• Scraggers
    Premiership Moderator

Re: Booing Adam Goodes.

I have dedicated the majority of my career to Aboriginal education. In doing so, have met some wonderful people, most of whom I still call friend today. I get my back up very quickly when people are racist or make naive remarks; and I always go 'in to bat' for our Indigenous people and culture.

I have absolutely no problem with Goodes calling out the girl, but agree that a 13 yr old girl should not have been sent out by herself. The stadium owes a duty of care to that minor. The whole family should have been removed or at least one responsible adult.

I do have a problem with Goodes' dance after celebrating the goal. If you want to do a 'tribal' dance or 'war cry' as I heard it called, direct it at the opposition, not at the supporters. You are inciting violence. The Haka is directed at the opposing team and it is before the game ... totally acceptable. Goodes' dance during the game, unacceptable. I would love to see something like that before the game directed at the opposing players.

In regard to the booing, it's part of the theatre of AFL. If it is racially motivated then I am opposed, but there is no evidence either way that it is or is not racially motivated. It annoys the shit out of me when the 'race' card is called to explained the unknown.

I admire Goodes for two reasons, he is a proud Aboriginal man, and was a greatly skilled footballer (he is now past his prime), but he is also a tool and I take great pleasure yelling at my television when he gets the ball. And whilst at the Sydney game, I took great pleasure yelling at him ... did I boo? Possibly

Originally posted by Scraggers
      I have dedicated the majority of my career to Aboriginal education. In doing so, have met some wonderful people, most of whom I still call friend today. I get my back up very quickly when people are racist or make naive remarks; and I always go 'in to bat' for our Indigenous people and culture.

I have absolutely no problem with Goodes calling out the girl, but agree that a 13 yr old girl should not have been sent out by herself. The stadium owes a duty of care to that minor. The whole family should have been removed or at least one responsible adult.

I do have a problem with Goodes' dance after celebrating the goal. If you want to do a 'tribal' dance or 'war cry' as I heard it called, direct it at the opposition, not at the supporters. You are inciting violence. The Haka is directed at the opposing team and it is before the game ... totally acceptable. Goodes' dance during the game, unacceptable. I would love to see something like that before the game directed at the opposing players.

In regard to the booing, it's part of the theatre of AFL. If it is racially motivated then I am opposed, but there is no evidence either way that it is or is not racially motivated. It annoys the shit out of me when the 'race' card is called to explained the unknown.

I admire Goodes for two reasons, he is a proud Aboriginal man, and was a greatly skilled footballer (he is now past his prime), but he is also a tool and I take great pleasure yelling at my television when he gets the ball. And whilst at the Sydney game, I took great pleasure yelling at him ... did I boo? Possibly
      Good post.

I'm interested to know why you think he's a tool? Is this just your opinion or something else?

p.s. great avatar btw.

• Scraggers
        Premiership Moderator

Originally posted by 1eyedog
        Good post.

I'm interested to know why you think he's a tool? Is this just your opinion or something else?

p.s. great avatar btw.
        To me he just goes over the top in all his antics. Whether faking to get a free kick or sooking when the play doesn't go his way. He is the first to berate his team mates when they don't kick it to him. He's the Harvey of North Melbourne or the Reiwoldt of St.Kilda ... it's just my opinion, I've never met the man, but he is a player I love to hate and therefore a tool !!

Fair enough. I don't feel that way about Goodes, not sure why, same with Richo, who also did many of the things you've listed above.

After Milne, I've shifted my focus to Eddie Betts, who annoys me both as a player and how he, at least in my opinion, has a fair few tickets on himself and I'm also warming to the idea of getting stuck into Billings, who looks like a bit of a smart arse and because he touched us up recently...

Administrator

Good analogy. That's what it is I don't like about him.

• Topdog

Said much better than I did. Spot on, before the game, towards the opposition I wouldn't have a problem at all.

Great stuff from Lewis Jetta sticking up for a mate against a bunch of morons.

So sad seeing a champion of the game getting treated like this.

• whythelongface

Originally posted by chef
                  Great stuff from Lewis Jetta sticking up for a mate against a bunch of morons.

So sad seeing a champion of the game getting treated like this.
                  Agree. I don't understand the treatment that Goodesy receives from other supporters. There has to be more to it than just disliking the guy. There are definitely racist undertones towards him to constantly cop this barrage of abuse. It is a sad indictment both on our sport and the public in general.

Good on Jetta for sticking up for a mate.

• SonofScray
                    • Apr 2008

Great post, agree wholly.

Unfortunately, the expression these guys have used to show their frustration has blurred the issue. If you incite the crowd, you can expect to be booed. I don't boo him anymore because I would hate for anyone to think I associate with the mindless bogans who do, driven by their racist beliefs. But if someone did that dance, or a throw slitting gesture at me, or stuck a finger up etc I would quite rightly boo and call them a #$%%

• whythelongface

Originally posted by SonofScray
                      Great post, agree wholly.

Unfortunately, the expression these guys have used to show their frustration has blurred the issue. If you incite the crowd, you can expect to be booed. I don't boo him anymore because I would hate for anyone to think I associate with the mindless bogans who do, driven by their racist beliefs. But if someone did that dance, or a throw slitting gesture at me, or stuck a finger up etc I would quite rightly boo and call them a #$%%
                      So when did Goodes incite the crowd on the weekend?

It's getting pretty embarrassing . If it's on field issues why isn't Gibson, Mitchell , Hodge and others booed?
                        It's an aboriginal man posing difficult questions to the Australian public, in which they feel uncomfortable about.

• Bulldog Joe
                          Premiership Moderator
                          • Jul 2009

I actually think it is herd mentality and just booing because it is the thing that everyone else is doing.
                          Feel that a lot of those involved in the booing really have no idea why they do it.

• merantau
                            • May 2015

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                            It's getting pretty embarrassing . If it's on field issues why isn't Gibson, Mitchell , Hodge and others booed?
                            It's an aboriginal man posing difficult questions to the Australian public, in which they feel uncomfortable about.
                            I think you've summed up the situation very well. Thankfully we've moved 1) beyond the situation where indigenous players copped it every week from the opposition. And 2) the time when Polly Farmer played for years with scarcely a mention of his Aboriginal origins in the media.
                            But the booing of Goodes is ugly and let's not kid ourselves: it occurs precisely because he is a proud Aboriginal man who has taken a stand. Good on Jetta for supporting him - that's what mates are for.
                            When Goodes does something dirty I will boo him. But I won't boo him for taking a mark or giving off a hand pass.
                            [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

• SonofScray
                              • Apr 2008

Originally posted by whythelongface
                              So when did Goodes incite the crowd on the weekend?
                              No idea, didn't watch the game. I am assuming that Jetta was booed in response to his gesture. The booing of Goodes immediately post his dance a few rounds back would have intensified as it was a combination of the clearly racist boo brigade and the more spontaneous reaction from people caught up in the moment.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
                                I actually think it is herd mentality and just booing because it is the thing that everyone else is doing.
                                Feel that a lot of those involved in the booing really have no idea why they do it.
                                Tend to agree, I get that some of the things he has said and done doesn't sit well with some people but booing is a weak and petty form of a response for what is most likely just a difference of opinion.

I didn't like his war dance because it should have never been directed towards the fans but he was getting booed well before that.