View Full Version : Grand Final thread

25-09-2024, 04:01 PM
Apparently Callum Mills has just been ruled out of the GF. On form they aren't actually missing much - he was just going since his return. I wonder if that opens the door for Taylor Adams to come in, or will they go Robbie Fox as a more versatile sub/option instead?

25-09-2024, 04:05 PM
Apparently Callum Mills has just been ruled out of the GF. On form they aren't actually missing much - he was just going since his return. I wonder if that opens the door for Taylor Adams to come in, or will they go Robbie Fox as a more versatile sub/option instead?

It will depend on if they want defensive support in Fox or midfield impact which could be Taylor Adams.

Brisbane biggest weapons are in the forward half of the ground. I think they would go in with No Change and keep Fox as the sub.

25-09-2024, 04:14 PM

I agreed with you (I think it was you anyway) on playing him being a free hit, because either he does his string again immediately or was probably gonna be fine, but apparently Swans have some pretty bad PTSD from playing unfit guys in 2016 and 2022.

But yeah OMac is a much bigger out.

25-09-2024, 04:19 PM
I agreed with you (I think it was you anyway) on playing him being a free hit
I said that about Oscar Mac and him popping his shoulder again, which goes to show how little I know about footy. I thought they could just load him up with elephant juice and pop it back in again - easy for me to say!

25-09-2024, 05:12 PM
I said that about Oscar Mac and him popping his shoulder again, which goes to show how little I know about footy. I thought they could just load him up with elephant juice and pop it back in again - easy for me to say!

I think if Oscar Mac didn't pop out his shoulder the second time they may well have taken the risk.

26-09-2024, 03:53 PM
Can Brisbane end the Vic. bias and become the first team outside Victoria to lose back-to-back Grand Finals?

https://i.postimg.cc/3RdKqwnw/uas.jpg (https://postimg.cc/DJ3kJ7VV)

27-09-2024, 05:13 PM
I was kinda hoping Swans win as I don?t like Dunkley (for unknown reasons I didn?t warm to him that much even when he played for us, and especially so after he wanted out to bummers). Also the whole Hawks alleged racism saga make me a bit meh about Brissy coach.

However I really like Daniher who seems to have a happy go lucky attitude with good sportsmanship and is fun to watch when not playing us. Also most of the Lions players seem reasonably likeable.

Also think Heeney appears to be a really good role model/bloke too, plus an out and out gun player, a bit like our Bont.

Great for Fitzroy & South Melbourne fans to have an exciting week too. So I?m now hoping it?s a good, tough, high skilled GF without a blowout (if it is to be one of those one sided affairs hope it?s Swans), and am not too fussed who wins.

Interested to hear which team, if any, woofers are gonna barrack for & why?

27-09-2024, 05:28 PM
Not Brisbane. Yes Dunkley is there but more importantly Fagan in there. Swans are deserving winners this year. Might stop bitching about 2016 if they win too

27-09-2024, 06:12 PM
Not Brisbane. Yes Dunkley is there but more importantly Fagan in there. Swans are deserving winners this year. Might stop bitching about 2016 if they win too
I hope they win with a dodgy free after the siren. It would be amazing to return serve after all these years

And #sampiwasheld starts trending again

27-09-2024, 06:13 PM
Prediction time....

Swans by 10 points after being behind all day.

I reckon the Lions are the better side however they've come from fifth and it's impossible to win from outside the top 4.

Grundy will own Fort too.

Norm : Heeney
FG : Joe!

27-09-2024, 07:06 PM
I hope they win with a dodgy free after the siren. It would be amazing to return serve after all these years

And #sampiwasheld starts trending again

I have been saying this about the Swans for a couple of months.

27-09-2024, 07:34 PM
Sydney are such sooks and for one of the most advantaged teams going around they love to talk about how hard done by they are. Plus Papley.

So Brisbane I guess.

However, Fagan and Zorko make it hard. And I do think the idea of Dunkley having 3 GF losses to his name is appealing.

27-09-2024, 08:42 PM
I’ll be going for Brisbane I think.

Attending this year as I have for the last few years also. Hoping for a game more like 2023 than 2022.

Bailey for the Norm and Joe for first goal.

27-09-2024, 09:04 PM
I don't really care who wins, all I want is a close game

27-09-2024, 09:06 PM
Tied at full time.

28-09-2024, 12:54 AM
Interesting stat

Luke Parker: this will be his 5th GF, but has only 1 Medal
Dunkely: This will be his 4th GB, but has only 1 medal.

Really hard to get into one, instead of 4 or 5! But win a GF, is near impossible!

Not sure which player is more likely atm.

28-09-2024, 08:09 AM
Flew back to Australia this morning and transiting through Sydney, obvious lot of swans supporters on board, but a lot with the price tags still attached to all their gear.

Been on the fence about who to go for. Brisbane has more punchable players, swans more punchable supporters.

Maybe a draw and during extra time the lights break?

28-09-2024, 08:29 AM
Alright, flight update, plane basically full of swans supporters.

So I’ve pulled out the laptop to watch the last quarter of the GF.

I might even go full supporter commentary mode.

28-09-2024, 02:05 PM
Bruce interviewing Dunkley and dropping "No Big O, but a Big D for you today ..." and nobody broke stride.

What a pro.

28-09-2024, 02:29 PM
I don't really care who wins, all I want is a close game

Yep ditto. Would love it to be tied at full time.

Both teams are near the bottom on my disliked teams list.

Swans will probably get over the line by 3 points.

28-09-2024, 02:54 PM
Oh my, Tina Arena.

Full cringe. How embarrassing.

28-09-2024, 02:54 PM
I hope the Lions win, but I think the Swans will have a comfortable win.

Winning 4 tough finals games in a row is near impossible - only the greatest teams of all time can do that.

28-09-2024, 02:58 PM
Oh my, Tina Arena.

For what it is, the entertainment has been fine, but whoever decided to add the 3rd rate CGI effects should be ****ing shot.

28-09-2024, 03:05 PM
Oh my, Tina Arena.

She is a POS

28-09-2024, 03:10 PM
For what it is, the entertainment has been fine, but whoever decided to add the 3rd rate CGI effects should be ****ing shot.

I'm not talking about the entertainment. I'm talking about her.

28-09-2024, 03:11 PM
I'm not talking about the entertainment. I'm talking about her.

Yeah, fair enough.

28-09-2024, 03:13 PM
She is a POS

I'm lost. What's the problem? I don't know much about her.

28-09-2024, 03:18 PM
Was she against vaccinations?

28-09-2024, 03:21 PM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GYXp-isaMAEDhxs?format=jpg&name=small

When she lived in Paris, constantly bagged Australia

28-09-2024, 03:22 PM
Was she against vaccinations?

Yes she was, which is fine, but continually carrying on about it and making public statements, was not on

28-09-2024, 03:24 PM
Let’s get back to the match.

Hard to say who is going to win. Hope it is a great game and not a fizzer as a few of the grand finals have been in recent years.

28-09-2024, 03:26 PM

I can't speak for others, I just think she's talentless, pompous and undeservingly arrogant.

28-09-2024, 03:28 PM
I think the Swans win today, but it could go either way.

I can normally summon some kind of interest in wanting a team to win, but I just can't get enthused about either team.

28-09-2024, 03:33 PM
I'd like to see Brisbane but the Dunkley thing does sour it.
The lions to win the free kick count 50 to 10 and let the after party begin. :)

28-09-2024, 03:41 PM
Dunks on Heeney I fell like thats a pivotal battle

Dunks will get norm if he keeps him quiet.

28-09-2024, 03:46 PM

Think he'll need 25+ and a couple of goals for himself as well. Taggers don't win norms.

28-09-2024, 03:48 PM
Happy to have Lohmann in the sweep!

28-09-2024, 03:49 PM

If he tags in two losing GFs that’s a bad mark on him.

28-09-2024, 03:57 PM
Loving Blakey’s elite disposal. Has he hit a target?

28-09-2024, 04:04 PM
Lions look a far better side.

Swans need their midfield.

Need to get more run into F50.

28-09-2024, 04:09 PM
Punt Rd end has been the scoring end of late.

28-09-2024, 04:10 PM
Harris Andrews is such a good defender

28-09-2024, 04:14 PM
Lohmann made a wise choice staying with the Lions.

What a super star!

28-09-2024, 04:16 PM
What a stupid free kick

28-09-2024, 04:16 PM
Lohmann made a wise choice staying with the Lions.

What a super star!

Been really good. 3 goals so far too effort in a grand final.

28-09-2024, 04:17 PM
Worst 50 ever?

28-09-2024, 04:17 PM
What a stupid free kick

Agree. Zorko was stiff there.

jDogs
28-09-2024, 04:18 PM
Holy crap, what a putrid umpiring decision!

28-09-2024, 04:18 PM
Harris Andrews is such a good defender

Along with Starcevich down there.

Was intercepting really well in that first quarter.

28-09-2024, 04:21 PM
Brisbane not taking their opportunities.

Should have been a 50 to Brisbane after the one to Sydney.

28-09-2024, 04:24 PM
That's the way Sydney. Keep whinging about umpiring. That's why you lose grand finals.

28-09-2024, 04:26 PM
Grundy is channeling Tim English.

28-09-2024, 04:26 PM
That's the way Sydney. Keep whinging about umpiring. That's why you lose grand finals.

#freekicklions?

Warning signs for Sydney. Brisbane so much more efficient with the ball.

28-09-2024, 04:30 PM
#freekicklions?

Heaps of marks they have had inside 50. Getting a target in there and making the most now of their opportunities.

28-09-2024, 04:31 PM
Swans look shot.

28-09-2024, 04:32 PM
That was that.

Swans four losing GFs in a row.

28-09-2024, 04:34 PM
Lions all over them.

28-09-2024, 04:34 PM
Reckon watching Brisbane do this must feel like an extra kick in the nads for the Giants.

Good.

28-09-2024, 04:38 PM
#freekicklions?

One of these days the umps will help them out. Winning on their own seems out of their control.

It's actually satisfying to see them lose 4 in 10yrs.

28-09-2024, 04:41 PM
They shat the bed again.

28-09-2024, 04:43 PM
It's kind of funny how the Swans can't stand up in Grand Finals. Wonder if the media will dare question the almighty Horse?

28-09-2024, 04:45 PM
Sucks we couldn't shake Lohmann loose as part of the Dunkley shit show.

No doubt we asked the question.

28-09-2024, 04:45 PM
Brisbane have been good and took their chances that quarter but the Swans pressure was non existent. Putrid from the Swans.

The Collywabbles have been passed onto the Swans. Shaking, scared Swans?

28-09-2024, 04:46 PM
It's kind of funny how the Swans can't stand up in Grand Finals. Wonder if the media will dare question the almighty Horse?

If they drop this game, which looks likely, do you ask some questions internally? I mean they're getting there which is bloody hard enough, is it enough though?

28-09-2024, 04:47 PM
Sydney don't have much behind their big 3. Those guys have hidden a lot of their sins this season.

28-09-2024, 04:47 PM
Loving Blakey?s elite disposal. Has he hit a target?

The Lizard runs fast though.

28-09-2024, 04:48 PM
duplicate

28-09-2024, 04:52 PM
Brisbane have been good and took their chances that quarter but the Swans pressure was non existent. Putrid from the Swans.

The Collywabbles have been passed onto the Swans. Shaking, scared Swans?

Swannywobbles?

28-09-2024, 04:52 PM
Sydney don't have much behind their big 3. Those guys have hidden a lot of their wins this season.

Grundy is their highest disposal winner, then Heeney and he has had no impact at all. BL mids are winning and mainly through contested Poss.

Only three Swans in double figures for disposals and BL 8

28-09-2024, 04:55 PM
Amartey and McDonald the lowest 2 rated players on the ground. McLean not much higher.

28-09-2024, 04:55 PM
Garcia phone it in, in the heats?

28-09-2024, 04:57 PM
Swannywobbles?

This needs to trend.

28-09-2024, 04:58 PM
Amartey and McDonald the lowest 2 rated players on the ground. McLean not much higher.

Marra for 2 first rounders & Papley.

28-09-2024, 05:07 PM
The Lizard runs fast though.

The fastest turnovers.
They’re exploiting him defensively too.

28-09-2024, 05:07 PM
This is glorious. Nothing better than seeing the Swans shit the bed.

Boots
28-09-2024, 05:10 PM
What a fizzer.

28-09-2024, 05:15 PM
Us, Hawks and Lions the most in form teams in the 2nd half of the season.

Unlucky we had to play the Hawks in Week 1.

28-09-2024, 05:16 PM
Swannywobbles

Lost 2014, 2016, 2022, 2024

Points Against: 137, 89, 133 (359), 81 = 440

Points For: 74, 67, 52 (193), 28 = 221

0-4 & Percentage: 49.77%

Average losing margin: 55 points

28-09-2024, 05:20 PM
This is glorious. Nothing better than seeing the Swans shit the bed.
It's nice, sadly the team that screwed us for Dunkley is reaping the rewards.

28-09-2024, 05:21 PM
Lions getting another Ashcroft.

Jee wiz.

28-09-2024, 05:22 PM

Yeah it's annoying. But Dunkley screwed us with his choice.

28-09-2024, 05:25 PM

Maybe we should trade players before they get to the uncontracted stage(like Smith again, doh). We did know for 2 years Dunkley wanted out.

28-09-2024, 05:26 PM
Not sure about anyone else but I reckon Sydney would've won this if it weren't for the umpires.

28-09-2024, 05:27 PM
Maybe we should trade players before they get to the uncontracted stage(like Smith again, doh). We did know for 2 years Dunkley wanted out.

Yep and we haven't learnt a thing with it happening again with Smith. Do we really think we can change these player's minds? We shoot ourselves in the foot.

28-09-2024, 05:27 PM
Preaching to the choir my fellow world game friend.
A year out put the acid on them, if they don't commit bye bye.

28-09-2024, 05:30 PM
Preaching to the choir my fellow world game friend.
A year out put the acid on them, if they don't commit bye bye.

We are a pretty naive footy club.

28-09-2024, 05:33 PM
Swans have destroyed three Grand Finals in the the last 11 years. Disgraceful.

28-09-2024, 05:34 PM
Especially when Dunks already tried to get out!

28-09-2024, 05:35 PM
Gulden been horrible this finals series.

28-09-2024, 05:36 PM
Swans have destroyed three Grand Finals in the the last 11 years. Disgraceful.

Umpire's fault.

28-09-2024, 05:37 PM
Swannywobbles

Lost 2014, 2016, 2022, 2024

Points Against: 137, 89, 133, 107 = 466

Points For: 74, 67, 52, 34 = 227

0-4 & Percentage: 51.28%

Average losing margin: 60 points

BT just called Chris Fagan, Denis Pagan. Is he drunk?

Didn?t realise Dennis Pagan was coaching the Lions BT you have done it again

28-09-2024, 05:38 PM
Who is best on the ground so far?

Isn't he retiring after this game? He can say what he wants :D

Almost exclusively

28-09-2024, 05:39 PM

Surely Ashcroft

I think Joe Daniher has been excellent so far. Committed and unselfish.

Patrick Cripps?

Mcluggage Neale Ashcroft

Isn't he retiring after this game? He can say what he wants :D

That turned out to be Daniher

28-09-2024, 05:40 PM

Paddy Cripps. Easily.

28-09-2024, 05:41 PM
Probably Ashcroft, but Ah Chee has been brilliant on Blakey as has Lester down back.

Blakey and Amartey will both go close for the Leon Davis medal today.

28-09-2024, 05:41 PM

Do any teams trade players against their will, in contract?

28-09-2024, 05:42 PM
As good as Longmire has been to get Sydney to GFs they really need to look at other options.

28-09-2024, 05:48 PM
No but a mature industry would.

28-09-2024, 05:49 PM
Us, Hawks and Lions the most in form teams in the 2nd half of the season.

Unlucky we had to play the Hawks in Week 1.

Had to laugh when Gaddy Lyon was holding up a chart of his 'premiership window' during the pre-game while extolling the Lions' and Swans' virtues and had to talk around us as we sat there ranked better than both and the rest of the league proper.

Pfft.

28-09-2024, 05:49 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/SQMtJrrQ/IMG-20240928-164701-564.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

28-09-2024, 05:50 PM

Maybe Ah Chee

Neither player would have been against their will imo.

Maybe Ah Chee
MJP called it. He's on fire.

28-09-2024, 05:51 PM
At this point just barracking hard for the Swans to lose by more than we lost in '21.

28-09-2024, 05:52 PM
What a feeling midway through the 4th knowing your team will win.

28-09-2024, 05:54 PM
At this point just barracking hard for the Swans to lose by more than we lost in '21.

At least we were in the game till the 3rd qtr. swans haven?t been in it since the 1sr

28-09-2024, 05:55 PM
What a feeling midway through the 4th knowing your team will win.

In 2016 I knew before the game.

28-09-2024, 06:03 PM
Ladies and gentlemen, please give it up for Darcy Fort, Premiership Ruckman.

28-09-2024, 06:05 PM
I gotta say I was wrong about Fagan. Thought he should have been sacked. Kudos to him.

28-09-2024, 06:05 PM
Who’d swap Grundy for English ? I would.

28-09-2024, 06:11 PM
Swannywobbles:

Lost 2014, 2016, 2022, 2024 Grand Finals

Points Against: 137, 89, 133, 120 = 479 (120 average)

Points For: 74, 67, 52, 60 = 253 (63 average)

0-4 & Percentage: 52.8%

Average GF losing margin: 57 points

Who’d swap Grundy for English ? I would.

I'd swap Darcy Fort for English.

Congrats Brisbane. By far the better team today. Congrats Joey Daniher - love your big puppy dog smile & joy de vivre.

Lions look scary good for years to come considering more young guns in pipeline & you’d think will win more cups, but then I said that about Dees a few years ago.

Ah well, silver linings ...

https://i.ibb.co/z7MpZQY/GX-ep9eb0-AUCn-KI.jpg (https://ibb.co/61MzFrx)

28-09-2024, 06:12 PM
I'd swap Darcy Fort for English.

I’d seriously consider it too.

28-09-2024, 06:18 PM
Swannywobbles:

Lost 2014, 2016, 2022, 2024 Grand Finals

Points Against: 137, 89, 133, 120 = 479 (120 average)

Points For: 74, 67, 52, 60 = 253 (63 average)

0-4 & Percentage: 52.8%

Average GF losing margin: 57 points
Paints us in a poor light, only being able to beat the Swanniewobbles by 22 points.

28-09-2024, 06:18 PM
Ah well, silver linings ...

https://i.ibb.co/z7MpZQY/GX-ep9eb0-AUCn-KI.jpg (https://ibb.co/61MzFrx)

Please tag him on X.

28-09-2024, 06:19 PM
You would think Neale gets the Normie

28-09-2024, 06:19 PM
It?s a miracle Premeirship. A miracle.

They were 44 points down, away, in the 20 minute mark of the third quarter two weeks ago and won.

Crazy.

28-09-2024, 06:21 PM
Congrats Brisbane. By far the better team today. Congrats Joey Daniher - love your big puppy dog smile & joy de vivre.
Any angst we have with Dunkley winning the flag is 10-fold for Bummers supporters and Joey Daniher. That alone warms the heart.

28-09-2024, 06:23 PM

Ah Chee, Lohman, Ashcroft all chances

28-09-2024, 06:24 PM

I'm voting Ashcroft, Ah Chee, Neale.

28-09-2024, 06:28 PM
I'm voting Ashcroft, Ah Chee, Neale.

Ashcroft youngest ever

28-09-2024, 06:28 PM
Worthy winner in the end. Ashcroft was a 4 quarter performer.

28-09-2024, 06:29 PM
Dunkley highest rated on the ground, he was sneaky awesome today

Sanders reminds me of Ashcroft. Let?s hope he wins the Norm Smith next year

Worthy winner in the end. Ashcroft was a 4 quarter performer.

Win the GF, Ashcroft the NS and get a better Ashcroft as a FS this draft. Good to be them.

28-09-2024, 06:35 PM
Brisbane will have a pretty wild off-season trip this year - Hipwood and McLuggage already booked the entertainment

28-09-2024, 06:39 PM
Ridiculous having two captains

28-09-2024, 06:40 PM
Brisbane will have a pretty wild off-season trip this year - Hipwood and McLuggage already booked the entertainment

Charlie Cameron to log out on all his devices this time.

28-09-2024, 06:48 PM
Very difficult to find any Sydney players who had an impact but Lions had lots all over the ground. It was a solid gold pantsing.

28-09-2024, 06:48 PM
Sanders reminds me of Ashcroft. Let?s hope he wins the Norm Smith next year

Touch?. I?ve been thinking the same.

28-09-2024, 06:50 PM
Very difficult to find any Sydney players who had an impact but Lions had lots all over the ground. It was a solid gold pantsing.

I thought Grundy was their best, tried very hard but was let down by the mids

28-09-2024, 06:53 PM
I only watched it casually on & off but from bits I saw Grundy looked ok. Did Fort go close to evens at centre & around ground, and/or was it that Lions mids sharked Grundy’s taps? From what I could see Grundy got it to Swans mids enough but they fumbled or looked very slow & were overwhelmed by Lions mids. It’s like the Swans mids had eaten a stodgy pie before the game. Also Swans’ forwards were so putrid.

28-09-2024, 06:54 PM
I thought Grundy was their best, tried very hard but was let down by the mids

Agree from bits I saw

28-09-2024, 06:55 PM
Ah Chee, Lohman, Ashcroft all chances
Thought Cripps would have romped it in.

28-09-2024, 06:56 PM
Agree from bits I saw

Not just tap outs, Grundy with 22 disposals. Fort was just ok and only 12 touches, but he is the Premiership player

28-09-2024, 06:57 PM
Thought Cripps would have romped it in.

He was unlucky

28-09-2024, 07:38 PM
One of the great bonuses of today is that it's the last time any of us will have to listen to these useless and inept Ch 7 pricks ever again, with Fox Footy having their own commentators at every game next year.

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

28-09-2024, 08:26 PM
Not just tap outs, Grundy with 22 disposals. Fort was just ok and only 12 touches, but he is the Premiership player
Grundy was horrible in that second quarter when needed.

28-09-2024, 08:43 PM
Can't believe Sydney lost with Grundy being so dominant in the ruck. :)

Brisbane just had them on toast on the outside, incredibly bad performance across the ground from the Swans. That's the type of performance that should see the coach and the players absolutely lambasted. No excuses for it, at all.

Not at all shitty about Dunkley winning a premiership, would maybe have been last year but he's dead to me. Happy not to have Bloods Culture gushing in my face for six months. They're establishing a culture alright.......by and by.

28-09-2024, 08:57 PM
Can't believe Sydney lost with Grundy being so dominant in the ruck. :)
This was never going to be who dominates the ruck wins as Fort actually competes. The danger was Fort not being up to it. Clearly he was and Grundy wasn’t well beaten but is a shadow of what he once was.

28-09-2024, 08:59 PM
It's crazy to look at the smaller to medium forward half attacking options in the Brisbane side versus ours, and then contemplate that a ****wit like Cornes could possibly suggest we have the best list in the game.

Imagine having all of Berry, Bailey, Rayner, Cameron, Ah Che, McCluggage and Lohman at your disposal. Put that against Weightman, VDM, McNeil, Harmes and Gallagher, which are who we essentially fronted up with against Hawthorn.

Chalk and cheese, and indicative of where we're going to continue to struggle.

28-09-2024, 09:01 PM
It's crazy to look at the smaller to medium forward half attacking options in the Brisbane side versus ours, and then contemplate that a ****wit like Cornes could possibly suggest we have the best list in the game.

Imagine having all of Berry, Bailey, Rayner, Cameron, Ah Che, McCluggage and Lohman at your disposal. Put that against Weightman, VDM, McNeil, Harmes and Gallagher, which are who we essentially fronted up with against Hawthorn.

Maybe but we have a better list than Sydney.

28-09-2024, 09:02 PM
This was never going to be who dominates the ruck wins as Fort actually competes. The danger was Fort not being up to it. Clearly he was and Grundy wasn’t well beaten but is a shadow of what he once was.

Grundy shat on him, Sydney won the clearances. Good on Fort for having a crack and not being completely wiped off the park, but if Tim put that performance in he'd be pilloried win, lose or draw.

And I don't want to make a thing of it, because I was originally just having some fun!

28-09-2024, 09:03 PM
Maybe but we have a better list than Sydney.

Possibly, but that's not what I'm contending, is it?

28-09-2024, 09:20 PM
Grundy shat on him, Sydney won the clearances. Good on Fort for having a crack and not being completely wiped off the park, but if Tim put that performance in he'd be pilloried win, lose or draw.

Again Grundy was poor in the second qtr when Brisbane got on top
When has English been as good as Fort today in a final?

28-09-2024, 09:35 PM

I'm not saying English has been good in a final. I'm saying if he played like Fort did today he'd have been pilloried.

My view is ruck numbers and influence is almost always largely overstated depending on the outcome of the game. I'm on record as saying that outside of 2022 and this year there have been mitigating issues with Tim's finals performances, and that's on the club, but his past two finals have been ordinary and unacceptable.

I'm was also the first around here or one of who suggested we should have taken on Grundy when we had the chance. I've been clear in how Tim needs to be handled and how he needs to improve. I also don't get caught up in who should or shouldn't be our first ruck or whether Tim should be second ruck. Everyone knows the latter is true, but what's the point in worrying about something that isn't going to happen?

But I can't dress up Fort's performance beyond it being relatively serviceable just to shit on Tim. Again, Tim would have been shat on if he put up what Fort put up today, even if he did walk away with a premiership medal. It's just how it is.

28-09-2024, 09:36 PM

Yep. I was thinking the exact same thing.

Cornes cannot go with that narrative purely because he said Brisbane will never win a flag with Daniher and Hipwood as their key targets.

Crazy to think the Lions have more young talent than us coming through.

29-09-2024, 12:00 AM
This was never going to be who dominates the ruck wins as Fort actually competes. The danger was Fort not being up to it. Clearly he was and Grundy wasn?t well beaten but is a shadow of what he once was.

36 hitouts, 15 HTA, 22 disposals - unfortunately the mids let him down. Fort was less than average with 19 HO, 5 HTA and 12 disposals

29-09-2024, 12:10 AM

Ouch. Fair though.

29-09-2024, 12:19 AM
36 hitouts, 15 HTA, 22 disposals - unfortunately the mids let him down. Fort was less than average with 19 HO, 5 HTA and 12 disposals

Grundy was fine, certainly didn't dominate but also not even remotely the reason why they lost.

Second quarter stats:

Brisbane 7.4 to Sydney 1.2
Gulden 3 disposals
Warner 3 disposals
Blakey 3 disposals
Heeney 7 disposals at 50%
Grundy 9 disposals, 7 hitouts

Meanwhile
Neale 9 disposals
Ashcroft 9 disposals
Dunkley 6 disposals
Lohmann 7 disposals, 1.0
Ah Chee 4 disposals, 2.0
Lions only had four players with 3 or less disposals in the second quarter. Swans had 3 of their best and most important playmakers offering nothing. Grundy did all he could but the midfield and forward line were dominated from the start.

29-09-2024, 12:42 AM
The big issue with Grundy in the second was his lapse against Joe. But gun forwards are often pretty good against rucks as the latter tire.

29-09-2024, 08:34 AM
I'm not saying English has been good in a final. I'm saying if he played like Fort did today he'd have been pilloried.

You are totally underselling what Fort did yesterday. He competed a lot better than English has done in 7 finals. If Brisbane had English rucking it would have been very hard to win.

29-09-2024, 08:38 AM
The big issue with Grundy in the second was his lapse against Joe. But gun forwards are often pretty good against rucks as the latter tire.
It was a quarter long thing anyway. Fort probably should have goaled.

29-09-2024, 09:01 AM
You are totally underselling what Fort did yesterday. He competed a lot better than English has done in 7 finals. If Brisbane had English rucking it would have been very hard to win.

Grundy would have had a field day if Tim was there. Tim just has to get better, get stronger, develop a harder edge, unfortunately a lot of that can't be taught. We're stuck with Tim now so have to work with what we have.

29-09-2024, 09:12 AM
Grundy would have had a field day if Tim was there. Tim just has to get better, get stronger, develop a harder edge, unfortunately a lot of that can't be taught. We're stuck with Tim now so have to work with what we have.

We should be looking at bringing in a mature ruck option so at the very least Tim has someone to compete against over summer other than just Lachie Smith.

29-09-2024, 09:47 AM
Fort was pretty good, held his own all he had to do was compete.
Pushed forward at times too.

Grundy won the day, however their mids were poor.

Letting the Lions have so many uncontested marks was a massive fail by the swans coaches.

29-09-2024, 10:23 AM
Anyone else have the same mind set as me that the Swans and Cats are pretty much mandated a top 8 spot so the other 16 soon to be 17 teams are fighting it out for 6?

History doesn't lie!

Theyre well run clubs no doubt, you do have to consider all the others are pretty well run too. What are they doing differently?

29-09-2024, 10:29 AM
Reckon McInerney's reaction after the game with Fort tells us all we need to know about Brisbane's cohesiveness. That's a team that's just "on".

29-09-2024, 10:32 AM
The belief IMO all came off the back last years GF, it was the first time during Fagan's reign that the Lions were more than just out the back flat track bullies.

They played sensational against the pies and backed it up again and this time against an inferior opponent, I'm happy for them they deserved it just for consistency across 6 years of footy but they were more than that yesterday.

The small high half forwards were at it again woofers, they have so much quality in that space If only Lohman made it to the kennel off the back of the Dunkley trade. Plenty of food for thought for us in this space and I'm sure Hannaford and Berry will be high up on the board come draft night.

While I'm on Dunkley he has changed their midfield, has added substance no doubt we just haven't seen the lions apply pressure like that and I think he lead it all finals series while Ashcroft become the cherry on top.

29-09-2024, 10:51 AM
The belief IMO all came off the back last years GF, it was the first time during Fagan's reign that the Lions were more than just out the back flat track bullies.

They played sensational against the pies and backed it up again and this time against an inferior opponent, I'm happy for them they deserved it just for consistency across 6 years of footy but they were more than that yesterday.

The small high half forwards were at it again woofers, they have so much quality in that space If only Lohman made it to the kennel off the back of the Dunkley trade. Plenty of food for thought for us in this space and I'm sure Hannaford and Berry will be high up on the board come draft night.

While I'm on Dunkley he has changed their midfield, has added substance no doubt we just haven't seen the lions apply pressure like that and I think he lead it all finals series while Ashcroft become the cherry on top.
The turn around in a short time from Brisbane was unbelievable. Beaten at home by GWS in round 22, in Melb by Collingwood in round 23. Looked gone in 3rd qtr semi vs Gws. When they found it, there was no stopping them.

29-09-2024, 11:07 AM
Well well well, let the excuses commence.

Longmire :

This is also the second time, after the Bulldogs in '16, that a club has beaten Sydney for the flag after coming from outside the top four.

It will put renewed focus on the pre-finals bye, introduced in 2016. As the Lions built up a head of steam with three-straight games ahead of the Grand Final, Sydney had the week off after winning their qualifying final.

"I'm not going to put it down to that, but it's not the advantage it once was," Longmire said of earning the double chance by finishing in the top four.

29-09-2024, 11:09 AM
He was asked to be fair.

But saying finishing top 4 is not an advantage crikey.

Two home finals straight through. We play our final at the opposition's ground.

29-09-2024, 11:10 AM

Longmire :

This is also the second time, after the Bulldogs in '16, that a club has beaten Sydney for the flag after coming from outside the top four.

It will put renewed focus on the pre-finals bye, introduced in 2016. As the Lions built up a head of steam with three-straight games ahead of the Grand Final, Sydney had the week off after winning their qualifying final.

"I'm not going to put it down to that, but it's not the advantage it once was," Longmire said of earning the double chance by finishing in the top four.

What's his excuse for the other two grand finals he got pumped in?

29-09-2024, 11:11 AM

Longmire :

When you lose your last four GFs by an average of 57 points, you’d think he’d have a better talking point than that.

29-09-2024, 11:11 AM
What's his excuse for the other two grand finals he got pumped in?
I'm sure it's not his coaching.

29-09-2024, 11:15 AM
Finishing top 4 is not the advantage it once was. Fmd Bevo been ahead of the game all this time!

29-09-2024, 11:28 AM
fmd this statement is a perfect example of how normalised inequality is in the league.

And is this journo now saying it's an advantage to finish out of the top 4 so you get to play 4 in a row??

Funny how this comes up the 2 times a team outside the top 4 won. The other 7 times we've heard nothing.

As for Sydney, keep looking for outside reasons to excuse your shit performances. You'll lose no 5 soon enough.

29-09-2024, 11:29 AM
I’m ok with Longmire giving excuses, masks how bad they have been in the big game. The 100 point loss was the real end of the season for them.
It almost rules them of out of contention with Longmire in charge.

One of biggest loser this season is GWS. Capable of beating all teams especially Sydney and Brisbane but choked.

29-09-2024, 11:41 AM
Anyone else have the same mind set as me that the Swans and Cats are pretty much mandated a top 8 spot so the other 16 soon to be 17 teams are fighting it out for 6?

History doesn't lie!

Theyre well run clubs no doubt, you do have to consider all the others are pretty well run too. What are they doing differently?
Sydney and cats get a great home ground advantage but so do other interstate sides.
Sydney got a leg up with academy picks and Geelong has the COLA(cotton on living allowance).
Seriously both have great systems and are well coached normally.
There must be advantages as the AFL needs Sydney to be good because when they bottom out no one in Sydney goes.

29-09-2024, 11:54 AM

Longmire :

The exact reason why the AFL will keep it, makes the finals more interesting.

29-09-2024, 12:10 PM
Buddy & Roughy kicked 3.7 in the 2012 GF in a 10 point loss. They kick straight (alone, Hawks blew their chances) and Swans lose that too. On top of the last four losses by 57 points on average.

Maybe they’re just not made/coached/set up for the big game? It’s one thing to get there and another to win. They’ve had incredible players over the period too. It’s not a cheap shot, per se, but the Geelong sides that lost four with GAS and a host of very good players couldn’t get it done either. Some good sides historically just couldn’t get the job done when it mattered.

29-09-2024, 12:26 PM
I cannot believe anyone would second guess the Bloods Culture or question how amazing John Longmire is like I'm witnessing now.

29-09-2024, 12:35 PM
Buddy & Roughy kicked 3.7 in the 2012 GF in a 10 point loss. They kick straight (alone, Hawks blew their chances) and Swans lose that too. On top of the last four losses by 57 points on average.

Maybe they’re just not made/coached/set up for the big game? It’s one thing to get there and another to win. They’ve had incredible players over the period too. It’s not a cheap shot, per se, but the Geelong sides that lost four with GAS and a host of very good players couldn’t get it done either. Some good sides historically just couldn’t get the job done when it mattered.

No it's the umpires I tell ya.

*Longmire checks free kick count*

Or the finals system. Yeah it's the final system.

29-09-2024, 12:44 PM
We should be looking at bringing in a mature ruck option so at the very least Tim has someone to compete against over summer other than just Lachie Smith.

This is a super underrated comment.

29-09-2024, 12:46 PM
Reckon McInerney's reaction after the game with Fort tells us all we need to know about Brisbane's cohesiveness. That's a team that's just "on".

The big O was just brilliant all day, he could have felt sorry for himself not being out there but was just encouraging his team mates all game, the way he celebrated with Darcy Fort on the ground was nothing short of sensational, he was generally ecstatic for his mates, wonderful.

29-09-2024, 12:48 PM
The big O was just brilliant all day, he could have felt sorry for himself not being out there but was just encouraging his team mates all game, the way he celebrated with Darcy Fort on the ground was nothing short of sensational, he was generally ecstatic for his mates, wonderful.

Agree. Only respect for the Big O.

29-09-2024, 12:49 PM
The ruck debate will continue to go on in circles to whichever way you side on, Grundy had a better game imo than Fort but Darcy more than held his own which would have been his game plan i'd imagine, didn't need to have the large amounts of stats but crate the contest which he did, he played his part in the victory with flying colours imo.

29-09-2024, 01:33 PM
The distinctive thing about this season was the difference between early and late season form in many teams.
Brisbane 13th prior to finals, finding form thereafter, Sydney sitting pretty until being exposed by us, Hawks and ultimately and badly in the GF.
Our form going into the finals mirrored by Hawks who got us...

29-09-2024, 01:35 PM
Brisbane and Collingwood grand finalist losing first five, Sunshine early form unbeaten at home..

29-09-2024, 01:36 PM
Sun's early form I.e.

29-09-2024, 03:28 PM

Tom Campbell!

D Mitchell
29-09-2024, 05:51 PM
Grand Finals show that NO position is conclusive. It's variously Tall Forwards, running defenders, mids etc. attributed to the Flag. Ruckmen might get a team to the GF but not win it, as 2024. We'd have killed it this year had we got past Hawthorn.

29-09-2024, 11:20 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GYmVy8nasAEHwlY?format=jpg&name=medium

30-09-2024, 03:17 AM

I am cool with this as long as he returns the favour when we get one next year.

30-09-2024, 08:17 AM
Can't wait for baileys one next year

30-09-2024, 08:42 AM
No it's the umpires I tell ya.

*Longmire checks free kick count*

Or the finals system. Yeah it's the final system.
Best part about this pre-finals bye HORSE shit that Leigh Matthews has now jumped on with sycophant Bartel is the Swans actually lost the first week in 2016 and never had another break.

The reality is their form was poor for the latter part of the season and they took injured players into the GF.

Sounds like Heeney who won them finals wouldn't even have played without a break.

Man, the Swans are the worst!

30-09-2024, 09:48 AM
Can't wait for baileys one next year

Gee that would be awkward, not sure we'd let Smith celebrate with us when we win the flag.

30-09-2024, 09:49 AM
Best part about this pre-finals bye HORSE shit that Leigh Matthews has now jumped on with sycophant Bartel is the Swans actually lost the first week in 2016 and never had another break.

The reality is their form was poor for the latter part of the season and they took injured players into the GF.

Sounds like Heeney who won them finals wouldn't even have played without a break.

Man, the Swans are the worst!

So I am really confused if they like the pre finals bye or not?

They seriously love to complain.