29-07-2010, 12:17 PM
BOB MURPHY
July 29, 2010
Footy can feel like it's all about lines. White-line fever, running the lines, half-back line, the boundary line, the party line, lines in the sand, interchange lines, even the opening line of your club song. Whatever your line, we cannot escape them.
Remove the definitive white lines from a footy field, all we are left with is a big patch of grass. (Not to be confused with patchy grass, might I add.) Or are we?
There are heaps of other lines, too. I reckon there are also lines that bind us that we can't see quite as clearly as a boundary line, but they are just as real nonetheless.
Full article (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/club-stands-as-one-for-love-of-the-jumper-and-the-game-20100728-10w3j.html)
July 29, 2010
Footy can feel like it's all about lines. White-line fever, running the lines, half-back line, the boundary line, the party line, lines in the sand, interchange lines, even the opening line of your club song. Whatever your line, we cannot escape them.
Remove the definitive white lines from a footy field, all we are left with is a big patch of grass. (Not to be confused with patchy grass, might I add.) Or are we?
There are heaps of other lines, too. I reckon there are also lines that bind us that we can't see quite as clearly as a boundary line, but they are just as real nonetheless.
Full article (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/club-stands-as-one-for-love-of-the-jumper-and-the-game-20100728-10w3j.html)