29-08-2024, 09:22 PM
How is this news. We knew it already 

Great what the other 800 players think of him

29-08-2024, 09:24 PM
Such a star. We are privileged.

29-08-2024, 09:57 PM
We only need to tick off a Brownlow now.

29-08-2024, 10:06 PM
Great what the other 800 players think of him

Does not matter what the umpires think.

The AFL player community has spoken

Bonts its a champion

I just hope things go our way, all the footy gods align and we win a GF this year.

29-08-2024, 10:16 PM
We only need to tick off a Brownlow now.

And Premiership Captain.

29-08-2024, 10:42 PM
And Premiership Captain.

I bet Marcus would take Premiership Captain over the umpire's pet award AKA the Brownlow any day of the week.

29-08-2024, 10:43 PM
Pretty happy with how the night has gone.

The AFLCA is a bit of a tricky one because you want your guy to win it because the coaches really know what's valued, but they also have their biases and each game is different. Same with the players to an extent.

But to snag one of those and the best captain and AA captain's nod says you've had a fantastic year. The Big Clubs are Better cabal tried their darndest to get Cripps the nod because they're a bunch of Crippophants and big club mollycoddlers, but Bont kicked twice the goals he did and only had a few less touches a game whilst being the highest rated player out there.

Cripps is a fantastic player mind, and it wouldn't have been a black eye for Bont to be his vice.

Great night for the club especially given Adam made the final 22 as well, and lovely to hear he's given Charlie the responsibility (and Kim has) of looking after his little one whilst quipping Bevo might not have recommended it!

29-08-2024, 10:48 PM
What we all knew.

Well done Marcus!

29-08-2024, 10:49 PM
I bet Marcus would take Premiership Captain over the umpire's pet award AKA the Brownlow any day of the week.

Yep that is what I reckon as well.

29-08-2024, 10:55 PM
The man is a marvel.

He’s the absolute best of the best and a in a world that is a bit upside down values wise and torn over what an idol, a real man is, I reckon we have the standard right here in our club.

Unwavering. Well mannered. Exceptionally fair. Tough. Skilful.

29-08-2024, 10:57 PM
Such a deserving winner is our skipper, and congrats to Adz too. And a well done to Bailey Dale, making the squad is a great achievement, given the standard of the players selected.

29-08-2024, 11:05 PM
I mean I don't know what more can be said about our Bont. We need to just appreciate what we have. An amazing talent and person.

29-08-2024, 11:06 PM

Yeah the umpires award is alright but wouldn't hang your hat on it.

29-08-2024, 11:28 PM
Such a deserving winner is our skipper, and congrats to Adz too. And a well done to Bailey Dale, making the squad is a great achievement, given the standard of the players selected.

I'm a bit annoyed they don't name a 23 man squad as if it was the Friday selection before the sub is known. Dale was good enough to make the 22 this year but I understand why he wasn't selected, and I reckon the 23 man version would allow for one more specialist to be named among the midfielders.

Xerri would have been deserving as well in that scenario.

29-08-2024, 11:33 PM

Every player would surely

29-08-2024, 11:39 PM
9 centre bounce midfielders... is just outrageous. You could easily pick a team to beat this one just by picking players in the roles they've played and practised.

Who is applying forward pressure in this team? Who is playing relief ruck? Where are the half forward rotations?

29-08-2024, 11:55 PM
9 centre bounce midfielders... is just outrageous. You could easily pick a team to beat this one just by picking players in the roles they've played and practised.

Who is applying forward pressure in this team? Who is playing relief ruck? Where are the half forward rotations?

Here's mister party pooper. There's not enough mids, mids are sick mate.

30-08-2024, 01:22 AM
I'm a bit annoyed they don't name a 23 man squad as if it was the Friday selection before the sub is known. Dale was good enough to make the 22 this year but I understand why he wasn't selected, and I reckon the 23 man version would allow for one more specialist to be named among the midfielders.

Xerri would have been deserving as well in that scenario.

Who would you put at HBF, Zorko or Dale? I would take Dale every time

30-08-2024, 10:16 AM
What a champion Bont is and well deserved. Getting the gong as MVP from your peers is the most rewarding award. It shows how good he is and the level of respect he has within the competition. What a great human we have leading our team.

Congrats to Adz as well. Another outstanding individual who is a team first player.

Agree that Dale should have been in the 22. Better than both Zorko and Whitfield (who are both bloody good) - but an honour to make the squad.

Gotta also say congrats to Patty Cripps for being nominated VC. Another player that wears his heart on his sleeve for his club. Seems like a quality person as well and you can tell the respect he and Bont have for each other.

30-08-2024, 10:47 AM
What a champion Bont is and well deserved. Getting the gong as MVP from your peers is the most rewarding award. It shows how good he is and the level of respect he has within the competition. What a great human we have leading our team.

Congrats to Adz as well. Another outstanding individual who is a team first player.

Agree that Dale should have been in the 22. Better than both Zorko and Whitfield (who are both bloody good) - but an honour to make the squad.

Gotta also say congrats to Patty Cripps for being nominated VC. Another player that wears his heart on his sleeve for his club. Seems like a quality person as well and you can tell the respect he and Bont have for each other.
I reckon Luke Ryan is the lucky one who got selected. Takes a lot of kick-ins to pad the stats and doesn't have a great 1-on-1 defensive record.

Did Horne-Francis make the initial squad? He should have been in the 22 as a forward - he is one mid who impacts big time in F50.

30-08-2024, 11:13 AM
I reckon Luke Ryan is the lucky one who got selected. Takes a lot of kick-ins to pad the stats and doesn't have a great 1-on-1 defensive record.

Did Horne-Francis make the initial squad? He should have been in the 22 as a forward - he is one mid who impacts big time in F50.

Sheezel not getting a gig is a disgrace, absolutely carried North all year. Look what happened when he missed at the end of the year, completely obliterated.

Waterman getting a gig is also a joke. You could easily pick a dozen forwards you'd prefer ahead of him.

Ryan ahead of Harris Andrews was also a bad call. Pad statter vs a genuine rolled gold A grade gun defender.

30-08-2024, 11:23 AM
Sheezel not getting a gig is a disgrace, absolutely carried North all year. Look what happened when he missed at the end of the year, completely obliterated.

Waterman getting a gig is also a joke. You could easily pick a dozen forwards you'd prefer ahead of him.

Ryan ahead of Harris Andrews was also a bad call. Pad statter vs a genuine rolled gold A grade gun defender.
Agree with all the above. Not 100% sold on the Lizard's season either - his best is electric but he was also very suspect in defence at times.

Xerri and Cameron both would have been extremely close to 1st ruck as well - Gawn was a safe pick but throw the blanket over all 3 to be honest.

Also Nick Daicos on the wing is pretty funny when you consider how much defensive running is required by the modern day wingman (of which he does none). He should have been selected on the bench or HBF.

30-08-2024, 11:26 AM

I thought McGovern was lucky.
Agree on Waterman to a degree, but always think kicking lots of goals for a bad team is a good effort.
I think they needed to pick 2-3 of Butters, Neale, Warner, Treloar, Serong and pick some genuine positional players outside of that. Heeney HF I can cop, but not Warner.

Jezza, Waterman and Hogan is too much. Pick two.

Weitering and McGovern were lynchpins of the 2nd and 4th worst defences this year.

30-08-2024, 12:14 PM

JHF is a massive oversight. But he will still make plenty in the future.

30-08-2024, 12:26 PM

Funny enough, neither carry on with Brand Cripps or Brand Bont or complain about the crowd sizes they played in front of.

Petracca could learn something from those two.

30-08-2024, 12:39 PM
Funny enough, neither carry on with Brand Cripps or Brand Bont or complain about the crowd sizes they played in front of.

Petracca could learn something from those two.

I heard Petracca watched the AA event on his brand new Samsung QLED Neo 4k 98" screen.

30-08-2024, 12:40 PM
Didn't Laura Kane Exec GM of the AFL have the Bont at hff or on the bench at a selection committee. Great judgement and knowledge there Laura :(

30-08-2024, 12:55 PM
I heard Petracca watched the AA event on his brand new Samsung QLED Neo 4k 98" screen.
So he didn’t get the top of the line

30-08-2024, 12:58 PM
So he didn’t get the top of the line

It went to Bont.

30-08-2024, 01:22 PM

He's the new Robbert Klomp

30-08-2024, 02:15 PM
Didn't Laura Kane Exec GM of the AFL have the Bont at hff or on the bench at a selection committee. Great judgement and knowledge there Laura :(

I'm not a fan of her work but of all the mids in the squad Bont prob spends as much time playing forward as any of them.

30-08-2024, 03:52 PM
JHF is younger than Ollie Dempsey. The rising star award is a bit of a joke.

30-08-2024, 03:54 PM
Wtf.

30-08-2024, 04:40 PM
I know talls are a bit different and injuries and etc but lets not forget Darcy is 21 too and we wouldn't complain about that if he won

30-08-2024, 06:00 PM
It was an exceptional year for lightly raced 21 year olds - not just Darcy and Dempsey but Kai Lohmann had an outstanding season. I was actually really surprised he wasn't in the frame to win the award - he didn't miss a game and had several breakout performances throughout the season.

30-08-2024, 06:02 PM
It was an exceptional year for lightly raced 21 year olds. I was really surprised Kai Lohmann wasn't in the frame to win the award - he has had an outstanding season and was very impactful in a number of key games.

BT was very high on getting him in the Dunkley trade. Would have been a great acquisition for us.

30-08-2024, 09:28 PM

I don't even know who is Ollie Dempsey ???? your right this award is a joke.

Bont came second in this award to someone who is not even on an afl list anymore.

31-08-2024, 11:36 AM
It was an exceptional year for lightly raced 21 year olds - not just Darcy and Dempsey but Kai Lohmann had an outstanding season. I was actually really surprised he wasn't in the frame to win the award - he didn't miss a game and had several breakout performances throughout the season.
Didn't he play too many games so was eligible previously?
He's had his fans on Woof for a few years and yes a few of us wanted him as part of the Dunkley deal. The kid can play.