View Full Version : The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society.

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

22-08-2009, 06:45 PM
Good photo of Huddo in todays Herald Sun. Thanks to all you BHBAS peoples I was actually yelling out "GO THE BEARD!!" last night. :D

23-08-2009, 03:29 PM
We were wearing our T-shirts to the game on Friday night and met Rocket - who said with a smile "Good to see your wearing the beard!!" :D

24-08-2009, 12:17 PM
Wore the shirt to a game for the first time on Friday, so it clearly does have magical powers. Ordering a pint at the Nixon after the game, the bar-keep says 'that looks like Huddo' so I showed him the 'Appreciation Society' part of the shirt.

He then says 'you know what I've been calling him? The wooly bully'

24-08-2009, 01:42 PM
How long would it take to come if I ordered one today?

just pasting the link again so i remember where it is.

http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/2959773-4-chins-without-beards-deserve-no-honour

24-08-2009, 01:46 PM
How long would it take to come if I ordered one today?

Mine took about a week to arrive.

24-08-2009, 03:58 PM
My shirt took 9 days of every day calling my wife asking did it arrive .

25-08-2009, 11:49 AM
OK!

My Beard T-Shirt is now 2 and 0!

I don't think i'll waste the Mojo next week against the Pies

Waste it, waste it! 3-0 going into finals is so much more sexy than 2-1.

26-08-2009, 12:05 PM
Got mine today, got to say the qaulity is quite good

Go the beard!!

31-08-2009, 02:49 PM
Can't believe this thread has had no posts since last Wednesday, even in the (aborted) lead up to 'The Beard's' 100th game.

I guess mere round 22 clashes are beneath 'The Beard' & in all likelihood seem contemptuous a game to play a milestone game in.

Incidentally FDOTM, how are t-shirt sales progressing? Have we cracked the ton?

31-08-2009, 03:43 PM
I saw the beard on Sunday close up. The manlyness of is just to great to even describe. I proclaimed long live the beard to a slight nod from the vessle for the beard in acknowldgement of my commitment to the BHBAS.

31-08-2009, 04:39 PM
Rumour has it ... Hudson couldn't play this week against the Pies (as with Samson) he had lost all his strength after trimming the beard ;)

31-08-2009, 04:48 PM
Rumour has it ... Hudson couldn't play this week against the Pies (as with Samson) he had lost all his strength after trimming the beard ;)
The beard is more powerful than anything in the Bible.

It just didn't want to be near the Filth.

31-08-2009, 05:31 PM
I'm thinking of doing a special edition t-shirt for the finals, but only if we win on Saturday. It would be the same shirt but a white image on a black shirt. Reversed!

Any interest?

I could add text somewhere like...

The People's Beard '09

Or something -

It would mean (if we win) that if you ordered them on the day, you should probably get it before the game in the next fortnight.

31-08-2009, 05:35 PM
I'm thinking of doing a special edition t-shirt for the finals, but only if we win on Saturday. It would be the same shirt but a white image on a black shirt. Reversed!

Any interest?

The People's Beard '09

Or something -

It would mean (if we win) that if you ordered them on the day, you should probably get it before the game in the next fortnight.

Oh, yes! But it would need some mention of it being a finals shirt:

The People's Beard
Finals 2009

to make it extra limited edition-y

31-08-2009, 05:42 PM
Count me in

01-09-2009, 12:18 AM
Waste it, waste it! 3-0 going into finals is so much more sexy than 2-1.

Can report...

Did NOT wear the lucky beard t-shirt!

Not sure what that proves, bit it definitely proves something.

Will be wearing it Saturday arvo for sure.

Am also going to the Cows game Saturday night, but won't waste it there.

Though it's tempting...

01-09-2009, 08:56 AM
Incidentally FDOTM, how are t-shirt sales progressing? Have we cracked the ton?

Did you miss this bit FDOTM, or am I to assume you were just being your obnoxious self & ignored it? ;)

01-09-2009, 10:33 AM
Did you miss this bit FDOTM, or am I to assume you were just being your obnoxious self & ignored it? ;)

yes - we have sold 85

01-09-2009, 10:50 AM
http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii283/brightblue462/beardstrain.jpg

01-09-2009, 10:53 AM
Can report...

Did NOT wear the lucky beard t-shirt!

Not sure what that proves, bit it definitely proves something.

Will be wearing it Saturday arvo for sure.

Am also going to the Cows game Saturday night, but won't waste it there.

Though it's tempting...

Rub it in to those losers that WE have the power of the beard now!!

01-09-2009, 11:32 AM
yes - we have sold 85

Thank you x 85 & was the yes pertaining to the fact that you forgot, or were just being your obnoxious self? ;)

01-09-2009, 04:43 PM

Any interest?

The People's Beard '09

Or something -

I'm interested.

PaddyWhack
01-09-2009, 04:54 PM

Any interest?

The People's Beard '09

Or something -

Count me in as well - first with the latest, but I ordered my standard edition yesterday!

01-09-2009, 08:29 PM
Thank you x 85 & was the yes pertaining to the fact that you forgot, or were just being your obnoxious self? ;)

Yes.

01-09-2009, 11:46 PM
Yes.

I knew you would say that!

01-09-2009, 11:50 PM

Rightyo, i'm impressed

What software did you use to create that?

(and does it have a spell check) :rolleyes:

02-09-2009, 09:44 AM
Rightyo, i'm impressed

What software did you use to create that?

(and does it have a spell check) :rolleyes:

Did I make some spelling mistakes?

http://www.fodey.com/generators/newspaper/snippet.asp

02-09-2009, 01:56 PM

I missed that the first time - that is brilliant! Although I think the People's Beard should be capitalised.

And surely a grade on strain requires more than just a few days of beer baths?

02-09-2009, 03:47 PM
And surely a grade on strain requires more than just a few days of beer baths?

If he was wearing a saints guernsey maybe.
But the red, white and blue has magical healing powers.

Rumour has it, there was a tri-coloured BHBAS t-shirt forged by Optimus Prime and Adam Cooney, gifted to Huddo on the weekend.
I can only imagine what powers a shirt such as this could bestow.

http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii283/brightblue462/COONEYvsPRIME.jpg

02-09-2009, 07:04 PM
Did I make some spelling mistakes?

http://www.fodey.com/generators/newspaper/snippet.asp

"withdrawl" - withdrawal - sorry to be a nitpicker!

However that site is fantastic... thanks for putting it in your post!

02-09-2009, 07:18 PM

Any interest?

The People's Beard '09

Or something -

And one for me.

02-09-2009, 10:10 PM
I already have the current tee and would also get the finals edition if we win :)

02-09-2009, 11:54 PM
I've been contemplating the thought of 'borrowing' Mum's credit card to purchase me a shirt. If the limited edition becomes available, I don't think I'll have a choice...if she gets angry, The Beard made me do it.

03-09-2009, 12:33 AM
I've been contemplating the thought of 'borrowing' Mum's credit card to purchase me a shirt. If the limited edition becomes available, I don't think I'll have a choice...if she gets angry, The Beard made me do it.

Hope it works for ya! =]
Being a fellow teen, i know how it feels!

03-09-2009, 12:37 AM
Hope it works for ya! =]
Being a fellow teen, i know how it feels!
Oh well, I'm old enough to pay for it myself and such. I just don't have a credit card, which makes for lots of problems in this world of online payments.

03-09-2009, 09:44 AM
"withdrawl" - withdrawal - sorry to be a nitpicker!

However that site is fantastic... thanks for putting it in your post!

I stand corrected.

regards,

Furtanken (Fernvale State School, Year 5, Spelling Bee Champion)

03-09-2009, 11:46 AM
You pay with Paypal which does'nt need a credit card, it can be setup to diect debit from a bank account

So as long as you have a bank account and moneys you should be able to get one !!!!!!

03-09-2009, 02:34 PM
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/thebeard.jpg

Full and ready for September Action

03-09-2009, 02:38 PM
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/thebeard.jpg

Full and ready for September Action

Is it just me or is that beard brimming with confidence?

03-09-2009, 09:59 PM
Here we go - I have added two versions, happy to take suggestions and so on and reserve right to refuse them all and laugh unkindly. Will add $3 to the cost of said shirts in order to purchase one for the great man himself. And why not one for Bob Q too.

If we win on Saturday I will make the shirt available after the game. Although maybe I should make it available even if we don't. Anyway, tell me which one you like and then I will put up the one I want.

They are:

1 Original image with new text

2 New image (based on bornadogs photo)

The Original image as white on black didn't work at all

Version 1

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/8065/finalsbeardoriginal.jpg (http://img7.imageshack.us/i/finalsbeardoriginal.jpg/)

Version 2

http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/7173/finalsbeard3.jpg (http://img297.imageshack.us/i/finalsbeard3.jpg/)

03-09-2009, 10:08 PM
Love the title for it FDOTM, but surely as a finals edition it needs to be in three colours (and only three) or is that not possible?

What about white background, red words and blue image?

And I reckon staying with the original pic fwiw.

I'll buy one regardless.

03-09-2009, 10:09 PM
Version 2 is a beauty - gets my vote.

Great work FDOTM.

03-09-2009, 10:28 PM
Version two shows he beard in all its glory and has a more serious side to it which fits the intensity of finals.

Beard V2

03-09-2009, 10:34 PM
If you build it they will come...

04-09-2009, 12:07 AM

Great work FDOTM.

Yes I agree version two;)

04-09-2009, 12:24 AM
Version 2 does it for me.

04-09-2009, 01:12 AM
You pay with Paypal which does'nt need a credit card, it can be setup to diect debit from a bank account

So as long as you have a bank account and moneys you should be able to get one !!!!!!
That is glorious. I have internet banking and stuff...I'm just a disorganised Uni student who continues to live off my parents. A big whoop whoop to all my fellow Gen Y-ers.

But now I don't know whether to purchase the original, or the finals edition? If I get a finals edition, it will be version two. Beautiful stuff.

04-09-2009, 09:10 AM

Great work FDOTM.
I agree, version 2 is a beauty!

04-09-2009, 09:54 AM
Version 2 is a cracker.
Look at it!
LOOK AT IT!

04-09-2009, 10:13 AM
Version 2 is a cracker.
Look at it!
LOOK AT IT!

I think we have a winner

04-09-2009, 11:23 AM
Congratulations to the 'Peoples Beard' for playing his 100th game this week.

All hail the Beard!

04-09-2009, 01:08 PM
Looks like the cheer squad can re-use last weeks 100 game banner, I noticed they had to patch it up pre-game because it broke and then when the guys went through only a corner needed to be fixed :D

04-09-2009, 02:48 PM
Just ordered a pretty purple girly T-Shirt!!

Gonna look grouse!!

Love all your work guys!!

04-09-2009, 02:53 PM
Woot Go Ben have a cracker of a 100th!!!!

PaddyWhack
04-09-2009, 02:58 PM
I think Murph made the point that, while it may be Ben Hudson's 100th, it is only 87 for The Peoples Beard - but we all hope Ben and The Beard take Ottens et al to the cleaners tomorra!
PS All going well, Rd 11 2010 should be The Beard's 100th.

05-09-2009, 09:45 AM
Goes without saying (but I'm saying it anyway!) that the Hudson shirt will get worn today for the Big Man's 100th game.

Congrats to the Man & the Beard.

05-09-2009, 03:34 PM
The beeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!

05-09-2009, 09:11 PM
Looks like the cheer squad can re-use last weeks 100 game banner, I noticed they had to patch it up pre-game because it broke and then when the guys went through only a corner needed to be fixed :D

It was being pulled apart pre game last week...cause we wern't told Huddo wasnt playing...and we had the banner at the ground for him....by the time we were told it was to late to get the other one...We got the boys to not kick the footys through the banner last week and to not run through where the picture of Huddo was...cause they arnt cheap.....

It was a whole new banner this week, we made it Thursday night.....

05-09-2009, 09:31 PM
I loved his effort on the outer wing today chasing down a smaller opponent then putting in third and fourth efforts. It caused a turn over that ended in a goal. Every player at all levels should be shown that in an example of not giving in.

05-09-2009, 09:54 PM
Did anyone get on the bearded one to kick the first goal at $60.00?

06-09-2009, 12:01 AM
Poo in a sock. No finals t-shirt for YOU

06-09-2009, 11:12 AM
I loved his effort on the outer wing today chasing down a smaller opponent then putting in third and fourth efforts. It caused a turn over that ended in a goal. Every player at all levels should be shown that in an example of not giving in.

Didn't think I could love the beard more - that was all heart, and the beard has a bit of toe when he gets a gallop up....so the beard is clearly aero-dynamic as well.

06-09-2009, 07:41 PM
An unscheduled meeting of the Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society (Burbank Oval chapter) was held today, while watching Williamstown's capitulation to the Northern Bullants. (There was a quorum)

The only item minuted for the meeting was the following motion: "That this meeting endorses the new t-shirt design for the BHBAS in the current finals series and requests that it be made available to the membership and other interested persons forthwith". The motion was passed unanimously.

Accordingly, here it is.

http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/3504/finalsbeard.jpg (http://img193.imageshack.us/i/finalsbeard.jpg/)

Follow this link

http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/3716288-2-the-peoples-beard-finals-2009

Please note, purchase and/or wearing of this t-shirt does not guarantee finals success (although the Beard was seen to assist in kicking the first goal against the cats so who knows)

Goal Assists - The Beard - 1

06-09-2009, 07:48 PM
Jesus! Sold one already!

Assuming we beat the Lions, if you order a shirt nowish, you should have one to wear when we xxxx xxxx St Kilda

06-09-2009, 07:50 PM
Bought and paid for.

06-09-2009, 08:53 PM
I got the red one in long sleeves, something different.

06-09-2009, 09:24 PM
I got the red one in long sleeves, something different.

Bugger. I was first 2 hours back

07-09-2009, 08:17 AM
Ordered.

Got a grey one this time.

10-09-2009, 06:21 PM
We have only sold 8 of the finals shirt, but we have sold 92 of the regular one! That means we have sold 100 Ben Hudson's Beard t-shirts and that is an entirely Beardworthy achievement.

10-09-2009, 06:26 PM
We have only sold 8 of the finals shirt, but we have sold 92 of the regular one! That means we have sold 100 Ben Hudson's Beard t-shirts and that is an entirely Beardworthy achievement.

100 t-shirts sold.
100 games played by Ben.

Coincidence; I think not.

10-09-2009, 10:06 PM
I ordered a white one for myself and a pink one for my partner.

12-09-2009, 09:38 PM
Watched the replay today. The almighty bearded one got quite fired up at the umpire.... it was awesome!! :D

13-09-2009, 09:46 AM
I noticed a pic of Chris Grant in the social page of the herald sun. He looked like he was getting in on the beard action.

I'm sure he has been inspired by the peoples beard.

13-09-2009, 07:55 PM
I noticed a pic of Chris Grant in the social page of the herald sun. He looked like he was getting in on the beard action.

I'm sure he has been inspired by the peoples beard.

Even young WArd has some bum fluff. The bearded one has started a fashion trend.

14-09-2009, 04:28 PM
I walked past a guy in a green Ben Hudson tshirt in depths of the Olympic stand on Friday night, he himself obviously inspired by the bearded one to grow his own face warmer. Was he a WOOFer?

14-09-2009, 04:40 PM
The t-shirt debuted for competitive battle on Friday night, and is currently travelling 1 for 1 so it will get another guernsey this week.

Alas, the next day it got caught on a nail and ripped but being as tough as old boots, the t-shirt was able to pull through. In fact the rip adds some hard-arse authenticy to the t-shirt.

14-09-2009, 04:40 PM
Was he wearing black jeans, because I saw him too.

14-09-2009, 04:49 PM
I walked past a guy in a green Ben Hudson tshirt in depths of the Olympic stand on Friday night, he himself obviously inspired by the bearded one to grow his own face warmer. Was he a WOOFer?

Yes, that was Raw Toast

14-09-2009, 07:00 PM
Yes, that was Raw Toast

Indeed, and my beard was first, though never as impressive as the great one that we all bow before...

I showed the shirt to some young believers sitting near me, Ernie and Sockeye and one of them was so inspired she's sure to have bought her top by now (or better yet, one of the regular and one of the limited edition, finals version).

15-09-2009, 09:25 PM

Couple of pics of today, including one of me in my shirt signed .

15-09-2009, 10:01 PM

It looks like you had it signed by Bernard King

16-09-2009, 12:56 AM
Got my shirt tody!!!! its grouse, will be wearing this one to work this week!!

16-09-2009, 11:07 AM
It looks like you had it signed by Bernard King

hahahha very funny it was the beard firstdog we had a good day he even shook my hand

16-09-2009, 02:04 PM
My finals edition t-shirt just arrived in the mail, now facing a dilemma as to which one to wear - might have to ask the guru of dilemma's, Rocco :)

16-09-2009, 02:22 PM
My finals edition t-shirt just arrived in the mail, now facing a dilemma as to which one to wear - might have to ask the guru of dilemma's, Rocco :)

surely you would wear the finals edition.

16-09-2009, 04:03 PM
Mine arrived today in mail.

Looks good!

17-09-2009, 09:52 AM
My aqua-coloured finals shirt was waiting on the doorstep when I arrived home from work last night.

Fair to say, the suit and tie were quickly abandoned, with the People's Beard taking pride of place on my ample torso.

18-09-2009, 01:37 PM
Huddo is in the Herald sun today....pg126 with his mate Brewser....

18-09-2009, 01:40 PM

Saw that mug on tv this morning...bloody hollywood's back!!
Just once i want to see a bulldog story that doesn't include your mug!!

18-09-2009, 01:47 PM
I'll probably just wear the regular edition tonight, if we win I'll make a purchase of the finals edition.

20-09-2009, 11:46 AM
I am pleased to say that we have sold about half a dozen of these in the last 48 hours. It is always darkest before the dawn, and the best way to face your demons is wearing a t-shirt with the people's beard.

06-10-2009, 05:30 PM
Ben Hudson must impart his wisdom on Baz in the off-season so that the BBBBHBAS can come to fruition.

Artists rendition of what it might look like attached.

http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii283/brightblue462/BBBBHBAS.png

06-10-2009, 06:21 PM
The artist likes the colour green.

06-10-2009, 06:23 PM
The artist likes the colour green.

Who doesn't?

06-10-2009, 09:32 PM
I love you

Ben Hudson must impart his wisdom on Baz in the off-season so that the BBBBHBAS can come to fruition.

Artists rendition of what it might look like attached.

http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii283/brightblue462/BBBBHBAS.png

06-10-2009, 09:46 PM
In fact, this post is so good I have put it on a t-shirt.

http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/6016/hallshirt.jpg (http://img11.imageshack.us/i/hallshirt.jpg/)

I have named this t-shirt "The Greatest Woof Post of All Time on a T-shirt"

It probably will look a bit crap but that is not the point. You can buy it here.

http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/3895237-1-the-greatest-woof-post-of-all-time-on-a-t-shirt

07-10-2009, 06:26 PM
What, did I scare everyone away? And none of you cowards have even bought one of these strange ugly shirts! I know I didn't.

07-10-2009, 07:19 PM
I wonder why.

07-10-2009, 07:20 PM
Maybe we were all stunned by the magnificence of Hall with a beard?

07-10-2009, 08:34 PM
Saw an Appreciator at Box Hill Indoor Sports a week or so ago...it was nice to see that despite the Beard being in hiding during the off-season, we still remember.

07-10-2009, 09:02 PM
The shirt was seen in Werribee the other day, i believe it was TCD from the description i was given.

08-10-2009, 04:42 PM
The shirt was seen in Werribee the other day, i believe it was TCD from the description i was given.

Brad Pitt look alike?

08-10-2009, 07:01 PM
No way am i going to respond to that!

08-10-2009, 08:48 PM
I love you

The feeling is mutual.
Also, splendid work on the shirt.
I'll buy 10.

12-10-2009, 02:14 PM
Ok, so I bought 1.

So far.

23-10-2009, 01:08 PM
My BBBBHBAS shirt arrived today.
God damn it's sexy.

Keep the dream alive people.

http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii283/brightblue462/beardtron.png

23-10-2009, 01:14 PM
My BBBBHBAS shirt arrived today.
God damn it's sexy.

Keep the dream alive people.

[/IMG]

How do I get one? I'm sure it's on this thread somewhere, but there's a lot of posts!

23-10-2009, 01:58 PM
Click this link: http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/3895237-1-the-greatest-woof-post-of-all-time-on-a-t-shirt

23-10-2009, 02:08 PM
How do I get one? I'm sure it's on this thread somewhere, but there's a lot of posts!

Depends on which one you want:

Chins without beards deserve no honour (http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/2959773-4-chins-without-beards-deserve-no-honour)

The people's beard (http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/3716288-2-the-peoples-beard-finals-2009)

23-10-2009, 02:15 PM
Depends on which one you want:

Chins without beards deserve no honour (http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/2959773-4-chins-without-beards-deserve-no-honour)

The people's beard (http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/3716288-2-the-peoples-beard-finals-2009)

Oh, no honour, no doubt.

It's hard to go past the Confuscian message.

23-10-2009, 02:26 PM
Oh, no honour, no doubt.

It's hard to go past the Confuscian message.

I own both and they're glorious - I've considered wearing both at the same time but was scared of the freightening power that may bring.

23-10-2009, 02:29 PM
I own both and they're glorious - I've considered wearing both at the same time but was scared of the freightening power that may bring.

I wore both yesterday & Rodney Eade rang me!

23-10-2009, 02:37 PM

Behold the power of the Beard!

23-10-2009, 03:07 PM
Furtanken is the only one who owns all three!

23-10-2009, 08:42 PM

Wow thats impressive. What kind of freight does it give you the ability to transport?

23-10-2009, 10:08 PM
Wow thats impressive. What kind of freight does it give you the ability to transport?

Cargo ships, mainly. And combi vans.

23-10-2009, 11:27 PM

no doubt a heavy weight to bear alone

23-10-2009, 11:30 PM
Do we have a image of the shirt that is available to us now ?

23-10-2009, 11:47 PM

TCD, would seem you don't need to wear your BHBAS Tees for Rodney to call you for a chat ;)

25-10-2009, 07:35 PM
I wore one of my BHBAS t-shirts to the soccer last night. I took TCP along & when I got there I saw it was $20 for adults & $10 for kids.

Expecting to pay $30 I was in the queue when this bloke approached me wanting to know where he could get a BHBAS t-shirt?

I explained & noticed he was attending with his son. We then pooled resources, bought a family ticket for $40 & both saved $10.

I'm seriously thinking it has magical powers, please tell me it's so FDOTM!

25-10-2009, 10:02 PM
I wore one of my BHBAS t-shirts to the soccer last night. I took TCP along & when I got there I saw it was $20 for adults & $10 for kids.

Expecting to pay $30 I was in the queue when this bloke approached me wanting to know where he could get a BHBAS t-shirt?

I explained & noticed he was attending with his son. We then pooled resources, bought a family ticket for $40 & both saved $10.

Poof ;)

25-10-2009, 10:15 PM
Maybe we were all stunned by the magnificence of Hall with a beard?

Dont you mean the Beard with Barry Hall?

25-10-2009, 10:50 PM
Dont you mean the Beard with Barry Hall?

Do you mean the beard who teamed up with Ben Hudson for the 2009 season? I assumed Hall had found his own beard partner but if he were to team up with Hudson's beard the results could be amazing.

25-10-2009, 11:49 PM
Do you mean the beard who teamed up with Ben Hudson for the 2009 season? I assumed Hall had found his own beard partner but if he were to team up with Hudson's beard the results could be amazing.

Apparently the Beard (Ben's) has a relative from Northern Europe, real old school beard. Remembering that Valhalla was the drinking hall for Nordic Gods and brave warriors who died whilst in Berserker mode in the heat of sacking and pillaging most of Europe, this Blond Beard saw the chin of Barry Hall as the most logical place to join his distant red relative in once again instilling fear through the power of the facial follicle. Scrolling through the AFL tribunal results for that special combination of voracious violence and jutting jawline, one name kept reappearing to the Blond Beard time and again. After doing a quick Google photo search to ensure that the chin of Barry Hall was vacant and that Hall was physically of stature to to do the umost damage possible to appease the bloodlust within, the Blond Beard approached Hall during his most recent hooking hiatus and a deal was struck.
The Blond Beard and Barry Hall would unite if Hall left his current club. This was mainly due to the Beards' distaste to battling for a standard that was basically sissy swan with a long scrawny neck, ideal for wringing. The Beard suggested getting in contact with his former commander, Rodney Eade to join his troops as he knew this would also solve the vexations of getting to play with his 'rang relo from Oz plus having the Proud Bulldog as the flag that rallies the team, beard and bloke alike.

Now let us all hope that this paragraphs above can truly be true. Sort of, bits of it, you know what I mean?

26-10-2009, 10:14 AM

You forgot to mention that those magical powers enabled you to bump in to me at Etihad.

26-10-2009, 11:04 AM
You forgot to mention that those magical powers enabled you to bump in to me at Etihad.
That they did!

26-10-2009, 02:28 PM
Apparently the Beard (Ben's) has a relative from Northern Europe, real old school beard. Remembering that Valhalla was the drinking hall for Nordic Gods and brave warriors who died whilst in Berserker mode in the heat of sacking and pillaging most of Europe, this Blond Beard saw the chin of Barry Hall as the most logical place to join his distant red relative in once again instilling fear through the power of the facial follicle. Scrolling through the AFL tribunal results for that special combination of voracious violence and jutting jawline, one name kept reappearing to the Blond Beard time and again. After doing a quick Google photo search to ensure that the chin of Barry Hall was vacant and that Hall was physically of stature to to do the umost damge possible to appease the bloodlust within, the Blond Beard approached Hall during his most recent hooking hiatus and a deal was struck.
The Blond Beard and Barry Hall would unite if Hall left his current club. This was mainly due to the Beards' distaste to battling for a standard that was basically sissy swan with a long scrawny neck, ideal for wringing. The Beard suggested getting in contact with his former commander, Rodney Eade to join his troops as he kew this would also solve the vexations of getting to play with his 'rang relo from Oz plus having the Proud Bulldog as the flag that rallies the team, beard and bloke alike.

Now let us all hope that this paragraphs above can truly be true. Sort of, bits of it, you know what I mean?

Awesome origin story. Now we just need him to get a beard.

26-10-2009, 05:30 PM

I don't actually own the finals version.

Please don't think any less of me.

29-10-2009, 10:31 AM
Edit: The BHBAS sure does get around. This is on the Seattle Space Needle

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs028.snc3/11563_205561227574_801917574_4152540_4962074_n.jpg

17-11-2009, 01:59 PM
Did anyone see the TShirt appear on MTV? My daughter pointed it out to me, a WOOFER being interviewed.

17-11-2009, 02:06 PM
I wear mine at least once or twice a week - it never fails to elicit a reaction.

17-11-2009, 08:46 PM
I don't actually own the finals version.

Please don't think any less of me.

You are dead to me

18-11-2009, 12:57 PM
NB, looking at a photo in today's paper, i see the beard lives on!

Was a big danger that he would be de-bearded for Hudson's wedding, but no!

Hooray!

18-11-2009, 05:57 PM
NB, looking at a photo in today's paper, i see the beard lives on!

Was a big danger that he would be de-bearded for Hudson's wedding, but no!

Hooray!

Would love if someone can link me to this pic/article!? :D

18-11-2009, 06:04 PM
Ordered the aqua "Chins without beards..." shirt today - when I read they have mystical powers it became an easy decision!

Will there be a wedding edition FDOTM?

18-11-2009, 06:40 PM
I saw one of these shirts on channel v the other day. I think they were at a music festival in Perth.

18-11-2009, 08:42 PM
Ordered the aqua "Chins without beards..." shirt today - when I read they have mystical powers it became an easy decision!

Will there be a wedding edition FDOTM?

Absolutely magnificent idea !!!

Maybe FDOTM could super-impose Cooney's wedding day hat on the Bearded One's head

Sensational idea LongWait ;)

18-11-2009, 09:24 PM
Absolutely magnificent idea !!!

Maybe FDOTM could super-impose Cooney's wedding day hat on the Bearded One's head

Sensational idea LongWait ;)

Cooney's wedding day hat deserves it's own testimonial shirt - or better still - hat!

22-11-2009, 03:51 PM
How long do the shirts take to arrive once ordered? Want to wear one to Braybrook's Big Backyard next weekend.

22-11-2009, 04:19 PM
How long do the shirts take to arrive once ordered? Want to wear one to Braybrook's Big Backyard next weekend.

Don'.t worry, Looked at redbubble and ordered a nice teal T. Have to find something else to wear to Braybrook's Big Backyard though.:(

24-11-2009, 12:12 AM
Would love if someone can link me to this pic/article!? :D

Sorry bloke, long since re-cycled.

Has a few photos of Cooney's tough-stickers and the beard was in the background.

24-11-2009, 02:04 PM
The beard dominates

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/420_bulldogs_2111-420x0.jpg

06-12-2009, 12:05 AM
Here you all go, a snap of Huddo, the Beard and the newest member of the family, the Mohawk. I wonder what the outcome will be from the gathering of these three mighty powers?

06-12-2009, 01:15 AM
I worry that the mohawk my attempt a cou de tau in an attempt to overthrow the beard in a power struggle should the mohawk gain too much power. This is a situation we should all monitor closely as we need Hudson's head united again this season to achieve premiership success and if the eyes join the mohawk while the ears join the beard we may have a situation where Hudson loses all sense and becomes comatose until the internal struggle is over. Should the powers unite however he may gain new, unknown senses and begin a new race of superhumans who are great at football.

06-12-2009, 09:41 AM
I worry that the mohawk my attempt a cou de tau in an attempt to overthrow the beard in a power struggle should the mohawk gain too much power. This is a situation we should all monitor closely as we need Hudson's head united again this season to achieve premiership success and if the eyes join the mohawk while the ears join the beard we may have a situation where Hudson loses all sense and becomes comatose until the internal struggle is over. Should the powers unite however he may gain new, unknown senses and begin a new race of superhumans who are great at football.

Very nice.

06-12-2009, 09:51 AM

Especially if the Mohawk has a bit of colour on game days!!

P,s, Let us hope there is no fighting for control like the leadership of the Libs!!!!

BRING IT ON
06-12-2009, 10:02 AM
Well if he's going to keep " Mohawk Von Doom " he has to dye it red so it can compete on equal terms with " El Beardo the Imponente " :D

( Spanish - Imponente m and f (m and f plural imponenti) 1. imposing, large, impressive, magnificent )

06-12-2009, 06:35 PM
Is this Huddo showing his enormous respect and bowing to Da Druids style?

08-12-2009, 08:55 PM
Does the Beard have any kids?

RmFnarFSj_U

09-12-2009, 09:41 PM
Is this Huddo showing his enormous respect and bowing to Da Druids style?

I'l ask him when I get him to sign my TBHBAS CWBDNR in Teal T-shirt that has just arrived!!

I know what I''m wearing to the Inside the Kennel Christmas Show.:D

19-12-2009, 09:39 AM
I think we should organise a gathering during the season of all Society members. A seething, rolling, raucous gathering of Society shirted, Beard(ed?) believers arriving en masse would strike fear and fright in all opponents and opposition fans alike. Can I have a seconder?

19-12-2009, 10:37 AM
Can I have a seconder?

I second the motion.

19-12-2009, 10:39 AM
I second the motion.

All those for;

http://images.clipartof.com/small/28291-Clipart-Illustration-Of-Rows-Of-Black-And-Gray-Silhouetted-People-Holding-Their-Hands-Up-In-A-Crowd-At-A-Music-Concert.jpg

19-12-2009, 10:42 AM
And against;

http://wifi-pirate.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/sandlot.jpg

19-12-2009, 10:44 AM
I declare the motion carried!

http://rodonline.typepad.com/rodonline/images/2008/06/09/20080609puertoricanrparade9.jpg

19-12-2009, 11:43 AM
Thanks, TD. Do you think I should start the motion as a new thread to get member's attention?

19-12-2009, 02:48 PM
Thanks, TD. Do you think I should start the motion as a new thread to get member's attention?

I sure do.

And I would quote the relevant posts in the OP of the new thread as well, just so other posters know what we are talking about.

21-12-2009, 04:17 AM
I thought it rather fitting (even to the point where I snorted out loud) that DaDruid had post #666 ... nothing to do with DaDruid himself, more that the early Druids were known for ritual and sacrifices

No offence Dadruid (as later Druids were known for their use of poetic verse ... something you're very proud of)

21-12-2009, 11:24 AM
I thought it rather fitting (even to the point where I snorted out loud) that DaDruid had post #666 ... nothing to do with DaDruid himself, more that the early Druids were known for ritual and sacrifices

No offence Dadruid (as later Druids were known for their use of poetic verse ... something you're very proud of)

666 is a christian tenet. The Druids would be appalled!

29-12-2009, 01:04 AM
Don'.t worry, Looked at redbubble and ordered a nice teal T. Have to find something else to wear to Braybrook's Big Backyard though.:(

Teal should never be worn in Braybrook!!

30-12-2009, 09:21 PM

None taken, didn.t realise that you were watching the meter. But druids were quite superstitous about many things to do with numbers, Dates, distances, design and construction in the Druidic times(Pict Era), had influence from dynastic and local superstitions. It was an integral part of the daily life of a druid as much as any based on apothocaric, astronomic and mathematic understandings.

30-12-2009, 09:27 PM
Teal should never be worn in Braybrook!!
I don't have a problem with loud colours(except any pink on any man). Gotta be brave to be bold. And like I'm a shrinking violet at the best of times!!

30-12-2009, 09:38 PM
666 is a christian tenet. The Druids would be appalled!

Druids(Celtic Era) were, to the greater part, wiped out upon arrival of the Romans. This was due to the Roman Empire recognising that it was the Druids who could get the Celtic tribes to unite as one against the same Empire that would play a role in the execution of a bloke called Jesus. Full circle from Druids to Christ.

31-12-2009, 07:53 AM
I see Ben Hudson's Beard gets a mention in the Age today.

Quite funny how Mohammad Yousuf's beard gets a message from Ben Hudsons Beard wanting him to leave town.

31-12-2009, 09:37 AM
Page 5 of the sports section of The Age for those who want to have a gander. There also happens to be a large photo to the left of Yousuf's beard being smothered by his chin-strap for those who need a comparison.

31-12-2009, 01:14 PM
I'll be spending NYE in the apartment next door to the abode of the great bearded one.
I'll be nice and leave the poor fella & family alone (if he's home at all anyway).

05-01-2010, 06:42 PM
I see Ben Hudson's Beard gets a mention in the Age today.

Quite funny how Mohammad Yousuf's beard gets a message from Ben Hudsons Beard wanting him to leave town.

Im in an Age free zone - got a scan or link?

06-01-2010, 03:59 PM
See what I do for you people. Click on the link below

http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/chucker-20091230-lk08.html

06-01-2010, 07:12 PM
Thanks SotS, hadn't seen it and I am not in an Age free zone! ;)

10-01-2010, 06:03 PM
Comrades.

We do need to plan for the coming year and our role in suporting The Beard as it undertakes Operation Win The Flag Or Shave Trying.

Obviously this requires a new and/or updated shirt.

Or does it?

Interesting.

We have two heart breakingly beautiful designs. Either of which could be upgraded to with a 2010 focus. Or not! We could even get a case of SPANISH BEARD MADNESS and come up with a whole new one! ZOMG! The possibilities are as endless as The Beard's journey through time and space.

It is hard to go past the classics though.

A follicular dilemma.

Ideas?

10-01-2010, 06:09 PM
^^^

Yes, a 2010 t-shirt sounds like a jolly good idea.

10-01-2010, 07:36 PM
A new beardy design for 2010 sounds great!

10-01-2010, 08:40 PM
So there will be Beard 2010 and Beard Classic. Sounds good.

10-01-2010, 09:45 PM
Like a membership slogan, maybe the new tshirt can include a slogan on the front or even back

2010 - Get behind the beard

11-01-2010, 02:03 AM
I like the idea of the slogan on the back

maybe ...

The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society
Honouring Hudson's Hirsuteness
since 2009

11-01-2010, 09:49 AM
What a great suggestion Scraggers. I think that is definately a runner for the 2010 t-shirt update. The current shirt doens't need a total overhaul. Just like footy jumpers which change minimally from year to year.

11-01-2010, 12:06 PM
In 2010 we take the oath,
Win the flag and praise the growth.

12-01-2010, 06:08 PM
You show me facial hair,
I will show you honour.

:confused:

12-01-2010, 06:13 PM
In beard we trust.

12-01-2010, 06:22 PM
Hirsute is Beaut'!

12-01-2010, 06:25 PM
Hair is such an honourable thing,
When grown ear to ear via the chin.

12-01-2010, 06:31 PM
Won't matter what shirt is worn to Day Out With the Beard event either, I take it?

12-01-2010, 06:50 PM
Won't matter what shirt is worn to Day Out With the Beard event either, I take it?

Is that a suggestion or a question? :p

12-01-2010, 08:24 PM
Is that a suggestion or a question? :p

Both, I rhink.

13-01-2010, 12:02 AM
The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society
Recognising facial follicular fantasticness since 2009.

I like "In Beard We Trust."

13-01-2010, 09:06 AM

me too

13-01-2010, 10:10 AM

I too do like it. Like the hair on my chin, it has grown on me.

16-01-2010, 07:26 PM
Was looking for a pic of the new WCE clash jumper for another thread & discovered this. Are they on board do you think?

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/1755/eaglebeard.jpg

17-01-2010, 01:43 AM
Was looking for a pic of the new WCE clash jumper for another thread & discovered this. Are they on board do you think?

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/1755/eaglebeard.jpg

I had to recheck the thread to realize that's supposed to be a beard. I honestly thought some Freo fans had made a pic of the jumper with crap smeared on it.

17-01-2010, 12:52 PM
http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/1873/eadewithbeardcopy.jpg (http://img39.imageshack.us/i/eadewithbeardcopy.jpg/)

17-01-2010, 04:05 PM
http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/1873/eadewithbeardcopy.jpg (http://img39.imageshack.us/i/eadewithbeardcopy.jpg/)

How would Rocket be received if he fronted a news conference looking like that.:D

17-01-2010, 05:45 PM
Heard a rumour that the beard has been into preseason training in a big way and has been waylaying opposition midfielders it comes across; this story, see link to the AFL board (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/88700/default.aspx), sounds about as true as those coming out of Navy Filth park.

"Tripped over a fence" is this a euphemism for being beaten up by a beard.

18-01-2010, 12:33 AM
I no longer have my Ben Hudson Beard Appreciation Society T-Shirt. Well I have it but wont wear it again. I was wearing it with a shirt on NYE and things got a little crazy with friends! It was covered in beer. I thought that beer didn't stain, but apparently it does?!

18-01-2010, 09:53 PM
I no longer have my Ben Hudson Beard Appreciation Society T-Shirt. Well I have it but wont wear it again. I was wearing it with a shirt on NYE and things got a little crazy with friends! It was covered in beer. I thought that beer didn't stain, but apparently it does?!
Adds to the character of it.

21-01-2010, 02:41 PM

It's worth more now. We're the club of the working class. All clothing should smell of smokes, beer and fish & chips.

You could always tell people that those stains are from almost drowning. The strength of the motif saved you.

25-01-2010, 11:02 PM
WOO HOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Finally got my Shirt and one for my Son. He can proudly wear it around Brisbane and Promote the almighty Bearded one.

26-01-2010, 12:21 AM
Can we see an image of the shirt available now ?

26-01-2010, 11:13 PM
OK troops - I am having trouble finding a decent NEW photo to work from. There are some on the internet (although some are on pay sites).

What we need is a new beardy photo of Mr Hudson (preferably in full or three quarter profile).

Otherwise we will have to recycle, which might not be bad either but I think three is a good number to have.

If anyone has a good image, let me know. They do need to be decent resolution.

26-01-2010, 11:36 PM
OK troops - I am having trouble finding a decent NEW photo to work from. There are some on the internet (although some are on pay sites).

What we need is a new beardy photo of Mr Hudson (preferably in full or three quarter profile).

Otherwise we will have to recycle, which might not be bad either but I think three is a good number to have.

I've got a couple, but they're not great.
Can we wait until the start of the season?.... cause my hubby has his brand new camera and is using the footy to practice for his part time photography career with his dad (who is a major photgrapher for the cricket and the tennis!)..... and we have awesome close boundary seats so he'll be snapping away. He will be sure to get some wicked shots of the beard if we can wait that long!!!!
Actually, with a purpose in mind to catch the beard, we will try to get along to the intra club game in early Feb and get some then, that way it's much much earlier. Would that be ok?
Will let ya know if we get some beauties.

27-01-2010, 02:25 PM
LMAO :D this made me laugh lots..... :D

http://www.beardieweirdie.co.uk/blog/

27-01-2010, 08:01 PM

Try this link to a pic I took from open training day before Chrissy.

http://i995.photobucket.com/albums/af72/DaDruid_photos/Image00006.jpg

27-01-2010, 10:48 PM

Hey Druid man, Is a pretty poor excuse for a Mohawk Tho;)

28-01-2010, 02:08 PM

thanks!

it is pretty close but...

for the effect to work it needs to be just a bit beardier

also he looks like jim carrey - what?

hmmm

maybe we need to go with a different style?

28-01-2010, 02:09 PM
I'll see what I can come up with tomorrow at training.

28-01-2010, 02:34 PM
I'll come down too and see if I can get a better one as well. See you there TCD.

P.S. Does Huddo know about MKII?

28-01-2010, 02:55 PM
P.S. Does Huddo know about MKII?

You mean MK111.

MK1 was the inaugural one.

MK11 was the finals one.

28-01-2010, 03:01 PM
You mean MK111.

MK1 was the inaugural one.

MK11 was the finals one.

I was referring to the image. but I do take your point in that it will be BHBAS shirt MKIII.:o

28-01-2010, 04:05 PM
I was referring to the image. but I do take your point in that it will be BHBAS shirt MKIII.:o

MK1 & MK11 had different images.

http://ih1.redbubble.net/work.2959773.4.ts,482x482,silver,mens,fafafa.jpg

http://ih0.redbubble.net/work.3716288.2.ts,482x482,silver,mens,fafafa.jpg

28-01-2010, 05:45 PM
Those are good images because

1. He looks bad
2. His beard looks even badder

28-01-2010, 10:24 PM
I may have to RENT _ A _ BEARD for the Richmond game:D

28-01-2010, 10:51 PM
I may have to RENT _ A _ BEARD for the Richmond game:D

I'll see if I can find that 'hair-in-a-can' stuff tomorrow whilst I find my Storm navy blue hair colour that I still haven't got. Do you want your beard in red or something that will match what's left on top?;)

29-01-2010, 09:42 AM
I'll see if I can find that 'hair-in-a-can' stuff tomorrow whilst I find my Storm navy blue hair colour that I still haven't got. Do you want your beard in red or something that will match what's left on top?;)

When I did my presentation to the players on the Beard Association I tried to find "40 comedy beards" as I wanted to present them to everyone on the day. Now that would have been funny. The entire western bulldogs team with big red beards in honour of huddo.

If anyone knows where to get large numbers of cheap comedy beards let us know! There was a beard stall in palestine in Life of Brian, but that is the only one I have ever seen.

29-01-2010, 10:31 AM
$9.50 each at http://www.centrestagecostumes.com/access.html

I'm not sure if they're bushy enough to do the great man justice.

29-01-2010, 11:06 AM
Just took a few snaps of the bearded one. I'll post them later. Interesting that Bob Murphy suggested that the beard may be no more! I asked the great man about it & he assured me he was just winding Murph up. Murph had told him it wasn't his decision to make, it was the people's beard & as such needed a referendum of the people!

29-01-2010, 02:03 PM
OK here is the next idea.

International Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Day

We pick a round later in the year, a slightly boring one...say round 17 or something.
We source comedy Ned Kelly style red beards at cost and sell them for charity - say $20?

I am sure we could get Huddo to nominate a charity that people would get behind, the Royal Children's or even something hairy would be good - we have missed the Shave Day but that sort of thing.

And we all wear them to the game and look like idiots (unless we look like Huddo in which case we will look like GODS!) - if you could get say 200 people at etihad wearing a big charity raising beard for IBHBAD it would be huge. Huge! And more importantly, it would be hilarious.

We could try to get the club behind it in some way - obviously if they could sell the beards at the shop that would be best, but even if they just let Huddo speak publicly about it or something. Anyway, you get the idea.

Suggestions?

29-01-2010, 04:21 PM
Here are 3 pics I took this morning. I have emailed them to you FDOTM in their original size.

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/H1.jpg

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/H2.jpg

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/H3.jpg

29-01-2010, 04:41 PM
Nice shooting, TCD.

How did they look on the track?

29-01-2010, 04:49 PM
Nice shooting, TCD.

Didn't stick about for too long, had to go into work, so just played snapparazzi for a bit, chatted with Da Druid & Cathy, TCP bought his new jumper, resplendent with #14 & then we left.

I was primarily there to get a pic of Ben in all his beardishness.

30-01-2010, 09:34 AM

We pick a round later in the year, a slightly boring one...say round 17 or something.
We source comedy Ned Kelly style red beards at cost and sell them for charity - say $20?

I am sure we could get Huddo to nominate a charity that people would get behind, the Royal Children's or even something hairy would be good - we have missed the Shave Day but that sort of thing.

And we all wear them to the game and look like idiots (unless we look like Huddo in which case we will look like GODS!) - if you could get say 200 people at etihad wearing a big charity raising beard for IBHBAD it would be huge. Huge! And more importantly, it would be hilarious.

We could try to get the club behind it in some way - obviously if they could sell the beards at the shop that would be best, but even if they just let Huddo speak publicly about it or something. Anyway, you get the idea.

Suggestions?

I have found that if you approach a business with a charitable idea that includes their products, it is not that difficult to convince them to support it via donation of goods or at worst, cost price. Once you explain to them how they can claim it via the DGR (Deductable Gift Recipient) status of the charity and their company logo prominent in and on any promotional material, companies are pretty quick to get on board.
And if you are after ideas for a charity, the man I often credit with finally getting me to have a good look at myself so I could have a future, Les Twentyman, was at Whitten Oval doing a media launch for The Twentieth Man yesterday. It provides books, school supplies etc, for underprivilidged children and teens. I know it could do with a little support and it does have DGR status.

Opinions?

30-01-2010, 10:42 AM
Nice shooting, TCD.

I arrived a liitle bit after they had started. had chat with TCD and TCP. Pic of The Beard already taken care of so went and caught up with Les Twentyman for a bit. Later, took a few pics but not able to post them from current location (Soon, my pretties! Soon!).

Good intensity across the park as the team went through their paces. Very impessed with the competitiveness during the second/third efforts drill. A lot of body on body and no beg your pardons. Do not doubt that BBBBH's black eye will not only one before the start of the season. A couple of AFL umpires worked with the squad for some time on some game scenarios and what their interpretations would be this season. A short practice match with some silky skills shown by Bob, Sticky and Missy on some F50 entries. Prato caught my eye on occasion with a timely shepherd but disappointed with a lolly on goal when 20m in the clear and no one in front of him. I think his eyes lit up like a politician in a room full of perks! ;) He did repent with strong grab and sharp smart handball after that though. The Eagle walked a few laps in his recovery program. Hope this appeases some appetites. Will post a few pics when I can.

30-01-2010, 01:17 PM
Hello!!!

I've supplied the pics, anyone know where a good for nothing crayon aficionado is hiding?

We want our t-shitrts & we want 'em now! ;)

30-01-2010, 01:27 PM

Suggestions?

Great idea, happy to support it for charity

30-01-2010, 02:33 PM
A few pics of Les Twentyman and co at Twentieth Man media event yesterday. Of course it should be The Beards' choice of charity but always up to do what I can for Les. Forever indebted to the bloke.

http://s995.photobucket.com/albums/af72/DaDruid_photos/training%20pics%20Jan29/The%20Twentieth%20Man/

30-01-2010, 04:09 PM
Ok here is this year's shirt.

http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/4470/work45644411ts482x482si.jpg

The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society Merchandise Collective (T-Shirt sub-committee) have gone for simplicity this time.

This year we plan to let The Beard do the talking.

Let us know what you think, changes can be made if they are critical or nobody wants to buy it like this.

Thanks to TCD for the photo. (Turns out there is a use for him after all! Who knew?!

Here is your linky:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/4564441-1-in-beard-we-trust

30-01-2010, 04:21 PM
Thank you FDOTM, much appreciated.

Went for the grass green one this time.

30-01-2010, 04:22 PM
Looks like we're not changing it. Just sold the first one.

That was the 138th BHBAS t-shirt sold.

31-01-2010, 12:40 PM
A few pics of Les Twentyman and co at Twentieth Man media event yesterday. Of course it should be The Beards' choice of charity but always up to do what I can for Les. Forever indebted to the bloke.

http://s995.photobucket.com/albums/af72/DaDruid_photos/training%20pics%20Jan29/The%20Twentieth%20Man/

Great to see him up and about, we nearly lost him not so long ago.

31-01-2010, 01:38 PM
Hibernian (Grass) Green version of the 2010 model.

Nice.

31-01-2010, 01:50 PM
Pink one - very nice

31-01-2010, 05:42 PM
Good work FDOTM!

And hooray for "in beard we trust"

01-02-2010, 03:10 PM
Cha-ching!

01-02-2010, 04:39 PM
Cha-ching!

You mean Cha-chin !:D

03-02-2010, 10:42 PM
Just went cha-ching with a large, long sleeved red,
Ideal for those with a Beard, that is well bred.

04-02-2010, 10:10 AM
Does a goatee pass as a beard?

04-02-2010, 10:17 AM
Does a goatee pass as a beard?

A 'goatee' is actuactually a syntactical shortening. The full description is "goatee beard". Hope this helps.

04-02-2010, 02:18 PM
Ok here is this year's shirt.

http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/4470/work45644411ts482x482si.jpg

The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society Merchandise Collective (T-Shirt sub-committee) have gone for simplicity this time.

This year we plan to let The Beard do the talking.

Let us know what you think, changes can be made if they are critical or nobody wants to buy it like this.

Thanks to TCD for the photo. (Turns out there is a use for him after all! Who knew?!

Here is your linky:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/firstdog/t-shirts/4564441-1-in-beard-we-trust

NICE :) Just bought a couple! Thanks FDOTM and TCD for the pic!!

04-02-2010, 02:21 PM

Suggestions?

Excellent idea! Would be HUGE if we could get the right people the promote it....get it on radio etc....

04-02-2010, 02:36 PM
Fake beards for sale online - maybe they can get a bulk lot in or something??

http://www.partiesonline.com.au/index.php?osCsid=0398b8b1ab7baf68141d4cf21844d696&cPath=35_121

04-02-2010, 03:51 PM
A 'goatee' is actuactually a syntactical shortening. The full description is "goatee beard". Hope this helps.

Well i pass as a beard then woohoo

05-02-2010, 08:33 AM
2 more bought!

06-02-2010, 03:30 PM
OK Beardlings! Beardettes? What are we? Beardophiles? Beardists? The Beard Army? The Beard Brigade? Los Beardistas!

Got a luke warm response on here to:

International Ben Hudson's Beard Day - Boo Hiss bum fluff to you all

But then Godoggies gave it the thumbs up and she knows someone who knows murph!

And then talking to Comrade and TCD at the intra club this morning they are keen - we are thinking of finding a B charity and calling it something like....

wait for it...

Beards for Bowel Cancer!

or even

Beards for Babies!

we could go environmental and call it

Beards for Bilbies

You get the idea - something like that.

I don't think Beards for Breast Cancer is quite the thing though.

Anyway, it is on. I am going to write it up into a kind of White Paper/proposal thingy so we have something to show the club/huddo/rocket etc and get them on board. Obviously we can do it without the club, but it would be good to do it with them. We can't really do it without Huddo but obviously he doesn't have to actually do anything just say yes and not shave before round 17.

I was thinking we could ask Robert Murphy if he would be the Patron of The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society. I suspect he might be quite keen and I think it is funnier if the patron is not actually Ben Hudson.

But I digress, we mainly need people from Woof who are willing to DO THE ACTUAL WORK. I am far too busy and important to do anything other than come up with the idea and take the credit.

So...

Let us know what you think of Beards for Babies Day (or whatever) and

GET ON BOARD WITH THE BEARD OR SHAVE OFF!

ahahhahahaha

06-02-2010, 03:32 PM
Also - we have sold 12 of the new shirts already!

And if the charity thing gets off the ground, I will put the price of the shirts up (at the moment I get nothing from the sale of them) and we can donate the extra to whichever charity it is.

06-02-2010, 03:36 PM
I'll order mine tomorrow. Hopefully this one doesn't get destroyed.

06-02-2010, 03:50 PM
OK Beardlings! Beardettes? What are we? Beardophiles? Beardists? The Beard Army? The Beard Brigade? Los Beardistas!

Got a luke warm response on here to:

International Ben Hudson's Beard Day - Boo Hiss bum fluff to you all

But then Godoggies gave it the thumbs up and she knows someone who knows murph!

And then talking to Comrade and TCD at the intra club this morning they are keen - we are thinking of finding a B charity and calling it something like....

wait for it...

Beards for Bowel Cancer!

or even

Beards for Babies!

we could go environmental and call it

Beards for Bilbies

You get the idea - something like that.

I don't think Beards for Breast Cancer is quite the thing though.

Anyway, it is on. I am going to write it up into a kind of White Paper/proposal thingy so we have something to show the club/huddo/rocket etc and get them on board. Obviously we can do it without the club, but it would be good to do it with them. We can't really do it without Huddo but obviously he doesn't have to actually do anything just say yes and not shave before round 17.

I was thinking we could ask Robert Murphy if he would be the Patron of The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society. I suspect he might be quite keen and I think it is funnier if the patron is not actually Ben Hudson.

But I digress, we mainly need people from Woof who are willing to DO THE ACTUAL WORK. I am far too busy and important to do anything other than come up with the idea and take the credit.

So...

Let us know what you think of Beards for Babies Day (or whatever) and

GET ON BOARD WITH THE BEARD OR SHAVE OFF!

ahahhahahaha

Sounds good! As you know I'll help in anyway I can, just let me know what's needed.
And yes I do know (well have a distant association with) one of Murph's friends (who was his ex-housemate) And I do have a direct line of contact with Murph himself (not that it's certain to get any responce!) so I can give it a try if you all think it's worth it?

Beards for Babies LMAO :D imagine we could have little mini-beards for sale! hahahaha

06-02-2010, 03:58 PM
OK
Beards for Babies!

Beards for Babies LMAO :D imagine we could have little mini-beards for sale! hahahaha

Beards for babies is good.

06-02-2010, 07:39 PM
I think that day out with the beard society will be a good step, whether its round 2 against Richmond or another away game..If we sit together the beard society could get a glimpse via radio and/or tv coverage. This would be a good way to promote the Beard for Babies day..make sure people know its going to be for a good cause..

07-02-2010, 08:46 AM
How about 'Beards for Books' via the Twentieth Man?

07-02-2010, 10:07 AM
How about 'Beards for Books' via the Twentieth Man?

Sounds like a good idea Druid, especially after reading the article last week about Les

09-02-2010, 07:13 PM
I'll be buying a red shirt next week.

09-02-2010, 07:14 PM
Also, Beards for Babies sounds good.

PS. Record winning reply - right here...