View Full Version : Years of membership

26-11-2009, 09:49 AM
After reading through the YEARBOOK, I was wondering just how many years everyone has been a member? I joined WAYYYYYY back in 1961 (won't tell how old I was) so this year (2010) brings me up to 49 consecutive years.:D

26-11-2009, 10:57 AM
I have been a member since 83 so that will be 27 years next year

26-11-2009, 11:02 AM
1981 Dad made me a member, renewed every year since (29 years).
Dad's been a member since 1978 (32 years).
One Uncle since 1983
Another since 1987
and the other since 1996

26-11-2009, 11:02 AM
I think I've been a member since around 1980 with a 2 year gap when we first moved to Docklands.

26-11-2009, 11:11 AM
1983, same as Strebla. My wife since 1989 & the kids from day dot.

49 years, well done Trish! Thank your Mother for the rabbits!!! ;)

26-11-2009, 11:24 AM
Dad and I became members and were sitting in the EJ Whitten Stand from 1988 - when I was 5. And haven't missed a season since.
I can't imagine ever not being a member with seats.

26-11-2009, 11:39 AM
I remember my dad buying my first membership for me back in 1976 - so 2010 it will be 34 years of being a Bulldog Member. :)

26-11-2009, 11:40 AM
Footscray/Western Bulldogs member since 1980 and an AFL member since 1996.
I still have my first membership card lying around somewhere.

26-11-2009, 11:43 AM
From about 1981 through to 1994 as a kid.
Moved away, finally re-joined in 02 or 03.

26-11-2009, 11:51 AM
Member since 97, but I'm sure I missed a year at some point (I can't remember when) so I'll feel a little dodgy putting '13 years' on the form back - don't they have records to cross check?

I liked Hawthorn's member scarves that had their years of membership on display.

26-11-2009, 12:20 PM
member since the early 70's, can't remember the exact date.

26-11-2009, 01:36 PM
I've been a member since 2008.

26-11-2009, 02:30 PM
I've been a member since 2008.

Same here.

26-11-2009, 02:34 PM
Same here.

Band-waggoners :) Were were u when we were poo! (Joke guys)

I joined in 1997 (?) about a day after we announced the new broom and that we were changing from Footscrat to Western Bulldogs.

Have been a full member (even though i never get to home games) since, apart from teh 2nd Rohde year when i downgraded to Country Member.

Upgraded to Social Member when Rocket signed.

My kids were born in April 1998 and they were signed up within a week or so of then.

26-11-2009, 03:41 PM
I've been a member since 1983, but I had a forced layoff between 1991 to 1998.

26-11-2009, 04:15 PM
I was a member in the 70s and 80s but due to marriage , kids, job etc fell off for a lot of years, good news is i was booted out of home!
Thus back on 3 years ago when we had the poo year. Even have my daughter is on board, sadly my son is a mad musician and sport is of no interest.

26-11-2009, 05:40 PM
Thus back on 3 years ago when we had the poo year. Even have my daughter is on board, sadly my son is a mad musician and sport is of no interest.
Incidently, which home did you ship him off to?

26-11-2009, 06:02 PM
I have been a member since 1989 (The inspiration of Irene made me become a member)

Up Your Oakley !!

20 years this year (Wow!) ... 17 of those years I have been living in WA

26-11-2009, 07:13 PM
Band-waggoners :) Were were u when we were poo! (Joke guys)

Hey, I joined up after a horrible year in 07.

Cleanly since we've become members the club's been much better off.

26-11-2009, 07:37 PM
wow i cant remember how many years ive been a member...prob since i was born....28 yrs.....

26-11-2009, 08:07 PM
I was a junior member before 1966, but 66 is the only accurate year I can vouch for, as it was the year I started work and paid for myself.

26-11-2009, 10:14 PM
Since 89/90 - that was scary, would have thought a lot of people would have joined then

26-11-2009, 10:26 PM
I've been a member since 1993.

My nephew has been a member since 17 days before he was born in July of '06. I had the intended name, I had the date of the caesarean, and I wanted him counted in the official 2006 membership tally before the June 30 cut off date. The woman in the membership department thought I was mad when she asked for his birth date while I was signing him up.

It'd be interesting to know if anyone here has been a member for longer than 17 days before they were born?

26-11-2009, 10:31 PM
Was probably a junior member, but only joined myself in '06. That was the first year in many years I went to a game - being carried up and down stairs as a kid put me off for a long time. I decided in '06 to put my money where my mouth is, and signed up.

Sgt Slaughter
27-11-2009, 12:13 AM
member since 89/90 after seeing my first game in '85. my dog ted just got a renewal notice for his 2nd year.

27-11-2009, 12:42 AM
Was a member from 97-2002 but the old man stopped buying memberships for me. Jumped back on board in 2007 until the present.

wend1604
27-11-2009, 09:08 PM
I think I've been a member since 1989. What a year that was! ;)

27-11-2009, 09:24 PM
I won a membership in 1999 in a class quiz, was a WA member in 01-02, and a full member from 2003.

27-11-2009, 09:33 PM
1977 for me.

27-11-2009, 10:46 PM
Its amazing just how long some posters on WOOF have been members, even more amazing that they can drive a computer! ;)

27-11-2009, 10:57 PM
I joined up the family in 2003, what a great year that was:rolleyes: The doggies only won a couple of games and I wasn't at any of those wins, but saw a lot of losses. The loss to Richmond was the worst:eek:

27-11-2009, 11:50 PM
Its amazing just how long some posters on WOOF have been members, even more amazing that they can drive a computer! ;)
That is enough of that, is that directed to Trish & I.
I can use a computer AND still do things in my head as well, how's that for versatile !

28-11-2009, 12:16 AM
1984, but it feels like yesterday.

28-11-2009, 12:30 AM
I was always a member as a kid from 1975 to 1986, then I dropped off when I played local paddock footy on Saturday afternoons from 1987. By the time It got to about 1994 there were less Saturday arvo games so I became a member again and have done so ever since.

Kingsley
28-11-2009, 01:41 AM
1989, when I turned 7 and couldn't get in for free anymore :) Dads been a member for over forty years

28-11-2009, 10:03 PM
Was first a junior member in '78. Been a member on and off ever since. Lived interstate a fair bit which made it hard to justify. Been a continuous member since '07 when I bought 2 general memberships (1 with 17 games, 1 with 11 home games) my first year of Christmas tips from the Big Issue. Upgraded to Silver last year and have added Social Club this year. My ex-girlfriend's dog is a Pet Member for the second consecutive season. I wonder how she will react when the dog-blanket arrives?

28-11-2009, 10:30 PM
I'm not exactly sure, but I was a member for a couple of years when we were still at Optus Oval, so my guess is at least 1998. Mum didn't want to take me until I could properly appreciate it, so I was about 7 I think.

29-11-2009, 11:44 AM
First membership year was '75 when I started going every week with my Dad after he retired from playing footy. Was a member every year up to about '88 I reckon, when I was playing senior footy myself on a Saturday and couldn't make it to Doggie games. Bought a membership when I went to the 2nd game of '92, a home game against the Saints after we knocked off the Crows at Footy Park in Round 1, and have been a consecutive member since then.

29-11-2009, 12:15 PM
Been a Social club member since 2006. Never looked back!

Lachy
03-12-2009, 06:01 PM
Been a member since either 1975 or 1976 cant remember whether I was 8 or 9 when I got my first membership

27-12-2009, 09:51 PM
I've been a member since 2003... Yep, was financial enough to buy a membership for the first time. I was also excited about Peter Rhode's first outing as a coach in rd22 of the previous year thinking the future was looking up for the '03 season... Boy were the next couple of years tough going!!

05-01-2010, 01:10 PM
Can't exactly remember as I was too young to remember and my Mum has passed away so can't exactly ask her can I? I think it was 1975 but was going since I was a baby in 1970. My husband since 1979 and my kids were signed up before they were born in 1997 and 2001.

13-01-2010, 09:34 PM
Signed up in 06 with my first pay check. Just out of school, dad never bought me a membership. tight ass. He just doesn't understand.

donnan
14-01-2010, 08:54 PM
After reading through the YEARBOOK, I was wondering just how many years everyone has been a member? I joined WAYYYYYY back in 1961 (won't tell how old I was) so this year (2010) brings me up to 49 consecutive years.:D

That's dedication for you!!! :):):) I am impressed!!

I am but a relative newbie with about 6 years as a member...but will be one for the rest of my life!!!!

My mother in law was at the 54 grannie...so...its a family tradition..and I will be at the next Grand Final!

Great thread!

D.

14-01-2010, 10:37 PM
Signed up in 06 with my first pay check. Just out of school, dad never bought me a membership. tight ass. He just doesn't understand.

Reckon it should be an offence under the Child Protection Act. Should also be an offence if a parent signs up their child to collingwood. And, no, that is not a grammatical error on collingwood.

15-01-2010, 01:32 AM
I think I started in 2001. So 9 years.

Started off as a 5 Game country member and have now worked my way up to 18 game reserved social club member. What can I say, the Bulldogs are like a drug which I want more and more of each season hopefully one more week of action this year.

15-01-2010, 08:33 AM
Bought my first membership in 2001.

Then got my son his membership in 2002 and when the 2nd son was born in 2004 bought a family membership and got the wife to change from North to the Dogs.

Then upgraded to reserve seats in 2007 and social club in 2008.

15-01-2010, 10:43 AM
Bought my first membership in 2001.

Then got my son his membership in 2002 and when the 2nd son was born in 2004 bought a family membership and got the wife to change from North to the Dogs.

Then upgraded to reserve seats in 2007 and social club in 2008.

For the club to become financially strong, this is the exact scenario that needs to happen.

Charlie the Wonder Dog
15-01-2010, 10:55 AM
First joined in 2000, I'm an import and that was my first year in this magnificent country.

16-01-2010, 06:22 PM
For the club to become financially strong, this is the exact scenario that needs to happen.

l can add to that.

l have been buying my nephews memberships for last few years.

l have now got their family (2 Adults and 2 kids) to buy reserved seats this year with social club!

My farther and l have been working on one his mates for aleast 3 years.

He finally bought 2 Adult reserved seats this year.

16-01-2010, 06:33 PM
First joined in 2000, I'm an import and that was my first year in this magnificent country.

Charlie, interested to know what made you choose the Dogs?

Charlie the Wonder Dog
16-01-2010, 09:59 PM
he he, get asked that question a bit.

Wan hounded by everyone when I first arrived.....barrack for the pies, or the blues or the bombers - resisted that, never been a bandwagonjumper.

I worked out in the west and being a bit of a battler myself, the dogs just seemed to fit very nicely.

Not a lot of good times since then (until now) but I've met some fantastic bulldogs people.

And I managed to breed two more supporters :D

17-01-2010, 02:24 PM
he he, get asked that question a bit.

Wan hounded by everyone when I first arrived.....barrack for the pies, or the blues or the bombers - resisted that, never been a bandwagonjumper.

I worked out in the west and being a bit of a battler myself, the dogs just seemed to fit very nicely.

Not a lot of good times since then (until now) but I've met some fantastic bulldogs people.

And I managed to breed two more supporters :D

Charlie, very similar to my story. I came to Oz in 1980, my sister was a pie supporter, and I was told that I SHOULD barrack for them as they were the most popular and were going to win the premiership that year:rolleyes: Anyway, liked the look of the dogs - don't like the big popular teams, they don't need anymore members - so been a supporter of the dogs from around 1982, took it more seriously in '97 and '98 when it looked we were going to go all the way and signed up as a member in 2003 after I got through uni - well be a dog for life now:)

17-01-2010, 03:08 PM
About 9 years I think??? On auto renewal now so I'll be onboard until I die!

Charlie the Wonder Dog
19-01-2010, 10:25 AM
Charlie, very similar to my story. I came to Oz in 1980, my sister was a pie supporter, and I was told that I SHOULD barrack for them as they were the most popular and were going to win the premiership that year:rolleyes: Anyway, liked the look of the dogs - don't like the big popular teams, they don't need anymore members - so been a supporter of the dogs from around 1982, took it more seriously in '97 and '98 when it looked we were going to go all the way and signed up as a member in 2003 after I got through uni - well be a dog for life now:)

Dogs

where do you originally hail from?

I am part of the great migration across the ditch - allegedly raising the IQ of both countries by coming here (as a former PM suggested)

20-01-2010, 02:11 PM
I remember having the juniors membership getting clipped each week through the gates at the Western Oval, would have been late 70's / early 80's, and have been a member for most years to present date, but like many i have been on the auto renewal since that came in.....just easier, plus i know i'm going to be a Bulldog for life anyway, and have been a Social Club member for a few years now.

20-01-2010, 06:03 PM
Dogs

where do you originally hail from?

I am part of the great migration across the ditch - allegedly raising the IQ of both countries by coming here (as a former PM suggested)

Hi Charlie, if the 'ditch' means NZ - that is where I hail from:)

20-01-2010, 07:35 PM
I am part of the great migration across the ditch

Hi Charlie, if the 'ditch' means NZ - that is where I hail from:)

That'd be the detch, wouldn't it? ;)

20-01-2010, 07:53 PM
Just on the auto renewal topic. Is there any way to do it without using a credit card?

20-01-2010, 08:22 PM
Just on the auto renewal topic. Is there any way to do it without using a credit card?

No, credit card only.

FAQ (http://www.aqtual.com.au/FA/hybrid/Themes/westernbulldogs/Answers_internal_check.asp?MesId=1179209&isCFP=&FolderID=&ProjectId=4527491&Site=&reAskpage=answer.asp&SelectedCategory=&RecordQuestion=)

21-01-2010, 09:26 AM
Im a relatively new members compared to some of the others that ave posted on this thread. I became a member in 2001 and will be for the rest of my life.

Charlie the Wonder Dog
21-01-2010, 10:41 AM
That'd be the detch, wouldn't it? ;)

No TCD, "duitch" is the correct pronounciation. :D

Dogs I'm a North Islander, born in Mangakino raised in the sunny Bay of Plenty (holders of the Ranfurly Shield [briefly in 2004]):p

21-01-2010, 11:26 AM
No TCD, "duitch" is the correct pronounciation. :D

Dogs I'm a North Islander, born in Mangakino raised in the sunny Bay of Plenty (holders of the Ranfurly Shield [briefly in 2004]):p

Another one from across the 'duitch' - South Island for me -born and raised in sunny Nelson and later not so sunny Christchurch:)

I am the oddity in the family, Having a couple of great uncles who were All Blacks and my mums cousin is Brian Lochore (sir if you don't mind) none of the family can understand my defection, fascination - ok let's be honest obsession with the dogs and AFL.:D

Charlie the Wonder Dog
21-01-2010, 01:43 PM
Another one from across the 'duitch' - South Island for me -born and raised in sunny Nelson and later not so sunny Christchurch:)

I am the oddity in the family, Having a couple of great uncles who were All Blacks and my mums cousin is Brian Lochore (sir if you don't mind) none of the family can understand my defection, fascination - ok let's be honest obsession with the dogs and AFL.:D

I certainly understand. I rationalise it like this....there is room in my life for two loves, if I can find space in my heart for my wife and Jennifer Hawkins - then I am certainly capable of loving both AFL and Union.

I know I will tear up when I hear the song after the final whistle in the G.F. just as I know I will get goosebumps whenever I hear the haka.

24-01-2010, 06:04 PM

Just got back from Dunedin - the land of horizontal drizzle. Had a day of 8 deg in January - how's that for summer?