View Full Version : Who to barrack for now that 2024 is over for us?

07-09-2024, 06:41 AM
This is a really easy one for me. Although I believe their supporters are rancid I like their coach for his honesty. He has suffered a lot and been let down a lot a la Bevo. They also have Jordan Sweet. And I hate Hawthorn.
Sydney and GWS have dislikeable players in spades - so they're out.
Geelong? Puleeze!
Brisbane? Have Dunkley so they're my 2nd team
Carlton? There are no words to describe my visceral dislike of them.

07-09-2024, 07:02 AM
Hoks for me. They really are a fun team to watch(when they aren't smashing us). Mitchell seems a nice guy too.

07-09-2024, 07:10 AM
Footscray

ABH.

Port maybe

07-09-2024, 07:31 AM
No thank you.

07-09-2024, 08:18 AM
I'm not going to be too fussed but perhaps Sydney.

07-09-2024, 08:23 AM
Hoks for me. They really are a fun team to watch(when they aren't smashing us). Mitchell seems a nice guy too.
Five mins with their fans last night you'd change your tune! Entitled, arrogant, condescending neo riche flogs !

I was sat in the last row on level 1 unbeknownst to me when I got the tickets and had to put up with 100 drunk Hawks all night behind our bay.

It was getting testy by the end.

One comedian did do a nice bit about a fire drill when everyone started leaving and it was good until he ended it with some suburb bashing which nearly got him set upon.

07-09-2024, 08:23 AM
I'm not going to be too fussed but perhaps Sydney.

Nah, Longmire whining about our free kicks from 2016 probably set the tone for the Umpires last night. :)
No one for me I'm over it now we are out but if Dunkley wasn't in Brisbane I may have followed them just for my soft spot for the old Fitzroy.

07-09-2024, 08:41 AM
They are fun to watch - I've never understood the angst around Hawthorn. For a team who has won 14 flags in 50-odd years, their fans have the right to be a whole lot more arrogant and unbearable than they actually are. Their fans last night around where I was sitting were just so happy and in raptures with their own team, not feral maniacs like the filth supporters are - there was barely any smart ass banter towards Dogs fans.

Ginny winning a flag straight after Collingwood discarded him would be funny as hell.

07-09-2024, 08:47 AM
Five mins with their fans last night you'd change your tune! Entitled, arrogant, condescending neo riche flogs !

I was sat in the last row on level 1 unbeknownst to me when I got the tickets and had to put up with 100 drunk Hawks all night behind our bay.

It was getting testy by the end.

One comedian did do a nice bit about a fire drill when everyone started leaving and it was good until he ended it with some suburb bashing which nearly got him set upon.

I guess I'm lucky that more important life stuff got in the way of going to that shit show and didn't have to experience their fans, all the ones I know in real life are decent.

07-09-2024, 09:01 AM
Footy’s over.

07-09-2024, 09:05 AM
They are fun to watch - I've never understood the angst around Hawthorn. For a team who has won 14 flags in 50-odd years, their fans have the right to be a whole lot more arrogant and unbearable than they actually are. Their fans last night around where I was sitting were just so happy and in raptures with their own team, not feral maniacs like the filth supporters are - there was barely any smart ass banter towards Dogs fans.

Ginny winning a flag straight after Collingwood discarded him would be funny as hell.
I can change your mind with one meme I just made.

https://i.postimg.cc/pLHLZmT2/Mematic-20240907-090145.jpg (https://postimg.cc/dL5FQtrX)

07-09-2024, 09:12 AM
No one, it's over. If I had to pick one probably Port Adelaide

07-09-2024, 09:13 AM

https://i.postimg.cc/pLHLZmT2/Mematic-20240907-090145.jpg (https://postimg.cc/dL5FQtrX)

Haha, maybe don't take footy seriously enough but the Hawks supporters I know are cool so I'd be happy for them to win it.

07-09-2024, 09:55 AM
Haha, maybe don't take footy seriously enough but the Hawks supporters I know are cool so I'd be happy for them to win it.
Hehe. Yeah it's all a bit of fun. Some of the stuff was very funny last night.

07-09-2024, 09:59 AM
Gws.

07-09-2024, 10:32 AM

Is the price tag still on the scarf? Looks pristine.

The only thing obscene about that photo is that all of us paid for the tickets, the flights to and from Melbourne and the accommodation last night.

07-09-2024, 10:55 AM
Gws.

I really don?t care but if anyone it would be the Giants.

07-09-2024, 12:32 PM
I don’t barrack for other teams, it’s a concept that exists exclusively so you have something to talk to people at work about. I hope they all lose.

07-09-2024, 12:38 PM
Port or
GWS if Greene missed due to a brain fade in the prelim.

07-09-2024, 04:02 PM
I don’t barrack for other teams, it’s a concept that exists exclusively so you have something to talk to people at work about. I hope they all lose.

I appreciate your angst. I am gutted that we did our Elimination "Let's not Turn Up Again" ploy again.

07-09-2024, 04:12 PM
Footy’s done … watching cricket now instead. Bring on 2025. Waiting with bated breath for BT trading threads.

07-09-2024, 05:24 PM

Ditto for me

07-09-2024, 06:23 PM
NFL Season starts this week. Will switch to that and the Premier League

07-09-2024, 06:28 PM
Im thinking Port and I loathe to say it..gws
Thats how much I hate syd, Geel, Bris, Carl

The arrogance, instagramable flogs that's hawthorns younger brigade has me disliking them more and more and theyve had enough success.

07-09-2024, 06:45 PM
Im thinking Port and I loathe to say it..gws
Thats how much I hate syd, Geel, Bris, Carl

The arrogance, instagramable flogs that's hawthorns younger brigade has me disliking them more and more and theyve had enough success.

If I was to choose, it would be Port. I use to sort of like Brisbane but with Dunks there he can get stuffed.

07-09-2024, 07:48 PM
None of the above.

I will watch the other finals so I can talk footy at work the following Monday, but for me I have already switched to NFL and MLB pennant chase mode.

10-09-2024, 10:25 PM
Is the price tag still on the scarf? Looks pristine.

The only thing obscene about that photo is that all of us paid for the tickets, the flights to and from Melbourne and the accommodation last night.

Nah he's a legit Hawthorn supporter. He can tell stories about going to games back in the '80s and '90s. There are lots of fake AFL supporters in all sides of politics and Albo isn't exactly my favourite ALP PM but he's a real Hawthorn/AFL supporter.

11-09-2024, 12:16 AM
Glenelg!

Oh and Hawthorn. I was in the members on Friday night with my best mate (for 55 years now) and he’s a hawks fan. Some of the hawks fans were absolute flogs but I do like the mojo that the club and their star players have.

11-09-2024, 01:20 AM
Glenelg!

Oh and Hawthorn. I was in the members on Friday night with my best mate (for 55 years now) and he?s a hawks fan. Some of the hawks fans were absolute flogs but I do like the mojo that the club and their star players have.

No way.

1. There were too many Hawks fans that I encountered at the game/on the way home that were 10/10 flogs for me to let it slide and go for them. Grown ass adults having a go at me when I was walking with my boy (7) and minding my own business just because I am wearing the colours.

2. The underdog blood in me doesn't default to teams with their kind of recent success.

3. Their team/coach have become a pack of smug asshats. It started out as fun and kids enjoying themselves, but their bratty behaviour has spilled into disrespect and terrible sportsmanship. This is not the role models I want for our youth.

I want to see "The Wizard" or Ginnivan rub something into a players face only to see Port annihilate them from that moment on and come out post-game and say "that was the moment that sparked us".

11-09-2024, 05:59 AM
Gini already saying to swans players see you soon.
Surely Kenny leverages that.

11-09-2024, 06:02 AM
Glenelg!

Oh and Hawthorn. I was in the members on Friday night with my best mate (for 55 years now) and he’s a hawks fan. Some of the hawks fans were absolute flogs but I do like the mojo that the club and their star players have.
Do you remember Darryl Rady t&t? His son is a good mate of mine.

12-09-2024, 06:03 PM
No way.

1. There were too many Hawks fans that I encountered at the game/on the way home that were 10/10 flogs for me to let it slide and go for them. Grown ass adults having a go at me when I was walking with my boy (7) and minding my own business just because I am wearing the colours.

2. The underdog blood in me doesn't default to teams with their kind of recent success.

3. Their team/coach have become a pack of smug asshats. It started out as fun and kids enjoying themselves, but their bratty behaviour has spilled into disrespect and terrible sportsmanship. This is not the role models I want for our youth.

I want to see "The Wizard" or Ginnivan rub something into a players face only to see Port annihilate them from that moment on and come out post-game and say "that was the moment that sparked us".

Great post. I detest Hawthorn.

01-10-2024, 11:01 PM
Do you remember Darryl Rady t&t? His son is a good mate of mine.

Ha yes

Absolutely an icon of Glenelg

https://flic.kr/p/8d2niS

Pretty sure he was at a Glenelg function i took photos of 2 - 3 years ago

Oh, and Glenelg won the flag again, came from the elim finals and beat the big favourites (Norwood) in the granny by 5 points

Liam McBean dominated with 7.0

We beat Central Districts in thr prelim final, for those playing at home

02-10-2024, 06:31 AM
Ha yes

Absolutely an icon of Glenelg

https://flic.kr/p/8d2niS

Pretty sure he was at a Glenelg function i took photos of 2 - 3 years ago

Oh, and Glenelg won the flag again, came from the elim finals and beat the big favourites (Norwood) in the granny by 5 points

Liam McBean dominated with 7.0

We beat Central Districts in thr prelim final, for those playing at home
Nice! His son came through my work as a phd candidate many moons back and we've been close ever since. He's a great guy. Good cricketer!
Works in the hydrogen field now. That's where all the rivers of gold are flowing.

Great pic!

02-10-2024, 07:50 AM
That?s awesome. Honestly his old man is very fondly remembered as an icon of the bays