30-08-2011, 11:15 PM
Mark Stevens From: Herald Sun (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/luke-darcy-pleads-with-callan-ward-to-stay-loyal/story-e6frf9jf-1226125936563)
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/CallanWard.jpg
(my pic from player sponsor night, Wards first year)
FORMER Western Bulldogs skipper Luke Darcy has delivered a last-ditch plea to Callan Ward, urging him to put one-club loyalty ahead of the riches of Greater Western Sydney.
With Ward's future to be decided as early as next week, Darcy said the long-term benefits of staying true to the Dogs would outweigh the instant rewards.
"It's against the odds, and I understand the choice he has to make, but you hold out hope," Darcy said.
"It is massive for the club. To see him stay would be enormous. Maybe I'm old school, but I still think there is so much to gain from being a one-club player."
Darcy, who wore Ward's No.14, is still adamant close friend Nathan Brown erred in leaving the Bulldogs for Richmond at the end of 2003.
"He had a really good home," Darcy said.
"I was really disappointed in him. He is a really good mate, but I felt he was making the choice for the wrong reasons ... and I still do. He could have played in a great era and had this one home."
Darcy also said Gary Ablett, Gold Coast's massive signing last year, would have been better off staying at Geelong.
He said the long-term benefits, financially and in life in general, would have outweighed Ablett's huge short-term financial benefit.
Ward's manager Paul Connors met Western Bulldog powerbrokers last week, but they left the talks no closer to knowing Ward's intentions.
The Dogs have admitted they are not confident. Some players are resigned to the fact Ward (pictured) cannot pass up an offer too good to refuse, and former coach Rodney Eade told The Footy Show the 21-year-old was more likely to go than stay.
Darcy said he felt an attachment to Ward because of the way he played.
"On the few times I've had a chat, he seems a ripper," Darcy said. "He's understated, hard, super-competitive. He's a real young leader.
"People have said to me this year, 'I'm not sure why they (GWS) are targeting him?' I know why they have - he's an absolute beauty."
Darcy said a decision by Ward to stay would have a similar impact to Chris Grant's call in 1996 to turn his back on a once-in-a-lifetime offer from Port Adelaide.
"This is a bit different, but if Granty had decided to leave at that stage, it would have deflated the whole joint," Darcy said.
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/CallanWard.jpg
(my pic from player sponsor night, Wards first year)
FORMER Western Bulldogs skipper Luke Darcy has delivered a last-ditch plea to Callan Ward, urging him to put one-club loyalty ahead of the riches of Greater Western Sydney.
With Ward's future to be decided as early as next week, Darcy said the long-term benefits of staying true to the Dogs would outweigh the instant rewards.
"It's against the odds, and I understand the choice he has to make, but you hold out hope," Darcy said.
"It is massive for the club. To see him stay would be enormous. Maybe I'm old school, but I still think there is so much to gain from being a one-club player."
Darcy, who wore Ward's No.14, is still adamant close friend Nathan Brown erred in leaving the Bulldogs for Richmond at the end of 2003.
"He had a really good home," Darcy said.
"I was really disappointed in him. He is a really good mate, but I felt he was making the choice for the wrong reasons ... and I still do. He could have played in a great era and had this one home."
Darcy also said Gary Ablett, Gold Coast's massive signing last year, would have been better off staying at Geelong.
He said the long-term benefits, financially and in life in general, would have outweighed Ablett's huge short-term financial benefit.
Ward's manager Paul Connors met Western Bulldog powerbrokers last week, but they left the talks no closer to knowing Ward's intentions.
The Dogs have admitted they are not confident. Some players are resigned to the fact Ward (pictured) cannot pass up an offer too good to refuse, and former coach Rodney Eade told The Footy Show the 21-year-old was more likely to go than stay.
Darcy said he felt an attachment to Ward because of the way he played.
"On the few times I've had a chat, he seems a ripper," Darcy said. "He's understated, hard, super-competitive. He's a real young leader.
"People have said to me this year, 'I'm not sure why they (GWS) are targeting him?' I know why they have - he's an absolute beauty."
Darcy said a decision by Ward to stay would have a similar impact to Chris Grant's call in 1996 to turn his back on a once-in-a-lifetime offer from Port Adelaide.
"This is a bit different, but if Granty had decided to leave at that stage, it would have deflated the whole joint," Darcy said.