Sheedy is in charge of relationship management across coteries and influential sponsors. He now gets to do his shit work in the shadows and not in the accountable light of a board environment.

He's got plenty of damage to do yet.

17-08-2024, 11:48 AM
Don't stress. Sheedy is in charge of relationship management across coteries and influential sponsors. He now gets to do his shit work in the shadows and not in the accountable light of a board environment.

He's got plenty of damage to do yet.

Lets hope he keeps undermining things until he gets James Hird back as coach.

17-08-2024, 03:09 PM
That's a relief. No doubt if they start winning again he'll take credit for it.

17-08-2024, 03:16 PM
What I would give for Matt Rowell, can we start getting in his ear to replace Libba when he retires.
The bloke is an inside bull.

17-08-2024, 04:48 PM
Giants getting another unsustainable win that doesn’t count.

17-08-2024, 04:53 PM
Giants getting another unsustainable win that doesn’t count.

Foxtel commentators clearly on the giants. You would’ve thought Giants were ten goals up.

17-08-2024, 04:54 PM
Hilarious, Gold Coast 23 points down against the demons.

17-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Foxtel commentators clearly on the giants. You would’ve thought Giants were ten goals up.

I can't work out who we want to win.

17-08-2024, 04:59 PM
I really love watching Brent Daniels play. Speed, tough, skillful.

If Giants win they are in the finals which maybe good for us next week.

If we win both games and gws lose today we can jump them in the ladder.

If dockers lose both and we win both we can jump them.

But yeah, not sure I have answered your question!

I’m on the dockers just because.

I really love watching Brent Daniels play. Speed, tough, skillful.

Thanks Jono Brown.

17-08-2024, 05:03 PM
If Giants win they are in the finals which maybe good for us next week.

If we win both games and gws lose today we can jump them in the ladder.

If dockers lose both and we win both we can jump them.

But yeah, not sure I have answered your question!

I’m on the dockers just because.

We only have to win one and Freo lose both and we go above them.

17-08-2024, 05:05 PM

I think GWS winning is a good result for us (yuck). If we win tomorrow, it means Freo have to beat Port at home to take our finals spot.

17-08-2024, 05:11 PM
I think GWS winning is a good result for us (yuck). If we win tomorrow, it means Freo have to beat Port at home to take our finals spot.

Yep,GWS is the better result I reckon.
We could make a Freo win work for us, but they have a tough game next week.

On another note, what the **** are the Suns doing. Unserious football club to the extreme.

17-08-2024, 05:11 PM

Hope Giants can hold on. Best result for us I reckon.

17-08-2024, 05:12 PM
Yep,GWS is the better result I reckon.
We could make a Freo win work for us, but they have a tough game next week.

On another note, what the **** are the Suns doing. Unserious football club to the extreme.

I refuse to acknowledge the existence of the alleged “Gold Coast Suns”.

17-08-2024, 05:16 PM
Hope Giants can hold on. Best result for us I reckon.

Incredibly even contest

17-08-2024, 05:22 PM
Incredibly even contest

Exciting waiting for which team wins off the back of a horrible umpire decision. I can’t pick it.

17-08-2024, 05:22 PM
And great to see under Hardwick.

17-08-2024, 05:24 PM
We don't want GWS winning. My predictor shows we could end up playing them at their home ground

17-08-2024, 05:25 PM
We don't want GWS winning. My predictor shows we could end up playing them at their home ground

Pretty sure we can win there… :)

17-08-2024, 05:27 PM
bullshit 50

17-08-2024, 05:27 PM
And great to see under Hardwick.
Probably shouldn’t have had a Mad Monday after winning an away game.

17-08-2024, 05:29 PM
bullshit 50

Nah. It was there.

17-08-2024, 05:29 PM
Exciting waiting for which team wins off the back of a horrible umpire decision. I can’t pick it.

The not paid 50 to Freo v the paid 50 to GWS is probably going to be most important, but honourable mention to Cadman waving his bloodied stumps at the umpire appealing for an arm chop, as the umpire waves play on.

17-08-2024, 05:31 PM

I have us 9th after Freo knock us out when they beat port in the last game.

17-08-2024, 05:31 PM

Bring it on.

17-08-2024, 05:32 PM
Nah. It was there.
Agree. Stupid by Banfield

17-08-2024, 05:33 PM

Of course you do

(mostly a joke btw)

17-08-2024, 05:34 PM

If we win tomorrow how do we finish 9th? Carlton winning both. They will struggle against West Coast with their outs

17-08-2024, 05:35 PM
Bring it on.

Playing around with Predictor, GWS need to win next week to stay in top 4

17-08-2024, 05:35 PM
Giants getting another unsustainable win that doesn?t count.

Not sure they can keep it up.

17-08-2024, 05:36 PM
Not sure they can keep it up.

Everyone knows that you have to do it 8 times in a row before it counts

17-08-2024, 05:36 PM
I refuse to acknowledge the existence of the alleged ?Gold Coast Suns?.

Gerard Healy was right

17-08-2024, 05:37 PM
Of course you do

(mostly a joke btw)

I reckon we finish 12th.

17-08-2024, 05:42 PM
I reckon we finish 12th.
How,

17-08-2024, 05:49 PM
If we win tomorrow how do we finish 9th? Carlton winning both. They will struggle against West Coast with their outs
If one of curnow or McKay can return against saints, I think blues will win. Carl wont win both, and if they somehow do beat WC, then look out…and ofcourse, WE have to beat NM tomorrow. ;)

17-08-2024, 05:52 PM
How,

I just think we can do it. We have a rare ability.

17-08-2024, 05:54 PM
Kudos to bulldogtragic for nominating Lohman as a target in the Dunkley trade.

Lohman has had a real breakout season.

17-08-2024, 05:55 PM
Kudos to bulldogtragic for nominating Lohman as a target in the Dunkley trade.

Lohman has had a real breakout season.

Spewing we couldn’t get it done. I’m not off Clarke, but Lohmann for Clarke wouldn’t be bad right now.

17-08-2024, 06:04 PM
Stupid Dunkley, bloody Lions look good.

17-08-2024, 06:22 PM
I'll take a goal like that over a flukey snap any day of the week. That was a special goal by Daicos.

17-08-2024, 06:26 PM
If anyone wants some amusing distraction, flick on the East Perth v East Freo WAFL game. There is a river 5 m wide running a fair length of the ground. And the rest of the ground ain’t much better.

17-08-2024, 06:37 PM
Assuming it is better if the Lions win? Pies are then out of contention. Then we can’t finish 12th

17-08-2024, 06:37 PM
If anyone wants some amusing distraction, flick on the East Perth v East Freo WAFL game. There is a river 5 m wide running a fair length of the ground. And the rest of the ground ain’t much better.
There's a certain poster on here that may know a bit about that!

17-08-2024, 06:45 PM

As invisible as Stuart Broad's was to the Pommie umpire

If anyone wants some amusing distraction, flick on the East Perth v East Freo WAFL game. There is a river 5 m wide running a fair length of the ground. And the rest of the ground ain?t much better.

I'm tipping the Sharks win that game then.

17-08-2024, 06:47 PM
There's a certain poster on here that may know a bit about that!

Probably busy though. Hopefully they have a swimming development coach.

17-08-2024, 07:10 PM
Gerard Healy was right

His name is Brad Boyd? Don’t I feel silly now.

17-08-2024, 07:24 PM
Sidebottom - cooked

17-08-2024, 07:27 PM
Sidebottom - cooked

It's ok he said he wants to go around again next year. Collingwood is going to be dad's army next year.

17-08-2024, 07:42 PM
BL dumb act

17-08-2024, 08:14 PM
How did the pies do that?

17-08-2024, 08:15 PM
Blown top four in amazing fashion.

Noble was huge in the last quarter.

Cracking game, Pies just wanted it more.

Lions throwing away a top 4 spot.

17-08-2024, 08:16 PM
Well it’s simple we win we are in.
If hawks win as well it’s only Freo who can drop out.

17-08-2024, 08:17 PM

Great game wasn’t it?

17-08-2024, 08:17 PM
Giants just guaranteed top 4

17-08-2024, 08:18 PM
Great game wasn’t it?

Finals like.

I feel bad for Dunks.

Unbelievable win

17-08-2024, 08:19 PM
I feel bad for Dunks.

I don't

Not sure they are a tad fraudulent. Might find a way to lose it from here.

I don't
Your sarcasm radar needs a polish bad!

17-08-2024, 08:20 PM
How did the pies do that?
Helps when your opponent non-stops panic kick it out of D50 all last qtr. That was horrendous by Brisbane.

17-08-2024, 08:21 PM

Lol.

17-08-2024, 08:21 PM

Watched last few minutes?looked like a ripper game.

Cannot stand Lions. Mainly due to Fagan and Dunks. Bravo Pies. Destiny in our own hands. Go Dogs!!!

17-08-2024, 08:22 PM
Helps when your opponent non-stops panic kick it out of D50 all last qtr. That was horrendous by Brisbane.

Was pretty pathetic really, just slamming the ball up the ground, not looking for a man.

They can't make top 4 now.

17-08-2024, 08:23 PM

Cannot stand Lions. Mainly due to Fagan and Dunks. Bravo Pies. Destiny in our own hands. Go Dogs!!!

Josie we MUST win tomorrow and then we will fix up GWS

17-08-2024, 08:26 PM

I must admit I don't mind the Lions because I had a soft spot for Fitzroy and I really enjoyed their 3 peat in the early 2000's.

17-08-2024, 08:27 PM

Mine too!!

17-08-2024, 08:29 PM
Josie we MUST win tomorrow and then we will fix up GWS

If we don’t beat North we don’t deserve to play finals. Presuming we do the Ballarat GWS game will be a cracker I reckon.

17-08-2024, 08:29 PM
Giants would not mind finishing 4th and playing Sydney at the SCG in week 1. They might now rest a couple next week.

17-08-2024, 08:32 PM
Giants would not mind finishing 4th and playing Sydney at the SCG in week 1. They might now rest a couple next week.

That would be awful. They really should rest all their stars.

17-08-2024, 08:47 PM
That would be awful. They really should rest all their stars.

Key is to stop Hogan

17-08-2024, 08:52 PM
Key is to stop Hogan

They should rest him.

17-08-2024, 09:20 PM
Sweets elbow just bent the wrong way. Yuk.

17-08-2024, 09:26 PM
Crows are so bad.

17-08-2024, 09:29 PM
Rachele is a recidivist when it comes to avoiding body contact. Absolutely hates it.

17-08-2024, 10:01 PM

Fun fact.

Last time Swans finished top, and GWS 4th. Geelong also finished second as they will this year. Hawks also played finals. The Dogs snuck into the finals.

The year: 2016

17-08-2024, 10:25 PM
Houston is certainly going to have a problem with that bumb.

17-08-2024, 10:26 PM

100 per cent. How was that not a free??

17-08-2024, 10:31 PM
How there isn't red cards in footy is mind blowing.

Just take out the Bont in a GF.

17-08-2024, 10:32 PM

Season over. No doubt.

17-08-2024, 10:33 PM
I'm calling it.

The showdown is the best game in footy.

17-08-2024, 10:40 PM

Agree wholeheartedly. Do we have to wait for serious, permanent damage to a player? AFL has to review this. Imagine all the parents thinking I?m not going to let my child play AFL too.

17-08-2024, 10:46 PM
Saints by 5

17-08-2024, 10:47 PM
Agree wholeheartedly. Do we have to wait for serious, permanent damage to a player? AFL has to review this. Imagine all the parents thinking I?m not going to let my child play AFL too.
Unfortunately Josie there's an element of old school macho anti world game sentiment that prevents it.

17-08-2024, 10:51 PM
Unfortunately Josie there's an element of old school macho anti world game sentiment that prevents it.

Actually it's not that. It is not trusting the umpires

17-08-2024, 10:51 PM

If there was a way for the AFL to make billions out of it, would be introduced in a nanosecond.

17-08-2024, 10:57 PM
Saints by 12. Playing out of their skin

17-08-2024, 10:58 PM
Saints running over Cats.
This is fun.

17-08-2024, 10:58 PM
Go Sainters!!

17-08-2024, 10:59 PM
Saints by 12. Playing out of their skin

Completely turned it around now. Saints on top.

Be nice to see Geelong lose.

17-08-2024, 11:00 PM
Geelong blowing the home final now.

17-08-2024, 11:02 PM
Saints running over Cats.
This is fun.

24 up and 6 min to go

17-08-2024, 11:07 PM
Saints home!
Another top in form team goes down.

17-08-2024, 11:07 PM
The look on Scott's face - priceless :D

17-08-2024, 11:12 PM
Are there any good sides left?

17-08-2024, 11:13 PM
Brilliant win by St Kilda. They played scintillating football in the second half. Even the umpires couldn't save Geelong's miserable hides.

17-08-2024, 11:16 PM
Actually it's not that. It is not trusting the umpires
What would be the issue with tonight?

Clear as day.

17-08-2024, 11:18 PM
What would be the issue with tonight?

Clear as day.
Sorry I didn't see it. I made a general comment.

17-08-2024, 11:21 PM
Sorry I didn't see it. I made a general comment.
No worries it was a bump ko. Pretty yuk.
Houston won't play again this season but was able to help them win the game.
Crows lost Rankine for the game at a pivotal time.

17-08-2024, 11:26 PM
No worries it was a bump ko. Pretty yuk.
Houston won't play again this season but was able to help them win the game.
Crows lost Rankine for the game at a pivotal time.

I just took a look on the AFL site, and yeah a dog act

18-08-2024, 12:02 AM
Houston's ironing out of Rankine was pretty old school. Most of the big ones these days aren't like that.

I've always had the hots and made it known, but I'd take Brent Daniels any day of the week in our side. That roost form inside the square was sublime.

18-08-2024, 12:42 AM
Houston's ironing out of Rankine was pretty old school. Most of the big ones these days aren't like that.

I've always had the hots and made it known, but I'd take Brent Daniels any day of the week in our side. That roost form inside the square was sublime.
It was an old school cave in. No way he meant to flush him, but live by the sword...
That's a 5 weeker.

18-08-2024, 02:10 AM
It was an old school cave in. No way he meant to flush him, but live by the sword...
That's a 5 weeker.

Nah if he didn't mean to flush him he'd have gone him front on, not side on. He knew what he was doing five metres before he got there.

18-08-2024, 11:20 AM
That's a 5 weeker.

I was watching live and - setting the bump aside, can anyone explain to me how the outcome was a free kick to PORT Adelaide?

I get the 50m penalty 'cos there was an all in (and fair enough too) but why was the ball given to Port???

18-08-2024, 11:38 AM
I was watching live and - setting the bump aside, can anyone explain to me how the outcome was a free kick to PORT Adelaide?

I get the 50m penalty 'cos there was an all in (and fair enough too) but why was the ball given to Port???
I couldn't work that out either.

18-08-2024, 11:44 AM
I think they just missed it.

18-08-2024, 12:10 PM

The coverage did a poor job of clarifying it but it wasn't a free.

It was play on in spite of the bump then JHF was awarded a mark from a hack kick by Sholl immediately before the all-in.

18-08-2024, 12:18 PM
The coverage did a poor job of clarifying it but it wasn't a free.

Yep - I figured that was the only explanation. Not one of the 4-umpires saw the player with the ball get bumped in the head and concussed?

I am continually amazed by how bad the officiating is. Again, they simply do not care about the fundamentals of the game - but don't you DARE have someone jump up for a ruck know without first nominating themselves to the umpire.

Dillon and Kane must go - surely stuff like this has to be fixed.

18-08-2024, 12:32 PM
Yep - I figured that was the only explanation. Not one of the 4-umpires saw the player with the ball get bumped in the head and concussed?

I am continually amazed by how bad the officiating is. Again, they simply do not care about the fundamentals of the game - but don't you DARE have someone jump up for a ruck know without first nominating themselves to the umpire.

And we can look at grainy footage from their 1 fps low res cameras for 5 minutes working out a goal but can't use video to see someone get their head caved in.

It's a very amateurish sport at times.

18-08-2024, 01:10 PM
6 weeks I think for the hit

18-08-2024, 01:45 PM
And we can look at grainy footage from their 1 fps low res cameras for 5 minutes working out a goal but can't use video to see someone get their head caved in.

It's a very amateurish sport at times.

This is absolutely unforgivable. The technology available is 1000x better and the cost to upgrade would have come down a lot. Honestly, the slow-motion feature on most mobile phones seems better than the broadcast.

18-08-2024, 01:47 PM

No, no there?s not.

It?s so wide open.

18-08-2024, 01:51 PM

Yeah, their enthusiastic fixation with arcane minutia of their own making at the expense of the game's core tenets is galling, especially when it intervenes in (and impacts) critical moments late in games in the balance.

But, if I dared venture a nod in the ump's direction; Houston's bump, brutal as it was, didn't warrant a free kick because there was virtually no head contact in the collision.

That he's staring at a month's holiday on the same play sure is a fascinating wrinkle in the current state of the game.

18-08-2024, 02:14 PM

No, no there's not.

It's so wide open.

It's our time to shine baby.

https://i.ibb.co/QHWLVBT/Screen-Shot-2024-08-18-at-1-13-05-pm.png (https://ibb.co/7p3PDcZ)

18-08-2024, 05:08 PM
It's our time to shine baby.

https://i.ibb.co/QHWLVBT/Screen-Shot-2024-08-18-at-1-13-05-pm.png (https://ibb.co/7p3PDcZ)
brilliant work

18-08-2024, 05:35 PM
Will Day to miss finals with a collarbone.

Won’t mind making it and getting them as I said yesterday.

18-08-2024, 06:00 PM
Will Day to miss finals with a collarbone.

Won’t mind making it and getting them as I said yesterday.
Massive news

18-08-2024, 06:01 PM
Massive news

Should say that’s the expectation when the scan confirms - broken collarbone.

18-08-2024, 06:09 PM
The hawks have had a golden run with injuries so this helps a lot.

They are flying at the minute.

18-08-2024, 06:27 PM
WC what the hell.

18-08-2024, 06:27 PM
The Eagles have been horrendous so far

18-08-2024, 06:28 PM
Blues looking good.

18-08-2024, 06:28 PM
We will most likely have to WIN next week to make it.

18-08-2024, 06:29 PM
I’m calling AFL conspiracy if blues make finals

18-08-2024, 06:29 PM

And why would Reid waste years at this pathetic club. They won?t be playing finals for 7+ years

18-08-2024, 06:34 PM
If we lose and Freo lose we are still there even if the Blues win both.

18-08-2024, 06:41 PM
If we lose and Freo lose we are still there even if the Blues win both.

The afl knew this thats why I think it’s a conspiracy…

Sunday lineup, organised weeks ago…

Dogs first game …in the 8 and lose.

Carl 2nd game. They beat saints and replace dogs (saints won’t follow up their effort against cats)

Freo 3rd game. They beat port and replace blues…

Ratings ��������������

Freo won’t lose at home.

18-08-2024, 06:42 PM
I’m calling AFL conspiracy if blues make finals
Carlton vs St kilda play next week

I'm hoping the good saints show up an smash Carlton. As I am looking forward to the meltdown by Carlton fans... again.. another year of disappointment.

18-08-2024, 06:43 PM
Blues not even playing well.

18-08-2024, 06:44 PM
And why would Reid waste years at this pathetic club. They won?t be playing finals for 7+ years

They are bad , but they looked to have bottom ( well at least 2 other teams are worst than them this year).
His next contract renewal could be a big one!

18-08-2024, 06:45 PM
I can't believe how bad the Eagles are.

18-08-2024, 06:49 PM

We will have to win. Full stop.

18-08-2024, 06:51 PM
It is crazy to think you could miss the finals with 13 wins and percentage of 123%

18-08-2024, 06:56 PM
A clued in poster who understands football called it the blues would beat west coast in another thread.

18-08-2024, 06:57 PM
Screw the Eagles.

18-08-2024, 07:01 PM
A clued in poster who understands football called it the blues would beat west coast in another thread.
I did?

18-08-2024, 07:12 PM
C'mon Wiggles

18-08-2024, 07:16 PM
It is crazy to think you could miss the finals with 13 wins and percentage of 123%
Yep 2nd best % in the comp.

18-08-2024, 07:17 PM
I did?

No, you are the funny one.

18-08-2024, 07:18 PM
Eagles tanking this.

18-08-2024, 07:18 PM
For the first time in history the Eagles are not getting the rub of the green in Perth from the Umps

18-08-2024, 07:20 PM
For the first time in history the Eagles are not getting the rub of the green in Perth from the Umps
Coz the AFL want Carl to win to set up a ratings extravaganza next Sunday.
It’s so obvious.

18-08-2024, 07:21 PM
Eagles tanking this.
They are weak as

18-08-2024, 07:29 PM
they are weak as

piss

18-08-2024, 07:30 PM
They are weak as
And why they can’t find an interested person to coach them. Maybe daisy pearce will be the first woman senior coach. Is she still at WC ?

18-08-2024, 07:35 PM
#SackSchofield

18-08-2024, 07:36 PM
It’s so obvious.

Your belief in the capacity of the AFL to organise a conspiracy is admirable.

18-08-2024, 08:10 PM
It’s so obvious.

When it’s a hiding like this it’s not umpires .
I had a Nth supporter trying to blame umpire in our game, my response was 96points is not umpiring.
Tinfoil hat stuff if you believe the umpires could change a game with this much gap.

18-08-2024, 08:44 PM
There's always a silver lining, and that is the filth are finished for 2024.

What a piss weak title defence.

18-08-2024, 08:47 PM

No one will mention it. Like after Geelong a couple of years back. I can’t recall what the media said in 2017 though.

18-08-2024, 08:57 PM

I keep looking at their list and I don't rate it as a top 5 or 6 list. I think they've finished around how they should have.
They were sensational last year but a really poor follow up season.

18-08-2024, 10:16 PM
I keep looking at their list and I don't rate it as a top 5 or 6 list. I think they've finished around how they should have.
They were sensational last year but a really poor follow up season.

Over the last 3 years they’ve won a crap load of close games…cut that in half and they probably wouldn’t have made the finals…certainly not top 4 finishes.

19-08-2024, 11:55 AM
No one will mention it. Like after Geelong a couple of years back. I can’t recall what the media said in 2017 though.
We got absolutely smashed by the media at the time. The smaller Vic clubs are in a perpetual doom loop with the media grubs - Dogs, Dees, Kangas and Saints are "in crisis" whenever they aren't a premiership contender - the media can easily afford to disproportionally trash these clubs and it won't affect their bottom line. The bigger clubs (and I count Geelong in this, as they are basically a taxpayer subsidized club and the AFEL rely just as much on our tax dollars as Geelong do) are never given the same media scrutiny.

Collingwood's season has been a massive self-own - can you imagine how the whole Graham Wright debacle would have been covered had it been us or the Dees/Kangas/Saints? They got an absolutely amazing season out of Nick Daicos and still they have crumbled to miss finals. It's a huge fail under any metric, and the media will sweep it under the carpet like they did 2 years ago with Geelong.

Injuries as an excuse is losers limp - Carlton had a VFL team out there yesterday and smashed their opponent by 11 goals.

19-08-2024, 03:00 PM
Out of interest- What would you have paid the free for in that moment?

In the moment I saw : a bump that wasn?t high, there was no elbow or follow through, and was in play.

Play on the correct call IMO.

Perhaps there are specific rules around unduly rough play or something. This is where the problem is, the bump is legal but the assessment of how legal is contingent on what happens as a result.

That the force KO?d the recipient is why there?s an issue.

A lot of folk saying his head hitting the deck is what cause it. That?s not true. It?s the force of the bump that rattled his cage. If he bounces up the world moves on. Instead it?s 8 weeks, game changing Red Card rule changes, hand wringing over juniors etc.

Distance between PLAY ON and the reactions is way too far.

Only way forward is to change the rule about the bump. League is going to have to stop trying to have it both ways.

19-08-2024, 03:05 PM

In the moment I saw : a bump that wasn?t high, there was no elbow or follow through, and was in play.

Perhaps there are specific rules around unduly rough play or something. This is where the problem is, the bump is legal but the assessment of how legal is contingent on what happens as a result.

That the force KO?d the recipient is why there?s an issue.

A lot of folk saying his head hitting the deck is what cause it. That?s not true. It?s the force of the bump that rattled his cage. If he bounces up the world moves on. Instead it?s 8 weeks, game changing Red Card rule changes, hand wringing over juniors etc.

Distance between PLAY ON and the reactions is way too far.

Only way forward is to change the rule about the bump. League is going to have to stop trying to have it both ways.
This is beyond the capabilities of Dills and Kane-o. And it won't guarantee either of them a bigger personal bonus at the end of the season either. They don't care - in fact, all the media noise about this (with zero solutions) is exactly what they want. No solutions, just endless talkback and media column inches so that they can use these metrics to drive up the cost of TV rights and get even bigger personal bonuses. Rinse and repeat.

19-08-2024, 03:05 PM
Too high?

19-08-2024, 07:15 PM

I actually agree with everything else that you said...but he hit him high. Adelaide free kick.

19-08-2024, 07:37 PM
I actually agree with everything else that you said...but he hit him high. Adelaide free kick.
What makes you think he hit him high?

19-08-2024, 08:19 PM
My first instinct was that it was clearly high, then some photos make it look like shoulder to chest, but slomo shows the whiplash through his neck bringing Rankines chin forward on to Houston's shoulder.

I think you could definitely argue that the initial contact was not high.

19-08-2024, 08:44 PM
My first instinct was that it was clearly high, then some photos make it look like shoulder to chest, but slomo shows the whiplash through his neck bringing Rankines chin forward on to Houston's shoulder.

I think you could definitely argue that the initial contact was not high.

Yes. But the rule is now if you choose to bump, you are responsible for the outcome of incidents that your describe above.

19-08-2024, 08:55 PM

The consensus seems to be that he was KO’d therefore it was too high.

I didn’t see it that way at all.

19-08-2024, 09:21 PM
The consensus seems to be that he was KO’d therefore it was too high.

I didn’t see it that way at all.

There's no ambiguity for me.

He shirt fronted him and knocked him out.

Been a reportable offence for a long time now.

19-08-2024, 10:10 PM
There's no ambiguity for me.

He shirt fronted him and knocked him out.

Been a reportable offence for a long time now.

I agree. I think he did hit him in the head as well
have a look here (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/port-adelaide-power/afl-2024-dan-houston-bump-on-izak-rankine-video-showdown-brawl-adelaide-crows-v-port-adelaide-power-mro-suspension-latest-news/news-story/d0b1735e63ad1778cc599e46d4e634cb)

19-08-2024, 10:40 PM
I agree. I think he did hit him in the head as well
have a look here (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/port-adelaide-power/afl-2024-dan-houston-bump-on-izak-rankine-video-showdown-brawl-adelaide-crows-v-port-adelaide-power-mro-suspension-latest-news/news-story/d0b1735e63ad1778cc599e46d4e634cb)
Not sure where there's any doubt.

Ball was high in the air he lined him up and laid him out.

No problems with 5+

20-08-2024, 11:30 AM

I haven't watched any slow-mos or stills post the game...in the moment I thought he hit him above the shoulder...great hit but against the rules. We would have celebrated it when I played.

I just felt it was high.