View Full Version : The official Sam Reid/Daniel Currie Memorial Eker Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

12-07-2016, 11:29 PM
I wonder if Jonathan Giles is related to Ashley Giles? Uncle Ashley was a international cricketing eker if ever there was one. He went on tour after tour taking second place behind the big stars like Monty Panesar and Graeme Onions and doing all of his bowling in the nets.

Fun fact about Jonathan Giles, according to afltables he has the worst win-loss percentage of any currently listed player who had played at least 50 games. Currently sits at 6-49 for a princely 10.91% winning ratio.

12-07-2016, 11:32 PM
Fun fact about Jonathan Giles, according to afltables he has the worst win-loss percentage of any currently listed player who had played at least 50 games. Currently sits at 6-49 for a princely 10.91% winning ratio.

That would be depressing being in only 6 winning games.

12-07-2016, 11:38 PM

That would be depressing being in only 6 winning games.

There must be some Footscray players from 1979/80/81/82 with worse win loss records than that but I'm having trouble thinking of them. Alby Smedz, Bruce and John Reid, Alan McConnell, Norm Tivendale, Bill Berry blokes like that

12-07-2016, 11:45 PM
There must be some Footscray players from 1979/80/81/82 with worse win loss records than that but I'm having trouble thinking of them. Alby Smedz, Bruce and John Reid, Alan McConnell, Norm Tivendale, Bill Berry blokes like that

Of players that have played 50 games, Giles' W/L record is the 5th-worst of all time. The first 3 all played for StKilda in the 19th Century and the 4th played in Hawthorn's early years in the VFL.

There is no Bulldog in the top 20.

Edit: A fellow called Mal McBean, who played for Foostcray and StKilda between 1944-49, has an 8-1-50 record.

13-07-2016, 10:26 AM
double post

13-07-2016, 10:29 AM

Obscure stat of the year! I hope he didn't put effort into learning the Port & Essendon club songs while he was on their lists, he never, ever got to sing it!

13-07-2016, 08:59 PM

I looked up Alby Smedts as a Random for you TD.

In 51 games for us his record was 18-1-32, so a touch over 33%.

13-07-2016, 10:42 PM
I looked up Alby Smedts as a Random for you TD.

In 51 games for us his record was 18-1-32, so a touch over 33%.

Cheers WD. They were dim, dark days. Some of those trips to Windy Hill or Moorabbin or the Lake Oval watching us get our pants pulled down were interesting cultural experiences. I reckon I went to the Lake Oval half a dozen times and never saw us get within ten goals.

26-08-2016, 10:12 PM

Playing the game of his life, and with NicNats knee injury will get another year. Eker Royalty in deed.

28-08-2016, 09:05 AM
Giles - you are an inspiration! When the chips are down hard core Ekers can always dredge up something from their bag of tricks.

THE ROLLED GOLD EKER

A dozen seasons in the system
Thirty games all told
He's plied his trade from Bourke to Queensland
As an Eker, he's rolled gold.

His first year was at Richmond
He was taken in the draft
They needed a back-up ruckman
I guess the die was cast.

He played a season in the twos
And he finally got the call
The number one had broke his leg
He vowed he'd give his all.

A guaranteed six game stint
He was eager to do well
But it wasn't the start he expected
It was the start from hell!

The game was only five minutes in
The ball was on the wing
He sprinted to the contest
But his hammy it went - ping!

Carried off on a stretcher
He was a sorry sight
But three months spent in rehab
Would see his hammy right!

His second year was stillborn
He was stranded in the stalls
Cos he missed the entire pre-season
With extremely swollen balls!

Eventually they subsided
And he hit the training track
But luck was not his long suit
And he did his flamin' back!

Straight back on the injury list
It was enough to make you cry
But the eker deep within him said :
" If you lie down mate - you'll die!"

So he took to re-hab like a duck
He exercised and persisted
In six weeks he got his back right
Just in time to be de-listed!

His manager was not dismayed
In fact he was quite upbeat
" Back-up rucks are hard to find
You'll suit the Dockers a treat! "

So he headed west to try his luck
And at first it all went well
He played an early game or two
But then it turned to hell

A late night out in Freo
Saw him eat some dodgy offal
And a severe bout of food poisoning
Saw him drop back to the WAFL

He made it back into the ones
An Eker to the core
But a shocker against the Doggies
And our hero was shown the door

Three years, two clubs, eight games he'd played
It wasn't a great start
But did our hero feel dismayed?
No, for as an Eker he had HEART! ! !

He was offered up as trade bait
And the Roos were quickly tempted
So taken by his attitude
From due diligence he was - exempted

He played the first month in the twos
Then Goldy had a fall
He waited patiently by the phone
But it didn't ring at all!

He'd hit rock bottom at this point
An unwanted second string
He thought of early retirement
But then kind fate stepped in

A late injury to Firito
(An almost un-heard of thing)
Saw him picked as a defender
He was promoted, he was IN!

He played six solid, sterling games
His stars they were aligned
But then fate intervened again
And he was undermined

A late night out upon the turps
Was spotted by a snitch
Who promptly spilled the beans to Scott
B'Jesus life's a bitch!

Back down to the twos again
He made another start
A true blue rolled gold Eker
He'd show the bastards heart!

He played another dozen games
In seasons five to eight
But then Norf ran out of patience
And he was shown the gate

Eight years in the system
Nothing much to show
He'd run right out of options
So, thought he'd give the bush a go

A year up counrty did the trick
It re-ignited spark
The Saints fell for his manager's schtik
Once more he had a start!

A rock solid pre-season
Saw him straining at the bit
This year was all or nothing
By Christ he'd make a hit!

He'd rack up loads of tackles
He'd knock-up taking marks
He'd even mow the coach's lawn
To help him get a start

His hard work was rewarded
With a late call up in June
But the Saints had hit rock bottom
Odds on to win the spoon

He played twelve games on the trot
A purple patch for him
But then he copped a mighty whack
And all the lights went dim

Concussion saw his season end
Retired on doctor's orders
He spent the two succeeding years
Up bush with Northern Borders

One final crack at the big time called
And to the Suns he went
A rolled gold Eker's tilt at fame
Is never, ever, spent

He played a season for the Suns
He fought, he paid his dues
But his season ended where it began
He was back down in the twos!

A rolled gold Eker tried and true
Salt of the earth and staunch
He's awaiting his manager's call
He's ready for next season's launch!

So don't belittle an Eker
Stop, think and you'll agree
He's sustained by dreams of glory
A lot like you and - me.

28-08-2016, 12:07 PM
You're an artist Merantau.

28-08-2016, 02:52 PM
beautiful ode to eker merantau

an interesting stat on Sean Dempster

five Grand Finals – two in his time at the Sydney Swans, and three at the Saints.

not sure if that qualifies as eker but there must be a unique category. his tough no doubt having to go through so close but so much heartbreak. 221 games

28-08-2016, 02:56 PM
Dempster won one didn't he?

28-08-2016, 03:03 PM
Dempster was in the 2005 swans GF. win having played only 22 games . he played 54 in total for the swans

28-08-2016, 05:24 PM
Cheers WD. They were dim, dark days. Some of those trips to Windy Hill or Moorabbin or the Lake Oval watching us get our pants pulled down were interesting cultural experiences. I reckon I went to the Lake Oval half a dozen times and never saw us get within ten goals.

For a long time I thought that the Lake Oval would be the scene of the only Bulldogs Premiership I would ever see. From memory we won 4, beating the Swans (twice), Richmond and St Kilda. I loved that oval. :-)

28-08-2016, 08:09 PM
beautiful ode to eker merantau

an interesting stat on Sean Dempster

five Grand Finals – two in his time at the Sydney Swans, and three at the Saints.

not sure if that qualifies as eker but there must be a unique category. his tough no doubt having to go through so close but so much heartbreak. 221 games

Dempster is no eker as far as I'm concerned. He's a good player

01-09-2016, 09:38 AM
Vale Cameron Wood. 12 AFL seasons, 3 clubs, 88 games, 5 kicks a game average.

Solid eker numbers. Well played sir.

01-09-2016, 09:46 AM

Well played in deed. Like Eker hall of famers like Dale Kickett or Jonathan Giles, he also had a state league club stint in between AFL clubs. I think he's a possible Hall of Fame nominee Rocco.

01-09-2016, 11:00 PM

That's some serious eking. Must be a "Simon 'The Likeable'," (out of 'Get Smart') type of personality. Always on hand to pass on a hot tip in the 4th at Dapto dogs or to drive you to training while your BMW is at the mechanics. He's probably picked up more witches hats after training than there are grains of sand on the beaches of the earth. Five kicks per game over 12 years. Almost makes him the Ekers' eker. Must confess I've never heard of him. Any further details re his sub-terranean career most appreciated. A bloke like Cameron Wood deserves to be widely known just like the famous jumps jockey Les Boots who went around about 38 times and is credited with 39 falls.

01-09-2016, 11:03 PM

That's some serious eking. Must be a "Simon 'The Likeable'," (out of 'Get Smart') type of personality. Always on hand to pass on a hot tip in the 4th at Dapto dogs or to drive you to training while your BMW is at the mechanics. He's probably picked up more witches hats after training than there are grains of sand on the beaches of the earth. Five kicks per game over 12 years. Almost makes him the Ekers' eker. Must confess I've never heard of him. Any further details re his sub-terranean career most appreciated. A bloke like Cameron Wood deserves to be widely known just like the famous jumps jockey Les Boots who went around about 38 times and is credited with 39 falls.

01-09-2016, 11:05 PM
Picked up as a kid by Brisbane with pick 18. Traded to Collingwood for pick 14. Kept out of the team by Leigh Brown, Chris Dawes & Darren Jolly. Delisted. Played for Willi at VFL. Then onto Carlton. A lot of disappointed clubs, most probably Collingwood giving up a first rounder for a kid that spud second rucks were out shining. But still 4 clubs in 9 years, 3 AFL & 1 VFL.

01-09-2016, 11:13 PM
https://www.punters.com.au/news/The-worlds-worst-jockey_136520/

Interesting article on Les. I did him a disservice - 39 rides, 41 falls.

01-09-2016, 11:17 PM
I remember him now playing for Carlton. Had a Liam Jones-like presence but at the opposite end of the ground to Liam.

01-09-2016, 11:23 PM
Travis Cloke?

01-09-2016, 11:25 PM
Travis Cloke?

Picking us tonight on national TV. Nah! :D

02-09-2016, 12:14 AM
Travis Cloke?

Bloody champion and a gun, to good to be mentioned in this thread.😀

28-11-2016, 09:16 PM
Updated Eker list....

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues- Rhys Palmer
Pies- Jesse White
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo- Jonathon Griffin
Cats- Josh Cowan
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks- Jack Fitzpatrick
North- Majak Daw
Dees- Jake Spencer
Port- Nathan Krakuouer
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans- Jeremy Laider
Eagles- Jonathan Giles
Bulldogs- Josh Prudden

28-11-2016, 09:22 PM
Daniel Currie is King Eker.

9 seasons and 3 clubs for 8 AFL games.

Jonathan Giles comes in second

10 seasons, 4 clubs for 58 games.

28-11-2016, 09:38 PM
Rocco, obviously it is hard to challenge the judgement of a man like you who is basically a 'Professor of Eekdom',

However, Does Gilbert of the Saints fit the bill? thats almost 180 games

I would argue that Shane Savage - debuted in 2009 for 53 career games, or Dylan Roberton were more natural selections, or even Nathan Freeman - 4 years no games

Clearly if you are a ruck man you have more hope

28-11-2016, 10:14 PM
Oh, to be a ruckman. Eker paradise.

28-11-2016, 10:38 PM
And good luck to whatever are the next steps for he who seems to be the a great esker guy - Matt Spangher

From: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-11-28/from-grand-final-to-scrapheap-xavier-richards-without-a-club

"Matt Spangher has reached the end of the line after becoming a fan favourite during his four years and 24 games at Hawthorn.

He carved out a 56-game career that lasted 10 seasons and saw him on the list at three clubs that won premierships. He was a member of the Hawks' 2014 premiership side."

28-11-2016, 10:42 PM
Rocco, obviously it is hard to challenge the judgement of a man like you who is basically a 'Professor of Eekdom',

However, Does Gilbert of the Saints fit the bill? thats almost 180 games

I would argue that Shane Savage - debuted in 2009 for 53 career games, or Dylan Roberton were more natural selections, or even Nathan Freeman - 4 years no games

Clearly if you are a ruck man you have more hope

Agree on Roberton, fits the eker description far better than Gilbert does.

28-11-2016, 11:00 PM
Roberton and Savage still only 25 and have already racked up 100 games.

I think Gilbert is like Roberton but has just survived longer.

I don't see Eker as an insult. Gilbert has gone a career without being a gun but keeps on trucking. The Saints are loaded with guys half a rung up from out and out Eker.

28-11-2016, 11:03 PM
Oh, to be a ruckman. Eker paradise.

Mature, back up ruckman.

Beveridge isn't a fan!

29-11-2016, 08:18 AM
Updated Eker list....

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues- Alex Silvagni
Pies- Jesse White
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo- Jonathon Griffin
Cats- Josh Cowan
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson:
Hawks- Jack Fitzpatrick
North- Majak Daw
Dees- Jake Spencer
Port- Nathan Krakuouer
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert.
Swans- Jeremy Laider
Eagles- Jonathan Giles
Bulldogs- Josh Prudden

Silvagni will have a good eker footnote. Really should've been career over when Freo let him go, but Carlton give him a lifeline ahead of the likes of X.Richards seemingly only because he shares a surname with the list manager. There's a topic: ekerdom and nepotism.

29-11-2016, 08:37 AM
Updated Eker list....

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues- Alex Silvagni
Pies- Jesse White
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo- Jonathon Griffin
Cats- Josh Cowan
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson:
Hawks- Jack Fitzpatrick
North- Majak Daw
Dees- Jake Spencer
Port- Nathan Krakuouer
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert.
Swans- Jeremy Laider
Eagles- Jonathan Giles
Bulldogs- Josh Prudden

I can't help smiling and involuntary shaking my head when I read that list.

29-11-2016, 07:09 PM
Updated Eker list....

Bulldogs- Josh Prudden

Extremely unfair on Josh who is only 22 and has had a serious knee reco, plus other injuries.

29-11-2016, 07:42 PM
Extremely unfair on Josh who is only 22 and has had a serious knee reco, plus other injuries.

Why are so many, so hard on the Eker term?! It about survival!

Who else would you go with? Our list is nuts!

29-11-2016, 07:44 PM
Ekers come in many varieties. The greatest Ekers are ones who survive on the bare minimum for ages but guys who are decent throughout their career without ever being guns are also Ekers.

30-11-2016, 03:17 AM
Carlton have a few ekers over and above Alex Silvagni - Jed Lamb, Rhys Palmer, Daniel Gorringe, Denis Armfield. I would also add in Liam Jones to that list - averages much less than 10 possessions a game over 8 consecutive seasons.

Currie is rolled gold - possibly the finest eker in history.

30-11-2016, 09:12 AM
Carlton have a few ekers over and above Alex Silvagni - Jed Lamb, Rhys Palmer, Daniel Gorringe, Denis Armfield. I would also add in Liam Jones to that list - averages much less than 10 possessions a game over 8 consecutive seasons.

McKernan is a close second to Currie.

At any other club Dennis would be Eker royalty.

30-11-2016, 09:24 AM

Damn, Carlton is Mecca for Ekers.

30-11-2016, 09:31 AM

I just re-read Sedat's post and realised that Dan Gorringe is still on an AFL list.

Daniel *!*!*!*!ing Gorringe is still on an AFL list.

My brain just exploded.

30-11-2016, 11:38 AM
And good luck to whatever are the next steps for he who seems to be the a great esker guy - Matt Spangher

From: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-11-28/from-grand-final-to-scrapheap-xavier-richards-without-a-club

"Matt Spangher has reached the end of the line after becoming a fan favourite during his four years and 24 games at Hawthorn.

He carved out a 56-game career that lasted 10 seasons and saw him on the list at three clubs that won premierships. He was a member of the Hawks' 2014 premiership side."
I was so upset by this news that I had to watch the GF to cheer myself up :D

Man what a career - 1 flag and 5 massive GF winning parties, including the no holes barred 2006 West Coke celebrations.

30-11-2016, 12:00 PM
I was so upset by this news that I had to watch the GF to cheer myself up :D

Man what a career - 1 flag and 5 massive GF winning parties, including the no holes barred 2006 West Coke celebrations.

Seeing him climb the podium to collect his premiership medallion was the one joyful thing I took from any of Hawthorn's premierships.

30-11-2016, 12:09 PM

Alex Silvagni- 53 games in 7 years. I probably went with his age a bit and didn't consider him being a mature recruit. 2nd-3rd tall defender type. Massive Eker points for being saved via rookie draft

Jed Lamb- 3 clubs in 6 years and 37 games. Wowee.

Rhys Palmer- 3 clubs, 9 years and 122 games. He was my original choice as their Eker but too swayed by Silvagni's age when the focus is on years on an AFL list.

Daniel Gorringe- 6 years, 2 clubs, 26 games. Signed as a delight free agent. Classic Eker back up ruck too.

Dennis Armfield- 9 years, 140 games. A few too many games and too few clubs in such a strong Eker field but still not bad.

Liam Jones- Wow up to 8 years now for 83 games. 2 clubs. I prefer my Ekers to inch out contracts not get one crazy long term gift but still strong. He also looks absolutely gone!
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wow this is a hard one. I think I am going to go with Rhys Palmer because I place a massive importance on years in the system. Being an Eker is mainly about survival and I will the 6-7 year barrier is a huge one to crack. Heaps of psudeo Ekers who are 24 years old.

Jed Lamb has enormous Eker legend potential and if Daniel Gorringe somehow gets another contract, he can join the elite bracket of Eker back up rucks.

30-11-2016, 12:35 PM
Why are so many, so hard on the Eker term?! It about survival!

Who else would you go with? Our list is nuts!

Yeah I don't understand why people think it is a bad word.

From the very first post in this thread

eke
2 to manage with difficulty to make (a living, livelihood etc) The artist could scarcely eke out a living from his painting.

'Ekers' is a term I use for players who are great at eking out a career. Please don't confuse my ekers with list cloggers though.

30-11-2016, 12:42 PM
I have never found selecting a club's Eker as I do this year with the doggies.

My general rules are:
- never been a 'star'. Contrary to a lot of people's opinion, being an Eker does not = being a dud (although minimalistic survival is highly valued).
- really want more than 6-7 years in the AFL system, the longer the better. As I mentioned in the previous post, lots of psudeo Ekers who are 24 years old. The next contract makes or breaks real Ekers.
- I like a good low games played to years in the system ratio. As mentioned earlier, minimalistic survival is key.
- playing for multiple teams and surviving via rookie drafts, delisted free agency and/or steak knives trade deals adds Eker value.

The Bulldogs have a few Eker-ish guys like Prudden, Campbell, Redpath, Jong, Biggs and Honeychurch but all have only been in the AFL system for 4-5 years.

Prudden has has 4 games in 4 years and gets another go on the rookie list due to his great attitude, which is a strong Eker subset.

30-11-2016, 12:43 PM
Yeah I don't understand why people think it is a bad word.

From the very first post in this thread

Thank you. You, Sedat and comrade are a few of my truly great Eker students.

02-12-2016, 02:27 PM
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/cult-favourite-hawk-matt-spangher-announces-retirement-after-56-games-over-11-seasons/news-story/58640fedf36c3f674c523dfad95e2cc4?nk=fddae1ef119c11a47b6edb9f 4f05f7b9-1480645471

We've officially lost one of the greatest ekers today - 11 consecutive seasons at 3 different clubs for a measly 56 games, which is a fraction over 5 games a season. Spang could become one of the first Eker HoF legends.

Wearing my footy scarf at half mast today :D

02-12-2016, 02:28 PM
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/cult-favourite-hawk-matt-spangher-announces-retirement-after-56-games-over-11-seasons/news-story/58640fedf36c3f674c523dfad95e2cc4?nk=fddae1ef119c11a47b6edb9f 4f05f7b9-1480645471

We've officially lost one of the greatest ekers today - 11 consecutive seasons at 3 different clubs for a measly 56 games. Spang could become one of the first Eker HoF legends.

Wearing my footy scarf at half mast today :D

Vale Matt Sphanger. Gone of career, but never Eker forgotten.

02-12-2016, 06:09 PM
Eker rankings

#1 Daniel Currie
9 seasons and 3 clubs for 8 AFL games. The King!

#2 Dawson Simspon
9 AFL seasons for 28 games with 2 clubs.

#3 Jake Spencer
Managed to say at the same club playing 36 games in 9 years.

#4 Shaun McKernan
8 AFL seasons for 49 games with 2 clubs. Delisted twice and picked up in rookie draft twice by Essendon. 8 AFL season, 49 games.

#5 Jonathan Giles
10 AFL seasons, 4 clubs for 58 games. Delisted, year in state league, rookie listed and then traded twice in steak knives deals.

02-12-2016, 06:18 PM
Josh Cowan and Jake Fitzpatrick honourable mentions but I would like to see them break the dreaded 7 year barrier for Ekers.

Kyle Cheney the top non back up ruck Eker.

02-12-2016, 06:50 PM
Kyle Cheney the top non back up ruck Eker.
The Eker is like the reverse Brownlow - it is dominated by ruckmen and mids barely get a look-in.

Cheney is a brilliant nomination outside of the ruck domain.

02-12-2016, 06:55 PM
Alex Silvagni- 53 games in 7 years. I probably went with his age a bit and didn't consider him being a mature recruit. 2nd-3rd tall defender type. Massive Eker points for being saved via rookie draft

Jed Lamb- 3 clubs in 6 years and 37 games. Wowee.

Rhys Palmer- 3 clubs, 9 years and 122 games. He was my original choice as their Eker but too swayed by Silvagni's age when the focus is on years on an AFL list.

Daniel Gorringe- 6 years, 2 clubs, 26 games. Signed as a delight free agent. Classic Eker back up ruck too.

Dennis Armfield- 9 years, 140 games. A few too many games and too few clubs in such a strong Eker field but still not bad.

Liam Jones- Wow up to 8 years now for 83 games. 2 clubs. I prefer my Ekers to inch out contracts not get one crazy long term gift but still strong. He also looks absolutely gone!
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wow this is a hard one. I think I am going to go with Rhys Palmer because I place a massive importance on years in the system. Being an Eker is mainly about survival and I will the 6-7 year barrier is a huge one to crack. Heaps of psudeo Ekers who are 24 years old.

Jed Lamb has enormous Eker legend potential and if Daniel Gorringe somehow gets another contract, he can join the elite bracket of Eker back up rucks.

I love your work Rocco. Ekerology is a very satisfying field of study. For the uninitiated I submit that an Eker slots seemlessly into a category one rung below what Captain Blood used to describe as, "a good ordinary footballer". These blokes tended to get regular games, sort of fixtures in the side, never staring but never liabilitizing either. They tended to be around for a long time. Firrito is the prototype. Ekers are generally not good enough to string together long sequences of games. They tend to travel a lot and are allergic to the limelight - only appreciated and lauded by the followers of this thread.

02-12-2016, 07:10 PM
I just told my wife Daniel Currie's stats. Her reaction? "Oh, my God!"

05-12-2016, 04:18 PM
If you took his total contract payments over the years and divided them by the total amount of games played it would probably make Daniel Curry close to the highest payed player of all time in terms of output.

05-12-2016, 04:23 PM
If you took his total contract payments over the years and divided them by the total amount of games played it would probably make Daniel Curry close to the highest payed player of all time in terms of output.

My math is Currie getting about $167,000 per game. Compared to say GAJ who gets say about $2,000,000 a year with his QLD ambassadorship included, which then breaks down to about $90,000 per game if he played all 22 games. Tom Boyd gets a measly $42,000 per game, over 22 games.

05-12-2016, 11:24 PM
My math is Currie getting about $167,000 per game. Compared to say GAJ who gets say about $2,000,000 a year with his QLD ambassadorship included, which then breaks down to about $90,000 per game if he played all 22 games. Tom Boyd gets a measly $42,000 per game, over 22 games.
Such a shame that Sam Grimley didn't get another contract after this year - he might have broken the internet with his $$$ to games played ratio.

17-07-2017, 11:00 AM
L-Jizz just got a 2 year contract extension. The big question is whether or not his outstanding month of footy makes him ineligible for eker status - if he can revert to spudness again in 2018, his hot form will be one of the biggest sleight of hand tricks since Keyser Soze.

17-07-2017, 11:13 AM
L-Jizz just got a 2 year contract extension. The big question is whether or not his outstanding month of footy makes him ineligible for eker status - if he can revert to spudness again in 2018, his hot form will be one of the biggest sleight of hand tricks since Keyser Soze.

Jessie White played some good footy too, I still think he is comfortably an eker.

17-07-2017, 11:28 AM

We will see how he goes over the next few weeks. He didnt do much yesterday but held Redpath to not much.

17-07-2017, 03:42 PM

A good eker knows when to turn it on though. Liam showed the dog just enough of the fox to eke out another two years. He can relax for 18 months now.

17-07-2017, 11:46 PM
I love this thread. Thanks Rocco for launching it. There's some great reading here and some very sharp observations.

18-07-2017, 12:11 AM

I get the feeling his Eker status is inextricably linked with the ongoing success of Brendon Bolton and the latter's ability to keep the positive vibes and strong improvement of the Carltank Football Club trending upwards.

Sure, one might understand a slight release of the throttle from the Jizz man post his recent extension (I can see a few binges with pre-mixed cans and terrible Australian Hip-hop involved) being awarded, but in my view he's just a few weeks of poor team performance this year, and half a year of further poor performance away from being in the gun again after some traditional idiocy and backward thinking from the Carltank board seeing Bolton dismissed.

18-07-2017, 11:46 PM
Eker rankings

#1 Daniel Currie
9 seasons and 3 clubs for 8 AFL games. The King!

#2 Dawson Simspon
9 AFL seasons for 28 games with 2 clubs.

#3 Jake Spencer
Managed to say at the same club playing 36 games in 9 years.

#4 Shaun McKernan
8 AFL seasons for 49 games with 2 clubs. Delisted twice and picked up in rookie draft twice by Essendon. 8 AFL season, 49 games.

#5 Jonathan Giles
10 AFL seasons, 4 clubs for 58 games. Delisted, year in state league, rookie listed and then traded twice in steak knives deals.

I would be really interested in learning more about Daniel Currie. If any Woofers can shed some light on his career that would be great. It's s helluva achievement to be around for so long and play so few games. It's a record that will stand the test of time I think.

18-07-2017, 11:57 PM
I hope Daniel Curry can squeeze one more year out and not play any games. A ten year career with less than ten games would shut the door on who is the greatest eker of all time. The Federer or Ali of ekers.

19-07-2017, 12:03 AM
I would be really interested in learning more about Daniel Currie

Not that dissimilar to Tom Campbell. Big lumbering ruck who can take a grab but not much else, and has durability issues. Break glass in case of emergency type, as many of the top ekers are - the 3rd best ruck on a club's list

19-07-2017, 01:26 PM
I hope Daniel Curry can squeeze one more year out and not play any games. A ten year career with less than ten games would shut the door on who is the greatest eker of all time. The Federer or Ali of ekers.

Yes he can go around saying "I am the greatest....eker"

19-07-2017, 02:42 PM
Yes he can go around saying "I am the greatest....eker"

I watched Rumble in the Jungle again the other day. Ali yelling abuse at Foreman and inviting him to hit him harder and pointing to his chin. What a lunatic. "Come on George. You can hit harder than an old lady can"

I guess ekering at its very best is rope a dope. You rope some dopey football manager into giving you a contract.

19-07-2017, 03:09 PM
Probably not in the same class as Daniel Currie or Josh Cowan but Aaron Black must now be mixing in Eker circles.
Drafted back in 2009, and now close to 8 years in the system for 54 games and showing little signs of improvement.

19-07-2017, 03:27 PM
Probably not in the same class as Daniel Currie or Josh Cowan but Aaron Black must now be mixing in Eker circles.
Drafted back in 2009, and now close to 8 years in the system for 54 games and showing little signs of improvement.

I thought Aaron Black would have broken through and become a bit of a player. I remember him looking impressive playing against us early in the 2014 season. Looking at his stats - he played 25 games that year including a prelim where he nearly went statless - and has then gone on to play 3 games in 2015, 0 in 2016 - and a further 4 games for Geelong this season.

19-07-2017, 03:34 PM
I thought Aaron Black would have broken through and become a bit of a player. I remember him looking impressive playing against us early in the 2014 season. Looking at his stats - he played 25 games that year including a prelim where he nearly went statless - and has then gone on to play 3 games in 2015, 0 in 2016 - and a further 4 games for Geelong this season.

Precisely the type of player and form-line we'd have looked at in times gone by.

19-07-2017, 05:01 PM
I Still think Liam Jones will nose dive at some point.

It's in his nature. Threatened to be the next big thing at the dogs as well don't forget, He's totally a confidence player, and we know if you let him run and jump at the ball without contact he looks great, but he can't handle it when you take that away from him.
Pretty soon clubs will instruct a forward to just watch him and get in his way, give him a little bump and he won't know what to do because he can only run in straight lines.

When that happens the rest of his game will fall apart as well and we'll see the real Liam Jones back again.

19-07-2017, 05:07 PM
I presume Liam would be on minimum wage , can't see anyone wanting him and he must feel he owes the blues for 2.5 years of nothing.

19-07-2017, 05:55 PM

Has he really been going for 9 years?

This thread should be renamed after him.

19-07-2017, 06:07 PM

Everybody looked good against us in 2014!

It's in his nature. Threatened to be the next big thing at the dogs as well don't forget, He's totally a confidence player, and we know if you let him run and jump at the ball without contact he looks great, but he can't handle it when you take that away from him.
Pretty soon clubs will instruct a forward to just watch him and get in his way, give him a little bump and he won't know what to do because he can only run in straight lines.

When that happens the rest of his game will fall apart as well and we'll see the real Liam Jones back again.

Yep. He had that good year in 2010 with Barry Hall alongside him. The year he left I was curious to see how he would have gone alongside Tom Boyd (I had this wild idea that Tom would play as a key forward, dunno why I thought that) with the second or third forward. But now I know because Carlton have wasted nearly 3 years playing Liam alongside Levy Casboult and my curiosity is satisfied.

31-07-2017, 11:39 AM

Conceded 27 possessions, 11 marks and 6 goals to his direct opponent on Saturday night - fair start to the nose dive ;)

31-07-2017, 12:32 PM
Conceded 27 possessions, 11 marks and 6 goals to his direct opponent on Saturday night - fair start to the nose dive ;)

What a shit truck. How long did he get? Three more years? Hahahahah!

31-07-2017, 12:49 PM

I didn't see the game, but by the stats/scores it would have been next to impossible playing in the backline for Carlton.

31-07-2017, 12:54 PM
I didn't see the game, but by the stats/scores it would have been next to impossible playing in the backline for Carlton.

Might explain the 6 goals, but giving up 27 touches to a fat overgrown baby is despicable.

31-07-2017, 12:55 PM
Speaking of ekers this thread has lasted 8 years!

31-07-2017, 01:31 PM
If Liam got 3 year extension , bigger picture wise this thread is kept alive for at least that Long . WELL DONE LIAM, we can aim to keep this thread going for 11 years

31-07-2017, 04:12 PM
What a shit truck. How long did he get? Three more years? Hahahahah!

Only two sadly.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/reborn-liam-jones-signs-twoyear-contract-extension-with-carlton-20170716-gxc4zs.html

31-07-2017, 04:25 PM
Speaking of ekers this thread has lasted 8 years!

The eker thread :D

01-08-2017, 12:47 AM
This thread will never die. It will live on in the memories of all who have read it or posted on it.

01-08-2017, 01:11 AM
And Dawson Simpson gets another game! Like finding a hens tooth.

01-08-2017, 11:18 AM
This thread will never die. It will live on in the memories of all who have read it or posted on it.

Vive'la'thread!

01-08-2017, 09:12 PM
I recently decided that I badly needed to beef up on Daniel Currieology. I consulted Suns TV. They have a couple of clips of/interviews with him. I've gained a lot of respect for him. He's the journeyman's journeyman. He richly deserves a 10th year and a string of games. Even 20 on the trot would be a mere scratch on his imposing record.

01-08-2017, 09:55 PM
If Declan Hamilton gets another contract would he be looking at entering eker potential ?

02-08-2017, 01:53 PM
Liam Jones getting a multi year deal off the back of a handful of games is worthy of Eker Legend status. In fact, if there were such a thing as a yearly Brownlow type medal for the greatest Eker of the season, it should be called the Liam.

02-08-2017, 03:36 PM
Liam Jones getting a multi year deal off the back of a handful of games is worthy of Eker Legend status. In fact, if there were such a thing as a yearly Brownlow type medal for the greatest Eker of the season, it should be called the Liam.

Surely Liam needs to do more to match the exploits of Jonathon Giles and Daniel Currie.

After all he has only managed contracts at 2 clubs. Surely for legend status you would need 3.

02-08-2017, 04:13 PM
We should put down proper eker guidelines I reckon. After all ekering out a living in footy is becoming more common.

Amount of years/games and that sort of thing.

02-08-2017, 04:55 PM
Surely Liam needs to do more to match the exploits of Jonathon Giles and Daniel Currie.

After all he has only managed contracts at 2 clubs. Surely for legend status you would need 3.

They get some leniency under the 'semi-athletic blokes over 200cm who are stupid enough to want to jump into each other' rule, given those types are for specialist roles and relatively rare.

A mid 190s semi-forward, quasi-defender with limited foot skills and an ability to turn everything into a chest mark...now you'll find them at any level.

02-08-2017, 05:00 PM
Getting smashed by Hawkins the week after signing his deal adds extra Eker spice.

02-08-2017, 07:36 PM
Should we use the same timeframe that they use for free agency or is that to generous?

02-08-2017, 07:36 PM
What is the time frame for FA?

02-08-2017, 08:12 PM
What is the time frame for FA?

10 years I think.
Jones would be Getting near it , 5 years at Carlton and I think he had 5 with us, admittedly he hasn't started 4th and 5 th year at Carlton, but he is contracted.
We also must take into account games played and clubs, I think if you can stay at 1 club , 50 or less games and years of ten or over is extremely eker.
Does anyone meet that criteria ?

02-08-2017, 08:17 PM
As for coaching Buckley would be up there . Slowly taken the club down further each year and still has the reputation of a good coach and no one has any figures at all to back up the " good coach" statement.
Rocket Eade would be into eker I would imagine too, but at least he has prelims and a grand final under his belt.

02-08-2017, 08:42 PM
As for coaching Buckley would be up there . Slowly taken the club down further each year and still has the reputation of a good coach and no one has any figures at all to back up the " good coach" statement.
Rocket Eade would be into eker I would imagine too, but at least he has prelims and a grand final under his belt.

Surely Brad Scott is the greatest coaching eker of the present day? He even eked out a prelim or two!

02-08-2017, 08:54 PM
Surely Brad Scott is the greatest coaching eker of the present day? He even eked out a prelim or two!
Apparently he has an amazing win / loss record, well up until this year he had.
At least he has some sort of figures going his way .. Buckley has none.
To be honest I don't think much of the other Scott either , he inherited a premiership side and has only survived due to going out and getting a big name player, hasn't exactly built anything young wise from VFL.

02-08-2017, 10:18 PM
I rate Brad Scott as a coach. He could do some real damage with a well funded club. His brother is an idiot but he is the premiership coach. Go figure.

15-08-2017, 09:10 AM
Great to see Daniel Currie emerge from the shadows to pull on the jumper for the Suns over the weekend.
I didn’t see all the game but, from what I saw did not register a stat apart from hit outs.

16-08-2017, 03:56 AM
Great to see Daniel Currie emerge from the shadows to pull on the jumper for the Suns over the weekend.
I didn’t see all the game but, from what I saw did not register a stat apart from hit outs.

As much as it would add to the legend...

http://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/2017/192020170812.html#p1

5 kicks, 6 handballs, 3 marks, 34 hitouts and ... wait for it ... a goal.

Yep his 6th goal in his 10 games.

That's one game for every year he has been on an AFL list.

16-08-2017, 06:17 AM
34 hit outs. Now I'm terrified he will end up with us.

16-08-2017, 07:42 AM
34 hit outs. Now I'm terrified he will end up with us.

Pfft, any idiot can win hit-outs. I'm more worried he kicked 1.0.

16-08-2017, 09:04 AM
Pfft, any idiot can win hit-outs. I'm more worried he kicked 1.0.

Ayce Cordy couldn't.

16-08-2017, 10:06 AM
Ayce Cordy couldn't.

He could in the VFL grand final, won the game for us with his tap outs to Jongy in that last quarter. :)

16-08-2017, 10:07 AM
As much as it would add to the legend...

http://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/2017/192020170812.html#p1

5 kicks, 6 handballs, 3 marks, 34 hitouts and ... wait for it ... a goal.

Yep his 6th goal in his 10 games.

That's one game for every year he has been on an AFL list.

Thanks for that. There is a rock-solid consistency about his performances that keeps him in the mix as a leading "go to " option for clubs looking for a back up big man.

16-08-2017, 10:32 AM
He could in the VFL grand final, won the game for us with his tap outs to Jongy in that last quarter. :)

Great day.

RoZDog
16-08-2017, 08:36 PM
Dan Currie- played his only game on fractured foot... nothing comes close to his eker pedigree.

16-08-2017, 08:51 PM

David Rhys Jones loved that tap.

He said in special comments that it should count as a goal assist.

22-09-2017, 09:56 AM
Aurevoir Jonathan Giles

An Eker you were but proud you will always be

It always helps to be big if you want to survive as an Eler

23-09-2017, 11:37 PM
Aurevoir Jonathan Giles

Is an "Eler" an elite "Eker"?

24-09-2017, 10:05 PM
The Eker list going into the season. Jesse White, Giles, Spencer and Fitzpatrick all gone.

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues- Rhys Palmer
Pies- Jesse White
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo- Jonathon Griffin
Cats- Josh Cowan
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks- Jack Fitzpatrick
North- Majak Daw
Dees- Jake Spencer
Port- Nathan Krakuouer
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans- Jeremy Laider
Eagles- Jonathan Giles
Bulldogs- Josh Prudden

24-09-2017, 10:06 PM
Aurevoir Jonathan Giles

Giles is definitely a legendary Eker.

24-09-2017, 10:32 PM
The Eker list going into the season. Jesse White, Giles, Spencer and Fitzpatrick all gone.

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues- Rhys Palmer
Pies- Jesse White
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo- Jonathon Griffin
Cats- Josh Cowan
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks- Jack Fitzpatrick
North- Majak Daw
Dees- Jake Spencer
Port- Nathan Krakuouer
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans- Jeremy Laider
Eagles- Jonathan Giles
Bulldogs- Josh Prudden

And Prudden.

25-09-2017, 10:41 AM

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues- Rhys Palmer
Pies- Jesse White
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo- Jonathon Griffin
Cats- Josh Cowan
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks- Jack Fitzpatrick
North- Majak Daw
Dees- Jake Spencer
Port- Nathan Krakuouer
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans- Jeremy Laider
Eagles- Jonathan Giles
Bulldogs- Josh Prudden

Not many 2017 Ekers look certain to survive - Gilbert, Daw and perhaps Laidler the most likely

Cheney, walker, McKernan have some chance

25-09-2017, 10:56 AM
It would be sad to see Currie go. He won the Suns "Most Professional" Award in 2016 and made a very entertaining speech.

25-09-2017, 11:24 AM
Rumour Gryphone is off to Carlton to finish his final year/s of being on the injury list. If true, he's moving into Eker category.

25-09-2017, 11:36 AM
Rumour Gryphone is off to Carlton to finish his final year/s of being on the injury list. If true, he's moving into Eker category.

Salary dump by Giants if it happens

25-09-2017, 12:06 PM
Salary dump by Giants if it happens

Cutting their losses. Gryphone would have been at 3 clubs in 3 years (Dogs Oct 2014, GWS, Carlton Oct 2017). That's quality Eking.

25-09-2017, 01:16 PM
Cutting their losses. Gryphone would have been at 3 clubs in 3 years (Dogs Oct 2014, GWS, Carlton Oct 2017). That's quality Eking.

As much as we were the beneficaries of Griffin's decision to leave, and I always be thankful for that, it is sad to see what has become of him personally but, when I think of how badly it has worked out for GWS, I feel this pleasant, warm glow throughout.
Griffin has become discardable it seems. Went from the top of the hill to the scrap heap in 3 years. GWS got zero out of him. We got a Premiership with Tom Boyd playing a leading role in the greatest finals campaign ever. Thank you Ryan, thank you GWS.

26-09-2017, 06:21 PM
Jeremy Laidler has hung up the boots after 87 games in 10 years with 3 clubs

26-09-2017, 06:23 PM
Vale many great Ekers. So sad to lose so many, after so long.

26-09-2017, 06:28 PM
Vale many great Ekers. So sad to lose so many, after so long.

Majak Daw must be one with promise.

26-09-2017, 06:34 PM
Majak Daw must be one with promise.

Nah, he's just a one club player at this point. Maybe into his third club he can finally start to achieve the low bar over a longer time we all know he's capable of.

26-09-2017, 06:39 PM
Giles and now Laidler - make sure we all get around Rocco to keep his spirits up

26-09-2017, 08:10 PM
Giles and now Laidler - make sure we all get around Rocco to keep his spirits up

It's all part of it. As they say...'Eker come, Eker go'.

26-09-2017, 08:23 PM
What about Gary Ablett Jnr .. Must be rare to start at a club, leave to another then finish your career at your original club.
A great footballer but we must recognise this effort, would there be many to do that ?

26-09-2017, 08:25 PM
What about Gary Ablett Jnr .. Must be rare to start at a club, leave to another then finish your career at your original club.
A great footballer but we must recognise this effort, would there be many to do that ?

The decade or so of being absolutely elite kinda rues him out.

26-09-2017, 08:46 PM

Brett Montgomery

26-09-2017, 09:13 PM
Brett yes he has been turfed by our club twice now. Footballer and coaching .. Now that's a real eker !

27-09-2017, 02:32 AM

Trent Croad says hello.

27-09-2017, 03:31 AM

Brett Montgomery

Trent Croad says hello.

Robbie McGhie is waving.

28-09-2017, 06:24 PM
Will Josh Cowan manage to eke out another year somewhere else?

GEELONG small forward Josh Cowan will leave the club, after failing to secure a new contract for 2018.

The oft-injured Cat played just 16 games in eight seasons, and after another year crueled by injury, Cowan has been told he can explore free agency with another club.

28-09-2017, 06:26 PM
Will Josh Cowan manage to eke out another year somewhere else?

If Josh Cowan gets another year, he will go up massively in Eker status.

29-09-2017, 05:52 AM
A Free Agent eker!

Or is it a eker Free Agent?

20-10-2017, 09:36 PM
I regret to inform, Rhys Palmer, has been de-listed by Carlton. Three clubs and very little impact in, the Rising Star Award winner was eking well until this.

Such a horrible year for Eker losses.

20-10-2017, 09:42 PM
I regret to inform, Rhys Palmer, has been de-listed by Carlton. Three clubs and very little impact in, the Rising Star Award winner was eking well until this.

It's been an Ekersharknado!

21-10-2017, 07:53 AM

What a fantastic trade that was for Carlton

21-10-2017, 10:49 AM
What a fantastic trade that was for Carlton

I think it shows that they only picked up Palmer and his salary to secure Marchbank.

21-10-2017, 12:45 PM
If Josh Cowan gets another year, he will go up massively in Eker status.

8 years as a paid professional athlete for just 16 games means he will always be considered a top line Eker. Doing some back of a napkin type math, the average wage for a senior listed player over that 8 year period is say 250-300K. Let's split the difference and say $275K.

Which means over 8 years he's made approx $2.2M..
Which means he's earned himself $137,500 per senior AFL game.
Which means his hourly rate in terms of pure top line senior AFL game time (2 hours of footy per game) is $68,750 an hour.

What a legend!

21-10-2017, 10:36 PM
10 Club Ekers gone. At least 8 spots will be free. Eker come, Eker go.

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues-
Pies-
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo-
Cats-
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks-
North- Majak Daw
Dees-
Port-
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans-
Eagles-
Bulldogs-

21-10-2017, 11:17 PM
When is Travis Cloke eligible?

21-10-2017, 11:19 PM
When is Travis Cloke eligible?

Way too good at his peak to be considered.

Ours has to be Crozier right?

21-10-2017, 11:20 PM
Also is Currie listed next year? Because that is genuinely hilarious if he is.

22-10-2017, 01:36 AM

Jack Redpath (6 years, 34 games)
Tom Campbell (6 years, 42 games)
Fletcher Roberts (6 years, 47 games)
Mitch Honeychurch (4 years, 22 games)
Hayden Crozier (6 years, 69 games, 2 clubs)
Stewart Crameri (8 years, 99 games, 2 clubs)

22-10-2017, 01:50 AM
Hayden Crozier (6 years, 69 games, 2 clubs)

Nice.

I hope he never plays again.

22-10-2017, 02:40 AM
I remember the day Majak Daw kicked so many goals v us I had to look away. He's been cashing in on that performance for years since.

22-10-2017, 03:23 AM
I remember that day. Five goals from Daw I couldn't watch in the end. And as you say. Living off that performance ever since

22-10-2017, 06:13 PM
Way too good at his peak to be considered.

I was thinking Tom Campbell is ours.

22-10-2017, 07:43 PM
So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues-
Pies-
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo-
Cats-
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks-
North- Majak Daw
Dees-
Port-
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans-
Eagles-
Bulldogs-

22-10-2017, 07:48 PM
I was thinking Tom Campbell is ours.

Tough one. I'm leaning towards Jack....

Redpath 7 seasons for 34 games
Campbell 7 seasons for 42 games.

So many back up ruck Ekers. Harder to do it as a big old key forward.

Both taken at the same rookie draft (along with Jong!).

22-10-2017, 11:25 PM
I remember the day Majak Daw kicked so many goals v us I had to look away. He's been cashing in on that performance for years since.

I remember that day. Five goals from Daw I couldn't watch in the end. And as you say. Living off that performance ever since

I remember being at the game watching my North supporting mate getting so excited "we've found a star!" he was saying. I had to tell him to calm down and relax because Majak would never get to play on opponents like Lukas Markovic and Mark Austen in an AFL game ever again.

23-10-2017, 03:33 AM
I remember being at the game watching my North supporting mate getting so excited "we've found a star!" he was saying. I had to tell him to calm down and relax because Majak would never get to play on opponents like Lukas Markovic and Mark Austen in an AFL game ever again.

Laughed when I Read that TwoD. I've counselled many a North fan in my time behind goals. Perhaps there is some reciprocal 'small club' kindred spirit there. You sort of let them have their fun for a bit, then when reality sinks in, try not to cheer too hard for your own boys. It's a complex task that requires sensitivity!

I felt so sorry for Marco at one point that season I wrote to the club to try and encourage him and I got a reply! haha.
Brad Scott often used to say " On his day, Majak is unstoppable". Providing he had paddocks of space to run straight lines in and battler like Marco turtling behind him, that may have just been the case.

Cheesy was in the team at that point from memory. My favourite Bulldog eker of all time.

23-10-2017, 11:38 AM
So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues-
Pies-
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo-
Cats-
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks-
North- Majak Daw
Dees-
Port-
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans-
Eagles-
Bulldogs-

Apeness a candidate for Freo? 4 years for 7 games. Very injury affected but well on the way to following in the footsteps of big man eker royalty like Currie.

25-10-2017, 12:17 PM
Daniel Currie usually manages to snag a goal here and there. This part of his skill set keeps him front and centre in the MC's deliberations whenever his name crops up.

25-10-2017, 01:02 PM
So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues-
Pies-
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo-
Cats-
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks-
North- Majak Daw
Dees-
Port-
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans-
Eagles-
Bulldogs-

Surely Josh Cowan gets a Guernsey for Geelong? 8 years for 16 games as a midfielder is HOF material!

25-10-2017, 01:16 PM
Surely Josh Cowan gets a Guernsey for Geelong? 8 years for 16 games as a midfielder is HOF material!

As I posted on the previous page he's sadly been delisted so the eker title at the Cats is up for grabs.

25-10-2017, 01:25 PM
Apeness a candidate for Freo? 4 years for 7 games. Very injury affected but well on the way to following in the footsteps of big man eker royalty like Currie.

Cam McCarthy??? If not for the man-bun alone !!

25-10-2017, 01:39 PM
Rhys Stanley and Lachie Henderson have been bog standard for the majority of their careers and have both been at multiple clubs. Reckon they are both eker-worthy.

25-10-2017, 01:41 PM
Cam McCarthy??? If not for the man-bun alone !!

Man bun wearers are the polar opposite of ekers. Ekers are good honest hard working types, just lacking in talent. Man bun wearers are far too assured of themselves (often misplaced) to be a humble eker.

Besides McCarthy has played 20 and 19 games in the past 2 seasons he's played - hardly eker stats.

If we were compiling a biggest flog list at each club he could potentially be right up there though.

25-10-2017, 01:43 PM
Rhys Stanley and Lachie Henderson have been bog standard for the majority of their careers and have both been at multiple clubs. Reckon they are both eker-worthy.

I feel both have played too many games to qualify, particularly Henderson who will likely end up a 250 game player.

26-10-2017, 04:19 AM
I feel both have played too many games to qualify, particularly Henderson who will likely end up a 250 game player.

Indeed. They may have the talent of an eker but they break the rules by playing too much.

26-10-2017, 09:41 AM
Another classic dimension of the asker is to have appeared at multiple clubs

Henderson is far too good to be considered one but if Stanley had played for another two clubs he'd be royalty

26-10-2017, 09:56 AM
I think it's best to wait until the end of the DFA periods and PSD before making any eker calls.

You never know who will get thrown a lifeline.

26-10-2017, 11:42 AM
I think it's best to wait until the end of the DFA periods and PSD before making any eker calls.

This is true.

26-10-2017, 08:38 PM

Exactly. DFA's make for added Ekerness too.

26-10-2017, 08:42 PM
Indeed. They may have the talent of an eker but they break the rules by playing too much.

You can be an Eker and play a lot of games, however the legendary Ekers have as low a games to seasons ratio as possible.

The only thing that automatically disqualifies you is having an elite/award winning year.

26-10-2017, 10:33 PM
Can I nominate Stringer early?

26-10-2017, 10:44 PM
Can I nominate Stringer early?

The AA Guernsey would make him ineligible for ekerness according to Rocco's 'no trophy' rule.

27-10-2017, 04:50 AM
Had to find the time to get Shaun McKernan stats:
52 Games ( 38 Crow, 24 games in 3 years at Essendon)
2014 Rookie Draft
2015 Promoted to Seniors list
2016 Delisted and then Rookie draft
2017 will be pickuped again in Rookie Draft , to enter his 10th AFL season next year!

Eker-Xtrodinary! Essendon have found their niche.

29-10-2017, 01:43 AM
Indeed a worthy applicant. I don’t think the committee will have any issues in pushing that one through.

30-10-2017, 10:05 PM
Dan Currie delisted. A disaster.

30-10-2017, 10:14 PM
Dan Currie delisted. A disaster.

Surely another club needs ruck depth. Surely. Surely! Surely... At WCE to replace Petrie, at least.

30-10-2017, 11:17 PM
Footballs darkest day.

30-10-2017, 11:56 PM
This has been one of the harshest list culls in eker history. I can't recall so many fringe ~28 year olds being cut at the end of any other season.

31-10-2017, 01:21 AM
Laughed when I Read that TwoD. I've counselled many a North fan in my time behind goals. Perhaps there is some reciprocal 'small club' kindred spirit there. You sort of let them have their fun for a bit, then when reality sinks in, try not to cheer too hard for your own boys. It's a complex task that requires sensitivity!

I felt so sorry for Marco at one point that season I wrote to the club to try and encourage him and I got a reply! haha.
Brad Scott often used to say " On his day, Majak is unstoppable". Providing he had paddocks of space to run straight lines in and battler like Marco turtling behind him, that may have just been the case.

Cheesy was in the team at that point from memory. My favourite Bulldog eker of all time.

Sorry, no small club camaraderie for me. I hate North with a passion. It gave me great pleasure to point out that Majak was just a shitruck dining out on even shitrucker opponents. ;)

How could you not love Cheesy Barlow?

31-10-2017, 08:28 AM
Footballs darkest day.

In the years ahead followers of this thread will recall the exact circumstances they were in when they heard the tragic news.

31-10-2017, 10:05 AM
Dan Currie's impact should not be measured by bald facts such as games played or possessions won.
No, his significance is rightly reflected by the fact that hid delisting was first reported on this site by a Woof member resident in Berlin. Thanks Jazzadogs

31-10-2017, 10:19 AM
Dan Currie's impact should not be measured by bald facts such as games played or possessions won.
No, his significance is rightly reflected by the fact that hid delisting was first reported on this site by a Woof member resident in Berlin. Thanks Jazzadogs

Berlin has seen some dark days, but none like this.

31-10-2017, 10:32 AM
Berlin has seen some dark days, but none like this.

Heh! I watched both Downfall and Nuremberg last night. (Long night) Berlin wasn't exactly presented at its pristine best.

But, yeah, not even close to the devastation of Dan Curries delisting.

31-10-2017, 12:32 PM
Today's news just reflects the impatience and refusal to do the hard yards that has infiltrated AFL football. Everyone is seeking quick wins.

To think a talented young ruckman like Daniel Currie has simply been cast aside, when with just a bit more coaching, some development, and a few more years in the system he could've been ready to blossom as a player. What a waste. Big guys take more time, don't they know this?!

31-10-2017, 06:09 PM
Sam Reid delisted again by GWS but will be re-rookied. Could he could lay claim to greatest surviving eker?

31-10-2017, 06:14 PM
Sam Reid delisted again by GWS but will be re-rookied. Could he could lay claim to greatest surviving eker?

If classic eker traits include very modest talent, but a solid citizen who is respected for his character and hard work and is a good role model around the team, then Sam would be the man.

31-10-2017, 07:12 PM
As an aside, Sam and his girlfriend were staying at the same hotel in Hoi An (Vietnam) that I was at on holiday a couple of weeks ago. He might be a struggling eker on the footy ground but he is an AFL HoF legend off it ;)

01-11-2017, 01:54 AM
As an aside, Sam and his girlfriend were staying at the same hotel in Hoi An (Vietnam) that I was at on holiday a couple of weeks ago. He might be a struggling eker on the footy ground but he is an AFL HoF legend off it ;)

A one man footy trip? With his girlfriend.

01-11-2017, 05:03 PM

Outstanding work Axe Man - I just logged in wanting to raise a glass to Sam Reid to see it already done!

There's a few on this board that celebrate the Eker - and Sam Reid's persistence in the face of considerable adversity is worthy of celebration

01-11-2017, 07:01 PM
Some quality ekers on this list:

THE SEVEN LUCKIEST PLAYERS IN THE AFL (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/11/01/the-seven-luckiest-players-in-the-afl/)

List management is an art form but sometimes club's hands are tied. Each year there are players who remain on lists for varying reasons, despite the fact their prospects are grim. We take a look at seven such players.

Kyle Cheney (Adelaide)

You can make a case for the former Hawk and Demon given he’s a minimum chips insurance policy, given the Crows are in the premiership window, but it’s break in case of emergency only. The 28-year-old gives his all but doesn’t have the package to compete in a strong side.

He will see the year out in the SANFL unless the injury curse strikes. Cheney didn’t play a senior game in 2017 because of persistent hamstring injuries, seeing a number of players surge past him in the pecking order.

Jarryd Blair (Collingwood)

Apart from occasional forward 50 tackles, the Magpie small forward doesn’t impact the game anywhere near enough, but somehow managed to play 12 games in 2017 for 11 goals. Last year he kicked 21 goals from 15 appearances. Since 2012, the 174cm Magpie has kicked 88 goals from 119 games at an average 0.7 a game. Blair signed a one-year deal for 2017, so he isn't safe given lists are yet to be finalised.

He is the epitome of a fan base whipping boy but continues to survive Bear Grylls style.

Aaron Black (Geelong)

Part of the answer to the question why he is still a Cat lies in the fact North Melbourne pays Black to play at another club. Even more damning is the fact the Roos traded him in return for pick 92, so desperate they were to remove him from the list.

What was clear at North crystalised further for Geelong as 2017 unfolded - the 26-year-old simply isn’t good enough.

Despite injuries to forwards Dan Menzel, Nakia Cockatoo, Lincoln McCarthy and Cory Gregson, on top of Tom Hawkins’ suspension, the former Roo was selected four times but played only one senior game after being dropped following Round 8. He is forging a successful career as a list clogger.

Chris Masten (West Coast)

The Eagles must be seriously re-thinking decision to sign the former top five draft pick to a long-term deal in 2016. By the middle of this season, the midfielder was so far on the outer he spent 11 of the season’s final 14 weeks in the WAFL, including snubs for West Coast's two finals.

The fact that no club bit during trade period further heightened the problem for the Eagles, given another summer won’t make the 28-year-old any faster or taller.

Nathan Freeman (St Kilda)

Had Freeman been drafted pick 52 instead of pick 10 (by Collingwood in 2013), it’s unlikely he’s still in the system. The Saints stuck their neck out by recruiting the playmaker, despite the fact injury cruelled his two years at the Magpies.

You have to think there is a big element of the Saints justifying their decision, but at some point, you’ve got to cut your losses and run. It’s not the first time the Saints have handled damaged goods after they took injury riddled North Melbourne wingman Jesse Smith at the end of 2009.

The difference is the club jettisoned Smith after one season, but are surging towards a third with Freeman, who is yet to play a senior game. Has a year to run on a three-year deal that, and bar a remarkable turnaround, is shaping as top five in the club’s all-time trade howlers.

Dawson Simpson (GWS)

He couldn’t believe his luck when Shane Mumford’s career ended in a puff of smoke, opening the door for Simpson to sign on another one-year deal. Teammates love him but it’s hard to envisage Simpson leading the ruck division to a flag, given he has not been able to cement himself as the number one ruckman, despite 10 years of trying.

Ben Griffiths (Richmond)

He has a year to run on his current deal, and has benefitted from the fact every other key tall not named Jack Riewoldt has been an abject failure.

Given the Tigers won the flag with a small forward set-up, and the fact Griffiths has never been able to establish himself as a regular senior player in eight years at the club – he’s played 63 games and never more than 16 in any one season – it’s hard to imagine the equation changing in 2018. Throw in concussion issues and the immediate future isn’t bright.

01-11-2017, 07:05 PM
Aaron Mullett must have reached the lofty heights of an eker. He's even changed teams as a DFA in order to establish his credentials.

01-11-2017, 07:18 PM
Aaron Mullett must have reached the lofty heights of an eker. He's even changed teams as a DFA in order to establish his credentials.

If he can squeeze out a few more mediocre years of avoiding contested situations he will have truly earned his eker status.

01-11-2017, 09:20 PM
If he can squeeze out a few more mediocre years of avoiding contested situations he will have truly earned his eker status.

With the team changing thing would a true eker go from a top club to a bottom club or vice versa. Or it just doesn't matter because a real eker would do anything to stay on a list.

02-11-2017, 10:35 PM
McKernan and Cheney have both secured contracts.

03-11-2017, 09:46 AM
Some quality ekers on this list:

THE SEVEN LUCKIEST PLAYERS IN THE AFL (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/11/01/the-seven-luckiest-players-in-the-afl/)

List management is an art form but sometimes club's hands are tied. Each year there are players who remain on lists for varying reasons, despite the fact their prospects are grim. We take a look at seven such players.

Kyle Cheney (Adelaide)

You can make a case for the former Hawk and Demon given he’s a minimum chips insurance policy, given the Crows are in the premiership window, but it’s break in case of emergency only. The 28-year-old gives his all but doesn’t have the package to compete in a strong side.

He will see the year out in the SANFL unless the injury curse strikes. Cheney didn’t play a senior game in 2017 because of persistent hamstring injuries, seeing a number of players surge past him in the pecking order.

Jarryd Blair (Collingwood)

Apart from occasional forward 50 tackles, the Magpie small forward doesn’t impact the game anywhere near enough, but somehow managed to play 12 games in 2017 for 11 goals. Last year he kicked 21 goals from 15 appearances. Since 2012, the 174cm Magpie has kicked 88 goals from 119 games at an average 0.7 a game. Blair signed a one-year deal for 2017, so he isn't safe given lists are yet to be finalised.

He is the epitome of a fan base whipping boy but continues to survive Bear Grylls style.

Aaron Black (Geelong)

Part of the answer to the question why he is still a Cat lies in the fact North Melbourne pays Black to play at another club. Even more damning is the fact the Roos traded him in return for pick 92, so desperate they were to remove him from the list.

What was clear at North crystalised further for Geelong as 2017 unfolded - the 26-year-old simply isn’t good enough.

Despite injuries to forwards Dan Menzel, Nakia Cockatoo, Lincoln McCarthy and Cory Gregson, on top of Tom Hawkins’ suspension, the former Roo was selected four times but played only one senior game after being dropped following Round 8. He is forging a successful career as a list clogger.

Chris Masten (West Coast)

The Eagles must be seriously re-thinking decision to sign the former top five draft pick to a long-term deal in 2016. By the middle of this season, the midfielder was so far on the outer he spent 11 of the season’s final 14 weeks in the WAFL, including snubs for West Coast's two finals.

The fact that no club bit during trade period further heightened the problem for the Eagles, given another summer won’t make the 28-year-old any faster or taller.

Nathan Freeman (St Kilda)

Had Freeman been drafted pick 52 instead of pick 10 (by Collingwood in 2013), it’s unlikely he’s still in the system. The Saints stuck their neck out by recruiting the playmaker, despite the fact injury cruelled his two years at the Magpies.

You have to think there is a big element of the Saints justifying their decision, but at some point, you’ve got to cut your losses and run. It’s not the first time the Saints have handled damaged goods after they took injury riddled North Melbourne wingman Jesse Smith at the end of 2009.

The difference is the club jettisoned Smith after one season, but are surging towards a third with Freeman, who is yet to play a senior game. Has a year to run on a three-year deal that, and bar a remarkable turnaround, is shaping as top five in the club’s all-time trade howlers.

Dawson Simpson (GWS)

He couldn’t believe his luck when Shane Mumford’s career ended in a puff of smoke, opening the door for Simpson to sign on another one-year deal. Teammates love him but it’s hard to envisage Simpson leading the ruck division to a flag, given he has not been able to cement himself as the number one ruckman, despite 10 years of trying.

Ben Griffiths (Richmond)

He has a year to run on his current deal, and has benefitted from the fact every other key tall not named Jack Riewoldt has been an abject failure.

Given the Tigers won the flag with a small forward set-up, and the fact Griffiths has never been able to establish himself as a regular senior player in eight years at the club – he’s played 63 games and never more than 16 in any one season – it’s hard to imagine the equation changing in 2018. Throw in concussion issues and the immediate future isn’t bright.

I love the write up on Aaron Black. Classic eker. Just shows enough of a glimpse of genuine talent once in a blue moon to hang in there. To think Geelong still retain him is bizarre really. There is something satisfying about an eker who is still a bit of a lair (as long as he plays for another club).

04-11-2017, 05:27 PM
It really adds longevity to an eker's career if he has some flashy tools in his bag of tricks. If I can still remember a screamer Aaron Black took when he was playing for North I'm sure a lot of list managers do too.

04-11-2017, 06:34 PM
McKernan and Cheney have both secured contracts.
Those 2 and Sam Reid are the master class of the 2018 ekers. So many collective years of AFL contracts, numerous club changes, alternating between rookie and main lists and precious little senior AFL game time (but always ready for the inevitable 1 game call-up due to injury).

05-11-2017, 11:06 AM
Those 2 and Sam Reid are the master class of the 2018 ekers. So many collective years of AFL contracts, numerous club changes, alternating between rookie and main lists and precious little senior AFL game time (but always ready for the inevitable 1 game call-up due to injury).

Yeah but Sam Reid is a first class guy. At least it's a bit understandable why he's kept around on the fringes of a list.

05-11-2017, 11:42 AM
Sam Reid will have his 9th year in the system next year. GWS sure love their Ekers.

05-11-2017, 11:43 AM
Yeah but Sam Reid is a first class guy. At least it's a bit understandable why he's kept around on the fringes of a list.

Ekers seem to good blokes and/or back up rucks.

05-11-2017, 08:56 PM
Ekers seem to good blokes and/or back up rucks.

If they're both they transcend to Super Eker. A Voltron of ekers, if you will.

05-11-2017, 10:26 PM
Has there ever been an Eker who's had a bad attitude and a question mark on his character?

05-11-2017, 10:27 PM
Has there ever been an Eker who's had a bad attitude and a question mark on his character, one if you will, who has survived on the dark side of the Eker force?

05-11-2017, 10:45 PM
There must have been blokes in the old days kept on the list for their ability to visit the occasional act of violence. Back in the VFA years Richmomd selected the heavyweight boxing champ of Australia (a bloke called Lang) specially to terrorise Art Gregory the Footscray ruckman.

06-11-2017, 02:04 AM
There must have been blokes in the old days kept on the list for their ability to visit the occasional act of violence. Back in the VFA years Richmomd selected the heavyweight boxing champ of Australia (a bloke called Lang) specially to terrorise Art Gregory the Footscray ruckman.

But did he genuinely eke out an Eker career?

06-11-2017, 02:17 AM
But did he genuinely eke out an Eker career?

This would have been 1908 and Richmond went into the VFL the next year. I've no idea if Lang played on.

I think he had played some footy with Richmond prior to then but not on a regular basis. His talents were only required occasionally apparantly. But he'd already ekered out a career I guess.

06-11-2017, 03:17 AM
Jesus Christ.

06-11-2017, 04:36 AM
Jesus Christ.

Is that a reaction to Twodogs' story or are you implying that the son of The Almighty eked out a football career?

06-11-2017, 04:57 AM
Is that a reaction to Twodogs' story or are you implying that the son of The Almighty eked out a football career?

Standard reaction to the ridiculous convolution of TD's immense knowledge. He can't be stopped, and I'm happy with that.

06-11-2017, 06:16 AM
Standard reaction to the ridiculous convolution of TD's immense knowledge. He can't be stopped, and I'm happy with that.

I can't remember the guys first name though. Driving me batty. It's literally keeping me awake.:)

Torpedo
06-11-2017, 11:03 AM
I can't remember the guys first name though. Driving me batty. It's literally keeping me awake.:)

Wiki is your friend.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_Lang

06-11-2017, 11:14 AM
Can't have a bad boy eker - bad boys are tolerated on a list because they are supremely gifted and talented, hence aren't true ekers. Any bad boy ekers would not get anywhere near an AFL list.

06-11-2017, 12:27 PM
Can't have a bad boy eker - bad boys are tolerated on a list because they are supremely gifted and talented, hence aren't true ekers. Any bad boy ekers would not get anywhere near an AFL list.
What about gifted and talented players who who just enough to stay on a list but never have any real AFL impact?

06-11-2017, 12:48 PM
Some are born to rise and peak
Others simply exist ... and eke

The eker lives on dreams and hope
He's patient, sure and steady
Number 1 ruck's done a hammy
Our eker hero's ready

To answer the call
To fill the hole
To give his all
To play his role

A vital cog when the need is dire
At de-listing time
He's a gun for hire

Ready to parley
His questionable skill
Sometimes makes a list manager
Look like a dill

The eker's lot
Is a hard row to hoe
It takes resilience and courage
To give it a go

So let's drink to the eker
The salt of the earth
He's fulfilling a destiny
That was laid down at birth

06-11-2017, 12:52 PM

It was Bill Lang.

06-11-2017, 03:39 PM
Some are born to rise and peak
Others simply exist ... and eke

The eker lives on dreams and hope
He's patient, sure and steady
Number 1 ruck's done a hammy
Our eker hero's ready

To answer the call
To fill the hole
To give his all
To play his role

A vital cog when the need is dire
At de-listing time
He's a gun for hire

Ready to parley
His questionable skill
Sometimes makes a list manager
Look like a dill

The eker's lot
Is a hard row to hoe
It takes resilience and courage
To give it a go

So let's drink to the eker
The salt of the earth
He's fulfilling a destiny
That was laid down at birth

Glorious.

06-11-2017, 04:38 PM

I reckon that's generally true but there are exceptions to the rule. Mug lairs who aren't disciplined enough to get regular games but are outrageously talented enough to tantalise list managers and hang on lists are a rare and wonderful subspecies (probably more prevelant in the 70s/80s than today). The player that comes to mind for me is Rocket Rod Owen, invincible on his day (about once per season), but generally mediocre. He was a notorious big drinker/partier and managed 78 games for 3 clubs over a 10 year career in the 80s/90s.

06-11-2017, 05:16 PM
Aaron James was a bit of a head case but everytime he got shunted off a list another club would pick him up. He must have nearly eker out a decade long career with lots of games but pretty minimal output.

06-11-2017, 05:21 PM
Aaron James was a bit of a head case but everytime he got shunted off a list another club would pick him up. He must have nearly eker out a decade long career with lots of games but pretty minimal output.

Playing career1

Years
Club
Games (Goals)

1994–1997
Collingwood (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collingwood_Football_Club)
23 (6)

1998–2000
Richmond (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richmond_Football_Club)
30 (19)

Western Bulldogs (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_Bulldogs)
1 (0)

Total

54 (25)

15-11-2017, 12:16 AM
So many vacancies...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues-
Pies-
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo-
Cats-
Suns- Daniel Currie
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks-
North- Majak Daw
Dees-
Port-
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans-
Eagles-
Bulldogs-

Majak Daw is following some great company, now to receive the number 1 jumper, the last one to don was the great Eker himself ( maybe on of the greatest) Dan Currie.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-11-14/no1-ruckman-big-roo-looks-the-part

Well Done Majak, 8 seasons, 32 games.

- spent time as a rookie - check
- lots of injuries - check
- qualifies as a ruckman - check
- takes over place of former great ekers - check

He just has to be picked up by another club, and he becomes more entrenched in Eker legend status.
2018 threatened to be overtaken by Preuss, and maybe Goldstein can regain some form. Potential 4-8 games next year. If none, a Rookie spot could beckon.

keep living the eker dream alive.

15-11-2017, 01:21 PM
Surprised to read Vickery has retired , he was doing quite well to push into eker status.

15-11-2017, 02:30 PM
Surprised to read Vickery has retired , he was doing quite well to push into eker status.

Forgoing a year on his contract earns him a life suspension from the ranks of ekers.

Just not dedicated enough to eke out a living. It's a shame because he was going great guns on all the other criteria. He even changed clubs to eke it out a bit longer.

15-11-2017, 08:07 PM
Vickery - promised a lot but turned out to be a Clayton's eker.

15-11-2017, 11:27 PM
Ty Vickery's gone
He's hung up his boots
He's done with the game
He's severing roots.

Seven years at the Tigers
Two at the Hawks
And now our mop top hero's
Had second thoughts

He's never quite peaked
He's not cut out to eke
Some say he was lazy
Others - he was weak

But Ty wouldn't care
He wouldn't give a toss
No, he won't miss the limelight
The glamour or gloss

Cos right from the off
His heart wasn't in it

So, when the inevitable came,
And he failed to peak
He hung up his boots
Rather than cling on and ... eke.

16-11-2017, 10:19 AM
Ty Vickery

Spare a thought for poor Ty Vickery
The game he played has made him sickery
Nine years in the system, not much to show
Writing's on the wall, it's time to go

He showed early promise, a big guy for sure
But the coach was uncertain, the fans wanted more
Could take a big grab, kick the odd goal
But for a high profile player, he played without soul

Some might say that's harsh, but I disagree
So pull up a chair and listen to me

Ty was big, he was fast
He had all the skills
A tall marking forward
Not lacking in class.

But one thing eluded him
And brought his downfall
Resilience and hunger
He had none at all

So, for a bloke in nine seasons
Who failed to peak
It's no great surprise
That he's reluctant to eke

He's baulked at the prospect
Of starting anew
He's hung up his boots
He's racked up his cue

He's called it a day
Some might say that's weak
But the cold, hard fact is
He's not cut out to eke

17-11-2017, 05:40 PM
ODE TO DANIEL CURRIE

Will the game ever produce another Daniel Currie?
Not on your life mate, not in a hurry
Eleven years in the system, ten games all told
The Emperor of Ekers, an eker rolled gold.

A Northern Knights product of imposing size
2006 saw his star on the rise
Snapped up by the Swans with pick 49
A promising future was sure looking fine.

But what started out well soon turned to muck
Our two metre hero ran out of luck
The injury curse raised its ugly head
And, more often than not he was prostrate in bed.

A shoulder, a hamstring, an elbow and more
One Monday at training he walked into a door!
Tonsillitis, encephalitis, toothache, a break
And a bout of the flu that he just couldn't shake.

In addition to this he faced stiff competition
Mike Pike and The Mummy occupied his position
So four years at the Swans yeilded sweet bugger all
So our out of luck hero prepared for the fall.

In 2012 he was rejected by all
Seems no one wanted a lumbering tall
But was he dejected, was he dismayed?
No! Our hero transferred to - North Adelaide!

A spell in the SANFL was just the
right move
Big Daniel Currie rediscovered his groove
Some stellar performances, huge stats and some goals
Recruiters came sniffing
Dan's on a roll

2013, at pick 56,
Saw Dan heading home
To peddle his tricks

Snapped up by the Roos
His heart full of hope
This time he'd make it
Or ... he'd go broke

He gave it his best shot
And made his debut
He'd spent seven long years
Marooned in the queue

But four games in three years
Was a meager return
For a big guy with heart
And desire to burn

Rejected, unwanted? No you are wrong!
For the Suns came a calling
He'd have to learn
A new song!

Two years on the Gold Coast
Saw improvement of sorts
Six games and three goals
And some injuries ... of course!

So now the curtain's come down
On Dan Currie's 4 club career
Eleven years, ten games and six goals in all
Not a bad strike rate for a lumbering tall.

He's left the arena without much a do
Unheralded, he's bowed out, an eker true blue
His career has ended without fanfare or fuss
And the Suns have thrown him under a bus

But comrades stand fast, take heart and keep trust
Daniel Currie: - forever remembered by ekerists like us

He fought the good fight
His effort never diminished
Now, King of the Ekers
Your time - it is finished.

Vale Daniel Currie
Will we ever see the like of him again?

28-11-2017, 09:48 PM
Here is the new list of club Ekers. I have been a wee bit busy so up for suggestions in case there has been an oversight...

Crows- Kyle Cheney
Lions- Josh Walker
Blues- Alex Silvagni
Pies- Lynden Dunn
Dons- Shaun McKernan
Freo- Shane Kersten
Cats- Aaron Black
Suns- Aaron Young
GWS- Dawson Simpson
Hawks- Jonathon Ceglar
North- Majak Daw
Dees- Cameron Pedersen
Port- Tom Jonas
Tigers- Shaun Hampson
Saints- Sam Gilbert
Swans- Callum Sincliar
Eagles- Fraser McInnes
Bulldogs- Tom Campbell

28-11-2017, 10:27 PM
Matt White was delisted at the end of the year

28-11-2017, 11:02 PM
Matt White was delisted at the end of the year

Right you are. Tom Jonas it is.

28-11-2017, 11:14 PM
Sam Reid must surely be the eker for GWS

29-11-2017, 01:25 AM
Liam jones ?

29-11-2017, 01:42 AM
Jones was v.good in his contract renewing year last year.

29-11-2017, 02:25 AM
Jones was v.good in his contract renewing year last year.

He died off again at the end, Buddy kicked 10 on him in the last round

29-11-2017, 10:40 AM
Sam Gilbert's games per season average is a bit high. Tom Hickey has been around 7 seasons for 66 games and is a ruckman to boot. Classic eker.

29-11-2017, 03:04 PM
I would nominate Aaron Black for the eker at Geelong ahead of Lincoln McCarthy (2 extra years in the system, multiple clubs) - drafted by NM in 2009, 54 games in total.

29-11-2017, 06:55 PM
Sam Gilbert's games per season average is a bit high. Tom Hickey has been around 7 seasons for 66 games and is a ruckman to boot. Classic eker.

Sam Gilbert
12 years in system
197 games

Tom Hickey
7 years
66 games
2 clubs

I am gonna say being a ruck counts against him as it's so common, being a non ruck= greater degree of difficulty as an Eker. This is a hard one. I am going to stick with Gilbert. Even though he has played a lot of games, being an Eker is more about years in the system. 10 years mark is just massive. So many contract extensions. Rucks get 5 years for rocking up to training most of the time.

I would nominate Aaron Black for the eker at Geelong ahead of Lincoln McCarthy (2 extra years in the system, multiple clubs) - drafted by NM in 2009, 54 games in total.

Aaron Black
8 years
54 games
2 clubs

Lincoln McCarthy
6 years
27 games

Another hard one. You guys are good. I am with you PP. 5-6 years really still means you are pretty young, the 7 year + barrier is where real Ekers come in. Aaron Black is the new Cats Eker.

29-11-2017, 07:03 PM
Sam Reid must surely be the eker for GWS

GWS are stock filled with Ekers. Dawson Simpson, DeBoer and Sam Reid.

Let's look into it

Dawson Simpson
10 years
30 games
2 clubs

Sam Reid
8 years
43 games
2 clubs (but a glorious dance with the rookie list draft, the lifeblood of Ekerdom)

Look Sam Reid GWS edition is an incredible Eker but Dawson Simpson is nearing Eker GOAT status. Greatest Eker in AFL at the mo mo.

Liam jones ?

An Eker but not really a dye in the wool Eker. A true Eker is more about even effort rather than hot or cold.

Liam Jones
9 years
95 games
2 clubs
Being elite for whatever a small period of time as it was during '17 counts against him

Alex Silvagni
8 years
60 games
Rookie Drafted TWICE!!!

Clear win to Alex Silvagni here.

29-11-2017, 07:38 PM
Shaun Hampson is exempt from Ekers because has a hot Mrs!

I nominate Taylor Hunt in his place.

30-11-2017, 08:26 AM
Shaun Hampson is exempt from Ekers because has a hot Mrs!

I nominate Taylor Hunt in his place.

Ekers with hot partners is a wierd anomolous phenomena that is real. Brad Miller was an ubereker who had one of the hottest women in Australia as his partner. The world of the eker is complex.

30-11-2017, 03:22 PM
I think Redpath could be the best eker ever , in the leadership group and has never cemented his place in the team. Massive potential.
For the record I love the guy and think he has the killer instinct in him.

30-11-2017, 05:27 PM
Ekers are lovable so it makes sense. Also, Brad Miller and Shaun Hampson look like male models.

30-11-2017, 07:00 PM
GWS have the top two Ekers in the comp I think.

30-11-2017, 07:46 PM
GWS have the top two Ekers in the comp I think.

They seem to have their own Eker recruiting team.

30-11-2017, 08:31 PM
They seem to have their own Eker recruiting team.

Simpson, Reid and Lachie Keffe are just elite Eker.

Lachie Keefe has had 8 years in the system for 40 games and is at his second club. He has been rookied drafted twice and signed as a delisted free agent. Come to think of it, GWS legit have the top 3 Ekers in the AFL. Woweee.

01-12-2017, 12:31 AM

Lachie Keefe has had 8 years in the system for 40 games and is at his second club. He has been rookied drafted twice and signed as a delisted free agent. Come to think of it, GWS legit have the top 3 Ekers in the AFL. Woweee.

At halftime during the GWS at Etihad a guy walked past us wearing a #26 GWS jumper so we started yelling "HEY DAWSON SIMPSON" at him. He came over (mostly to find out why we knew who Dawson Simpson was) and we established that he was a mate of DS (what other reason would he have for wearing his number) Gotta give it to him but. We may have made a few sarcastic remarks but he gave as good as he got and shook our hands before he left.

01-12-2017, 08:09 AM

Presumably all three of these guys are on minimum wage, maybe they could market themselves as “salary cap space savers”

01-12-2017, 11:22 AM
Presumably all three of these guys are on minimum wage, maybe they could market themselves as “salary cap space savers”

The guys you call upon to get you out of a pickle.

01-12-2017, 11:59 AM

Don't forget De Boer as well. When you're paying top dollar to keep your young stars, you need plenty of draught horses to do the heavy lifting on minimum wage

01-12-2017, 12:43 PM
The guys you call upon to get you out of a pickle.

I'm getting a business idea.

Fat Bastards! Over the salary cap? Can't think what you're going to tell Ken Ley? We have a data bank of 1000s of unfit, untalented middle aged men willing to take a rookie spot @ 50k a season while never presenting any danger of playing a game. Is that the AFL integrity department on the phone? Remember Fat Bastards!

21-12-2017, 12:10 PM
Jesse White has signed with Glenelg in the SANFL