View Full Version : Game Day 2011 - R1 Western Bulldogs vs Essendon

24-03-2011, 08:28 PM
This is the discussion thread for our Sunday afternoon game against Essendon at ES. Reminder: it is a 1.10pm start.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 29 points
BOG : Daniel Cross
Adam Cooney to kick the first goal.

24-03-2011, 09:17 PM
Dogs by 45 points
BOG Cooney
First Goal - Grant

24-03-2011, 09:20 PM
Dogs by 23
BOG Cooney
First goal Higgins

24-03-2011, 10:01 PM
Essendon by 22 (sorry. Love to eat my words)
BOG Grifftember
First goal Grant

24-03-2011, 10:11 PM
Dogs by 19 points
BOG Higgins
1st goal Hall

24-03-2011, 10:31 PM
Dogs 48 points
BOG Boyd
1st Goal Gia

24-03-2011, 10:40 PM
Dogs 11 points
BOG Boyd
1st Goal Hall

24-03-2011, 11:06 PM
Dogs by 21 points
BOG Griff
First goal Higgins

24-03-2011, 11:25 PM
Dogs by 34
BOG Higgins
First Goal Higgins

25-03-2011, 12:42 AM
Essendon by 10 - Love also to eat my words.
BOG Watson
First goal Hall.

Just a gut feeling. usually I'm annoyingly optimistic!

25-03-2011, 01:14 AM
Dogs by 16 points
BOG: Ward
FG: Cooney if he plays in Forward line

First Kick in AFL for a Goal: Libba!

25-03-2011, 10:21 AM
Dogs by 19 points

BOG: Jarrad Grant (5 goals)

Goal: Daniel Giansiracusa

25-03-2011, 10:32 AM
Essendon by 6 (I'm seriously hoping this doesn't happen, but I can't shake this bad feeling...)
BOG: J Watson
First goal: J Grant

25-03-2011, 10:36 AM
Dogs 14pts
BOG C. Ward
First Goal: P Ryder

25-03-2011, 10:41 AM
Dogs by 14
BOG Higgins
First Goal Grant

Also, if I can advertise this, a few of my friends are running an online commentary of the match on www.footycouch.com so if your interested please check it out! :)

25-03-2011, 10:42 AM
Dogs 9 points
BOG: Boyd
1st Goal: Grant

25-03-2011, 11:17 AM
The Dogs by 26 points
BOG : Cooney
1st Goal: Hall

25-03-2011, 11:23 AM
Dogs by 38 points (after being tight at half time)
BOG: Murphy
1st Goal: Bazza

25-03-2011, 12:03 PM
Dogs by 26pts
BOG: Griff
First Goal Grant

25-03-2011, 01:27 PM
Essendon 20 points (please let me be wrong)
BOG Ward
First Goal Cooooooney

25-03-2011, 04:31 PM
Bulldogs by 10 points.
BOG Hurley
First goal Big Bad “The Next Tim Mathieson” Bazza

27-03-2011, 04:31 AM
All I want to see is
'dogs rain on hirds parade'
Or something similar

27-03-2011, 09:57 AM
Marcov, these words are pure poetry.

27-03-2011, 10:40 AM
I'm a man of simple needs mate. Ive been waiting for this game since last years prelim.

NoName
27-03-2011, 10:41 AM
Goal:- Higgins
BOG:- Griffen
Bulldogs by 23 points

27-03-2011, 10:50 AM
Goal:- Jones
BOG:- Higgins
Bulldogs by 39 points

27-03-2011, 12:05 PM
Essendon by 15
Doggies BOG - Cooney
Doggies Fist goal - Gia

27-03-2011, 12:17 PM
Dogs by 10
BOG - Boyd
1st - Bazza

27-03-2011, 12:19 PM
To see who is the most accurate and for a bit of sprouking, is there anyway we can highlight the closest to getting all three catagories correct each week ?

27-03-2011, 12:51 PM
Essendon by 20 points
BOG: Hurley
First goal: Libba

What i'd love to see.

Bulldogs by 60+
BOG: Higgins

27-03-2011, 12:59 PM
To see who is the most accurate and for a bit of sprouking, is there anyway we can highlight the closest to getting all three catagories correct each week ?

How do we decide who is "BOG"? It is very subjective.

27-03-2011, 01:12 PM
Essendon by 26 (Unfortunately I have that bad feeling that only a doggies supporter knows)
BOG: M Boyd
First Goal: Bazza

Hoping like crazy that I've got the first one wrong.

Just got Austar installed so very excited that I can watch the game on fox!

27-03-2011, 01:23 PM
Essendon by 13pts
BOG McVeigh
First goal for us: Gia

27-03-2011, 01:25 PM
Must say I'm a bit surprised by the amount of people tipping against us. It definitely appears like one of those games we historically lose playing against an opponent we are better than on paper. Hopefully this year the side rids itself of this bad habit. We're clearly a better side IMO, even missing a few and should get home today. Let's hope everyone is focused and put forth a strong performance - to become a great side these are the bread and butter must win games.

27-03-2011, 02:31 PM
Sounds like Libba BOG so far!

27-03-2011, 02:36 PM
Liberatore is a gun, this kid has the best hands I have ever seen at 18.

27-03-2011, 02:45 PM
Must say I'm a bit surprised by the amount of people tipping against us. It definitely appears like one of those games we historically lose playing against an opponent we are better than on paper. Hopefully this year the side rids itself of this bad habit. We're clearly a better side IMO, even missing a few and should get home today. Let's hope everyone is focused and put forth a strong performance - to become a great side these are the bread and butter must win games.

There's your answer right there!

27-03-2011, 02:50 PM
How do we decide who is "BOG"? It is very subjective.

We could use the player award, we vote in.

27-03-2011, 02:53 PM
Liberatore is a gun, this kid has the best hands I have ever seen at 18.

Talk about setting the bar high in your first quarter with the big boys.
Keeps this up will stitch up this weeks Rising Star.

27-03-2011, 03:04 PM
Whats going on Essendon have the ball 99% of the time, we are second to the ball, not even getting near it.

27-03-2011, 03:04 PM
Williams gettin smashed by Ryder ...not good signs

27-03-2011, 03:09 PM
Sooooo slow!

27-03-2011, 03:09 PM
Not looking great, seems as though we're getting dominated in the ruck this qtr.

27-03-2011, 03:10 PM
Why the f**k do they have so many players around the ball carrier? I've had a gutful of this, nothing has changed at all.

27-03-2011, 03:12 PM
Note to dogs coaching staff, earn your money.

27-03-2011, 03:14 PM
30 inside 50's to 15 says it all. They are literally KILLING US!!! They look quicker, stronger. I was worried about this game at the start of the year, and now rightfully so.

27-03-2011, 03:15 PM
How do they get miles on their own in the forward line?
Liberatore trying his guts out.
Putting our so called good players to shame.
Time for Rocket to blast them big time already and only 60 min into the season.

27-03-2011, 03:19 PM
Best forgotten 2nd quarter, we were competitive in the 1st as we won clearances & contested footy. Giving that up this quarter has seen us look ordinary.

Still in it, as we should be ten goals down

27-03-2011, 03:20 PM
Come on dogs

27-03-2011, 03:21 PM
Giansiracusa in the back line, he will spend it running round in circles watching, he is a reciever, the last player you want in the backline.

27-03-2011, 03:23 PM

How can we be so devoid of confidence so early in the season. Second to the ball everytime, applying no pressure, have no run, can't hit targets, the list goes on and on. You know how Essendon are going to play and we seem totally unprepared for it.

27-03-2011, 03:24 PM
Why can't we get our hand on the footy?

We are getting killed. Backline issues were expected but we have nothing through the midfield.

Libba's been great, hill is at least trying but stack is wasting space, sub him.

27-03-2011, 03:28 PM
Cross, Boyd, Ward,Higgins,Gia, etc just seem to slow...same ol same ol

27-03-2011, 03:30 PM
What a very disappointing 2nd quarter.

There is virtually no defensive pressure applied by the midfield at all. The backline is justifiably under siege.

Essendon as individuals are not a great lot, but their team ethics right now are fight class, running in numbers, backing each other up, putting bodies on the line.

I'd suggest that something different needs to happen, like having a second ruckman, but we cant even test that theory.

There is a few blokes that seriously need to watch some vision of themselves by-standing.

Two highlights from a dismal performance thus far, Grant is working hard and Libba is a gun.

27-03-2011, 03:31 PM
Libba's been great, hill is at least trying but stack is wasting space, sub him.

Stack is the whipping boy. We have more experienced and talented players that aren't getting a touch.

27-03-2011, 03:31 PM
Why can't we get our hand on the footy?
We are getting killed. Backline issues were expected but we have nothing through the midfield.

That's just the problem, we just cannot get the pill and when we do, we give it straight back to them and they pump it back in. Where is our Captain by the way? This team for a long time has lacked someone to do something big and inspirational and it appears that this season may be no different. Griffen, Cooney, these guys just need to give something. All that said, we're not as bad a team as this game would suggest and we do come home well in games.

27-03-2011, 03:32 PM

Yes, time to get rid of Rocket. The man born with a silver spoon in his mouth, the man who makes poor decisions and squanders opportunities.

27-03-2011, 03:33 PM
Stack is the whipping boy. We have more experienced and talented that aren't getting a touch.

I agree

Cooney, Griffen should be dominating, but they are no where to be seen. Then like most of em when they do get the ball they blaze away

27-03-2011, 03:37 PM
The only good thing about Williams in the ruck is he's not in defence, we pretty much have to decide what part of the ground we want him beaten in. The decision to play Stack was obsurd, one good game in a practice match against Freo's reserves, now we're seeing his usual self at AFL level, should be subbed.

Leaders all getting beaten, Griffen is a shell of himself last year, he looks like he's had a serious illness.

LostDog
27-03-2011, 03:38 PM
Boyd, Cross, Gia are the Lionel Ritchie's of the team (Hello, is it me your looking for....?)
Jones cant mark

27-03-2011, 03:40 PM
Leaders all getting beaten, Griffen is a shell of himself last year, he looks like he's had a serious illness.
He copped a knock early but not sure how that sort of injury could effect his decision making which is what is wrong.

27-03-2011, 03:41 PM
A big worry from the start, was when our BOG at the time was Libba...a 1st gamer!! FFS

27-03-2011, 03:41 PM
Agree with all the above, but also who handed out the butter in the change rooms beforehand? Can't hold a mark to save ourselves!

27-03-2011, 03:42 PM
Haven't seen Boyd all day, I thought he must have been subbed until I saw himwalking off at half time. Cross looks a year slower in a league that's got a year faster. Worrying signs.

Hudson getting killed, really could do with Minson right now.

27-03-2011, 03:44 PM
Gee talk about critical, I think Cooney and Griffen are 2 players that are trying, Cooney is playing in a forward pocket apparently, if he is ,he is doing a mighty job chasing and getting the ball at half back.
Ward also trying I think.
Cross went back and slightly stemmed the flow but with most of out forwards going back who is in our forward line when we do get it there?
Hall is doing everything he can, which is not much when we are ignoring him.

27-03-2011, 03:46 PM
Yes, time to get rid of Rocket. The man born with a silver spoon in his mouth, the man who makes poor decisions and squanders opportunities.

60 minutes into the season your a bit over the top arent you?

27-03-2011, 03:47 PM
Stack is the whipping boy. We have more experienced and talented players that aren't getting a touch.

They are experienced and talented and have an upside. Stack cannot mark, tackle, handball, kick or read the play and he looks slow. He is a whipping boy, he is a waste of a selection. Get him off!

27-03-2011, 03:47 PM
He copped a knock early but not sure how that sort of injury could effect his decision making which is what is wrong.

Same spot, same shoulder, from another innocuous bump. Third time this year, no doubt we'll hear again it's fine.

27-03-2011, 03:49 PM
This is getting embarrassing.

27-03-2011, 03:53 PM
Not sure why Sherman hasnt been brought on as a sub yet - 10 mins into the 3rd quarter

27-03-2011, 03:55 PM
Essendon are flooding our back 50 as soon as we look to go forward...they are simply running harder in numbers in both directions....

We have no run whatsoever

Argh!

27-03-2011, 03:56 PM
There is something wrong with the resolve of this team, they are flat, lifeless, and completely lacking confidence. Is there a team that lets the ball out of the forward line as easily as we do? Also, I've seen our captain refuse to chase on more than one occasion today, not exactly inspirational?

27-03-2011, 04:00 PM
Killlllllllllllllll meeeeeeee.

27-03-2011, 04:01 PM

So? Should Stack be free from critical observation because more experienced players are MIA? The original post was about Stack. It doesn't mean others aren't underperforming also.

IMO Stack is a whipping boy for a reason (though I'm not commenting on today's game because I'm not watching). His lack of intensity is probably what hurts him the most. He needs to show some mongrel.

27-03-2011, 04:02 PM
They have a similar build but they subbed the wrong guy.

LostDog
27-03-2011, 04:05 PM
TV turned off

Healy just hit the nail on the head, apparently we focused on forwadline pressure, but all our forwards are just standing and not chasing.

Boyd, Cross, Gia are the Lionel Ritchie's of the team (Hello, is it me your looking for....?)
Jones cant mark

Hooray .... someone was finally game enough to say this on here ..... although you may get howled down by a few though.

27-03-2011, 04:09 PM
The difference in defensive pressure across the ground is ridiculous. It's like a team from 2006 playing a team from 2011. Clearly our coaching staff just think it's a fad, the scoreboard says otherwise.

27-03-2011, 04:10 PM
I'm going to refrain from making outlandish statements while I'm upset but Stack is not up to it, Cross looks slow, Boyd's leadership when the chips are down is severely lacking, Cooney doesn't seem to want to be there, Griffen is not right, Jones doesn't seem up to it, Gia is, well just Gia, players aren't working for each other at all. I'll pay my membership for the rest of my life but in the interest of my mental health, I need to stop watching this team.

27-03-2011, 04:11 PM
So? Should Stack be free from critical observation because more experienced players are MIA? The original post was about Stack. It doesn't mean others aren't underperforming also.

IMO Stack is a whipping boy for a reason (though I'm not commenting on today's game because I'm not watching). His lack of intensity is probably what hurts him the most. He needs to show some mongrel.

For god sake ...... the probem is our mid field. Cant you read stats!!!!!!!

The ball is going into Essendons forward 50 multiple times more than ours and when we try to get it out of our backline is comes back in again. It doesnt take Einstein to work out where we are breaking down.

But, rather than admit we have some very senior players who go missing when the going gets tough, we pick the scapegoats.

Have a look who is playing in the midfield.

27-03-2011, 04:13 PM
Huddo and Minson will struggle now i reckon with this sub rule.
Anyone agree?

27-03-2011, 04:15 PM
Our are guys simply lazy? Unfit?

Is their fitness far behind where it should be at this point of the season and the fitness team is intent on our fitness getting progressively better as their year goes on?

Pretty disgusting...

27-03-2011, 04:16 PM
I'll pay my membership for the rest of my life but in the interest of my mental health, I need to stop watching this team.

I love this post.:D Fair but true! this is pretty painful.

27-03-2011, 04:16 PM

The ball is going into Essendons forward 50 multiple times more than ours and when we try to get it out of our backline is comes back in again. It doesnt take Einstein to work out where we are breaking down.

But, rather than admit we have some very senior players who go missing when the going gets tough, we pick the scapegoats.

I like Stack but perhaps he just isn't good enough and we need to accept that. The blokes who need a kick up the arse are our captain, Adam Cooney, Daniel Cross, Ryan Griffen (may be injured), Gia, Higgins. Guess what, they're basically all mids. Why on earth would we play one ruckman against Hille and Ryder? How's Eade's comment about expoiting the sub rule looking now? I guess we're all more disappointed given it's the first game of the season and we've all been waiting for months for this game.

27-03-2011, 04:18 PM
60 minutes into the season your a bit over the top arent you?

No Wendy. Your husband has been like this since he started, we never should have employed him. Poor decisions all the way. Poor decisions at the selection table, poor decisions of which players to keep, poor decisions on game-day moves. Eade has led a charmed life, fortune as just fallen into his lap.

I don't think there is a question that our midfield have been deplorable, almost stagnant at times but each of those players have contributed something during the day albeit far from enough.

Stack does not bring anything to the table, it's nothing to do with the result today he just isn't up to afl football.

At least with Brisbane and the Gold Coast at home, we can hopefully play ourselves into some form

Given today's performance we should be ok against that Bye team

Oh I don't disagree with you.

By that rationale then do you think Stack should be exempt from criticism? I don't think anyone should be, but the original post was about Brennan, not anyone else.

If you can be bothered going through all my posts (I can't, but you feel free), I think you'll find I'm pretty anti scapegoat. If I think someone's not up to it, I'll say it, regardless of who it is. And I don't think Stack is up to it.

27-03-2011, 04:19 PM
At least with Brisbane and the Gold Coast at home, we can hopefully play ourselves into some form

Given today's performance we should be ok against that Bye team

Chortle chortle.

27-03-2011, 04:19 PM
Huddo and Minson will struggle now i reckon with this sub rule.
Anyone agree?

I think we all knew that before this match started, as soon as the teamsheets were announced, Hille is having a party, I know its a long season, but we need options, Roughie + 1 has to play for mine.

This is one of the issues, the other is we have a midfield full of great names, but they are not acting like a team.

NO Defensive pressure
NO Running in numbers
NO Chop outs
NO ferocious tackles
NO Sheperding
NO doubling back as a lead option, thus the half backs have to kick and hope.

These are simple cardinal things that make a team game work, without them we have donuts.

I wish i knew what was wrong, because the bombers are not this good.

27-03-2011, 04:25 PM
We are not playing as a team , hunting the player with the ball with 4 or 5 players meaning he draws all our players in and then just lays it off to the ones spreading.

27-03-2011, 04:26 PM
Well if they only kicked straight, imagine the scoreline? this is very frustrating.

27-03-2011, 04:29 PM
Welcome to afl football in 2011 western bulldogs.

Speed + Excellent foot disposal is our weakness. We need to be clean... precise and silky off half forward into our forward line. Having said that, our defense has saved us many times from our midfields lack of control. I am EXTREMELY dissapointed in Boyd!

Hill, Libba, Dj better have full games next week because they have been okay. Sherman cant be a sub!

Three issues and one flow that on from them. Firstly on most occasions our midfield are getting caught stationary in contests on the ground whether at bounces, throw ins or any other pack, when the ball is in dispute. Often all standing on the forward side of the pack. Simply poor workrate.

Second, there appears little talking amongst players when going for marks, often two or three guys are going for the mark noone is staying at ground leve. Consequently they both spoil each other, then all go to ground meaning and easy ball for their opponents.

Thirdly the pressure and tackling has been atrocious, players continually not sticking tacklings or being in a position to harrass their opponent.

As a flow on from all of this the Bombers confidence has gone sky-high, whilst ours has plummeted resulting in panicky kicking, poor disposals and a self preservation.

27-03-2011, 04:30 PM
Boyd, Cross, Ward, Cooney all at their unaccountable best. The statement was made to the group at the captaincy announcement. Mcveigh, Melksham, Stanton, Heppell all free to do as they please defensively and offensively.

LostDog
27-03-2011, 04:54 PM
Great Expectations come with Great DISSAPOINTMENT!!

If only Mick Malthouse would come back...

27-03-2011, 04:56 PM
One of the worst performances I have seen in a long time. Our midfield was absolutley slaughtered, looked slow and disinterested. Missed our big 3 down back. Essendon were certainly waiting for us.

27-03-2011, 05:06 PM
They are experienced and talented and have an upside. Stack cannot mark, tackle, handball, kick or read the play and he looks slow. He is a whipping boy, he is a waste of a selection. Get him off!

There are at least 10 players there were worse than him today yet he is singled out. He isn't the reason why we were slaughtered. He one was of the few that keep trying. I don't think he is much good but put the blame where it belongs.

27-03-2011, 05:07 PM
Same spot, same shoulder, from another innocuous bump. Third time this year, no doubt we'll hear again it's fine.

Is his brain on his shoulder?

27-03-2011, 05:09 PM

??? First mentioned player was stack! No one dare mention the so called stars.

27-03-2011, 05:10 PM

You must have set some sort new record.
Two quarters into the season and you want to sack the coach.

27-03-2011, 05:13 PM

It's more about being snubbed in bunbury than anything.

27-03-2011, 05:13 PM
Stack is the least of our problems going on today's effort. 60 odd inside 50's to 30 odd would suggest the real problem lay elsewhere today.

27-03-2011, 05:14 PM
Boyd played his usual game getting 24 possies, and letting his opponents get plenty of the ball as well.

No way was Stack in our bottom 4-5. I thought he and Hill tried all day. As others have said, our midfield did nowhere near enough. I thought by seeing Johnson, Eagle and Aker all gone, we would be a bit quicker, but no.

27-03-2011, 05:14 PM
We looked slow because we refused to work hard both ways! I could only watch the 1st half just to peed off to watch the rest. The whole playing group was atrocious bar one or two and if people get on here and moan that player x is a scapegoat they are talking trash. Our leadership were hopeless today and we know who they are

27-03-2011, 05:17 PM

Yep, I'm pissed off but I'd at least wait and see if today was just an aberation before calling for the coach to be sacked. That said, if we have a terrible start, Eade is in trouble. Make no mistake, Smorgon has set the bar high for Rodney to retain his job. We all know that coaches and gameplans become stale to players after a certain amount of time.

27-03-2011, 05:20 PM
??? First mentioned player was stack! No one dare mention the so called stars.

I never said that. The post was about Stack.

Certainly wasn't responsible, I don't think anyone is saying that.

27-03-2011, 05:21 PM
Stack is the least of our problems going on today's effort. 60 odd inside 50's to 30 odd would suggest the real problem lay elsewhere today.

Yep. This is the absolute crux of the matter.

On another note, anyone at the game able to tell me how Markovic went?

27-03-2011, 05:24 PM
I never said that. The post was about Stack.

Certainly wasn't responsible, I don't think anyone is saying that.

Then why was he even mentioned? Sorry the post was not just stack either.

27-03-2011, 05:27 PM
Just OK. Hurley wasn't much of a factor

27-03-2011, 05:28 PM

Markovic will be bagged out on here but considering the frequency and speed that the ball was delivered inside Essendon's 50, I'd say he did ok. Today was simply a case of the midfield getting smashed (Thus putting incredible pressure on the backline) and the forward line (On the rare occasions it was in there) not applying the required pressure to lock it in there. We have become a slow team with average skills and I think we need to accept that.

27-03-2011, 05:30 PM
There are at least 10 players there were worse than him today yet he is singled out. He isn't the reason why we were slaughtered. He one was of the few that keep trying. I don't think he is much good but put the blame where it belongs.

I do not agree that there were 10 worse players out there today but I didn't blame him for today's effort. He has blown every chance he has had. He is not afl quality. Sherman got as many disposals as him in 40 minutes.
Who was stack better than and how did he contribute? I saw one spoil and that was right after he kicked it straight to an essendon player. You might have had a better view of him trying but he is not good enough to be selected and shouldn't be next week.

27-03-2011, 05:30 PM

He was like guy handing out free sample vouchers to a brothel - totally under siege.

I thought he played pretty well considering how often the ball was down there, it just kept coming straight back out.

Best call of the day for mine: "Looks like the dogs couldn't stop Mary Poppins even if they had a machine gun today"

One thought i did have, was to play Murphy on a wing, I know he was needed in the back half, but we had no leading options out wide, the way he presents we should have at least tried it.

27-03-2011, 05:32 PM
Thought stack was ok today and might be a even better with some better players around him. Markovic was solid but under siege so hard to say to much. Didn't look terrible to me.

Hill was ok as long as there was no body contact.

I seriously did not see boyd get one possession of any note. Crap.

One of cross or Boyd has to play purely as a tagger. Prefer it to be boyd.

Griff and coons looked half asleep. Also crap.

27-03-2011, 05:34 PM
we cannot go in with 1 ruck (hudson) v 2 again, minson or roughie need to play or Hudson will become a liability in the centre square over 4 qtrs......it wouldnt've hurt to throw 1 forward either today...
we knew we were underdone & i for 1 expected a poor result today...it's a long season so if we can scrape a few wins in the next 2 gettables while finding a bit of touch we are right on track !
on another note.... I hear a lot of Liam Jones love on the board but at senior level i am yet to see a glimmer of what people see in the VFL ? is he being talked up a little high? is he up to it ?

27-03-2011, 05:34 PM
I do not agree that there were 10 worse players out there today but I didn't blame him for today's effort. He has blown every chance he has had. He is not afl quality. Sherman got as many disposals as him in 40 minutes.
Who was stack better than and how did he contribute? I saw one spoil and that was right after he kicked it straight to an essendon player. You might have had a better view of him trying but he is not good enough to be selected and shouldn't be next week.

Ok if you are gonna make things up then you will always be right in your mind. With Stack out we have would won.

27-03-2011, 05:35 PM
Markovic will be bagged out on here but considering the frequency and speed that the ball was delivered inside Essendon's 50, I'd say he did ok. Today was simply a case of the midfield getting smashed (Thus putting incredible pressure on the backline) and the forward line (On the rare occasions it was in there) not applying the required pressure to lock it in there. We have become a slow team with average skills and I think we need to accept that.

No I do not accept that, I do not accept mediocrity, and im sure as hell sure that the playing group wont accept that either.

Remember the game against the cats? we were totally obliterated, was it a true reflection of who we were? No it wasnt. What about when collingwood got flogged in that game early last year? were they accepting of a sub standard? No. were they nbetter than that yes? Was it a great wake up call? you freakin betcha.

So the real question for me is, how do we repsond? We have a few relatively easy wins, we need to win them by 10 goals, and we need to set ourselves to win interstate, then to beat Collingwood, thats the real question/litmus test for me.

27-03-2011, 05:38 PM
Ok if you are gonna make thing up then you will always be right in your mind. With Stack out we have would won.

Weakest, most incorrect argument ever. What did I make up and when did I say we would have won without stack?

27-03-2011, 05:41 PM
Then why was he even mentioned? Sorry the post was not just stack either.

No, butyouranswering post was about Stack alone.

Regardless of Stack, I'm not arguing the point that he's not responsible for our performance. No doubt you'll have a response that starts with "who said...." so I'm not going to respond anymore in relation to Stack. The point's been made, by both sides, and more important analysis of what needs fixing should be the focus.

27-03-2011, 05:41 PM
The match turned on its head in the second quarter during which Essendon were able to sustain a very high level of the forward press - they held the ball in their forward fifty forever. all their back pushed well up to the wing. From tgheir they just hammered us. I have been an Eade fan, but we looked to lack structure and methodology. Also many of the senior players seemed to lack commitment when the going got tough. Some poor culture signs as well. In front of us after a manning up error, Ward and Griffen had a "chat" about who should have done what pointing to each other, leaving oppostion players unmanned, and creating a long chain of over the top possessions and an Essendon goal. We were still in it at this point. Concentration and discipline were lacking. Strategies and structure were poor. Some selection decisions proved disastrous - one ruckman, backline structure (Stack). Cooney looked injured and grumphy. Spat the dummy a bit I thought.

Essendon were getting every loose ball get and contested possession. They were at the fall of every ball. We were cramped and lack decisive, confident commitment to the task at times.

Positives were Libba and Grant at times. DJ andMurphy created spark. Wood looked good with the ball, but defensively we were poor and we were thrashed through the mid field so badly it was hard to believe.

Essendon played sensational team game.

27-03-2011, 05:44 PM
Weakest, most incorrect argument ever. What did I make up and when did I say we would have won without stack?

I highlighted it

27-03-2011, 05:46 PM
We looked lost coming out of defence. Why did we consistently bomb the ball to a 3 on 1? What ever happened to the short kick? Given Essendon have virtually adopted collingwoods gameplan we'd want to have come up with some sort of strategy to beat the forward press.

That was a disgraceful game by nearly the whole team and coaches.

Hill impressed me in defence. Really used the ball well. Seemed to be the only player capable of lowering his eyes at one point.

27-03-2011, 05:48 PM
No I do not accept that, I do not accept mediocrity, and im sure as hell sure that the playing group wont accept that either.

Remember the game against the cats? we were totally obliterated, was it a true reflection of who we were? No it wasnt. What about when collingwood got flogged in that game early last year? were they accepting of a sub standard? No. were they nbetter than that yes? Was it a great wake up call? you freakin betcha.

So the real question for me is, how do we repsond? We have a few relatively easy wins, we need to win them by 10 goals, and we need to set ourselves to win interstate, then to beat Collingwood, thats the real question/litmus test for me.

I'm not accepting mediocrity either mate, so please don't accuse me of that. I'm more so pointing out that we are not the quick and highly skillful team that we once were, thus requring the team to adopt new approaches to the way they play. This starts with the basics like playing for each other, tackling in numbers, talking, supporting. These are all incidently, the things we didn't do today, which I don't accept and of which nobody should accept. The defence was under the pump due to the downright weak as piss efforts of our mids and I'm sure this will be looked at this week and shown as an example of a level we should never return to again. I have no doubt that there is enough character in this group to bounce back as soon as possible and get the season back on track.

27-03-2011, 05:53 PM
I highlighted it

I counted Sherman as 4 and about the same to stack all ineffective and at no point did I say stack caused us to lose. That was a team effort.

27-03-2011, 05:57 PM
I'm not really a fan of Stack - but he really wasn't that bad today. He made a couple of errors - but I thought he worked fairly hard defensively.

We really just played some dumb footy. One side of the ground all day - long bombs to packs and had too many players fly for the ball and the Essendon took it away. I guess at least all of those who go to the footy and scream "Kick it LONG!"all day would have been satisified with our approach.

We just didn't use the ground laterally. I'm fairly sure the instruction to the players would have involved using the ball laterally to break up Essendon's zone - so I'm going to say its the players poor decision making - and perhaps lack of bravery WITH the footy (Ï'll just bomb it long - make it someone else's problem).

On the point about having too many go up in the pack - Easton Wood was absolutely infuriating today, Yes Easton - we know you can jump really high - but when Williams and Markovic are already going up - you have to stay down - so Monfries, Jetta, Winderlich etc don't get a free run at the footy at ground level. Aside from that Easton was reasonable - but he had me tearing my hair out.

To add a bit of perspective and 'silver lining' - its only round 1 and things turn around pretty quickly in footy. In round 1, 2007, we touched up Geelong. Not as badly as we got done today - but we had a good win. We went on to finish 13th - and we know where Geelong ended up.

So its not the end of the world yet!

Of the new blokes -
Libba - terrific debut...couldn't ask much more of a debutant.
Markovic - had a tough task today - battled on ok - but I'm happy he is just a back up to Brian. (Come back Brian!)
Djerkerra - endeavour was good - but he wasn't clean and skills were ordinary.
Sherman - really hard to get into the game when you sit on the bench for 3 quarters...I'd have subbed him in for Jones at half time. Don't know what happens to him now - would his match fitness be ok to play next week?

27-03-2011, 05:57 PM
we cannot go in with 1 ruck (hudson) v 2 again, minson or roughie need to play or Hudson will become a liability in the centre square over 4 qtrs......it wouldnt've hurt to throw 1 forward either today...

Whilst I see some merit in what you are saying I think the club won't give up on this idea too soon unless they drop Jones. Unfortunately neither Minson or Roughie are that great in the forward line and if they aren't holding their marks they can become liabilities especially with the reduced IC options.

27-03-2011, 06:00 PM
Stepping back a little and looking at the game without too much emotion, we could not break through Essendon's zone today, we tried to just bomb it out of defense as quickly as possible and most times didn't hit a target. The midfield was killed after the first quarter and guys like Cooney had 16 possessions in the first half ended up with only 20 for the game. Griffen was very disappointing as was Boyd and Cross. I am not sure about the one ruckman, I personally think we need two rucks. Williams going into the ruck robbed us in the backline.

The one big positive was 18 year old Libba who was one of the leading contested possessions winners on the ground and picked up 19 disposals in his first game. The one down side was he too tried to bomb it long at times and didn't hit his target.

I am still not sold on Marcovic. I don't think he is up to AFL footy, but hope he proves me wrong.

27-03-2011, 06:01 PM
I counted Sherman as 4 and about the same to stack all ineffective and at no point did I say stack caused us to lose. That was a team effort.

Ok so now it's about effective possession. Your most likely wrong there too. 1 kick vs 6. Not sure how you can compare them anyway, one played midfield in junk time and the other in defence trying to stop the rot.

27-03-2011, 06:12 PM

More lack of.

27-03-2011, 06:12 PM
Ok so now it's about effective possession. Your most likely wrong there too. 1 kick vs 6. Not sure how you can compare them anyway, one played midfield in junk time and the other in defence trying to stop the rot.

Chops I agree with you there are far too many posters pointing their anger at Stack. I thought Stack was ok today considering 70% of the time the ball was in Essendon's half of the ground. Stackie went in pretty hard today and never stopped trying. There was one passage where he tackled several players, the ball came out and travelled 30 metres and he ran his hardest and got to the contest won the ball and dished it out. Yes he made a few mistakes here and there but he was under siege as was the rest of the backline. I think he is better suited in the backline than the forward line.

27-03-2011, 06:15 PM
Very disappointing, I listened to Rocket on the radio and you could hear how incredulous he was at the lack of cohesion and teamwork , just little bit of soul searching for the leadership group. Markovic was under the pump so we did,nt get to see his best, DJ made a contribution but looked nervous when under pressure, Jones will have some homework to do but will be better for the experience, Libba gave us a contest in the first half . The loss of Wood for about 8 weeks is a real blow, Ryan Griffin got a knock to the shoulder , the rest of the side pulled up okay. The leadership group players will go into next weeks game a little deaf and red faced after copping a terrible blast

27-03-2011, 06:45 PM
No run, no attempt to win clearances. The midfield seemed to do nothing!

27-03-2011, 07:23 PM
I'll pay my membership for the rest of my life but in the interest of my mental health, I need to stop watching this team.

You post reminds me of this guy sitting next to us at the game with his mates and early in the last quarter he stood up and said .."It's only Round 1 and I don't need this stress in my life" and with that he got up and left - by that stage quite a few people were leaving in the area I was in.

27-03-2011, 07:35 PM
Stepping back a little and looking at the game without too much emotion, we could not break through Essendon's zone today, we tried to just bomb it out of defense as quickly as possible and most times didn't hit a target. The midfield was killed after the first quarter and guys like Cooney had 16 possessions in the first half ended up with only 20 for the game.

OK - your point is valid (we couldn't break through the zone) but from that point you have to ask 'Why not?'.

The reasons I would point too are as follows:

1/.Mids and forwards getting caught on our attacking side on the rare occasions we did put the ball inside 50. We simply did a poor job of keeping the ball in front of us and basically allowed Essendon to run the ball forwards unimpeded. I know, I know, we didn't chase...I get that. But if you think we are going to run down opposition players after giving them a 10m start when handball options are available, you are wrong. The lack of chase was a symptom of the real problem - poor positioning in the forward line.

2/.Lack of a defensive release point. Now, Markovic was fine, but where we really missed Lake was his ability to sit off the contest and position himself effectively for a handball receive / spread laterally to space to receive by foot. No-one played this role today - we therefore forced the ball forward under pressure (which only encouraged Essendon to press up higher making the exit even more difficult).

3/.Identified elsewhere, but our d50 exits were very one dimensional today. Criticise Harbrow's kicking by all means, but he would have certainly broken laterally today and enabled us to open up Essendon on the fatside of the ground.

What would I have tried?
- Move Murphy deeper back and instruct him to act as the behind the ball release point (or quarterback, or whatever you want to call it) that Lake does so well.

- Moved one of Cooney or Griffen to the HBF (and maybe even both). They will run laterally with the ball which would have helped trying to get the ball to open space. Griffen's kicking depth may have also helped here - this was another area where we missed both Shaggy and Gilbee.

- Moved Picken forward with strict instructions not to EVER move ahead of the ball. The contest on the HFF in the last q summed up his ability to simply hold up play and find a way to cut out the opposition forward handball.

In all that though, you have to remember that early in the game we won the contested ball and consequently won the ball forward / kicked goals...after the 1st break, we were smashed for contested footy - so maybe the 'problem' was as simple as that!

The moves we did make such as Cooney forward seemed a bit counter intuitive to what I was watching...

The lack of a second ruckman was a concern, but I dont really think it cost us the game. I am not really a Stack fan but he tried very hard today...certainly wasn't the problem.

27-03-2011, 07:35 PM
You post reminds me of this guy sitting next to us at the game with his mates and early in the last quarter he stood up and said .."It's only Round 1 and I don't need this stress in my life" and with that he got up and left - by that stage quite a few people were leaving in the area I was in.

If you can't stand the heat don't become a Doggie supporter, we have always put up with a roller coaster of a ride one day it will straighten out.

I just hope I live to se it.:D

27-03-2011, 07:40 PM
OK - your point is valid (we couldn't break through the zone) but from that point you have to ask 'Why not?'.

1/.Mids and forwards getting caught on our attacking side on the rare occasions we did put the ball inside 50. We simply did a poor job of keeping the ball in front of us and basically allowed Essendon to run the ball forwards unimpeded. I know, I know, we didn't chase...I get that. But if you think we are going to run down opposition players after giving them a 10m start when handball options are available, you are wrong. The lack of chase was a symptom of the real problem - poor positioning in the forward line.

2/.Lack of a defensive release point. Now, Markovic was fine, but where we really missed Lake was his ability to sit off the contest and position himself effectively for a handball receive / spread laterally to space to receive by foot. No-one played this role today - we therefore forced the ball forward under pressure (which only encouraged Essendon to press up higher making the exit even more difficult).

3/.Identified elsewhere, but our d50 exits were very one dimensional today. Criticise Harbrow's kicking by all means, but he would have certainly broken laterally today and enabled us to open up Essendon on the fatside of the ground.

What would I have tried?
- Move Murphy deeper back and instruct him to act as the behind the ball release point (or quarterback, or whatever you want to call it) that Lake does so well.

- Moved one of Cooney or Griffen to the HBF (and maybe even both). They will run laterally with the ball which would have helped trying to get the ball to open space. Griffen's kicking depth may have also helped here - this was another area where we missed both Shaggy and Gilbee.

- Moved Picken forward with strict instructions not to EVER move ahead of the ball. The contest on the HFF in the last q summed up his ability to simply hold up play and find a way to cut out the opposition forward handball.

In all that though, you have to remember that early in the game we won the contested ball and consequently won the ball forward / kicked goals...after the 1st break, we were smashed for contested footy - so maybe the 'problem' was as simple as that!The moves we did make such as Cooney forward seemed a bit counter intuitive to what I was watching...

The lack of a second ruckman was a concern, but I dont really think it cost us the game. I am not really a Stack fan but he tried very hard today...certainly wasn't the problem.

Hit the nail on the head, well put

27-03-2011, 07:57 PM
Well. Lovely news to wake up to on a Sunday morning -- a loss to the flippin' Bombers. Mjp's post helps me understand what went wrong (will download the torrent and watch it later) but it sounds like we were pretty one-dimensional down back without Lake and Harbrow. Harbs is gone, Hargrave has serious injury issues; is there going to be another option to run 'laterally' out of the backline? I thought Wood was the direct Harbs replacement -- how did he go? I'm reading that we looked 'slow' as well.. worrying, as we've recruited for speed, and our oldies have retired. And if Jobe Watson is making us look slow, we may as well pack it in. And how do we lose the contested ball stats as mjp is implying with the centremen that we have? If Crossy and Boydy aren't winning the contested ball they may as well not be playing as they don't do much else around the ground. With Libba (he made his debut? Boy this kid has come from nowhere!) and Ward in there as well, do we really need four slow, one-dimensional ball winners (especially when they're not winning the ball?).

Anyway, it's Round 1. I remember a lot of weird results in round 1 that are long forgotten by Round 10 -- hopefully an aberration.

ps. Wait, wait -- was Essendon good? Mark Thompson (more than Hirdy) would have a major impact, especially without the extra game-day and media pressure of being head coach.

27-03-2011, 07:59 PM
Very disappointed....key things that stuck out to me:
1) a lack of urgency after 1/4 time. No one was willing to work hard enough to either shut their opponent down or to positively impact the game.
2) Hudson as the lone Ruckman doesnt work. Roughie needs to come in and be our forward / ruck option.
3) whatever our zone setup was - it didnt work and we didnt seem to be able to change things around to stop the flow Essendon had.
4) Grant was a positive i thought, as was young Libba. Stack i thought was ok given the frequency and way that the ball just kept coming into our defensive 50.
5) Match committee / game day coaching was not good - strange decisions with 1 ruckman / lack of a plan 'b' / how to get some of our better players back into the game.

Lets put this one behind us and start notching up the wins.

27-03-2011, 08:11 PM
I thought Wood was the direct Harbs replacement -- how did he go?

I'm reading that we looked 'slow' as well.. worrying, as we've recruited for speed, and our oldies have retired.

And how do we lose the contested ball stats as mjp is implying with the centremen that we have?

With Libba (he made his debut? Boy this kid has come from nowhere!) and Ward in there as well, do we really need four slow, one-dimensional ball winners (especially when they're not winning the ball?).

Anyway, it's Round 1. I remember a lot of weird results in round 1 that are long forgotten by Round 10 -- hopefully an aberration.

ps. Wait, wait -- was Essendon good? Mark Thompson (more than Hirdy) would have a major impact, especially without the extra game-day and media pressure of being head coach.

In answer to your questions, Wood was average and finished off with an ankle injury that will likely keep him out 6-8 weeks.

We lost the contested ball because we didn't support or block for each other and Essendon just basically outworked us.

Libba was excellent in contested ball situations particularly early but some of his disposal by foot was terrible. It's a legitimate question whether we can carry that many slow mids who win contested ball but make poor decisions by foot.

Essendon were very good, they destroyed us in every facet of the game. Their defensive structures and discipline were excellent and their run and disposal as well as the contested ball work was outstanding. Hille and Ryder murdered us.
We've got some structural issues that the sub rule doesn't help and Essendon exploited them.

27-03-2011, 08:12 PM
We can get our whips out for the usual suspects, but in doing so we will miss the real import of today.

We were beaten as a team. We were not competitive in the possession counts for any quarter and only in front at quarter time because the opposition were inaccurate. Lead the tackle count for most of the day because we were chasing all day.

Early on it was obvious we were being denied space and that the dons attempt was to create the ground ball at every opportunity and to clear it to a player in space, which they showed commitment and skill in doing.

They unerringly found a player in space and we seemed unable to cover this. I don't care how many possessions some got, we never got clean ball, whereas most of their's was.

So what was our response? Nothing, we had no answer, we ineffectively chased tail all afternoon.

Outplayed, outcoached and lacked leadership.

It's a tough call... and it's only round one.

I didn't expect the selected team to win; we have had patchy to ordinary form leading in and the dons have been flying.

I thought we'd be close and give a good account of ourselves, and we'd find some positives... but I can't think of any other than that the humiliation finally came to an end.

All I can do is pretend it never happened and hope that between now and next week we find some form and belief.

27-03-2011, 08:41 PM

Huh?

27-03-2011, 08:42 PM
We can get our whips out for the usual suspects, but in doing so we will miss the real import of today.

We were beaten as a team. We were not competitive in the possession counts for any quarter and only in front at quarter time because the opposition were inaccurate. Lead the tackle count for most of the day because we were chasing all day.

Early on it was obvious we were being denied space and that the dons attempt was to create the ground ball at every opportunity and to clear it to a player in space, which they showed commitment and skill in doing.

They unerringly found a player in space and we seemed unable to cover this. I don't care how many possessions some got, we never got clean ball, whereas most of their's was.

So what was our response? Nothing, we had no answer, we ineffectively chased tail all afternoon.

Outplayed, outcoached and lacked leadership.

It's a tough call... and it's only round one.

I didn't expect the selected team to win; we have had patchy to ordinary form leading in and the dons have been flying.

I thought we'd be close and give a good account of ourselves, and we'd find some positives... but I can't think of any other than that the humiliation finally came to an end.

All I can do is pretend it never happened and hope that between now and next week we find some form and belief.

Some good points. For the life of me I can't work out what we stand for? Game plan wise it just seems like helter skelter. Hard to lead by example when there just is no plan. Eade talked about defensive pressure including a forward press but the only thing I seen was us getting forward of the ball.

27-03-2011, 08:44 PM
Huh?

Didn't ye know lad, he's not like us boys from the working classes. He's never had to work a day in his life. He's moneyed and the rich can't be trusted, especially not with defensive structures...

27-03-2011, 09:00 PM
Didn't ye know lad, he's not like us boys from the working classes. He's never had to work a day in his life. He's moneyed and the rich can't be trusted, especially not with defensive structures...

Ha (that's an 'almost laugh')... tell that to the boys on our list who went to exclusive Grammar Schools!

27-03-2011, 09:04 PM
Just so disappointed again. A loss is a loss, but that was embarrassing. No spirit, no run, no structure to speak of. Looked like we'd only got together today, not just had six months preseason.

At this point, I'm looking forward to our game in Round 4.:rolleyes:

27-03-2011, 09:07 PM
Some good points. For the life of me I can't work out what we stand for? Game plan wise it just seems like helter skelter. Hard to lead by example when there just is no plan. Eade talked about defensive pressure including a forward press but the only thing I seen was us getting forward of the ball.

Funny as it seems from what I've seen at the odd training run and the praccie matches the way the dons played is what I thought we were trying to develop. Pressure the ball carrier, win the ball and use quick hand passes to find a free man then spot someone up and keep the ball flowing. Quick ball movement is the key.

The initial stages require some risk taking and some low percentage moves but with practice they can be made to work in most situations.

But when you can't execute step one, it's time for plan B or C or D.

These are the ones that aren't clear to me, in fact I wonder if they exist as other than figments of an overworked imagination.

27-03-2011, 09:48 PM
well well well what can i say about that performance? surprising? no but i'll just leave it as disappointing.
I am the number one ticket holder of the 'Stack the hack' fan club but I thought he wasn't that bad to day and he was far from our worst.
It wouldn't have mattered if we had our team of the century defence out there today if you give a team that many easy entries you have no chance.
Felt sorry for Hudson today, to play a lone hand against the best ruck duo in the comp was an almighty ask. I'm not against the one ruckman idea but i am when its against the best ruck duo going around.
As soon as i saw Fletcher on Liam Jones today I knew he would not get a touch, felt he just accepted that it was going to be a tough day for him.
Cooney was short of a gallop and for christs sake give Griff a spell so he can get that shoulder right cause there is no way that is just a stinger. I tipped the Dons because I thought we were short of a gallop and i wasn't convinced with what i saw in the pre-season. I honestly think we will struggle to make the 8 and think we will finish anywhere from 7-12.
It was hard to watch the second quarter. It felt like our game plan was lets play like we're in the 80's and bomb it every chance we get. Maybe people who were there can tell why were we continously going long at every oppourtunity? no options? under too much pressure? under instructions? I can't recall us going short to a free man once.
If I've said it once I've said it a thousand times we are the worst tackling team going around and rocket has not improved this area one bit in his time here. I lost count on how many missed tackles we had today. If i hear rocket talk about its more about the intent to tackle then the number of tackles one more time I'll spew up.
All this talk about pressure and how its been a real focus, well you wouldn't have know by that performance.
I also can't remember losing soo many times at stoppages in one quarter like that 2nd quarter.
I know James went a bit early about sacking Rocket but there is no way he should be there next year. I wanted him gone after last year but realistically we couldn't with a year to go on his and Micks contract. For me he doesn't make the hard decisions he gets paid for.

27-03-2011, 09:55 PM
Felt sorry for Hudson today, to play a lone hand against the best ruck duo in the comp was an almighty ask. I'm not against the one ruckman idea but i am when its against the best ruck duo going around.

Why is Huddo excused, he was very poor today. Going on past form why wouldn't you trust him against the Essendon 2. Hille and Ryder are alright but not sure about the best ruck duo.

27-03-2011, 09:56 PM

Thanks for this post MJP, helps me understand a bit more of what happened.

I was a bit surprised we didn't create more run from defense and if Djerkurra wasn't injured I would have preferred to sub a tall (Jones probably, not because he was playing poorly, just to try and give a potential advantage to try and exploit).

Hopefully we play a bit more intelligently from now on...

27-03-2011, 11:00 PM
Why is Huddo excused, he was very poor today. Going on past form why wouldn't you trust him against the Essendon 2. Hille and Ryder are alright but not sure about the best ruck duo.

Why? because he was doomed to fail from the first bounce with rockets bright idea of one ruckman and I would like you to tell me who has a better ruck duo than Essendon?

27-03-2011, 11:20 PM
Why? because he was doomed to fail from the first bounce with rockets bright idea of one ruckman and I would like you to tell me who has a better ruck duo than Essendon?

If he is doomed to fail at the first bounce then he will won't win any bounces. How is another ruck help his own failure? Not sure if can ruck 2 blokes at the same contest every time.
No idea who is the best ruck duo but I'm not judging it from 1 game in 2011. I rather have 1 very good ruck than 2 average ones(up until now).

I'd pick 2 rucks because Huddo isn't as good as many here think he is. Points for trying but the easily worst of the 3 rucks today. We want all our players to be accountable so why is the ruck excused?

27-03-2011, 11:46 PM
I walked away shaking my head at the sheer number of stupid decisions we made. Guys like Griffen (the worst offender IMO), Wood, Ward, and Cross just made dumb choices on multiple occasions and there is not much the coaching panel can do about that.

Griff is a worry.

27-03-2011, 11:46 PM
If he is doomed to fail at the first bounce then he will won't win any bounces. How is another ruck help his own failure? Not sure if can ruck 2 blokes at the same contest every time.
No idea who is the best ruck duo but I'm not judging it from 1 game in 2011. I rather have 1 very good ruck than 2 average ones(up until now).

I'd pick 2 rucks because Huddo isn't as good as many here think he is. Points for trying but the easily worst of the 3 rucks today. We want all our players to be accountable so why is the ruck excused?

The fact Rocket admitted it was a mistake to play 1 ruckman would go a fair way to saying the beard was doomed from the start.
Not sure about some of the stuff you have written, didn't quite make sense to me but no point saying who you would prefer because i would prefer Sandilands and we don't have Sandilands so you can only play who you've got.
Well if you have no idea who the best ruck duo is I'll give you the hot tip its Essendon.

27-03-2011, 11:48 PM
In all that though, you have to remember that early in the game we won the contested ball and consequently won the ball forward / kicked goals...after the 1st break, we were smashed for contested footy - so maybe the 'problem' was as simple
as simple as that!.

Heard Paul Roos say earlier in the week that stoppages become so important in the modern game as it's a rare opportunity to move the ball quickly should you win the clearance. David King on the boundary said in the first qtr that we were competing hard but once it spread we looked slow.

So as soon as we gave the contested footy side of it up, we were done...and quite embarrassingly so.

Will be interesting to see how some in our midfield react over the next 6-8 weeks. Looked like the game was passing one or two of them by...but it's early days

27-03-2011, 11:49 PM
Will be interesting to see how some in our midfield react over the next 6-8 weeks. Looked like the game was passing one or two of them by...but it's early days

Who are you referring to?

27-03-2011, 11:50 PM
I walked away shaking my head at the number of stupid decisions we made. Guys like Griffen (the worst offender IMO), Wood, Ward, and Cross just made dumb choices on multiple occasions and there is not much the coaching panel can do about that.

Griff is a worry.

Some of his decisions today made me think that his B&F victory has gone to his head. He seemed quite selfish today and agree his mindset is a worry.

27-03-2011, 11:58 PM
Who are you referring to?

Bit harsh of me to start making these calls on the back of a round one debacle - but having said that, Cross had minimal impact & Boyd wasn't much better...today that is. Then I think of guys like Moles who can run and penetrate by foot, which would've been handy today

Does Cooney look a little heavy? Doesn't look to have his zip. Higgins is classy but can put teammates under unnesecary pressure.

27-03-2011, 11:59 PM
Some of the points being made feel like de ja vu. Like the lack of a system going forward. Remind when we had one of those? Probably 3 season ago, where we went wide to our small half forwards who could kick straight from the angles. Since then its been bomb it and hope. No more so than last season. And looks like thats the plan this season.

Not sure how its works at the recruitment these days: do they recruit players to match the coach's game plan, or do they pick 'em because "he's a good footballer"and then try to fit a game plan to suit the players?

Looking at Collingwood, 2-3 season a go I considered their playing list as mostly a bunch of ordinary plodders, but Malthouse has them playing his game.

28-03-2011, 12:03 AM
Some of the points being made feel like de ja vu. Like the lack of a system going forward. Remind when we had one of those? Probably 3 season ago, where we went wide to our small half forwards who could kick straight from the angles. Since then its been bomb it and hope. No more so than last season. And looks like thats the plan this season.

Not sure how its works at the recruitment these days: do they recruit players to match the coach's game plan, or do they pick 'em because "he's a good footballer"and then try to fit a game plan to suit the players?

Looking at Collingwood, 2-3 season a go I considered their playing list as mostly a bunch of ordinary plodders, but Malthouse has them playing his game.

Are you serious?

What has Malthouse got to do with todays's game?

28-03-2011, 12:16 AM
Cross had minimal impact

I watched Liberatore give us plenty in the middle, winning clearances like a seasoned veteran and it made me wonder what Cross' ongoing role is in the team.

He needs to reinvent himself in a defined role, rather than a spare parts midfielder who has to start on the wing because his hands in close aren't good enough.

Love his courage though and potting him after round one is probably too harsh.

28-03-2011, 12:29 AM
Are you serious?

What has Malthouse got to do with todays's game?

IMO Malthouse has recruited a group of players at Collingwood that can play the game he wants to play. What has Eade's game plan been?

28-03-2011, 01:01 AM
He needs to reinvent himself in a defined role, rather than a spare parts midfielder who has to start on the wing because his hands in close aren't good enough.
Brady Rawlings was excellent again in the back pocket tonight, continuing where he left off in 2010. Possible future role for Crossy?

28-03-2011, 01:23 AM
Cross is too slow to carry at the moment, particularly given the rest of the side is generally one paced. However, most our mids can play a variety of positions. In Boyd's case, it's win the clearances. Cross isn't the best at either.

His time in the game is very limited IMO and has been for a while.

28-03-2011, 03:50 AM
Boyd should have called for a player count on both sides. We either were 5 players short or they had 5 extra on the field. I don't think I have ever seen a game where at nearly every contest in all parts of the ground essendon had 3 players to 1 and when they won the ball they then had 3 runners 20 meters clear. WTF was that about!!!!

28-03-2011, 09:52 AM
Wagging the game, it felt like we were flat on our feet, couldn't get the ball out of the middle and seemed very unfit. Also, I found the umpires gave little or no prior opportunity for the holding the ball rule!

28-03-2011, 10:13 AM
IMO Malthouse has recruited a group of players at Collingwood that can play the game he wants to play. What has Eade's game plan been?

Yeah we don't have a game plan.:rolleyes:

28-03-2011, 10:22 AM

I dont see anything different than what has failed for us the last few years. In which areas
have we innovated and caught a jump on our opposition tactically? Every team
that has won a flag in the last few years has done this and i just had a bad feeling
all summer we would come out with more of the same old same old.
We just cannot handle these massive presses / floods. GAMEPLAN FAIL. eades responsibility.

28-03-2011, 10:41 AM
Is it sime to swap Hall & Jones? Hall played most of his career as a CHF, and whilst Jones leads hard, ran to the right spots & hit the packs as hard as he could, he just can't clunk them at this stage.

Jones to play deeper and Hall to play up the field a little more would have helped us IMO - Grant also playing as a leading forward has crumbed from Hall at times too which adds another dimension to his game.

28-03-2011, 10:45 AM
I walked away shaking my head at the sheer number of stupid decisions we made. Guys like Griffen (the worst offender IMO), Wood, Ward, and Cross just made dumb choices on multiple occasions and there is not much the coaching panel can do about that.

Griff is a worry.

Griffen running into an open forward line and choosing neither a pass to Hall or have a shot at goal and instead go somewhere in between and hit the Essendon backman on the chest was a shining moment in non decision making.
we refused to try and link out of the back line and just kept belting it forward to a 2 or 3 on 1. I'm pretty sure that can't be the game plan.

28-03-2011, 10:51 AM
Griffen running into an open forward line and choosing neither a pass to Hall or have a shot at goal and instead go somewhere in between and hit the Essendon backman on the chest was a shining moment in non decision making.
we refused to try and link out of the back line and just kept belting it forward to a 2 or 3 on 1. I'm pretty sure that can't be the game plan.

That was awful....Barry had to re-position himself 3 times because Griffen just kept wasting time by running and bouncing when he could have launched the ball over the Essendon defenders to Hall early in the piece. If you're going to take 3 bounces you really have to shoot at goal - because by that time the forwards are out of it.

Running and bouncing is a bit of a pet hate for me at times. Its all well and good when you don't have an option - but if you do - get the ball on. Stack was guilty of it at one point....he had Boyd on the wing 50 metres away as he ran out of defence - but put his head down and bounced and when he got around to kicking it - the Essendon player came off the bench to mark his poor kick.

28-03-2011, 10:53 AM
I saw that. Too unsure what to do with the ball. Not just Griff. The whole team. THey seem to all what to take the easiest option, and even when they do, they seem unsure and stuff it up

28-03-2011, 10:58 AM
Baz is going beat people 8/10 times if he is one one one in a wrestle, you cant wrestle out at CHF, you have to run and lead, etc, Baz doesn't have the tank to play CHF, unless it is in short bursts, Jones is our CHF of the future, he just needs time put into him, match time.

I think our forward structure is as good as any we have all the ingredients, sadly however our midfield game was totally undone, so i dont think we can factor in this performance.

I would expect Wallis to debut this week.

28-03-2011, 11:54 AM
I am maybe brainwashing myself but in racing terms I think we ran like a stayer first up in a two year old sprint race.

After last year when we burst out of the blocks it ended up perhaps not providing the best grounding for a full AFL season.

This year we seem to have taken the opposite approach and maybe went in too underdone. I wager there was no ranting and raving before the game and that it was all very professional and controlled. Result? we play without any passion.

All guess work on my behalf but one needs their delusions at times.....:)

28-03-2011, 12:02 PM
I watched Liberatore give us plenty in the middle, winning clearances like a seasoned veteran and it made me wonder what Cross' ongoing role is in the team.

I hear what you are saying, Cross's lack of pace enables the opposition to run loose, same goes for Gia. With all due respect, you only had to look at the number of ball carriers at the bombers, something that cannot be associated with these 2. We rely heavily on Cooney and Griffen in this area, love Libba's ability to get the centre clearances though.

28-03-2011, 12:03 PM
Is it sime to swap Hall & Jones? Hall played most of his career as a CHF, and whilst Jones leads hard, ran to the right spots & hit the packs as hard as he could, he just can't clunk them at this stage.

Jones to play deeper and Hall to play up the field a little more would have helped us IMO - Grant also playing as a leading forward has crumbed from Hall at times too which adds another dimension to his game.

I'm more inclined to put Jones in the VFL. I think we're expecting way to much of him too early. I do think he's going to be a terrific player but I'm not sure he's quite there yet. I would rather another small in the forward line. We've been terrific with our small forwards before Hall and would like to see various smaller players rotated in and out of the square more often than not.

It seems like that part of our game has gone. :confused:

28-03-2011, 12:09 PM
One more thing which I bang on about a lot is our spacing especially round stoppages. A lot of our players get sucked into the contest while leaving their opponent free to take it away as they please. I'm all for winning the hard ball but they've got to be smarter about it.

When they don't get sucked in they seem to be too close to the pack or a team mate and get caught or dispose of the ball under a lot of pressure.

28-03-2011, 12:42 PM
What can I say? I am extremely disappointed with the result. That was the worst defeat I have seen in the three that we've had on my visits. The other two were against Collingwood. Essendon seemed to be everywhere. Our skills were poor and we just seemed to be kicking anywhere. Hopefully we willbounce back against the Lions.I'll try to get over to training this week.

Damn. And I had such a great seat by the players' race. I just stood in silence when they went into the rooms after the match. :(

28-03-2011, 01:13 PM
What can I say? I am extremely disappointed with the result. That was the worst defeat I have seen in the three that we've had on my visits. The other two were against Collingwood. Essendon seemed to be everywhere. Our skills were poor and we just seemed to be kicking anywhere. Hopefully we willbounce back against the Lions.I'll try to get over to training this week.

Damn. And I had such a great seat by the players' race. I just stood in silence when they went into the rooms after the match. :(

Should have given them a spray as they walked in at half time.

28-03-2011, 01:21 PM
Should have given them a spray as they walked in at half time.

There were plenty of others doing just that. I was the same as Chicago just stood in silence.

28-03-2011, 03:56 PM
Boyd should have called for a player count on both sides. We either were 5 players short or they had 5 extra on the field. I don't think I have ever seen a game where at nearly every contest in all parts of the ground essendon had 3 players to 1 and when they won the ball they then had 3 runners 20 meters clear. WTF was that about!!!!

It's called work rate.

I am maybe brainwashing myself but in racing terms I think we ran like a stayer first up in a two year old sprint race.

After last year when we burst out of the blocks it ended up perhaps not providing the best grounding for a full AFL season.

This year we seem to have taken the opposite approach and maybe went in too underdone. I wager there was no ranting and raving before the game and that it was all very professional and controlled. Result? we play without any passion.

All guess work on my behalf but one needs their delusions at times.....:)

I was wondering something similar: did the players simply lack faith in the match committee's One-Ruckman-And-Let's-Waste-The-Substitute Master Plan? They really didn't look 100% into it at any point in the game. “Wake up Dogs” being my most-repeated call…

There were plenty of others doing just that. I was the same as Chicago just stood in silence.

Good. ****ing hate supporters that boo and scream hostilities at our own players as they walk off. They should pull on a ****ing jumper if they think they can match it better…

28-03-2011, 04:10 PM

You're missing the point entirely.

If you watched Geelong play for the past 3 years under Thompson, you can see a style and gameplan and system unique to Geelong. There's no mistaking them for anyone else. This is (was) Thompson's Geelong. You watch Collingwood play and yes they have their own style and game plan. This is MAlthouse's Collingwood. Hell you go and watch St Kilda and they too have their own system or game plan- this is unmistakingly Ross Lyon's St Kilda. ( you might not like the way St Kilda play but thats irrelevant-they have they've played in Grand Finals, we haven't).

What exactly is Eade's philosophy on how we play-to me its been kick and hope that some individual brilliance will get us through on the day.

28-03-2011, 05:03 PM
One more thing which I bang on about a lot is our spacing especially round stoppages. A lot of our players get sucked into the contest while leaving their opponent free to take it away as they please. I'm all for winning the hard ball but they've got to be smarter about it.

When they don't get sucked in they seem to be too close to the pack or a team mate and get caught or dispose of the ball under a lot of pressure.

I was thinking this also. Im going to remark on it in the game plan thread.

28-03-2011, 05:12 PM

If you watched Geelong play for the past 3 years under Thompson, you can see a style and gameplan and system unique to Geelong. There's no mistaking them for anyone else. This is (was) Thompson's Geelong. You watch Collingwood play and yes they have their own style and game plan. This is MAlthouse's Collingwood. Hell you go and watch St Kilda and they too have their own system or game plan- this is unmistakingly Ross Lyon's St Kilda. ( you might not like the way St Kilda play but thats irrelevant-they have they've played in Grand Finals, we haven't).

What exactly is Eade's philosophy on how we play-to me its been kick and hope that some individual brilliance will get us through on the day.

THIS ^^^^

We are a team of individuals who can't or won't implement a system which is unique to us and will take us to the next level.

28-03-2011, 05:19 PM
After watching Geelong and Saint kilda play I feel quite pessimistic.
On paper, we are as good as any. But the team has a long way to go to reach the level of footy I saw on Friday night. I know alot of folks disagree on the quality of the game but there was a level of courage there from both sides missing from our team. One gets the feeling clubs are familiar with what we dish up.

Collingwood....13 individual goal kickers in a game...

28-03-2011, 05:47 PM

Well if you don't know our style then your not watching us properly. Unfortunately yesterday we didnot play to the game plan.

Do you really think that Eade goes out there every week with no game plan?

28-03-2011, 06:14 PM
I would call our game plan "The Swarm". Numbers at the ball overlapping handball (some very short) get a player in the clear to deliver to a lead. Player runs by for handball, switch if necessary,kick to another lead. This requires very elite foot and hand skills and good decision making. We used to slaughter teams with this and will still do to lesser teams. However when we come up against a very disciplined defensive unit with lots of structure we have difficulty breaking their line and we end up kicking to an outnumbered contest, with no great crumbers. Our back half when at strength is strong and can attack as well as anyone. (Murph, williams, Wood, Lake, Shaggy (last year Harbrow)maybe Sherman. The midfield needs to be winning the contested footy to get first possession to make the swarm work. Ball carriers also required. Griff, Cooney, Sherman. We have problems if the midfield is not quick, so if Cooney, Griffen, Sherman, Wood are injured or not on song we will struggle because Boyd, Cross, Ward, Higgins, Libba, Picken etc are not speedsters, but they are, by and large, first rate hard ball getters. I think structurally we need to stick with Jones. He needs to at least make sure the ball comes to ground, if we had a Stephen Milne it would suit our purpose. The Midfield need to a create a "press" to hold the ball in the F50 when it comes to ground. Not an easy thing to say, but I wonder if Hudson is the right type of ruckman in 2011.

28-03-2011, 08:38 PM
Have just finished watching a replay of the game (my first look at it) - Having read various reports I knew it would be tough to sit though and it certainly was.

* Our field kicking was disgusting. Griffen & Ward were the worst offenders.

* We had too many players get forward of the ball.

* We are dreadfully slow and cannot continue to play Boyd, Cross, Ward, Gia & Higgins in the same team.

* We had no idea how to move the ball out of defence and it was rebounded with ease. Harbrow is a huge loss in this area.

* I didn't actually think not playing a 2nd ruck hurt us, our problem was at ground level.

28-03-2011, 08:51 PM

* We are dreadfully slow and cannot continue to play Boyd, Cross, Ward, Gia & Higgins in the same team.

This is a common comment, who misses out and how many miss out from this group?

28-03-2011, 08:51 PM
Have just finished watching a replay of the game (my first look at it) - Having read various reports I knew it would be tough to sit though and it certainly was.

* We had no idea how to move the ball out of defence and it was rebounded with ease. Harbrow is a huge loss in this area.

* I didn't actually think not playing a 2nd ruck hurt us, our problem was at ground level.

I'm not going to watch it again. What were your positives?

28-03-2011, 08:59 PM
This is a common comment, who misses out and how many miss out from this group?

and all bar perhaps Ward would consider themselves automatic inclusions from week to week.

And importantly who would be up for inclusion in their stead?

28-03-2011, 08:59 PM
I'm not going to watch it again. What were your positives?

The game only last 2 hrs. :D

* Libba's 1st qtr.
* Josh Hill played pretty well.
* Picken battled away manfully.

It really was a horrible experience.... Lets hope we improve.

28-03-2011, 09:03 PM
and all bar perhaps Ward would consider themselves automatic inclusions from week to week.

I would have Ward in before Boyd and Cross.

28-03-2011, 09:07 PM
I wouls have Ward in before Boyd and Cross.

Yes, but I'm not sure the Match Committee would.
And to be honest based on his performance on the weekend, I wouldn't think he is any better at present than either.

28-03-2011, 09:14 PM

And that's were the problem lies, we are bereft of options in this area.

28-03-2011, 09:26 PM
And that's were the problem lies, we are bereft of options in this area.

Isn't that why we got Sherman & DJ though?

28-03-2011, 09:28 PM
Isn't that why we got Sherman & DJ though?

Sherman will certainly help when he is fully fit.

I don't think DJ was recruited as a ball carrier.

28-03-2011, 10:02 PM
I wouls have Ward in before Boyd and Cross.

Go to Bulldogs TV and watch the last quarter. At 16.20 McVeigh kicks a goal from an uncontested mark 25m out. Watch the replay and see Cal Ward in the foreground look at McVeigh and leave him there. Boyd is out of shot but makes an effort to get to McVeigh.

Ward realises too late and makes a half-hearted effort to get there.

28-03-2011, 10:30 PM

Agree with most but i also think our ruckmen are not fast or athletic enough.
Hudson and Minson im not sure suit footy 2011.
Maybe its time to get Roughead and Cordy into the mix.

28-03-2011, 11:01 PM

They would get chewed up and spat out within a month.

28-03-2011, 11:37 PM

Well, unfortunately we should not be carrying players in the team just because we love their courage.

Cross' deficiencies of too slow, cant kick and suspect hands in close tend to outweigh his assets. (Still remember Leigh Brown out sprinting him the finals series last year).

Tough decision for the MC ..... but they wont dare leave him out.

29-03-2011, 12:01 AM
Agree with most but i also think our ruckmen are not fast or athletic enough.
Hudson and Minson im not sure suit footy 2011.

I thought Minson had lost weight and increased his fitness, I didn't see much pre season, but some small clips I saw he look ok.

Has he been better than last year?

29-03-2011, 12:47 AM
I'm still angry after watching the crap our players served up. Watched the game in a pub full of Bombers fans. Awful. God knows how bad it was live in a stadium with those bastards.

All I know is that the 16 established teams played on the weekend.

4 games were damned close (including two bottom 4 sides from last year, one without a bench at the end), two more had competitive losers in Hawthorn and Richmond, and there were two great winners and two sides which were utterly spanked.

So 14 sides either won or were pretty competitive and got themselves up for Round 1.

We weren't one of them.

29-03-2011, 08:58 AM
The game only last 2 hrs. :D

* Libba's 1st qtr.
* Josh Hill played pretty well.
* Picken battled away manfully.

It really was a horrible experience.... Lets hope we improve.

As I was unable to even listen to the game, I have been wondering, were we really that bad and Essendon average, or were we really horrible, and Essendon really good? I still can't get a handle on it, but I'm thinking the latter? :o

29-03-2011, 09:04 AM

Not have a dig at you, but whose responsibility are the 2 Essendon rucks as they were very influential in the result?

29-03-2011, 10:03 AM
Not have a dig at you, but whose responsibility are the 2 Essendon rucks as they were very influential in the result?

We were not killed in the rucks, it was around the ground that Essendon rucks killed us.

Hitouts were Essendon 30/26, effective hiotouts 14/13 but Hille had 11 inside 50's and Ryder 5. Hille also had 8 clearances to Hudsons 5, which is normally his strength.

We need rucks that can work around the ground, not just in the centre square.

Whose resonsibility - well its the players responsibility to carry out the task they were given. Williams should not have been put into that situation, thats the coaching staff's responsibility.

29-03-2011, 10:16 AM
We were not killed in the rucks, it was around the ground that Essendon rucks killed us.

Hitouts were Essendon 30/26, effective hiotouts 14/13 but Hille had 11 inside 50's and Ryder 5. Hille also had 8 clearances to Hudsons 5, which is normally his strength.

We need rucks that can work around the ground, not just in the centre square.

Whose resonsibility - well its the players responsibility to carry out the task they were given. Williams should not have been put into that situation, thats the coaching staff's responsibility.

Fair enough. The only major problem is Huddo's clearances then. Can he get it back?

29-03-2011, 10:18 AM

Hudson got owned in the ruck and Williams got beat as a defender.

29-03-2011, 11:13 AM
I'm wondering if we loaded up on training. The first quarter we looked sharpish, but thereafter we had blokes ball watching. And you just can't ball watch in today's football. Were we tired (mentally or physically)? That might sound odd at the start of the season but we looked like we couldn't get sufficient numbers to do the hard things for each other.

Essendon's pace from stoppages has worried us before. In recent times they just didn't have sufficient defensive skills. Now they do. In fact, any side with leg speed can do us over if they have the work rate to go with it and employ the forward press. We've struggled with this before, mainly against Collingwood.

29-03-2011, 11:22 AM
I'm wondering if we loaded up on training. The first quarter we looked sharpish, but thereafter we had blokes ball watching. And you just can't ball watch in today's football. Were we tired (mentally or physically)? That might sound odd at the start of the season but we looked like we couldn't get sufficient numbers to do the hard things for each other.

Essendon's pace from stoppages has worried us before. In recent times they just didn't have sufficient defensive skills. Now they do. In fact, any side with leg speed can do us over if they have the work rate to go with it and employ the forward press. We've struggled with this before, mainly against Collingwood.

Please, not the load up on training excuse.

29-03-2011, 11:38 AM
I'm still angry after watching the crap our players served up.
Don't think anybody was the slightest bit happy with what was dished up after qtr time, but it is Round 1 and it is March (FFS it's still daylight saving down here, that's how far away finals are). After a month of season 2010 Brisbane were undefeated and Fev was tracking at Coleman Medal pace - she's a long, long season.

There are genuine causes for concern that require immediate addressing but until such issues become endemic, I'm happy to wait a few weeks before declaring panic stations.

29-03-2011, 11:45 AM

I made mention in another thread that we rely too heavily on Griff and Cooney to run and carry out of the middle.
Who else in there has enough confidence in their speed?
Cross - no
Gia - no
Ward - no
Boyd - no
Higgins - no
Libba - no

Cross, Gia and Boyd struggle to apply pressure to their opponents when they have the ball forward of the centre.
A number of times we were outnumbered when the Bombers were pressing forward.
It is then left to the defenders to take up the slack which is why they were able to get a number of relatively easy goals.

Libba long term and Ward will be an integral player due his ability to get the contested ball which will allow Griff and Cooney to be used more effectively.

The above mentioned guys will help get us enough wins to again play finals, I feel at least 2 of them will need to make way for players that can apply defensive pressure if we are to take the next step. Cross and Gia seem like the logical ones IMHO.

Would Eade make such a tough call on 2 well respected leaders at the club who give their all?
Malthouse did it for the betterment of the team and backed some youngsters, not too sure Rocket would be so daring.
If you keep making the some mistake, you will end up with the same result.

29-03-2011, 11:47 AM
There are genuine causes for concern that require immediate addressing but until such issues become endemic, I'm happy to wait a few weeks before declaring panic stations.

Yep.... We play Collingwood in rd 6 and then Hawthorn, Geelong, St.Kilda & Adelaide from rd's 10-13. By this time we should hopefully have a healthy list and will be in a much better position to judge how we are travelling.

It must be remembered that we had 8 or 9 different players in the team from our last game and with so many different players in the team there was always going to be teething problems.

What is a major concern however are our foot skills which need to improve. If we continue to kick the ball that poorly we aren't going to see much of an improvement against decent opposition.

29-03-2011, 01:36 PM
Don't think anybody was the slightest bit happy with what was dished up after qtr time, but it is Round 1 and it is March (FFS it's still daylight saving down here, that's how far away finals are). After a month of season 2010 Brisbane were undefeated and Fev was tracking at Coleman Medal pace - she's a long, long season.

Agreed. I'd forgotten about Brisbane last year, makes me feel a bit better.

29-03-2011, 02:32 PM
Would Eade make such a tough call on 2 well respected leaders at the club who give their all?
Malthouse did it for the betterment of the team and backed some youngsters, not too sure Rocket would be so daring.
If you keep making the some mistake, you will end up with the same result.

This one has been wheeled out 2 dozen times I reckon but lets not forget the blokes he moved on weren't just old, they were also gumbies.

29-03-2011, 02:37 PM
this one has been wheeled out 2 dozen times i reckon but lets not forget the blokes he moved on weren't just old, they were also gumbies.

Lol.

29-03-2011, 02:43 PM
This one has been wheeled out 2 dozen times I reckon but lets not forget the blokes he moved on weren't just old, they were also gumbies.

Do you think we have too many one paced midfielders? How are we going to take the next step in September (assuming we will get there)

29-03-2011, 05:31 PM
Has Cooney lost a yard?

29-03-2011, 05:48 PM
Has Cooney lost a yard?

I don't believe so. I think he was spent in the 2nd half on Sunday, considering he hasn't had much of a preseason. There is nothing like real game time to get back into it. He will imrpove vastly over the next few weeks.

29-03-2011, 06:49 PM
I don't believe so. I think he was spent in the 2nd half on Sunday, considering he hasn't had much of a preseason. There is nothing like real game time to get back into it. He will imrpove vastly over the next few weeks.

Hope so (and good points)

Fatigue would explain a touch of disinterest in the contest I noted on Sunday - happy to accept I might be seeing things.