Football Commentators
I usually enjoy watching the tv footy shows and listening to the radio commentators when the footy season is on but there are a few commentators who seems to always sink the boots into the Dogs and very rarely say anything positive.
Here are a couple I absolutely can't stand -
Garry Lyon - This bloke makes me absolutely sick, he never has anything good to say about the Dogs. He tends to enjoy having a sook when things aren't going his way - I hate people like that, always whinging and thinking that their words are far superior than others.
Sam Newman - At times annoys me but generally it is all an act with him although he tends to stick the boots in the Dogs at times also.
Others?
Re: Football Commentators
TV - I really like Dennis Cometti, tho this season, he seemed to labour at times. I think his performance was indicicatative of Channel 7, just lacked spark.
I reckon Clinton Grybas is as good as anyone going around.
Matty Campbell used to annoy me when he only did the Brisbane games, but he's much better now.
Dermott Brereton has the ability to say in 100 words what can be said in 10. Having said that, he has no equal as far as special comments go. Just seems to read the game trends an instant before everyone else.
Radio - This season I enjoyed SEN most times, tho I'm a tradionalist & like to know what's happening, so much prefer the ABC.
I cannot stand listening to Rex Hunt. I think he believes his own publicity. Grant Thomas always seems to put the boots into the Bulldogs when I listen to him.
I can't stand Kevin Bartlett and that bloke on Fox Footy who keeps calling young kids rookies when they've not been on the rookie list...Casey or something? I can't remember, but he's useless with names as well.
Jason Dunstall lays the boots into us as well
Favourites are Clinton Grybas, Brian Taylor (My Basketball Coach) and Gerard Healy
Cant stand Rex Hunt, Dennis Commetti, Bruce McAvaney (hate hearing CLEVER!!!!! every 3 minutes)
Anthony Hudson & Brian Taylor are my favourite commentators.
I can't stand Quartermain, I don't really like Lane.
Brayshaw's decent to listen to on radio and I don't mind Walls - though a lot can't stand him.
Bruce is OK though a little past it. Rex Hunt is a maniac, I can't stand him.
For mine, Hudson is the best commentator going around. He pulls out fantastic phrases in the moment; "Who would of thought the sequel would be just as good as the original?" and "They have the power to win!" .. But, my favourite "I see it, but I don't believe it!" when Sydney pipped Geelong with a few seconds to go.
Bruce Mcavaney is a suck. Dislike him on sight.
I like Denis Cometti.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
For mine, Hudson is the best commentator going around. He pulls out fantastic phrases in the moment; "Who would of thought the sequel would be just as good as the original?" and "They have the power to win!" .. But, my favourite "I see it, but I don't believe it!" when Sydney pipped Geelong with a few seconds to go.
Huddo is my favourite as well, he's fantastic. I preferred Dennis when he was at channel 9, then again I didn't mind Brereton and Lyon while I can't stand Watson and Schwarz.
I enjoy Anthony Hudson. Clinton Grybas and Dennis Cometti.
Special Comments - bias has me saying Luke Darcy with Dermott Brereton close behind.
Won't go out of my way to listen to Steve Quartermain - never has a good word to say about the dogs or Sam Newman - arrogant and another who never has a good word to say about us.
Except when we were on a membership drive and Sam big noted himself by going on and on about buying a Doggies membership.
Like -
Dennis Commetti - like the way he add's the little extra to his commentary.
Eddie McGuire - I seriously don't mind his commentary even when he commentated the Collingwood games on C 9. He adds a bit of excitement.
Clinton Grybas - Very clear and precise, enjoy listening to him.
Rex Hunt - He makes me laugh and always tune into 3AW.
Robert Walls - I don't mind him, straight to the point.
Dislike -
Jason Dunstall - Very bland and his commentary nearly puts me to sleep.
Malcom Blight - Seriously, what planet did he fall off from? Absolutely woeful and makes no sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Charmdog
but there are a few commentators who seems to always sink the boots into the Dogs and very rarely say anything positive.
Others?
Grant Thomas - I've never ever heard him say 1 positive thing about the Bulldogs.
I listen to the ABC on Friday nights, and SEN for the rest of the weekend.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Grant Thomas - I've never ever heard him say 1 positive thing about the Bulldogs.
I listen to the ABC on Friday nights, and SEN for the rest of the weekend.
Aren't we all just a little to precious.
From what I have heard of Thomas I quite like. He doesn't mix his words and isn't afraid to stand on people toes which is refreshing.
Just because he talks poorly of the Bulldogs doesn't give me a reason not to listen to him. From what I have heard of him he has questioned our on-field leadership and the mental toughness of some of our players. So I have and many others so I don't see a problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Aren't we all just a little to precious.
From what I have heard of Thomas I quite like. He doesn't mix his words and isn't afraid to stand on people toes which is refreshing.
Just because he talks poorly of the Bulldogs doesn't give me a reason not to listen to him. From what I have heard of him he has questioned our on-field leadership and the mental toughness of some of our players. So I have and many others so I don't see a problem.
The orginal post asked for commentators that sink the boots in to bulldogs and don't say anything positive about the Dogs.
Well Grant Thomas fits that description. Simple as that
Quote:
Originally Posted by
He does annoy me a little with some of his comments but I just tune off. Another one I have thought of is Andrew Maher he usually doesnt say many good words about the Bulldogs.
What about Dan Lonegan on the ABC?
I know he doesnt stick the boots in as such, but he is always negative about the Dogs.
Funny thing is, it's own team !!!
I think he doesnt want to be seen to be bias like Eddie, so he goes down the opposite path
which is never getting excited about his own teams good play.
Im not saying he should be bias, just that he seems to talk us down.
Grant Thomas does get stuck in, but I think he could see some of our glaring deficencies and commented on them. lets face it, we are all pretty well aware of the issues we have on the field.
SEN commentated on those terrible Friday night games against Geelong & West Coast where we were flogged, and due to the lack of commitment of some players he got stuck in, quite rightly as well. I think a majority of us were dissapointed with the attitiude of some of the players during some of the floggings at the end of the year.
Just on SEN - it's good to hear that we finally have a bulldog voice on air.
Kevin Hillier is now hosting the Sunday afternoon segment.
Tim Lane knows his stuff...BT's mildly entertaining...and Commetti has his moments, but Gerard Waitley on ABC Grandstand deserves much more kudos than he receives.
Professional, articulate, extremely well informed, with a penchant for the dramatic when it's required. Shites all over the boofheaded cliche machines who can't construct a sentence but nonetheless dominate TV and radio.
Brayshaw, Lyon, Maher, Brereton, Schwarz, Blight, the list is endless...you watch/listen to games in spite of those tedious, self-serving dolts.
While I'm at it, Christie Malthouse and Sam Lane do good work too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
He actually worked shifts on both Saturday and Sunday and he was pretty good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Tim Lane knows his stuff...BT's mildly entertaining...and Commetti has his moments, but Gerard Waitley on ABC Grandstand deserves much more kudos than he receives.
Professional, articulate, extremely well informed, with a penchant for the dramatic when it's required. Shites all over the boofheaded cliche machines who can't construct a sentence but nonetheless dominate TV and radio.
Brayshaw, Lyon, Maher, Brereton, Schwarz, Blight, the list is endless...you watch/listen to games in spite of those tedious, self-serving dolts.
While I'm at it, Christie Malthouse and Sam Lane do good work too.
Queue for the Gerard Whately fanclub starts behind me. He's the best going around at the moment by a fair way.
Love Cometti but his year wasn't his finest. Seemed to be trying too hard and was sometimes inaccurate, which I don't remember him being before. Don't mind BT either but the MMM boys club thing can get a bit much real quick. Got a soft spot for Anthony Hudson too, he's the best on 10.
Can't stand Michael Christian or David Schwarz. Ricky Olarenshaw had a bad first year too, looking like the world's most out of place boundary rider.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
He actually worked shifts on both Saturday and Sunday and he was pretty good.
Yes, he worked both Saturday and Sunday this week, but I think going forward, he is only working Sunday.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Great bloke, very down to earth and entertaining. Absolutely kills it at the Selectors Table functions.
I can't stand Liam Pickering and his snickering:p
The SEN boys can lay the boots in on occasions , the OX and Francis.
and I agree on Grant Thomas, he is so against other teams except the Saints so shouldn't even be asked to comment.
I don't actually mind Gary Lyon that much and love Denis Cometti although he wasn't as sharp this year.
Yes, I am biased. I enjoy listening to Gerard Whately. He's very professional in his calls and has just the right amount of enthusiasm to even make the dullest match sound interesting. Besides that, he's a really nice guy.
Hey Chicago1, Will you still be doing your little stints on the radio next season?
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Hey Chicago1, Will you still be doing your little stints on the radio next season?
Probably not. I'm the only one who appeared on every show the past two years and got absolutely no compensation, NONE. I didn't even get a thank you e-mail.
I guess I can tell the story now. I'm friends with an Aussie in Texas who does segments on various radio shows in Australia about living in the states. She used to do a weekly segment on Ernie's program. She now freelances and in fact is sponsored every week on a Perth radio program. I asked her in the beginning of the year if I was unreasonable to ask for some compensation. I usually spend a few hours every week on reading footy stuff online and I print off about 15 sheets of stuff for the show each week, besides writing notes for my comments. Being away from all of the action I need to keep in touch that way if my tips would have any believability.
The friend in Texas told me she gets $100 for every segment she does on air. Wow, I had no idea. She said she thought I should be given some compensation for my segment. Coupled with the fact that I stay up every Friday morning until after 3am(sometimes it was very inconvenient), I thought maybe Lindy could swing something for me. I was hoping the ABC would pay for a trip or at least part of my fare to Melbourne for the Finals. Nope. The ABC didn't have any money for that. She mentioned that maybe the AFL might be able to sponsor a trip and she'd look into it, but she never got back to me. As much as doing the show was mostly fun, I really feel like I was taken advantage of. Even getting $20 for each segment would have been appreciated. $20 X 27 shows would have paid for half my trip from LAX. I even had a free rewards trip I was ready to use from Chicago to LAX. Last year at the end of the season I sent the other members of the team Chicago Cubs baseball caps which cost me about $100 overall to buy and send. I never even received a thank you for that.
I guess some may think I'm ungrateful for getting the chance to do something like that for two years and expect something more in return. However, it really became a grind this past year. At least some of my Aussie mates from a website here in the states used to listen in once in a while and I had some of my former students e-mail me which was really great.
The best part about doing the show this year was tipping Richmond to lose EVERY BLOODY WEEK! Maybe that's a reasonable compensation! :p
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I'm a tradionalist & like to know what's happening, so much prefer the ABC.
The only one I really listen to.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I guess some may think I'm ungrateful for getting the chance to do something like that for two years and expect something more in return. However, it really became a grind this past year. At least some of my Aussie mates from a website here in the states used to listen in once in a while and I had some of my former students e-mail me which was really great.
Not at all, they should have given you something - especially after you put so much time into it. They could have at least showed some appreciation for the work you did. How dare they treat this esteemed teacher who once taught at my old High School so many moons ago.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Probably not. I'm the only one who appeared on every show the past two years and got absolutely no compensation, NONE. I didn't even get a thank you e-mail.
I guess I can tell the story now. I'm friends with an Aussie in Texas who does segments on various radio shows in Australia about living in the states. She used to do a weekly segment on Ernie's program. She now freelances and in fact is sponsored every week on a Perth radio program. I asked her in the beginning of the year if I was unreasonable to ask for some compensation. I usually spend a few hours every week on reading footy stuff online and I print off about 15 sheets of stuff for the show each week, besides writing notes for my comments. Being away from all of the action I need to keep in touch that way if my tips would have any believability.
The friend in Texas told me she gets $100 for every segment she does on air. Wow, I had no idea. She said she thought I should be given some compensation for my segment. Coupled with the fact that I stay up every Friday morning until after 3am(sometimes it was very inconvenient), I thought maybe Lindy could swing something for me. I was hoping the ABC would pay for a trip or at least part of my fare to Melbourne for the Finals. Nope. The ABC didn't have any money for that. She mentioned that maybe the AFL might be able to sponsor a trip and she'd look into it, but she never got back to me. As much as doing the show was mostly fun, I really feel like I was taken advantage of. Even getting $20 for each segment would have been appreciated. $20 X 27 shows would have paid for half my trip from LAX. I even had a free rewards trip I was ready to use from Chicago to LAX. Last year at the end of the season I sent the other members of the team Chicago Cubs baseball caps which cost me about $100 overall to buy and send. I never even received a thank you for that.
The best part about doing the show this year was tipping Richmond to lose EVERY BLOODY WEEK! Maybe that's a reasonable compensation! :p
Mind if I ask which show you were doing this work for Chicargo?
Quote:
Originally Posted by
dogs_r_barking
Mind if I ask which show you were doing this work for Chicargo?
774ABC Melbourne's Lindy Burns' Drive show. The footy segment was on at about 5.45pm every Friday afternoon with Lindy, Gerard Whately, Alan Attwood and myself.
Heard Bruce MaCaveny say he is almost 60 years old, boy didn't realise that. I know plenty of people don't like him, but I don't mind his voice, although he does say some ridiculous things sometimes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Heard Bruce MaCaveny say he is almost 60 years old, boy didn't realise that. I know plenty of people don't like him, but I don't mind his voice, although he does say some ridiculous things sometimes.
I'm so sick of him it's not funny.
Apart from the fact he doesn't give the viewer sufficient credit to understand what's happening without the benefit of his hyper-definitions, he sexualises indigenous footballers and says perverted things such as "you'd love to be tackled by Chris Judd wouldn't you" after said player's committed an act of sheer bastardry.
His mania really freaks me out, to be honest.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I'm so sick of him it's not funny. He sexualises indigenous footballers, says perverted things such as "you'd love to be tackled by Chris Judd wouldn't you" after said player's committed an act of sheer bastardry, and doesn't give the viewer sufficient credit to understand what's happening without the benefit of his hyper-definitions.
I think he should be forced to wear pants when he's commentating.
That's funny:D
Personally I prefer listening to the ABC commentary, I don't like any of the TV commentators per se
Quote:
Originally Posted by
That's funny:D
Personally I prefer listening to the ABC commentary, I don't like any of the TV commentators per se
Mate, I edited as I thought it a touch inappropriate!
Agree the ABC is where it's at. The commercial radio networks sound like you're listening to a continuous advertising jingle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I'm so sick of him it's not funny.
Apart from the fact he doesn't give the viewer sufficient credit to understand what's happening without the benefit of his hyper-definitions, he sexualises indigenous footballers and says perverted things such as "you'd love to be tackled by Chris Judd wouldn't you" after said player's committed an act of sheer bastardry.
His mania really freaks me out, to be honest.
Describes how I feel about him perfectly. I actually feel physically ill listening to his commentary. I'd prefer to listen to Dwayne Russell and he's a complete *!*!*!*!wit!
Bruce Macaveiny makes me absolutely nauseous.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I'd prefer to listen to Dwayne Russell and he's a complete *!*!*!*!wit!
He really spoils Fox Footy.
Wow, way to reanimate a thread that's been dead for over 5 years.
Btw I still love Gerard Whateley. If he didn't love horse racing so much, he'd be perfect...
Quote:
Originally Posted by
He really spoils Fox Footy.
He does. Fox has some of the worst on air talent imaginable- Russell, Glen "da I'm from Perf" Jackovic, Paul "can I just interrupt to talk about Sydney" Roos, Mark "can I make everything about me" Robinson, Alistair Lynch, Tony Shaw... The list goes on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by
He does. Fox has some of the worst on air talent imaginable- Russell, Glen "da I'm from Perf" Jackovic, Paul "can I just interrupt to talk about Sydney" Roos, Mark "can I make everything about me" Robinson, Alistair Lynch, Tony Shaw... The list goes on.
I love how you use the word talent.
Anthony Hudson a shining light though, always professional and concise