View Full Version : Mr September? How Ugle-Hagan can be like Buddy

05-09-2024, 05:26 PM
LINK (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/mr-september-how-ugle-hagan-can-be-like-buddy-20240904-p5k7xy.html)

https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.52%2C$multiply_1.9577%2C$ratio_1.5%2C$width_756%2C$x _0%2C$y_21/t_crop_custom/q_62%2Cf_auto/8aad17af2d796e6c27d0478e4f06e52270716673

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan grew up idolising Lance Franklin. On Friday night, the No.1 draft pick gets the chance to emulate his childhood hero by stamping himself on the big stage.

If the Western Bulldogs are to progress deep into the finals, Ugle-Hagan and another rising star in Sam Darcy must play significant roles. It is a lot to place on the still-broadening shoulders of young players, but reputations are made in September.

The peerless Franklin came of age in his finals debut as a 20-year-old in just his third season. He booted eight goals, including a famous winner from long range, as Hawthorn sunk Adelaide in 2007.

Ugle-Hagan had little impact in his first final, but that came in just his second year when he was a young pup still learning how to match it against the big dogs.

Two years on, the 22-year-old has not only proven he can be a home-and-away game-breaker but also narrowed the gap between his best and worst. His four goals and nine coaches? votes against All-Australian full-back Jacob Weitering in round 19 showed he can beat the best.

Hawthorn?s weakest third is their defence, a point they have acknowledged by their interest in Tom Barrass from West Coast and Josh Battle from St Kilda.

And the Dogs have a major point of difference to their seven September rivals in that they have three genuine marking threats inside their forward 50: Ugle-Hagan, Darcy and Aaron Naughton, the most senior of the trio at 24.

Worryingly for Hawthorn, who will be relying on James Sicily, Sam Frost and Jack Scrimshaw to play as undersized backs, Darcy and Ugle-Hagan rank equal second and eighth respectively for contested marks this season.

Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge is not asking for Ugle-Hagan and Darcy to be the match winners. He would happily settle for the pair to keep the Hawthorn defence honest and prevent Sam Mitchell?s band of fleet-footed runners from cutting them apart off half-back.

?Number one on defensive aggregate, those big forwards, believe it or not, it?s quite critical to that aspect of the game as well, and part of that is just competing in the air and controlling the ball at ground level and making sure that if the opposition get out that they?re under a bit of pressure,? Beveridge said.

?We?ll nudge them to make sure that?s a priority in their game. And hopefully, they get some spoils, hopefully they hit the scoreboard, and hopefully they create a few others.?

Like Franklin, who fed off the energy from the crowd, Ugle-Hagan enjoys the interaction with the fans.

?Hopefully, it energises everyone,? Beveridge said. ?I?m talking about priorities, but the flashy things and the fancy things, the roses on the trees, you know that they?ll happen if all the other stuff is taken care of. Marra knows that.

?He?s a hard body, Jamarra. His contest work, he commits, he knocks them over, and he?s strong in what he does. That?ll be his starting point.?

The Dogs were given a boost with star midfielder Adam Treloar getting through training showing no signs of the calf niggle from round 24.

Speedster Laitham Vandermeer (hamstring) also completed training, as did Rhylee West, who will push hard for a recall from a fractured jaw, though Beveridge foreshadowed minimal changes to the side that booked a finals berth with victory over Greater Western Sydney.

05-09-2024, 07:25 PM
JUH just has to keep doing the same things that got us to September. The most important thing that needs to improve is his kicking . Sort that out across the team and we are a more than a chance to win.

I reckon Darcy is going to play a big part. Is a fantastic mark and his aggression is what makes finals pressure.

05-09-2024, 07:27 PM
JUH just has to keep doing the same things that got us to September. The most important thing that needs to improve is his kicking . Sort that out across the team and we are a more than a chance to win.

I reckon Darcy is going to play a big part. Is a fantastic mark and his aggression is what makes finals pressure.

Darcy is made for finals. He eats up these pressure atmospheres.

05-09-2024, 08:32 PM
I see Marra and Darcy as our Buddy and Roughead, plus throw Naughton in there too, hopefully we can do to them what they did to us in 2008, marking the ball at the highest point is huge, all 3 can do that especially Darcy.

06-09-2024, 10:45 PM
Mr Pre Season atm

06-09-2024, 10:47 PM
Great he’s getting a million a season. Sprays team mates more than kicks goals. He’s unserious a footballer with his goal kicking for which he’s paid excessively. Can’t wait to hear all off season how he’s flying and doing extra sessions to shank easy shots and kill us again.

06-09-2024, 11:25 PM
Great he’s getting a million a season. Sprays team mates more than kicks goals. He’s unserious a footballer with his goal kicking for which he’s paid excessively. Can’t wait to hear all off season how he’s flying and doing extra sessions to shank easy shots and kill us again.

I get the frustrations and I often mentioned that I struggle with laconic types but I doubt he's on a million yet.
We have problems with our forward set-up that despite some very high scoring games throughout the season hasn't been sorted out.
Marra might be part of the problem but Naughton and Weightman haven't quite lived up to their abilities either.

06-09-2024, 11:27 PM
I get the frustrations and I often mentioned that I struggle with laconic types but I doubt he's on a million yet.
We have problems with our forward set-up that despite some very high scoring games throughout the season hasn't been sorted out.
Marra might be part of the problem but Naughton and Weightman haven't quite lived up to their abilities either.

I understand he’s on $1M with his re-signing. Just seems unserious.

07-09-2024, 12:04 AM
In the last 5 mins of 4th quarter, the ball was being moved down the wing. JUH was keeping behind Weddle and he failed to charge forward to lead. There is something not right about his body language. Does he want the ball, or expect his mates to pin point kick it to him under pressure? The hawks were never going to give us that freedom.

Really disappointing game tonight.

He needs to spend the preseason working out his kicking action and get a routine. That missed shot tonight was disappointing.

07-09-2024, 12:12 AM
Marra isn?t fit to tie Buddy?s shoe laces, let?s be honest.

07-09-2024, 12:32 AM
Huge step back tonight. The type that could haunt him, as the 21 GF did for many that day.

07-09-2024, 12:33 AM
Marra isn?t fit to tie Buddy?s shoe laces, let?s be honest.

Yeah, but they're both tall indigenous men who don't play anything like each other so you can see why there's the constant comparison between the two, right?

Marra needs to get out of his own head. He also needs to kick the bloody thing with some conviction. If you're going to miss at least miss putting it through with some intent, not the meek and timid shit we see with him from twenty-five metres out all the time. Kick the bloody thing.

07-09-2024, 12:37 AM
I don?t know why he doesn?t just kick it around the corner within 30m. He?s so much better at that, his action falls apart when kicking over the mark at shorter distances.

07-09-2024, 12:47 AM
His positioning (well, all of our tall forwards) was really poor tonight. Often lead under the ball, or lead with such a lack of intensity that he was easily pushed off the ball.

About as disappointed as I've ever been in him tonight.

07-09-2024, 12:50 AM
Huge step back tonight. The type that could haunt him, as the 21 GF did for many that day.
His body language is dreadful. He berates team mates, has no second effort and appears disinterested. I watched him closely tonight and he made absolutely no effort to get himself into the game. So disappointing for someone on the big coin.

07-09-2024, 01:23 AM
Marra was terrible. He started off the ground and might as well stayed off the ground.

Had an opportunity to keep us in it but pissed it against the wall.

Extremely disappointed in his effort and game tonight.

07-09-2024, 01:25 AM
I don't know what money Chol is on, but I watched him tonight as he seemed to be the wiping boy from Hawks supporters. He went for the pack marks, but did not clunk them. 1-1 against Lobb, he got beaten . At least he brought the ball to the ground for the small forwards. He was like the utlimate foil up forward, like an anti-forward.

If I compare his stats to JUH, both are in the bottom 3 players , with Breust being the last . At least Chol brought in his team mates and was involved in a few goal assists and his effort was there.

07-09-2024, 01:40 AM
I don't know what money Chol is on, but I watched him tonight as he seemed to be the wiping boy from Hawks supporters. He went for the pack marks, but did not clunk them. 1-1 against Lobb, he got beaten . At least he brought the ball to the ground for the small forwards. He was like the utlimate foil up forward, like an anti-forward.

If I compare his stats to JUH, both are in the bottom 3 players , with Breust being the last . At least Chol brought in his team mates and was involved in a few goal assists and his effort was there.

I have zero doubt, if Marra got as many looks as Chol tonight he would have kicked a bag. Hawks had 20 more entries and how much cleaner ball did they have.

07-09-2024, 07:31 AM
Marra was terrible. He started off the ground and might as well stayed off the ground.

Had an opportunity to keep us in it but pissed it against the wall.

Extremely disappointed in his effort and game tonight.

It's how his effort and energy level looked last night that was really disappointing but it's hard to put an exact reason why he didn't perform.

07-09-2024, 07:54 AM
It's how his effort and energy level looked last night that was really disappointing but it's hard to put an exact reason why he didn't perform.
Above the shoulders, he needed an instinct play to get his confidence up but unfortunately our biggest issue, the midfield, turned up their toes when challenged. Again.
He just didn't get the looks.

07-09-2024, 09:51 AM

How about the ball was kicked into his vicinity like 3 times?

Yes he was laconic last night and should have taken his chance when it presented but you can't control anything if the ball doesn't come anywhere near you for most of the night.

07-09-2024, 09:54 AM
How about the ball was kicked into his vicinity like 3 times?

Yes a factor.

I do think Jamarra is a bit all or nothing. He flies for marks but unless he ends up in prime position he is terrible at evening out the contest or having an impact that isn't with him as prime marking candidate.

Often gets held out, and while I sympathise that service to him is often not ideal it never is going to be. Would really like to stop seeing him lose marking contests 4-5 times a game and then spend the next 10 seconds whinging towards his team mate.

Needs to be more physical, and better at knowing when to try to kill the contest.

07-09-2024, 09:58 AM
Yes a factor.

I do think Jamarra is a bit all or nothing. He flies for marks but unless he ends up in prime position he is terrible at evening out the contest or having an impact that isn't with him as prime marking candidate.

Often gets held out, and while I sympathise that service to him is often not ideal it never is going to be. Would really like to stop seeing him lose marking contests 4-5 times a game and then spend the next 10 seconds whinging towards his team mate.

Needs to be more physical, and better at knowing when to try to kill the contest.

I’m really sick of seeing him mouth off at his team mates. It’s a shit look.

07-09-2024, 10:00 AM
I’m really sick of seeing him mouth off at his team mates. It’s a shit look.
Sorry I was up with the gods. Where when who?

07-09-2024, 10:02 AM

Seriously - You need specific examples?

He does it every week when things go wrong.

07-09-2024, 10:04 AM

He does it most games. Throws arms around and sprays whoever misses the kick.

07-09-2024, 10:12 AM
I think its time for Spangher to go and we need a forward coach that can get these player performing better. We shouldn't need Johnson to come in if the a forward coach knows his craft.

Boots
07-09-2024, 10:44 AM
I’m tired of the Marra hype. He had one completely brilliant game earlier in the year where he tore it apart and silenced his critics (me). I remember I’d been calling for trading him and I posted “I was wrong” but now I don’t think I was.

I don’t like watching him play 3 games out of 4. I don’t trust him to take marks or kick goals.

I think his spot would be better filled by a defensive small forward and he’s probably the only tradeable asset we have with enough capital to secure one.

07-09-2024, 10:47 AM
I think our forward line for most of this season worked the best it has in years.

We actually started to generate space, talls weren't constantly going for the same balls (still happened a lot but less), and I thought we generated easier scoring shots.

Some of that may just have been the emergence of a stupid tall kid that takes marks in good spots, but I'm not top upset with how it's performed for the most part.

Also Spangher is as responsible for goalkicking as our midfield coach is for hitouts. Neither should really be their thing to have to sort out, and having a specialist coach for goalkicking makes so much sense that I'm amazed that after years of advocating for it we have people here wanting it to revert back to the lowest priority of a line coach again.

07-09-2024, 11:47 AM
Yes a factor.

Yeah that's all fair enough.

In his defence all I'll say is that he's done some very, very good things this year and his season generally was a big improvement on last year. I think we might be expecting alot from him given he's still very young and raw.

07-09-2024, 12:08 PM
In his defence all I'll say is that he's done some very, very good things this year and his season generally was a big improvement on last year. I think we might be expecting alot from him given he's still very young and raw.
Calsher Dear had 7 shots at goal and he is a good 3 years younger and rawer than Marra.

He's got the big contract and with that there is a minimum expectation on performance and effort. He wasn't the lone ranger last night but that was not good enough in terms of effort, workrate and conversion. He needs to get better and for longer in 2025.

07-09-2024, 12:15 PM
Calsher Dear had 7 shots at goal and he is a good 3 years younger and rawer than Marra.

He's got the big contract and with that there is a minimum expectation on performance and effort. He wasn't the lone ranger last night but that was not good enough in terms of effort, workrate and conversion. He needs to get better and for longer in 2025.
There was a lot more supply that's a harsh comparison.
He wasn't great but he wasnt the reason we lost is the point I'm trying to make.

Point the blame where it should be.

Midfield.

07-09-2024, 12:16 PM

20 more i50s helps and so does disposal efficiency going inside. Felt like we hit maybe three targets inside F50 all night?

Agree with you he needs to keep improving year by year.

07-09-2024, 12:41 PM
20 more i50s helps and so does disposal efficiency going inside. Felt like we hit maybe three targets inside F50 all night?

Agree with you he needs to keep improving year by year.
Chol was the real mvp.

They can't win a flag with him up there SHIRLEY!

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 02:48 PM
20 more i50s helps and so does disposal efficiency going inside. Felt like we hit maybe three targets inside F50 all night?....

That mark Ugle-Hagan took, just outside the goalsquare, is what we want to see only multiple times during a game. What we don’t want to see is the subsequent muffed sitter. In his 4 years with the Club, he's had 7 games anywhere near commensurate with the hype, 2 games of 5 goals 2022, 2023 and 3 games of that or thereabouts this year. The few that criticise the lad’s games point to

poor kicking.
lack of 2nd and 3rd efforts, toss in lack of urgency, chase and hanging ‘round the outside of packs waving arms “handball it to me”.
apparent criticism of team mates when he bungles yet another opportunity;

His many failures are excused by

poor service from upfield (from arguably the best midfield in the competition) and a half back line that has included Dale, Richards and Daniel.
time taken for the development of young talls (cf, Darcy, not to mention Dear ?). He’s been muscled up for the last 2 years, he’s no skinny kid.
lack of opportunity. He’s spent most of at least the last 2 years as the designated close-to-goal target.
massive potential.

Four years, now. By any objective standard, taking into account what the Club’s invested and the, well, sort of, no. 1 draft pick status, a failure, much hype and expectation, little result. It’s time to get real.

07-09-2024, 02:53 PM
In his 4 years with the Club, he's had 7 games anywhere near commensurate with the hype, 2 games of 5 goals 2022, 2023 nad 3 games of that or thereabouts this year. The few that criticise point to
(a) poor kicking;
(b)service from up field;
(b) udeliver
https://i.giphy.com/media/v1.Y2lkPTc5MGI3NjExeXEyNHM1OWRvbjQxMTVlbDZycng5OHRwbHNhanA0a G05bGd1NDIzciZlcD12MV9pbnRlcm5hbF9naWZfYnlfaWQmY3Q9Zw/2sdkoaYs8YYiytkFDF/giphy.gif

07-09-2024, 03:31 PM
Yeah that's all fair enough.

In his defence all I'll say is that he's done some very, very good things this year and his season generally was a big improvement on last year. I think we might be expecting alot from him given he's still very young and raw. If he takes the money i think we have a right to expect more. He just doesn't work himself into a game if things don't go his way. You can see when he is off he will play from behind and give his team mates the stare. His body language is horrible.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 03:32 PM
https://i.giphy.com/media/v1.Y2lkPTc5MGI3NjExeXEyNHM1OWRvbjQxMTVlbDZycng5OHRwbHNhanA0a G05bGd1NDIzciZlcD12MV9pbnRlcm5hbF9naWZfYnlfaWQmY3Q9Zw/2sdkoaYs8YYiytkFDF/giphy.gif

Good Afternoon, GG.

Whilst I, very modestly, claim the highest expertise at footy appreciation, commentary and criticism, my IT skills are the lesser. I'd tried entering my post direct, too many IT issues so ended up drafting in word, cutting and pasting. I hope your response to the fuller version will be kinder.

07-09-2024, 03:45 PM
Good Afternoon, GG.

Whilst I, very modestly, claim the highest expertise at footy appreciation, commentary and criticism, my IT skills are the lesser. I'd tried entering my post direct, too many IT issues so ended up drafting in word, cutting and pasting. I hope your response to the fuller version will be kinder.
Ha. I love that gif when I've run out of energy to argue. All in good fun.

07-09-2024, 04:04 PM
If he takes the money i think we have a right to expect more. He just doesn't work himself into a game if things don't go his way. You can see when he is off he will play from behind and give his team mates the stare. His body language is horrible.

I agree with the if you earn the big money then a high level of expectation is part of that. He's young and his bad form is really noticeable but the club needs to be sitting down with him and pointing that out and coming up with ways of him being able to deal better with the poorer days.

I didn't really notice him staring at his team mates but it does appear to be a reasonable course of action for anyone trying to work their way out of a bad day. It's a bit like cursing red lights in the car when you just can't get a reasonable run at things.

There is a bit to work on with Marra, his best is really good and his bad days are real dirty ones. He will come good.

07-09-2024, 04:07 PM
Are we sure he's on these mega bucks we keep speculating about?

07-09-2024, 04:14 PM
Are we sure he's on these mega bucks we keep speculating about?

There are some speculation that he is but the shorter term deal might indicate he's signed in good faith with a more reasonable deal and then hopefully cash in once the salary cap increases. I doubt he's on 1M now (he might be) but he will soon be on 1.2M or more once the cap increases.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 05:45 PM
I a....he car when you just can't get a reasonable run at things.

There is a bit to work on with Marra, his best is really good and his bad days are real dirty ones. He will come good.
Tall forwards have to do more than take the odd speccie within range and not slot it. The game's constantly moving. Bev won a Premiership using a second tier tall forward and a ruckman cum fullback as ruckmen. It's 3 years, now. Ugle-Hagan has to be held to an objective standard. I acknowledge your patience.

07-09-2024, 06:36 PM
He's not going to peak for another 2-3 seasons, he'll be fine.

Had a mare but I'm sure he'll learn from it.

07-09-2024, 06:49 PM
His body language most of the time stinks. He misses a sitter, has a little laugh.
He needs a rocket up his arse for a massive pre season, plus a really good kicking coach.
When things don’t go his way he’s like a grade 8 sook.
Am I being harsh ? Probably.
But I think his bad games warrant it.

07-09-2024, 07:25 PM
He's not going to peak for another 2-3 seasons, he'll be fine.

Had a mare but I'm sure he'll learn from it.

I want him to succeed soooo much. How many key forwards improve their goal kicking over their career? I’m fearing Marra’s may not markedly improve and that’s what needs to be addressed (the consistency and repeat efforts I am reasonably confident will improve).

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 07:39 PM
His body language most of the time stinks. He misses a sitter, has a little laugh.
He needs a rocket up his arse for a massive pre season, plus a really good kicking coach.
When things don?t go his way he?s like a grade 8 sook.
Am I being harsh ? Probably.
But I think his bad games warrant it.

When do we get to see better...doesn't matter, my gripe is with apologists rather than the lad himself.

07-09-2024, 08:00 PM
Anyone remember Jeremy Cameron’s ghastly early finals performances?

Marra didn’t have a great night, some of the delivery was poor, he went back to an old bad habit of flying for unrealistic speccies, but he is young, with lots of improvement he’d.

07-09-2024, 08:47 PM
I want him to succeed soooo much. How many key forwards improve their goal kicking over their career? I’m fearing Marra’s may not markedly improve and that’s what needs to be addressed (the consistency and repeat efforts I am reasonably confident will improve).

Casboult did and he had help from one of the Rocca brothers

07-09-2024, 08:54 PM
When do we get to see better...doesn't matter, my gripe is with apologists rather than the lad himself.

Lol there's no apologists here. Not one poster on here has said they're happy with where he's at. He certainly has his flaws and challenge areas that he needs to work on.

Give me a handfull or even two 22 year old or younger key forwards in the system who are out-stripping Jamarra at the moment if you're counting the rudimetary stat of pure games to goals? Tilthorpe? No. Georgiadis? No. van Rooyen? No. Koschitzke? No. Harrison Jones? No. Aaron Cadman? No. If Jamarra kicks straight his number are absolutely unbelievable.

Give him time is all some of us on here are saying but I guess some are more impatient, and mark far harder, than others and that's fine, each to their own.

I'll wait for your suggestion for an under 22 key forward who is currently doing it better and who has already won games off his own boot btw.

I can absolutely tell you he's no where near the 1m mark btw.

07-09-2024, 09:51 PM
I think he needs a psychiatrist in a interview he had he stated his concentration drifts.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 10:18 PM
Lol there's no apologists here. Not one poster on here has said they're happy with where he's at. He certainly has his flaws and challenge areas that he needs to work on.

OED Apologist = a person who offers an argument in defence of something controversial.

Comparing the stats of players from other clubs isn't any sort of a response. The giveaway is your ""If Jamarra kicks straight..." Ugle-Hagan doesn't, didn't last night when we really needed it.. I don't care about Tilthorpe, Kidman, Georgiadis, I care about 4 years development into a no 1 draft pick, touted as the next Franklin, who, by the way, kicked 113 goals in his 4th year. This bloke is, at best, 3rd choice tall forward, started on the bench last night. In most clubs, he doesn't get a game, Be realistic..

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 10:22 PM
I think he needs a psychiatrist in a interview he had he stated his concentration drifts.

Realistically, he needs time in the VFL to demonstrate whether, or not, he can make it as an AFL player.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 10:31 PM
[b]I want him to succeed soooo much[/]b. How many key forwards improve their goal kicking over their career? I.....

I feel your pain by why ? Footy's about players succeeding, contributing, but ultimately about winning Flags, along the way, finals. I really wanted Minson and Wallis to be part of the 2016, particularly Wally. Much happier with the Flag, than a losing team with Minson and Wallis named.

07-09-2024, 10:33 PM
Realistically, he needs time in the VFL to demonstrate whether, or not, he can make it as an AFL player.

Anyone that can kick 43 goals in AFL football and have 78 shots has already shown they can make an AFL player.

He needs to improve his goal kicking and some of his general play.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 10:40 PM
Anyone remember Jeremy Cameron’s ghastly early finals performances?

Marra didn’t have a great night, some of the delivery was poor, he went back to an old bad habit of flying for unrealistic speccies, but he is young, with lots of improvement he’d.

How many times have we seen this response ? 4 years is long enough, in this day and age in particular, look at Dear, 2 years younger.

07-09-2024, 10:41 PM
Anyone that can kick 43 goals in AFL football and have 78 shots has already shown they can make an AFL player.

He needs to improve his goal kicking and some of his general play.
The Carlton game should be the standard for him. That night Weitering destroyed him in the 1st half but he kept presenting and found a way to be impactful in the 2nd half, to the extent that he became thr match-winner.

Amartey couldn't get near it all day today, but he kept presenting, he impacted through tackling and defensive efforts, and he got his moment late and took it.

07-09-2024, 10:46 PM

Mate there's no club in the land who doesn't take a bottom aged fourth year player who can do what Marra can do.

The Sydney game was a pressure game for us, we needed to win that to keep our season alive. Can't recall too many livid people after that one, can you?

He didn't have a good night last night. But for a key forward of his age as 1ED says, he's going very well.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 10:48 PM
[QUOTE=bornadog;927129]Anyone that can kick 43 goals in AFL football and have 78 shots has already shown they can make an AFL player.

. It confirms what we saw last night, can't kick straight - a key forward. OK for a 3rd. 4th string but for a 1st pick, Franklin clone ? If you set low expectations, that's the best you'll get.

07-09-2024, 10:51 PM
[QUOTE=bornadog;927129]Anyone that can kick 43 goals in AFL football and have 78 shots has already shown they can make an AFL player.

. It confirms what we saw last night, can't kick straight - a key forward. OK for a 3rd. 4th string but for a 1st pick, Franklin clone ? If you set low expectations, that's the best you'll get.

Because if a black fella kinda looks like another black fella (even though he looks nothing like him) he's a clone? I hate that lazy and pretty much racist comparison.

07-09-2024, 10:53 PM

I actually don't know what you are arguing. You said he needs to play VFL to see if he can make it at AFL. I am saying he already has made it. 43 goals is ranked 11th on the table of 800 players in the AFL

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 10:57 PM
Mate there's no club in the land who doesn't take a bottom aged fourth year player who can do what Marra can do.

You mean has done, in 4 years. Ugle-Hagan has had the odd game, 7 in 4 years, like your Sydney game, where he performs. Is the Selection Committee expected to predict ? I hesitate to use the pejorative 'dud' but it's getting close. I rely upon my responses to other posters this evening.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 11:05 PM
I actually don't know what you are arguing. You said he needs to play VFL to see if he can make it at AFL. I am saying he already has made it. 43 goals is ranked 11th on the table of 800 players in the AFL

Fair point, BAD. If that's with which One (doing my best King Charles impersonation) is satisfied, 43 goals as the nominated key, deep forward where Darcy and Naughton, in particular, are pushed further away from goals, then it's no wonder we marvel at reaching 6th and not surprised that we can't score enough get beyond the first round of the finals. Take Bev's hint, he's very much no 3, not no 1 and we lost.

07-09-2024, 11:07 PM
You mean has done, in 4 years. Ugle-Hagan has had the odd game, 7 in 4 years, like your Sydney game, where he performs. Is the Selection Committee expected to predict ? I hesitate to use the pejorative 'dud' but it's getting close. I rely upon my responses to other posters this evening.

He's only 22 mate. ****s sake, enjoy the ride and support him.

I get being critical of things like his set shot kicking from within 40m, and some of his body language, but if it's consistency or even dominance you want from a relative baby in the game you're missing the point and are no better than the lizards in the media. Talls take time, and just because one or two don't (and just because one of them was black) it doesn't mean JUH won't.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 11:10 PM
He's not going to peak for another 2-3 seasons, he'll be fine....

...then let's not waste any more spots in the firsts, Ugle-Hagan should work towards his peak in the VFL.

07-09-2024, 11:11 PM
...then let's not waste any more spots in the firsts, Ugle-Hagan should work towards his peak in the VFL.
I think your point is made.

Not sure how you come to that opinion but respect it. Flogging a dead horse now though.

07-09-2024, 11:12 PM

Not sure how you come to that opinion but respect it. Flogging a dead horse now though.

Respect it?

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 11:16 PM
He's only 22 mate. ****s sake, enjoy the ride and support him.

I get being critical of things like his set shot kicking from within 40m, and some of his body language, but if it's consistency or even dominance you want from a relative baby in the game you're missing the point and are no better than the lizards in the media. Talls take time, and just because one or two don't (and [ust because one of them was black) it doesn't mean JUH won't.

In the light of the highlighted bit and the un high lighted 'lizard' appellation, I'll leave it at not enjoying your ride. Let's leave that sort of stuff out of this..

07-09-2024, 11:16 PM
Respect it?
The right to have it i mean! :^]

Marra made the 22 under 22 and has kicked 43 goals so not sure he's doing too badly.

But he was really poor last night so criticism is going to come. What a surprise Dermott stuck the boots in.

07-09-2024, 11:20 PM
In the light of the highlighted bit and the un high lighted 'lizard' appellation, I'll leave it at not enjoying your ride. Let's leave that sort of stuff out of this..

Yeah that's fair. I didn't mean to say you are a media lizard, rather, that you're reacting like one.

From an earlier post I also thought you were making the lazy and racist comparison to Franklin that the media lizards make with JUH. If you weren't then I apologise.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 11:22 PM

Not quite an opinion, I'd have had him JUH in the VFL longer and earlier in his career with us. Agree with our flogging a dead horse, how did you find out about Grandpa Andrew ?

07-09-2024, 11:23 PM

He had a bad game mate, he wasn't an island.

Just got to make sure we learn from it.

07-09-2024, 11:29 PM
Not quite an opinion, I'd have had him JUH in the VFL longer and earlier in his career with us. Agree with our flogging a dead horse, how did you find out about Grandpa Andrew ?

His first year he played 5 AFL games kicked 7 goals and the rest in the VFL to learn his craft. The following three season he has kicked just under 100 goals. He competes for goals with Naughton 130 in the last three years and now Darcy with 38 this year.

The other FFs, like Hogan, don't have a tall competitor in the same team and get more opportunities to kick goals.

Had a shocker last night but his record to date is pretty good

07-09-2024, 11:32 PM
Haha. Everyone knows that guy.

This is some next level trolling you've got about five of us on the line.

D Mitchell
07-09-2024, 11:50 PM
Yeah that's fair. I didn't mean to say you are a media lizard, rather, that you're reacting like one.

From an earlier post I also thought you were making the lazy and racist comparison to Franklin that the media lizards make with JUH. If you weren't then I apologise.

Absolutely no need for an apology, I appreciate your sensitivity to the issue. We are in an environment that when the issue of racism towards our indigenous is raised, better not to comment. Ugle-Hagan is a player for our club, no better, no worse than any of the others for his ethnicities. This shouldn't be an issue in our discussions. No worries, nothing personal. In the words of Police Chief Superintendant Bright ("Endeavour") "Carry on".

D Mitchell
08-09-2024, 12:05 AM
Haha. Everyone knows that guy.

This is some next level trolling you've got about five of us on the line.

Grandpa H....y has a road named after him in outback South Australia, H....y's Crossing. Be respectful. Trolling ? Unfair knock, I see the game as I see it. I'm happy to be persuaded that I'm wrong which happens regularly at the footy, the big bloke in the row in front of ours often so persuades me.

Posting this, I'm inspired to open a new topic. It'll be something like "things blokes say to you in the queue" or to that effect (sounds a bit sexist). In the words of Chairman/President for Life Xi, please support me.