Re: Port Adelaide - The Great Pretenders
Originally Posted by
Ken Hinkley is a quality human and a great role model for the greater football public. This doesn’t need to be said. And now he’s proven what a quality winner he is as well.
Or …
Hawthorn are sooks
Discuss
I agree Ken seems like a nice bloke and will back his players to the hilt.
Hawk players trying to make it all fun out there but you can enjoy it without being flogs - it is a professional sport so act like professionals.
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 2 Likes
Hawks sooking like they've been remarkable role models all season. If you mouth off that's fine, just don't come crying when you get it back.
As per my previous post in this thread they're capitalising on a pretty awesome home ground advantage and what turned out to be a relatively soft fixture based on where the cards fell.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/1203020/...alt-brutal-run
Rocking up to a qualifying final asleep and getting done by 84 points by a team with a similar home ground is by and by, they beat the Cats at Geelong earlier this year. They closed down the Hawks really well tonight on their skinny home deck, we got exposed by the Hawks on the wide MCG.
So credit to them for fighting it out and getting into a prelim. Prelim weekends can bring out the crazy, if Sydney aren't on their game next week it could easily go to shit for them.
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes
Originally Posted by
Ken Hinkley is a quality human and a great role model for the greater football public. This doesn?t need to be said. And now he?s proven what a quality winner he is as well.
Or ?
Hawthorn are sooks
Discuss
I loved it from Ken.
He's been cooked in the media all week, everyone's loved the lippy Hawks and his side's been written off. It's not a good look while Breust is being chaired off (though Sicily can take some blame there), but Ginnivan seemed fine with it.
Live by the banter, die by the banter. It's ridiculous for Mitchell to get worked up about it despite pushing the 'showtime Hawks' stuff all well.
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes
Originally Posted by
I loved it from Ken.
He's been cooked in the media all week, everyone's loved the lippy Hawks and his side's been written off. It's not a good look while Breust is being chaired off (though Sicily can take some blame there), but Ginnivan seemed fine with it.
Live by the banter, die by the banter. It's ridiculous for Mitchell to get worked up about it despite pushing the 'showtime Hawks' stuff all well.
Ken was over the top but Sicily did not set the Captain example by going on with it to the extent that he had to be restrained by the players he should be leading.
The fact that Sam Mitchell made a point of defending Sicily at the Press conference is enough of a comment on Hawthorn arrogance and entitlement.
Oh wow look it’s Port Adelaide getting super weird about something that has nothing to do with actually winning or losing games, that’s so unlike them.
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes
Originally Posted by
I loved it from Ken.
I didn't love it but Hawthorn have opened the door...they keep going on about being allowed to 'be themselves' - but when the boot's on the other foot they don't like it?
Ken was being a twit but Hawthorn 100% started it. To be fair to Ginnivan, he actually seemed fine with the back and forth...
Originally Posted by
I didn't love it but Hawthorn have opened the door...they keep going on about being allowed to 'be themselves' - but when the boot's on the other foot they don't like it?
Ken was being a twit but Hawthorn 100% started it. To be fair to Ginnivan, he actually seemed fine with the back and forth...
I think Ginnivan actually 'gets it', which is fun. Sometimes the lippy small forward kicks a goal from the pocket, sometimes he gets put on his arse - it's all pantomime and none of it's particularly serious.
I think the Hawks were good for footy this year and hopefully double down on it again. They'll be the heel next year if they're winning games, giving cheek and everyone realises their 2024 favourite team was actually the arrogant ever-winning behemoth that is Hawthorn, and not the upstart underdog.
Just on a bit of a tangent, did any chance we could get Butters just go out the window?
General consensus is that his status is tied to Ken and a straight set exit would maybe seen him meet his end.
Do we need to hope Port get another 84 point belting in the Prelim?
Originally Posted by
Oh wow look it’s Port Adelaide getting super weird about something that has nothing to do with actually winning or losing games, that’s so unlike them.
I was waiting for you to get involved in this.
Still use the drunk maggot at the pub looking to fight anyone who doesn't want it analogy regularly in daily life.
Originally Posted by
Ken was over the top but Sicily did not set the Captain example by going on with it to the extent that he had to be restrained by the players he should be leading.
The fact that Sam Mitchell made a point of defending Sicily at the Press conference is enough of a comment on Hawthorn arrogance and entitlement.
Sam Mitchell has a short memory doesn’t he? He was quick to have a go at the Essendon players shooting up. What do they say about people in glass houses??
Originally Posted by
Sam Mitchell has a short memory doesn’t he? He was quick to have a go at the Essendon players shooting up. What do they say about people in glass houses??
That was player to player during a match. You can see this is different can’t you?
Originally Posted by
That was player to player during a match. You can see this is different can’t you?
Not when he’s a senior player having a go at 19 year old. I can stand Hinkley … thus the thread. But what he said was very mild. “You’re not flying” … please. Didn’t accuse him of drug cheating; just called Ginnivan on his shit. Nothing to see here
Originally Posted by
Not when he’s a senior player having a go at 19 year old. I can stand Hinkley … thus the thread. But what he said was very mild. “You’re not flying” … please. Didn’t accuse him of drug cheating; just called Ginnivan on his shit. Nothing to see here
Huh? What senior player?
Originally Posted by
Huh? What senior player?
Scraggers was talking about Mitchell and the go he had at Essendon players during the drug saga - the pretend injection action