View Full Version : Week three Finals - Prelims

16-09-2024, 03:37 PM
Gary Rohan ruled out of prelim but back at training after a week from skull fracture

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GXkjTzXakAAZzFq?format=jpg&name=medium

16-09-2024, 04:35 PM
My goodness, a lot of parents would be turned away from letting their child play afl after looking at that photo.

Uninformed
20-09-2024, 05:42 AM
Serious bit of work to get that fracture set. Must have been a big break. Hope he heals up okay.

20-09-2024, 11:08 AM
I'm heading along to the prelim on Saturday, hoping it's a good game as a neutral.

20-09-2024, 11:16 AM
I think Brisbane is probably the best team in it. If they can somehow overcome Geelong, they?ll probably win the whole shebang. Scott is a much better coach than Fagan though.

20-09-2024, 11:53 AM
I think Brisbane is probably the best team in it. If they can somehow overcome Geelong, they?ll probably win the whole shebang. Scott is a much better coach than Fagan though.
Brisbane is probably the most talented list but not sure about Fagan’s tactical nous.

20-09-2024, 11:57 AM
I think port are a sneaky chance. Not just tonight either. Maybe I just hate them the least.

20-09-2024, 12:16 PM
I think port are a sneaky chance. Not just tonight either. Maybe I just hate them the least.

They have won an amazing 8 in a row vs the Swans but it's hard to see them beating either the Cats or Lions on Grand Final day.

20-09-2024, 08:10 PM
They really like Isaak Heeney.

20-09-2024, 08:55 PM

I've picked Port Vs Bris. Maybe that's more out of hope but both are a genuine chance.

20-09-2024, 08:56 PM
Sweet started well. 2 terrible port turnovers

20-09-2024, 08:59 PM
The football field is life itself in all its passion and fury, the Colosseum.
After a good start, Pot's Boak gifts the Swam's train their first goal, ironic and happening now, real life...

20-09-2024, 09:00 PM
No it’s early but port look bad

20-09-2024, 09:01 PM
Game over.

Port have resumed big game programming.

20-09-2024, 09:02 PM
Hodge hates port after last week.

20-09-2024, 09:03 PM
Rampe should be suspended

20-09-2024, 09:06 PM
Rampe should be suspended

Very lucky he got up straight away.

20-09-2024, 09:14 PM
Ridiculous advantage.

20-09-2024, 09:15 PM
Dixon shouldn't be playing, he is cooked

20-09-2024, 09:15 PM
Ridiculous advantage.
The papley goal? Agree

20-09-2024, 09:16 PM
Dixon shouldn't be playing, he is cooked
Agreed but the 7 commentators are trying their best to talk him up.

20-09-2024, 09:19 PM
I wish Papley played in the 70s or 80s. He wouldn't ****ing carry on like that.

20-09-2024, 09:20 PM
He should be at the Hawks.

He is a very unlike able human.

That advantage was criminal!

Agreed but the 7 commentators are trying their best to talk him up.

He?s such a big man. Brayshaw is pants off at this point.

Technical rule question. How can a round the corner kick after the siren not be play on?

20-09-2024, 09:22 PM

I would love him in our team even though he is annoying to others.

20-09-2024, 09:22 PM
He should be at the Hawks.

He is a very unlike able human.

That advantage was criminal!

Butters is pretty unlikeable too....for now.

20-09-2024, 09:24 PM
Technical rule question. How can a round the corner kick after the siren not be play on?

I think it’s a bullshit interpretation as long as the player kicks over the man on the mark.

20-09-2024, 09:25 PM
So many soft free kicks.

20-09-2024, 09:28 PM
Not sure you can preliminaries with Ratulgulea and Dixon as tall forwards.

20-09-2024, 09:28 PM
North picked Will Philips instead of Logan Mcdonald.
Now they are recruiting Jack Darling.

They really are the architects of their own demise.

20-09-2024, 09:29 PM
I think it’s a bullshit interpretation as long as the player kicks over the man on the mark.
So he has actually moved off the mark before he started?

20-09-2024, 09:32 PM
Every contest : free.

20-09-2024, 09:33 PM
So he has actually moved off the mark before he started?

Yes. It appears it is allowed after the siren only.

20-09-2024, 09:34 PM
Port are getting the ball out of the middle but are turning it over at CHF and Swans are punishing them.

20-09-2024, 09:34 PM
Having not read any of the thread my only comment is that none of these umpires should be involved with the absolutely important game next game

20-09-2024, 09:37 PM
Wines looks cooked as well

20-09-2024, 09:39 PM
Every contest : free.

Ridiculous umpiring - players are not robots

20-09-2024, 09:39 PM
We so should be here and beating the pants off the Swans. Neither team are really that good. In fact Port stink

20-09-2024, 09:40 PM
Streets won’t forget some of you talking up Kenny. For shame.

20-09-2024, 09:41 PM
We so should be here and beating the pants off the Swans. Neither team are really that good. In fact Port stink
We couldn’t get near Port when we played them

20-09-2024, 09:45 PM
We couldn’t get near Port when we played them

In Adelaide and weren?t travelling well at that stage. We did beat the Swans though. Either way we could beat these teams.We just turn up when it really counts

20-09-2024, 09:47 PM
Streets won’t forget some of you talking up Kenny. For shame.
Done ok with a poor list and injuries. Hard to win finals with past it or never were players like Dixon, Ratulgulea, wines, Zerk-thatcher and Boak

20-09-2024, 09:48 PM
Great goal from Rioli

20-09-2024, 09:50 PM
Done ok with a poor list and injuries. Hard to win finals with past it or never were players like Dixon, Ratulgulea, wines, Zerk-thatcher and Boak

What about their ruck?

20-09-2024, 09:50 PM
In Adelaide and weren?t travelling well at that stage. We did beat the Swans though. Either way we could beat these teams.We just turn up when it really counts
We ain’t winning any finals with English as our first ruck

20-09-2024, 09:51 PM

Sydney also a very experienced team with only 1 player with less than 50 games to Port 6

20-09-2024, 09:51 PM
What about their ruck?
Doing a fair site better than English did.

20-09-2024, 09:52 PM
What all these frees dry up in the 2nd half. Ridiculous umpiring, it's embarrassing what our game has turned into

20-09-2024, 09:53 PM
What about their ruck?

Grundy slightly on top

20-09-2024, 09:55 PM
Grundy slightly on top
Sweet was well on top in the first quarter, Grundy fought back well but I still give the points to Sweet.

Clearance numbers are crazy on favour of Port.

20-09-2024, 09:56 PM
Sweet is ahead.

How I wish we kept him and traded English.

20-09-2024, 09:59 PM
I did see Sweet credited with a tap out that came off his face/ shoulder, with a Sydney player first to it but overrunning it, and the lagging Port player collecting it and registering the clearance.

Not advocating for anything either way, just think the quantitative elements need back up qualitative elements to understand what's happening in the ruck/ at the clearance.

20-09-2024, 10:18 PM
Dixon is so bad it's comical.

20-09-2024, 10:24 PM
Dixon is so bad it's comical.

How did he get picked?

20-09-2024, 10:31 PM
I feel for Travis Boak tonight, he's been an absolute warrior for Port over the years but it's time.

20-09-2024, 10:33 PM
11/12 goals from turn over. Crikey!

20-09-2024, 10:49 PM
You can practically see Dixon processing his footy mortality in real time.

20-09-2024, 10:54 PM

I'm torn, that list is so weird and maybe the weakest players 5-12 of any of the good sides. Rozee, Butters and JHF all guns, Houston too, then it's guys like Aliir, Burton, Wines, Drew, Farrell, Rioli, Burgoyne, Georgiades and of course Sweet. Thats a real mixed bag that averages out to "fine". So to get to a home QF and then a Prelim is a big achievement, especially without Houston and Farrell.

Having said that, yeah nah.

20-09-2024, 10:54 PM
You can practically see Dixon processing his footy mortality in real time.

He's actually done ok since half time.

20-09-2024, 11:09 PM
Ratugolea 3 disposals - just not AFL standard

Sweet 1 mark last week and Zero tonight

20-09-2024, 11:18 PM
I wish it was us. ☹️

20-09-2024, 11:19 PM
So when does Butters officially ask to be traded?

20-09-2024, 11:19 PM
I think Sydney will win next week

20-09-2024, 11:20 PM
The importance of banking early wins on full show.

20-09-2024, 11:20 PM
I wish it was us. ☹️

We belted this mob by 39 points

20-09-2024, 11:26 PM
Ratugolea 3 disposals - just not AFL standard

Sweet 1 mark last week and Zero tonight

Seemed okay as a defender at Geelong. Never thought playing forward suited him

20-09-2024, 11:55 PM
I'm torn, that list is so weird and maybe the weakest players 5-12 of any of the good sides. Rozee, Butters and JHF all guns, Houston too, then it's guys like Aliir, Burton, Wines, Drew, Farrell, Rioli, Burgoyne, Georgiades and of course Sweet. Thats a real mixed bag that averages out to "fine". So to get to a home QF and then a Prelim is a big achievement, especially without Houston and Farrell.

Having said that, yeah nah.

13 games at AO and the easiest rated fixture. A few good away wins and they're top four in a very close home and away season.

Not saying they should go hard at Hinkley, but last week was a win they should have registered and did, and essentially they're well short.

21-09-2024, 12:03 AM
I think Sydney will win next week

I hope so. Love to see Dunkley walk off with another loser medal

21-09-2024, 12:07 AM

Same......not that we're petty..........

21-09-2024, 12:19 AM
Didn't Clarkson say the extra week off wasn't ideal for Swans and cats?

Think he hasnt realised teams winning through are still winning more than not.

21-09-2024, 12:21 AM
Presuming they make it

21-09-2024, 12:26 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GX61BnZbEAAe38K?format=jpg&name=large

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GX61BnSa0AEbxLb?format=jpg&name=large

21-09-2024, 12:30 AM
Didn't Clarkson say the extra week off wasn't ideal for Swans and cats?

Think he hasnt realised teams winning through are still winning more than not.

Not sure I get the issue with having a couple of weeks to get cherry ripe and train hard while opponents beat each other up under finals pressure.

Plus, both teams playing at home or at least in their home state.

Did he have his guitar and put that into song?

21-09-2024, 12:35 AM
Man it's cringe listening to the commentariat refer to Nick Blakey as the Lizard.

I mean overrating what he does is one thing, but it seems unedifying that a professional footballer gets named that way during games by people who don't even know him.

21-09-2024, 01:39 AM
The players named him that when he arrived at the club. It's kind of like the Buddy thing yeah?

21-09-2024, 01:50 AM
The players named him that when he arrived at the club. It's kind of like the Buddy thing yeah?

Commentators should just use full names or surnames. The use of nicknames en masse seems localised to AFEL.

Is Buddy or Bud, the same as The Lizard?

Are we calling him Lizard Blakey? It's just weird.

21-09-2024, 09:01 AM
Commentators should just use full names or surnames. The use of nicknames en masse seems localised to AFEL.

Could not agree more on this. Talk about trying to remain relevant.

It is like me trying to write like happy days, it ain?t gonna work (mainly cause I have no idea what F*** HD is on about 96% of the time)

21-09-2024, 09:04 AM
13 games at AO and the easiest rated fixture. A few good away wins and they're top four in a very close home and away season.

Not saying they should go hard at Hinkley, but last week was a win they should have registered and did, and essentially they're well short.

Damn, agree 100% with you again. one of us may have to reevaluate some things.

21-09-2024, 09:33 AM

On paper look at their team, they are not that good, if that was our team we'd be saying Bevo is safe for 2 more years. Not saying they shouldn't look at change, just saying Hinkley probably should get some recognition for getting this squad into top 4.

IMO we have a superior list and we barely made it.

21-09-2024, 09:37 AM
Also that effort from Port, most notably the bombing into the forward 50 looked so familiar.

21-09-2024, 09:39 AM

Have you seen Charlie Dixon though? What a huge man.

Nice try, jeenak

21-09-2024, 09:58 AM

I dunno man I like hearing him referred to as The Bont. Ditto JJ even The Wizard. It takes some of the robotisisims out of the game for me personally (that's not a real word). Hate BT though...

21-09-2024, 10:02 AM
For a prelim, that game had some real 4:40 on a Sunday arvo in Round 14 kind of energy.

21-09-2024, 10:22 AM
Could not agree more on this. Talk about trying to remain relevant.

It is like me trying to write like happy days, it ain?t gonna work (mainly cause I have no idea what F*** HD is on about 96% of the time)

I heard a kid at the Hawks game yell out “skibidi toilet” to Lachie McNeil trying to put him off during a set shot and realised that it’s time to start talking like an adult.

21-09-2024, 11:29 AM
He's actually done ok since half time.
He's old with a chronic knee and has probably played his last game - Dixon shouldn't have been picked, but he was more competitive last night than the guy who is 10 years younger and their supposed boom recruit. Esava was beyond rubbish last night.

Remember when the Cats played hardball with Port and demanded an extra pick in the 60's to complete the Esava trade? That pick was used on Lawson Humphries.

21-09-2024, 11:34 AM
I think we should go easy on Port. They didn’t get to wear their cool jumper *or* play their cool song last night. Hardly a fair fight.

21-09-2024, 11:42 AM
Remember when the Cats played hardball with Port and demanded an extra pick in the 60's to complete the Esava trade? That pick was used on Lawson Humphries.

There was literally one player picked up after him.

I'd suggest if they were worried about someone else picking him they should have used a pick earlier than the second last one to secure him.

21-09-2024, 11:58 AM
"Have you seen Charlie Dixon though? What a huge man."

Didn't he used to play basketball?

21-09-2024, 12:11 PM
There was literally one player picked up after him.

I'd suggest if they were worried about someone else picking him they should have used a pick earlier than the second last one to secure him.

For mine the more depressing takeaway is that they can grab a bloke with selection #63 who's about to line up in the prelim for them.

21-09-2024, 12:55 PM
For mine the more depressing takeaway is that they can grab a bloke with selection #63 who's about to line up in the prelim for them.

It says a lot about the development system in place at the Cattery. Reckon if Shaun Mannagh had been drafted by most clubs he would have ended up a bust.

Geelong just have made it a habit of turning coal into diamonds.

21-09-2024, 02:21 PM
It says a lot about the development system in place at the Cattery. Reckon if Shaun Mannagh had been drafted by most clubs he would have ended up a bust.

Geelong just have made it a habit of turning coal into diamonds.

Mannagh definitely dodged a bullet (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1223432?fbclid=IwY2xjawFbD3pleHRuA2FlbQIxMAABHW7zLMtZvOSc-V-RQqrw9WbcAQALEDrcipqeIBpK63Y6g8SKNEN1Qca0LA_aem_02BZO4jFjudI EHTzvRlv3w) then!

"The Doggies had some good chats with me before the mid-season draft and I thought I was a pretty close to going there but they obviously took (Caleb) Poulter. "

21-09-2024, 02:32 PM
Mannagh definitely dodged a bullet (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1223432?fbclid=IwY2xjawFbD3pleHRuA2FlbQIxMAABHW7zLMtZvOSc-V-RQqrw9WbcAQALEDrcipqeIBpK63Y6g8SKNEN1Qca0LA_aem_02BZO4jFjudI EHTzvRlv3w) then!

"The Doggies had some good chats with me before the mid-season draft and I thought I was a pretty close to going there but they obviously took (Caleb) Poulter. "

May I be the first to blame this on Bevo, overruling any recruiters to pick the guy from Footscray (based on absolutely nothing other than my own perfect imagination).

21-09-2024, 02:38 PM
May I be the first to blame this on Bevo, overruling any recruiters to pick the guy from Footscray (based on absolutely nothing other than my own perfect imagination).

So you’re saying Coach Bad?

21-09-2024, 05:48 PM
Hopefully the Lions can smash them. South Melbourne/Fitzroy GF would be cool.

21-09-2024, 06:41 PM
Did anyone else just hear the umpire ask Dunkley if he is going up in the ruck?

Classic

21-09-2024, 06:50 PM
Big O out but was only up against Stanley

21-09-2024, 06:57 PM
I think this game will go all the way - hopefully a close one

21-09-2024, 06:58 PM
Sorry Big O back

21-09-2024, 07:08 PM
Geelong unfortunately still have it

21-09-2024, 07:08 PM
For a prelim, that game had some real 4:40 on a Sunday arvo in Round 14 kind of energy.

Very much so. It just felt like a run of the mill home and away season match. Nothing special.

21-09-2024, 07:09 PM
Close one at the G between the Cats and Lions.

Cats on top at the moment.

21-09-2024, 07:10 PM

They consistently bring it even if the personnel is not the all time best.

That is down to the coaching from Chris Scott like him or not is a great coach.

21-09-2024, 07:12 PM
Big O out but was only up against Stanley

The injury has hurt them. If he cannot continue it will really mess with their structure.

21-09-2024, 07:14 PM
Big O injured shoulder. Will Dunkley do the ruck?

21-09-2024, 07:22 PM

Their mid sized players are taking their opportunities. Lions are not taking theirs.

Lions getting sucked into the contest and cats are holding width.

21-09-2024, 07:30 PM
Be the first GF I don't watch next week.

Two teams I dislike; can they both lose?

Could the Cats be any more kissed on the you know what?

Mcinerney was the worst guy to get injured the cats mids were getting smashed.

21-09-2024, 07:30 PM
Big O playing with one arm. Lions mids finding out what it's like on a weekly basis for bulldogs mids.

21-09-2024, 07:32 PM
Be the first GF I don't watch next week.

Two teams I dislike; can they both lose?

Could the Cats be any more kissed on the you know what?

Mcinerney was the worst guy to get injured the cats mids were getting smashed.

I was pissed off because my wife invited her non watching footy family over. I'm still pissed off they're coming but not as fussed about the game.

21-09-2024, 07:32 PM
Gryan Miers is an incredible player

21-09-2024, 07:33 PM
He completely miss kicks it and they still go through.

21-09-2024, 07:33 PM
Is McCluggage the guy that gets a squillion disposals but never ever hurts you. Not impressed with him at all.

Geelong is moving the ball quickly from back to forward whereas Brisbane are playing the possession game and turning it over.

21-09-2024, 07:36 PM
Is McCluggage the guy that gets a squillion disposals but never ever hurts you. Not impressed with him at all.

Geelong is moving the ball quickly from back to forward whereas Brisbane are playing the possession game and turning it over.

McCluggage reminds me of Macrae.

21-09-2024, 07:42 PM
Messi like

21-09-2024, 07:48 PM
Yeah nah, Clug's a stud. Consummate workhorse, smart as hell, tough as nails, doesn't take a game off.

Gimme more of those types.

21-09-2024, 07:49 PM
Yeah nah, Clug's a stud. Consummate workhorse, smart as hell, tough as nails, doesn't take a game off.

Yep gun. Even better the Dons had the #1 pick and went McGrath.

21-09-2024, 07:50 PM

It was Bailey that missed the easy goals

21-09-2024, 08:09 PM
Is Lohmann still apart of the Dunks deal?

21-09-2024, 08:12 PM
If only players want to come to our club.

21-09-2024, 08:13 PM
Josh Ruckley

21-09-2024, 08:24 PM
He is very good

21-09-2024, 08:24 PM
Well, well, well. Cats now look out on their feet.

21-09-2024, 08:25 PM
Josh Ruckley

It would be funnier if he wasn't a good chance of playing in his fourth grand final.

21-09-2024, 08:25 PM
Brisbane are way better off with Daniher rucking than an injured Big O.

21-09-2024, 08:28 PM

Yeh I was just saying the same to my wife. Game changed when they stopped putting him banged up in the ruck. Daniher looked great.

21-09-2024, 08:28 PM

Hitouts don't matter if you can win the clearance. Brisbane 36 to 25 yet Hitouts Geelong 48 to 22

21-09-2024, 08:34 PM
Could go either way this one.

21-09-2024, 08:40 PM
Go Lions, almost home.

21-09-2024, 08:40 PM
Come on Lions!

21-09-2024, 08:46 PM
Massive miss by Lohmann. He's gonna want to hope they win. If they don't, that's the moment.

21-09-2024, 08:52 PM
Massive miss by Lohmann. He's gonna want to hope they win. If they don't, that's the moment.

Zac Bailey says hold my beer

21-09-2024, 08:52 PM
What a game

21-09-2024, 08:57 PM
Zac Bailey says hold my beer

Rhys Stanley says "amateurs".

21-09-2024, 08:58 PM
Great last centre bounce by ump, textbook, an ornament to our great game and finals' showcase, Lions aka Fitzroy win!

21-09-2024, 08:59 PM
Not sure if Rhys Stanley is still better than English

21-09-2024, 08:59 PM
Send another $100m to Sedat Park

21-09-2024, 09:00 PM

Why so little?

That's as good as it gets.

First ever non football state GF.

Great to see Ryan Lester not only get a tonne of footy but basically blanketed Cameron for three quarters

21-09-2024, 09:01 PM
Hahaaa self referential post! That's it you can retire.

Lions are a great side they have an awesome list.

That was a fun watch.

At least we get pick 23 instead of 29 for Bailey smith now

Ah you just love it. A win for justice.

How good is our game! Good to see another South Melbourne v Fitzroy Grand Final, it's been a while.

Well done to the Lions. Great the Cats are out.

That was tense at the end.

An all interstate Grand final.

21-09-2024, 09:02 PM
Lester is the most underrated player in the comp. Just gets the big jobs done.

21-09-2024, 09:03 PM
That is an unbelievable game. Wow. Had everything.

Thought Dunks was enormous for them.

Well done to come back from that. So glad the biggest cheats in the game are out

Im really happy for Dunks.

21-09-2024, 09:05 PM
That is an unbelievable game. Wow. Had everything.

Thought Dunks was enormous for them.

Yeah. Dunks was superb.

Probably a great result for Max Holmes, saves the double heartbreak

Lester is the most underrated player in the comp. Just gets the big jobs done.

Yep, called that out one min before you.

Cal Ah Chee, how good has he been? Absolutely clutch.

21-09-2024, 09:07 PM

Yeah I thought that also.

21-09-2024, 09:10 PM

Could be the same for the big O, would be a massive risk playing him next week, Darcy Fort could be the lucky one.

21-09-2024, 09:11 PM
Could be the same for the big O, would be a massive risk playing him next week, Darcy Fort could be the lucky one.

Singing the song loudly in the rooms. He's a big chance

21-09-2024, 09:16 PM
With the sub rule it's a free hit. They will jab him up and get him to half time and assess from there. Grundy has been in poor form the last couple of months, I reckon they take the risk.

21-09-2024, 09:17 PM

Nah hitouts and ruckmen don't matter :p

To me the difference between big O and Daniher was the post contest stuff, and that's where the improvement came from for the Lions when he went off. Daniher was able to crash and bash more.

So again, it was the stuff that English doesn't do which changed the game.

21-09-2024, 09:18 PM
Cracking game.

Not sure how the chaos prevailed but there you go.

21-09-2024, 09:22 PM
How good is our game! Good to see another South Melbourne v Fitzroy Grand Final, it's been a while.

Nah, they died along time ago, because supporters wouldn't buy a membership

21-09-2024, 09:26 PM
Lin Jong has been called to Brisbane to strap Big O's shoulder

21-09-2024, 09:26 PM
With the sub rule it's a free hit. They will jab him up and get him to half time and assess from there. Grundy has been in poor form the last couple of months, I reckon they take the risk.

The vision after the game, his shoulder was still popped out. He was in enormous pain. It?s going to be difficult for him to get up you would think.

21-09-2024, 09:28 PM

To me the difference between big O and Daniher was the post contest stuff, and that's where the improvement came from for the Lions when he went off. Daniher was able to crash and bash more.

Yet we are clearance kings, go figure

21-09-2024, 09:58 PM
Yep, called that out one min before you.

Cal Ah Chee, how good has he been? Absolutely clutch.
Great minds aza ;)

Yep, Ah Chee was fantastic in the 2nd half. So was Bailey, Lohmann and Rayner - their high half forwards dialled up the pressure big time in the 2nd half.

21-09-2024, 10:00 PM
Great minds aza ;)

Yep, Ah Chee was fantastic in the 2nd half. So was Bailey, Lohmann and Rayner - their high half forwards dialled up the pressure big time in the 2nd half.

Thought Rayner was excellent

21-09-2024, 10:03 PM
Dunks now im 4 GF

What a career his had.

21-09-2024, 10:09 PM
Dunks now im 4 GF

What a career his had.

It’s easy when you jump ship to play for teams in contention.

Personally I think his soft shell tacos are crap.

21-09-2024, 10:25 PM
Yeah, a helpful way of maintaining some skin in the game during finals series we're absent from is spite.

Hawks choke on their hubris ✔
Cats dispatched ✔
Dunkley to chalk up his 3rd grand final loss ��

Go you Bloods.

21-09-2024, 10:36 PM
It?s easy when you jump ship to play for teams in contention.

Personally I think his soft shell tacos are crap.

We were in contention when he left. Weren?t we?

22-09-2024, 12:28 AM

Tend to agree, maybe they won't need Fort and just go with Daniher and play a smaller forward line, never been a fan of both Hipwood and Daniher together as forwards anyway, always wondered what Danhier would have been like trialed as a key defender as he could have been as good as Moore, Andrews, McGovern etc as he's been too hit and miss and mighty selfish at times but that's another discussion for another day, personally don't think they play Oscar, too much of a risk and probably won't be effective enough with that shoulder.

22-09-2024, 03:03 PM
The apologists are out for Geelong today, citing staff members with COVID, Holmes having gastro that may have caused fatigue and subsequent soft tissue injury. Then there's the King incident.

Would love to imagine the same coming our way if we blew a 25 point lead to lose a preliminary final, in a six goal turnaround. Pretty hard to see our coach avoid being pilloried for that outcome irrespective of the mitigating circumstances. Not sure how a master coach like Chris Scott could have let that happen.

22-09-2024, 03:46 PM
The apologists are out for Geelong today, citing staff members with COVID, Holmes having gastro that may have caused fatigue and subsequent soft tissue injury. Then there's the King incident.

Would love to imagine the same coming our way if we blew a 25 point lead to lose a preliminary final, in a six goal turnaround. Pretty hard to see our coach avoid being pilloried for that outcome irrespective of the mitigating circumstances. Not sure how a master coach like Chris Scott could have let that happen.
I love Bevo for what he achieved for us in 2016 but I’ll take Chris Scott’s achievements over Bevo’s any day. What yesterday’s result and the Kardinia park result shows we have a more talented list and they are better coached. That Holmes injury hurt them more than the big O to Brisbane. Their midfield isn’t a patch on ours, yet they were very close to another GF.
It was depressing for me more than anything as we are no where near the level of footy of the past 2 weeks and I don’t know where our improvement is coming from.

22-09-2024, 03:51 PM
I love Bevo for what he achieved for us in 2016 but I’ll take Chris Scott’s achievements over Bevo’s any day. What yesterday’s result and the Kardinia park result shows we have a more talented list and they are better coached. That Holmes injury hurt them more than the big O to Brisbane. Their midfield isn’t a patch on ours, yet they were very close to another GF.
It was depressing for me more than anything as we are no where near the level of footy of the past 2 weeks and I don’t know where our improvement is coming from.

What value do you place on a true home ground advantage?

22-09-2024, 04:06 PM
What value do you place on a true home ground advantage?
Sorry I’m not what this has got to do with yesterday’s game or our season.
I know yesterday wasn’t home ground advantage to either. Home state advantage. We didn’t get it in the ef but we wouldn’t have won at Marvel either.
I know Geelong will probably land B Smith so they recognise midfield is an area of need and are trying to improve there. What are we doing?

22-09-2024, 04:10 PM

I hope that is as deep as the club and media look. Pressure on a club is a good thing and pressure on us 12 months back got us looking closely at out footy department set-up and saw us implementing a better structure with a GM and a new Sports science guy.

If Geelong think they are the reasons they're not in the GF well that's not necessarily a bad thing.

22-09-2024, 04:13 PM

Haha. After all the legups they get just to allow themselves to be there thr media still find a way to make excuses for them.

22-09-2024, 04:46 PM
Sorry I’m not what this has got to do with yesterday’s game or our season.
I know yesterday wasn’t home ground advantage to either. Home state advantage. We didn’t get it in the ef but we wouldn’t have won at Marvel either.
I know Geelong will probably land B Smith so they recognise midfield is an area of need and are trying to improve there. What are we doing?

It isn't about yesterday's game but you saying you would take Chris Scotts achievements over Bevo's - which on paper is hard to argue.

Do you think that having a standalone home ground gives Scott a competitive advantage over Beveridge?

We tried to get Barras and Pettling to improve our list, but as always we struggle to land players of substance.

22-09-2024, 04:54 PM
It isn't about yesterday's game but you saying you would take Chris Scotts achievements over Bevo's - which on paper is hard to argue.

Do you think that having a standalone home ground gives Scott a competitive advantage over Beveridge?

We tried to get Barras and Pettling to improve our list, but as always we struggle to land players of substance.

Aza, we need a sports psychologist. Alot of our losses was to do with head space as we have the talent. However, we need to think of the future as the mids age and the list starts to get older.

If we can nail some good draft picks and maybe trade in a decent player for needs, plus there will be further improvement in youngsters Sanders, Freijah, Gallagher, Buzz, Darcy, JUH we can be a threat.

We must aim for top 4.

PS: I do think Geelong have a big home advantage as shown over many seasons.

22-09-2024, 05:17 PM
Aza, we need a sports psychologist. Alot of our losses was to do with head space as we have the talent. However, we need to think of the future as the mids age and the list starts to get older.

If we can nail some good draft picks and maybe trade in a decent player for needs, plus there will be further improvement in youngsters Sanders, Freijah, Gallagher, Buzz, Darcy, JUH we can be a threat.

We must aim for top 4.

I agree with a lot of this however, the greater focus should be on playing more games at the MCG during the H&A season.We need to play around 4 games there before any finals
It's all good and well to get a double chance and a theoretical home ground advantaged but if the game gets moved to the G we may not have much of an advantage at all.

22-09-2024, 08:06 PM

So us beating them by nine goals and them throwing away a 25 point second half preliminary final lead says we have a better list and they are better coached? Not sure on the logic, but that's OK.

The Cats list is underrated. Their forward half consists of absolute quality, the blend of smaller and taller players is excellent. They still have good structure with elite defenders and good utilities, and while their midfield is in transition players have come in an been able to do a job. With what they have elsewhere all the midfield needs to do is compete.

Their recruiting and development is industry best.

I'd say our midfield is in just as much trouble as theirs, and I don't really think our defensive personnel exceeds theirs either. Comparing the forward half we're better in the talls department, they smash us in the small to medium department. Rucks and utilities probably cancel each other out.

Interesting comparison, though that wasn't really the point of my post. Nor was I comparing Beveridge and Scott's records. What I was pointing out is that a mollycoddling media that constantly promotes Geelong's greatness wouldn't have afforded us the same treatment, even if we were afflicted by the supposed ailments the Cats were.

22-09-2024, 08:12 PM

We must aim for top 4.

It all would have been OK if we reviewed that 2021 GF in depth (Sedat enters the conversation..... :) )

Seriously though, I'd love to know what we do versus the industry in the sports psychology space. I don't feel we have the right talent (both mix and development wise - just yet for the latter) at our disposal to consistently compete, especially in the high pressure and fast paced finals environment, but I'm a bit of a broken record on that front.

22-09-2024, 08:29 PM
It all would have been OK if we reviewed that 2021 GF in depth (Sedat enters the conversation..... :) )

Seriously though, I'd love to know what we do versus the industry in the sports psychology space. I don't feel we have the right talent (both mix and development wise - just yet for the latter) at our disposal to consistently compete, especially in the high pressure and fast paced finals environment, but I'm a bit of a broken record on that front.

I thought this year we over came a few demons with wins in Geelong and Sydney as well as beating GWS twice, Carlton, and thrashing teams like Freo.

Looking forward to what we can do next year

23-09-2024, 12:41 PM

What chance did he have against that finals genius Chris Fagan with his 8-7 finals record when Scott himself is only tracking at 14-16 in finals #NaRRaTiVe

Also Bevo might have a 7-6 record but his list is #sTaCkEd

23-09-2024, 02:34 PM
So unbelievably stacked.

23-09-2024, 04:28 PM
Rayner 0 coaches votes

Geelong v Brisbane9 Lachie Neale (BL)
5 Ryan Lester (BL)
4 Zac Bailey (BL)
4 Oliver Henry (GEEL)
3 Gryan Miers (GEEL)
3 Josh Dunkley (BL)
1 Hugh McCluggage (BL)
1 Dayne Zorko (BL)

23-09-2024, 05:16 PM
Rayner 0 coaches votes

Geelong v Brisbane

9 Lachie Neale (BL)
5 Ryan Lester (BL)
4 Zac Bailey (BL)
4 Oliver Henry (GEEL)
3 Gryan Miers (GEEL)
3 Josh Dunkley (BL)
1 Hugh McCluggage (BL)
1 Dayne Zorko (BL)

I thought Rayner was one of the best on ground

23-09-2024, 06:08 PM
I thought Rayner was one of the best on ground

He was the difference. Makes me wonder if the coaches have any clue?!

23-09-2024, 06:53 PM
He was the difference. Makes me wonder if the coaches have any clue?!

Wait wait wait - coach…bad?

23-09-2024, 07:21 PM
Wait wait wait - coach…bad?

Non sequitur