View Full Version : Week Two Finals Series

13-09-2024, 03:01 PM
Bit of mail floating around that Butters is going to be a late out and also Dixon. Talk is Will Lorenz and Dylan Williams will come in. Surely Butters has cracked ribs and they have been hiding it - he copped a big hit to the ribs late in R24 against Freo that everybody seems to have forgotten.

I can't see Port getting near the Hawks tonight unless they go full knuckle, or if JHF has the night of his life and they smash them out of the middle.

13-09-2024, 03:15 PM
Surely Dixon misses. Port have gone in too tall.

Not going to lie would be awesome to see JHF turn it on and get the power across the line.

13-09-2024, 03:24 PM
Surely Dixon misses. Port have gone in too tall.

Not going to lie would be awesome to see JHF turn it on and get the power across the line.

Same, sick of Hawks already

13-09-2024, 05:28 PM
Do not want hawks to win. Actually Ginnivan missing a goal after the siren, losing the game for them would be the prefect finish.

13-09-2024, 06:18 PM
But if port lose they go into meltdown, sack Ken and butters puts in a trade request.

13-09-2024, 06:34 PM
But if port lose they go into meltdown, sack Ken and butters puts in a trade request.
To Geelong, for their first and others.

AFL will allow a new promotional draft pick they can use on Baz, to be presented by Setka.

13-09-2024, 08:49 PM
Ports pressure early is great, far better than anything we did last week.

13-09-2024, 08:58 PM
Go Hawks. They’ll win every final by 9 goals and we’ll believe we’re the 2nd best in it. Bevo will get a 3 yr extension

13-09-2024, 09:04 PM
Rioli is pure class.

13-09-2024, 09:05 PM
Ports pressure early is great, far better than anything we did last week.

Ironically Port also were extremely poor last week.

13-09-2024, 09:05 PM
I see players kicking for goal run into the right and miss left ad infinitum.
Why?
Try running in like that and missing right to be radical.

13-09-2024, 09:09 PM
Hawks have moved away from team football and going for individual glory.

13-09-2024, 09:10 PM
I'm getting more annoyed watching this than I was last week.

Finals pressure and the Hawks are crumbling.

Playing a stopper on Sicily.

Not giving their mids any space.

13-09-2024, 09:11 PM
Port got 11 free kicks in the first quarter. A few HTB helped their tally.

Dogs got 13 for the match last week.

13-09-2024, 09:12 PM
Port pressure off the charts but can they sustain it?

13-09-2024, 09:12 PM

Who'd have thought!?

13-09-2024, 09:13 PM

It helps that AO is narrow. So much less space. It?s six metres narrower than Dockland and 18m than the MCG.

Port brining the pressure but way less space for the Hawks to get their short kicking game going.

13-09-2024, 09:15 PM
Port pressure off the charts but can they sustain it?

They might only need to do it for another quarter to psychologically quell Hawthorn.

The issue they have is how impotent they are up forward and this is what ticks me off about last week. We had the weapons to put them to the sword but couldn't give our forwards a look.

13-09-2024, 09:15 PM
Port are all over them. Great pressure all over the ground.

13-09-2024, 09:27 PM
Sweety and Butters would look good at the Kennel

13-09-2024, 09:33 PM
Kidding me that's a free kick. Thats as bad as it gets

13-09-2024, 09:33 PM
Crap decision. That was holding the ball and then Chol added Mayo to the contact on the ground

13-09-2024, 09:37 PM
And again!

Crikey. Umps literally got them back in this

And another garbage one. Moore sucked the umpire in

Hawks were staging all last week. Especially Sicily. They pulling the same crap tonight.

Three goals in a row from soft free kicks. What a disgrace.

13-09-2024, 09:38 PM
Free kicks last week.

Dogs 13 - Hawks 22

13-09-2024, 09:43 PM
How ironic is it that the player we said was second fiddle (Sweet) is neutralising the player that destroyed English last week.

13-09-2024, 09:46 PM
Newcombe starting to get on top out of the middle the last 10 minutes

13-09-2024, 09:49 PM
Rioli is pure class.

13-09-2024, 09:50 PM
Imagine if Rioli got himself fit. He is a freak.

13-09-2024, 09:54 PM
How ironic is it that the player we said was second fiddle (Sweet) is neutralising the player that destroyed English last week.
Yes that's annoying me too! He's useless around the ground but doing well v Meek in the ruck.

13-09-2024, 09:57 PM
Butters tackling has been insane. Could see him in our colours.

It was bad enough going through the #freekickhawthorn era 10 years ago. Now it's flipping back.

Is Todd Marshall a clone of Tim English…timid and weak bodied ?

13-09-2024, 09:59 PM
Yes that's annoying me too! He's useless around the ground but doing well v Meek in the ruck.

The argument about being a ruck who can contribute around the ground is, and always will be, a luxury. It's the cream, not the cake.

As a ruck, the cake is the ruck work - being a competitive, physical presence. It's the mids job to transition the ball, not rucks.

Dean Cox was one of few who could do both, as is Max Gawn. Unfortunately for us, English's game is back to front.

13-09-2024, 10:00 PM
This is the quarter. Port need to start with intent. Tackle hard. Close them down. Umps have given Hawthorn a sniff. Sweet is doing well. Sicily has been negated. We could have done that last week.

13-09-2024, 10:00 PM
Our pressure and intent wasn't anywhere near the level required last week. We needed to get in the grille of the Hawks in close like Port have done so far tonight.

13-09-2024, 10:05 PM
The argument about being a ruck who can contribute around the ground is, and always will be, a luxury. It's the cream, not the cake.

As a ruck, the cake is the ruck work - being a competitive, physical presence. It's the mids job to transition the ball, not rucks.

Dean Cox was one of few who could do both, as is Max Gawn. Unfortunately for us, English's game is back to front.
Spot on. Finals footy gives no liberties to ruckmen who crave time and space. Unfortunately for us Tim is one such ruckman, whose ruck game just doesn't suit in finals at all.

13-09-2024, 10:13 PM
That is blatant cheating from Watson. Surely?

13-09-2024, 10:14 PM
This umpiring.... Wow.

13-09-2024, 10:14 PM
Four of the five Hawks goals are from soft or dubious free kicks!!!!

13-09-2024, 10:15 PM
Hawks are playing brilliantly well

13-09-2024, 10:24 PM
I would love to have Rioli in our team.

13-09-2024, 10:29 PM
Hawks are playing brilliantly well

I think they have been ordinary.

Seriously helped by the umpires with their scoring and their ball use has been average.

We blew it last week.

13-09-2024, 10:41 PM
The umpiring smacks of a fix.

13-09-2024, 10:41 PM
It's there to be won thanks to the umpires. Who's going to step up?

13-09-2024, 10:48 PM
I wish we got Watson

13-09-2024, 10:49 PM
My days, Watson is clean as.

13-09-2024, 10:49 PM
I wish we got Watson

So do I. So do I

13-09-2024, 10:50 PM
I wish we got Watson

We tried really hard to, exciting prospect.

Ports poor finishing threatening to kill them

13-09-2024, 10:51 PM
Rioli v Watson.

13-09-2024, 10:53 PM
Next score is vital for the Hawks

13-09-2024, 10:53 PM
I wish we kept Sweet.

13-09-2024, 10:55 PM
Sweet is playing out of his skin

13-09-2024, 10:57 PM
Jordan Sweet has played a top game.

Critter
13-09-2024, 10:57 PM
I would love to have Rioli in our team.

I would love to have Sweet in our team. Wait? oh yeah.

13-09-2024, 11:01 PM
Jordan Sweet has played a top game.

6 kicks, 6 handballs

13-09-2024, 11:02 PM
Great coaching move to swing Sicily forward

13-09-2024, 11:07 PM
Come on Port!!

13-09-2024, 11:08 PM
6 kicks, 6 handballs

Sweet has performed better tonight than English did last week.

13-09-2024, 11:09 PM
Chol is a potato

13-09-2024, 11:10 PM
Chol is a potato

Richmond got rid of him because he hates body contact

13-09-2024, 11:10 PM
Onya Sweetie!! Great rundown . Wish we’d kept him.

13-09-2024, 11:11 PM
Chol is a potato

Richmond got rid of him because he hates body contact

Chol is a prop.

He left Gold Coast just as Hardwick turned up!

13-09-2024, 11:12 PM
Sweet has performed better tonight than English did last week.

And is probably on a 1/3 of what English is paid.

13-09-2024, 11:15 PM
Tight contests, who stands up from now is critical

13-09-2024, 11:18 PM
Port are so undisciplined

13-09-2024, 11:22 PM
Yes!!

Suck shit hawthorn.

Good game

Sicily. Ha.

Karma.

13-09-2024, 11:23 PM
Impressive tight contest. Not pretty but worth watching

13-09-2024, 11:23 PM
Yes. Great to see. Suck it up Hawks

13-09-2024, 11:24 PM
Suck a big steaming turd, you turd. No names, no pack drill. Go Port.

I thought Sicily was a dead cert to kick that goal.

I like Hinkley so I hope Port go all the way.

So much to love.

Hawthorn getting EVERYTHING from the umpires.
Celebrating like every goal is for an Olympic gold medal.
Getting so far ahead of themselves.

Take your Shiraz sipping silver spoons back to camberwell ya flogs.

13-09-2024, 11:26 PM
Wow Sicily the sore loser

13-09-2024, 11:26 PM
Poor loser Sicily. Flog.

13-09-2024, 11:27 PM
Poor loser Sicily. Flog.

Always has been a flog

6 kicks, 6 handballs

Finals against Hawthorn

Sweet
8 kicks 7 handballs 51 hitouts $peanuts

English
7 kicks 8 handballs 21 hitouts $millions

Wow Sicily the sore loser

I would love to know what Hinkley said.

13-09-2024, 11:28 PM
Footage just shown makes it like Hinkley is to blame.

13-09-2024, 11:29 PM
Finals against Hawthorn

Sweet

English

So what, wasn't the reason we lost

13-09-2024, 11:30 PM
Sicily having nightmares for weeks is a nice bit of gravy on that result.

Hinkley can be mouthy but he's likeable.

Sicily a straight up flog. Enjoy knowing you blew it.

Channel 7 bias trying to make out it was Hinkley's fault. The media have been on the Hawthorn bandwagon.

13-09-2024, 11:32 PM
Channel 7 bias trying to make out it was Hinkley's fault. The media have been on the Hawthorn bandwagon.

Hinkley mouthed off to Ginivan first.

Funny either way.

Sucked in hawks. Instagram pretty boy flogs.
Hope ports win the big one.
Sweet was awesome. Hard at it.

Finals against Hawthorn

Sweet

English

It's tragic.

I'd rather Sweet on his wage every day of the week. There were a few of us that thought the gap between these two wasn't that large as others snickered at.

13-09-2024, 11:33 PM
Sucked in hawks. Instagram pretty boy flogs.
Hope ports win the big one.
Sweet was awesome. Hard at it.

You did not get Ginavin missing after the siren, but Sicily missing just before the siren surely met the brief?

Haha good on Hinkley having a dip at Ginnivan. Jordan Lewis and co crying about it - it's actually refreshing to see some spice and personality in this boring AFEL product for once.

I think you have to be right on the spot to know what really happened. I'm biased though. I despise Hawthorn.

13-09-2024, 11:35 PM
Finals against Hawthorn

Sweet

English
It's your night of vindication Danjul. Sweet was very influential tonight, not just with what he did but also preventing his opponent from having any meaningful influence.

So what, wasn't the reason we lost
I just stated a comparison I found interesting.

It was Hodge. Couldn’t help himself.

13-09-2024, 11:36 PM
Haha good on Hinkley having a dip at Ginnivan. Jordan Lewis and co crying about it - it's actually refreshing to see some spice and personality in this boring AFEL product for once.
Lewis and Hodge the gall to have a whinge about someone giving it back to that side. Crikey!

No one can do a dog's 2016.

13-09-2024, 11:36 PM
Certainly did Azabob
Great result all round.

13-09-2024, 11:37 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GXW06-VboAE2Dao?format=jpg&name=900x900

13-09-2024, 11:39 PM
Better buy a ticket to Sydney for next week Ginnivan you absolute flog.

We now know what HOK is short for ...... CHOKE.

13-09-2024, 11:42 PM
Ha. Kenny just apologised and said he had a go at Ginni for getting ahead of himself!!!!

13-09-2024, 11:49 PM
In the scheme of things it's minor but Sicily was right to push back on Hinkley

13-09-2024, 11:52 PM

Nothing in it, but Sicily should not have got angry

https://x.com/7AFL/status/1834574631405260964

13-09-2024, 11:53 PM

Well, he had an opportunity. But he didn’t. Lolz.

13-09-2024, 11:54 PM
The result was GOOD FOR FOOTBALL! There is no more to be said.

13-09-2024, 11:56 PM
Hinkley giving the big ones was fantastic.

13-09-2024, 11:56 PM
Here’s a fact of life, you cannot dish it out like Hawthorn have for the last 4 months, almost unprecedented in the amount of carry on and nonsense they have dished up, then they get a tiny bit back and all the Hawthorn faithful act as if JFK has been shot.

Give me a spell hawthorn. You had a chance and you blew it harder that just about anyone ever has.

Now go to sleep in your own stinking filthy bed that you made.

13-09-2024, 11:58 PM
Nothing in it, but Sicily should not have got angry

https://x.com/7AFL/status/1834574631405260964

Id want my club captain to push back on a coach who's being a smart arse rather than humble after a terrific win.

13-09-2024, 11:59 PM
Here’s a fact of life, you cannot dish it out like Hawthorn have for the last 4 months, almost unprecedented in the amount of carry on and nonsense they have dished up, then they get a tiny bit back and all the Hawthorn faithful act as if JFK has been shot.

Give me a spell hawthorn. You had a chance and you blew it harder that just about anyone ever has.

Now go to sleep in your own stinking filthy bed that you made.

100%

14-09-2024, 12:04 AM
Id want my club captain to push back on a coach who's being a smart arse rather than humble after a terrific win.

I would have liked to see him go over and snot him.

14-09-2024, 12:06 AM

He just said looks like you aren't flying to Sydney. I don't think that is a smart arse, he was giving back to Gini who said to Brodie see you in two weeks.

14-09-2024, 12:08 AM
Sam Mitchell outraged after the game. Ha.

Short memory. Was it Sam doing the injecting motion to Essendon after the drugs scandal?

14-09-2024, 12:08 AM
I think the fact it was a guard of honour for Bruest meant it was a poor decision by Ken.

Otherwise open season on that horrible team.

14-09-2024, 12:11 AM
Sam Mitchell outraged after the game. Ha.

Short memory. Was it Sam doing the injecting motion to Essendon after the drugs scandal?
He mocked many along the journey.

14-09-2024, 12:13 AM
The way Jordan Lewis and others are carrying on... FFS. Get a backbone, hardly that insulting is it?

14-09-2024, 12:14 AM
He just said looks like you aren't flying to Sydney. I don't think that is a smart arse, he was giving back to Gini who said to Brodie see you in two weeks.

He won the game, why would an experienced coach want to make that comment on the field and risk an escalation?
Ginnivan was a smart arse and people could see that but two wrongs doesn't fix it.

14-09-2024, 12:15 AM
He mocked many along the journey.

he is another flog

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GXW886KacAAPqAH?format=jpg&name=medium

14-09-2024, 12:15 AM
The way Jordan Lewis and others are carrying on... FFS. Get a backbone, hardly that insulting is it?

Particularly when they were the ?unsociable hawks? giving to everyone when they were winning flags.

14-09-2024, 12:16 AM
Hey Sam, see that thing way off in the distance, yes almost at the horizon, it’s the moral high ground.

Sook it up.

14-09-2024, 12:18 AM
Ollie Wines in the rooms

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GXW4wcTa8AAabB1?format=jpg&name=small

14-09-2024, 12:19 AM
It's great the Hoks have gone out pissing and moaning.

Perfect ending

14-09-2024, 12:26 AM
I feel Hinkley's been a bit of a smug wanker when he wins and talks in a way South Park or Family Guy would enjoy making fun of. He didn't need to lip off at Ginnivan who was clearly just having a bit of fun during the week.

Shit of him to overshadow his team and Breust's send off like that. Shows he's been in his own head a bit and it was right of Sicily to get stuck into him.

It's a bit rich of Lewis, Hodge and Mitchell to be incredulous about it after the game though. Each of them in their own way have proved over the journey to be pretty shit blokes when it's suited them.

Moustache twirling goodness seeing Sicily miss a sitter then hit the post in the last when he could have won the game for them. Hawthorn got massively kissed on the dick with some of the goals given to them in the first half so it was a nice ending.

14-09-2024, 12:32 AM
I feel Hinkley's been a bit of a smug wanker when he wins and talks in a way South Park or Family Guy would enjoy making fun of. He didn't need to lip off at Ginnivan who was clearly just having a bit of fun during the week.

Shit of him to overshadow his team and Breust's send off like that. Shows he's been in his own head a bit and it was right of Sicily to get stuck into him.

It's a bit rich of Lewis, Hodge and Mitchell to be incredulous about it after the game though. Each of them in their own way have proved over the journey to be pretty shit blokes when it's suited them.

Moustache twirling goodness seeing Sicily miss a sitter then hit the post in the last when he could have won the game for them. Hawthorn got massively kissed on the dick with some of the goals given to them in the first half so it was a nice ending.

Hawks all season been dishing it out but can't take it when they get one back.

Hinkley did apologise straight after the game.

14-09-2024, 12:36 AM
Hawks crying victim is a bit embarrassing to be frank, especially the former players who were unsociable pricks in their prime.

This club historically doesn't lose in September often and they haven't handled it well at all tonight.

Ginnivan lit a fire under his opponents, and they duly smacked Hawthorn in the mouth. When you live by the sword, be prepared to die by the sword.

14-09-2024, 12:37 AM

Which is why I find it hard to accept anyone saying he didn't do much wrong. I don't mind Hinkley and find Sicily to be a bit of a dickhead but Ken was 100% wrong to do that on the field and Sicily was right to push back on him.

14-09-2024, 12:38 AM
Press Conference

Ken Hinkley in his post match press conference: “It’s an emotional game, a big result. There was stuff said last week (by Ginnivan) I didn’t enjoy but I shouldn’t have let that moment get to me. I shouldn’t have approached the moment. I responded to it in an emotional state… I regret the comment.”Said he used the Ginnivan comment “a fair bit” as motivation with his players. “We as a footy club found it a little bit disrespectful.”

14-09-2024, 12:41 AM
I reckon Hawthorn are especially hurting because they genuinely blew a live premiership chance this season. This race is wide open, nobody was travling better than the Hawks and their opponents were decimated with personnel missing and completely devoid of confdence.

There will be 17 other clubs who will go to school on the Hawks in the off-season - no guarantees that they can front up again next year, even though their age profile and recruits coming in suggest they should improve again. They buggered 2024 and they know it.

14-09-2024, 12:45 AM
I reckon Hawthorn are especially hurting because they genuinely blew a live premiership chance this season. This race is wide open, nobody was travling better than the Hawks and their opponents were decimated with personnel missing and completely devoid of confdence.

There will be 17 other clubs who will go to school on the Hawks in the off-season - no guarantees that they can front up again next year, even though their age profile and recruits coming in suggest they should improve again. They buggered 2024 and they know it.

This is why we need to be top four so we don't get bundled out the first week

14-09-2024, 12:53 AM

The people in all this who should be hurting most are Marcus Bontempelli, Tim English, Liam Jones, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Ed Richards, Cody Weightman and a few others, you get my drift, as we let a team like Hawthorn have its way with us last week across the entire ground. The coaches probably should be included in that as well.

Just a bit more pressure and a bit more initiative across each line for the second and third quarters and we're in with a chance. We could have done Port tonight no question, based on that showing. We aren't exposed for pace against Sydney or anyone else left in the competition.

I agree on your assessment of the Hawks prospects next year. I said to my Hawks supporting mates tonight you're now one of eight or nine teams who finished sixth to fourteenth who think they have legitimate claims on the eight, on top of the five teams above you. Good luck making it next year when your draw tightens in on you, as you got a good ride this year.

14-09-2024, 12:54 AM
Which is why I find it hard to accept anyone saying he didn't do much wrong. I don't mind Hinkley and find Sicily to be a bit of a dickhead but Ken was 100% wrong to do that on the field and Sicily was right to push back on him.
Ken was in the wrong and Sicily did the right thing standing up for his teammate. Still very funny though.

The reality is that Ginny antagonised and disrespected his opponent and gave them an edge that otherwise mightn't have been there - and in a 3 point game, every edge is critical.

All the bleeding heart stuff from the ex Hawks in the media is real glass jaw stuff to be honest, quite pathetic. Sam Mitchell moping around in the presser was poor as well. For a 'genius', he was pretty easily out-coached by Hinkley tonight. The game was played on Port's terms almost the entire evening.

14-09-2024, 01:04 AM
The people in all this who should be hurting most are Marcus Bontempelli, Tim English, Liam Jones, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Ed Richards, Cody Weightman and a few others, you get my drift, as we let a team like Hawthorn have its way with us last week across the entire ground. The coaches probably should be included in that as well.
100% spot on. We didn't bring the finals heat anywhere near to the level required, and actually succumbed to the heat instead. Tonight only reinforced just how unacceptable our pressure and intent was last week.

14-09-2024, 01:23 AM

Hawks crying victim is a bit embarrassing to be frank, especially the former players who were unsociable pricks in their prime.

This club historically doesn't lose in September often and they haven't handled it well at all tonight.

Ginnivan lit a fire under his opponents, and they duly smacked Hawthorn in the mouth. When you live by the sword, be prepared to die by the sword.

They've been pumped up massively as the showtime team of the competition and they'll be feeling the thud these next few weeks, and I reckon a lasso will be put around a few of them this coming summer.

We enjoyed a lot of positive media in 2015-2016, but it turned pretty quickly against us. It will be interesting to see how they respond and how the media responds if things don't go to plan next year after a couple of likely big signings to make them "better". Expectation might just ruin them.

14-09-2024, 01:46 AM
So is Hok ball actually just getting a great rub of the green and record goal assists from umpires?

14-09-2024, 09:26 AM
The reality is Beveridge would have reacted exactly the same way as Sam Mitchell.

But the ex Hawk brigade of Lewis and Hodge clearly are bias in their analysis of the situation.

But damn, what was Ken Hinkley thinking? How dumb do you have to be to get sucked into a verbal stoush with multiple opposition players in full view of everyone. Sometimes you just need to know when to shut up and clearly Camperdown who loves maximum cola taste without the sugar Hinkley is incapable of that.

14-09-2024, 10:51 AM
Hinkley was totally in control with the grandstanding pontificating with Sicily on the ground. He was creating heat and history between the two clubs and firing his team and crowd up to save his job.
He was enjoying himself.

14-09-2024, 11:07 AM
Hinkley is a clown.

I’d hate if my coach carried on like that, and if he let a social media post from a 21 yr old get him all upset.

Sure the Hawks have been into themselves, but that’s the players playing. Doing their thing. It’s different. Good on them.

Hinkley is meant to be a grown up, professional, leader… he’s not. He’s pathetic.

14-09-2024, 11:28 AM
The reality is Beveridge would have reacted exactly the same way as Sam Mitchell.

But the ex Hawk brigade of Lewis and Hodge clearly are bias in their analysis of the situation.

But damn, what was Ken Hinkley thinking? How dumb do you have to be to get sucked into a verbal stoush with multiple opposition players in full view of everyone. Sometimes you just need to know when to shut up and clearly Camperdown who loves maximum cola taste without the sugar Hinkley is incapable of that.

Dunno, Beveridge would have probably told the media he's going after Hinkley's family and that he won't stop until they're all suffering from some sort of Beveridge related malaise.

14-09-2024, 11:34 AM
I think it is more than one post.

Their players have been allowed to move into complete disrespect/ bad sportsmanship territory. They rub things in your face, they continually dive on your head and give you cheapies when you are on the ground, and they are back to the unsociable, arrogant Hawthorn way.

Maybe if that is your team you may eat it up. Every time one of their players rubbed in a goal with an over the top celebration their crowd laughed along with the 8 replays. They are eating up the NBA-esque over the top "in your face" culture.

As some point they were going to see some push back. They want to be like that? Well, cop it when it comes back the other way.

14-09-2024, 11:40 AM
Hinkley is a clown.

I’d hate if my coach carried on like that, and if he let a social media post from a 21 yr old get him all upset.

Sure the Hawks have been into themselves, but that’s the players playing. Doing their thing. It’s different. Good on them.

Hinkley is meant to be a grown up, professional, leader… he’s not. He’s pathetic.
Would you prefer a senior coach threatening to bash up a journo in the toilets on Brownlow night?

Footy is irrational and even coaches are prone to wearing their heart on their sleeve - I don't mind what Bevo did to Barrett and I didn't mind what Hinkley said to Ginny last night. Hinkley and his team have been mocked mercilessly by the entire footy industry, and then an opposition player completely disregards your team by assuming the next game will be a stroll in the park - of course emotions have the potential to spill over. To be honest, what Hinkley said is pretty tame but it was the timing that escalated the situation - he was in the wrong but once it is said you cannot unscramble that egg. Likewise I have no issue at all with Sicily standing up for his teammate. Have no idea what Mitchell was crapping on about a "much older man saying harsh words to a young player", making it sound like some abusive power-imbalance love affair gone wrong - that sort of victimhood rubbish coming from a notorious hard-arse and motor mouth like Mitchell is laughable, as is the pearl-clutching in the media from those fine upstanding citizens Hodge and Lewis. Seriously embarrassing.

Port and Hinkley are the unfashionable daggy dads of the competition, and they just gave a smack in the mouth to the sharp-dressed, on-trend, popular, cocky upstarts. I love that shit.

14-09-2024, 11:51 AM
Would you prefer a senior coach to threatens to bash up a journo in the toilets at Brownlow night?

Footy is irrational and even coaches are prone to wearing their heart on their sleeve - I don't mind what Bevo did to Barrett and I didn't mind what Hinkley said to Ginny last night. Hinkley and his team have been mocked by the entire footy industry, and then an opposition player completely disregards your team by assuming the next game will be a walk in the park - of course emotions are going to spill over.

Port and Hinkley are the unfashioable daggy dads of the competition, and they just gave a smack in the mouth to the sharp-dressed, trendy, popular and cocky upstarts.

Just my final thought on this but when anyone other than the players steps onto the ground then their conduct needs not to have a risk about it that might escalate things. J-Mac has just been fined 20K, Brad Scott clipped his enemy David King when running past him, Sheedy made a slit his throat motion to Milne and of course last night Hinkley chose not to be the bigger man.

The Hawks arrogance shits me but Hinkley has moved the focus away from a great close win to how and why he did what he did. Perhaps it's a ploy but he should have just let it go. As I said earlier, it's ended up being minor in the scheme of things but it was unnecessary.

14-09-2024, 11:55 AM
Bevo doing Barrett in the toilets at the Brownlow isn't anywhere close to what happened with Hinkley tonight.

AFL cover up, ex-Hawk willing to out his new team mates at Adelaide, lost phones and a question of integrity vs. a childish social media post made in jest with a mate.

A player being bit cocky in one case, versus a complete AFL sanctioned cover up in another with a journo ripping the coach over his actions to subvert it.

14-09-2024, 12:41 PM
Now we've got Derm taking the moral high ground on Crunch Time. Interesting that he waited until after interviewing Hinkley to attack him. Wow, that is pretty cowardly, which is a word you don't normally associate with Derm.

These Hawks in the media are honestly pathetic.

14-09-2024, 12:50 PM
Bevo doing Barrett in the toilets at the Brownlow isn't anywhere close to what happened with Hinkley tonight.

AFL cover up, ex-Hawk willing to out his new team mates at Adelaide, lost phones and a question of integrity vs. a childish social media post made in jest with a mate.

A player being bit cocky in one case, versus a complete AFL sanctioned cover up in another with a journo ripping the coach over his actions to subvert it.
You and I are on a unity ticket with the blatant cover-up of Talia-gate. But in both that instance and last night, the emotional behaviour of the coach spilled over in a moment.. Both are understandable IMO, even if they were both probably unnecessary.

Tick to Ginny for taking it, tick to Sicily for standing up for his teammate, massive 'L' to Mitchell and also the Hawks media mafia for their total glass jaws. I guess when you are accustomed to winning all the time in September, when you blow such a gilt-edged oppoetunity as hot favourite in an open season, you throw the toys out of the cot, and change the topic away from your own clubs failure to get it done against a beaten, bruised and undermanned opponent. So pathetic.

14-09-2024, 01:05 PM
Now we've got Derm taking the moral high ground on Crunch Time. Interesting that he waited until after interviewing Hinkley to attack him. Wow, that is pretty cowardly, which is a word you don't normally associate with Derm.

These Hawks in the media are honestly pathetic.

And they're bloody everywhere because they won so many premierships in each of the bloody last four decades.

14-09-2024, 01:08 PM
You and I are on a unity ticket with the blatant cover-up of Talia-gate. But in both that instance and last night, the emotional behaviour of the coach spilled over in a moment.. Both are understandable IMO, even if they were both probably unnecessary.

Tick to Ginny for taking it, tick to Sicily for standing up for his teammate, massive 'L' to Mitchell and also the Hawks media mafia for their total glass jaws. I guess when you are accustomed to winning all the time in September, when you blow such a gilt-edged oppoetunity as hot favourite in an open season, you throw the toys out of the cot, and change the topic away from your own clubs failure to get it done against a beaten, bruised and undermanned opponent. So pathetic.

Glass jaws indeed. Privo wankers.

I do take issue with calling Beveridge's attack an emotional response, however. Not sure if it's the better of me or the worst, but I reckon he tracked him in a calculated way because he's a sociopath.

Pleather Sole
14-09-2024, 01:30 PM
I guffawed out a mouthful of cuppa last night when young Master Lewis said Hinkley's action were embarrassing. What followed was an expos? on how Hodge, Mitchell and Lewis have completely forgotten about and view their own on field thuggery. The trinity of poos and wees Dickheadedry all sanctimonious and sooky. Its not ok when it happens to their team, either physical or verbal. They need giant convex mirrors for their blind spots.

Ps
Not a fan of Hinkley's hijinks last night or in general.

14-09-2024, 01:43 PM
I am so.....SO relieved the Hawthorn dream is finished for the year. Would make me sick to see them win another flag.

14-09-2024, 02:08 PM
My take, Ginnivan lit the flame so fair game for the opposition PLAYERS and CROWD to get into him, the coach however, shithouse, in fact he should be thanking him for giving his players that extra motivation to play the way they did, Hinkley really should have thanked him and not acted like a child.

Sicily, Good on him, he's the captain of the club, flying the flag sticking up for his troopers, i have extra respect for him for doing so, Mitchell in the presser, soooooooked it up like Hinkley, what was the line "he's a young man" etc, yep that young man is a serial pest and if that helps him play as well as he can then so be it, but you're opening yourself up for sledges.

Ginnivan - you little rascal you
Hinkley - $5000 fine
Sicily - big tick
Mitchell - pass the tissues

14-09-2024, 02:12 PM

That goes both ways though. A coach (apparently) threatening physical violence in the toilets of a function versus Hinkley, shit-eating grin across his face, holding his arms out and telling them to enjoy the flight home. You're right - the situations aren't comparable.

Ginnivan dishes it out, Hinkley takes the bait in a petty if unharmful way, Ginny laughs it off but Sicily and Mitchell fire back. It's all just pretty funny in my opinion.

Schedule them at the MCG for round 1, Ginnivan can do an aeroplane in front of the Port cheer squad and it's all even.

14-09-2024, 03:12 PM
Glass jaws indeed. Privo wankers.

I do take issue with calling Beveridge's attack an emotional response, however. Not sure if it's the better of me or the worst, but I reckon he tracked him in a calculated way because he's a sociopath.

I see them as different also.

A social post ? who cares?
Your team just won a big final? you rub it into the competition?s face on national TV?

Very different to taking exception to media BS.

Not condoning violence. But I see them different.

I do agree Port are the daggy dad?s. Good analogy!

14-09-2024, 08:33 PM
Huge crowd at Giants stadium.

14-09-2024, 09:33 PM
Huge crowd at Giants stadium.
Hard to be excited about this game.

14-09-2024, 09:54 PM
Watching in bits and pieces but you've gotta admire how the Giants go about it.

Hope they belt Geelong next week providing they get up v Lions.

Hogan has become such a colossal figure, incredible really given his career was almost over. Love to know what changed.

Brent Daniels... What I'd give up for him. Absolute jet.

14-09-2024, 09:55 PM
Scoreboard flattering the Brions - should be at least 6 to 8 goals down at half time.

14-09-2024, 10:40 PM
I just turned on the game and GWS were 45 points up, but Brisbane has kicked 5 in a row.

14-09-2024, 10:43 PM
Game on now. Lions have turned it around.

14-09-2024, 10:45 PM
Giants have stalled the Lions momentum.

14-09-2024, 10:45 PM
Massive by Hogan.

14-09-2024, 10:46 PM
Then the Giants stop the momentum with two goals

14-09-2024, 10:47 PM
Massive by Hogan.

He has had a great year.

Would be great to have a Coleman Medallist in our team.

14-09-2024, 10:53 PM
Lions having a Bulldogs game where they are statistically even except for conversion.

Hipwood doing his best Gary Rohan impression.

14-09-2024, 10:54 PM
He has had a great year.

Would be great to have a Coleman Medallist in our team.
We have but we share the goals amongst 3 - 116 goals :D

14-09-2024, 10:57 PM
That was a dead set push to give Hogan his last. Can't believe that's not paid anymore.

Fantastic crowd. Game's going from strength to strength in Sydney.

14-09-2024, 10:58 PM
That was a dead set push to give Hogan his last. Can't believe that's not paid anymore.

Fantastic crowd. Game's going from strength to strength in Sydney.

Lots of empty seats

14-09-2024, 11:22 PM
#justjoedaniherthings

14-09-2024, 11:22 PM
Unbelievable last quarter. Lions effort is incredible

14-09-2024, 11:25 PM
Great game.

14-09-2024, 11:29 PM
How did gws lose that?

14-09-2024, 11:30 PM
GWS choke two weeks in a row

14-09-2024, 11:31 PM
What did I just watch?

Jana Novonta eat your heart out.

14-09-2024, 11:31 PM
How did gws lose that?

No idea but the game last week killed them mentally and physically. This will scar them next year as well.

Hate the Lions

14-09-2024, 11:32 PM
Hate the Lions and hate the Cats, but one of them is in the GF. That sucks.

What happened to GWS' fitness? Two weeks in a row. Not a coincidence.

You’d normally bank on Daniher missing one of those two late shots in goal. Great comeback/steal.

GWS would feel gutted.

These huge momentum swings seem far more common since 666.

14-09-2024, 11:33 PM
Can't stand GWS boo hoo losers.

14-09-2024, 11:34 PM
These huge momentum swings seem far more common since 666.
At least we know we ain?t the only ones it happens to.

You’d normally bank on Daniher missing one of those two late shots in goal. Great comeback/steal.

GWS would feel gutted.

That deliberate against Taylor was bullshit

Last six goals of the game to steal it. Crazy.

14-09-2024, 11:35 PM
Can we get Dale Morris back pronto?

14-09-2024, 11:36 PM

But to be fair. Idun threw it before that and got away with it.

14-09-2024, 11:41 PM
44 points up at the 20 minute mark of the 3rd quarter!!!!

3 v 11 goals from that point on and all three GWS goals were consecutive. Crazy.

Has to be craziest finals win of all time.

14-09-2024, 11:41 PM

3 v 11 goals from that point on and all three GWS goals were consecutive. Crazy.

The way the players threw themselves in was great to watch

14-09-2024, 11:50 PM
How do you coach Brett Daniels after that? The poor kid is going to need therapy

14-09-2024, 11:51 PM
How do you coach Brett Daniels after that? The poor kid is going to need therapy
Sicily's miss yesterday is worse

14-09-2024, 11:51 PM
It wouldn't be dull, coaching Joe Daniher.

Amazing comeback.

Daniels will be pretty annoyed with himself. Hopefully the Giants ostracise him and he comes and plays for the Bulldogs.

14-09-2024, 11:52 PM

They will all need therapy. I don?t know you recover from the those two final losses. They are cooked. Put a fork in them.

15-09-2024, 08:52 AM
Two great and close contests. GWS were unlucky but I enjoyed watching the game.

15-09-2024, 09:21 AM
It wouldn't be dull, coaching Joe Daniher.

Amazing comeback.

Daniels will be pretty annoyed with himself. Hopefully the Giants ostracise him and he comes and plays for the Bulldogs.
Signed until - wait for it - 2031

15-09-2024, 10:01 AM
GWS choke two weeks in a row

isn't it gorgeous.

15-09-2024, 10:02 AM
The scary thing is the lions played average footy for 80% of the game.

Ashcroft got them going and Daniher finished off.

I would not be surprised to see them holding the cup on the last Saturday is September.

15-09-2024, 10:21 AM
Hinkley is a clown.

He should have let the Social Media team handle it. That would have stung Ginnivan a lot worse.

Screen shot his "see you next week" post, write "Hey Jack, ticket is on us, just need your air fare. Hopefully the Swans let you in the rooms. Enjoy Mad Monday".

GWS would feel gutted.

Unpopular opinion: I love Joe Daniher.

And I was absolutely rapt to see those goals go through.

Two things.

First of all, it's not deliberate and it hasn't been for years. Not having a go, it's just one of my bug bears at the moment.

Secondly, are you kidding? Slapped it straight towards the line under pressure. Easiest decision of the night.

15-09-2024, 10:25 AM
WD54, who would not like Joe Daniher?

15-09-2024, 10:30 AM
Two things.

First of all, it's not deliberate and it hasn't been for years. Not having a go, it's just one of my bug bears at the moment.

Secondly, are you kidding? Slapped it straight towards the line under pressure. Easiest decision of the night.

I thought he used the back of his hand indicating he was trying to push the ball forward not out.

I hate the whole deliberate rule it has ruined the game (one of many stupid interpretations :D )

15-09-2024, 11:36 AM
WD54, who would not like Joe Daniher?

Everyone who hangs shit on him.

The frustration he generates seems, from my POV at least, to outweigh the fact that he seems like a wonderful young man.

15-09-2024, 11:41 AM

I can't think of one that comes close.

Top it off with Joe Daniher slotting a wrong side drop point from the pocket, followed by out marking one of the best defenders in the comp for the sealer.

Four months ago GWS were looking like a Monty for the grand final. They're out in straight sets.

Port turned around from one of the worst finals performances in recent history to knock over the form team of the competition.

This. Season. Is. Crazy

100% will have nightmares about that moment. Poor kid. Rooting for him to bounce back.

15-09-2024, 11:47 AM
Everyone who hangs shit on him.

The frustration he generates seems, from my POV at least, to outweigh the fact that he seems like a wonderful young man.

Fair call, he does cop it a lot for sure.

15-09-2024, 12:15 PM
Good weekend for the daggy dads

15-09-2024, 12:23 PM

Who would've thought the last four standing would be the daggy dads...

15-09-2024, 12:56 PM

I thought the two 50s against him and the call for advantage were all poorly umpired (these were my live thoughts, haven't watched any replays).

First one, Dunkley calls for the ball and umpire never said who the free was for. Benefit of the doubt.

Second one, he's been burnt once so he's making sure he gives it back to the right player and the umpire not only refuses to clarify, but then pings him 50.

Advantage, it all happened at the same time and should have been brought back. Daniels probably didn't even know there had been a free kick.

15-09-2024, 01:23 PM
Who would've thought the last four standing would be the daggy dads...
Chris Scott is the recently divorced daggy dad who has gone full makeover and still thinks he's a chance with the ladies.

15-09-2024, 02:08 PM

Daggy grandads.

15-09-2024, 02:20 PM
Just watched the last quarter again and still can't quite fathom how the Giants lost that game. They had so many chances to ice it and just made so many mental and physical mistakes.

You have to tip your hat to Brisbane - they were so cool in a crisis and didn't rush or panic when they had the ball, and most importantly, converted in front of goal when they had their chances - especially big Joey D at the end - Mr Clutch.

This was billed as chaos versus control, and for 3/4 the chaos of GWS was too good for the control of Brisbane. But when the whips were cracking in the last quarter, and the roles were reversed, it was Brisbane that reverted successfully to a chaos game whilst GWS completely lost control.

So this leaves us with 4 - can't really stand any of them but one will get to taste the ultimate in 2 weeks time.

15-09-2024, 07:44 PM
I thought the two 50s against him and the call for advantage were all poorly umpired (these were my live thoughts, haven't watched any replays).

First one, Dunkley calls for the ball and umpire never said who the free was for. Benefit of the doubt.

Second one, he's been burnt once so he's making sure he gives it back to the right player and the umpire not only refuses to clarify, but then pings him 50.

Advantage, it all happened at the same time and should have been brought back. Daniels probably didn't even know there had been a free kick.

There should be a rule in play, if a player calls for the ball (like Dunkley) did and he throws it back to him then no 50, it's such a big move for players to easily exploit, if he calls for it then it can't be time wasting which i guess is why that rule was brought in? Plus agree too with the other, once bitten, the ump should have been clear from the start who was to take the kick, umpire error cost him.

15-09-2024, 09:32 PM
There should be a rule in play, if a player calls for the ball (like Dunkley) did and he throws it back to him then no 50, it's such a big move for players to easily exploit, if he calls for it then it can't be time wasting which i guess is why that rule was brought in? Plus agree too with the other, once bitten, the ump should have been clear from the start who was to take the kick, umpire error cost him.

Nick Riewoldt was the first I ever remember doing it and from memory it went a long way to Freo losing a close game.

It's shithousery at it's worst and I can't stand it.

16-09-2024, 01:18 AM
Nick Riewoldt was the first I ever remember doing it and from memory it went a long way to Freo losing a close game.

It's shithousery at it's worst and I can't stand it.

Was going to mention that exact incident earlier.

That and calling in the umpire to set the mark and then using the umpire to shepherd the defender are massive wanker issues that the AFL need to sort out.

16-09-2024, 03:51 PM
Did you know Port were a younger team than the Hawks on Friday night.