View Full Version : Thanks

30-04-2008, 12:04 AM
Just wanted to say a very sincere "Thank You" to all who have wished my son Ryan (aka The Coon Pup, courtesy of FDOTM) all the best after he broke his arm on the weekend.

Whilst he was in a fair bit of pain at the time he's been remarkably resiliant since, even tho he can't play golf or footy for about 8 weeks & knows there are people much worse off than him.

On the very hot day we had the family day he introduced me to one of the girls in his grade at school & her parents (they don't barrack for the Doggies but their daughter does so they went). That night her father suffered a heart attack & unfortunately passed away on March 17.

The weekend before a boy he goes to school with was involved in a serious car accident at Buxton & is not in a good way, his 13 y.o. sister died in the crash.

So whilst Ryan has broken his arm & is somewhat inconvenienced, he's shown amazing maturity & put it down to a life experience that he'll get over, knowing others haven't been so lucky.

Again, a very sincere & heartfelt thanks to my 'other family' here at WOOF for your kind thoughts & best wishes. Very much appreciated!!

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/1576/rarm2rr1.jpg

30-04-2008, 12:17 AM
Good to hear the recovery is going OK, and that's impressive regarding your pup seeing the bigger picture of life. Proves that there's still good, even in the 'new' generation ;)

Condolences to your companions in reference to their losses. Not what you want to read about, hopefully they are OK and are able to find enough support to keep their heads above water.

30-04-2008, 09:19 AM
I meant to pm you. Im glad all is well with your son TCD. Before you know it, he will be up and at it again!

30-04-2008, 10:03 AM
Hope he recovers quickly TCD.

Shocking for his mates families and their losses, sad to hear things like that.

30-04-2008, 10:18 AM
sorry to hear about your young pup TCD.

But from the looks of the pic he is a chirpy lad with real Bulldog spirit.

best wishes for a speedy recovery.

The Doc

30-04-2008, 10:20 AM
All the best, Ryan.

30-04-2008, 10:41 AM
Got his looks from his mum but his skate boarding ability off his dad i see!!
get well soon mate.

30-04-2008, 12:48 PM
get well soon TCP.

30-04-2008, 01:37 PM
If he can manage a smile that big in the first few days of nursing a broken arm, he'll be fine.

I'm sure the result would've done the world of good for him.

All the best as you recover Ryan.

We might have to try and sneak him down to training and get some prize autographs on the cast.

30-04-2008, 02:44 PM
Good luck to him. All great skaters break bones eventually;)

30-04-2008, 02:48 PM
Good luck to him. All great skaters break bones eventually;)

Yep get them over early, bones heal better when your young.

30-04-2008, 03:11 PM
Good opportunity to practise handballing with the left hand.

Keep off the drip

30-04-2008, 03:49 PM
Look at those guns! Bulldog CHF for sure.

30-04-2008, 04:15 PM
Sorry to hear about this.

30-04-2008, 04:29 PM
do plaster casts come in red/white/blue yet?

all the best to the pup.

30-04-2008, 05:19 PM
whats with the yellow and black tracksuit, thats the biggest concern I have!:D

30-04-2008, 05:52 PM
do plaster casts come in red/white/blue yet?

all the best to the pup.

No, he had the choice of red or purple.

whats with the yellow and black tracksuit, thats the biggest concern I have!:D

When he first started playing football 4 years ago in the U9's the team he played for wore yellow & black, so I bought him a track suit in those colours which he wore to every game. As U9's & U10's commence at 8.50am on Sunday mornings & it was generally very cold.

30-04-2008, 06:30 PM
No bulldog tattoo on his arm yet?

30-04-2008, 06:33 PM
Glad to see he's got a smile on his face. A few Bulldog player signatures on that cast and I reckon that grin would extend from ear to ear!
All the best with the recovery Coon Pup...No doubt you'll use the recuperation time to your advantage in mulling over your team selection in the Dreamteam competition and wreak even more havoc upon us older opponents!!

30-04-2008, 11:27 PM
Hope you have a quick recovery Ryan, not much fun having a break like that, especially when it gets itchy, but I bet you can get some good autographs.

Sorry to hear about all the recent losses, we were affected up here by the Buxton accident, it would appear half the town saw it and were very affected. I was busy organising debriefing for them last week - funny how the six degrees of separation can work sometimes.

30-04-2008, 11:30 PM
My mate broke his leg round 1 this year when there was 8 seconds on the clock and we were about 100 points down. Good player. Bad break (both bones like Brown i think.)

01-05-2008, 10:01 PM
Hope the pup recovers quickly, he reminds me of a very young jonno with a smile like that. Some one send a contract down to the hossi as it could be the next 300 game player.

03-05-2008, 12:10 AM
Im playing the little fella in Dream Team this week - tell him i said good luck & have a speedy recovery mate

03-05-2008, 12:42 AM
Im playing the little fella in Dream Team this week - tell him i said good luck & have a speedy recovery mate

Don't go easy on him or he'll bury you.

03-05-2008, 12:59 AM

Thanks, boy does he take his dream team x2 & supercoach seriously. Every Thursday he checks the ins/outs, makes his trades after that, agonises who his captain/s & interchanges will be.

Drives me mad, but I'm sure if I persevere long enough I'll learn from him.

04-05-2008, 01:03 AM
TCD

Glad to hear the pup is ok and taking the temporary separation form his sport so well.

04-05-2008, 05:17 PM
Sorry i beat u Coon Pup, Swans players got me over the line :)

05-05-2008, 11:10 PM
Sorry i beat u Coon Pup, Swans players got me over the line :)

Dont be sorry! Consider yourself lucky he was distracted enough to let you win.

Clearly he is the BOY WHO WILL NOT BE STOPPED!!! A broken arm does not slow him down. 2 days in hospital and he is straight back to his dream team preparing to open a big can of whoop ass all who dare stand against him!

Are we sure he is a human child - perhaps he is some kind of robot or cyborg - a footballing machine - some kind of all powerful boy shaped being from another dimension who will not stop until HE HAS WON EVERY DREAM TEAM COMPETITION ON EARTH!

It sounds like Ryan has taken a battering, and had a rotten time, he will bounce back. All the best Ry (unless you really are a creature from another world).

06-05-2008, 01:19 PM
Sorry to hear about the coon pup. Hope he heals quickly. Yeah life can be a battle sometimes but we are still alive.

Get well soon TCP.

06-05-2008, 04:48 PM
TCD I think I may actually sit behind you at the dome - because the Coon Pup looks very familiar!!

If I remember correctly - the Coondog and Coonpup sit next to each other - with Mother and Daughter always in attendance also! All family members decked out in doggies gear!!

06-05-2008, 05:05 PM
TCD I think I may actually sit behind you at the dome - because the Coon Pup looks very familiar!!

If I remember correctly - the Coondog and Coonpup sit next to each other - with Mother and Daughter always in attendance also! All family members decked out in doggies gear!!

Yes, that's us. We just make sure we seperate the kids as they tend to niggle one another. Say hello next home game.

23-07-2008, 07:57 PM
TCP has played the past 3 games for his local club. Eased back into it gently, now back doing full training.

He plays his 50th game this weekend & after making his banner I have a new appreciation for the great job the cheer squad do each week!

His team finished 2nd so a win will put them straight into the Grand Final (only a top 4).

http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/6479/ryanbannerua2.jpg

Super 27
23-07-2008, 08:10 PM
Good Luck TCP on 50 games.

23-07-2008, 09:34 PM
Looks like his dad but with hair!

23-07-2008, 10:06 PM
Good to see him in good spirit, hope he gets better soon.

23-07-2008, 10:30 PM
50 Games! That is pretty fantastic. I assume it would have come sooner if he didnt keep getting suspended for belting people in the head.

Or am I thinking of Barry Hall... it is kind of hard to tell them apart.

23-07-2008, 11:35 PM
50 already? I was in the under 14's when i played my 50th.

I'm also jealous he's still playing. We finished 2 weeks ago!

24-07-2008, 12:13 PM
50 games, Gee time flies. Go get em TCP.

Bulldogs_6
24-07-2008, 09:58 PM
All the best Clarkey (In reference to Michael Clarke or "pup") :D
Hope you win the 50th mate ;)

24-07-2008, 11:03 PM
Nice work Ryan
:)

25-07-2008, 12:14 PM
Is the pup playing at chirnside park (little traiter)my young bloke will play at 2:30 under 16
Good luck ryan (aslong as you don't play against werribee)

25-07-2008, 12:42 PM
Is the pup playing at chirnside park (little traiter)my young bloke will play at 2:30 under 16
Good luck ryan (aslong as you don't play against werribee)

12.30pm at Croft Reserve, near the Memorial Gardens.......against Werribee. Werribee are undefeated, so it's going to be tough.