Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  11

Clearly It's Been Troublesome: Bulldogs CEO Expresses Concern Amid Fixture Woes

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2024/06/...mid-fixturing/

?CLEARLY IT?S BEEN TROUBLESOME?: BULLDOGS CEO EXPRESSES CONCERN AMID FIXTURE WOES
    BY JAIDEN SCIBERRAS

The Western Bulldogs fell drastically in their Round 13 clash with Brisbane, underperforming in their 43-point loss at Marvel Stadium on Friday night.

While the Dogs were outplayed throughout the game, questions regarding the fixture within the 2024 season have surfaced once again, potentially playing a part in the Bulldogs? poor performance.

The Lions entered the clash off the back of their second bye of the season (Round 2 and Round 12), whilst the Bulldogs are yet to have a bye, not rostered for the break until Round 15.

Western Bulldogs CEO Ameet Bains has expressed his concerns surrounding the fixtures, questioning the fairness and equity for teams around the league.

?We know how hard a job the AFL fixturing process is?, Bains told SEN?s Whateley.

?But clearly, we would have preferred not to be in the situation that we have had.

?Different teams have different concerns about the equity of fixtures, so we know that this, in isolation, is not the only issue when it comes to fairness.

?Clearly, it?s been troublesome, Friday night highlighted that to some degree, albeit the Lions completely outplayed us from the first bounce.?

The issues surrounding the fixtures have come as a result of Opening Round, seeing several clubs endure multiple byes while others are yet to have the break.

Brisbane, Sydney and GWS have all had two bye rounds through 13 rounds, while West Coast, Adelaide, the Bulldogs, Hawthorn and St Kilda have featured in all 13 weeks following Opening Round.

?It wasn?t the reason we lost, but I think it is something that needs to be looked at,? he said.

?Not only on our behalf, but a few other clubs who have found themselves in the same position.?

The Bulldogs are set to take on Fremantle this Saturday in their final game before their only rostered bye.

2. Thanks HOSE B ROMERO thanked for this post

Re: Clearly It's Been Troublesome: Bulldogs CEO Expresses Concern Amid Fixture Woes

Shorten pre-season, 17 games at home, 17 away then finals.

Three scheduled byes for the longer season. All byes on the same weekend.

Fixture integrity.

Masses more TV content. Thus bigger pay packets and more fun games rather that pre-season for the lads.

4. Likes SonofScray liked this post

Re: Clearly It's Been Troublesome: Bulldogs CEO Expresses Concern Amid Fixture Woes

Quote Originally Posted by Uninformed View Post

Fixture integrity.

Masses more TV content. Thus bigger pay packets and more fun games rather that pre-season for the lads.
    When Tassie join. 18 home, 18 away?

36 weeks in games
    3 weeks in byes
    4 weeks in finals

43 of 52 weeks per season?

6. Likes Uninformed liked this post

36 weeks in games
    3 weeks in byes
    4 weeks in finals

Oooh boy add in two weeks of trade time, a few more for the draft and you barely have to fill any time with content about who is flying over the month long pre-season

That's content

8. Likes bulldogtragic, Uninformed liked this post

Oooh boy add in two weeks of trade time, a few more for the draft and you barely have to fill any time with content about who is flying over the month long pre-season

That's content
    So no time to bring back AFEL-X?

Oh no!

10. Likes Bulldog Revolution, Uninformed liked this post

The league is cooked. Beyond repairable.

It's time for a separation.

that is a long season. I wonder if we will end up resting players ... or ... even worse... the demands of the game will make their careers shorters?

I still reckon they should extend the interchange to 6 players and increase the number of interchanges. It is ridicolous that the game has gotten faster and stupid new rules i place, which make players less natural to the way they should be playing footy.

What is the point of watching Tassie teams fail for another 5 years , so they need to build to become competitive?

Quote Originally Posted by Uninformed View Post

Fixture integrity.

Why not everyone just plays everyone once and have 17 games. Better content and no issues with integrity.

Could you imagine the standard of games come round 30 when sides can't make it. Not sure that is good content for TV. The NFL do it well.

14. Likes macca, Testekill liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Bullies View Post
    Why not everyone just plays everyone once and have 17 games. Better content and no issues with integrity.

Could you imagine the standard of games come round 30 when sides can't make it. Not sure that is good content for TV. The NFL do it well.
    Two words - TV Money
    Less games, less TV money. AFL aren't going to forsake cash for integrity.

16. Likes EasternWest, Uninformed liked this post

Because
    -Anzac day x2 (well they will play each other twice im sure)
    -Q clash x2
    -Derby x2
    -Showdown x2
    -Anzac day eve (i mean ?)
    -Dreamtime
    -King's bday
    -Good friday
    - Carl v Coll x2
    - Ess v Carl x2

etc etc etc

The draw is about maximising profit/revenue not about fairness and equity. No one is ever going to be happy with it except big MCG tenants.

36 weeks in games
    3 weeks in byes
    4 weeks in finals

Don't ya just love it?

Home ground advantage?

Maybe relegate some of the interstate teams and have 11 home and 11 away for fixture integrity if you would prefer to be entertained by preseason and drafts instead of actual games.

Because
    -Q clash x2
    -Derby x2
    -Showdown x2
    -Dreamtime
    -King's bday
    -Good friday
    - Carl v Coll x2
    - Ess v Carl x2

etc etc etc

The draw is about maximising profit/revenue not about fairness and equity. No one is ever going to be happy with it except big MCG tenants.
    R.I P. fixture integrity.

Because
    -Q clash x2
    -Derby x2
    -Showdown x2
    -Dreamtime
    -King's bday
    -Good friday
    - Carl v Coll x2
    - Ess v Carl x2

etc etc etc

In the end, the more they play these the bigger and bigger those clubs become, leaving the other clubs not able to match them (off field)

I am so against the so called block busters, it is a joke.

22. Likes Uninformed liked this post