View Full Version : The official Sam Reid/Daniel Currie Memorial Eker Thread
26-05-2015, 07:57 PM
There's a story on the AFL site about Josh Hill, where he talks about giving it everything in what might be his last year. Eking to the end.
You mean Champion Data rolling team of the year member Josh Hill?
31-05-2015, 08:24 PM
BTW EasternWest, your Avatar scares me. I just can't stand seeing Tom Boyd in any other colours but ours! :)
There you go GD, fixed it for you. Sorry it took so long.
31-05-2015, 08:58 PM
I wonder who the expansion teams first homegrown ekers will be? Players who've squeezed a long career at the club without standing out.
Does issie Falau and Karmichael Hunt count as ekers?
01-06-2015, 01:09 AM
I wonder who the expansion teams first homegrown ekers will be? Players who've squeezed a long career at the club without standing out.
Does issie Falau and Karmichael Hunt count as ekers?
Dylan Addison!
01-06-2015, 09:07 AM
Dylan Addison!
You shut your mouth!
01-06-2015, 08:00 PM
Dylan Addison!
He eked out two clubs, indeed DFA is probably one of our all time great ekers. I mean a player who ekes out his entire career at either GWS or GCS. Hunt and Falau probably earned as much and played as many games as your average eker does in ten years condensed into their two or however many years they played AFL for.
01-06-2015, 08:37 PM
I honestly forgot that Issie Falou played at the highest level. What a joke.
03-06-2015, 06:14 PM
Izzy and K Hunt played for nowhere near long enough at AFL level.
Dylan Addison is as eker as it gets.
03-06-2015, 07:31 PM
Izzy and K Hunt played for nowhere near long enough at AFL level.
Danny Stanley would also be a worthy nomination - been on an AFL list since 2007 with only 80 odd games.
03-06-2015, 08:51 PM
He's got nearly 30 games on our very own Jarrad Grant in only 2 extra seasons. He's got some competition.
04-06-2015, 08:51 AM
Just watching Aker as a commentator on Fox Sports news. Is there such a thing as a media Eker?
04-06-2015, 09:57 AM
Danny Stanley would also be a worthy nomination - been on an AFL list since 2007 with only 80 odd games.
Great nom - he is blue-chip eker stock, up there with his teammate Andrew Raines.
Speaking of Qld clubs, Brisbane has 3 of their own blue-chip ekers still on the list - Brent Staker, Goose Maguire and Luke McGuane. Eker migration to SE Qld is rivalling the over 60's.
04-06-2015, 02:16 PM
Luke McGuane is still playing AFL footy's? You're kidding.
04-06-2015, 03:27 PM
Not strictly playing AFL, just NEAFL , but remains on the list.
Would be a surprise if he got another game
04-06-2015, 03:36 PM
Must be a nice life for him.
04-06-2015, 03:38 PM
Medico-Eker a category?
If so, then my bro, is Anthony Moribito. Three knee reco's and now deep bone bruising ruling him out for the season. 4season ending injuries. Just keeps rehabbing to keep a spot on the list and his knee goes again.
04-06-2015, 04:43 PM
I genuinely feel sorry for Morabito. He's talented but cursed with injuries.
Much like a certain young man on our list.
He's been brought up previously as being headed towards Eker royalty - but I'm really excited about Kyle Cheney at the moment.
Drafted in 2007. 48 games played (running at 6 per season....really trademark eker territory) 2 career goals, 3rd club, has returned to his original number 25 that he wore at Melbourne. It will be thrilling to see if he can get two more games this season to reach 50.
04-06-2015, 09:53 PM
I didn't know Kyle Cheney played for Melbourne.
05-06-2015, 09:36 PM
He's been brought up previously as being headed towards Eker royalty - but I'm really excited about Kyle Cheney at the moment.
Drafted in 2007. 48 games played (running at 6 per season....really trademark eker territory) 2 career goals, 3rd club, has returned to his original number 25 that he wore at Melbourne. It will be thrilling to see if he can get two more games this season to reach 50.
Surely he would deserve his own banner
06-06-2015, 12:32 AM
Surely he would deserve his own banner
What? One that he brings along himself?
07-06-2015, 06:43 PM
Yep, he is as good as they get. If he actually chooses to retire, he might go near being the greatest Eker of all the times.
07-06-2015, 06:56 PM
Yep, he is as good as they get. If he actually chooses to retire, he might go near being the greatest Eker of all the times.
Who has the title RJ? I tend to vote Dale Kickett, 5 AFL clubs plus a stint in state league between them. But he has over 150 games.
08-06-2015, 12:46 AM
Back in the '70s there was a big ruckman on the list who played 150 reserves games without ever playing a senior game. Don't know why he never played. Must have been against his religion or something. Greg something? Maybe he was a super hero and didn't want to draw attention to himself. He was on the list for years.
08-06-2015, 01:04 AM
Best name ever...Greg Something!
08-06-2015, 01:28 AM
Best name ever...Greg Something!
Middle name was "almost"
12-08-2015, 10:08 AM
I know he's probably not technically an eker and is a premiership player, BUT - has a 23 year old with an injury history and just 30 games to his name in his fifth year on a list ever signed a four year deal before?
Bravo Will Langford, your agent is a genius!
12-08-2015, 10:44 AM
Not strictly playing AFL, just NEAFL , but remains on the list.
Would be a surprise if he got another game
Played for the Lions last weekend :confused:
12-08-2015, 11:17 AM
Played for the Lions last weekend :confused:
He actually looked good too!
14-08-2015, 05:55 PM
The last few rounds are normally kind to the eker movement, with coaches trying to fatten up their trade value. Tayte Pears, come on down.
14-08-2015, 06:37 PM
Kane Lucas!
Edit: he didn't actually make the final 22, but I find it incredible he was even in the 25. Eke on and prosper!
14-08-2015, 07:37 PM
My favourite Eker currently going around is Ricky Petterd. Small, slow, doesn't like a contest much and averages less than a goal a game as a forward/mid yet has somehow survived for 84 mediocre games over 9 seasons. That's some legendary eking in my book.
15-08-2015, 07:49 AM
If Pettard gets traded to another club this year that just about makes him king eker.
03-09-2015, 05:51 PM
Eker legend Ricky Petterd announces his retirement. A sad day for Ekers everywhere.
03-09-2015, 06:06 PM
Eker legend Ricky Petterd announces his retirement. A sad day for Ekers everywhere.
Surely Brisbane would have wanted any AFL player of any standing to cover the next exodus. It's not too late Ricky, reverse the decision!!
03-09-2015, 06:20 PM
I love Ekers who do SFA all year, but just do enough in the last couple of rounds to hang on to a list.
Classic Eking move.
This years late season Eker tease I reckon has been Shaun McKernan.
04-09-2015, 12:51 PM
Another Eker bites the dust - David Ellard to retire at the tender age of 26 after his 63rd game in a career spanning 8 seasons.
04-09-2015, 12:54 PM
Another Eker bites the dust - David Ellard to retire at the tender age of 26 after his 63rd game in a career spanning 8 seasons.
Don't you love this. According to this 'spin' I've never sacked, been pushed out or quit. I just retired from every job in my own terms...
I never got dumped either. I just retired from the relationship a millisecond before being dumped.
04-09-2015, 01:13 PM
who?
What club was he at?
#neverhirdofhim
04-09-2015, 01:19 PM
who?
What club was he at?
#neverhirdofhim
carton
04-09-2015, 01:22 PM
who?
What club was he at?
#neverhirdofhim
Ahh, the life of an Eker. Quietly going about their business in complete anonymity. Doesn't have to worry about paparazzi, can probably get in a nightclub brawl, get busted drink driving or in possession of drugs and nobody will care.
He occasionally turned out for Carlton.
04-09-2015, 01:53 PM
who?
What club was he at?
#neverhirdofhim
carton
Ahh, the life of an Eker. Quietly going about their business in complete anonymity. Doesn't have to worry about paparazzi, can probably get in a nightclub brawl, get busted drink driving or in possession of drugs and nobody will care.
He had a long and distinguished career for the Northen Blues or whatever they are called.
Anonymity in public for sure. But one of the most consistent traits of an eker tends to be that they are seen as a really good bloke within the '4 walls' of their club/s. You have to be a real team man as an Eker...its key to hanging in there.
04-09-2015, 02:37 PM
Anonymity in public for sure. But one of the most consistent traits of an eker tends to be that they are seen as a really good bloke within the '4 walls' of their club/s. You have to be a real team man as an Eker...its key to hanging in there.
At Carlton, I can see Cameron Wood and Robbie Warnock are falling over each other to do the coffee run every morning for the boys.
04-09-2015, 04:38 PM
I've just looked up Mark Athorn's history. Eight years, 4 clubs, 83 games, 17 goals. But he made it to a Grand Final in 1993 with Carlton and after that disappeared quietly from the scene as far as I know. Pretty respectable eking.
I love this thread.
"Some are born to rise and peak, others merely flatline and ... eke."
04-09-2015, 04:56 PM
I've just looked up Mark Athorn's history. Eight years, 4 clubs, 83 games, 17 goals. But he made it to a Grand Final in 1993 with Carlton and after that disappeared quietly from the scene as far as I know. Pretty respectable eking.
I love this thread.
Love this thread too.
Another gold class doggie eker from yesteryear was Shannon Corcoran - 30 games for 3 clubs over 8 years (5 at Dogs), averaged 9 touches a game as a running midfielder. 2 Career goals.
04-09-2015, 05:01 PM
I love this thread.
Mark Athorn was as tough as they come and a key factor in surviving 4 Clubs over 8 years.
04-09-2015, 05:44 PM
I'm sure you're right NBP. Having strong self-belief, being able to bounce back from adversity, a thick skin and being able to roll with the punches would be prerequisites for anyone eking out a career.
23-09-2015, 03:12 PM
One for Sedat.
What does Spangher do in his spare time: - Go to Uni.
Matthew Spangher has been at university longer than he’s been on an AFL list.
For a 28-year-old premiership player in his 10th season in the system, it’s a lot of time dedicated to the classroom.
Spangher was “handy at school” and started university before he was selected by West Coast with pick No.34 in the 2005 National Draft.
He has completed a Business degree and is currently partway through his Masters in Sports Management.
“MY FOOTY CAREER HASN’T ALWAYS TAKEN OFF. IT’S BEEN A LITTLE STOP-START AT TIMES, SO I HAVE ALWAYS HAD TO HAVE THAT COMMITMENT OR PLAN AWAY FROM THE GAME” – MATT SPANGHER
“My footy career hasn’t always taken off, it’s been a little stop-start at times, so I have always had to have that commitment or plan away from the game,” Spangher told aflplayers.com.au.
“Study has also helped at times when footy isn’t going that well.
Also eking out Uni degrees. :D
23-09-2015, 06:58 PM
Is it becoming easier to be an Eker, because clubs need so much depth these days?
Ekers are essentially depth players right?
24-09-2015, 01:20 PM
Mark Athorn was as tough as they come and a key factor in surviving 4 Clubs over 8 years.
I couldn't agree more.... I played a lot of junior and school footy with him..... Tough as they came... Took a free kick in the centre circle at Keilor Oval in a final that was marked by a team mate in a goal square....remember him throwing the loudest punch that I have ever heard .... It echoed through the Yarraville FC grandstand in interleague.. Classic case of white line fever.... Top bloke who also was good academically.
13-10-2015, 01:23 PM
With Daniel Currie possibly heading to the Gold Coast, does he become one of the all time greats?
Drafted by the Swans in 2006, delisted in 2011 without playing a single match.
Played a year in the SANFL in 2012 then got picked up by North in 2012 Draft.
Has since played 4 games in 3 years with the possibly of being on Gold Coasts list for 2016.
Essentially averaging .5 games a year of his career.
13-10-2015, 01:50 PM
Wow, that is impressive stuff.
13-10-2015, 02:50 PM
With Daniel Currie possibly heading to the Gold Coast, does he become one of the all time greats?
Drafted by the Swans in 2006, delisted in 2011 without playing a single match.
Played a year in the SANFL in 2012 then got picked up by North in 2012 Draft.
Has since played 4 games in 3 years with the possibly of being on Gold Coasts list for 2016.
Essentially averaging .5 games a year of his career.
Yep, he is eker royalty - well on track to become a legend in the eker HoF.
14-10-2015, 09:50 AM
Years ago I remember reading about a Carlton player who racked up a huge number of games in the 2s without ever getting the call up. Anyone shed light on this? I know it's not strictly eking - more like pre-eking, or still-born eking or Clayton's eking or maybe wouldabeen eking if only had the chance. "I coulda bin an eker Charlie." (apologies to Brando fans)
14-10-2015, 09:54 AM
Years ago I remember reading about a Carlton player who racked up a huge number of games in the 2s without ever getting the call up. Anyone shed light on this? I know it's not strictly eking - more like pre-eking, or still-born eking or Clayton's eking or maybe wouldabeen eking if only had the chance. "I coulda bin an eker Charlie." (apologies to Brando fans)
You are not thinking of Tuck or Dipper I think who played a lot of ressies footy?
14-10-2015, 10:51 AM
No, pretty sure he was from Carlton
14-10-2015, 10:57 AM
No, pretty sure he was from Carlton
You're not thinking of Luke "Rhino" O'Sullivan are you? He was on Carlton's list back in the 90's and played 10 years before reaching his 50th game. He did play some occasional seniors however.
14-10-2015, 11:01 AM
You're not thinking of Luke "Rhino" O'Sullivan are you? He was on Carlton's list back in the 90's and played 10 years before reaching his 50th game. He did play some occasional seniors however.
That's who came to my mind as well. He was chaired off in his 50th game wearing that horrible light blue M&M's jumper - quite fitting really.
Ron Deiulio was another Carlton player from their 90's era who knocked up playing in the twos but could not consistently stay in the ones. If there was a league between VFL and AFL standard he would have dominated.
14-10-2015, 11:47 AM
Can I nominate Michael Klinger? Or do I have to wait if goes to Tassie for a year to ice the cake?
14-10-2015, 02:30 PM
I thought it was earlier than the 90s Could have been 70s/80s.
14-10-2015, 04:47 PM
O'Sullivan could play a bit. I watched Carlton pretty closely during that era.
14-10-2015, 07:02 PM
O'Sullivan could play a bit. I watched Carlton pretty closely during that era.
Agree, he was a bit of a goer. If he'd played a lot more games and been prepared to tape s blond wig over his hooter he might have won a Brownlow.
14-10-2015, 07:31 PM
Footnote re "Rhino" O. Jim Main's Encyclopedia of AFL Footballers notes that "his chunky thighs and charging style prompted the nickname "Rhino". Who would have thought!
14-10-2015, 07:33 PM
It's not steven Oliver you're thinking of is it?
14-10-2015, 07:34 PM
Or there was Ron Best back in the '70s.
14-10-2015, 08:34 PM
It's not steven Oliver you're thinking of is it?
Or there was Ron Best back in the '70s.
I don't think either of these BFL country footy legends played that many reserve games and in the case of Best I don't think he played in the VFL at all. I think Best might have done part of a pre-season for Geelong. Massive man
Oliver's AFL career was pretty short. 3 seasons.
14-10-2015, 08:37 PM
No, Stephen Oliver, got homesick for Castlemaine after a brief stint in the big smoke. Ron Best preferred being a big fish in the Bendigo League. I don't think he even went down to the big smoke. He piggybacked on his football prowess to become a National Party Upper House rep. Damian Drum has since replaced him.
14-10-2015, 10:13 PM
I'm struggling to think of any other full forwards that didn't play much for Carlton. Rod Galt?
14-10-2015, 10:14 PM
I'm struggling to think of any other full forwards that didn't play much for Carlton. Rod Galt?
Captain Cook?
14-10-2015, 10:20 PM
Captain Cook?
70s but played mostly in the reserves at Carlton Merantau said. I can't think.
14-10-2015, 10:23 PM
Was it Greg Henderson the name of the guy who played 100 reserves games for us? That was in the 70s. I can remember watching him in the twos when I was a kid.
19-10-2015, 07:18 PM
Currie - 3rd AFL Home in 8 years (plus a SANFL home for two seasons in between), 4 Games.
Giles- 4th AFL Home in 10 years (plus a SANFL home for a season in between), 54 games.
Dear Great Rocco, at the next meeting of the Eker Commission, I call for Eker HoF Legend Status for the aforementioned men. Kind regards, Bulldogtragic. Can I have a seconder please?
19-10-2015, 07:34 PM
Currie - 3rd AFL Home in 8 years (plus a SANFL home for two seasons), 4 Games.
Giles- 4th AFL Home in 10 years (plus a SANFL home for a season), 54 games.
Dear Great Rocco, at the next meeting of the Eker Commission, I call for Eker HoF Legend Status for the aforementioned men. Kind regards, Bulldogtragic. Can I have a seconder please?
Gladly seconded and great nominations.
19-10-2015, 08:09 PM
Currie - 3rd AFL Home in 8 years (plus a SANFL home for two seasons), 4 Games.
Giles- 4th AFL Home in 10 years (plus a SANFL home for a season), 54 games.
And not forgetting Dawson Simpson onto his second Club in GWS
Height: 206cm Weight: 116kg Position: Ruck
Last Drafted: By Geelong Round 2, Pick #34 2007 National Draft
20-10-2015, 10:38 AM
Currie - 3rd AFL Home in 8 years (plus a SANFL home for two seasons in between), 4 Games.
Giles- 4th AFL Home in 10 years (plus a SANFL home for a season in between), 54 games.
If Giles can manage a trade in the coming years to Gold Coast or Brisbane will he be the first player to have played in all 5 states with AFL teams?
21-10-2015, 02:22 AM
If Giles can manage a trade in the coming years to Gold Coast or Brisbane will he be the first player to have played in all 5 states with AFL teams?
I reckon so.
Surely Brisbane will still be shit enough in 2 years time that they'd be tempted to pick him up.
21-10-2015, 10:32 AM
He isn't stupid , he is on a road trip holiday to see all of Australia and get paid for it, a bit like a rock band.
He has no interest in footy, got the idea from Hudson :-)
01-11-2015, 07:32 PM
I neglect this thread far too much. Here is first list lodgment update.
Crows- Kyle Cheney: 8 years, 53 games, 3 clubs. His style reeks of Eker.
Lions- Trent West: 10 years, 66 games, 2 clubs. Being a back up ruck is very Eker.
Blues- Cameron Wood: 10 seasons in the AFL over 11 years for 88 games. Back up ruck.
Pies- Jesse White: Somehow will be playing his 10th season next year. Not a tall forward, not a ruckman but manages regular footy all things considering.
Dons- James Gwilt: Signed on for a 12th season. Classic Eker in role.
Freo- Jonathon Griffin: 11 seasons for 77 games. Yet another back up ruck.
Cats- Sam Blease: Surviving being delisted by Melbourne = massive Eker points. 7 years, 34 games.
Suns- Daniel Currie: 5 seasons for the Swans for 0 games. A season of state league footy before being drafted by North. Spends 3 seasons there for 4 games before being trade to the Suns. Wow.
GWS- Dawson Simpson: Was my Geelong Eker in 2015. 8 Years, 28 games Another back up ruck.
Hawks- Matthew Spangher: 3 clubs, 10 seasons, 55 games.
North- Michael Frittio: 14 seasons. So Eker.
Dees- Dean Terlich: 2 clubs, 8 seasons, 35 games.
Will do the rest later.
01-11-2015, 09:13 PM
Dean Terlich is still on Melbourne's list?
Well Oil Beef Hooked.
02-11-2015, 12:23 AM
Port- Paul Stewart: 9 years.
Tigers- Shaun Hampson: 9 seasons, yet another back up ruck.
Saints- Sean Dempster: 13 seasons.
Swans- Jeremy Laider: 8 seasons, 3 clubs.
Eagles- Jonathan Giles: An Eker legend. Spent 4 years on Port's list with playing an AFL game. Spent a season in the SANFL before being drafted by GWS. 4 seasons there and then one season for one game at Essendon. Now at West Coast. 9 seasons, 4 clubs, 54 games.
Bulldogs- Jack Redpath: We were really tough to pick one for. Only 4 seasons but our list is full of kids and then a handful of legends!
02-11-2015, 06:43 AM
The delistings of Grant and Cordy made it tough to find one for us
02-11-2015, 07:13 AM
Dempster is actually a pretty good player.
02-11-2015, 01:09 PM
Dempster is actually a pretty good player.
I'm gonna change it...
Saints - Sam Gilbert
02-11-2015, 01:43 PM
We had a player in the 70s who was around seven years and played 66 games - Colin Dell. Maybe a Clayton's eker. Ended up as captain of the 2s. Did take a huge grab in the 2s which was published in the Footscray Mail.
02-11-2015, 01:52 PM
Pretty sure Blease has retired.
02-11-2015, 01:53 PM
Yes I read too many concussions.
02-11-2015, 02:48 PM
Apparently retired due to failure to overcome a serious concussion incurred at the end of July.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Blease
02-11-2015, 03:01 PM
The Geelong eker has to be Josh Cowan - 6 years on the list for 5 games - he is well on his way to eker hall of fame status.
02-11-2015, 03:54 PM
Development ruckmen are ekers on another level. Someone like Luke Lowden is coming up for his 7th AFL season (5 at Hawthorn, 2 at Adelaide) for a total of 1 game. Daniel Currie is a hall of famer, coming up for his 10th season and his 3rd club - all for a total of 4 games.
02-11-2015, 04:15 PM
Cowan, Currie and Lowden - so low profile they are taking eking to another level. They are incredible stats. Almost be a shame t ruin them by getting called up to the firsts.
02-11-2015, 10:05 PM
The Geelong eker has to be Josh Cowan - 6 years on the list for 5 games - he is well on his way to eker hall of fame status.
Was going to post the same. I normally don't like to go with a guy with chronic injuries but he was drafted at pick 56. So basically was drafted late, injured for 6 games and still going. Great work.
02-11-2015, 10:07 PM
Updated list.
Lions- Trent West: 10 years, 66 games, 2 clubs. Being a back up ruck is very Eker.
Blues- Cameron Wood: 10 seasons in the AFL over 11 years for 88 games. Back up ruck.
Pies- Jesse White: Somehow will be playing his 10th season next year. Not a tall forward, not a ruckman but manages regular footy all things considering.
Cats- Josh Cowan: 6 seasons, 5 games.
Suns- Daniel Currie: 5 seasons for the Swans for 0 games. A season of state league footy before being drafted by North. Spends 3 seasons there for 4 games before being trade to the Suns. Wow.
GWS- Dawson Simpson: Was my Geelong Eker in 2015. 8 Years, 28 games Another back up ruck.
Saints- Sam Gilbert.
Eagles- Jonathan Giles: An Eker legend. Spent 4 years on Port's list with playing an AFL game. Spent a season in the SANFL before being drafted by GWS. 4 seasons there and then one season for one game at Essendon. Now at West Coast. 9 seasons, 4 clubs, 54 games.
Bulldogs- Jack Redpath: We were really tough to pick one for. Only 4 seasons but our list is full of kids and then a handful of legends!
03-11-2015, 08:10 AM
ANTHEM FOR THE COMMON EKER
Some are destined to fly and peak
Others merely exist and - eke
Stars fly high and light up the sky
Ekers lie low but continue to try
They peddle their wares to whoever might buy
Their managers' schtik that they deserve another chance
To grace the big stage, to get to the big dance
The eker is solid and stolid and true
He's the shrinking violet of footy and a wall flower too
His career plays out minus fanfare
And eventually ends in tears of despair
He's thrown on the scrap heap
He's run out of luck
Not that he had much
But he had plenty of pluck
He kept training and trying
Defying the odds
Determined to make it, no matter the cost
He fought the brave fight, but eventually lost.
03-11-2015, 10:19 AM
Updated list.
Cats- Josh Cowan: 6 seasons, 5 games.
Saints- Sam Gilbert.
Spangher tasted grand final sweetness too. I'm not sure many ekers have achieved that before.
03-11-2015, 10:39 AM
I'm nominating Shane Ellen as the patron Saint of Ekers.
We drafted him in '91. He played 11 games for us between '93 and '95. Dumped he went to Adelaide in '96. Played 54 games for them in 5 years including 2 premierships. Kicked 5 goals in the '97 GF after kicking only 3 goals in his previous 38 games.
Every eker should have an altar in their home dedicated to Shane the Eker. The Eker's Idol.
03-11-2015, 02:02 PM
Spangher tasted grand final sweetness too. I'm not sure many ekers have achieved that before.
He also got to revel in the 2006, 2012, 2013 and 2015 premiership after-parties to go with his 2014 flag.
03-11-2015, 02:40 PM
ANTHEM FOR THE COMMON EKER
Some are destined to fly and peak
Others merely exist and - eke
Stars fly high and light up the sky
Ekers lie low but continue to try
They pedal their wares to whoever might buy
Their managers' schtik that they deserve another chance
To grace the big stage, to get to the big dance
The eker is solid and stolid and true
He's the shrinking violet of footy and a wall flower too
His career plays out minus fanfare
And eventually ends in tears of despair
He's thrown on the scrap heap
He's run out of luck
Not that he had much
But he had plenty of pluck
He kept training and trying
Defying the odds
Determined to make it, no matter the cost
He fought the brave fight, but eventually lost.
Nice work merantau. I was thinking of an eker song too, mine was going to be The Eker (to the tune of The Who's The Seeker), but I don't think I can top yours.
03-11-2015, 03:26 PM
Who is #1 current Eker?
My top 5
1- Daniel Currie
2- Kyle Cheney
3- Dawson Simpson
4- Jonathan Giles
5- Matthew Spangher
03-11-2015, 09:42 PM
THE EKER'S LAMENT
The news isn't good, his future is bleak
Four years at the club where he'd learned how to eke
But now the curtain's come down
And his future's in doubt
For the list has been published
And his name's been left out.
Four years at the club
He'd plugged a few holes
He'd answered the call
He'd played a few roles.
A stint on the ball, a spell at half-back
He'd show all the doubters
That he wasn't a hack.
But it wasn't enough to hang on to his spot
So it was back in the draft - the poor eker's lot.
He was picked up again
Thrown a lifeline
A shot at redemption
A feeling sublime.
Four games on the trot
It was all working out
'Til the doc uttered gravely
"You've been stricken with gout."
Eight weeks on the sidelines
It makes a man weep
The life of an eker - the learning curve's steep.
Back from the sidelines, steeled for the fray
The eker strikes out, there's no other way
He lives on the edge sometimes in, sometimes out
He hopes for an end to the on-going doubt
That he'll make it for good, cement his place in the team
And finally realise the Eker's Ultimate Dream.
04-11-2015, 07:31 PM
THE ROLLED GOLD EKER
A dozen seasons in the system
Thirty games all told
He's plied his trade from Bourke to Queensland
As an Eker, he's rolled gold.
His first year was at Richmond
He was taken in the draft
They needed a back-up ruckman
I guess the die was cast.
He played a season in the twos
And he finally got the call
The number one had broke his leg
He vowed he'd give his all.
A guaranteed six game stint
He was eager to do well
But it wasn't the start he expected
It was the start from hell!
The game was only five minutes in
The ball was on the wing
He sprinted to the contest
But his hammy it went - ping!
Carried off on a stretcher
He was a sorry sight
But three months spent in rehab
Would see his hammy right!
His second year was stillborn
He was stranded in the stalls
Cos he missed the entire pre-season
With extremely swollen balls!
Eventually they subsided
And he hit the training track
But luck was not his long suit
And he did his flamin' back!
Straight back on the injury list
It was enough to make you cry
But the eker deep within him said :
" If you lie down mate - you'll die!"
So he took to re-hab like a duck
He exercised and persisted
In six weeks he got his back right
Just in time to be de-listed!
His manager was not dismayed
In fact he was quite upbeat
" Back-up rucks are hard to find
You'll suit the Dockers a treat! "
So he headed west to try his luck
And at first it all went well
He played an early game or two
But then it turned to hell
A late night out in Freo
Saw him eat some dodgy offal
And a severe bout of food poisoning
Saw him drop back to the WAFL
He made it back into the ones
An Eker to the core
But a shocker against the Doggies
And our hero was shown the door
Three years, two clubs, eight games he'd played
It wasn't a great start
But did our hero feel dismayed?
No, for as an Eker he had HEART! ! !
He was offered up as trade bait
And the Roos were quickly tempted
So taken by his attitude
From due diligence he was - exempted
He played the first month in the twos
Then Goldy had a fall
He waited patiently by the phone
But it didn't ring at all!
He'd hit rock bottom at this point
An unwanted second string
He thought of early retirement
But then kind fate stepped in
A late injury to Firito
(An almost un-heard of thing)
Saw him picked as a defender
He was promoted, he was IN!
He played six solid, sterling games
His stars they were aligned
But then fate intervened again
And he was undermined
A late night out upon the turps
Was spotted by a snitch
Who promptly spilled the beans to Scott
B'Jesus life's a bitch!
Back down to the twos again
He made another start
A true blue rolled gold Eker
He'd show the bastards heart!
He played another dozen games
In seasons five to eight
But then Norf ran out of patience
And he was shown the gate
Eight years in the system
Nothing much to show
He'd run right out of options
So, thought he'd give the bush a go
A year up counrty did the trick
It re-ignited spark
The Saints fell for his manager's schtik
Once more he had a start!
A rock solid pre-season
Saw him straining at the bit
This year was all or nothing
By Christ he'd make a hit!
He'd rack up loads of tackles
He'd knock-up taking marks
He'd even mow the coach's lawn
To help him get a start
His hard work was rewarded
With a late call up in June
But the Saints had hit rock bottom
Odds on to win the spoon
He played twelve games on the trot
A purple patch for him
But then he copped a mighty whack
And all the lights went dim
Concussion saw his season end
Retired on doctor's orders
He spent the two succeeding years
Up bush with Northern Borders
One final crack at the big time called
And to the Suns he went
A rolled gold Eker's tilt at fame
Is never, ever, spent
He played a season for the Suns
He fought, he paid his dues
But his season ended where it began
He was back down in the twos!
A rolled gold Eker tried and true
Salt of the earth and staunch
He's awaiting his manager's call
He's ready for next season's launch!
So don't belittle an Eker
Stop, think and you'll agree
He's sustained by dreams of glory
A lot like you and - me.
04-11-2015, 08:10 PM
THE ROLLED GOLD EKER
A dozen seasons in the system
Thirty games all told
He's plied his trade from Bourke to Queensland
As an Eker, he's rolled gold.
His first year was at Richmond
He was taken in the draft
They needed a back-up ruckman
I guess the die was cast.
He played a season in the twos
And he finally got the call
The number one had broke his leg
He vowed he'd give his all.
A guaranteed six game stint
He was eager to do well
But it wasn't the start he expected
It was the start from hell!
The game was only five minutes in
The ball was on the wing
He sprinted to the contest
But his hammy it went - ping!
Carried off on a stretcher
He was a sorry sight
But three months spent in rehab
Would see his hammy right!
His second year was stillborn
He was stranded in the stalls
Cos he missed the entire pre-season
With extremely swollen balls!
Eventually they subsided
And he hit the training track
But luck was not his long suit
And he did his flamin' back!
Straight back on the injury list
It was enough to make you cry
But the eker deep within him said :
" If you lie down mate - you'll die!"
So he took to re-hab like a duck
He exercised and persisted
In six weeks he got his back right
Just in time to be de-listed!
His manager was not dismayed
In fact he was quite upbeat
" Back-up rucks are hard to find
You'll suit the Dockers a treat! "
So he headed west to try his luck
And at first it all went well
He played an early game or two
But then it turned to hell
A late night out in Freo
Saw him eat some dodgy offal
And a severe bout of food poisoning
Saw him drop back to the WAFL
He made it back into the ones
An Eker to the core
But a shocker against the Doggies
And our hero was shown the door
Three years, two clubs, eight games he'd played
It wasn't a great start
But did our hero feel dismayed?
No, for as an Eker he had HEART! ! !
He was offered up as trade bait
And the Roos were quickly tempted
So taken by his attitude
From due diligence he was - exempted
He played the first month in the twos
Then Goldy had a fall
He waited patiently by the phone
But it didn't ring at all!
He'd hit rock bottom at this point
An unwanted second string
He thought of early retirement
But then kind fate stepped in
A late injury to Firito
(An almost un-heard of thing)
Saw him picked as a defender
He was promoted, he was IN!
He played six solid, sterling games
His stars they were aligned
But then fate intervened again
And he was undermined
A late night out upon the turps
Was spotted by a snitch
Who promptly spilled the beans to Scott
B'Jesus life's a bitch!
Back down to the twos again
He made another start
A true blue rolled gold Eker
He'd show the bastards heart!
He played another dozen games
In seasons five to eight
But then Norf ran out of patience
And he was shown the gate
Eight years in the system
Nothing much to show
He'd run right out of options
So, thought he'd give the bush a go
A year up counrty did the trick
It re-ignited spark
The Saints fell for his manager's schtik
Once more he had a start!
A rock solid pre-season
Saw him straining at the bit
This year was all or nothing
By Christ he'd make a hit!
He'd rack up loads of tackles
He'd knock-up taking marks
He'd even mow the coach's lawn
To help him get a start
His hard work was rewarded
With a late call up in June
But the Saints had hit rock bottom
Odds on to win the spoon
He played twelve games on the trot
A purple patch for him
But then he copped a mighty whack
And all the lights went dim
Concussion saw his season end
Retired on doctor's orders
He spent the two succeeding years
Up bush with Northern Borders
One final crack at the big time called
And to the Suns he went
A rolled gold Eker's tilt at fame
Is never, ever, spent
He played a season for the Suns
He fought, he paid his dues
But his season ended where it began
He was back down in the twos!
A rolled gold Eker tried and true
Salt of the earth and staunch
He's awaiting his manager's call
He's ready for next season's launch!
So don't belittle an Eker
Stop, think and you'll agree
He's sustained by dreams of glory
A lot like you and - me.
Pure Gold M,
Pure Gold ;)
Fantastic stuff,geez you must have spent a bit of time on it?
04-11-2015, 08:18 PM
I'm trying to keep dementia at bay Redders. I'll let you know how it's going - in ten year's time!
04-11-2015, 09:46 PM
Rocco, Tayte Pears just signed another one year deal with Essendon, he's played 50 odd less games than Gwilt so he is a worthy challenger to Gwilts rein. However Gwilt has the honour at playing suburban footy and at two afl clubs.
Jarrod Grant keeps the dream alive.
06-11-2015, 02:42 PM
The beaches of the Gold Coast have to be the ultimate eker location surely? Where better than the Gold Coast to eke? The Suns must be the eker heaven.
07-11-2015, 09:22 PM
The beaches of the Gold Coast have to be the ultimate eker location surely? Where better than the Gold Coast to eke? The Suns must be the eker heaven.
His beach body will lap it up on the GC.
08-11-2015, 03:33 PM
His beach body will lap it up on the GC.
Yep. Billy Connolly used to say that being from Scotland he was blue and it took a couple of days in the sun in Australia to start looking pale.
He will do well to steer clear of the exotic marine fauna too.
08-11-2015, 11:18 PM
Yep. Billy Connolly used to say that being from Scotland he was blue and it took a couple of days in the sun in Australia to start looking pale.
He will do well to steer clear of the exotic marine fauna too.
Good point TD. Spindles lost a year after encountering exotic sea creatures in Altona, god knows the troubles he can find in the subtropics.
16-11-2015, 08:24 PM
I've always been a bit of history buff and came across a name from the past who has pretty impressive eker cred. In the system from '75 to '85, played 69 games for three clubs including 40 with us. Kicked 22 goals. Described as a "bulky ruckman with a good pair of hands." Any takers?
16-11-2015, 08:34 PM
Sounds like Bill Berry. That early 80s dogs squad was an Ekers paradise.
16-11-2015, 09:16 PM
Sounds like Bill Berry. That early 80s dogs squad was an Ekers paradise.
Is it tragic that I can remember that he wore #4 for us?
16-11-2015, 10:48 PM
Is it tragic that I can remember that he wore #4 for us?
That ain't tragic. After a few drinks, me and a couple of mates have been known to start reciting early-mid 80s Guernsey numbers from 1 to the mid 50s, with great shame on anyone who can't recall a name - that's tragic. Remember them better than the current list.
17-11-2015, 06:45 AM
That ain't tragic. After a few drinks, me and a couple of mates have been known to start reciting early-mid 80s Guernsey numbers from 1 to the mid 50s, with great shame on anyone who can't recall a name - that's tragic. Remember them better than the current list.
I don't drink but I'll have some of that!
17-11-2015, 10:12 AM
I remember that Gary Walpole wore #42 - that's pretty tragic.
I think the phrase "turns like the Queen Mary" was coined after watching Bill Berry lumbering around the ground in his playing days. He was slower than a wet week.
17-11-2015, 10:32 AM
I remember that Gary Walpole wore #42 - that's pretty tragic.
I think the phrase "turns like the Queen Mary" was coined after watching Bill Berry lumbering around the ground in his playing days. He was slower than a wet week.
True. Bill certainly wasn't the most mobile of Ruckmen. The Bluey Hampshire/Bill Berry ruck combo didn't tear a swathe through many opposition defences.
GW was 42, preceded by Ross Christensen at 41 and followed by Rod MacPherson at 43. It's a silly little game that will suck in many long time Dogs watchers. If you focus on the early 80s, it also brings back some pretty awful memories.
17-11-2015, 10:57 AM
True. Bill certainly wasn't the most mobile of Ruckmen. The Bluey Hampshire/Bill Berry ruck combo didn't tear a swathe through many opposition defences.
GW was 42, preceded by Ross Christensen at 41 and followed by Rod MacPherson at 43. It's a silly little game that will suck in many long time Dogs watchers. If you focus on the early 80s, it also brings back some pretty awful memories.
Yep, tough days for a primary school kid surrounded by Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond supporters (there were hardly any Essendon or Hawthorn supporters back then, which shows what a bunch of Johnny-come-lately's they are).
Our games rarely featured on Seven's Big League or The Winners (Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond had a mortgage on almost every game), but I distinctly remember Doug Heywood from The Winners commentating a game between the Dogs and the Roys at the Junction oval one day. We were getting pummelled and he came up with this gem that sums up our Royce Hart years to a tee....."Mark Komp, kicks it like he normally does, very poorly"
17-11-2015, 01:14 PM
Haha. Mark Komp's brother is my kids PE teacher.
17-11-2015, 01:33 PM
Does Komp's gym in Barkly Street still operate?
17-11-2015, 01:38 PM
Does Komp's gym in Barkly Street still operate?
Up until a couple of months ago. West Footscray is changing quickly.
17-11-2015, 01:53 PM
Yes, there is no doubt about that. More and more people are discovering the upside of living in the Western suburbs - and the biggest upside? WBFC. Go Dogs!
17-11-2015, 02:42 PM
Yes, there is no doubt about that. More and more people are discovering the upside of living in the Western suburbs - and the biggest upside? WBFC. Go Dogs!
I'd rather they stayed where they are. I rent.
Unfortunately along with losing the unwanted element it is also losing its outer suburban charm.
Where once stood Californian, Victorian and Edwardian houses with lots of charm and character, developers have cashed in on decent size blocks, demolished everything, used every portion of the block, overcrowded and put up many concrete, unstylish, generic, unsightly town houses.
Fortunately the people who purchased the old home I renovated have kept it I one piece (although they did change my colour plan to one I'm not to sure about.), but every time I head back down to see my Mum I think I could never move back.
Unfortunately along with losing the unwanted element it is also losing its outer suburban charm.
Where once stood Californian, Victorian and Edwardian houses with lots of charm and character, developers have cashed in on decent size blocks, demolished everything, used every portion of the block, overcrowded and put up many concrete, unstylish, generic, unsightly town houses.
Fortunately the people who purchased the old home I renovated have kept it I one piece (although they did change my colour plan to one I'm not to sure about.), but every time I head back down to see my Mum I think I could never move back.
19-11-2015, 11:36 AM
A lot of our suburbs are getting ruined by unwanted development.
Maybe unwanted by people already living in an area...but obviously not unwanted by the growing population needing to be housed, that is driving the development.
Melbourne's population has (roughly) doubled since the 1970s.
19-11-2015, 04:27 PM
Maybe unwanted by people already living in an area...but obviously not unwanted by the growing population needing to be housed, that is driving the development.
Queuing has become an extreme sport in some parts of Melbourne. There's so many people at places like the Market its crazy.
19-11-2015, 05:35 PM
I will clarify.
100 year old building being torn down as KT31 mentions is a disgrace. That is what is happening all over Melbourne.
The planning and heritage laws are practically non-existent.
19-11-2015, 06:11 PM
I will clarify.
100 year old building being torn down as KT31 mentions is a disgrace. That is what is happening all over Melbourne.
Planning in particular. 100 apartment complexes being built at the end of courts, or on streets with one narrow entrance. Just insanity.
19-11-2015, 08:06 PM
I will clarify.
Planning in particular. 100 apartment complexes being built at the end of courts, or on streets with one narrow entrance. Just insanity.
Look at all the extra residents they have stuck in that Buckingham development in that tiny street system.
19-11-2015, 08:06 PM
Happening up the Peninsula too yet I can't cut a tree down in my front garden without permission....amazing.
20-11-2015, 03:09 PM
I love the tangents this forum takes.
27-11-2015, 01:04 PM
On a day famous for second, third and fourth chances, let the record show that Danny Stanley and Sam Reid will be on AFL rookie lists next year.
Simply astonishing.
30-11-2015, 01:15 AM
Is Farren Ray an Eker? Or is he just a little too 'solid'.
30-11-2015, 03:31 AM
Is Farren Ray an Eker? Or is he just a little too 'solid'.
I can't see why he would be considered an Eker. I don't think arriving at his 3rd club is reason enough.
30-11-2015, 04:22 AM
Faz has played 200+ games. That's far too many to be an eker. He's eker-like but not an eker.
30-11-2015, 04:16 PM
Do we now have any Ekers on our list?
30-11-2015, 11:17 PM
Not anymore.
30-11-2015, 11:52 PM
Not anymore.
Ah hem... Dale Morris. Only player, ONLY, over age 30 on the main list to not play 250+ games AND captain the club. I mean fancy that, just being satisfied eking out 205 games from the rookie list and being an elite defender despite being under sized. And to think he thinks he can eck out another three seasons...
* I hope he does! :)
30-11-2015, 11:59 PM
Redpath probably in the lead
01-12-2015, 09:03 AM
Redpath probably in the lead
You can't call him an Eker. He started AFL at a late age after having two knee reconstructions. He has worked his butt off to get into the senior team.
01-12-2015, 09:59 AM
Which AFL team has the MOST ekers?
01-12-2015, 10:04 AM
Which AFL team has the MOST ekers?
Carlton have 18 recycled players, most of whom are not very good. Clear leaders
01-12-2015, 11:30 AM
Carlton have 18 recycled players, most of whom are not very good. Clear leaders
Wow... Hand them the trophy already. That's a shocking number.
01-12-2015, 11:33 AM
Wow... Hand them the trophy already. That's a shocking number.
It reminds me of Bart getting put into the remedial class at Cypress Creek;
"We're supposed to overtake the other clubs by going slower than they are?"
01-12-2015, 11:37 AM
It reminds me of Bart getting put into the remedial class at Cypress Creek;
"We're supposed to overtake the other clubs by going slower than they are?"
If someone can translate that into Latin, we have their new motto.
01-12-2015, 10:59 PM
You can't call him an Eker. He started AFL at a late age after having two knee reconstructions. He has worked his butt off to get into the senior team.
Yeah I wouldn't, but with 15 games in 4 years on the list he is probably the closest we have
02-12-2015, 07:20 PM
If someone can translate that into Latin, we have their new motto.
Lorem fustibus supponitur consequatur antecedentem tardius irent pluris estis illis
Ok I confess I used the Google Machine.
02-12-2015, 10:53 PM
Lorem fustibus supponitur consequatur antecedentem tardius irent pluris estis illis
Awesome. Trademark it before the cheats use it! :D
07-12-2015, 01:02 PM
On a day famous for second, third and fourth chances, let the record show that Danny Stanley and Sam Reid will be on AFL rookie lists next year.
Simply astonishing.
Sam Reid embarks on a new chapter of his ekerthon. No longer locked in to a mentoring role in the GWS Magoos leads to the big question - will he add a couple of games to his six year, 25 game total? Or, will he jeopardise his eker status by becoming a permanent fixture in the side? My money's on the former but, good luck to Sam: I hope I'm wrong. Just don't play well against us, ok.
07-12-2015, 01:05 PM
Just don't play well against us, ok.
It's ok, he won't. ;)
07-12-2015, 01:18 PM
Simply astonishing.
Just on that, I am rapt for Sam that he gets another crack. He was and always will be a favourite of mine.
07-12-2015, 01:21 PM
"Right, now write it out a hundred times"
"If it's not done by sunrise, I'll cut your balls off"
07-12-2015, 03:15 PM
To be fair, wasn't Ash Hansen's career limited by injury? and if that's permissible, then surely Tom Williams is our Eker.
07-12-2015, 11:04 PM
To be fair, wasn't Ash Hansen's career limited by injury? and if that's permissible, then surely Tom Williams is our Eker.
I think long term list occupation with limited outcome due to injury counts towards ekerism or eker status. Rocco?
11-12-2015, 11:18 PM
I think long term list occupation with limited outcome due to injury counts towards ekerism or eker status. Rocco?
Surely there needs to be multi clubs, like Gumbleton or Currie. Otherwise guys like Williams, Menzel, Clay Smith and Morabito get Eker status which is a little harsh. But if another club takes them, game on I say.
12-12-2015, 01:26 AM
Surely there needs to be multi clubs, like Gumbleton or Currie. Otherwise guys like Williams, Menzel, Clay Smith and Morabito get Eker status which is a little harsh. But if another club takes them, game on I say.
Portable ekering.
I think multiple clubs, or delisting/relistings and rookie'ing are all important components of eker qualification.
16-12-2015, 09:45 PM
So should reserve games played be a component of ekerism?
17-12-2015, 12:17 AM
Can I nominate Jarryd Lyon from the crows? If not, he's only a season or two away
17-12-2015, 12:45 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-12-17/team-approach-can-fill-glaring-forward-gaps-says-bolton
Of all the ekers, this guy is in a special little category all of his own. After capturing Mick Malthouse's heart last pre-season, look who Brendan Bolton seems to have taken a shine to.
17-12-2015, 02:08 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-12-17/team-approach-can-fill-glaring-forward-gaps-says-bolton
Of all the ekers, this guy is in a special little category all of his own. After capturing Mick Malthouse's heart last pre-season, look who Brendan Bolton seems to have taken a shine to.
Won't take him long to realise the Liam and endurance don't go hand in hand.
17-12-2015, 02:36 PM
There is also the "run under the ball to avoid contact from the defender syndrome"
17-12-2015, 02:36 PM
There is also the "run under the ball to avoid contact from the defender syndrome"
17-12-2015, 02:38 PM
Yep.. It hasn't improved in the 6 or 7 years he has been in the system so I can't see it improving now.
17-12-2015, 09:17 PM
Carlton must have sacked their PR team. I swear a story like that was almost word for word last year, as well as the ones about Mulligan making him super fit to add to his new marking technique. Maybe they think a second effort of a press release about Liam will allow them to claim that Liam has been involved in some sort of a second effort this preseason. The joke is, he's a borderline senior player at that club and would've delisted him if possible. Pumping him up again isn't going to endear their members to any messages they're pushing. I guess if you can't be with the ones you love (because you traded them or let them walk), then love the one you're with (by way of remaining expensive contract).
17-12-2015, 09:54 PM
Apparently Levi Casboult is established.
17-12-2015, 10:02 PM
Apparentley tearing it up again this pre season too. :rolleyes:
20-12-2015, 05:14 PM
Can I nominate Jarryd Lyon from the crows? If not, he's only a season or two away
He is a young, up and coming (in a stagnating kinda way) Eker.
20-12-2015, 05:21 PM
I suppose that is one of an ekers greatest assets, to create a prolonged sense of being 'up and coming'. So impressed by Liam Jones' ability to get another coach excited by his explosiveness and exciting potential - whilst undergoing his 8th AFL preseason.
20-12-2015, 05:36 PM
Creating the perception of work while trying to get of doing any is a skill. Many a person in an office knows this.
20-12-2015, 06:09 PM
Creating the perception of work while trying to get of doing any is a skill. Many a person in an office knows this.
Not just offices either. Any workplace pretty much.
20-12-2015, 06:17 PM
Not just offices either. Any workplace pretty much.
Agreed!
20-12-2015, 11:37 PM
I suppose that is one of an ekers greatest assets, to create a prolonged sense of being 'up and coming'. So impressed by Liam Jones' ability to get another coach excited by his explosiveness and exciting potential - whilst undergoing his 8th AFL preseason.
Jarrad Waite was 30 years old and still had people talking about his potential!
20-12-2015, 11:43 PM
Jarrad Waite was 30 years old and still had people talking about his potential!
Aptly (sur)named.
21-12-2015, 09:15 PM
Yes George Costanza says hi GD.
21-12-2015, 10:14 PM
Start working on the Penski file.
21-12-2015, 10:48 PM
I was a public servant for years. I'm a past master at looking busy.
21-12-2015, 11:47 PM
It's getting so much harder now that people communicate electronically more so than via the phone or face to face.
Looking busy and frustrated just isn't enough any more, now that your daily activity is effectively traced via your email activity.
21-12-2015, 11:48 PM
My plan never failed. Was yours similar to mine?
Step 1. Grab a manilla folder and then put some paperwork on top. Make it look like a working file of some sort, a bit of mess not too neat.
Step 2. Try to find a place away from colleagues as much as possible.
Step 3. Every now and then, but with enough regularity, walk around quite abruptly with an annoyed/shitty look on your face with reference to 'the file'. With an occasional 'fresh air break' with the smokers because "you've had enough of 'the file' and need to get out of the office. Anyway, how your day?". Remember, No one cares about your 'problems', so they won't ask anything whatsoever and in fact go to great lengths to not be involved in perceived stress. So hide in plain sight.
Step 4. Go back to doing nothing with the frustrated facial expressions and body language towards a computer and occasional flick of file. Throw out the occasional excesperated words such as TJF at an audible level (The Job's F....D).
Step 5. Repeat step 3 and step 4 until the shift is over. Maybe check how many sick days without certificates needed are in the kitty still.
Step 6. Go home.
Never, ever, ever failed.
21-12-2015, 11:54 PM
It's getting so much harder now that people communicate electronically more so than via the phone or face to face.
Looking busy and frustrated just isn't enough any more, now that your daily activity is effectively traced via your email activity.
That's a shame your email is so reliable. Problems with sending and receiving, incorrect server settings, mail going into junk boxes without my knowing and problems dealing with help desks used to shit me to tears.
22-12-2015, 12:09 AM
Passive aggressiveness whilst still seeming to achieve results is the best way to have people leave you alone.
Dead pan responses to plain old regular day to day queries that kind of sound like you should be joking but just sound serious enough to be threatening need to be stock standard.
22-12-2015, 08:02 AM
Step 1. Grab a manilla folder and then put some paperwork on top. Make it look like a working file of some sort, a bit of mess not too neat.
Step 3. Every now and then, but with enough regularity, walk around quite abruptly with an annoyed/shitty look on your face with reference to 'the file'. With an occasional 'fresh air break' with the smokers because "you've had enough of 'the file' and need to get out of the office. Anyway, how your day?". Remember, No one cares about your 'problems', so they won't ask anything whatsoever and in fact go to great lengths to not be involved in perceived stress. So hide in plain sight.
Step 4. Go back to doing nothing with the frustrated facial expressions and body language towards a computer and occasional flick of file. Throw out the occasional excesperated words such as TJF at an audible level (The Job's F....D).
Step 5. Repeat step 3 and step 4 until the shift is over. Maybe check how many sick days without certificates needed are in the kitty still.
Step 6. Go home.
How To Be An Everyday Eker: The Handbook
Could be a bestseller!
22-12-2015, 09:00 AM
I work in strategy, so my (and the whole industry's) approach is just roll out the same work you did last month/year/decade but invent some new words to call it so it sounds like it's something entirely new.
Cadence=> Operating rythym=> Loop circles it's like just Blue steel=> Latigra=> Ferrari
22-12-2015, 10:37 AM
How the hell do you become an AFL eker then? It's such a professional environment.
22-12-2015, 11:50 AM
How the hell do you become an AFL eker then? It's such a professional environment.
Easy, you play one good game, get injured, have another good game, have a setback and just keep hanging in there off the back of a few games, and lots of injuries but show lot';s of potential that you never fulfill. :D
Of course you do this year after year and next thing you have played 50 games in 8 years
22-12-2015, 01:10 PM
Step 6. Go home.
Frighteningly accurate. Not forgetting to offer to help the receptionist with some trivial job (answer the line that's been flashing for a while and take a message) so that when anyone asks her where you are she can tell them how unbelievably busy you are.
And I loved Phoeniix.
23-12-2015, 09:16 PM
As a follow up to all of the above: any Bristow fans out there? He disappeared from The Age quite a few years ago now.
12-01-2016, 01:30 PM
Today is a fantastic day for all recently delisted ekers - an extra 10 spots up for grabs now, the only downside is that they have to play for Essendon.
Torpedo
13-01-2016, 08:37 AM
Ah Bristow! My role model when I was in the APS. Who could forget the decade long ramifications of "The great tea trolley disaster"? Some things can't be unknown.
13-01-2016, 04:13 PM
Surely the Essendon top-up player scenario will bring us some further eker gold?
A player not on an AFL list as of the start of 2016 will be likely to play senior football this year. That is some serious eker effort
13-01-2016, 04:33 PM
Ayce Cordy is in the mix
13-01-2016, 08:35 PM
Surely the Essendon top-up player scenario will bring us some further eker gold?
A player not on an AFL list as of the start of 2016 will be likely to play senior football this year. That is some serious eker effort
It will be an ekergasm!
13-01-2016, 10:59 PM
It will be an ekergasm!
Eker ekestacy.
13-01-2016, 11:58 PM
Ayce Cordy is in the mix
Then I hope he saves his KPF game of no kicks, 5 handballs for us this season.
14-01-2016, 12:06 AM
Then I hope he saves his KPF game of no kicks, 5 handballs for us this season.
If he's KPF for the bummers against us, he'll be lucky to get 5 entries into his 50, let alone 5 handballs.
An Ayce v Zayne match up does have a symmetrical appeal.
14-01-2016, 12:12 AM
If he's KPF for the bummers against us, he'll be lucky to get 5 entries into his 50, let alone 5 handballs.
An Ayce v Zayne match up does have a symmetrical appeal.
Daniher was down there as a father/son prospect in 2012 wasn't he? Now I think of it.
14-01-2016, 10:34 AM
I think it's time for the People's Beard to make another comeback - he is like the John Farnham of the AFL.
20-01-2016, 12:17 PM
You have to say that Crowley has gotten a ton of his career out of minimal talent and athleticism. Dude has gotten by with being a scragger and a tough bastard for quite a long time now.
20-01-2016, 02:21 PM
You have to say that Crowley has gotten a ton of his career out of minimal talent and athleticism. Dude has gotten by with being a scragger and a tough bastard for quite a long time now.
Has won a best and fairest though. Surely that's instant disqualification from ekerdom.
20-01-2016, 02:40 PM
Has won a best and fairest though. Surely that's instant disqualification from ekerdom.
Steven Baker won a B&F and he was an eker that other ekers thought had minimal talent.
David Teague won a B&F at Carlton and only just lasted long enough to sneak into ekerdom.
20-01-2016, 02:47 PM
take out season 2009 when Crowley only played 6 games, (perhaps injured, I don't know) he averaged around 20 games a season. That is not Eker stuff.
20-01-2016, 08:40 PM
Steven Baker won a B&F and he was an eker that other ekers thought had minimal talent.
David Teague won a B&F at Carlton and only just lasted long enough to sneak into ekerdom.
Steve Baker would be a first picked type in the Liam Picken mould. Teague I find harder to mount a case for but he had nice hair.
Jonathon Simpkin come on down. Picked up by his third club, Essendon. 37 games eked out so far, many of which he's been the sub, and even eked out being a sub in a flag. Turned 28 in October.
21-01-2016, 02:08 PM
You have to say that Crowley has gotten a ton of his career out of minimal talent and athleticism.
Not so sure about the athleticism part, he's an endurance animal. Not much else, but endurance + dedication = AFL career
21-01-2016, 02:18 PM
Jonathon Simpkin come on down. Picked up by his third club, Essendon. 37 games eked out so far, many of which he's been the sub, and even eked out being a sub in a flag. Turned 28 in October.
4th. He was a rookie at Sydney first!
21-01-2016, 03:35 PM
4th. He was a rookie at Sydney first!
He's on his fourth team? Bloody hell, he's a solid decent player and he's been depth at two of the most dominant midfields of the modern era but he has had a lot of chances.
21-01-2016, 03:38 PM
He's on his fourth team? Bloody hell, he's a solid decent player and he's been depth at two of the most dominant midfields of the modern era but he has had a lot of chances.
He's been delisted 3 times and played a year of local footy during his AFL career, it's a remarkable performance.
21-01-2016, 03:41 PM
He's been delisted 3 times and played a year of local footy during his AFL career, it's a remarkable performance.
The craziest thing is that he has quite a few state league accomplishments. Two B&F's with Geelong, premierships with Geelong and Box Hill and was named BOG in the 2013 VFL grand final. If he'd never been on an AFL in that period then he'd be a guy that everyone would be begging to get a shot at the AFL.
09-02-2016, 11:45 AM
Sam Grimley is approaching hall-of-fame territory after being announced as an Essendon top-up player - 3 games to date and about to enter his 7th consecutive year on a senior list.
09-02-2016, 12:08 PM
With the list they have this year, maybe they should be renamed Ekesendon.
10-02-2016, 12:34 AM
Sam Grimley is approaching hall-of-fame territory after being announced as an Essendon top-up player - 3 games to date and about to enter his 7th consecutive year on a senior list.
What if he plays 22 games this season?
10-02-2016, 01:50 AM
If he plays 22 games this season he'll no longer be an Eker of the highest order.
10-02-2016, 08:56 AM
Wow. Had no idea it's been 7 years in the system.
10-02-2016, 10:10 AM
What if he plays 22 games this season?
Then Essendon are even more stuffed than I thought ;)
10-02-2016, 01:05 PM
He is one that slipped under the radar.. That's an awesome effort!
10-02-2016, 06:41 PM
He is one that slipped under the radar.. That's an awesome effort!
Eker Immortality! ;)
10-02-2016, 07:56 PM
Really class - rolled gold ekers - are Grimley-like in their anonymity. They exist in the shadows for the most part, destined to surface when some no-name half-back from a cellar-dwelling club pings a hammy and can't front up for a Round 22 clash against another cellar dweller. Then they disappear for another 10 - 12 months before being de-listed.
Fortunately, the one good game they played in the Magoos was witnessed by an AFL Club's recruiting officer whose car ran out of gas opposite the Werribee Football Ground when he was on his way back to the big smoke after visiting his sick mum in Geelong. So our eker gets his foot on the merry-go-round again.
10-02-2016, 08:02 PM
Man, I can't believe that they picked up Grimley. He's just not a footballer and he has been exposed in multiple VFL grand finals as not being able to handle pressure.
15-02-2016, 10:57 AM
Sam Grimley is such a great Dickensian name though.
15-02-2016, 12:15 PM
Sam Grimley is such a great Dickensian name though.
It is. I can imagine him living under a snow drift somewhere in London.
23-04-2016, 12:23 AM
Could be a red letter weekend for the eker movement with Daniel Currie playing his first game for GC this weekend and Sam Grimley on the extended bench for the Bombers.
09-06-2016, 06:13 PM
Sam Reid to play his first game for GWS this weekend since 2013. Hats off to Eker royalty.
09-06-2016, 06:58 PM
They're taking the mickey aren't they?
09-06-2016, 07:17 PM
They're taking the mickey aren't they?
Yes.
09-06-2016, 07:21 PM
Could be a red letter weekend for the eker movement with Daniel Currie playing his first game for GC this weekend and Sam Grimley on the extended bench for the Bombers.
Cripes, have to google Mr Grimley. No idea who he is.
09-06-2016, 07:37 PM
His first game and this must be his third year on the list? Not including the years he was dropped entirely from the list before being redrafted.
Outstanding.
Torpedo
09-06-2016, 07:49 PM
His first game and this must be his third year on the list? Not including the years he was dropped entirely from the list before being redrafted.
Outstanding.
http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-2016-sam-reid-caps-off-remarkable-comeback-for-greater-western-sydney-giants-20160609-gpfnej.html
09-06-2016, 09:14 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-2016-sam-reid-caps-off-remarkable-comeback-for-greater-western-sydney-giants-20160609-gpfnej.html
Actually reading that it's a pretty admirable story. Good luck to him.
09-06-2016, 09:33 PM
Great story. I know he was not much chop for us but I loved some of his efforts in late 2009.
Clearly he is in good form to be getting a game for GWS right now.
09-06-2016, 09:39 PM
Great story. I know he was not much chop for us but I loved some of his efforts in late 2009.
As a youngster he was a powerful mover
He showed a bit with us early, and then developed type 1 diabetes, and multiple? shoulder reconstructions
09-06-2016, 09:43 PM
As a youngster he was a powerful mover
He showed a bit with us early, and then developed type 1 diabetes, and multiple? shoulder reconstructions
Yep, multiple shoulder recos and a lengthy bout of OP didn't give him any continuity during his time with us
09-06-2016, 10:07 PM
I rated him when he first started for us. Absolute beast at the contest. Injuries ruined his time with us.
09-06-2016, 10:08 PM
Always had a soft spot for Sam Reid and I'm rapt that he gets a game this week.
10-06-2016, 09:15 AM
Actually reading that it's a pretty admirable story. Good luck to him.
Great story. He is very well regarded too.
10-06-2016, 09:27 AM
Yep, played a really good game against Geel late in the season where he cut out Jimmy Bartel and got a bit of it himself.. He gave off a handball when under the pump that the Bont would be proud of.. Hope he goes well.
11-06-2016, 02:27 AM
May Sam J have a solid career with no decent performances against the Dawgs. Well done to him, that's some persistence right there, and a mighty beard.
16-06-2016, 03:06 PM
With Scott Lycett dropped for disciplinary reasons and NicNat injured, Jonathan Giles will play his first game for his 4th club on the weekend.
16-06-2016, 08:17 PM
With Scott Lycett dropped for disciplinary reasons and NicNat injured, Jonathan Giles will play his first game for his 4th club on the weekend.
That is some serious eking. Must confess I've never heard of him. Guess flying below the radar is a strong part of his skill set along with currying favour and flattering to decieve. Looks like his been on a torturous journey - four clubs. When did he debut?
16-06-2016, 08:23 PM
Was on Ports list but never played a game.
Was part of GWS' inargrual list and played 3 seasons before falling behind Mumford in the pecking order.
Was traded to Essendon and played 3 games for them, before being traded again to West Coast.
16-06-2016, 08:24 PM
Just one more club to equal the record of 5 AFL teams. Maybe Dale Kickett should be his idol about what his five club might bring him:
Kickett: Fitzroy (15), WCE (2), St Kilda (21), 1 year at State League Claremont, Essendon (8) & Fremantle (135)
Giles: Port Adelaide (0), 1 year as State League Sturt, GWS (51), Essendon (3) & WCE (1*)
I nominate Brisbane or GCS so he can take the title of the first and only ever player to play in all 5 AFL states.
16-06-2016, 08:33 PM
I love this thread.
16-06-2016, 11:35 PM
I wonder if Jonathan Giles is related to Ashley Giles? Uncle Ashley was a international cricketing eker if ever there was one. He went on tour after tour taking second place behind the big stars like Monty Panesar and Graeme Onions and doing all of his bowling in the nets.
17-06-2016, 09:22 AM
I wonder if Jonathan Giles is related to Ashley Giles? Uncle Ashley was a international cricketing eker if ever there was one. He went on tour after tour taking second place behind the big stars like Monty Panesar and Graeme Onions and doing all of his bowling in the nets.
Helped win the Ashes and got a knighthood. Does that diminish or enhance his eker status?
17-06-2016, 09:38 AM
Absolutely enhances it.
Paul Collingwood got that knighthood as well, don't forget.
17-06-2016, 11:26 AM
Paul would have got it because eddie would have gone over and pushed the point that Collingwood means ultimate in everything .
17-06-2016, 11:35 AM
Absolutely enhances it.
We're at 50 pages on the footy ekers thread - I reckon we could double it for cricket ekers.
17-06-2016, 01:30 PM
Absolutely enhances it.
And the bloke who fielded while the bowlers got massages. Ran out Ponting.
17-06-2016, 01:39 PM
We're at 50 pages on the footy ekers thread - I reckon we could double it for cricket ekers.
Collingwood was at least a decent short form player. Giles was rubbish irrespective of how long the match lasted.
17-06-2016, 01:44 PM
Cricket ekers - Andrew Zesers. But let's not get started on this one. Although it might be the only vehicle by which the name, Denis Yagmich, gets an airing.