View Full Version : Celebrity Spotting

22-08-2009, 02:07 AM
...and I use the word "celebrity" fairly loosely.

Due to my stupidly leaving my membership card home, had to buy a ticket. Got a seat on Level 2, right next to the Medallion Club. Scanning the surrounds just before the game, spotted, sitting nearby :

- Danny Frawley
- Adrian Anderson
-Ricky Olarenshaw
- WOOF's very own Desipura!

Now, I know Olarenshaw has his knockers here on WOOF, but he spoke to me several times, going to and from the bar. And he was nice to me, so he's earned credits, in my book.

I often see Mark Seymour (ex-Hunnas singer) at the footy, but not tonight.

22-08-2009, 02:18 AM
At 3/4 time I met a miserable git in the toilets who bore an uncanny resemblance to firstdogonthemoon.

22-08-2009, 02:23 AM
At 3/4 time I met a miserable git in the toilets who bore an uncanny resemblance to firstdogonthemoon.

Damn, I was going to say firstdog too. He ditched his group for mine because I could sneak him into the reserved seat section on level 2. He left us at half time before returning again for the fourth quarter. We dominated all the quarters in which we were sitting together and got owned when we were apart. Perhaps we need to sit together for the good of the team.

22-08-2009, 02:23 AM
Oh, and I also had a pre-game chat/dinner in the Victory Room with a couple of woofers...

22-08-2009, 02:32 AM
Oh, and I also had a pre-game chat/dinner in the Victory Room with a couple of woofers...

I thought you were referring to me when you said celebrity :)

22-08-2009, 02:36 AM

remember I said it "loosely"! :)

22-08-2009, 12:25 PM
Now, I know Olarenshaw has his knockers here on WOOF, but he spoke to me several times, going to and from the bar. And he was nice to me, so he's earned credits, in my book.
I saw you talking to Ricky, was wondering what was going on there. Russell Gilbert was near us and everyone was giving him a "high five" after the great win!

22-08-2009, 02:00 PM
I saw you talking to Ricky, was wondering what was going on there. Russell Gilbert was near us and everyone was giving him a "high five" after the great win!

Yeah, didn't plan it, he just came past several times and was talking about our chances. Seemed OK to me...no such informal banter from AA and Spud.

Russell Gilbert cracks me up - a great Bulldog fan.

22-08-2009, 02:03 PM
I saw Trent Croad and some Hawks boys at Subway last week, presumably after a schools session.

Croad wanted to use his 'loyalty stamps card' for all the boys rolls, and did so he could get a free 6 inch next time. Boy were his teams mates giving him curry about being 'tight'. I suppose he only earns $250,000 a year :)

23-08-2009, 04:04 PM
Well.... We met Rocket, he signed Seb's hat. I bumped into Griffo and he gave Seb a Hi-5. I got a Hi-5from a couple of the boys after the game (not 100% sure who they were as it was so quick as they ran past - but think one was Josh. All I can tell you was they were hot sweaty hands :)). Oh and we celebrated the final siren with Mr Smorgon himself!! Hadn't seen him all game, then about 1 min before the final siren I turned around and he was suddenly sitting in the vacant seat next to me. Got a Hi-5 from one of his suited crony’s (not sure who he was though).
All in all an awesome night! Seb was invited by the dogs to be part of the guard of honor and they presented him with a signed ball, Dogs bag, Woofer toy and yet another sherrin.
I ended up with a sprained wrist after it all though - injured when I got on the train.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3523/3846935053_e60b624744.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3437/3846935093_3d6f3808ab.jpg
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2625/3846935139_8a45e4c5f4.jpg

23-08-2009, 05:17 PM
Hey Jodie, how did Seb enjoy all that? Must have had a smile on his face a mile wide?? I know I would have :D

23-08-2009, 05:33 PM
Hey Jodie, how did Seb enjoy all that? Must have had a smile on his face a mile wide?? I know I would have :D

Oh yeah :D you bet!! He had no idea it was happening, they asked us to keep it a surprise. He just thought we were going to the footy as normal (actually he was quite miffed that he had to miss basketball after school!!) And when we got there we had to wait for the Bulldogs staff to come get us and Seb couldn't work out why we weren't going to our seats - he was getting mad. But it was all worth it! He was so overwhelmed to begin with and even though he had a smile on his face he was very quiet, but once he relaxed he was having the time of his life for sure.
This is a pure joy and happiness in that smile that could not be contained as he stood at the race watching the boys warm up;
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2462/3847100259_6fb0cfcf74_m.jpg

23-08-2009, 05:51 PM
Celebrities? That guy off Neighbours who is a mad Bulldogs fan has been on level 1 a few times.

23-08-2009, 05:55 PM
Celebrities? That guy off Neighbours who is a mad Bulldogs fan has been on level 1 a few times.

Do you mean Jesse Spencer, also from House MD?

23-08-2009, 05:59 PM
I remember seeing Norman Yemm at the Western Oval years ago a few times.

23-08-2009, 06:39 PM

Do you mean Jesse Spencer, also from House MD?

Or Scott Major (Lucas on Neighbours now)...hes also a Bulldog fan,and is at games.

Have aslo seen Chris Ansty at games, hes pretty easy to spot...his height is a giveaway...

23-08-2009, 06:47 PM
Business trips, gotta love 'em.

I managed to be on the same plane as the majority of the team on their way back from Adelaide this year, I was behind Picken with Tom Williams and next to him and across the aisle next to me was the bald Eagle. I had a wander after the meal and Aker nearly talked my ear off, Crossy had a good chat too.

Two weeks ago, I was in the Melbourne airport at the Coffee shop drinking my hot chocolate next to Cometti, I really wanted to ask him how his coffee was...

23-08-2009, 06:51 PM
I really wanted to ask him how his coffee was...

I reckon he'd say it was half man half cappuccino.

23-08-2009, 07:28 PM
Seen Swervin' Mervin' (Merv Hughes) on Level 2 a few times - appears to sit on Level 2, around near the cheer squad end

Not been game to say hi... don't want my ear licked!! ;)

24-08-2009, 12:07 AM
2004 was lucky enough to get tickets to a president's dinner at a dogs v pies game
sat on the same table as campbell rose and eddie macquire and david smorgan.
Great night, only bad thing, dogs lost (N)

24-08-2009, 12:13 PM
Probably not quite celebrity, but Tom Harley and Steve Johnson walked past where I was standing (behind entrance to Aisle 5) on Friday night - and I use the term walking for Johnson very loosely - he was barely able to get a shuffle up - I'd suggest he's going to struggle to get up and play reasonable footy for the remainder of the year based on that (though Mark Thompson does say he walks like a 'crab')

24-08-2009, 01:06 PM
I thought I spotted Rocket up here in Brissy last weekend.
He was in the cafe I was walking into to grab a coffee.
As I got closer I was thinking "is that Rocket, nah, wait is it?"
I started getting a bit nervous.
Then I when I got close enough I realised it wasn't him.

On my way out I looked again just to be sure, and I started to think, what would I even say.
I came up with this:

"Hey um Rocket, big fan, love the dogs, could you please give me a spray"

24-08-2009, 01:54 PM
On my way out I looked again just to be sure, and I started to think, what would I even say.
I came up with this:

"Hey um Rocket, big fan, love the dogs, could you please give me a spray"

Haha. I wouldn't want one. "WHAT THE **** WAS THAT"?!?!

24-08-2009, 02:13 PM
I don't see many celebs up in the cheap seats for some reason. Did sit near William McInnes a few years back who I know is a big doggies supporter.

Laurie Lawrence sat behind me one time, unfortunately he didn't go nuts 88 olympics style.

24-08-2009, 03:20 PM
My daughter sat next to Henry White on Friday night. Doesn't get any bigger than that:D

24-08-2009, 04:10 PM
Damn, I was going to say firstdog too. He ditched his group for mine because I could sneak him into the reserved seat section on level 2. He left us at half time before returning again for the fourth quarter. We dominated all the quarters in which we were sitting together and got owned when we were apart. Perhaps we need to sit together for the good of the team.

Yes he stirred up the ferral Geelong supporters behind us with his disbelieving eyes after their innane comments about how the umpires are cheats. Then he left us after he successfully stirred up the hornets nest to a disturbing level. It was very enjoyable winning and sticking my fist up while looking at them though.

Celebrity spotting.....Seen a few this year. Seymour usually sits tv side level 3. obviously a keen dogs fan. Megan Gale and that bloke she's with at the captains bar was another.

i believe i even saw twodogs a few weeks back but i must of been imagining things as when i turned around at half time he was gone.

24-08-2009, 04:29 PM
Seen Swervin' Mervin' (Merv Hughes) on Level 2 a few times - appears to sit on Level 2, around near the cheer squad end

Not been game to say hi... don't want my ear licked!! ;)

Nah you'd be right, he only licked Alan Borders ears for memory.

He came to our cricket training one time, and have a chat in the rooms afterwards, a top bloke big Merv, would be awesome to be on tour in his group during the Ashes, along with Kerry O'Keefe.

I saw Drew Morphett in Pakenham, he apparently lives around that area.

24-08-2009, 04:35 PM
I don't see many celebs up in the cheap seats for some reason. Did sit near William McInnes a few years back who I know is a big doggies supporter.

Laurie Lawrence sat behind me one time, unfortunately he didn't go nuts 88 olympics style.

McInnes is a top bloke. He lives in the same street as me, not far from the Whitten Oval.

12-09-2009, 06:03 PM
After enjoying the win last night on Level 2, section N53 (great views of the ground, by the way!)... I was on my way out, waiting for the lift downstairs...and who should get priority access? None other than K-Rudd's 2IC, Julia Gillard. Almost gave her the standard "TAKE THE BLOODY STAIRS YOU LAZY !I*#($ ... but managed to restrain myself. Had to bloody wait though...

12-09-2009, 07:17 PM
After enjoying the win last night on Level 2, section N53 (great views of the ground, by the way!)... I was on my way out, waiting for the lift downstairs...and who should get priority access? None other than K-Rudd's 2IC, Julia Gillard. Almost gave her the standard "TAKE THE BLOODY STAIRS YOU LAZY !I*#($ ... but managed to restrain myself. Had to bloody wait though...

Love Julia and she is a great supporter of the club

12-09-2009, 07:32 PM

True, but she could've taken the stairs.. ;)

12-09-2009, 07:51 PM
True, but she could've taken the stairs.. ;)

Depends on what her security detail determine. There may be concerns with stairwell incidents, only reason I can think of.

12-09-2009, 07:57 PM
Depends on what her security detail determine. There may be concerns with stairwell incidents, only reason I can think of.

good point... I'm only being picky :)... if someone's gonna hog the lift when I'm waiting, may as well be the Deputy PM!

By the way, the bar area where my seat was is really good... think its the Betty Cuthbert Lounge, or something...

12-09-2009, 08:17 PM

Since When?????

She is as hard core a Bulldog Supporter as Rudd is with Brisbane.

13-09-2009, 12:39 AM
Since When?????

Just so far from true.

13-09-2009, 10:09 AM

Haha yeah I walked past her at the end of the game as well, all I could find on short notice was 'well done Julia' (??) We then had a chuckle seeing her article in the Herald Sun the following morning (was very dusty reading it)

I also introduced myself to AndrewP6 as well (we were in the same section of the Olympic)

13-09-2009, 05:09 PM
In addition to saying G'day to The Pie Man, I also passed by Paul Dimattina downstairs. Had his kids there, and to his credit - took the escalator upstairs! :)

13-09-2009, 06:09 PM
Since When?????

Incorrect she is as passionate supporter as any. She has been a member for quite a while and gs followed tem for as long as I remember.

13-09-2009, 06:35 PM
Pretty sure Rohan Smith walked out in front of us on Friday night, and the game against Geelong i saw Matty Robbins before i walked into the G...

13-09-2009, 07:05 PM
Pretty sure Rohan Smith walked out in front of us on Friday night, and the game against Geelong i saw Matty Robbins before i walked into the G...

My wife saw Rohan & his family outside the ground before the game on Friday night. Bubba was in deep discussion with Barry Hall.

13-09-2009, 07:08 PM
My wife saw Roan & his family outside the ground before the game on Friday night. Bubba was in deep discussion with Barry Hall.

That counts as two celebrities spotted! :)

13-09-2009, 10:03 PM
A couple of years ago my husband & I were at the casino. I'd had a couple of glasses of bubbly when we walked past Matthew Croft & his wife. I exclaimed "There's Crofty!!" a little too loudly. He just laughed. :o

13-09-2009, 10:11 PM
I looked up from my ipod somewhere around Blackburn station on the way to the game and found I was sitting across from Brett Montgomery.

13-09-2009, 10:25 PM
A couple of years ago my husband & I were at the casino. I'd had a couple of glasses of bubbly when we walked past Matthew Croft & his wife. I exclaimed "There's Crofty!!" a little too loudly. He just laughed. :o

Lovely guy.

Met him when I was Comm. Games volunteer - happy to stop and chat. Wife was happy to chat and show off the twins.

13-09-2009, 10:26 PM
I looked up from my ipod somewhere around Blackburn station on the way to the game and found I was sitting across from Brett Montgomery.

Now I am jealous.

14-09-2009, 10:49 AM
Saw Chris Antsey outside the ground on Friday night (he's pretty hard to miss). I know he's a doggies supporter and have actually seen him at games in the past.

14-09-2009, 11:09 AM

I too saw Brett Montgomery at one of our home games this year - can't remember which one! He was walking out with his son (who had a Bulldogs jumper on), and I said, "Hi Monty, great to see you here!" He said hello, and kept on going. Seemed a little embarrassed that someone had recognised him!

14-09-2009, 12:17 PM
My wife saw Roan & his family outside the ground before the game on Friday night. Bubba was in deep discussion with Barry Hall.

If you had of waited a couple of minutes I'm sure Johnno would have walked passed as well.:D

14-09-2009, 12:19 PM
Bumped into Bill Laurie in the local News agency a week or so ago.

14-09-2009, 12:24 PM
Charlie Sutton usually visits where my mum works, we see him often.

14-09-2009, 12:29 PM
Bumped into Bill Laurie in the local News agency a week or so ago.

Wouldnt want to bump into him too hard, he is built like Ian Redpath isnt he?

15-09-2009, 04:13 PM
Wouldnt want to bump into him too hard, he is built like Ian Redpath isnt he?

Built like a racing pidgeon.

22-09-2009, 10:31 PM
In today's Herald Sun, amongst the pics of all the suited up AFL players, and hot WAGS... there, in all her glory, one of my old high school teachers...blond hair, black dress (I think)...brought me down when compared to some of the other ladies in attendance...

08-05-2010, 03:05 AM
BUMP.

Tonight at the 'G... Going to the lift, Ponsford Stand, near the Ebeling Room... acting as my own personal lift attendant....none other, than WILLLBUR!!!!! Suited up, looking a million bucks... after staring weirdly at him for a few seconds, I quizzed him about his possible return to the seniors. Responded with "Next week hopefully. I've got to show some form this week though"... and then he pressed '1' for me.

Other suited-up Dogs I saw in the vicinity were Tim Callan, Eddie Prato, Patrick Rose. As if that wasn't excitement enough, also spotted Demons boss Jim Stynes (coming from the bar near my seat, with Cameron Schwab)... all in all, a busy night at the 'G!

Oh, and I'd be remiss not to include Da Druid, his star is growing brighter every day!
A quote from a fan "Are you that guy from The Footy Show?"

EDIT: Forgot, I also saw Liam Picken late in the game, woofing down on a roll (salad, I'm sure!)

Go Bulldogs Go
08-05-2010, 06:53 AM
Saw Tim Rogers from the band YOU AM I at the game against Melbourne tonight, told me he said he was going for the Bulldogs because his daughter is a Bulldog fan.

He was one of the four singers that did THE WHITE ALBUM in August last year, along with Chris Cheney from Living End, Phil Jamieson from Grinspoon & Josh Pyke, says they are taking the show to Japan.

08-05-2010, 09:55 AM
Walked into the warehouse at my work yesterday and had to do a double take - Scott Wynd talking to the WH manager : confirmed later it was definitely him, a waste management (or some such thing - I'm sure someone on here will know what) firm that's trying to get us to use his business.

08-05-2010, 10:00 AM
Saw William McInness at half time last night.

08-05-2010, 12:20 PM
My daughter and I saw TCD at half time although she became a little starstruck in the moment.

08-05-2010, 03:17 PM
My daughter and I saw TCD at half time although she became a little starstruck in the moment.

Did she like her WOOF cap?

08-05-2010, 03:29 PM
Did she like her WOOF cap?

Loves it. I to can vouch for the Woof cap - is far more than just a cap when worn in a tightly contested victory surrounded by a throng of red and blue silvertails.

08-05-2010, 05:47 PM
Walked into the warehouse at my work yesterday and had to do a double take - Scott Wynd talking to the WH manager : confirmed later it was definitely him, a waste management (or some such thing - I'm sure someone on here will know what) firm that's trying to get us to use his business.

Scott works (and owns) Superior Waste and I have recently helped him get a job for one of my clients, he came in 35% cheaper than the incumbent supplier.

09-05-2010, 05:00 PM

He meant me, I reckon. Gotta be close to the biggest celeb on woof, IMO:cool:

09-05-2010, 05:12 PM
Because I was on the ground for "Fields of Women" - got to see Julia Gillard with her doggies scarf around her neck and Kate Cebrano.

Awesome experience, ladies and gents think about supporting this wonderful cause next year.

Made it all the more special being with one of my friends who is a survivor of 15 years and another who has just got the all clear.

09-05-2010, 10:33 PM
Off the topic of the Bulldogs, but i spotted John Sammy Newman last year in my small home town of Hastings, woofing down some fish and chips with his family! :)

09-05-2010, 10:36 PM
He meant me, I reckon. Gotta be close to the biggest celeb on woof, IMO:cool:

No doubt about that; you're like WOOF's version of Paris Hilton ;)

09-05-2010, 10:41 PM
Off the topic of the Bulldogs, but i spotted John Sammy Newman last year in my small home town of Hastings, woofing down some fish and chips with his family! :)

Really? Wouldn't have thought Sam would "lower" himself to lunch in Hastings...no offence to Hastings or its residents! Just not a place I'd picture him...

09-05-2010, 11:37 PM
Really? Wouldn't have thought Sam would "lower" himself to lunch in Hastings...no offence to Hastings or its residents! Just not a place I'd picture him...

Oh come on! It's not THAT bad!
Everyone loves a nice little seaside town..
But then again, we are on the other side of Frankston..

09-05-2010, 11:44 PM

No it's not :) Wasn't a knock on Hastings, just seemed a long way from home for Sam...the fish and chips must be good!

09-05-2010, 11:56 PM
No it's not :) Wasn't a knock on Hastings, just seemed a long way from home for Sam...the fish and chips must be good!

Haha oh yes, the fish and chips from the place he got them are always good!
And i agree that this is a place id picture Sammy having his lunch.
Oh well, whatever floats his boat!

10-05-2010, 11:43 AM

Did you ask him about Da Druid's teeth?

10-05-2010, 12:02 PM
I fed Andrew Walker(a weekly occurrence so I don't know if this counts) and Lawrence Mooney from Einstein Factor(I had never heard of it??) this week.

10-05-2010, 12:05 PM
Did you ask him about Da Druid's teeth?

No I didnt unfortunately.
But he WAS with his family, so I didnt want to ruin his family time by getting in his face..

11-05-2010, 11:49 AM
No doubt about that; you're like WOOF's version of Paris Hilton ;)

Without the tarty make up!

01-01-2011, 12:06 PM
I don't normally name drop in my line of work, but I'm tipsy from way too much bubbly and this last week has been exceptional for celebrity "spotting", even for us, so here goes: was introduced to Bono's wife (Ali Hewson) on our first day in NY (we were in the next apartment), then saw Tina Fey when having dinner in the East Village.

Then had to go down to the Ed Sullivan Theatre on Thursday for some prep (was doing a Christmas in NY thing over the weekend)and who should show up but Matt Damon, who was lovely and posed for a few photos. We were back the next week and Dave had Jack Black on (and a couple of other guys but not so well known to Aussies), who was hilarious and sang with the band during the breaks.

I think Matt Damon generally beats anyone's celebrity spot (have been asking mates for a better one, I think only George Clooney levels it), but on a personal note, we've spent the last week in Spain with my wife's family, and yesterday went for lunch at Andres Iniesta's house in Fuentealbilla in Albacete. Soccer fans would know who he is, and along with Xavi, Andres is my favourite footballer in the world. It was a complete surprise -- he's from the same town as my wife's family, and everyone knows everyone in these small towns, and he was in town for a couple of days over the Christmas break -- his grandad also has a bar around the corner from his house and his photo is plastered all over it. Got my Spanish jersey signed and everything. We had tickets anyway to a Barcelona vs Malaga game on the 17th (I think), and he's invited us to come down to the rooms and everything a couple of hours before the game, so for a football fan in 2011, it just doesn't get any better -- Messi, Villa, Xavi etc. -- I've told my family and friends, but it's just all a bit surreal. I mean, before I got here I was thinking that the official tour of the Nou Camp would have been nice enough. Well, pretty crazy week so far!

Happy New Year WOOFers! Hope the Dogs break the drought this year!

01-01-2011, 01:10 PM
I think only George Clooney levels it), but on a personal note, we've spent the last week in Spain with my wife's family, and yesterday went for lunch at Andres Iniesta's house in Fuentealbilla in Albacete. Soccer fans would know who he is, and along with Xavi, Andres is my favourite footballer in the world. It was a complete surprise -- he's from the same town as my wife's family, and everyone knows everyone in these small towns, and he was in town for a couple of days over the Christmas break -- his grandad also has a bar around the corner from his house and his photo is plastered all over it. Got my Spanish jersey signed and everything. We had tickets anyway to a Barcelona vs Malaga game on the 17th (I think), and he's invited us to come down to the rooms and everything a couple of hours before the game, so for a football fan in 2011, it just doesn't get any better -- Messi, Villa, Xavi etc. -- I've told my family and friends, but it's just all a bit surreal. I mean, before I got here I was thinking that the official tour of the Nou Camp would have been nice enough. Well, pretty crazy week so far!

I couldn't give a fat rat's clacker about Matt Damon & George Clooney, but the Barca experience is just awesome Lantern! I'll bet you're still pinching yourself!

01-01-2011, 05:28 PM
Glad you're having a good time, Lantern!

02-01-2011, 10:49 AM
I couldn't give a fat rat's clacker about Matt Damon & George Clooney, but the Barca experience is just awesome Lantern! I'll bet you're still pinching yourself!

I am not into soccer that much but what an experience that is unreal (my girlfriend was not impressed by Matt Damon and she called you a barstard ) :)

03-01-2011, 11:23 PM
Shaun Higgins came into my work in Geelong the other day. He was with his mum, so I didn't bother him, but I was about to explode with excitement. When he left, I completely lost it but my workmates didn't care, cause they didn't know who he was.

I see Jimmy Bartel every week, and I always used to see Ablett and see Stokes and Taylor a lot, but it's not even exciting, cause they're just not my club. I see Geelong players everywhere. They're often out at the same clubs on weekends, too.

Ok, I lie, seeing Bartel is alright, cause he's pretty hot.

04-01-2011, 12:42 AM
Shaun Higgins came into my work in Geelong the other day. He was with his mum, so I didn't bother him, but I was about to explode with excitement. When he left, I completely lost it but my workmates didn't care, cause they didn't know who he was.

I see Jimmy Bartel every week, and I always used to see Ablett and see Stokes and Taylor a lot, but it's not even exciting, cause they're just not my club. I see Geelong players everywhere. They're often out at the same clubs on weekends, too.

Ok, I lie, seeing Bartel is alright, cause he's pretty hot.

I definitely would make an exception for getting excited about a player from another club if it was Jimmy Bartel.

04-01-2011, 10:44 AM

Careful, I love Frankston, even if the Saints are moving here.

04-01-2011, 10:55 AM
Because I was on the ground for "Fields of Women" - got to see Julia Gillard with her doggies scarf around her neck and Kate Cebrano.

Awesome experience, ladies and gents think about supporting this wonderful cause next year.

Made it all the more special being with one of my friends who is a survivor of 15 years and another who has just got the all clear.

Does that mean Kate barracks for the Dogs? Her step dad, my old mate is a Demon follower. He is now swallowed up by the Ceberano bandwagon and Scientology and I don't see him anymore.
I saw the man who wrote "the Holy Grail" song, Hunters and Collectors Mark Seymour at Etihad, with his Bulldogs scarf around his neck, still looking for the Grail as all we Bulldogs are.

04-01-2011, 10:59 AM
I don't normally name drop in my line of work, but I'm tipsy from way too much bubbly and this last week has been exceptional for celebrity "spotting", even for us, so here goes: was introduced to Bono's wife (Ali Hewson) on our first day in NY (we were in the next apartment), then saw Tina Fey when having dinner in the East Village.

Then had to go down to the Ed Sullivan Theatre on Thursday for some prep (was doing a Christmas in NY thing over the weekend)and who should show up but Matt Damon, who was lovely and posed for a few photos. We were back the next week and Dave had Jack Black on (and a couple of other guys but not so well known to Aussies), who was hilarious and sang with the band during the breaks.

I think Matt Damon generally beats anyone's celebrity spot (have been asking mates for a better one, I think only George Clooney levels it), but on a personal note, we've spent the last week in Spain with my wife's family, and yesterday went for lunch at Andres Iniesta's house in Fuentealbilla in Albacete. Soccer fans would know who he is, and along with Xavi, Andres is my favourite footballer in the world. It was a complete surprise -- he's from the same town as my wife's family, and everyone knows everyone in these small towns, and he was in town for a couple of days over the Christmas break -- his grandad also has a bar around the corner from his house and his photo is plastered all over it. Got my Spanish jersey signed and everything. We had tickets anyway to a Barcelona vs Malaga game on the 17th (I think), and he's invited us to come down to the rooms and everything a couple of hours before the game, so for a football fan in 2011, it just doesn't get any better -- Messi, Villa, Xavi etc. -- I've told my family and friends, but it's just all a bit surreal. I mean, before I got here I was thinking that the official tour of the Nou Camp would have been nice enough. Well, pretty crazy week so far!

Gee you've done well Lantern!!

Did you get to speak to Jack Black? I'd love to meet him, he seems to be down to earth & is a very funny man. :D

04-01-2011, 09:51 PM
Saw Kiera Knightly down at our local this (English) summer.

09-01-2011, 08:42 AM
I met a dog called Max whose owners were Gillies

23-01-2011, 05:26 PM
I probably sound like Grandpa Simpson but back in the 80s we played the Bombers at home and Mel Gibson, Paul Kelly and Tim Finn were sitting in the Whitten Stand as guests of Essendon. We gave them a mouthful on our way out as we lost and Salmon got about 6 goals from free kicks. I once sat next to Simon Beasley and Peter Foster at Princes Park in the 90's. Those were the days before stalking laws..

23-01-2011, 07:43 PM
I probably sound like Grandpa Simpson but back in the 80s we played the Bombers at home and Mel Gibson, Paul Kelly and Tim Finn were sitting in the Whitten Stand as guests of Essendon.

Remember that too, my wife was gobsmacked at the time seeing Mel Gibson up close.

23-01-2011, 08:20 PM
I probably sound like Grandpa Simpson but back in the 80s we played the Bombers at home and Mel Gibson, Paul Kelly and Tim Finn were sitting in the Whitten Stand as guests of Essendon. We gave them a mouthful on our way out as we lost and Salmon got about 6 goals from free kicks. I once sat next to Simon Beasley and Peter Foster at Princes Park in the 90's. Those were the days before stalking laws..

I grabbed Mel Gibson's autograph that day on a footy record.

The autograph was just a scribbled mess, but I maintain to the day that it is Mel's.

23-01-2011, 09:34 PM
I grabbed Mel Gibson's autograph that day on a footy record.

The autograph was just a scribbled mess, but I maintain to the day that it is Mel's.

Now Mel himself is a bit of a mess!

24-01-2011, 12:14 AM
I remember also, from memory I think it took a little while for people to realise it was mel, or maybe it was just me who didn't notice for a while.

24-01-2011, 12:19 PM
I always thought Andrew Purser looked like Mel

24-01-2011, 04:57 PM
Saw Ricky Nixon @ Etihad Stadium this morning at 8:10am

24-01-2011, 08:37 PM
Shaun Higgins came into work again, and this time I actually spoke to him. Well, he asked me a question.
I somehow controlled myself.

He's a baaaabe, but he does seem a bit dim.

24-01-2011, 09:41 PM
Saw Ricky Nixon @ Etihad Stadium this morning at 8:10am

Come on! Surely he does not count!

24-01-2011, 10:58 PM
Ana Ivanovic on Chapel Street last week

24-01-2011, 11:06 PM

That's winning so far :) Beats my sighting of Jooolia.

25-01-2011, 02:36 AM

Does Jimmy Wong on Barkly St yesterday outside his restaurant count? His dim sims are famous, that's for sure. :)

25-01-2011, 09:10 AM
Shaun Higgins came into work again, and this time I actually spoke to him. Well, he asked me a question.
I somehow controlled myself.

He's a baaaabe, but he does seem a bit dim.

Love this "he's a baaaabe" - I think maybe just very nice eye candy and we don't need to have an intellectual conversation with him, do we! I am So politically incorrect!:o

25-01-2011, 12:45 PM
I saw Venus Williams in an Australian Open car out the front of her hotel (which is very near my work) last week when I was getting lunch with a couple of my workmates. Another colleague saw her a couple of days earlier in the Vogue shopping plaza on Chapel St with thousands of her minders.

Not nearly as good as Higgins though.

25-01-2011, 03:02 PM
Does Jimmy Wong on Barkly St yesterday outside his restaurant count? His dim sims are famous, that's for sure. :)

That's a huge get. Jimmy hasnt set foot outside of his restaurant in decades!

25-01-2011, 03:16 PM
Just five minutes ago, nearly knocked over Paul Collingwood and Andrew Strauss in Hindley Street Adelaide. Should have lifted the elbow, I suppose.

If I didn't realise it before, I do now - I'm getting old because they look so young.

25-01-2011, 09:16 PM
just five minutes ago, nearly knocked over paul collingwood and andrew strauss in hindley street adelaide. Should have lifted the elbow, i suppose.

If i didn't realise it before, i do now - i'm getting old because they look so young.

Love it!!!!!

25-01-2011, 10:33 PM
That's a huge get. Jimmy hasnt set foot outside of his restaurant in decades!

Have a look on his wall next time you are there folks. Got a lovely little collection of Bulldog people and other personalities. Might even see me. ;)

27-01-2011, 10:53 AM
Went to see Billy Connolly the other night...spotted Dirk Nannes and a few lesser known Victorian Crickerters after the show!!

27-01-2011, 03:07 PM
Spotted Tom Williams (The Dancing with the Stars one) at the Aus Tennis Open yesterday.... as it was our annual ladies day out at the tennis yesterday, we were all kind of disappointed that he wasn't walking around with his shirt off. :)

27-01-2011, 04:04 PM
Went to the Aus Open last night to watch Nadal and Ferrer play. Decked out in Doggy clobber and with the Mohawk rocking, I made my to my seat. Who is in the same row on the other side of the aisle? Rodney 'Rocket' Eade. During a quick chat in a break of play, Rocket said we weren't the only Bulldogs there, motioning to David Smorgan who was watching from direclty behind the baseline a couple of aisles away. Unofficial Bulldog Convention. ;)

28-01-2011, 08:57 AM
Spotted Tom Williams (The Dancing with the Stars one) at the Aus Tennis Open yesterday.... as it was our annual ladies day out at the tennis yesterday, we were all kind of disappointed that he wasn't walking around with his shirt off. :)

BB - I can definitely understand your disappointment! ;)

28-01-2011, 12:26 PM
BB - I can definitely understand your disappointment! ;)

Yes MG - I thought you might! :) Quite a few people were approaching him for autographs and photos and to his credit he stopped and talked to everyone that spoke to him. Seems like a very nice person.

Ohh, we also saw Meike Buchan (Triple M) she was quite a hit with the guys.

29-01-2011, 01:17 PM
Yes MG - I thought you might! :) Quite a few people were approaching him for autographs and photos and to his credit he stopped and talked to everyone that spoke to him. Seems like a very nice person.

Ohh, we also saw Meike Buchan (Triple M) she was quite a hit with the guys.

I reckon she could be a drag queen!

18-06-2011, 06:27 PM
Spotted Caro in the lift last night. Could've made an effort to make space for her, but... ;)

18-06-2011, 06:33 PM
Spotted Caro in the lift last night. Could've made an effort to make space for her, but... ;)

Scary thought.

18-06-2011, 11:15 PM
Privileged to meet Richie Benaud at the golf club a couple of weeks ago.
Lovely man, quite tall and still very fit for his age.
My wife laughed because i called him Mr Benuad at the introduction.
Also spotted Bill Laurie in the paper shop a few weeks earlier.

18-06-2011, 11:24 PM
Privileged to meet Richie Benaud at the golf club a couple of weeks ago.
Lovely man, quite tall and still very fit for his age.
My wife laughed because i called him Mr Benuad at the introduction.
Also spotted Bill Laurie in the paper shop a few weeks earlier.

I woulda called him Mr. Benaud too - 12th man style ;)

21-06-2011, 10:58 AM
Bob takes his kids to a park in Carlton quite reguarly and our kids play together. We often have a chat, rarely about football.

GetDimmaBack
21-06-2011, 11:54 AM
Sat at a table next to Scotty Wynd and his family in Cowes recently.

...and he said g'day to me first!

Nice when two celebrities get together, isn't it?

PS: I'm sure the locals were thinking, "who's the big guy talking to GDB?" :rolleyes:

24-06-2011, 03:34 PM
Shared a plane (and a Urinal, didnt look) with Warren Tredrae last week.

Then bumped into Josh Carr in Perth on Wednesday, had a quick chat (he's a top bloke) and was really dissapointed that no Weagles fans started hassling him while we were talking.

25-06-2011, 01:39 PM
Then bumped into Josh Carr in Perth on Wednesday, had a quick chat (he's a top bloke) and was really dissapointed that no Weagles fans started hassling him while we were talking.

Living the stockbroking dream I assume, is Josh.

02-07-2011, 02:21 PM
Just saw that Brad Johnson's home in Williamstown is for sale. I wonder if he will stay in Williamstown or will completely move out of the west.

Does Rohan Smith and Chris Grant still live in Williamstown? I do remember Rohan Smith selling his home also.

02-07-2011, 02:28 PM
A bit of a blast from the past, my GF is a senior accountant at NAB, one of the heads of tax just resigned to take up a senior role at C.U.B. His name, our very own Darren Baxter.

02-07-2011, 05:10 PM
I think I heard that Brad is moving down the west coast.

02-07-2011, 05:13 PM
I think I heard that Brad is moving down the west coast.

They're moving to Torquay

02-07-2011, 06:14 PM
A bit of a blast from the past, my GF is a senior accountant at NAB, one of the heads of tax just resigned to take up a senior role at C.U.B. His name, our very own Darren Baxter.

The blanket worked his backside off each and every week I think the glove must watch his highlight reel every night:D:D:D

07-07-2011, 10:33 AM
This is completely in the wrong thread, but with a quick search i cant find any of the other 11 "famous supporters" threads

I am pretty sure GT is a WCE fan, maybe he has changed or his Missus Leanne is a WBU fan

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6043/5910564496_87acd88ab6_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/5910564496/)
Garth Tander (http://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/5910564496/) by Gougoodthing (http://www.flickr.com/people/34664426@N04/), on Flickr

07-07-2011, 10:58 AM
Went to the Hawthorn vs Collingwood match on Sunday, and my mate Kurt, who's in some Hawthorn coterie group I can't remember the name of, got us into the Level 2 Olympic stand bar. We didn't have seats though, as it was Collingwood's HG.

We saw three spare seats and thought, heck why not? Anyway, we're sitting in the seats feeling all sneaky and smug, and I get a tap on the shoulder. I look over and there's Robert DiPierdomenico, who'd just gone to the bar and looked kinda puzzled as to why I was sitting in his seat.

Apologised to the great man and vacated said seat pretty quick, but he was pretty cool about it really. Had a bit of a chat with him, very nice and funny bloke.

07-07-2011, 06:28 PM
This is completely in the wrong thread, but with a quick search i cant find any of the other 11 "famous supporters" threads

I am pretty sure GT is a WCE fan, maybe he has changed or his Missus Leanne is a WBU fan

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6043/5910564496_87acd88ab6_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/5910564496/)
Garth Tander (http://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/5910564496/) by Gougoodthing (http://www.flickr.com/people/34664426@N04/), on Flickr

His wife is a very one eyed Doggie.

09-07-2011, 01:39 AM
Said hi to Harvey Keitel in Times Square last night.
He smiled and said hi back.

09-07-2011, 03:32 PM

Brushing with Hollywood, way to up the ante ;)

I saw one of our own this morning, Picken at the local shops, didnt get a chance to say Hi though an older lady was with him getting all clucky over young Malachy Picken :D

12-08-2011, 09:02 AM
Met Danny Frawley yesterday!
Top bloke.

12-08-2011, 01:14 PM

Did you take the chance to check if he was a Bulldog supporter?

15-08-2011, 11:25 PM
Did you take the chance to check if he was a Bulldog supporter?

Didn't want to impose to much, he was with his partner.
Although he should be at least one third Bulldogs supporter he was Mr White.:D
On another note I also managed to get called onto stage and meet David Copperfield.

16-08-2011, 11:03 AM
On another note I also managed to get called onto stage and meet David Copperfield.

Did you disappear or get cut in half?

17-08-2011, 12:24 AM
Was that in Melbourne, Rod Laver or Regent, my sister was called up at the regent and disappeared. Her husband was disappointed, SHE CAME BACK !

26-08-2011, 01:25 AM
Was that in Melbourne, Rod Laver or Regent, my sister was called up at the regent and disappeared. Her husband was disappointed, SHE CAME BACK !

Vegas, although my wife was disappointed I came back.
And if any Woofer get a chance to see one of his show's , well worth the money.
He was brilliant.

26-08-2011, 03:01 PM
Took this photo last Saturday at an SANFL game.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6071/6068967425_efdcb9f9bc_m.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/6068967425/)
Steve Silvagni Glenelg Tigers WWT Eagles August 2011 SANFL 522 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/6068967425/) by Gougoodthing (http://www.flickr.com/people/34664426@N04/), on Flickr

23-09-2015, 03:17 PM
I'm up in Darwin on holiday for the week, saw Steven Motlop yesterday.