• Dogs 24/7

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan

I've asked for permission to post this discussion I was given the go ahead.

We all love our Training report updates from the dedicated team here but invariably the conversations get on to when will Marra be training.
    All footy discussion forums are struggling with dealing with it, X, FB and Bulldogs focused Whats App Groups are full of speculation and along the way there are some crass and emotional comments being made.
    On Woof, we've kept it under control and we've been patient but it's time to discuss things.

I know it's a touchy subject for many and apologies if it is confronting but it's likely to become more prevalent with younger players in the future and my aim is discuss this in a respectful way.
    Please don't be too picky with my comments in the summary because I will try to keep it in general terms.

We've all heard the rumors about Marra who is a very important player for us and lets be honest it could have a massive effect on our 2025 chances.
    I'll list some of the stronger rumors that have been circulating.

- That Marra went to Bali in the break between the end of the 2024 H&A and the Elimination Final without informing the club and then missed the Monday training session before the EF game against the Hawks.
    He was still selected for the final but put in a shocker and the MC made the decision to start him on the bench.
    This appears to be a largely accurate rumor and we can even confirm on this site that he missed the Monday session in terms of being on the training track.

- That Marra hasn't been able to settle his accommodation lodgings for a fair portion of 2024 and even now.
    A merry-go-round of your accommodation can't be good for an elite athlete. He has also bounced around team mates and friends houses.
    This appears to be a largely accurate rumor.

- That Marra has been spending time with less than savory elements within the boxing community.
    The evidence with his social contributions confirms his passion for Boxing.
    This appears to be an accurate rumor except it would be hard to confirm that his friends are unsavory or not.

- That Marra hasn't been training and that he might have recently been asked to train away from the club
    It's clear he hasn't been training much at the club if at all.
    It would be harder to confirm 100% though but if I'm reading some information from a club member in the know it's all coming to a head soon and he will have an enforced break in the early part of the season.
    While this is somewhat speculative, my source is adamant.

- That Marra has a alcohol and substance problems. (Sorry but it needs to be mentioned)
    This appears to be a speculative rumor because there isn't any evidence although plenty have questioned his behavior at the Brownlow.

There are some other rumors that haven't been included.

The word I'm hearing is the club will address at least answer some of the questions soon.

So what should we make of all this and how does it effect the 2025 season?
    Because of his high profile status and undoubted ability should we have slightly different rules or make some additional allowances for him?
    Who might be the players to fill the void if it comes to that?

I'm going to add a poll, feel free to select more than one option.
    We just have to suck it up and wear the consequences because he is that damn good
    5.88%
    We can't have rules for some and not others
    27.94%
    This is a huge test for the club and how they manage it going forward
    50.00%
    It's a storm in a teacup and been blown out of all proportion
    2.94%
    The club will manage this professionally and share information when they can
    47.06%
    Leave him alone, it's likely to be a private matter and we need to respect that
    7.35%

The poll is expired.

• Aidan7557
    • Jan 2025

Originally posted by Dogs 24/7
    I've asked for permission to post this discussion I was given the go ahead.

We all love our Training report updates from the dedicated team here but invariably the conversations get on to when will Marra be training.
    All footy discussion forums are struggling with dealing with it, X, FB and Bulldogs focused Whats App Groups are full of speculation and along the way there are some crass and emotional comments being made.
    On Woof, we've kept it under control and we've been patient but it's time to discuss things.

I know it's a touchy subject for many and apologies if it is confronting but it's likely to become more prevalent with younger players in the future and my aim is discuss this in a respectful way.
    Please don't be too picky with my comments in the summary because I will try to keep it in general terms.

We've all heard the rumors about Marra who is a very important player for us and lets be honest it could have a massive effect on our 2025 chances.
    I'll list some of the stronger rumors that have been circulating.

- That Marra went to Bali in the break between the end of the 2024 H&A and the Elimination Final without informing the club and then missed the Monday training session before the EF game against the Hawks.
    He was still selected for the final but put in a shocker and the MC made the decision to start him on the bench.
    This appears to be a largely accurate rumor and we can even confirm on this site that he missed the Monday session in terms of being on the training track.

- That Marra hasn't been able to settle his accommodation lodgings for a fair portion of 2024 and even now.
    A merry-go-round of your accommodation can't be good for an elite athlete. He has also bounced around team mates and friends houses.
    This appears to be a largely accurate rumor.

- That Marra has been spending time with less than savory elements within the boxing community.
    The evidence with his social contributions confirms his passion for Boxing.
    This appears to be an accurate rumor except it would be hard to confirm that his friends are unsavory or not.

- That Marra hasn't been training and that he might have recently been asked to train away from the club
    It's clear he hasn't been training much at the club if at all.
    It would be harder to confirm 100% though but if I'm reading some information from a club member in the know it's all coming to a head soon and he will have an enforced break in the early part of the season.
    While this is somewhat speculative, my source is adamant.

- That Marra has a alcohol and substance problems. (Sorry but it needs to be mentioned)
    This appears to be a speculative rumor because there isn't any evidence although plenty have questioned his behavior at the Brownlow.

There are some other rumors that haven't been included.

The word I'm hearing is the club will address at least answer some of the questions soon.

So what should we make of all this and how does it effect the 2025 season?
    Because of his high profile status and undoubted ability should we have slightly different rules or make some additional allowances for him?
    Who might be the players to fill the void if it comes to that?

I'm going to add a poll, feel free to select more than one option.
    Been an ongoing observer of this Jamarra "issue" that has been growing for the past few months. I think if he was deep deep in the bag or bottle it would have surfaced already in the media. The elimination final was poor, especially that critical miss before halftime, but he did seem to hurt his shoulder early in the game which may explain at least in part why he struggled. It is strange he has missed some of the pre-season there is no doubt about that and he doesn't seem to be injured. He did break up with his girlfriend last year and may have had a close family member become ill or pass away (his absence from rounds 6 and 7). This can all be heavy on a still very young man who may not have his full support network around him and if he is acting up I think these are plausible reasons why. On field 43 goals is huge for a 4th year key forward and my main issue with him is his horrific stutter run up that has to be fixed. That miss in the elimination final swung momentum and in a micro view sucked a lot of energy from us. On field I like his trajectory minus the goal accuracy but this off field chat has got me worried.

We can't have rules for some and not others.

i think we'll be happy to move him on if he doesn't pull his head in. We've shown if someone's to hard to handle they are out the door

• Bumper Bulldogs
        • Apr 2008

I have a slightly different view. I want him, I love him. He could be Buddy like. I fact he already is.

I’m backing the club in to get this right but they need to get an Eddie Betts type of person to help get him back in track.

let’s face indigenous players are a little different as they give up so much to pursue an AFL career. In the past most have overlocked us as we seemed to have not had the support that they are looking for.

not sure if Goodes or Harbrow are around or willing to help but I would be starting with that
        BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

Originally posted by chef
          We can't have rules for some and not others.

i think we'll be happy to move him on if he doesn't pull his head in. We've shown if someone's to hard to handle they are out the door
          I tend to agree with the first part but lets face it the more the talented the player the higher the tolerance. I don't like it but it happens frequently.
          The last thing I want to do is move him on, lets exhaust all other options before pulling that trigger.

• DISHLICKERS
            • Feb 2023

Though situation especially as so much is dependent on JUH and what he decides and does.

confident the club and others will do everything they can to help but in the end it will be up to JUH

as the saying goes “you can take a horse
            to water but you can’t make it drink”
            well something like that

• mjp

It's a great thread.

I have no the slightest idea of how to vote or what to say because I just don't know what's happening...

After all the Smith speculation last year though from a selfish perspective I can 100% do without another year impacted by what seems to be player discontent...it just sits on the shoulders of everything the club does (like a monkey on your back - or more likely a spectre) and if you play well it drags you down and if you play poorly it's more evidence of cultural problems...

Anyhow - thanks for posting. I will be curious to see how everyone feels on this issue...last year it 'felt' like everyone was on the side of the footy club in the Baz/Bulldogs stand-off...I'm not sure it will be that way with Jamarra.

Is Libba the last guy we managed to 'rehab'

Surely we're due

Originally posted by Bumper Bulldogs
                  I have a slightly different view. I want him, I love him. He could be Buddy like. I fact he already is.

I’m backing the club in to get this right but they need to get an Eddie Betts type of person to help get him back in track.

let’s face indigenous players are a little different as they give up so much to pursue an AFL career. In the past most have overlocked us as we seemed to have not had the support that they are looking for.

not sure if Goodes or Harbrow are around or willing to help but I would be starting with that
                  Spot on mate. I don't know if the club ever replaced Varcoe who did a good job with the indigenous players.

• Uninformed
                    • Jan 2023

I think the club will manage it. Whatever the issue I am hoping it is a Stevie Johnson moment for Jamarra. Be a bit hard on him if that will do the trick. I think you can cut him some slack if his footy output warrants it. Shouldn't get too fussed about rules and how things look. Just help him through it.

• yourmate
                      • Dec 2023

My preference would be to sell him now. Unless I'm mistaken, there's going to be some compromised drafts coming up with Tassie coming in, so I'd rather get some picks together now, because looking ahead in 3 years time, most of our elite players would be entering their twilight years and if we can't make something happen, we could fall off a cliff and it could be a long way back.

• D Mitchell
                        D Mitchell commented
                        Editing a comment
                        For those of a selling orientation, too late. The time for that was after that run of 4 goal games towards the end of the season and before the Elimination Final. Hawthorn were interested but didn't have a first rounder to offer anyway. He's a conundrum, alright, obviously talented but doesn't support, assist team mates or play a defensive game. A me player rather than a we player. The days when a star forward only has to kick goals are long gone.
                    • jazzadogs
                      • Oct 2008

I'd be fuming if I was his teammate and heard he'd gone on a holiday (against team rules) before such a vital period, which likely included alcohol/substances, and then turned in the performance he did against the Hawks. As a fan I'm pissed off, but if I was a teammate that would be tenfold. Honestly I'm disappointed he got to play.

I think the club will manage it professionally, but that is a broad spectrum (eg professional clubs could have chosen to suspend him from the EF, while others like Geelong would sweep it all under the rug and buy him a new house).

If all of those rumours are true it's not hard to see him moving on at the end of the year. I hope the club can help a young man with some challenges make good choices and get back on track.

He’s either going to want to turn things around in the next six months or (through his manager) understand he’s going to be traded in nine months. And that enormous contract he was expecting next year might not eventuate.

It really is up to him. But what we won’t do is trade him out of contract for unders like Dunkley & BS. So if we don’t have confidence in him in six months, then we have to trade him to the highest bidder. Who I assume is Sydney is Warner leaves for a handful of high picks.

i want him to stay and succeed. You do. The clubs does. But if he can’t do it, then we need to be pragmatic about the trade and having a culture to strives to supports players, while making it clear to draftees now and in the future that there’s a limit to what this club will tolerate in our pursuit of club success.

But the clock has started.

If only we had a serious first ruck option I’d move English forward right now and be our second. I guess we move Croft into the role based on training form. Also, I’d stop with the Brew experiment and either get a different player now or hold open the spot for the MSD. We don’t need a depth mid at this point as I do t see Marra playing for some time. These aren’t new rumours.

• Stevo

Spot on mate. I don't know if the club ever replaced Varcoe who did a good job with the indigenous players.
                          Which ones are you referring to? Arty, Liam (one year?) Marra? Do you know how this was gauged?

I mean it sounds plausible but I don't think he did anything that special with indigenous players. He helped everyone

Originally posted by Stevo

Which ones are you referring to? Arty, Liam (one year?) Marra? Do you knwo how this was gauged?

I mean it sounds plausible but I don't think he did anything that special with indigenous players. He helped everyone
                            No better leader and great example for him than Liam.