View Full Version : The official Sam Reid/Daniel Currie Memorial Eker Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

27-05-2023, 11:21 PM
Great noms, but hasn't Markov played a few games this year?

You right, I will fix the thread. Thats the mystery of Ekers, before you know it they have played half a dozen games . I think the injuries to the pies ruckman helped him fill a defence post. His been picked for round 11, so he may need to be removed from the list...

27-05-2023, 11:45 PM
58 games as a mature age recruit, over 7 seasons and 3 clubs is still eking, just not Hall of Fame worthy. Markov is a good nomination.

28-05-2023, 12:18 AM
It's a bit disrespectful thinking Tom Campbell needs nominating. His career was literally built for this thread, it was its destiny! :)

28-05-2023, 12:41 AM
We should add Campbell to the thread title as well just to really pi55 off Rocco

28-05-2023, 08:37 AM
58 games as a mature age recruit, over 7 seasons and 3 clubs is still eking, just not Hall of Fame worthy. Markov is a good nomination.

Oh yeah I'm not knocking the nomination, only that he's hit the field this year.

28-05-2023, 07:48 PM
Berlin has seen some dark days, but none like this.

Thanks for the belly laugh. This IS the thread that keeps on giving.

28-05-2023, 08:07 PM
I?m getting in early as he?s got another 33 H&A games plus finals to possibly play under contract. My old boy, Josh Schache. As much as it hurts to say it.

Currently has only played 1 game this season for a total of 73 of a possible 165 games (played more games in state leagues) - across three clubs, 8 years and multiple states. Played bits and pieces and varied roles across the ground. 25 years old and will be 27 at the end of his current contract. For a grand total of ONE Brownlow vote.

Value chart: Pick 2 (Lions) > Picks 25 & 40 (Dogs) > Future Fourth (circa pick 70) (Dees)

29-05-2023, 09:33 AM
Is Nick Holmnan an eker nomination?
He was drafted at pick 51, played 9 games for Carlton, went back to the SANFL for two years, then rookied by the Suns for the 2018 season. Just played his 100th, is listed as a 'utility' which is eker speak for 'back-up anywhere on the paddock'

29-05-2023, 09:18 PM
Is Nick Holmnan an eker nomination?
He was drafted at pick 51, played 9 games for Carlton, went back to the SANFL for two years, then rookied by the Suns for the 2018 season. Just played his 100th, is listed as a 'utility' which is eker speak for 'back-up anywhere on the paddock'

You've just identified another special category for the eker
Here are some species of ekers I have observed over the years:

Category 1: long term project player , always seems to be on a club list, often going to his 2 or 3rd club i.e ruckman who is given time to mature, maybe a decade or 2 : Andrew Phillips, Daniel Currie ( champion eker) , one of the Cloake brothers
during his tenor may had picked up a best clubman award or 2.

Category 2: gets delisted, plays local footy, rerookied once or twice, special mentions to Sam Reid, Roarke , Josh Mahoney ( port afl premiership player)

Category 3: his a back up player for backup players, but never seems to get played i.e Tom Campbell ( 3 clubs now? )

Category 4: has been played in multiple positions but just cannot quite seem to keep his spot. Nick Holmann special mention. but this could be a sub category , of #2. Henry playfair( classic example)

Category 5: has all the physical attributes to play afl and threatens to tear AFL games apart but is more regularly causing supporters to tear their hair out due to their $%!%!$% aggression on the ball, for that reason cannot hold his spot: Schache,
Aaron FRancis and Wiederman.

may have been a first round pick in their draft year, which may attribute to some of their longevity .

Category 6: becomes an eker after joining $!#%S big 4 club : McMahon, Zac Williams, Dylan Shiel. Daniher decided to avoid these symptoms and joined Brisbane to get out of the eker spotlight and try to achieve his potential.

Please share any other taxonomy that woofers have observed in the football career of an eker ?

29-05-2023, 09:22 PM

Category 1: long term project player , always seems to be on a club list, often going to his 2 or 3rd club i.e ruckman who is given time to mature, maybe a decade or 2 : Andrew Phillips, Daniel Currie ( champion eker) , one of the Cloake brothers

Category 2: gets delisted, plays local footy, rerookied once or twice, special mentions to Sam Reid, Roarke , Josh Mahoney ( port afl premiership player)

Category 3: his a back up player for backup players, but never seems to get played i.e Tom Campbell ( 3 clubs now? )

Category 4: has been played in multiple positions but just cannot quite seem to keep his spot. Nick Holmann special mention. but this could be a sub category , of #2. Henry playfair( classic example)

Category 5: has all the physical attributes to play afl and threatens to tear AFL games apart but is more regularly causing supporters to tear their hair out due to their $%!%!$% aggression on the ball, for that reason cannot hold his spot: Schache and Wiederman.

Category 6: becomes an eker after joining $!#%S big 4 club : McMahon, Zac Williams, Dylan Shiel,

Please share any other taxonomy that other woofers have observed in the football career of an eker ?

Macca you've been on fire lately.

30-05-2023, 10:06 AM
Macca you've been on fire lately.

Any post that proposes a "taxonomy" deserves high praise

30-05-2023, 10:34 AM
Has Aaron Francis been nominated?

Top ten pick 8 years ago, played 50-60 games and somehow has managed to Bradbury into the Swans defence atm.

30-05-2023, 03:59 PM

Top ten pick 8 years ago, played 50-60 games and somehow has managed to Bradbury into the Swans defence atm.

excellent nomination, @GG. Francis is a brilliant specimen of category 5 eker : "has all the physical attributes... but .... drives supporters insane"

Schache, Wiedman , Francis all top 10 picks in their draft year. being a first round pick may attribute to some of their longevity.

I will update the thread.so 3 good examples of ekers can be picked up in round 1 draft. to be fair their potential of blooming into an eker yet to be tapped.

30-05-2023, 04:02 PM

He was great last weekend.

30-05-2023, 04:03 PM

Can Ekers still qualify, eventhough they have the odd 1 or 2 brilliant game... in a season... ?

30-05-2023, 04:04 PM

Don't sully the moment with your...facts.

30-05-2023, 04:11 PM

What makes his game great last week.

He was playing against a Carlton side that has hit the self destruct button.

If that is his great game he really belongs in the Ekers.

30-05-2023, 04:23 PM
Any post that proposes a "taxonomy" deserves high praise

It is quite the paradox that Macca uses taxonomy (I will admit I didn't even know what it meant) whilst constantly using "his" in place of "he's" (he is).

Sorry to be a grammar Nazi. :D

30-05-2023, 04:29 PM
It is quite the paradox that Macca uses taxonomy (I will admit I didn't even know what it meant) whilst constantly using "his" in place of "he's" (he is).

Sorry to be a grammar Nazi. :D

And you call yourself a scientist.

30-05-2023, 04:34 PM
And you call yourself a scientist.

I am not a scientist. I may be a liar, a pig, an idiot, a scientist, but I am NOT a porn star!

30-05-2023, 04:52 PM
What makes his game great last week.

He was playing against a Carlton side that has hit the self destruct button.

If that is his great game he really belongs in the Ekers.

Fair call you didn't put a question mark on your first sentence so assume it was rhetorical but I'll provide my thougts.

I thought he intercepted quite well for them at times, maintained a strong position and also did some nice things in the air defensively. He held ground well and gave Lizard some confidence to find a balance between defending when he needed to and taking the game on.

Thought Francis had a great game by his standards and filled in for the twin McCartin talls pretty well. He's not true KPD size and he was a bit of a lone hand up there at times. Reckon Horse would have been over the moon with him.

Also, Curnow and McKay are still dangerous players and the ball went inside Carlton's F50 59 times, 9 more times than the Swans. I can't 100% recall but I assume a decent amount of these would still have been deep F50 entries and when you're giving away big cms and big weight under a high ball you're really pissing against the wind up hill standing on one leg on a windy day.

Reckon if TOB played that sort of game as a lone hand against them we'd be lauding the effort.

30-05-2023, 04:59 PM

Category 5: has all the physical attributes to play afl and threatens to tear AFL games apart but is more regularly causing supporters to tear their hair out due to their $%!%!$% aggression on the ball, for that reason cannot hold his spot: Schache,
Aaron FRancis and Wiederman.

may have been a first round pick in their draft year, which may attribute to some of their longevity .

Category 6: becomes an eker after joining $!#%S big 4 club : McMahon, Zac Williams, Dylan Shiel. Daniher decided to avoid these symptoms and joined Brisbane to get out of the eker spotlight and try to achieve his potential.

Please share any other taxonomy that woofers have observed in the football career of an eker ?
Combination of #2 & #5 - Sam Menegola.

Rookied in 2011 by the Hawks
Rookied in 2012 by Freo
Then taken at pick 66 in the draft in 2015 and as a sort of hybrid forward/wing/midfielderish player managed 100+ games

06-06-2023, 10:08 AM
I think Aaron Hall needs some Eker love. He was a foundation Suns player way back in 2010 and is still spluttering around in the seniors 13 years later without ever reaching great heights as a player. And he's doing so while clearly out of condition but with his hair perfectly braided.

17-07-2023, 11:38 PM
Was re-reading this thread which I'm wont to do from time to time. Came across an old reference of mine to Colin Dell who played 60-odd games for us over a seven year period. Doesn't qualify as an Eker but he took this grab in Round 1 of 1977 against the Pies at Vic Park. If you haven't seen it take a look. Apparently he marked the ball with arms outstretched and the shutter was pushed a millisecond too late.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/49/d5/e0/49d5e0c0238487587ed7e2dc5336c51e.jpg

17-07-2023, 11:39 PM
Was re-reading this thread which I'm wont to do from time to time. Came across an old reference of mine to Colin Dell who played 60-odd games for us over a seven year period. Doesn't qualify as an Eker but he took this grab in Round 1 of 1977 against the Pies at Vic Park. If you haven't seen it take a look. Apparently he marked the ball with arms outstretched and the shutter was pushed a millisecond too late.

Genuine hover. Amazing.

18-07-2023, 08:25 AM

Wow thats insane.

Great photography too

Thanks.

18-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Colin Dell's nickname was "Cedel" after a popular brand of medicated soap called "CEDEL"

18-07-2023, 05:57 PM
Colin Dell's nickname was "Cedel" after a popular brand of medicated soap called "CEDEL"

What is he going to do with all that money he made in computer hardware M? ;)

18-07-2023, 06:45 PM

I seem to remember the footy commentators calling him Ding Dong Dell but that's a good one.

26-07-2023, 11:54 AM
Here's a photo of another great leap from the past that deserves to be seen. I particularly like this photo as you rarely see a shot captured from this angle. Junction Oval v Saints. Verdun Howell on the left. Allen Aylett looking on.
John Dugdale was only 182cm. He took the mark and kicked the goal.

Maybe admins could make a new thread for posts like this. I thought I'd put it here as the Colin Dell mark good a bit of traction.

https://www.australianfootball.com/players/player/john%2Bdugdale/8563

26-07-2023, 02:50 PM
It was Round 18, 1961. Number 41 for St Kilda is Ray McHugh. Dugdale kicked 6 of North's 9 goals but St Kilda won by 5 points. We beat them the following week in the First Semi Final.

28-07-2023, 02:08 PM
Tom Campbell named on the extended bench for the Saints Sunday game. Would love to see the big fella get another run

28-07-2023, 02:43 PM
Tom campbell, eker champion. His played 56 games now
I hope he can stay on the list and add a dozen more .

the wiki photo really captures the "effort" he puts into warming up. Love to see the big fella just go hard and make an impact at contests.

Years Club Games (Goals)
2012–2018 Western Bulldogs 42 (23)
2019–2021 North Melbourne 12 (7)
2022– St Kilda 2 (0)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Campbell_(footballer,_born_1991)

28-07-2023, 06:49 PM
I’m a Soupy Fan as well. Gives his all and could sometimes kick a beaut goal from outside F50 too. In 2016 with doubt over Roughy with his eye injury, big Tommy was so close to playing in a GF. I think we would have won with him (as we would have if Jongy had fully overcome his injured shoulder and played instead of Barbie Ken/Dunks), although that wonderful mark by Roughy after JJ disallowed goal will forever be etched into my memory as a fave Bulldog moment.

28-07-2023, 08:28 PM
I’m a Soupy Fan as well. Gives his all and could sometimes kick a beaut goal from outside F50 too. In 2016 with doubt over Roughy with his eye injury, big Tommy was so close to playing in a GF. I think we would have won with him (as we would have if Jongy had fully overcome his injured shoulder and played instead of Barbie Ken/Dunks), although that wonderful mark by Roughy after JJ disallowed goal will forever be etched into my memory as a fave Bulldog moment.

A true "you shall not pass moment".

But then again, Gandalf still fell down the hole so maybe not the best metaphor.

03-08-2023, 01:50 PM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/992683/ive-had-a-blast-rebounding-kangaroo-aaron-hall-calls-time-after-161-games

Another soldier down

03-08-2023, 02:08 PM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/992683/ive-had-a-blast-rebounding-kangaroo-aaron-hall-calls-time-after-161-games

Another soldier down

A supercoach favourite for a few

03-08-2023, 03:05 PM

Another soldier down

Gone, but not forgotten.

03-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Gone, but not forgotten.

That's untrue. I'd already forgotten him prior to this.

03-08-2023, 05:18 PM
Does Hall really qualify?

08-08-2023, 11:44 PM
Hall lead the Brownlow at one point, with 9 votes after three rounds! That's far too good for an Eker.

Andrew Phillips retiring today, on the other hand...a sad day. Has eked out a career best season and then retired, in an anti-Eker moment.

If Tom Campbell retires, now THAT would be a classic Eker move - retire off the back of a season of 0 games despite being fit and available.

09-08-2023, 11:45 AM
Andrew Phillips - a red headed ruckman hiding in plain sight, over 12 years with the Giants, Blues and Bombers, playing a career high games in a single season in his final season

We, the WOOF guild of ekers, salute you!

09-08-2023, 12:19 PM
Hall lead the Brownlow at one point, with 9 votes after three rounds! That's far too good for an Eker.

Andrew Phillips retiring today, on the other hand...a sad day. Has eked out a career best season and then retired, in an anti-Eker moment.

If Tom Campbell retires, now THAT would be a classic Eker move - retire off the back of a season of 0 games despite being fit and available.

Surely when Sweet leaves we pick up Campbell and his story goes full circle and this thread gets renamed the BTC thread.

09-08-2023, 01:46 PM
Surely when Sweet leaves we pick up Campbell and his story goes full circle and this thread gets renamed the BTC thread.

Rocco is still reeling that it got renamed in the first place. The definition of an Eker is they would not want the recognition of a memorial thread.

09-08-2023, 03:31 PM

Yeah Hall broke the all time metres gained in a game record at one point, he's no eker.
Phillips is an excellent nomination though. Absolute eker gold.

Tommy Campbell is an Eker Hall of Fame, potential legend.

22-08-2023, 05:19 PM
Another soldier down - Jonathon Ceglar has retired after ekeing out 110 games in 13 seasons and being on 4 different lists (only playing for 2 of them).

22-08-2023, 05:27 PM
Another soldier down - Jonathon Ceglar has retired after ekeing out 110 games in 13 seasons and being on 4 different lists (only playing for 2 of them).

We kept him out of the eker hall for so long but this man would not be denied.

22-08-2023, 05:51 PM
Been a bad day for 4-club journeyman ruckmen - Tom Hickey just retired as well.

22-08-2023, 06:07 PM

Oh thank god he left us with that defining goal kicking clinic during the year. God bless you Tom.

31-08-2023, 12:49 PM
I?m getting in early as he?s got another 33 H&A games plus finals to possibly play under contract. My old boy, Josh Schache. As much as it hurts to say it.

Currently has only played 1 game this season for a total of 73 of a possible 165 games (played more games in state leagues) - across three clubs, 8 years and multiple states. Played bits and pieces and varied roles across the ground. 25 years old and will be 27 at the end of his current contract. For a grand total of ONE Brownlow vote.

Value chart: Pick 2 (Lions) > Picks 25 & 40 (Dogs) > Future Fourth (circa pick 70) (Dees)

(From May 2023 - though he had 2024 already but got it extended to 2024 today)

Make that with his one quarter of subbing the other week: 74 games played of a possible 175 games and extended by Melbourne into next year. Pretty confident he will stay on the one Brownlow vote. Next year will get him to a possible range of over 200 games in his time at his three clubs. What the over/under he makes 80 game next year?

Between Sam Reid & Tom Campbell, and now Schache (only 26) trying to join the ranks, we?ve helped create some solid to great ekers. If Schache can put on a few more seasons and not hit 100 games, then we might need to consider him for higher honours.

31-08-2023, 12:53 PM

Make that with his one quarter of subbing the other week: 74 games played of a possible 175 games and extended by Melbourne into next year. Pretty confident he will stay on the one Brownlow vote. Next year will get him to a possible range of over 200 games in his time at his three clubs. What the over/under he makes 80 game next year?

Between Sam Reid & Tom Campbell, and now Schache (only 26) trying to join the ranks, we?ve helped create some solid to great ekers. If Schache can put on a few more seasons and not hit 100 games, then we might need to consider him for higher honours.

Maybe Ben Brown and/or Tom McDonald could be cut? That would help his cause. Van Rooyen has gone past him and they have another high draft pick KPF in Jefferson developing at Casey. Might also help if Grundy leaves.

31-08-2023, 12:57 PM
Maybe Ben Brown and/or Tom McDonald could be cut? That would help his cause. Van Rooyen has gone past him and they have another high draft pick KPF in Jefferson developing at Casey. Might also help if Grundy leaves.

One can hope. He might have a few years left with those changes. I can’t see him hitting 100 games in 10 years. I really thought he had something, but the next best thing to making it, is ekering it long time.

31-08-2023, 07:48 PM

The amazing thing is he probably played his best 2 seasons at the swans

31-08-2023, 07:50 PM

Schache is threatening to embark on the EKER greats path:

-third club (TICK)

- backup of backup ( behind ben brown/McDonald)

- played less than half a dozen game in a season.

to think his only 26 years old, his got another comfortable 8-9 years potentially at another AFL club

31-08-2023, 07:55 PM
Good article on Andrew Phillips, describes his journey and whole hearted efforts to stay in the game for 12 seasons, 81 games , 3 clubs .
This season has been one of his most durable with 17 games! He really should play on and continue the EKER flame.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1003086/essendon-bombers-ruckman-andrew-phillips-retires-after-12-seasons-at-three-clubs

01-09-2023, 11:50 AM
I think Aaron Hall needs some Eker love. He was a foundation Suns player way back in 2010 and is still spluttering around in the seniors 13 years later without ever reaching great heights as a player. And he's doing so while clearly out of condition but with his hair perfectly braided.

Sadly Aaron hall has retired , he was just embarking on the eker pilgrim in the last few seasons

03-10-2023, 04:30 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F7bnnv7bAAAfia6?format=jpg&name=small

03-10-2023, 04:32 PM
Tom Campbell. 56 games in 12 seasons. Didn't play a game in 2023. Wins best clubman award. Looks like another season coming up!

03-10-2023, 04:38 PM
Oh that is awesome. I love that guy! Bring him back to the Dogs to play Sweet's role!

03-10-2023, 07:06 PM
This thread really needs to go back to just being called Ekers.

And if not, Tom Campbell should be in the title.

03-10-2023, 10:04 PM

Endorsed.

03-10-2023, 11:18 PM
Soupy I believe lives in St Kilda, so there’s synergy there. I’d love to have him back but think that ship has sailed.

04-10-2023, 09:06 AM

Endorsed.

Second

04-10-2023, 11:51 AM
Soupy I believe lives in St Kilda, so there’s synergy there. I’d love to have him back but think that ship has sailed.
Nah, lives near me. Saw him at my gym a few weeks back. He used to train with Ben Brown at my local oval during lock down

Might be the best bloke in football.

04-10-2023, 12:51 PM
Ah, must have moved. Have friend in St Kilda - actually it might be his parents that live/lived there.

If you don’t mind me asking which ‘burb Mofra?

Tell him doggies supporters still have fond memories of him in RWB - he was very close to playing in our magical GF and think he would have done well.

Does seem like a ripper bloke.

04-10-2023, 05:46 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F7bnnv7bAAAfia6?format=jpg&name=small

Surely his cupboard is full of best clubman awards?

A great human. Rate him highly.

04-10-2023, 07:10 PM
Surely his cupboard is full of best clubman awards?

A great human. Rate him highly.

Be a great job. We?ll pay you $150,000-$200,000 to hang around some friends, go to the gym every day and stay fit and then play good level local footy with your mates. You can tell the ladies you?re an AFEL footballer and get into good night clubs. Occasionally, maybe, we might ask you to play an AFEL game.

To paraphrase Shane Warne, is he wasn?t tall and ok at footy, he?d maybe be a furniture removalist.

Great gig if you can get it. More power to him.

09-10-2023, 08:12 PM
Soup Campbell about to sign a new deal for 2024. Has managed two games at the Aints. Attaining god-like eker status here.

10-10-2023, 10:53 AM
Joel Hamling is doing a great job also now going to his 4th club ?
Geelong, Dogs, Freo and now Sydney.
The guys a freak he doesn’t even have to get on the park.

10-10-2023, 11:25 AM
Joel Hamling is doing a great job also now going to his 4th club ?
Geelong, Dogs, Freo and now Sydney.
The guys a freak he doesn’t even have to get on the park.

Hamling isn't a eker. Once he established himself in our side in late 2016 he barely missed a game over the next 3 seasons for Freo.

He then had the best part of 3 and half seasons wiped out with injury, finally getting back on the park consistently halfway through this season. Hopefully he has more luck with his body at the Swans.

10-10-2023, 11:42 AM
Hamling isn't a eker. Once he established himself in our side in late 2016 he barely missed a game over the next 3 seasons for Freo.

He then had the best part of 3 and half seasons wiped out with injury, finally getting back on the park consistently halfway through this season. Hopefully he has more luck with his body at the Swans.

To not get on the park through injury for pretty much 3 years and another club wants you is a great effort . He has definitely eked out his last three years to still be wanted . That’s amazing. And he wouldn’t be young , close to 30 ?

10-10-2023, 02:28 PM
Soup Campbell about to sign a new deal for 2024. Has managed two games at the Aints. Attaining god-like eker status here.

Heard that Ross Lyon loves him.

23-10-2023, 09:43 PM
I was very pissed to see him leave after the GF win. He was great for us in the finals, particularly in the Big One. Understand the reason he went but it was a bitter pill for me to swallow.

24-10-2023, 09:34 PM
OK I have abandoned this thread for too long. My current Eker list for each club.

Part 1

Crom- Kieran Strachan (mature age recruit, 28 years old and 5 years for 1 game
Lions- Darcy Fort (30 yo, 5 years, 2 clubs, 26 games)
Baggers- Sam Durdin (6 years at Norf, year in SANFL, 2 years at Blues. 23 games)
Pies- Billy Frampton (9 years, 3 clubs, 40 games, 2 disposals for 1 premiership medal)
Trade Week Champs- Jake Kelly (2 clubs, 9 years)
Freo- Ethan Hughes (9 years in)

Also, from it's creator, please go back to 'Ekers'.

25-10-2023, 12:14 AM
OK I have abandoned this thread for too long. My current Eker list for each club.

Part 1

Baggers- Sam Durdin (6 years at Norf, year in SANFL, 2 years at Blues. 23 games)
Pies- Billy Frampton (9 years, 3 clubs, 40 games, 2 disposals for 1 premiership medal)

Darcy Fort, that is ELITE.

25-10-2023, 10:22 AM

Part 1

I think there are much better options at Essendon than Kelly who has played 148 games and after his first 3 years has averaged near 20 games a season.

Phillips and Stewart were elite ekers but unfortunately have retired/been delisted respectively.

From what's left we still have some juicy options:

Will Setterfield 7 years, 3 clubs, just 67 games as a non ruckman or KP player is text book eking.

Sam Weideman 8 years, 2 clubs, 75 games.

Both being top 10 picks makes their ekering even more impressive.

25-10-2023, 10:25 AM
Darcy Fort, that is ELITE.
Let's not forget he went from Werribee, to Footscray, to Central Districts SANFL all in a few years prior to getting to Geelong.
He's arguably an eker hall of famer at VFL and AFL level.

25-10-2023, 10:27 AM
Is it now time for Joel Hamling to be added to this prestigious list?

3 years at Geelong - no games
2 years at the Bulldogs for 23 games (and a flag)
6 years at Fremantle for 68 games
Now he's signed a 2 year deal at Sydney

25-10-2023, 10:31 AM

Is it now time for Joel Hamling to be added to this prestigious list?

3 years at Geelong - no games
2 years at the Bulldogs for 23 games (and a flag)
6 years at Fremantle for 68 games
Now he's signed a 2 year deal at Sydney

I refer you to my post on the previous page. It's certainly arguable but in my opinion injury ekers aren't true ekers.

25-10-2023, 11:47 AM
I refer you to my post on the previous page. It's certainly arguable but in my opinion injury ekers aren't true ekers.

I do not own the term 'Eker' but when I created it, it was going for as long as possible without being seen as a gun (AA nominations etc). I reckon playing a lot of games hurts, playing a lot of state league footy helps etc. Hamling is an Eker for sure but would be more of an Eker if he were playing WAFL/VFL instead of injured.

25-10-2023, 12:05 PM
I do not own the term 'Eker' but when I created it, it was going for as long as possible without being seen as a gun (AA nominations etc). I reckon playing a lot of games hurts, playing a lot of state league footy helps etc. Hamling is an Eker for sure but would be more of an Eker if he were playing WAFL/VFL instead of injured.
It is an irrational list move, and it would make perfect sense to cut him and say thanks for the memories, but nothing would please me more than if we delisted Roarke and re-rookied him.

I rate non-ruck ekers extremely highly, and if Roarke managed to get another contract he would truly enter the realm of eker HoF territory.

25-10-2023, 12:18 PM
It is an irrational list move, and it would make perfect sense to cut him and say thanks for the memories, but nothing would please me more than if we delisted Roarke and re-rookied him.

I rate non-ruck ekers extremely highly, and if Roarke managed to get another contract he would truly enter the realm of eker HoF territory.

Roarke must hold the all time record for the longest time on a rookie list? 9 years for 47 games, whilst he has had his share of injury issues you couldn't claim that they certainly cost him a large number of senior games as he has rarely pushed into the best 22. He may already be our greatest ever eker, even if he doesn't return next season.

25-10-2023, 01:43 PM

Yep, bonus points for non-back up rucks.

25-10-2023, 01:53 PM
Next lot

Cats- Jed Bews (played plenty of games and not meant to be an insult but 11 years at a constant serviceable level)
Suns- Rory Atkins (11 years at 2 clubs)
Orange Team- Lachlan Keefe (legendary status. 15 years, 2 clubs, delisted free-agent, 111 games)
Hawks- Sam Frost (11 years, 2 clubs, I think a true Eker with his (lack thereof a?) skillset.

25-10-2023, 02:27 PM
Next lot

Cats- Jed Bews (played plenty of games and not meant to be an insult but 11 years at a constant serviceable level)
Suns- Rory Atkins (11 years at 2 clubs)
Orange Team- Lachlan Keefe (legendary status. 15 years, 2 clubs, delisted free-agent, 111 games)
Hawks- Sam Frost (11 years, 2 clubs, I think a true Eker with his (lack thereof a?) skillset.

Had some good seasons at the Crows, but after 4 games in 2020 was signed by Gold Coast as a UFA on a 5 year $2 million contract - then while fully fit played 8 games, 9 games and this year 17 games. That five year deal was...generous.

25-10-2023, 02:46 PM
Dees- Josh Schache (3 clubs, 7 years, 75 games)
Norf- Aidan Corr (11 years, 2 clubs, got luck w Norf deal to pry him away)
Pears- Tom Clurey (11 years, not much of a household name category)
Tigers- Kamdyn McIntosh (their older guys have a few flags so it's hard. 11 years)

25-10-2023, 07:03 PM
Quinten Narkle stiff. 44 games across 7 seasons at 2 clubs.
Port also have a couple of high games total Eker Trent's in Dumont and McKenzie.

25-10-2023, 07:05 PM
Did Nakia Cockatoo continue on? He's getting close to eker if he's still listed (feeling he got cut) Wasted talent that one.

26-10-2023, 03:33 PM
Did Nakia Cockatoo continue on? He's getting close to eker if he's still listed (feeling he got cut) Wasted talent that one.

Retired

26-10-2023, 03:34 PM
Port also have a couple of high games total Eker Trent's in Dumont and McKenzie.

165 game career and counting for T-Mac - done a great job over the past 6 years eeeking out 59 games with Port when it all appeared over

26-10-2023, 04:47 PM
Freo looking at signing Oscar McDonald so he can keep on eking on at a third club.

26-10-2023, 06:04 PM
Tigers- Kamdyn McIntosh (their older guys have a few flags so it's hard. 11 years)
He isnt that bad

26-10-2023, 07:34 PM
He isnt that bad

Tigers are a tough one. And Ekers don't have to be bad (just helps).

Final instalment.

Saints- Tom Campbell (3 clubs, 12 years, 56 games, an Eker GOAT)
Swans- Harry Cunnigham (12 years. A good amount of games. Not a top shelf Eker, more getting to a lot of games and years without any fuss)
Eagles- Matt Flynn (at second club, 8 years for 33 games, classic back up ruck until now)
Doggies- Roarke Smith (pending any further updates. 8 years, 7 one year rookie contracts, delisted and re-drafted twice for 37 games).

26-10-2023, 08:22 PM

Final instalment.

Swans- Harry Cunnigham (12 years. A good amount of games. Not a top shelf Eker, more getting to a lot of games and years without any fuss)
Eagles- Matt Flynn (at second club, 8 years for 33 games, classic back up ruck until now)
Doggies- Roarke Smith (pending any further updates. 8 years, 7 one year rookie contracts, delisted and re-drafted twice for 37 games).

Oskar Baker a shoe in for the dogs if Roarke is cut. 6 years, 33 games, two clubs.

Like the Cunningham option. Aaron Francis another possible for the Swans - 69 (nice) games over 8 years and 2 clubs. If can eke out a few more low yield seasons at the Swans he'll be doing nicely.

26-10-2023, 08:39 PM

Final instalment.

Slight adjustment for Roarke, it's 47 games.
Weightman told me a couple of seasons back that Cunningham was the toughest opponent he played on.

27-10-2023, 10:16 AM
Slight adjustment for Roarke, it's 47 games.
Weightman told me a couple of seasons back that Cunningham was the toughest opponent he played on.

Yep it's 9 years and 47 games as I posted on the previous page.

27-10-2023, 10:19 AM
Yep it's 9 years and 47 games as I posted on the previous page.

It really seems hard to justify him staying on the list for 2024.

27-10-2023, 11:35 AM
Much like handsomeness, vibes are also a totally valid use of the last list spot. I’m happy to keep Roarke around.

27-10-2023, 12:19 PM
Much like handsomeness, vibes are also a totally valid use of the last list spot. I’m happy to keep Roarke around.

Can we pay him a rookie wage to just hang around in the gym? But not take a list spot?

31-10-2023, 11:43 AM
Farewell sweet prince Roarke Smith.

Imagine if he could eke out another year or two on the rookie list at another club, Roarke could become the eker GOAT.

31-10-2023, 01:16 PM

Imagine if he could eke out another year or two on the rookie list at another club, Roarke could become the eker GOAT.

He's skated has he?

31-10-2023, 07:15 PM

Considering the three knee reconstructions over his time with us its a credit to Roarke that he was able to play as much good footy for us as he did

31-10-2023, 07:31 PM
Considering the three knee reconstructions over his time with us its a credit to Roarke that he was able to play as much good footy for us as he did

I think it was 2 ACLs, one for each knee, but certainly he has had more than his fair share of injuries.

01-11-2023, 10:26 AM
I think it was 2 ACLs, one for each knee, but certainly he has had more than his fair share of injuries.
He was still in our top 5 players in the 2021 Grand Final.

He will always be a bulldogs player who kicked a goal in a grand final. That's a pretty small club

01-11-2023, 10:37 AM

He will always be a bulldogs player who kicked a goal in a grand final. That's a pretty small club

6 finals in 47 games isn't quite at Tim Callan levels (6 finals in 34 career games, 19 bulldogs games), but it's still impressive.

01-11-2023, 12:02 PM
Is Sam Day considered an eker? He has been with the Suns since 2011, his best result as a forward was 19 goals in a season and has certainly never really been a guy that stands out as needing to be on a list despite 150 career games.

edit: I guess Atkins is probably ahead as an eker for the Suns but he still had a few good seasons at the Crows, Sam Day hasn't even had that.

01-11-2023, 02:18 PM

Also, how are we going to replace our "Adelaide Oval (but only against Port Adelaide) wet weather specialist"?

This is a rational call but man I'm going to miss Roarke. He just got it - he understood his role and responsibility to a tee and was the consummate team-first player. He deserved a much clearer injury-free run in his career than what he had.

02-11-2023, 11:15 AM
Freo looking at signing Oscar McDonald so he can keep on eking on at a third club.

Confirmed! 2 more years for Oscar to add to his 8 years and 86 games at a third club after a gap year at Williamstown.

02-11-2023, 11:19 AM
Whose our Eker now?

02-11-2023, 11:22 AM
Whose our Eker now?

Gardner maybe? I think he's been here maybe long enough to be an eker-lite.

02-11-2023, 11:32 AM
Whose our Eker now?

Maybe Gardner?

8 years in the system for 53 games all at the dogs after been delisted from Geelong after never debuting. Only 1 season (2022) where he has played more than 10 games (22).

Baker probably the next in line.

02-11-2023, 11:41 AM
Maybe Gardner?

8 years in the system for 53 games all at the dogs after been delisted from Geelong after never debuting. Only 1 season (2022) where he has played more than 10 games (22).

I think we missed a truck not bringing in McDonald. Our Eker depth is low. Hopefully there’s an Eker ruck coming in the SSP to fill this gap on the list.

02-11-2023, 12:03 PM
I think we missed a truck not bringing in McDonald. Our Eker depth is low. Hopefully there’s an Eker ruck coming in the SSP to fill this gap on the list.

Richmond already nabbed number 1 eker prospect in Sam Naismith so we will be up against it.

02-11-2023, 12:55 PM
Maybe Gardner?

Agree on Gardner.

Think Khamis could be a shot soon. This will be his 6th year, has played 10 games but barely even been in the AFL frame outside of those games, never really had more than maybe one good game, and would be unlikely to play even 5 games next year I'd imagine.

Baker is a contender but unsure if 23 extra medicore games counts against him vs Buku.

02-11-2023, 12:56 PM
Agree on Gardner.

Think Khamis could be a shot soon. This will be his 6th year, has played 10 games but barely even been in the AFL frame outside of those games, never really had more than maybe one good game, and would be unlikely to play even 5 games next year I'd imagine.

Ah yes, forgot about Buku which is easy to do because he never plays AFL!

02-11-2023, 04:36 PM
Brynn Teakle has real eker potential.
Could be a DFA or rookie selection on the next few weeks, then he'd be week on his way.

McNeill being delisted and redrafted means he has eker promise too

02-11-2023, 10:52 PM
Brynn Teakle has real eker potential.
Could be a DFA or rookie selection on the next few weeks, then he'd be week on his way.

McNeill being delisted and redrafted means he has eker promise too

McNeil must be setting a record for times becoming a sub
He might be the super sub eker

03-11-2023, 01:00 AM
Oskar Baker had 5 years at Melbourne for 15 games, delisted, picked up preseason selection. 18 games this year has him on the cusp of being above Eker level, and really needs to get some years on the board.

14-06-2024, 07:43 PM
STK LATE CHANGE: Tom Campbell IN, Cooper Sharman OUT. Zak Jones is the sub.

Has not played since 2022. Has played 12 games in last five seasons.

14-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Go well Tom!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GQBWm6laMAAk3ff?format=jpg&name=small

14-06-2024, 07:45 PM
STK LATE CHANGE: Tom Campbell IN, Cooper Sharman OUT. Zak Jones is the sub.

Has not played since 2022. Has played 12 games in last five seasons.

Elite.

14-06-2024, 08:03 PM
He's now an all time eker great

15-06-2024, 12:42 AM
Just when you forget an eker they flex and show how eker royalty works.

15-06-2024, 05:57 AM
I’d completely forgot he was at St Kilds. Got a good chuckle out of it last night when I saw his name on the AFL app. Incredible!

16-06-2024, 10:05 PM
I thought he did ok seemed to be in a lot but then I looked at his stats.
Then I saw Cordys stats and thought that’s near on Mooney gf figures.
Anyway good on Tom.